Goodwood Park Hotel

Nice pics!
I just went to GWP today...took a look..within 20 mins we decided..yup! gonna have my solemnisation cum high tea at the Tudor Terrace! wanted the main pool but can only accomodate max 70 pax..and i have 100 pax...but the decor at Tudor Terrace certainly looks nice...i took a peek at a aftermath of a solemnisation ceremony..hehe... But now i'm undecided abt the invitation cards..mabbe it's only a high tea buffet...but the invitation cards given by GWP were rather shabby...wonder if i should make do or get alternatives...u guys think the printer has other designs? she says that i get the cards free then pay for the printing, i only have to print about 50 which makes it rather costly (the more u print, the cheaper it is rite?)...I also want to print thank you cards but no designs in mind...do the printer have templates? any recommendations? i think i'm the most confused bride to be in here! a lazy one too!

eastlibra:
Thanks! but no such luck to stay in such a nice room...not having my banquet there...actually, i'm not having my banquet at all! finds it too troublesome...and since my parents passed away and my in-laws dun mind, we are keeping it simple...jus the ceremony and high tea..then off to honeymoon...

little bride

Aradia
Sorry to hear about your parents. But the last time I was there, there is a couple at the terrace. But remember to talk to the JP before the ceremony cos last time got a couple stay in their rm until the ceremony starts and din get a chance to speak to their JP before that and there are some misunderstanding during the actual ceremony... this was what the JP told me.
But im sure everything will be smooth and nice for you... remember to share pic.. !

where are you gg for HM?

Ladies
Anyone knows about Fairy inc or make their rings there? what is their opening hrs? Anyone know?

Hi aradia,

Since u onli having abt 50 cards, i tink u shld juz hand written the cards urself. really not worth it to send it to printer to print.
for my ROM, we juz went to buy prec moments invitation cards n thank you card n hand written ourself. quite cheap, onli abt $8 for 10 cards per pack. u might wan to consider.

Ladies

yeah very busy....right now I'm changiung my florist from Poppy to Greenpoint for the hotel decor...

I was very disappointed with Poppy cos they taken my $200 deposit and then told me they cant come to visit the site prior to the event. I think it's very unprofessional and then told me also cant return me my 200. I feel cheated by them... also quite rude after taken my 200....

cos initially I already told them prior to my wedding, there is only 1 wedding setup avail and she must booked that timeslot for me to come n view as terrace only open with floral setup for an actual wedding...then yesterday she told she got another friend's wedding dinner that same night to go n I was in a fixed! But overall I decide not to go with Poppy because they were quite rude in the end... So disappointed in them... btw they also quite exp... so im ok with the "no show" ... just very not "gan xin"... girls pls take note.

btw dun mean to "complain" but I was really disappointed by this thing.... esp with $200 gone like that..

Hi noscon,

Sorry to hear yr bad experiences wif d florist. But why izzit u need to pay deposit to florist, isnt included in the hotel weddg package?

hi cookieNcream,

thanks. usu im not like that... sigh
Anyway this florist is on top of the one provided by GW. cos I wanted more floral decor so I approached another florist to add more floral arrangements...

yours is sat? My friend dinner at terrace is one day after your AD...
How's your wedding preparation?

Hi Noscon,

Mine is on a Fri. I'm now looking for a AD photographer and will be going for gown fitting this weekend. Basically I have already worked out a TO-DO list right from this month till AD & the last 3 months will be super busy. U must be very busy now! I'hv also been reading up travel materials as to decide where to go for honeymoon. Europe seems to be an ideal place but the EURO$$$ is very high. One of my couple frenz who went on honeymoon recently told me tat even a "jiang tou lou ti" was costing S$9!
Anyway, I will see if there's promotion during the NATA Fair in March.

Hv you go for the food-tasting session yet? Do share with me the dish selection ya. Thx.

Hi all GWP brides & grooms
My FH & myself juz went down to GWP & meet up Jeanie to place my deposit

So now I am a offical GWP Bride too .. so happy at least i had settle the dinner venue.
Mine is a Buffet Dinner held @ the MingJiang & Poolside Terrace. max attendance of 160pax.
Jeanie told me, i will be collecting the invitation card for printing 3 months before the AD...

So now i will juz need to concentrate on my WG designing.
Intend to sign up Jess Haute Couture to have a MTM WG... and PS wif Montage Studio.
Any brides is having MTM WG & EG? Can share ur homework on ur research. Any dos & don'ts? Plus any good MUA to recommend? My AD is a hot date... quite worry that i couldn't get a good MUA. Pls help!
Thanks a million!

Luv Jeannie Girl (*.^)

hi noscon...me going to shanghai for honeymoon...not exactly romantic kind but cos we are both shopaholics and figured out that we're gonna be real bored if we are stuck at some resort or scenery kind of place...and europe's out off the budget so decided to go shanghai cos i went during xmas to new year and loved the place...tho my mandarin quite horrrible but can get by and The Bund at nite still quite romantic...hehe...also considering Bali after tat for spa...to relax and tan..
any other suggestions?

hi little bride...tot of writing too but i'm a teacher and even my students complain that they dun understand wat i write on the board so better not!
but i managed to get someone to design and print for me...i jus have to do advertising for this wedding planner but havent really work out the details yet..if it works out...it'll be a good deal..if not..then it's another design fren...
cos i'm having high tea and i have to make the invites look impressive if not ppl will come with $20 angpow..then 'lugi' like mad...i'm sure all of u here will agree that GWP's not exactly cheap! nt even high tea! sorrie if i sound like i'm complaining...but i noe i will not be able to break even...abt that...jus wondering wat u guys think of this whole angpows thing..how some of my frens actually receive $28 angpow for their wedding dinner..at pan pac somemore..

hi cookieNCream

Which AD photographers have u shortlisted? I also need to shortlist one and I have one in mind... but welcome ideas and suggestions...

I think Europe is nice and I esp like Switzerland and France. You can actually go up to the mountains in the middle of nowwhere and have a milk bath there in a bathtub in the middle of a field with the cows gazing at your nakedness.. hahaha...saw that in a documentary.. :D

I will be gg food tasting in marc so will keep u informed..

So you have already mtm all your gowns?

hi Jeanie Girl

Welcome Welcome! GWP is a great classy place to have wedding... it's also 5 star!

I wld love to have dinner by the poolside unfortunately my family insisted on chinese banquet so I cant... But truly it
s magical beside the pool at night. I can assure you that cos I have seen a wedding there...

I mtm a gown from my BS...so I din need to do research cos i like their gowns so i mtm a similar one. this is safer cos at least i tried on their gowns and know whether it suits me or now...

my MUA is TG goh and he is very good but not sure whether you want to fork out money for that. I am v concerned about makeup so I dare to splurge on that aspect.. or u can try Peter khor. impt thing is to book them early in case they not avail on your wedding esp happening dates!

hi aradia

Shanghai is haven for shopaholics... I've been there like six years ago and a lot of things are cheap there but now think there shd be a lot of interesting stuff there...

yeah the bund is nice...

My dream HM is at a beach place and have shopping kind... the most beautiful beach in the world is Bora bora at French polyesia. I also like maldives, hawaii and mauritius. they are all romantic places for HM. For shopping, better find a place where the city is more developed and got more stuff to buy....

For shopping, HK, Japan or Taiwan also can...

Hi Noscon,

Really lov to go Switzerland after hearing so many great comments! Besides Europe, i'm also thinking of Australia & New Zealand. Nowadays, N. Zealand seems to be v popular due to its scenery. Sigh, I'm so flicker-minded, cant make up my mind for the HM.

As for AD photographer, many r quite booked liaoz. I have checked with Chris Ling but too ex to my requirement. I got some contacts through friends. Wonder if the charges $300 + ($35 per roll) expensive for Film photography + weddg album. The other one i found on the forum is http://pachome2.pacific.net.sg/~teckruth/Packages.html.

As for gown, i will have to decide if MTM or OTR only after this Sunday after trying out d gown... but most likely expect to MTM coz I kinda growing plumper... heehee. Hopefully after gown fitting, it will make me more determined to shed the extra kilos off me!

Hi Jeannie Girl,

Just a suggestion. Why dont u ask yr studio to recommend MUA to you or book the same MUA for PS for yr AD? Yr AD is indeed a super hot date, so when come to booking wise, u got to act real fast.

cookieNCream

NZ is great. I would love to go back again....
Australia's tasmania is also good... very nature nature kind, and quiet...

my shortlisted AD photographer is The Pond www.thepond.com.sg. I happened to bum into their website and like their works...
the one at the forum dun seem to have many wedding portfolio..does he have a lot of experience taking wedding photos?
So he only charges 300 for his service? mine give me ard 8-10 rolls for half day...

you are with which BS?

Hi Aradia,

Personally i feel that we should first expect to bear some $ loss when we invite pple to attend wedding. For me, i only wish for a break even. But it's v difficult to control people whether they give ang baos or not & the amt they put in. If you hv a lot of relatives & children attending, then u hv to prepare for some losses. I also worried b4 that some pple may not know GWP is a 5-star hotel and might give less ang bao $ for our recovery. But come to think of it, it's silly to worry so much that's beyond yr control. If really make a loss, i guess that's normal. But if break even or beyond, then treat it as a bonus!

noscon, i hv yet to meet up with this photographer for his portfolio so cant comment on his work. But i think his packages r pretty acceptable. As for $300 + $35 per roll that one, is a different photographer, used by my frenz's AD. Think his charges r pretty reasonable also. Saw my frenz AD photos, not bad.

Hv u meet up d photographer @The Pond? Is his charges ex?

I'm wif French BS.

i wonder if anyone is using the rectangle tables rather than the normal round tables for your wedding dinner?

Think all hotels only give 60-70% of the invitation cards? Do u know why? How abt the missing %? R we suppose to source for it?

My mum told me that the female side need not give invitation cards to our relatives and I go "Huh"...anyone has the same advice from your parents? Can share share?

Jeannie

Your wedding will be in minjiang resturant and pool side?Just wonder whether there is only buffet type only?

tnx gals

i think all of u r gwp 2005 brides

Mine will be in 2006. Still sometime away, thus we have not decided on the dates etc...anyone is throwing in 2006?

hi cookiesncream!
Well said! my frens were going on and on abt me having it at GWP cos they think tat it's pointless spending so much on high tea...and tat i'll 'lugi' major! but my FH and I jus love the place at GWP so "who cares?!" i told them if they are so concerned then give more money in the angpow la! hehe...
hiya...jus treat it as buying them all a meal lor... but i jus think that ppl who gives $28 as angpow are a bit mean lor..

hi moo...initially i had the same prob as u..."wat abt the 30%??"..then i realised that u dun need 1 card for 1 person mah...usually u give 1 card for a family or 1 card for a couple...so 70% should be sufficient...hehe...

hi noscon!
ya...bora bora is a really beautiful place but it's really ex...but if it's within ur budget..go! then come back and show us the pics!

sigh...my wish is to go Denmark, Norway then Sweden (the scandinavian countries)...went there when i was 18 with my parents...wanna go for memorial sake...but way out of budget! maybe next time..
Taiwan&HK been there 3 times liao..dun think wanna go again so soon...
japan is a great idea but ex also! i dun wanna eat bento for every meal...hehe

that's y i decided give and take...shanghai seems rather ideal at the moment... but still open to other places la...

New Zealand seems to be the trend now..got quite a number of couple frens who jus went or going...

Hi aradia, ok, gd to hear u got ur own lobang liao. i will juz make do w their pathetic invitation cards.

this angbao issue is a big threat to our budget but my hubby always say wedding dinner is suppose to be giving treat to ur relatives n frens. so dun expect much. i juz hope dun suffer 2 much losses can liao.

Hi Jeannie girl,
try as much gown as u can first, to c which kind of cutting is suitable for u and u may juz find something u like, n flip thru bridal mag n cut out those u like n show to ur designer. i had my MTM WG v similar to 1 of their OTR gown. so i feel v safe abt it. as for my EG, i also made the top part the same as 1 of the OTR gown but i change the color n change the bottom part to be the same as 1 i saw in mag.

Hi moo, if u dun hav enuff cards, u can dun give ur jiemei or bros, like wat my fren did. n maybe some not so close one like colleagues, u can consider sending invites via emails, which most of my colleagues did.

hi aradia

hi im not gg on HM lah... save money...
just thinking only..or shd I say dreaming only...

Bora bora is very expensive... true... sigh but wow...

NZ i like but I think Shanghai is a new change. last time people avoided China but I guess time hv changed and it's getting more and more popular now...

cookieNcream'

I have seen my friend's portfolio by someone starting out in bridal photography and it's great too! Like very lively and more creative! He also gave more stuff to them too like touching up their photos until very very nice coupled with words and etc... quite nice...

But my taste for photos is more solemn like I like the couple to look solemn or picture perfect kind... like models kind...hee hee so very picky...

But the pond is more like they pick on the small details and then make it very meaningful, like capturing of a mood and a person's laugh etc to make it more meaningful so that's why i shortlisted them.. their costs is around $1700 for half a day but other stuff are included for this price, if you like you can contact them....

i think most imptly is you like the photographer's style and also within your budget. Some people are willing to fork out more for photography because they feel it makes all the difference for them wheras other people may not feel so....

I agreed with what you mentioned about the angbao breakeven thingy...

hi...great to hear abt the Pond...was thinking abt them too..saw the portfolio on their website...nice rite? have to get my FH to agree too...hehe i like the Pond cos the pictures they did seems so natural..very candid..

aradia

glad you think so.... very nice and meaningful right?
I'm gg down today to sign the contract first and so booked them for my date. My date is not very popular kind and somemore it's a fri so i usu no problem with booking MUA, etc

if you want, I can send you the px list for the pond...

Are you decorating the ballrm/terrace with more flowers? I want to seek more advice in this area...

Hi noscon ,

Yesterday River HongBao at Marina Promenade , there is a 8 minutes Fireworks display to celebrate Yuan Xiao.
There is a small incident over at the other side where they put the fireworks. There is bush fire which stretch about 10m as a result of the sparks . Many people were watching as the marine police put out the fire.

eastlibra

o ic.... wow good thing -> bad thing... hmmm nowadays quite a lot of bush fires in singapore... last time i tot only australia have bush fires but now global environment not very good...

did u go and see?

Hi noscon & cookieNcream
I did consider using TG goh cos not very keen on taking the MUA tat my b.s. tied up wif.
Can advice me on the price of TG Goh?
Did anyone have the feedback on Agnes from Vive Salon. Thinking of using her. Or Kenneth Lee.

Hi Moo,
At first,my FH & myself intend to hold our wedding @ Tudor Terrace. But when we're introduce to the Poolside Terrace, we fall in love with that plac. :D
You can choose to have Chinese sit down dinner there too.

Luv Jeannie Girl

Hi Jeannie Girl

Did you all go and see the real setup or ?

U mentioned it is just 160pax max? Is the pricing still the same as the normal weddg packages in gwp? Thought their min is 18tables...

Btw, do you have jeanie's no?Is Jeanie your coordinator?

Tnx little bride for answering my query

hi noscon
my package is different from u guys..mine's high tea at tudor terrace..mine was included with table display at the solemnization table and each of the tables...and 2 flower stands only...i added 6 more flower stands and petals at the sides of the aisle...urs might be included with all these already...but i think for me..it should be enuff..i din wan the cake also..din like the idea...and instead of dry ice...i'm getting a bubble machine on my own...afternoon mah..wanted it to be in a more relaxed mood...that's abt all...nothing else that i'm adding in the decor.
I've got the prx list from pond already...jus have to convince my FH...we initially agreed not to take bridal shots..jus AD photos..but i saw pond and got itchy...hehe

hi jeannie...
jus wanna ask u if the poolside terrace is by the main pool? i dun even know where is it!! gosh!

hi jeanie girl

poolside cannot hv chinese sit down dinner

jeanie didn't confirm that there will be a change of wedding cards lei...

aradia,

May i ask, did you have to pay for the extra flower stands? If so, how much? Thanks. I'm also considering extra flowers for my sloemnisation at the Mayfair Pool in Nov.

Hi Jeanie Girl,
I'll be using Kenneth Lee as my MUA.but he may not be avail on my ROM date though..but he'll def be doing for my PS and AD. chose him as I have heard great comments about him. but i think Freddy,Marjorie,etc are all great MUAs too judging from their threads..

hi Jeanie Girl....

TG Goh is 1500 for PS and AD. trial is extra 100. I think Peter khor is good too... their styles are different..if im not wrong, TG is more natural and Peter plays with more colour...

if im not wrong, also cant have chinese banquet at poolside cos i asked coordinator before... but do check with GW again, I may be wrong...

aradia

bubble machine? quite cool idea...how much is that eh? got website?

Did u top up with more floral arrangements of your own?

I just went to another florist today to ask abt venue decor and signed up with them cos anyway my wedding quite near too... luckily they did tudor terrace wedding decor before i more relaxed with them.... n signed lor... also i value customer svr a lot and they quite reliable...
I will be gg for the romantic look with plenty of leaves cos cheaper..

Lindy
you doing floral decor too? cos we are both terrace dinner banquet brides... my florist offers $150 for one floral stand. I know is a bit exp but I feel more comfortable when the florist has done floral arrangement in GW and I saw their portfolio there. Other couples used lilies, rice flower, roses etc. you have any idea for the arrangements?

Hi eastlibra,

i wish i could go for the fireworks, but my hubby working so cant go. i 2 lazy to travel down myself. 8 mins of fireworks! wasted!
i went for the opening nite, n the bushes caught fire also.

Hi aradia,

I tinking of using bubbles for my march-in also. u using machine? how much? how it works? it will spread to the whole aisle? i tink i will juz buy a few of those handheld bubble making gun n ask frens to do it...haha...

moo n aradia,
perhaps u would like to join in the list tt Lindy posted above with ur AD n email add?

Hi nonscon,
i mite be leaving the flowers arrangements to one of my friend. but i would pretty much like a little more soft look so im dun mind to top up a little more for xtra flowers. i'm not too sure what kind of arrangement i'll have though...hmm...i dun even noe the kind of flowers i'll use...gosh, i'm sooo lost..

lindy

i see... that's good too... more flexible when yr friends are doing it... most people will use white, cream or soft colors for terrace decor...

for me, because the hotel provides only roses and gerberas so I will use roses so that I can blend in with the hotel's floral arrangements...

I use a lot of leaves(nice ones, not the normal ones) to decorate the chairs and even the door because it is cheaper... very cheapo right? hahaha