Goodwood Park Hotel

Hi nykolee,

I was checking out some of the hotel website (third party) on GWP's hotel room, it ranges from 250-290 (before tax) for basic rooms. These 3rd parties websites are the common ones like, hotel.com, agonda.com... However, when I tried to book direct from GWP, it is only charging 230 (before tax). But this applies for the month of Sep 11.. I hope this helps.

Hi all GWP BTB.. I'm considering GWP for my Dec 11 wedding and I need some help. Is it possible to send me your perks ?( I'm not sure what I'm missing in my list) My email is [email protected] Thanks in advance to all the kind souls out there.

hey kass, i was going to ask you if you've started printing invitation cards then i realised that you already have a sample of the insert. does this mean you have already collected the cards?

i wonder will the coordinator prompt me or should i ask her about it?

Hi to all GWP btb..
I wonder if you can share your wedding package with me if you happen to have go for lunch banquet at the Windsor room.

I am not sure if I have missed out something.. pls help....!

Hi Nykolee,

I heard that he is unable to attend due to current business committments. Apologies!
Meanwhile, can you send me the formats for the invites? I'm hoping to print it by myself and do some desigining

Inserts sent.

tangerinez >> I have only received the insert sample, not the actual invites yet, but planning to collect that this week.

Who is your coordinator?? For me I initiated. I feel GWP coordinators are v busy and may not have time to keep on reminding us. So cuz of that, I try to be as on the ball on my end as possible and take the initiative to email them etc.

For the rest of the BTBs as well, I strongly recommend that you keep in touch with your rcoordinator whenever you have questions or need anything. This way, it allows you to know how they work, whether they reply everyday, or take a few days, whether they prefer email or phone etc, whether they are reliable, do what they are supposed to do etc. This way, if they behave "out of the ordinary", especially if for the worse, you will know straightaway....

Not that my coordinator isn't good (in fact I think she has been brilliant so far), but doing this allows me to establish our working style with each other.

Kass >> I agree with you on the 'busy coordinator' part... makes me wonder is it just GWP or all hotel coords also like that...

Jacintha >> yes I agree with you on the Peking Duck entree served during cocktail reception. I just went for the food tasting and the dish portions are huge!! So letting go one course is definitely OK.

I've met up with the coordinator and discussed choices for colours, etc. Will confirm in March.

No I don't have another room. My sisters and family will have to 'squeeze' with me in the suite... ya it's not very big the suite

You still have ample time to prepare until September
Mine is in May... a bit stressed now.

Birde Birde >> Your food tasting is very early! I have not gone for mine yet. In fact I think I may wait till early April before I do mine. Cuz HTB and myself have 2 GWP wedding dinners to attend in March, so we will use that as our food tasting first, then decide which dish we wanna have.

Dear Kass,

Thanks for sending me the email! It helps!

Hi Birde Birde,

I just checked with my coordinator and she told me that it is not possible to change! now i'm having headache and duno what i can do to serve the people who are waiting for the dinner ... i mean, i dun want to spend extra la ( GWP already not cheap..) and 9 course is really quite heavy...

I have a friend who just attend a GWP dinner and she gave two thumbs up on the food. ;)

Jia you jia you!!

Hi Jacintha, I'm so sorry. =( I didn't log into the forum until today. Then, I realised that Kass has already send you the invite. Hopefully it is useful for you. It definitely make life easier for me when I am doing my own insert template! Thanks again Kass!

I agree with Kass that we should be contacting our coordinator. However, my wedding is in Oct. Is it too early to contact them? However, as I intend to customise and design and DIY some stuffs. Therefore, I need to know the details. Do you all think that I'm too early?

Morning nykolee!

It's ok.

I dun think it is too early because mine is in sep and I've bothered her enough! Hahaha. My reason is also because I'm looking at doing some of my own deco and invites (cos I love scrapbooking!)

And I agree with Kass! Go bother her now! Hahahahhaa..

Wah... you all really plan ahead! I am doing some DIY, but I have not really spoken to her about my decor yet... The last time I asked her in mid Jan, she told me that the new decor is still being decided yet, so not yet ready...

Kass / Jacintha >> yes, Min Jian cuisine is pretty good. The parents are quite pleased. We took some photos of the dishes unfortunatly they're not with me now... But rest assure the presentation and quality is good, portion is generous! We didn't want shark's fin and the four-treasure soup is delicious! Jacintha, 9-course is quite heavy, well think of it this way your guests will be happy to be treated to a big feast after all that wait
Perhaps from the hotel's point of view it's hard to subsitute a dish with Peking duck canapes because the latter is really expensive - they cost something like $85 per duck and depending on the number of guests you have you may need up to 10 ducks.

Ladies, my wedding is in May and I only really started 'talking' with the coordinator about a month ago. So no worries, there will be enough time. I have designed our invitation cards as well. You can source any printers for quotation, paper selection, etc. I should be able to finalise that in the next week or so.

In the mean time try and enjoy this planning process

Hi GWP bTb,

I am in a dilemma now because my htb and I love almost everything about GWP except for the Windsor ballroom. It is nice with high ceiling but rather old-looking with mirrors.

His parents went GWP to try out the food at Min Jiang one Sunday. Food was commented good. (& the parents are pretty particular about food.)

A wedding was gg on that Sunday. They peeped in and my htb was shocked to see how plain and bare the Windsor ballroom had looked. He said tt the ballroom looked awful. Probably b'cos the couple went for a white wedding and everything looks plain.

The parents commented tt the staircase to the ballroom looked dirty and old. Ballroom looked old that day, will be even worse next yr, bla bla..

I wonder if anyone here is holding their wedding at Windsor ballroom? Are you girls covering the mirrors ??

Lala >> I think the mirrors are a unique feature of the ballroom, you prob cannot get something like that in any of the newer ballrooms. I am having my wedding there and I love the mirrors actually.

If you are concerned that you will have issues with the ballroom in time to come, then you should look at other hotels as well. Because ultimately you are having your wedding in the ballroom, you need to like it and be comfortable in it.

Thank you Kass for the feedback..

I am still looking at other hotels. If I choose GWP, I can forsee myself spending extra for the decor in the ballroom. Which is extra costs beside the already expensive wedding package.

I am actually quite alright with the Windsor ballroom. However, my htb's parents said otherwise. They took my htb to Pan Pac and kept commenting on the Red/Black theme tt Pan Pac had. I guess they are not used to seeing a light coloured theme for wedding. Did I mention tt we intend to do a lunch reception. No red or dark colour theme for me anyway.. *Big Sigh*

My next stop is Four Seasons..!

Hello all.. anyone took the Edwardian/victorian menu package? You tried changing any of the dishes? Cos it looks to me the dishes are common dishes. Many commented on Min Jiang's good food. Which dish are they particular good at that we can swap into our banquet menu??

Lala >> It's your wedding... and don't let what "other people" say affect you.
You should also look at the themes for the wedding whether they can enhance the ballroom. No doubt GWP themes are simple. But it's what GWP is actually. A Classic elegant location.

Pan Pacific has nice themes but the ballroom carpet is not v nice, esp if you are looking at the Ocean Ballroom on the 2nd floor.
It's actually one of my top choices and I would have seriously considered it had they opened their booking earlier. I booked for my May 2011 wedding in Jan/Feb 2010.

If you want nice themes, I also recommmend InterContinental (there are also mirrors in this ballroom) and Regent Hotel. These 2 hotels also have very nice themes.
I was also considering them before GWP came and swept me away! LOL.

Kass: I'm glad to hear that you have found the place to hold your dream wedding!! So happy for u..!
I would love to have a Classic elegant venue for mine as well. That is why I was more or less decided on GWP until...Hee! I will be looking at both FourSeasons & InterCon this wk.

Anyway it's rather hard to insist what we want without appearing being stubborn in front future parents-in-law. Very sianz..

Btw do anyone have any idea which florist is GWP using?

Well.. wish me luck! Thanks again, Kass..

Hi Lala,

I did shortlist pan pac and intercon as well. one thing that i noticed is that pan pac's service is more of a 'take it or leave it' attitude, that's one of the reasons why i didn't pick pan pac. the other reason is that the min required tables to use a high ceiling ballroom is relatively higher compared to GWP, intercon - 33 tables, and pan pac, 40 tables ( if i didn't remember wrongly..) more over, the lighting at pan pac is towards 'cool' (blue lights) and the carpart is also blue-ish green.. haha, so i agree with Kass (maybe that's why we all picked GWP in the end)

intercon has a very nice location ( so accessible!) and the food is good. Intercon is also 'very bright and hence clean looking (not sure if you know what i mean) but 33 tables is abit hard to fill given my headcount.. so i didn't consider. otherwise it is a really tough fight! I have worked with them on a corporate event and their service staff is really good!

Four seasons also looks good! I worked with IVY and she is so professional and patient with me. the pricing for four seasons is similar to GWP. one thing good thing with four seasons is that they have their in house florist and hence, they can ensure that the flowers are of good qty!

Another thing, GWP uses 2 florist, June Florist or JM Floral Creation
Hhaha, cos i KS and asked for the details so that i can liaise with them on the extra cost.. hehe, i want BIG SUNFLOWERS!! muahhahahaha.

Just to note though that those dreamweaver cards are only if you signed up during the wedding show last year. Otherwise you will get the normal GWP red or white wedding cards.

Fyi, I met my florist today re my bouquets and also asked him about the venue decor.

Generally for a 40 table banquet, with stage centrepeice, aisle decor, VIP tables centrepiece, reception centrepiece and centrepiece for each table can cost between 5-6k onwards, depending on your choice of flower. If you don't need a floral arrangement on each table, then it will cost around 2-3k.

Jacintha/Lala >> for your info, since you guys may be looking at more flowers!

My florist is Flores by Nic.

HI kass,

so expensive? i'm gonna ask a stupid qn, i thought these flowers are standard in the package and shouldn't cost so much?!

if flowers also need need another 2-3k. gosh. panic panic.panic.

Hi Kass and Jacintha,

Just to clarify that the deco is included in the package, right? Unless, the couple decide to find another vendor to do it.

Lol.. Jacintha, I also panic panic...

Anyway GWP's partners are:
- Florist: June Florist or JM Floral Creation
- Insert: Jasvy and Hi-Tec
- Live-band: ?

i went do dig the stuff that mei fung gave me, i just realised that they only put 'choice of elegant fresh floral decorations and individual centrepieces to accentuate every table (choice of roses, eustoma or gerberas).

gasp! no mention about stage centre piece, aisle decor,VIP tables centrepiece and reception centre piece!!! wah, sian!!

I seemed to have created a small hoo-ha.

The prices quoted by my florist are assuming that there is ZERO venue decor provided in the package, which is not the case for us.

In our case, since GWP already has a contract with JM and June and assuming you did not nego for this to be taken out, It only makes sense that you work with the existing florists quoted by GWP. In which case, there should be a top up.

However, the figures I have given you are most likely the upper limit that you should perhaps budget for if you intend to have more flowers.

Jacintha >> As you have rightfully pointed out, the flowers are only eustoma, gerberas and roses. If you want sunflowers you will need to top up.

Also don't worry about stage centre piece, aisle decor,VIP tables centrepiece and reception centre piece. These are the "elegant fresh floral decorations" included in the contract.

Panic panic... Err... could any ex-GWP bride clarify if additional cost is required for the stage centre piece, aisle decor,VIP tables centrepiece and reception centre piece?

I tot that the deco should be FOC in the package, unless we request for anything out of the default package.Right?

thanks kass! I've got 2 piece music from GWP too! hehehe..

ok, i very sleepy liao but yes, i was informed that i need to pay more for sunflowers....

nykolee, like that quite safe we quite safe, no need to prepare the 3k.. hahaa

nights everyone, talk again tmr!

ps. this has become my favourite forum!!

nykolee >> I have seen the themes and you will be required to pick them when the time comes. So yeah, they are confirmed included, unless you want different flowers or additional decor.

Kass... I can't wait for the time to come to choose the themes for the deco. I wonder would they be suitable for my retro theme... hehe.

Hi Kass, i wish to have retro (english classic or 60's) theme for the whole wedding, if does not cost too much extra. What kind of retro clothes are you looking at? There's a shop in Bugis that I tot is quite retro.

What kind of retro element do you intend to incorporate into your photoshoot? I'm looking out for them too.

The Good Old days - 3 New Bugis Street, CSl/D4 Level 2 [email protected]

wow this thread suddenly moves so fast!

kass, thanks for your response. actually i wanted to call MF (my coordinator) but i'm also worried that it's too early to bother her about these stuff. haha.

anyway i called her and she asked me to send her email instead. LOL

so i will arrange for food tasting in the next 2 weeks. and she will send me the sample for invitation card (i forgot to ask about inserts)

and regarding themes, she said selection only next month. hmm... which is just abt 2 mths before the wedding.

should i be panicking?

tangerinez >>

We have the same coordinator. I actually quite like her. She is usually quite easy to work with, I feel.
As long as not totally out of the ordinary, she will try her best to accommodate.

We need to do the following
- Choose menu (for food tasting)
- Choose invites
- Go for food tasting
- Finalise menu
- Choose themes and linen
- Choose favours.

This is what I can think of so far.

Closer to the date, you will need to confirm your table arrangement, signage etc.

hi kass, in my first meeting i found her a little unapproachable but from our 2nd meeting it was all good.

she's very prompt in responding to queries too. and she makes me feel like i'm in really good hands.

thanks for the list. yea, i didn't know i need to choose the menu before food tasting! dumb me. haha.

i'm no longer paying attention to the wedding because i'm more excited about our new house.

tangerinez >> You are in the FP forum as well? And you recently bought a resale?

Are you on Renotalk by any chance? If you are doing a t-blog would definitely love to read it.

My resale flat completion is exactly one month before my AD. It's gonna be too rushed for me to get it ready by AD. So we are only going to start reno after AD.

hi kass, yes i'm in FP as well and i can guess your nick in FP too hee...

already have a t-blog in renotalk! pls visit if you are free (same nick). it's pretty boring now though cos we haven't done much planning yet.

do you also have a t-blog in RT?

wow, lucky you! completion 1 mth before AD. i would have done the reno immediately cos can't wait to move in! haha. but i also understand where you are coming from.

for me, completion is 2 weeks before AD and we are hoping to begin reno immediately. unfortunately can't an chuang in the new place. still haven't figure out how to an chuang if we are not planning to stay together until the house is ready.

tangerinez >> I don't have a T-blog yet, but I have an account under the same nick.

My nick on FP is not this... but it's also made up of 2 words joined together. I am also on the resale thread on FP.

I will have a T-blog if I am not too lazy to do it!
Btw, I noticed that your 1st appointment is 3rd March. Just FYI, it takes approx 8 weeks to complete the resale transaction. My 2nd appt is exactly 8 weeks after... so you might wanna do a count first to get a rough idea of your completion date.

Actually I also dun want to stay together until my place is ready... but my mum insist that we have to stay together. So bo pian...

kass, i know which one. haha.
i remember you from years back. can't remember on which topics though.

yea, at first i tot maybe there's a chance for 6 weeks but i just learnt that for bank loan most of the time is 8 weeks cos the lawyers take a longer time than HDB's. then it would be 28 Apr, exactly 2 weeks before the wedding.

*stress*

have you started sourcing for ID?

tangerinez >> Wah, u remember me from years back! I feel honoured! LOL. I was very active on FP last time... now not so much already...

I have not sourced for ID yet... but may just get a contractor instead. Not very sure leh, totally have not thought about it. What kind of look are you going for?