Furama Riverfront Singapore

• Thread starter Thread starter jaslin soo
  • Start date Start date
Hi Lisa,

well, it is not impossible. But, i m sure some folks in FRF is looking at ur posting. i think its best u be discreet a bit.

iceblue....she's juz back from her HM but she seldom comes in anymore......=) if she did feedback....will help to post here....

hello everyone,

thanks for sharing your comments
. Hi Ace14, wish i dare to stay behind and eat and enjoy the view. haa...

hi Sherlyn, i m looking at 30. I went to view mercury. Unfortunately tat day was 7.7.07. and the place was used for ROM. so we didn't see the whole Mercury.

Reading at your comment somehow give me the 'confident' to sign with them. Honestly i would prefer Venus. hee.. but is out of my budget

I have gotten my date. but I cannot book with them yet coz i still need to get a confirmation whether my pastor is available on that day. so i still need to wait for another 2 weeks before i can book and there are 3 couples booking ahead of me... stress stress.

well..hope things go smooth for all

ohyes Tutu, the price is between 650 - 700 if i am not wrong.

My con-ordinator changed fr jasmine to terence, i emailed to terence email directly since last week, but till to date i din received his email reply, i don't his ctc nbrs cos i did not receive a single thing fr FRF yet, & i got his email thru e archive message. I told him i wan to cancel the package in my last email, but no action was taken fr him...

i thought the package already have waiver of corkage??

"Waiver of corkage charge for duty paid hard liquor brought in by host (Brandy, Whisky)"

more carpark coupons also no use.. the other time we went down to meet our coordinator, we couldnt find a parking space, and many cars parked on double yellow line outside the hotels...

dolphin....hesitate no more...call them immd cos if im not wrong in d contract u are not allowed to cancel d pkg...double check to be sure.....my guess is dat he has too many accounts to take over & as he's new in FRF, it may take some time b4 he get d hang of things.....why dun u suggest a switch of coordinator.....it may help...

pskin....lisa is refering to wine while wat u have quoted is refering to hard liquor....=)

parking is my worry too sumore they convert one floor to be mercury ballroom....wen I brought tis up d other time...they assure mi dat it shd not b a prob as they have hundreds of lots but bearing in mind dat alot are taken up by patrons of d 'party' next door....worse if there's more than one event running in FRF......=(

Stnov.. In fact I am also worried abt the parking as it seems limited.. If there is more than 1 event going on for that day, the parking is definitely not enough. But, my coordinator did tell me that there is an open carpark opposite the hotel..

tris.....d onli open air carpark opp is near d HDB area?? alternatively may have to park next door lor....king's hotel or Miramar....if i remember correctly, read b4 dat one of d hotel is free parking?? gota dbl chk....

hi stnov, thks, wilest replied me .

ladies im wried abt the parking too!esp gt mercury ballrm = more ppl n 1 storey parking gone.hmm prob,hpfuly my sun wedg is nt affected by the 'party' ppl

btw stnov, his havg many accts is nt excuse for him nt to follow up, haiz i think he nd to buck up.

so exactly how many parking lots they have in FRF? imagine there are two banquets been held on the same day plus the activities going on 'next door'.... wats left?

no prob iceblue....call them to check for Head of F&B, shd be ernie....=)

handsome....ya lor...it's a small world after all....=)

like to check for ur opinion.....3 mths within each other's AD usualli we dun attend right....a newer version heard....e.g. my AD first....they can attend but mi still cant attend theirs.....

personally I will follow d 3 mth 'rule'.....not sure if d other party will but can't help oso....

Hi Stnov,

For me, I cant go to any weddings 3 mths before and after my AD. However, I also not sure if i am able to invite friends who got married during these 6 mths periods or not.

A friend of mine didnt invite ppl who have their AD within 3 mths before her AD.

Elderlys said by right, its 4 mths.....anyway, i just follow the 3 mths. Alot of traditions to follow so we juz close one eye for some...

aiyo so many rules to follow. buay stress meh? wonder who came out with such rule? are there any difference if go by dialect groups? sigh...

Lawris.....dats wat I thought as well...for the good of everybody will keep to the 3 mths period which is quite a norm..but sumhow like not so nice not to invite wor....most probably I will still extend d invitation...can't control if they realli wans to turn up =)

Stnov, ya lo no choice actually.. actually invitin ppl for dinner is a big prb man.. haiz.. headache.. suddenly invite couple they wan to bring children.. haiz.. wow lau.. my hubby got invite his friend who got married in june also lo.. we went to his weddin also.. so i tink reali alot depends on whether how you look at it.

Hi Stnov,

Ya, i will keep in as 3 mths and I will also extend to my frends....dun want to ask my parents further coz sure lots of rules. Dun know it better than knowing more sometimes...hahaha!

Hi Glad,

Ya lor, ask more from parents means more rules...hahaha! My fren also juz ROM this week, not sure if consider or not, or only taking into consideration of customary. Haha!

Invite friends with children is really big headache. I asked my fren...n she said maybe she will bring 1 or 2 kids. Asked if she Got bring hubby, said its up to me....really stuck man...so end up i reserve 4 seats for her...

aiyo handsome u sensitive lei....tot we noe nong nong ago dat we cant attend each other's wedding....=).....mi refering to sumone else lar......

glad...it's true...in fact banquet planning is veri troublesome.....lata neber invite partner bring theirs.....lata children.....maids....duno wat else can happen lar.....worst is RSVP but din turn up last min....**fainted**

Lawris...remember years back when we ROM....a best fren of mine whose AD is less than 3mths 'refused' to turn up.....while another best fren whose AD is 2 days b4 mine came.....=)

Hello!!

Im a newbie here!! I am looking at Furama Riverfront as one of my possible wedding dinner locations... The person tat had contacted me is Albert. Kinda interested in the mercury ballroom. But the package proposal albert gave to me was vague, and when i asked for pics of the ballroom, he say would be better if we go down see...
hmm... anybody had him as a coordinator?

Hi Parmida,

Welcome to the thread! My coordinator is Albert, a very friendly and helpful person. I thnk its a good idea to take a look at the ballroom urself coz u can have a clearer picture. Heard Mercury is a new ballroom and its nice! U can also ask to look at their package if u r keen.

I just been there for food tasting and is so disappointed! All the dishes are too salty except two dishes. Do u gals have this problem too? All i so suay just happen tat day.

Does your coordinator and chef turn up to speak to u at the end of the food tasting? I was so embarrassed when the person-in-charge told me tat my coordinator had left and the chef was not able to meet me on the spot! My family and my husband's family were very upset tat day.

I quickly arranged the very next day to meet up my coordinator and told him wat had happened. Hiaks....I am very skeptical about wat would happen on my AD. very very worried.

Lastly, i asked my coordinator the Red & Black garoupa thingy as it happened to my colleague's wedding not long ago! He said some red garoupa are not tat red...more towards pink... Therefore after steaming they turn to greyish! I was quite skeptical abt it so i go home and ask my mil and my mom who happens to be in food industry. They say no leh... In fact, pinkish fish after steaming should turn more reddish...Eg: prawn after steaming turn pink. Upon hearing it, i hd mixed feelings about what my coordinator told me....

Btw dolphin, i have terence hp number. do u still need it?

Hi Snow,

I also think pink garoupa will turn to red wor...how come to greyish? Doesnt make sense leh... After hearing ur feedback, am abit worried. I havent plan my food tasting yet. Not sure if Albert will be there to assist or not...I will sure clarify with him on this issue.

hi snow, ur coordinator is winnie?or terence?

wah its disappointing to see tt the dishes r mostly salty, sort of lik standard drop?

shldnt either the chef or coordinator shld be arnd? otherw who can we feedback to? such feedback shld b on the spot mah.

hmm i start to hav less confidence wif them liao lik tt. i think coordinator shld put more effort not jus close sales n bo chap

Hi Law,
I am absolutely disappointed. In fact, i was more of embarrassed coz my parents and his family were flabbergasted when we were told they are not available and one went home after our food tasting! Moreover, the moment when we sat down, we requested to see my coordinator but the so called executive in charge of my food tasting said my coordinator will come down to meet us after our dinner!!!
Most importantly, their food was way way below my standard. I won't say I am a good cook. But i definitely can differentiate what's salty and not! Moreover all of us couldn't take the saltiness of the food! Not just two of us. It was only food tasting that day and it turn out so bad. I can't imagine on my actual day where we have 30+ tables. How will my relative comment? Die man.....

Hi Iceblue,
My coordinator has been changed to Terence.... Winnie took over him for a while coz he was not being posted to the hotel yet tat time. I dunno if the standard drop or not coz never tasted it at my colleague's wedding. Too near my date so couldn't go...But she told me her relatives complain abt the black garoupa. However, i remember she told me the rest of the food tasted okay. Precisely, i thought must be on the spot....Btw my coordinator resigned so i can't really blame Terrence but i din expect the food to taste so bad. Moreover, some of my relatives are selling food.... Imagine if they come to my face and tell me the food is awful and they sell better food than them on my actual day.... I dunno how to hide my face le lar. btw i email u his hp number le

Hi snow,
That sounds really bad to me leh...I better prepare myself on my food tasting day. Hope it will not turn out that way. Otherwise, I will be very very disappointed. All along, I am very pleased with FRF's food and I have been telling my friends that. If the food turn out to be very bad during my AD, it will be so embarrassing!

btw i went to c frf's webpag, nw the price is cheaper ? but contradicting they put nett but go in liao got +++
hmm or is it book now, so price be nett, otherwise gt +++.

by rite we book early shld b cheaper mah.

Stnov, ya lo.. tats the worst.. then when you ask them if they comin anot then tell mi see how first la... i reali feel like tellin them dun come la... angry man.. haiz..

Snow, oh no.. thats bad... my food tastin was not very smooth as well.. cos few of the dishes was reali not to our expectation.. so hav to stress this again n again to our coordinator.. you are not alone.. we were only taken care by the banquet supervisor only..

iceblue, fear not la.. you see wrongly le.. initially i also freak out man.. tt one is the nett rebate if say you hav a certain number of tables with them.. read again..hehe.. cos tt time i also like tt then i read again then realise tt de...

huh? i dont understand the rebate thingy?
pls explain..
i would be as upset as iceblue if such things really happen..

thanks,

The rebate is like a discount.. For example, if you book a min of 25 tables for the mercury ballroom, they will deduct $538 nett (weekdays) from the total bills..

hi iceblue,

if you book 36 or even more tables for the venus ballroom, they will only give u a nett rebate of $658 for weekend..

How long does the hotel usually take to draft the contract for u? I have already informed them that I would like to book the hotel. Till now I have yet to receive any email from them. I will also not be in town for a while and would like to view the contract before i leave town. Can anyone share their experiance?

Hi Law, yeah, if im not wrong, its newly renovated and it seems quite nice...

As for the comments, this sounds bad leh..i havent even go see the place, and i hear more bad comments than postive ones..pretty apprehensive...

Sigh....i have always been very confident with FRF's services and food...but nw hearing some feedbacks here, I am worried too...