For All dog lovers

dabee

hi Irene
i hv not heard of "congenital microphthalmia" but now u hv seek professional advice liao right? which clinic u went to? is ur eye specialist Dr Stanley? he already confirmed that ur puppy eye will turn blind? if op, what is the sucess rate? then what the healthy eye, if the healthy eye can last ur puppy a lifetime then maybe not so bad not to hv the surgery as he still can see with one eye.

i would like to share with you my experience. my cocker is now 5 yrs old, last oct he just had cataract surgery done by Dr R Stanley from Melbourne. for my cocker is genetic problem, one in 100 cocker will kena. his left eye is worst, cataract starts to show when he is only one,n his right eye just start to show when he is three, n both his eye sight is failing, he bumps onto things, fell into small drains, etc, he cant see birds flying anymore.... all these broke me n hb's heart.
we tried to consult two vets but in vain. they did many tests of suspect of many things even diabetic. kidney problems, i also duno i spent how much for those tests. till i chanced upon Animal Clinic at Telok Kurau, which they admited that sg does not hv such professionals for animals. and recommanded me to bring my cocker to see Dr Stanley, a consultant for many vets and clinic in sg, when he is in town. and the waiting list to see Dr Stanley is quite long, i hv to wait till the next 2nd or 3rd visit. he comes every 3 mths, unless there is emergency. for the next visit, one patient last min cancel the appt, and i quickly to urgent leave to bring my cocker to see him before he fly back to mel in few hours time. Dr R Stanley did some checks and confirmed my cocker is genetic problem, n the condition would definitely deteriorate till a point of time he will go blind!!! and my cocker is only 4yrs old he still has a long long way to go...the success rate for left eye is only 75% and right eye is 90%. if we dun operate him asap, the sucess rate would decrease maybe then by when we really wan to spend to operate him also too late liao. Dr Stanley scheduled him on his next operation date which is next mth. i wanted him to do the op badly thought if it fails he would turn blind instantly, but still my hb has to agreed too cos i need him to chip in, i dun hv so much $$. the op for both eyes would cost $3.5k to $4k which $1.5k is for a new pair of lens. Dr Stanley reassure me that this op is a minor op just like human cataract op and he did this op in Mel very often so dun worry. i actually did tot of doing one eye to try first, cheaper n try out one eye first ehich dr stanley think no point. no problem high chance of sucess do two at one go!!! ok we agreed to proceed as this is the least we can do for our dog n leave the rest to God. right after the op, my cocker can see clearly instantly. no bandage he just need to wear the elizabeth collar. for the next 2 weeks, he needs intensive care as to drop eye drops ( to prevent imflammation) 4 times a day, n we must check his eyes as often to see if there is any rejections. we still can see the thread on this eyeball. my cocker is very happy and very curious about everythings surronding him. we are very happy to see him so happy. my poor boy must hv not been able to see properly for a long long while liao. i am very grateful to everyone( the vet, the nurses) at Animal Clinic and Dr Stanley!!! I thanked God for sending Dr Stanley to us.

irene sorry for this long story. do think about it, though is alot of money to pay one shot but is for your dog entire life. spread out this amt of money, is not alot per mth. ur puppy is still so young stll 10 over years to live. if u can afford, pls go ahead. only u can change ur puppy life.

me n hb din tell any of his family about the cost before the op, they sure will comment alot cos of $$$ (even though not their $$. i told my mom, she is neutral, up to us. after the op, there are ppl who is aware of the cost, commented to me, that i should just go get another new dog. what a comment.

dabee

367420.jpg

367421.jpg

judetan

Hi Dabee,

Glad to hear yr advice….

I have consulted Dr Heng from Mount Pleasant who is trained under this Dr Stanley based in Australia. He be here in June, doubt I can raised enough $$ by then, so most probably I try to scheduled the surgery in September this year.

My dog has only one underdeveloped eye (genectic too), hence he developed cataract at 8 months old, yes, he turn blind gradually. He still can see with the other. $3K is only for the surgery itself for one eye. Success rate is 80%.

If I booked appointment with that Dr Stanley, he will run test on my dog to see if he is suitable for surgery anot, if yes, he be wheeled in immediately to be operate on.

My husband says im mad. So im not asking him for help. I turned to my frens and sliblings. Each of them try to chip in a little for me and I will raise the rest of the $$ myself. I really can’t bear to see him blind, he still got a long way to go. Im planning to call up the clinic in june to book for his next appointment in September, cos he is “hotâ€. True, no surgeons is SG is qualified to do this kinda of surgery.

May I know how much u spend in total for him to operate on both eyes?

Very stressful indeed…

small_one

Dabee

we brought him to siloso beach cause he likes to see pretty jiejies. but it was his first visit there. He seemed to be very happy that day.

here are the pics that I could not post up previously.

367456.jpg

367457.jpg

Irene

don't worry. I am sure one day your husband will come to understand your love for your dog and how much it means to you when your dog is healthy.

dabee

hi Irene:
so the op which cost $3k performed by Dr Stanley or Dr Heng? for one eye is $3k, is this op an major one? is the procedure tedious? Did Dr Heng explained to you in details?

what do u mean by "If I booked appointment with that Dr Stanley, he will run test on my dog to see if he is suitable for surgery anot, if yes, he be wheeled in immediately to be operate on"? If booked appt with dr stanley, on that appt if ur dog is suitable will be wheel in to op immediately???!!!! u sure???!!! no think for u to think about going for the op or not? so till now, Dr stanley din see ur dog yet, only Dr Heng? then how u know whether ur dog is suitable for the op or not???!!! i am confused.

for my case, Dr Stanley personally check on my cocker to do tests to make sure that he is suitable for the op and the success rate then i go back to think for one week to see if we wan to go ahead with the op or not. if yes, i call back animal clinic to make appt to schedule my cocker for dr Stanley next visit to do surgery. do not need to decide on the spot.

usually dr stanley would be at the animal clinic at sunset way( clementi), just happened that the check up was at telok kurau branch. the op was done at sunset way branch cos all the facilites is here. on the same day of op for my cocker, there is also three other dogs going for this cataract surgery.
the total fees for my cocker op is close to $3.8k.

cos u are from mt pleasant then to Dr stanley, i wonder the fees would be diff if u go thru animal clinic to dr stanley. i duno i just wonder......

or do u wan to call up animal clinic at sunset way and tell them about the op congenital microphthalmia and roughly find out how much it would cost based on their past patients. just for a comparsion sake.

judetan

Yes, only saw Dr Heng only once. Operation will be done by Dr Stanley in one eye to remove the cataract. An incision will be made at the eye ball to suck out the cloudy stuff in the eye (cataract). Apparently, I heard that Dr Heng study under Mr Stanley, so she (Dr Heng) is able to give me more details on the operation. Success rate my dog to see again, is very high.

Meaning, if im agreeable, to see Dr Stanley, Dr Stanley will run a test while my dog is “unconciousâ€, to see if he is suitable for operation, if he is fit, we can go ahead with the operation on the same day. i don’t have to wait for another day for the operation. Cos it seems to Dr Heng it’s not a major surgery. Maybe yours more complicated procedure.

I did suggest to Dr Heng..that run test first…the book another appointment to do the operation, but she says it be very stress for the dog, becos he will be put under “Anaestasia†(hope I got the spelling right).

Yup, maybe I try to call up animal clinic to ask the pricing. Thanks.

dabee

HI irene:

i duno whether ur doggie procedure is the same as mine or not. mine is same incision to break n remove (suck out) the cataract then replace with a new man made lens. urs do not need to replace lens?

Dr Stanley did the test to see if my cocker is a suitable candidate for the op or not while my cocker is conscious. very fast too just he shone light to see the pupil dilate or not. something like tt, i cant remember the exact.

i see, so ur doggie hv to be put under general ansethesia GA ( i also duno how to spell) even to check if is suitable candidate or not.

ya, just try to call animal clinic at sunset way to find out more, u can ask for sabrina. i think animal clinic can pay by installament plans by i think standard charter bank. if u hv this credit card, maybe would be easier on ur pocket.

i also hope that ur hb will understand ur love for ur doggie...

do update me again... my email [email protected]

autumni76

how do you know your furkid is having this prob?

I am also calling out to all furkids parents staying around sembawang area, if you would like to form a once a forthnight/month/week sort of playgroup for the furkids. It'll be nice for them to socialise, make friends and for us to exchange any form of info to ensure they have better health, manners etc.

judetan

Hi dabee

i have put my dog on waiting list to see Dr Stanley, his schedule is very tight. Mine i think no need to change lens, just suck out the cataract.

Hi Sunflower, i notice a white round lens inside my dog eye. And one eye development is smaller than the other. That's how it got me started...to see the vet.

judetan

Hi sunflower,

vet told me my dog is born with it, like a birth defect, leads to cataract. Surgery can correct it.

if let say it's due to injury, it might have funny discharge, redness in the eye etc.

It is important to check on our furkids often..to see if there is anything unusual..on them.

And im in for the gathering..just let me know the details.

contactable email [email protected]

Hi Dabee,

guess i stick to Mt Pleasant, if i go "animal clinic", my dog gota go thru another consultation..too much of a hassel for me.

he doesnt not need to change lens, just suck out the white stuff and close up the incision. From what Dr Heng(mt pleasant) says the dog needs to be on GA, then test whether suitable, if yes, straight away can do surgery, cos too often under GA also no good for him.

now is just wait for the appointment date to confirm.

dabee

hi irene:

ok, i understand...good that you hv decided a go for ur dog. dun worry he would be ok after the op. do keep me update.

sunflower, for my cocker, when he is one yrs old, i realised that there is this whitish circle in his left eye, and the white circle (cataract) become more n more obvious, and 2 yrs down the road the right eye also kena. that is when his eyesight starts to deterioate, he cant see far, he cant see birds, he dump onto walls, bushes and fell into small drains when in new environment tt he is not familiar etc. at home he is ok, cos he is familiar with the environment and furniture arrangement.

ya we hv to look out for any unusual signs in our furkids, not only eye, even skin problems, ear mites etc. not that they would tell us or cry in pain when they hv such conditions.

sembanwang too far for me u gals go ahead..

autumni76

Hi irene,

thanks for the info. I really do hv plenty to learn abt bringing up my naughty precious.

and so glad u are in for the doggie gathering.

i'm putting up the notice in quite a number of forums. hopefully, can gather more ppl in this area. then our furkids can make many friends.

will let you know the time date venue thru email .

judetan

Hi Dabee,

managed to fix an appointment to see Dr Stanley on 31st May. But surgery date yet to confirm, gota depends on his schedule.

By the way dabee, u have 2 dogs, what's the other breed, white one? Can manage anot..2 dogs.., i would relli love to get another dog to accompany mine..maybe in the near future...

dabee

hi Irene:
good good. let dr stanley see ur doggie condition. dun worry too much , ur doggie would be ok. God will bless.

yup i got two doggies. the white one is maltese he is 10 yr old!!!! my mom bought him and when i married my hb i bring him along to stay with us. just before we got our new place then, we bought the cocker. initially i wanted to buy another maltese or west highland terrier cos i like white dogs but my hb like cocker n since this would be his first dog from puppy i let him chose. so our cocker is consider our first dog, whereas my maltese is still refer as to my dog using my surname.
cocker got my hb's surname.

when got two dogs, i would say that every thing u do for one dog and to be double loh. do two times. ha ha haha, as for daliy walks same time cos i bring both together. they are ok, only when bath time, bath n blow dry take longer time. as for grooming wise, i only bring my maltese to groom as i duno how to cut his hair. for cocker, min grooming is needed as his body has short fur hence i only cut those hair on this paws, cut his nails. initally, i would let my cocker accompany maltese go grooming. and cocker grooming is more ex $50 per session and cocker's hair need to be hand scissors trim bit by bit thus more work. maltese can use razor thus only $35 for full grooming. other than tt, pay for both for vaccination, dental cleaning.....

i would say that me n hb glad that we got cocker to accompany my maltese, now they are inseparate, they would miss one another if the other one is not at home. now my maltese is old liao, i only scare tt when he goes to heaven , duno how is my cocker going to take it.

as my MIL still staying with us, now at least, she can accompany my dogs and my dogs can accompany her. my FIL just passed away.

now i am 5mths pregnant. hv difficulties to pull two dogs to walk walk n squat down to clean them. when my baby is born, i am sure there are lots of adjustment to do.... hope my dogs would welcome and love my baby too.

judetan

wow dabee

u sure sounded like a super woman to me..2 dogs and a lovely BB coming.how to cope...luckily u have yr MIL to help u.

Im certainly glad that u never have the thots of giving up the furkids becos of the BB. Some people actually gave them up when they are pregnant, they scared that the doggies will harm their BBs.

As for me, my hubi doesnt want another dog at the moment cos he doesnt want others to think that we are unable to have children that's why we have 2 dogs, he even promise me to buy me another dog if i were to get pregnant.

My poor dog alone at home from 9am to 6pm on weekdays, weekends i try to bring him wherever i go..he very lonely, every evening i go home, he relli so happy to see me..then i bring him for walks..interact with my neighbourhood dogs. Sure it is not an easy task.

Im planning to bring him to the beach to play and swim, but he is only 9 months old leh..u think it's alright?

judetan

hi gals another tip

buy lots of toys for yr furkids if both of u all working full time..rotate a set of 5 different toys daily..so they wont get bored and start chewing up yr furniture..

i even leave a small portable radio for my dog..so it doesnt get too quiet for him while we are not around.

small_one

Irene

sure it's alright.

Shem is only 6mths and we brought him to Siloso beach last week.

There we met another couple with a pup of only 5 mths old.

momosa

I have a 6 mths mini schnauzer and I'm learning how to cut his nails. I've bought the cutter and the file but I'm afraid to start as it might hurt him if I cut too near the quick. Any special tips/advice besides sending him to the groomer?

dabee

irene:
ya loh, superwoman!!! hahaha. hope i can handle my dogs and my bb. of cos my hb also helped out as much as he can. now my tummy is getting bigger thus i hv difficulties to get up from the floor after washing then and towel dry them while sitting on the fl after their daily walks.
ya i would say that my doggies are very lucky to hv someone at home with them all the time. my MIL can take care of them and my 5 yr old niece would be at my place to play with them too.

no lar, we never wan to abandon our dogs when we plan for baby. we will never do tt. me n hb is very clear about this. and we also make it clear to those relatives whom commented that we should throw away our dogs when our bb coming along. we told them no we are not going to give up on our dogs right from the start. our dogs are also our babies!!!

if u plan to hv a bb soon, then maybe get another dog when ur bb is older, then u n ur bb has better bonding...

irene, good idea to leave a portable radio for your dog so that there are some sounds to entertain him. ya most of the dogs are alone at home during working hours, my friends dogs too. hence, when u got home just try to spend as much time with them as possible, ur dog would be very happy to see u when u got home.

i think should be ok to bring ur dog to beach. u and hb can also swim with him. bring him to the parks is also good. yesterday i just went sentosa with our dogs n my hb's friend 7mths old cocker. we had great fun.

o ya, after the surgury, then ur dog cannot go swim for at least 3 mths.

beebeegal

hi princess_less,
it's not necessary. u juz need to bring his vaccination record to the vet u intend to go to & the vet will know wat type of injectn ur pup needs

pegsfur

momosa,

Why dun you try the nail grinder instead? My dog absolutely hates nail-cutting and I'm not good at cutting nails! She keeps fidgeting & i almost cut it right in.

Luckily my fren recommend me to use the grinder. Although my dog still fidgets but the situation is alot better and i dun have to worry if i wld cut her accidentally

momosa

Hi pegsfur,

I've never heard of nail grinder before but will go and take a look at the pet store. Thanks for your advice!

autumni76

After jerry ate up one small chewey of his, I asked with the Pet's station sales girls at causeway point and they said it's perfectly ok for dogs to eat up those bones (cheweys made of "cow's skin"?). So I continued allowing him to chew them as he would chew other forbidden stuffs if he don't get to chew them.

I read a book late last nite and it said that "cheweys should not be eaten as it might get stuck in the intestine and tear them if eaten in large pieces." The advice was to take away the chewey if the dogs start to swallow them. (I mean, if it's already half way down the throat, how to force it out)

Is it really ok? Would it tear the intestine or get stuck there or what?

judetan

Hi sun flower,

my dog actually chew till soft then swallow, but personally i find it yucky to pick up the remaining chewy..sticky and smelly. So i stopped giving my dog, instead i have him those nylon plastic chewy (from $4.50 to $8), available in most pet stores, comes in usually bone designs and flavoured too.

I simply wash and throw to him again if it gets dirty.

autumni76

hi irene,

my boy also chew till very soft then swallow. but it does seem to harden again when he doesn't chew it and i wonder if it would expand when in his intestine. i'm worried it might tear his intestine and he has already swallowed so many.....

judetan

Hi sunflower,

dont worry too much, maybe u should stop giving it to him to chew. I suppose the doogy would have digested it and "poo" out already. Try to look out for signs of discomfort in yr puppy...i think he is just going to be fine.

autumni76

urgent and pressing question that needs your expertise pls.

How are mites, ticks and fleas different in terms of look and behaviour?

My boy has been trying to brush something off his neck since last Thu. Thnking it's ok, today then only i took a close look. (After 5 days. Should kick myself for that.)

Something like dried blood clot was stucked to his neck. I tried pulling but it won't come out. So on really a close look up then only i saw it's wriggling its legs.

I dunno if the following i did correctly. I dripped neem oil onto the area, then combed out using flea comb.

My boy was very happy after that.

My other question is, i found one pest so far. I took a quick look in the house he normally goes to, rest in (mailny kitchen) but can't find any more. so is it ok?

what are the symptoms i should look out for if he's kena anything more serious related to pests such as tick fever etc? Should I get him shaved bald? Should i bring him to the vet to confirm no more pests (I really dunno if it's a tick, mite or flea). How to disinfect the whole house?

Looks like one prob solved then another turns up. Oh dear.

Pls pls. Need your advises. Thanks.

chng

Hi Sun_flower,

I have encountered 2 types of such insects on my doggie but not too sure how to identify as flea or ticks. One type is the flat and dry type, normally quite small and the other type that I saw is fat and filled with blood when you squash it flat.

Normally what I do is when I see one, I will pull it out (though I know it should be painful) and squash it dead. Make sure u press real hard on the flea as they are quite difficult to kill. Good to press with fingernails or sharp objects. Never throw inside the dustbin as I feel that they can still crawl out to attack your dog or other dog.

Is your dog a long coat or short coat type? Short coat easy to see the fleas but long coat needs some searching. For me, I will "sayang" my dog and feel for uneveness on the skin for signs of ticks. Dun think you need to shave him bald unless super serious case. U just need to check it everyday and extermninate any that you can find. U might want to use the flea and tick shampoo for the time being or buy a flea collar. But the flea collar quite stinky and I dun really find it useful.

Your dog might get flea or ticks when u bring it out especially on the grass patch. For my dog the last round she kena, we din even bring her down for walks for that period and she still got it. So quite difficult to say how to determine also lah. Sometimes it could be human who carry it home, especially if we come in contact with wild dogs or infect dogs and who knows the flea might follow u home on your sole...?

autumni76

hi tots,

thanks for your kind sharing.

The one I found was brown, very small, and it's dry. I called up breeder today and she said sounds like the prob is just starting and since only found one, dun have to fear too much. She said it's a male tick and females ones usually are greyish. Thus it won't lay eggs on my dog.

My dog is a westie breed and the inner coat, mattes very easily. It's fairly easy to spot ticks on him as he is white. but the fur also quite difficult to sieve through.

I already checked the house and didn't find any more so far.

My HB said in future don't bring him out. But i objected. Coz, it's unhealthy to confine him to the house only. Besides, it's true maybe we brought back the ticks and fleas through unintentional contacts with plants etc.

my question: would this sort of tick cause any fever etc for him? How to identify any symptoms of illness related to ticks?

chng

Hi Sun_flower,

Not to my previous past experience of my dog having ticks or flea did relate to further complications or illness...

To determine if yr dog is having fever, touch the tip of it's ear. If it is warmer that what it should be, it might suggest it is running a fever.

stepford

I don't exactly know how much is the shipping charges because I shared them with some other ladies who joined the online spree. I paid SGD8.50 for the dogggie tee, very affordable!

ditz

HI everyone
I'm getting a puppy soon (havent decide female or male), planning to neuter it when it gets older. For a female, if i decide to neuter it, would it still get periods?

garlicboy

hi ditz,
every dogs have different characters, male or female does not matter. i hv 3 schnauzer, they have different character. some people say female are more loving, but i think depends. i have friend with female dog behave like male, very active.

well, before u decide to get/buy a dog, u must be prepare that this is a lifetime commitment (i'm not from SPCA), but i've seen too many unwanted pets. to hv pet is just like having a child, although cost is lower, they will live up to 10yrs or more. they requie a lot of time to groom (include cleaning ears, brushing teeth, bath..), play time, socialise, training.... not to forget feeding, taking care of the when they are sick, visit to vets .... if u r not ready to commit the time require, then better not to get a pet.

nami

Hi Garlic,
Can you pls advice me on toilet training since you have 3 dogs hee? I jus bought a puppy, a Shih Tzu. Hmm, she has been with us for 1 week plus. Trying to toilet train her. She is very funny leh. When we put her in the playpen, she knows how to pee and poo there. However, when we let her out to play, she will anyhow pee. Headache leh. We scold & beat her already and show her where is the place to pee. Sometimes she get it and soemtimes she dun. I think the % is like 30% of getting it only. Any advice? Thanks alot!

garlicboy

hi Nami,

toilet train take time n a lot of patient. beating is negative reward, not effective. mine started very easy, our first dog done it in the toilet by himself, no training require, the second one on newspaper (previous owner trained), the third one learn from his father, go toilet himself also, thus, only require spray of water to wash away the urine into drain, n pick up poo.

i presume yours still very young, right? u can try this: clean pee with toilet paper, tell him/her 'NO,NO' (angry tone). then dam/wipe it to the place/newspaper u want to it to pee tell him/her 'Pee Here' (not angry tone). this process will need to repeat n repeat n enforce. once she done it at the appointed place, praise her 'Good Girl'. basically, train require 'repeat n enforce'. she's still a puppy, long way to go, so patient n patient. if dog did not behave well, is not their fault, is we, the human, did not train them, so is our responsibility to teach them.

hope u she learn fast n u enjoy the the process.
let me know if u need help.

nami

Hi Garlic,
Thanks for your advice! Hmm, I read it online that beating is negative reinforcement and it might scare the puppy. Perhaps when we beat her, she is too scared to think of what has she done wrong liao. Yah, I guess need to be patient.

Your first dog is so clever to go to the toilet himself!!! Hee so cute leh. Hmm, does your dog bark alot when they are puppies? Sometimes when I confine her in playpen, she will bark nonstop. So we ignore her lor, and after sometime, when she is tired, she will stop.

garlicboy

HI Nami,

hmm... don't know clever or coincident leh

mine no bark a lot, but i taught him, so he bark when he wanted to come out of playpen

now he don't bark liao, only when i ask him 'want or not' then he bark
somemore hor, when i need to clean the floor n want to put them into playpen, the moment i open the foldable playpen, they will quickly come to me n want to put into the playpen, so silly hor ;)

barking is their natural behaviour, is their reaction to noise, stranger, uncertain situation ... but can be train to be not bark a lot one. like mine hor, schnauzer love to eat, so use food to train/bribe them lor, then they listen.

so now still trying very hard to train to youngest one coz he bark a lot n not socialise enough