hi Irene
i hv not heard of "congenital microphthalmia" but now u hv seek professional advice liao right? which clinic u went to? is ur eye specialist Dr Stanley? he already confirmed that ur puppy eye will turn blind? if op, what is the sucess rate? then what the healthy eye, if the healthy eye can last ur puppy a lifetime then maybe not so bad not to hv the surgery as he still can see with one eye.
i would like to share with you my experience. my cocker is now 5 yrs old, last oct he just had cataract surgery done by Dr R Stanley from Melbourne. for my cocker is genetic problem, one in 100 cocker will kena. his left eye is worst, cataract starts to show when he is only one,n his right eye just start to show when he is three, n both his eye sight is failing, he bumps onto things, fell into small drains, etc, he cant see birds flying anymore.... all these broke me n hb's heart.
we tried to consult two vets but in vain. they did many tests of suspect of many things even diabetic. kidney problems, i also duno i spent how much for those tests. till i chanced upon Animal Clinic at Telok Kurau, which they admited that sg does not hv such professionals for animals. and recommanded me to bring my cocker to see Dr Stanley, a consultant for many vets and clinic in sg, when he is in town. and the waiting list to see Dr Stanley is quite long, i hv to wait till the next 2nd or 3rd visit. he comes every 3 mths, unless there is emergency. for the next visit, one patient last min cancel the appt, and i quickly to urgent leave to bring my cocker to see him before he fly back to mel in few hours time. Dr R Stanley did some checks and confirmed my cocker is genetic problem, n the condition would definitely deteriorate till a point of time he will go blind!!! and my cocker is only 4yrs old he still has a long long way to go...the success rate for left eye is only 75% and right eye is 90%. if we dun operate him asap, the sucess rate would decrease maybe then by when we really wan to spend to operate him also too late liao. Dr Stanley scheduled him on his next operation date which is next mth. i wanted him to do the op badly thought if it fails he would turn blind instantly, but still my hb has to agreed too cos i need him to chip in, i dun hv so much $$. the op for both eyes would cost $3.5k to $4k which $1.5k is for a new pair of lens. Dr Stanley reassure me that this op is a minor op just like human cataract op and he did this op in Mel very often so dun worry. i actually did tot of doing one eye to try first, cheaper n try out one eye first ehich dr stanley think no point. no problem high chance of sucess do two at one go!!! ok we agreed to proceed as this is the least we can do for our dog n leave the rest to God. right after the op, my cocker can see clearly instantly. no bandage he just need to wear the elizabeth collar. for the next 2 weeks, he needs intensive care as to drop eye drops ( to prevent imflammation) 4 times a day, n we must check his eyes as often to see if there is any rejections. we still can see the thread on this eyeball. my cocker is very happy and very curious about everythings surronding him. we are very happy to see him so happy. my poor boy must hv not been able to see properly for a long long while liao. i am very grateful to everyone( the vet, the nurses) at Animal Clinic and Dr Stanley!!! I thanked God for sending Dr Stanley to us.
irene sorry for this long story. do think about it, though is alot of money to pay one shot but is for your dog entire life. spread out this amt of money, is not alot per mth. ur puppy is still so young stll 10 over years to live. if u can afford, pls go ahead. only u can change ur puppy life.
me n hb din tell any of his family about the cost before the op, they sure will comment alot cos of $$$ (even though not their $$. i told my mom, she is neutral, up to us. after the op, there are ppl who is aware of the cost, commented to me, that i should just go get another new dog. what a comment.
i hv not heard of "congenital microphthalmia" but now u hv seek professional advice liao right? which clinic u went to? is ur eye specialist Dr Stanley? he already confirmed that ur puppy eye will turn blind? if op, what is the sucess rate? then what the healthy eye, if the healthy eye can last ur puppy a lifetime then maybe not so bad not to hv the surgery as he still can see with one eye.
i would like to share with you my experience. my cocker is now 5 yrs old, last oct he just had cataract surgery done by Dr R Stanley from Melbourne. for my cocker is genetic problem, one in 100 cocker will kena. his left eye is worst, cataract starts to show when he is only one,n his right eye just start to show when he is three, n both his eye sight is failing, he bumps onto things, fell into small drains, etc, he cant see birds flying anymore.... all these broke me n hb's heart.
we tried to consult two vets but in vain. they did many tests of suspect of many things even diabetic. kidney problems, i also duno i spent how much for those tests. till i chanced upon Animal Clinic at Telok Kurau, which they admited that sg does not hv such professionals for animals. and recommanded me to bring my cocker to see Dr Stanley, a consultant for many vets and clinic in sg, when he is in town. and the waiting list to see Dr Stanley is quite long, i hv to wait till the next 2nd or 3rd visit. he comes every 3 mths, unless there is emergency. for the next visit, one patient last min cancel the appt, and i quickly to urgent leave to bring my cocker to see him before he fly back to mel in few hours time. Dr R Stanley did some checks and confirmed my cocker is genetic problem, n the condition would definitely deteriorate till a point of time he will go blind!!! and my cocker is only 4yrs old he still has a long long way to go...the success rate for left eye is only 75% and right eye is 90%. if we dun operate him asap, the sucess rate would decrease maybe then by when we really wan to spend to operate him also too late liao. Dr Stanley scheduled him on his next operation date which is next mth. i wanted him to do the op badly thought if it fails he would turn blind instantly, but still my hb has to agreed too cos i need him to chip in, i dun hv so much $$. the op for both eyes would cost $3.5k to $4k which $1.5k is for a new pair of lens. Dr Stanley reassure me that this op is a minor op just like human cataract op and he did this op in Mel very often so dun worry. i actually did tot of doing one eye to try first, cheaper n try out one eye first ehich dr stanley think no point. no problem high chance of sucess do two at one go!!! ok we agreed to proceed as this is the least we can do for our dog n leave the rest to God. right after the op, my cocker can see clearly instantly. no bandage he just need to wear the elizabeth collar. for the next 2 weeks, he needs intensive care as to drop eye drops ( to prevent imflammation) 4 times a day, n we must check his eyes as often to see if there is any rejections. we still can see the thread on this eyeball. my cocker is very happy and very curious about everythings surronding him. we are very happy to see him so happy. my poor boy must hv not been able to see properly for a long long while liao. i am very grateful to everyone( the vet, the nurses) at Animal Clinic and Dr Stanley!!! I thanked God for sending Dr Stanley to us.
irene sorry for this long story. do think about it, though is alot of money to pay one shot but is for your dog entire life. spread out this amt of money, is not alot per mth. ur puppy is still so young stll 10 over years to live. if u can afford, pls go ahead. only u can change ur puppy life.
me n hb din tell any of his family about the cost before the op, they sure will comment alot cos of $$$ (even though not their $$. i told my mom, she is neutral, up to us. after the op, there are ppl who is aware of the cost, commented to me, that i should just go get another new dog. what a comment.