For All dog lovers

but hor, Prince also 6 mths still not lifting leh. is it true that toy breed mature faster than bigger breeds ? a sheltie is a medium sized breed rite?

hi there, anyone here know how to play fetch with puppy at 4 mths now my dog yoyo know sit stay and down but when comes to fetch she will go there and touch and come back to me without having the object in her mouth.how do i let her bite and come to me?

shall i just wait the opportunity that she did that and then keep on praising her and reward her with treats and then she will get it?

and also how to handle a unspayed female dog with menses? do they usually drip alot when they move and i heard they will lick away themselves but little here and there is unavoidable. i do not wish to spay her.

thanks though!

Binbin,
I bought my sheltie at a pet shop at the farcentre at choa chu kang. Last Thurs, he has a diarrhoea with worm and he vomitted. Brought him to the vet and give him antibotic and medicine for diarrhoea and vomit. when he is at the clinic, he cant stay still and very kpo, and the vet also wondering whether is he really not feeling well coz he dont seem to look depress just not much of appetite. He even disturbe the vet when she is trying to key in some data into the pc. So the last few days hv been monitoring him, and last sun brought him back to the vet for recheck and everything ok!! Relief for me!! and the vet told us that maybe he is not deworm properly that why he pass out worms...
He is now responsing to us liao, and he can do the sit command just that whenever he sit, he will slowly lie down and shake hand, chasing after ball, he like to disturbe us esp my mum whether we let him out of his playpen...

Hi omveganyogi,

My Coalie knows it by instinct leh ... we didn't teach her to fetch. She brings back the toys to us cos she wants us to play with her. Oh, & she knows which is what ... like when i asked her 'where's your dog-dog?' She will bite the stuff toy which we call it dog-dog, & bring it to us. Then when we ask 'where's your toy-toy?', she will search for the nearest toys on the floor, bite it & bring it back to us. Very cute leh ... I like to see her biting something & carrying it around.

pegs,
wah ur coalie so smart ah .....
coco will run after the toy i throw then bring to one corner to play. he wun bring back to me. sigh. still training him on that.

but nowadays when i ask him where is his fetch fetch then he will look ard frantically for his toy hee hee ..... think must be like u, give the diff toys names, hopefully slowly he will know hee hee ...

omveganyogi,
ok first, u got to be patient. throw the toy not too faraway and ask her to fetch, when she goes and not bring back the toy, just ignore her. during the time when she gg to pick up her toy and the nose gg to touch the toy, try to praise her and encourage her, say gd gal, fetch fetch ... you'll have to repeat this many times till the time she pick up the toy and move along with it. only then u reward her. soon she'll get it.

hi omve, i think u can try throwing the toy first, say fetch. her instinct usually to go and explore it. then when she got it in her mouth, say "come". if she comes to you, open ur hands and gently take the toy from her and praise her.....see if she understand.

but i heard that some breeds just dun like fetching. retrievers love it though. my sheltie dun like fetching...think it's not him loh. coz he is a herding breed, noticed that he likes to circle us and push against us beri cute one hehehehee.....

shane, yes sheltie is a medium breed.

NICE!!! sorry think i got ur nick wrong lah..hehehhee...so nice to hear from u again! got worms ah?? aiyoh......sayang for ur doggie leh. glad he is okie now. coz i have a sheltie, if i hear of any shelties sick i beri sim tia one..
my sheltie not yet dewormed. vet gave us 2 tablets to feed him once every month. at the end of the 2nd feeding go back to him to inject. the tablets are also deworming pills to prepare his body for the injection.

so he is responding liao lah? beri cute hor???? now prince wants to be with us so much, that it is so farnie thinking back to last time when we first bought him...when he keep whining once we delivered him home.... he dun respond last time, just quietly let us pet. only few weeks later than he respond...hehehhee now he will bounce up and stand on the play pen fence asking to be let out when he sees me hehehhehee.....

yah prince also likes to lie down after he sits. but we tried to correct that by moving forward, gently putting pressure on his front paws using our feet, and say "Sit!". he will scramble up, then sit.... maybe u can do that. now he seems to be able to differentiate betw sit and down...but need to reinforce...

come in often to share share lah! hehehhee.....yeah....

pegsfur, hehehe same as frosty! whenever we say ball-ball he'll go looking for his ball and bring it back to us or cute-cute for his squeaky dumbell. if we act like we're not interested to play with him, he'll push the ball into our hands and want us to play and if we respond, he'll snatch the ball away again hehe.. very cheeky fellow

omve, my doggie loves to play fetch.. i think it's like 2nd nature to him... so i guess it depends on ur doggie character.

shane, hehehe i have already "ren4 ming4".. newspaper have to be spread out on the floor and against the wall/crate... cos frosty just lift his leg up super high hahaha. frosty didn't learn to lift his leg till after 1 yrs old :P

coco also like to sit already then lie down. ha ha. always got to ask him to sit up again.

soupie,
1 yr old ?! u hv any idea wat made him start ? could it be ur newspapers ? or is it purely hormones ? is frosty neutered ?

my plan to change coco failed. yday i went home, pee was out of the papers, so that means he still spraying at the pen. *sigh* we still trying it out. see wat happens.

sometimes i wish i can be at home with him all the time just to train him. our weekends are always so bz. either we're out or we bring him out as well, so can't do much on the paper training area. while for weeknites, i'll always remind him but he doesn't pee. i think he's learning to control his pee already. how ah ? the newspapers are always clean ones. is it better to leave some pee on it ? everytime he will smell smell floor then i'll bring him to the pen but he always very suspicious cos i think he thinks i'm gg to lock him up again. i must coax ALOT then he'll go over to the papers. i'll point to the papers and he got no reaction, not even go and sniff the papers. I wait awhile ard the papers and he'll keep like 'bugging' me to play with me .. after awhile if still no pee from him, i let him go back to play in the hall. <font color="ff0000">anything i'm doing wrong here?!

Binbin,
the vet gave me 1 tablet for deworm, half 2 weeks later and half 6 mths later..
yalor, now he start to respond liao, when we first brought him home, he gave us a big present by poopooing in the cage (pet taxi), imagine we drive home from chao chu kang to bt merah...cant on the aircon with window wind down....and he cried for the first two nights at the same timing 3am in the morning, my bf hv to wake up and peep at him to c what wrong...maybe his poopoo too smelly that he cant sleep and not used to new envir...ever since we switch from ANF to eagle pack, his poopoo not so smelly...he dont allow us to comb him but he like being tickle...so cute when he is in the submissive position with his back leg shaking...
I think i will try ur methods to teach him sit..we tot that he's just being lazy...

Shane,
u should not throw all the newspaper, leave one pc which hv the pee on it and place it together with the new newspaper...that what i did, Bob dont pee and poo anywhere now..we let him pee and poo in his crate beside his playpen where he sleep so he got a separate place...I purchase puppy trainer and put a few drops on the newspaper and let bob smell...so now he will automatically go into the crate to pee and poo even when he is half way hving his meal...

so really must leave 1 pc with pee on it .... when coco finally know to pee on newspapers, i thot no need to leave old papers on it liow. so i always throw ... sigh .... i even throw away the puppy trainer that i bought cos it was smelly ...
ok looks like tonite need to 'reserve' some old ones already. thks !

yup, hv to. even my friend, her baby is about 1yr old, she still do this coz the smell is there and when her baby want to pee, it will start to smell here and there until her baby found the smell and pee on the newspaper...this is what she taught me when i first get Bob...
Puppy trainer to us is smelly but puppy are sensitive with it..

oic...but when we not ard hor, he will know to do it on papers leh, even when the papers are new...so really headache man.

my friend maltese damn gd, got newspapers only will pee and poo liow.

My Lhasa Apso (Toto) worst, 1 yr old one (clean freak)...kekeke If I don't change the paper fast enough when he pee on the old papers already, you find he is trying to do it somewhere else if he is really urgent....

He likes his papers change after he pee, thats the problem with my doggie, but lucky he only pee twice or thrice a day...So the most I changed the papers 3 times...and I have to be like the Garang Guni, go around asking neighabours for newspapers....

Anyway once you successfully toilet train the puppy, you don have to keep the old papers anymroe cux the smell will be at that crate or corner where his/her nose is sensitive enough to pick up the smell when he/she is older...even when half way eat meal, he also can go there to pee then go back for his meal ahahhaa....

Good luck with your Pupppies training!!

Nas

natash
wow, tt's gd leh. i think it's from the genes ? maybe he was trained by his parents to be like that ? if only my coco can be like that.... sigh ...

ya that's wat i thot, once they learned to recognise newspapers then no need to keep liow ....

well guess i just have to keep trying and trying and trying .... must be patient.....

yah.. once he's used to it and toilet trained u dun have to leave a pc of stained paper behind. but some doggies dun like u to see him/her doing business. like frosty dun like us to see him poo.. so we always to peep from behind the door to see wat's he doing hehe
some doggies are really clean freaks.. they'll even 'wipe' their feet after their feet by doing walking on the same spot to wipe their paws if u pple get wat i mean hehe.

nice, u can try placing a clock ticking beside his cage or one of ur hubby's or ur own tshirt inside the cage with him so that he'll not feel so lonely. the clock ticking is like his doggie mummy own heartbeat when they are inside their womb or when they were nursing

soupie, i will try to put a clock...
Does puppy get car sick?? Coz mine will vomit whenever he is in the car...

hehe..my doggies also took a while to learn where to pee and poo. the female doggie tht i have was not too bad, but occasionally does pee n poo at places where she's not supposed to, but after a bit of training it got better........until she gave birth to her 4 puppies...then she started becoming a bit rebellious! in fact, her little "daughter" is so much more obedient than her, it only took me 3 days to train her. after after tht, she would go around the house looking for newspaper whenever she needs a poo/pee. There was one night, I was so tired after work, I forgot to leave papers in the balcony for her...and was reading papers in bed.....then, when I was abt to sleep...I threw my papers on the floor beside my bed. You can guess what I found on my Straight Times the next day! haha!

hi hi nice.
yes u can put a clock. but i guess by now he is not crying at 3am in the morning liao right? coz he knows tis is his home.
me same, the tablets eat one month apart. my sheltie dun get car sick leh. he is beri active and curious when in the car. he wun sit still....will always walk around the seat. so i got to steady him when my Fh brakes or what... i think there are car sick tablets around that u can buy. did u try them?

hey i also tot of buying the puppy trainer. but i get around to doing that, prob will buy soon. but prince now knows how to pee and poo on papers liao.....seldom got accident...but beri once in a while still have leh.

shane, yes thats what we did too. put the soiled papers below on in the middle of the new ones. he can smell the old smell and knows he is supposed to pee there. you said ur doggie pee correctly when u not around, but do it wrongly when u are arnd right??? i sometimes suspect they do that coz they know they will get ur attention by peeing outside, coz then u will spend more time mopping up and stuff....they may do it deliberately.... i also dunno how to solve this, perhaps need to realls scold him after u see the mess, show him to the spot, gently push his nose towards the mess (but neber allowing it to touch) and scold him.

hi jennifer and natash, welcome!!! jennifer, ur puppy so cute!! pee on ur newspapers hehehheheee....think she really trained oredi.

i got a friend's maltese who always pee in the kitchen where they put out papers for him. he is quite grown up now so can control his pee and poo until they come back. when they are back, they will release him from the crate he is in, then he will faster run to the kitchen to do business liao. cute hor?

Hi Binbin

I also put newspapers in the kitchen for Toto to pee, after half a yr of crate training...he is now roaming freely in the house when me and my hubby is out, all we have to do is change the papers when we come back home....

As for doggies who puke in the car cux of motion sickness...Feed small ginger slices to your doggie...and also do not feed prior to going out...

Or alternatively, I used to bring my doggie out for 10-15 mins ride slowly increasing the length of time...somtimes when we are cleaning the car, we let him sit in the car...(car is not moving)he hang around until he get used to it and will not have so much phobia. Once he get used to it, bring him/her out will be much easier..

Last alternative, get anti-vomit tablets from the vet...

I used to have a Rott Weiler in Australia and this poor boy suffer from car motion sickness everytime he gets into the car...Guess everytime he sits in the car, imagine the amount (really alot loh)of puke that I have to clean up, finally no choice I have to buy the plastic seat cover to prevent the puke from staining the car seats...

After the short frame time training of car riding , took me about 3 months....He got over it and was able to go for long rides....cux we go for weekend trips to the beach house - 3 hrs ride...he was able to take it by then...

That was a tough time...but well, the vet says...Patience..keeps it going..

Good lucks girls to all your training!!

Nas

hi hi natash.....i guess i am lucky that my sheltie has no car sickness. sometimes i am too slow to hold him when my FH brakes, so he will topple onto the floor below. this happen twice.....he will walk around the floor, then just climb up again on the seat and continue moving around again. last time when we started he may whine a bit bit but still move arnd. now he dun even whine.

and he seems unaffected by the jerking of the car. my FH sometimes purposely jerk to scare him so that he will SIT down. but prince didn't care and i told FH i am the one who is having trouble holding him with the jerks....

hi binbin,
yalor, he dont cry now, just that now he start to bark whenever someone press the doorbell...
sometime accident did happen, yesterday Bob was playing in the living rm while my mum watching tv, and he wandering ard, the moment he went into the kitchen, he pee near the dustbin, if im not wrong, i think he sniff at the plastic bag on top of the dustbin whereby my bf throw the soiled newspapers and think that he can pee there....
think i will try to put him in the car in short timing first then slowly increases...bascially i did not feed him prior to the car ride cos that time is to bring him to the vet for recheck up..so the to and fro ways he vomitted lor...

Hi nice,

Yes, you can slowly increase his timing in the car once your bob get used to the car, he will soon love to go for car ride.....Best to not feed him food if he is going to get into the car ekkeke...If not you have to clean the puke loh....

Otherwise as I mentioned, half an hour before going out, feed him ginger slices/juices...This will calm his stomach...so he will have a better time in the car....

Binbin
My toto very kia si one, once he is in the car, he will move around but when the car is moving, he will sit nicely in the back seat...When car stops moving, he will climb and peep at the window (not even 3/4 of the window) cux his leg too short kekeke...

Then he will whine and make funny noises cux he wants to go out and play ....ahahaha

Nas

hehhehe natash ur toto sounds so cute hhehehehe.....at least he scared so sit down, our Prince so daring just dun wanna sit still. will bounce back immediately after losing his footing.. :P what breed is toto huh?

Hi Binbin

Toto is a Lhasa Aposo...and he is brown colour...ahaha full brown

When we bought him from the shop, his fur was like so so long and he looks like a complete MOB...Cannot see his face, just a fat sweeping mob..

But cux as he grow bigger, got more active I get my groomer to keep his hair real short cux his skin is pretty senstive..

Oh and this boy ah, like racist...everytime the indian newspaper man comes, he barks like crazy..Like he going to eat the indian man up...The indian man always very scared of him ahahhah...

Nas

My Coalie just ate some sponge in the middle of the night. Though she looks ok when I left for work this morning, but i can't help but noticing she's not as active as other mornings .... quite worried leh ....

glad to know tht all are dog lovers!

hi binbin,
yes, managed to train her...but she can be quite naughty at times!

pegsfur,
how much did she eat? is the sponge clean or it was used previously with cleaning agent, detergent or like dettol???hope doggie's okie....
my dogs like to eat all sorts of junks also man....hehe..there was once, I came back home, and found Xena's face and mouth all green, yellow, blue, red....rainbow colour....then, i found one empty M&amp;M packet on the floor....so worried tht she'd fall sick from all those chocolates...but phew...luckily she was ok....and there was another time, I went buying Sporean tit bits to send over to my brother overseas, and left the carton on the floor...guess wat???? Woke up to find Xena finishing a pack of Cuttlefish Sotong!!! Yup, she really know how to find tit bits...hehe...
There are times when I am so mad and angry and my 2 little doggies, but I guess, I still love them sooooooo much. Cos they are my companion when I'm lonely hehe...like me own babies! They bring me joy!

dear pegsfur....like what jennifer asked, is the sponge clean??? maybe can monitor her today when u go back home. or u can ask someone over in the middle of the day to check on her?

natash! hhehhee so farnie, he racist ah! hehehehe....even know how to differentiate colour. but could it also be the smell? coz they say dogs see in black and white?

Hi binbin,

zFunny thingz is that Toto doesn't only bark at the indian newspaper man loh, he even barks at my indian neighabours when we are in the lift or downstairs....I also don know why he does that ahahha...so racist!!

So embarassing...I have to keep reminding him...Toto ..behave yourself ah, if not mummy going to spank you!! Then he keep his mouth shut!! and start to whine cux he cannot bark...Hiazzz

My gf's doggie does it too, don't know why it happens though ahahah....By the way, my friend doggie and Toto are good friends ahahah.....

Nas

pegs,
oh dear, hope coalie is ok. monitor her closely. should be ok. coco eats all sort of things even cigeratte butt ! but nothing major happen.
if anything unusual, quickly bring her to the vet. keep us posted ya

hi jennifer,
welcome. wow, so u got 4 dogs ? wat breed is ur doggie ? and ur dog just gave birth ?! how exciting !

ur dog ate up a pkt of M&amp;Ms ??!!! so scary. i would hv freaked out. i thot chocs are poisonous to dogs.

u only take 3 days to train ur puppy ? r u wkg ?
i'm hvg a hard timing training coco
i'm working so can only train at nite and weekends. sometimes weekends also go out then no training liow....hv him for 3 mths already still not paper trained well. but he's fast when it comes to trick training.

natash,
ur toto so cute and obedient. hope my coco will become guai over time.
got any pic to show ?

gals,
today is coco first day in the kitchen. i hope he don't mess up the whole place !!!! :P
yday nite so angry, bring him to papers to pee, he went to pee in his play box instead !!!!
so frustrating.

Hi Shane,

I actually only had 1 dog....then, I brought her to my fiance's house one day, and darn, she was on heat while I was out shopping and guess wat....my fiance's dog had a go at her....poor lil girl...and months later, she gave birth to 4 very cute darling malteses....white ones...very very cute! But I kept only the last daughter...while fiance kept one more...anyway, both of us combined, we have 5 doggies hehe....small toy poodle, malteses and silky. yeah took 3 days to train, but it was hardwork! Am working but took 1 day leave to take care of the pups after the weekend, cos feeling so guilty always working late u know....and leaving them alone....plus, I live on my own, so basically there's nobody at home while I'm away at work! But its not easy training....soft and hard method all also tried...even had to beat her...but guess its part and parcel of the whole thingy.....at least now she understands! wht breed is coco?

Tks for all your concern. Coalie shld be ok now cos she passed out all the sponge in the poo
She pooed twice yesterday &amp; it was a mixture of poo + sponge. This morning, what she passed out was all sponge! Phew! No more sponge for Coalie!

Hi jennifer,

Wow, u have so many dogs! I'd love to have so many dogs too but my flat is a little small to accommodate them all so i only have a silky. Hey, you have a silky too? How old is your silky? Can post the pic here?

Shane,

So how does Coco fared in his report card? Did he messed up the kitchen?

Hi Pegsfur,

But did Coalie have difficulty while pooing? It came out smoothly? My fiance's Silky is uhm, abt 7 year already! He's very smart, but hmm...naughty....and likes to guard luggage bags...hehe very funny!
Let me put up their photo
30388.jpg

Jennifer,

He's so cute! He likes to guard luggage bag? My previous dog, Peggy, is like that too
You can bring bags &amp; stuff in my house but when you leave, you must leave empty handed. If she sees you with all your barang barang, she'll bark, as if you are stealing things ...

I dun think Coalie pooed with difficulty cos at that time i just went into the toilet to wash her combs &amp; brush &amp; she was playing in the room. A minute later when I came out of the toilet, the poo was already there ... and the sponge was in it's original state ... er ... sponge shld be soft rite?

jennifer,
wow, u got 5 dogs in total !! isn't it tough for u and FH ?

coco is a chh

pegsfur,
glad to hear that coalie is ok. as long as the sponge is passed out, should be ok. don't think she'll have difficulty rite cos sponge soft soft one hee hee ...

coco did fine in e kitchen yday !
he pee and poo on the papers BUT still made a mess cos he play with his poo

with coco, paper trg is like 4d, see whether lucky or not. just when i was v happy he did fine in the kitchen, he made me angry again this am. pee at the wrong place. *sigh*

btw, heard SG got a pdt called SPE, stop poo eating, anyone tried ? does it work ?

shane,

I think hor ... dun be too angry with coco everytime he did it wrongly. Maybe he's confused with wat is rite &amp; wat is wrong. Like u know, when he did it right on the paper, nobody's at home to praise him.

I've heard from several dog owners that their doggies repeatedly either pee at the wrong place, or pee correctly but shred the newspaper. So whenever they are home they keep on enforcing the correct way until one day the doggies finally did it correctly ... &amp; that was when the dogs went past 1 yr old.

U need lots of patience lor ... relax ok?

pegsfur,

agree w u. must stop being angry with him. actually i'm ok, only recently then i'm getting so frustrated. mths bk, i was taking it ez, when he pee/poo i just let it be. maybe now i'm feeling the pressure to make him get it rite cos he's growing up, i very scared he become untrained forever since it'll be more difficult to train once they older.

thks for the advise. i feel better after hearing doggies got trained after 1 yr old. it's comforting.

yes...shane must be patient, shane must be patient, shane must be patient .... hee hee ...

thks for the support
: )

Shane,

YOu have to catch Coco on the spot if he/she pee at the wrong place, immediately when you see him/her peeing, use a harsher tone and then bring him to the newspaperrs.....Take action straight away...YOu will find the time correcting method works after sometime...

If he/she already pee when you are not looking, please don't punish him cux they already forgotten witin 5 mins...Dogs have short term memory....

Hope he info helps you

Nas

hihi pegsfur and shane, yah loh also relieved that some dogs get fully trained when they are one yr old.

hehehhehe i din know dogs can swallow sponge and be okie! wow, their digestive system must be really smart...if its my dog, i will also freak out if i havent heard abt it from u girls....

Hi Pegsfur,
Yeah, he likes to guard bags!!! Hey glad to know tht Coalie is okie now!

Hi Shane,
Yeah we have 5 dogs all together! It can be quite tiring at times, and well, expensive too, cos its not cheap for grooming and if they are sick..even worse...and dog food also quite exp. But, they bring us joy...Am lucky cos his whole family love dogs, so, guess the burden is shared by all...not too bad. Think Coco may need more time to be trained....Agree, it can be qujite frustrating at times, but dont give up, they should learn it eventually....Good Luck!

dogs need to be toilet train for a long time..when my bro's 2 dogs was ard, my bro keep teaching them the proper way. once the dogs got sign to pee/poo poo, he keep following them..once the dogs pee the wrong place, he drag the dog by the collar all the way to the toilet and in harsh tone said, " naughty dog, pee here" and pressed the dog to sniff the place. tt way, they will get use to the smell and naturally and slowly they will go there.n if for the first time, they did it correctly, we must reward them wif biscuits and say " gd gal, gd boy". think they will remember this part cos got fd to eat mah..hee..

tt's wat my bro do lor..

we cannot cane them cos they will feel sad. dogs do not know wat they did wrong immediately so must slowly teach.if they done anything wrong,they won't look at u instead they will keep their heads down and peep at u wif their guilty eyes. this is the sign to show tt they knew wat mistakes they did.

hi jennifer,
wow, u got 5 dogs? will they fight? cos my bro's 2 dogs will fight leh. mostly the female dog will pick up the fight with the male one. cos the male one went to the toilet territory which belongs to her but actually its for both! she selfish lor.

hi oke!!!
yes i know the method u are talking abt....
tried it before too....but must be lucky enough to catch them when they pee-poo wrong place hehehee....me not always lucky...

glad to c this thread so active. really need advise from u all.

ok i had a frustrating weekend. for the whole weekend, the papers was untouched by my dog. there were occasions that he pee outside and i did wat was advise, scold him and bring him to papers. this am, i really give up, resorted to fencing him up back again. he was given the whole kitchen a week ago. this am when i woke up, i saw his face n i knew he did something wrong AGAIN. he had that look tt oke described, head hung low, guilty eyes, don't want to look at me. he peed on e kitchen flr, OUTSIDE of e papers laid on the floor. SIGH. i am so angry and tired by all these already. so i just clean it up and fence it up. no more whole kitchen for him.

i'm starting to think he will only pee on the papers when he is in the pen(e papers are placed in a corner). maybe he recognise the pen and not the papers ? possible ? i'm really at a lost. the strange thing is on day 1 when i gave him whole kitchen, he does recognise the papers ! he pee and poo on it ....but slowly over time, he doesnt seem to get it anymore, we let him roam whenever we're at home (got to admit our eyes not on him every min, and he pee really quickly when we not watching) and so accidents happens. could tt be the reason ? he has nvr gone back to pee and poo on the papers in the kitchen at all ... since we let give him whole kitchen

but i'm quite sure he does recognise the papers to pee and poo on, only whether he wants or not. cos when we leave papers in the pen at one corner, he does he biz there. the rest of the place of the pen is his playing area.

can anyone give me some advise ? read somewhere that i could cover my entire kitchen (my kitchen is small) with papers for him to pee and slowly reduce the size. over time he'll get it ? should i don't that ? or should i use the play pen and cover with newspapers and use that as a 'toilet' for him, like bring him there every few hrs to ask him to pee/poo ?

help !!!!

hi shane,

the first time my bro bought the first dog, he keep him inside the toilet, dun let him come out n play. he spread alot of paper all over the toilet area. and the dog pee/poo on the newspaper. slowly my bro spread only a portion of the newspaper on a particular area plus papers with the dog's urine n place on it but all the while, he keep him inside the toilet. this way, he will be able to recognise his territory. however, once after we let him out to play, the dog will tend to forget where his territory is. so if the dog pee the wrong place, took him by the collar n drag him to his territory &amp; made him sniff the papers. somehow after many times of scolding, the dog slowly began to know where to pee/poo.
if u wan to let yr dog roam freely, hv to keep track of his behaviour. cos they do hv signs of peeing or pooing..they will run v fast to find spots..so during tt time, u really need to follow as closely as possible. try to keep the dog within yr eyeing range.

hi shane,

i did almost the same way like oke brother. all u have to do is to monitor or know their pee or poo habit like how long after he eat will pee or poo. the pup is still baby so will tend to forget or can't find way back in time to relief and also can't hold it well like adult dog.

in my first one mth my dog had to constant remind her to pee and poo and if we saw her pee and poo at right place we will give her a treat to reward her and sometimes she will tell us she wanted to pee and then purpose show us to give her reward ha ha.

me too put her in toilet as she is pup too big space is not so gd for her to go back in time so slowly narrow down the space for her pee and let her have a habit after meal go to toilet so she will know gradually have to relief first to come out to play.

they dun understand english so no point yelling at her she will just look at u in puzzle and they understand more by action or hand signal so she did wrong and u caught her red handed just put her back and lock her up for a while, u will see her keeping quiet and not making a lot of noise cos she know she did the wrong thing.

the trainer proven to me that she dun understand english by saying "cheese" when is feeding time and my yoyo just sit down cos she recognise her hand signal of giving.

try it and see it yrself!

oh this is my question to everyone here. how does pup get tape worm in stomach? it is all import dog will get it? i bought my JRT when she is almost 3 mths from AZ and when i buy her she is already on pup food so it is htey can't digest well and so parasite stay in stomach &amp; got tapeworm cos i tot only sweet thing cause tapeworm like human?

what abt heartworm, bitten by mosquitoes &amp; they will get heartworm then what abt those wild dog that we used to keep in kampong. how to prevent??

thank you so much!

thk u for all ur pointers. will take note. actually that's pretty much wat i do as well. just that i use my kitchen and playpen. yday lock him up in play pen and he does everything correctly-on papers. sigh. so this am, i'm giving him back the whole kitchen but keeping 2 parts of the pen where the newspapers is. I think he can only recognise papers and pen together. sigh. really headache. anyway i plan to slowly remove the pen and see if he can recognise the papers 100%. m also tracking his poo and pee times.
hope everything goes well for me today. no big mess in kitchen !

hi omve,
i'm not sure how dogs get worms in their stomach. but i know dogs need to be dewormed regularly. U can bring ur dog to e vet and ask abt deworming. my pup was dewormed when we brought him to the vet for his first check up. u can also check e card from the vet in AZ. after i dewormed my dog then i realise on the card got write when he was dewormed. waste money :P

as for heartworm, there's 2 ways of prevention. 1 is by a annual injection, 2 is a monthly pill. first of all u need to consult ur vet cos he might need to run a check on ur dog to see if he's infected or not before prevention can start.

for my case, my pup didn't need to test cos he was 3 mths, so can just start the prevention straight away. i choose the pill form. everymth just give him 1 pill. this pill also contains deworming effect but only deworm certain types of worms, not all.

shane,

Must have alot of patience lor ...

I started to train Coalie to raise her paw a few weeks ago but she oso like dun know leh ... but last sunday, she actually raised her paw when I said 'paw-paw'! Was so happy leh ... but it wasn't consistent lor, the next moment she won't lift up, then next try she'll lift ... dun know what she thinking oso. Then these 2 days she seemed like forgotten the command already &amp; never lift her paw when I said 'paw-paw' .... hiaz ... dunno what to do oso ...