For All dog lovers

Nas,
Rem me? we chat last nite!
Ahh..that's TOTO ah..so cute. Err..my luohan this morning really swimming "backstroke" liao.
But still breathing lah. sigh.. going to get the yellow tonite. sobs...

Val,
3.5-3.6kg is ok for maltese weight lah. just that my doggie abit "long" n lean so look boney. usually by 8th month, your maltese shd not grow anymore.

Hi Val,

I used 2 leave my dogs with their trainer if i go overseas but now got a maid so will get my bro to stay at my place durin my absence.

I even got prob carryin Vodka who's 10kg. For Rusty, if carry down i.e. fr higher 2 lower can. But fr flr up cannot.

Here 3 pics of Vodka at 1 go. The 1st 2 was taken when he's only 3.5 mths old. The last pic is recent.

11658.jpg

Hi nastash, Toto veri furry...so cute.

Hi val, no lah beagles not fierce at all. they r known as "merry hounds", veri frenly n playful. My frens luv disturbin them, like hold their hind legs up, rub their faces, pretend 2 punch their muzzle etc. They just play along wif my frens.

Hello Aliblue...

You ah...Your fish swim backstroke ah...Buy medication for him or ask the fish shop people...to recommend medication for you...Ahhh thats my toto...Yeah, my goofy...kekeke
I talked to flowee until 2 plus in the morning last night thru ICQ kekeke...She stay next block my mum place only...

Nas

In Australia Airport, I got sniffed by Beagle before , very scared....kekeke Cux I brought food over..kekke but lucky the guy let me off....The Beagle sat down next to me when he know I got food in my luggahe ekkeke...Don;t know where to run ah, me..

Not supposed to rbing food to Au ...regulations and the Beagles worked as Qurantine dogs there..Very clever..

NAs

HI natash,

My fish die liao.
Now i'm monitoring the other fishes. Hope they r ok.

Wahz...u 2 can sure chat ah!!! hehehe...

Me just taken louis to Animal Clinic at Telok Kurau for his puppy jab last sat. According to the vet, he told me he'll need another jab next mth) becos he's from Australia so that's a total of 4 puppy jabs. When I checked with the pet shop where I bought him, they told me no need leh....aiyo I also dunno how..

Also me having real difficulty feeding his syrup....he keeps spitting it out after I use a syringe-like tube to feed him.....sigh....I dunno whether I shld stop the medication cos he seems to be not coughing anymore...

Hi Val,

All medications have to be consumed even when the cough is not there anymore unless the vets says that you can stop when there are no more symptoms...Better to check with the vet..Like wise for human, all anti biotic have to finish if not not effective..

For the syringe, you have to put it deeper but don poke him...And once you pushed in the medicine with the syringe, you have to use your hand to hold on to his mouth for a few seconds more for him to swallow then you release...If not the medicine, will be spit out by him.

Good luck with you...used to have a hard time...like wrestling with my puppies but they got used to be already..so no fuss..

NAs

hi val,

seen him b4, nice guy. But i usually look for Dr Hsu (only Mon n Fri). how cum so many jabs? did u show him ur pup's vaccin papers w/c the pet shop gav u?

Hi natash, vodka,

I too believe that the whole course of antibiotics shld be completed but really see him everytime eat medicine struggle until like that like so kor lian I also sim tia... I chked with the clinic asst and they told me tablets can mix with food...but the syrup better not and he told me to feed him at the side and not at the centre cos it might go into his lungs...

As for the vaccinations, I've brought his health card with the 2 vaccination label but I think he just took a quick glance and say that australia dogs needs another jab...He say after the 4 puppt jabs then go for the annual one...Did Dr Hsu advice you to go for the annual one or did you opt for a bi-annual jab?

hi Val,

dun rem dr hsu recommendin either. anyway, it's really our decision. i for sure not vaccinatin Vodka at all, Rusty mayb bi-annual.

i believe u got ur ans fr DS or r u more confused
. Hope bubba had given u quite an insight n info on vaccins n nutrition. Read on more on DS or the web n u'll find more diverse school of tots. Dun panic, overtime u'll learn 2 make your own decisions. I was once a newbie to dogs n i learnt thru trial n error too. But of course always exert caution even when vets recommend u sth cos it's a furry life at stake.

U'll nn 2 complete the full set of puppy jabs for ur maltese. decide later whether u wan2 hav annual, bi-annual or no vaccins at all.

for basic health n nutrition, u'll hav 2 start wif a quality food n basic supps. As time goes by, u learn more abt canine nutrition n decide fr there if there's any other additional supps tat u nn 2 add. dun jump into everythg now cos u'll b either overwhelmed or veri broke

The types of supps u nn will depend on the diet tat u r feedin n wat r u tryin 2 achieve. e.g. vodka is sufferin fr IBS n is on home-prepared semi-raw food, so i nn 2:
use digestive enzymes to help him digest his food,
balance his diet wif multi-vits,
balance calcium phosphorous ratio wif calcium (meat diet phosphorous high),
enhance his immunity wif colostrum,
probiotics for the friendly bacteria tat aids digestn
aloe vera for its nutritious healin properties

I dun noe all these fr day 1, i learn bit by bit day by day n until 2day he's not completely well. I'm still learnin n tryin n hopefully he'll recover 1 day.

For maltese n if ur pup does not hav any obvious ailments besides the cough, mayb u wud like 2 start wif multi-vit, a skin n coat supp n immunity enhancer. Decide whether u wan2 feed the many other vits/supps later when u've more knowledge on wat's their purpose.

Another word of caution, dun just buy any supps off the rack fr petshops. Do some research on the brand n manufacturer 1st or u'll b wastin money. DS members hav some pretty gd recommendatns on supps 2 buy or just get the human ones fr GNC.

Hi Vodka,

Yup I know it's our decision whether to let our furbaby have the jab annually but I just thot it will be gd if they supports your decision and not pester you for the shots...

You went to DS also? Hmm...I dun recognise you liao cos I think you use different nick right? Yup Bubba gave me quite a whole lot of info which I thot was rather useful but need time to digest all that slowly...step by step lah, I'll complete the 4 jabs first before I decide on the others.

Actually, I hesitate to buy such supp also cos I'm not sure if Louis will like to take it...As wat my hubby says, if he buy lots of supps for me to eat saying that it'll help me be stronger and healthier, wld I want to eat them willingly? For me, it's no...I just dread medications even if it's a calcium tablet cos I can't swallow them...

hi val,

agree wif u tat u oso wan the vet 2 agree wif u. i find dr hsu quite quite receptive 2 owners' opinions like alot of vets will advise otherwise wif raw food while dr hsu is ok wif it.

me seldom post in DS now cos bz wif SGbrides n FBO
anyway, i'm sure u'll "recognise" me by my nick n avartar.

btw, cant help u abt how 2 feed the syrup cos hubby is the one who force feed Rusty, the difficult one. Vodka is so greedy tat he happily/willingly takes all his medicine.

hehe so good..your vodka so kwai...hehe but your dog quite big force feed also quite difficult hor hehe...Btw, wat is FBO?

I'll see how it goes when I bring Louis for his last jab...hmm...must say that really learn alot from the DS frens there and of course you lah who recommended me there...at least now I know that heartworm can either take medication or go for jab...hehe and have to take blood test first before injecting the preventives...hehe

Oh ya yesterday found 3 erm...I dunno wat you call that (is it fleas) bloodsuckersthat sticks on the skin and very difficult to remove...Is it normal huh? I seldom bring him out leh even if I do I also seldom let him walk on the floor (anyway he also dun like to walk while on leash)...erm..maybe once outside the clinic... How often do you chk on tat? I fd it very difficult to fd with his thick fur..but luckily his fur is white so not so diff to sight. I tried to put some deticking powder but very difficult to apply to every part of the skin leh...

My maltese likes to sleep on the leather sofa when we leave her alone at home. And got once she pee on the sofa.....and left stained pawprints all over 3 seater sofa and floor. How to prevent dog from lazing on the sofa when no one is at home? I am trying not to cage her nowadays.

Hi Claris,

Huh pee on your sofa? Tat's disastrous isn't it...Did it seep into the leather or wat? I still dunno whether to confine him in the kitchen or just leave him around wen no one's in... Does she do it when you all are around as in climbing onto your sofa?

Val,

FBO - femalebridesonline

fleas can b anywhere. ur louis just had a cough n took some vaccins so his immunity is lower thus easier 2 get fleas. if too many, use frontline (spot on), easier 2 apply n will easily get rid of the fleas.

Hi Val

Actually my fault cos I didn't stop my dog from jumping onto sofa...so she jumps up and sit with us watch TV everytime. Nowadays, she sometimes even jump onto bed with us, but no no, that we don't allow. I afraid I 'ya bian bian' her. So when she jumps up, scold her, and command her to go down. Of course when we around, she never pee at wrong places, only on newspaper. I find it such a big risk to let dog roam around whole house.

Hi Claris,

Then from now onwards have to refrain her from doing so lor...huh then when you all not around leh...she will anyhow pee and poo ah?

Actually I quite scare louis lonely next time cos afternoon he only have himself to play with..

Hi Val,

Frontline is for both ticks/fleas. It's available in either spray or spot on pipette. while it's effective, it oso has its dangers.

read up the below threads on DS, veri informative:

http://www.doggiesite.com/cgi-bin/YaBB/YaBB.cgi?board=health;action=display;num=1033524825;start=3

http://www.doggiesite.com/cgi-bin/YaBB/YaBB.cgi?board=health;action=display;num=1030353238;start=0

Here r 2 other links on frontline:

http://www.peteducation.com/article.cfm?cls=0&cat=1463&articleid=1419

http://www.frontline.com/

help!!!!

anybody got a schnauzer? my one has got hard crust forming at the side of the ear. was wondering if anyone can give me a clue about what it is?

Hi ice,

Me have a Schnauzer! Could it be Schnauzer bumps? My dog sometimes get them. Its like dry spots, sometimes its flaky. It normally appears on the rest of the body also. If its not, then maybe its a fungal infection.

hi ice,

y not bring your schanuzzer to a vet? vet will be in a better position 2 comment after havin a look at the crust.

thanks vodka and jolene.

i thought it might be schnauzer bumps but it last kinda too long to be those. i wanted to bring her to the vet but she has been going to the vet so often that i thought she might wanna have a break. too much medicine for the dog is not very good. Well, i guess i just have to do it again.......

I got an eye drop for my doggy from the vet, and it is meant for cataract. however i've been having a very difficult time dripping it into her eyes as she resisted and moved alot whenever i try to do it. anyone has tried dripping eye drops before ? also, should i throw the bottle away after a month of opening ? i wonder if i can get the eye drop from pet shop ?

Oops, what happened? There were supposed to be some text. Anyway, here's Snowy, my 7 wks old Maltese. Isn't she cute?

Roxy,

U sure have 1 cute puppy!!

must take more pics when she's still a pup cos that's when they r at their cutest!!

Hi dog owners,

Can I know how long do you take to toilet trained your dogs? My dog seems to be recognize newspaper only for 3 days, after that it starts to poo and pee anyway. How can I train him........

my hub n i bought a labrador last weekend. as i m a new dog owner, i m trying hard to accepting this new member. i do like dogs but maybe i m not ready. my hub has no probs as he has a fox terrier with my in-laws.

while i m learning to get use to all the cleaning and commitments, a neighbour wrote me a horrible note.

i hv been rather depressed during the week becos my hub and i hv been waking up extremely earlier in the morning to do cleaning and feeding before we leave for work. this is frustrating n i dun know when this will end. (male, 3 mths old).

my hub has been very patient with me n knowing that i was depressed, we went out last night for dinner and did some catching up with friends, leaving the dog alone at home. when we returned at 2am, we met our next door neighbour at the lift, he told us that they was a commotion earlier. dino barked loudly n a neighbour below shouted "shut up". some of the other neighbour dogs also started to bark non-stop. we were sincerely very apologetic n worse of all, a neighbour pasted a huge note at our door saying "please control ur f*** dog" n also labeled us as "f**** owner". i am really upset n felt really shitty.

i know we were ambitious to leave a 3mth old alone at home when he most needed attention but he has been behaving well for the one week. he doesnt really bark, only whine cos we lock him in the bathroom when he misbehaves. also, when we go to work, he is put into the bathroom. my dad in-law visited him the 1st 2 days and has commented that dino was good. he didnt poo anywhere and in fact i told my friends that surprisingly he's like automatic paper trained.

my hub talked to me last night and did suggest selling the dog since it is making me so unhappy. however, i dont want to be such a weakling. if i cannot manage a dog, how can i be a mother. i m in my late twenties. n m planning to b pregnant hopefully in 2 yrs.

i really dun know what to do.

Owning a dog is a big responsibility. Besides food and shelter, you also have to shower the dog plenty of love.

It is indeed tough as a first time dog owner. Try this, imagine the dog is your "human" baby, how would you bring the dog up? Also how would you look after the dog?

For me, I treat my dogs like babies. I make sure that their health is in tip-top condition by giving them the right food and bring them to the vet if they are sick. Also, I will spent time playing, hugging and grooming them everyday. Of course, training them to behave properly eg. no excessive barking, jumping at people and listen to basic commands.

You may browse the web or go to the library to borrow books on dogs to understand better.

Hi Upset
Are you staying in a HDB or private apartment?

If you are staying in a HDB, do you know that labrador is not allowed in flat ?

Personally, I do not like owners to keep their baby in the toilet ! Imagine you are been kept in the toilet for the whole day. How will you feel? They feel the same as us.

Having a dog is a big committment. If you are not ready, then you shouldn't get a dog

Anyway, dogs will develop behaviour problem if they r leave alone for a long period of time and confined in a small area

I hope you will be responsible and not try to sell the puppy away

Hi Upset

Are you living in an HDB flat? If you are , there's a list of approved breeds and I don't think a labrador is one of them. Nasty neighbour can tell HDB abt it.
Labs grow up to be relatively large dogs and they need space to roam. Might not be a good idea to keep large dogs in confined space. They might get depressed.

hi upset,

i own a siberian husky who is 4 months old. i want to share some experience but i guess it is not convient for me to leave my email add.

can u leave a email add for me to write to u? maybe i can give u some tips cos i faced similar problems or even worst.

hope u will leave your email add

er upset and all,

i understand that large dogs are not allowed in HDB but i have seen a lot of chow chows, labordor, greyhound in my neighbour. i feel that it is the love and care which is more impt. i have seen dogs in landed who are constantly cage up. so talking about space and all, i think wat is more impt is the love and care. if the owner can provide all that, with proper tarining and as long as no threat to the neighbour, i dun see the issue.

i stay in HDB and my neigbhours got a standard schnaur, another got two chows chows and they are all good dogs. and i can see that my neighbour truly care for them. and give them lots of space to run as well.

at the end of the day, i think it is the love and care

Hi: Your dog barks because he wants attention, but by giving him attention when he barks, u r going to encourage him to bark even more. Call up your pet shop and get them to recommend someone who can solve your problem. Your problem thou not life threatening but it is a serious one. It must be solve ASAP, else it will become a habit

my hub loves dogs and he cares for Dino alot. we feed him well, carrots, beef, chicken, apple and etc.

whenever we r home, he is allowed to roam the whole house. the pet shop actually wants us to buy him a cage but a bathroom is probably roomier. the dog is still teething n i cant let him around unsupervised.

Lab is generally a very tame dog. for the whole week that he was with us, i only heard him bark a few times and that was when he poo-ed and wanted us to clean it for him.

anyway, i spent my entire weekend bonding with him n i won't give him up. i spoke to my immediate neighbours and they felt that Dino isn;t causing any nuisance. in fact, one of them doesnt even know we hv a dog. they asked me to ignore that neighbour cos he prob has low tolerance level. They love dino too.

dun be uset,
u can email me at [email protected]

Hi dun be upset,

I saw your posting, u got a husky. Can i know is a female or male? My husband & I love husky very much but is too exp to buy one.

Can i c your pet's photo?

My email : [email protected]

Hi Upset,

i had kept dogs for the last 13yrs. I find that you shldnt keep ur dog in e toilet, its v cruel will cause behaviour problem especially lab is an active breed.

Do u bring dino for daily walk? Lab shld be walked at least once a day.

All my dogs were never caged since puppy and ofcourse "accidents" do happen but no major ones. Even young children will also commit silly mistakes. Start training them fr young & they'll know that they are only allow to bite their toys. Of course 4 a start, keep all ur expensive & precious stuff away. The only things that they never learn is e temptation of food. My dogs have never ruin any of my furniture, shoes etc... The only "accident" recently was while we were sleeping, she "helped" me opened my Xmas present under e Xmas tree b4 boxing day. But it's only 1 that she opened. Gave up after realising that there was no food in e rest of them. The funny things is every morn she'll be waiting for us to wake up by e bed & greet us exciting when we wake up but whenever she "commit a sin", we wont get her "good morn kisses", she'll just hide somewhr. We just scolded her & laugh aft tat.

I support & encourage u to keep dino cos dogs never fail to shower us w unconditional love & we humans are always the selfish ones. U'll realise that it will add lots of fun & laughter to u & ur hubby life.

Hi upset,

I am sure by now, you would have alot of people telling you how much responsibilities it is to own a dog. I am sure you are trying to do your best. By getting depress is not going to solve the problem. dogs understand what we want them to do. Trust me. Talk to your dog more often. As for the barking, I think you got to work on that. Do you confine him to a small space (like the toilet) when you guys are out? It is disruptive compare to the times when you guys are at home (he can run around)

My place has got lots of people rearing all sorts of dogs. Recently, there is this particular dog that keeps barking. Sometimes at night while the other are in the day. Some people are not very happy but to me, it is still tolerable. (Wonder if it is your dog, hehehe).... Dogs are like kids. You wouldnt dump your kid at home all alone, rite?? =p Dun be so stress. Things got a way of working out

Do anyone of u hv Shih Tze Puppies to give away??? I really love them. Sooo Cuteee!!! I've one at my parents' hm but really wish to hv another one at my hse to keep my JRT accompy. Do email mi at [email protected] thanks!!

Noticed there's quite a few doggie threads in here nowadays, just wondering if dog lovers want to chit chat and exchange pointers here ?