For All dog lovers

Hi Val,

My Toto is licensed as well...Its always better to go thru the proper channel...Although if you don let him go out of the house, its fine but sometimes, accidents happen..If your doggy is lost on the streets, and you can check with the SPCA. Much easier with serial number and tracking..
If your doggy is not registered, and is hard to trace your dog which is not tag...I understand that my friend, that dog which are pounded, found on the streets wandering with no tag and no one to claim. They will be put to sleep earliest 2 weeks if they are not in good health or alternately, adopted by people and that way, you will never find your doggy again. Thats the risk you have to take..and of course, dogs with no licensed i think have to pay a fine of $700 if caught in HDB. So having a dog is like having a baby, have to be responsible..and take care of him for life..
I rather be safe in this case. Take care girls

Nas

Agree wif natash...i'm veri paranoid so took all the neccessary precaution like neber allow them outside wout collar n tag. collar will hav embriodered their name n my mobile no. n tag will hav their licence no., hm add, n moble no. as well. I ever microchipped them.

Hi Vodka,
where did u microchip your dogs? How much does cost? Thinking of microchipping my doggie too although I always put him on a lease when we go for a walk. I am just as paranoid of losing my doggie as you. His license tag is on his collar 24hrs. He can be a pain at times but I can't imagine losing him. :P Like what Natash mentioned, having a dog is like having a baby..n I dun want to lose this baby of mine.

Abady M&S (granular)? Hmm..never see it in petshop b4. Nevermind, got time I go check around.
if can last 1.5-2mths for your beagle, then for my maltese, can last 3-4mths?? :P

U can hav it done at vets. Got mine done @ The Animal Clinic @ Telok Kurau, cant remember how much, less than $50 i tink, not ex.

Abady Maintenance & Stress formula r for bigger dogs n cums in 18lbs pkging (box). For maltese, u shld b gettin the Abady Toy State of the Art 5lb w/c cost abt $40.

I suggest u 2 get AbadyDirect 2 demo the pdt 2 u cos abit tricky when feedin Abady's granular formula (soil like), must noe how 2 adjust amt n feed veri little only cos too much will lao sai. AbadyDirect's no. 62721611, they r conductin demos for dog owners FOC 2 explain their canine nutrition concept.

Hi Aliblue & Natash,

Actually I also scare to lose it. He doesn't always bark but recently he seemed to always bark in the early mornings like 5 plus. I'm currently living with my mum in 2 mths time will be shifting to my new place. I thot it's a hassle to change address. So I told my hubby maybe we apply after shifting lor altho he encourages me to apply now. Also dun wan to risk the fine...I think I will not bring him out so often since he is still so young now.
ALiblue, How old is your maltese?

Vodka,
Oops, I dunno how heavy he his hehe according to my groomer, she say he quite skinny but I thot he looks fine. When u say feel the ribs, are you referring to the legs or the body huh? The spoon I am using is those plastic spoon lor slightly rounded. I always agar agar... Wat is premium food? Abady? Erm...using pedigree as treats as in to feed him some as and when but not as proper meals?

Btw, are dogs allowed in shopping centres huh?

Vodka,

Thanks! My doggie got neutered at the animal clinic. So I might call them up n enquiry abt the microchipping.

Thanks for the contact no for the AbadyDirect. But abit skeptic to call them..scare they hardsell (will they?). I check if my friends are interested as well.

Hi Val,
My doggie is now 1 yr 7th mths old. Very active n a typical good "guard-dog". :P
Oh..I also license him under my parents' place before i shifted to my new house. Once I have settled down in my new place (n change my IC to new address), I informed AVA of the change of address. The procedure is very easy. Jyst call them to fax u the change-of-address form n u fill up the form n faxed back to them the form with a photostat copy of your IC with new address. Call them up if you worry they did not receive the form.

Here's a recent pic of my doggie. 1st time posting of pix..hope it will appear. :P

11332.jpg

Ribs r the bones of body, fr chest area to stomach.
Premium food as in food of high quality, rem the article i posted earlier on how 2 select dog food, anyway here it is:
What's Really in Pet Food - An API Report http://www.api4animals.org/petfood.htm
Selecting a Commercial pet Food - http://www.api4animals.org/doc.asp?ID=689

Treats as in like "sweets" n "titbits".

I think u r not feedin enug. Anyway, doesnt the label tells u how much 2 feed?? use the labels, wt of dog 2 agar agar...if he's skinny u gotta feed more.

Dogs not allowed in shoppin centres

Hi Aliblue,

Your doggie so cute? A boy? Wat is his name? Hehe Me prefer maltese hair kept short cuter and not those long long ones...and wat is that he's standing on? His bed? hehe

Hi Vodka,

Thanks alot...I think I'm bothering you too much liao huh... I'll try to find out more from the labels and shops. Just worried that some shops because they want you to get their stuff they tell you things that are not so correct...

hi Val,
Yupz..benji's a boy.

I like to keep his fur short cos I am very lazy to brush his fur everyday. Also, he's a male doggie, I dun want ppl to mistaken him as a gal gal if keep his fur long. kekeke..

That's not his bed he's standing on. That's my stool/chair.

Hi Aliblue,

A second look at your benji I just felt like hugging it. hehe Me same as you....boy boy shldn't keep long hair...and also becos I lazy lah hehe Btw, wat a unique name..

val,
u mean my nick unique or my doggie's name unique? :P

He's actually quite skinny. Also very fussy eater. Anyway, as long he's healthy, I'm happy.

Btw, what's your doggie's name?

haha I meant your doggie's name unique lah...hehe tat reminds me your nick also very unique...are u a malay?

My doggie's name is Louis. But he got alot of other name also...my sista like to call him wangcai and my bro-in-law like to call him ben dan...ah...from this can tell whether you malay anot...hehe

my dog just had a vaccination 2 days ago, and after one night, she started feeling weak and cannot really walk, vomitting a little.

is this normal reaction after vaccination ? what should i do ?

Hi Val,
Sorry to disappoint u, but I'm not a malay. :P
My nick is from from the 1st 3 alphabets of my name + the colour "blue" cos that's my fav colour.

Louis - nice name.
Hope to see pixs of your doggie soon.

Vivi,
U better check with your vet again. Sound serious. My doggie 1st reaction to the jab was sleepy after that, a little diarrhoea for 1st 2 days. But that's normal. And please take note not to bath/shower your doggie after the jab for next 7-10 days (depending on what your vet says).

Hi Aliblue,

OIC...Hmm..thinking abt it how can ali be a gal right? hehe Aiya me no scanner leh wait till I got chance to go my sis's office to scan...hehe

Vivi,

Tat's true better to be safe than to be sorry...go visit your vet again...

Val,

Just for your information....
Malay doesn't keep dogs, it is an absolute NO NO for Malays to have dogs.

Nas

Hi val,

no trouble at all...glad tat i can share watever i noe wif u.

N u r rite, alot of petshops doesnt noe as much as they claim they do. rem if there's anythg u r unsure, check up Doggie Site, a veri useful forum.

there's alot of doggies gatherin goin on there too. i'm sure u n ur new pup will luv 2 meet up wif more dog owners n share ur experience.

hi Aliblue n vivi,

have u wonder y r there such symtoms after vaccins? mayb they r doin more harm than gd?

whenever injectns r absolutely neccessary, i'll giv my boys colostrum b4 n after the jabs 2 booast their immunity so tat they can fight the "harm" in the vaccins.

Hi Natash,

Din know leh....I only know Malay norm dun like dogs din know they can't keep dogs also leh...

Thanks Vodka, Doggie site got forum also meh? I went in before but din chk out the forums. Maybe I shld join as a member there. Yup initially I wanted to go for the gathering last sat but cldn't make it...I dunno my puppy will be scare anot leh...you ever join the gatherings?

Oh so your dogs got no prob after vaccines? Mine is due for his third vaccine very soon. I also want to be prepared for any such happenings leh...This is the first vaccine I have done..erm...can I jus go to the vet or do I have to make appointment first for vaccines? And is it that any vet provides vaccination service?

Hi natash,

Err, think it's muslim that cannot keep dogs..not malay. Malay is a race just like if u r chinese but muslim, u also cannot touch a dog. Correct me if I am wrong.

Hi Vodka,

didn't give my doggie any supplements after the jab. Actually read alot on health supplements in DS. But still hesitating. Also dun really know the correct amount to give to my dog. Human n dogs are different in health needs..I worry too much of a good thing will spoil his health instead.

Have you tried putting ACV to your doggies' diet? My doggie seems to hate the smell.

Hi Val,

Rusty is quite strong n does not hav any adverse reactn to vaccin but i dun intend 2 put them thru the danger of vacinns anymore especially Vodka. Will do up more research on vaccins b4 takin any actn

ya, did go to last sat's outin but left early. i usually bring my dogs to bishan, west coast or katong dog run on wkends (mostly katong) n once a mth beaglefest at Animal Resort w/c is a mthly gatherin organized by Beagle Club. Used 2 bring them 2 Sentosa to swim but not recently cos weddin near so nn 2 take care of skin..keke.

here's the link to Doggiesite forum:
http://www.doggiesite.com/cgi-bin/yabb/yabb.cgi

Hi Vodka,

Hearing wat you have said, I'm abit hesitant abt bringing him for the shot...According to that article you posted, the vaccines that the pet shop told me cld be the initial puppy shot...I'm not sure... How much does a vaccination costs?

So good you can run with your dogs...My dog still refuses to move an inch when I put him on leash...so I seldom bring him out or if not I'll carry him...Sentosa..you bring your dogs for swimming? How do you take care of them? Still on leash?

Oh when's your wedding?

Hi Aliblue,

1stly, wat r u tryin 2 achieve wif the supplements? to cure certain ailments? 2 enhance fur/coat? Basic maintenance? or to boast immunity? Of course, moderatn is the key. so u nn 2 noe wat's ur dog's healthy conditn n fr there determine wat he nns?

Below is wat I'm givin my dogs:

Rusty has no particular probs so I just gav him multi-vit n calcium for basic maintenance. I giv him colostrum once in a while when there's a nn like he's not feelin well e.g. diarrhea, vomittin, cough, lethargic n after injectns.

Vodka has Irritable Bowel Syndrome (IBS) so more supps. He takes multi-vit, calcium, aloe vera, digestive enzymes n probiotics wif his meals as basic maintenance. Aloe vera has many nutrtious values n healin properties. Digestive enzymes is 2 help him digest his food (wout it he cant digest at all, n will hav diarrhea) n probiotics to provide friendly bacteria w/c aids digestion too.

For repair of his digestive tract, I'm givin him Pat Mckay's ReStore (http://www.patmckay.com/Product_23.html) Used to giv him colostrum daily to boast his health durin the beginnin stage when i noe he has IBS. But now since he's in better health, i only giv him colostrum when he's not feelin well (nn 2 cut cost sometimes...hehe). Once he's better, I'll put him thru a course of colon cleanser (http://www.patmckay.com/product_22.html).

I strongly recommend Pat Mckay's pdts cos I'd seen results in my 2 furkids. Locally, u can only get it fr tis online store www.best4pets.com
If u hav queries, u can always send an email to Best4Pets. Dun worry, no obligatns n a truthful answer backed wif research. Pls note tat i'm not earnin any commision nor am i the one sellin PMK's pdts. I gotta noe the person who started Best4Pets thru doggiesite n oso he'd helped me wif Vodka's IBS.

As for myself, I'm takin PMK's colostrum n calcium too. They r human grade supps. Even my granny is takin PMK's calcium. If it's not gd enug for myself, it's not gd enug for my doggies..keke.

It's just my personal pt of view n i'm no expert, initial shot wud still b neccessary, just tat u dun nn the yrly 7-in-one pr 8-in-one shot cos the initial pup vaccins can last more than a yr n some dogs as the grow up, they will develop their own anti-bodies 2 combat virus.

Run wif them?! I'll die fr exhaution..keke. Actually, these dog runs r enclosed fields where u can let ur dogs run loose so tat i can sit n relax n just watch them run. My 2 monsters c grass only, run like mad. Yep, put them on leash n guide them into the water n swim wif them. Then when a distance fr shore, let go leash n they will swim bac 2 shore.

My weddin is 11 Jan 02

hi Aliblue,

Agree with you and maybe it would be better if I written, Muslim Malays/Chinese.. They can touch dog but cannot touch the nose or the mouth (be it on the mouth or the nose).. My neighbour told me that when I asked her about it last time..
So again, they would not keep dogs like we do,and most have cats as pets..

Hi Vodka,

Aiya..vodka, dun be qian xu...you already sound like an expert...seem to know so much and wat supplements to give...if ask me this I headache man...jus to ask again...can I jus go to any vet or do I have to make appointment first for vaccines? And is it that any vet provides vaccination service?

I am thinking of going to the Animal Recovery Centre at BT. Timah for his vaccination...heard that there's a Dr Jean or paul there quite gd...and somemore can go there and buy the colostrum you mention. Btw, how much is it?

The animal clinic at Telok Kurau also have branches at Clementi is it?

Hi Vodka,

Supplements just for basic maintenance. Also, anything good that can increase his appetite. :P
he's rather skinny by my standard. I worry he might be malnutrition.

Hi Val,

sorri forgot to answer ur qn. Dr Jean Paul Ly is 1 of the best vets ard, believe in holistic treatment. I dun go to him for logistic reasons but heard alot abt him.

All vets do provide vaccin svc but better if u make an appt especially ARC, u hav 2 wait veri long if no appt. Even wif appt, u've wait cos ARC always veri booked fr wat i noe. ARC do sell colostrum.

Yep, The Animal Clinic has a branch at Clementi.

I really no expert, wat i learnt is fr pp fr DS, Best4Pets fren, n some research. I was once a NEW dog owner too. Learnt it the hard way...due to Vodka's condition, i'd no choice but to find out more abt canine nutrition.

Hi Aliblue,

Yours is a maltese rite. For basic maintenance, multi-vit, calcium n MAYB a supp for fur/coat will do. Multi-vit n calcium to me r the most basic supps.

Just a ref, for Pat Mckay pdts, it'll be Fulllife w/c is a multi-vit, Calcium+Plus as the name implies and A+Plus for fur/coat. To increase his appetite, PMK has tis pdt called Bribery w/c supposedly enhance taste of food n to bribe dogs into eatin their main meal.

If ur dog not eatin well or just fussy?

Hi Vodka,

Wah one of the best ah...so famous his charges must be quite "famous" also hor....in any case, I'll go and chk out the place first...

I am feeling sympathetic for my Louis for having such a blur owner...
Oh btw, do you have pictures of your beagles? I dunno how beagle look like...

Oh ya...apart from the normal fod I'm feeding him, I also mix one teaspoon of Nutricoat 8-in-1 pervinal...supposedly it's for the fur / coat...so prob I wld need to get some multi-vit and calcium as well...

Hi val,

got lots of fotos of my 2 monsters but dunno how 2 post here.

Hi aliblue,

can teach me how 2 post pics here? thks.

Hi Vodka,

My doggie is fussy eater. :P
Thanks for the tips.

To post photos, type :-

\ image{description}

with the "\image" together.

Dun worry if your "preview" msg doesn't show the pic. Once u click post msg, the screen will prompt u to type in your file name. Hmm..I'm good in explaining but u try 1st ok?

Hi Aliblue, thks for ur help. okie, fussy eater...umm...do u parctice "free eatin" i.e. leave a bowl of food there the whole day for him?

Vodka,

Ya...I leave the bowl of food there the whole day on weekdays. Only weekends I do the "15mins eat or else take away food" method.

Your Rusty really good looking leh.

Hi Aliblue,

Leavin the food all day only encourages him 2 eat as n when he pleases.
Rusty used 2 b fussy but trained him 2 finished up watever I giv durin designated meal time.

Just the "eat now or u starve" method for 2 wks n now he's super greedy.
Start wif start 15mins, then 10mins n then 5mins. But cannot heart soft n giv treats durin the day. Wait until next meal time then giv him food again. I was feedin 2x a day then, mornin dun eat then he gotta wait until evenin. After 2 wks, he gav up.

I'm sure many a time, ur furbaby did not finished watever tat is in the bowl. Thus he's not eatin enug. Make him eat n finished watever u giv n I'm sure he'll put on wt. Leavin food for the whole day may cause the food to turn bad or invite ants too.

Oops almost forgot, on behalf of Rusty, thk u for ur compliment

BTW, he no longer as handsome as b4
cos tat foto was taken last (12-13kg) year n now he veri fat liao (15kg)

Here's a few more of his best 'model' shots

11527.jpg

Proud furmommy

Hi Vodka,

With the green background, yah I agree Rusty looks great...and the 2nd pic indeed looks a bit fatter liao hehe 15 kg you still can carry anot hehe....Dun be unfair hor...post so many Rusty, Vodka will be angry...heheh Beagles look a bit fierce hor do they?

Aiya now I quite worried my Louis keeps biting on anything he sees very inquisitive...that time I saw him biting a dead cockroach or something when I force him to spit it out he actually eats it...Now have to be very careful liao when spray insecticide have to quickly remove else he go and lick and eat...die man...

Oh so dogs are also known as furbaby ah? Oh so I'm a furmommy also lor...hehe Aiya I still haven take photos to scan leh....sigh...

Btw, where wld you keep your dogs if you are overseas?

hi Vodka,

I wish i have the time to do the "eat or else starve" method on weekdays but i can't cos I need to early early for work in the morning and usually he's still sleeping or half-awake at that time. Would be abit cruel to rush him to finish his food fast.

So that's why only do the "eat or starve" method during weekends. Anyway, he does eat his food lah..just that he's choosy. He love Abady and SG so he usually finish the food. But with Candidae, he's not eating much. ARGHHH!!!

Hi Aliblue,

How much time do u nn 2 prepare for work? An hr? Make use of tis time 2 train him. 1st thg u do when u wake up is giv him his meal...use a command like "breakfast". Then go get urself ready. If he still doesnt finish his food by the time u r ready, remove his food n leave the hse. Giv him dinner after work.

Dogs normally can go wout food for a wk. N they r veri smart n noe how 2 take advantage of their owners. B harsh 4 a while n it will benefit him for life. Look at Rusty, he's still alive n veri healthy

Vodka,

tried b4 but I heartpain lah cos he's not even half-awaken yet by the time I leave the house.

As I mentioned b4, I think he doesn't like Canidae cos I tried mixing Canidae and SG, he choose the SG ones to eat onli.

Aliblue,

aiyo..."ci(2) mu(2) duo(1) bai(4) er(2)"

Just giv him SG n Abady lor since he likes tat. Fr the pic, he doesnt look veri skinny, wat is his wt btw. how much r u feedin n how many times a day.

how abt feedin nite time then u got more time 2 train him? mornin just giv him a treat like biscuit. Alternatively, u can giv him colostrum w/c may help him put on some wt.

Vodka,

my doggie's weight is around 3.5-3.6kg. Very boney. like no fats at all.

He onli eat once a day n 1 bowl of kribbles. Tried giving him more but he refuse to eat. He's also very fussy abt treats. Eat only certain treats n only japanese brands!!! Really high taste ah..that doggie of mine.

Hi Aliblue,

Huh how come your benji so light? I think Louis is abt going to 3kg and only 6 mths old liao...Oh no...dunno whether he's overweight? Any danger of being overweight anot?

Nas,
Wah your toto's fur looks very smooth hor...feel like touching it leh...hehe