DIAMONDS Lovers!!!

Hi ~*^wendy^*~,

I doubt so ....... becos VIP card is not applicable for 916 gold, wedding bands, discount items or loose diamonds.

Moreover, you've already purchased or paid some $$ for your WB before telling them about this transaction.

May I know how much is your total bill for your WB? Maybe I can call up Goldheart & try to ask them if I can use my diamond ring to trade for your WB?

Btw, are you still buying other jewelleries from Goldheart? If yes, can trade off for other stuffs too.

If it's not convenient to disclose the amount here, pls drop me a email at : [email protected]

Thks
Elaine

Me again... now I have a problem.

The jewellery shop now doesnt carries the type of crown settings which I have earlier wanted (which was told quite a long ago design and they dont have the mould) and re-set into a fat base crown setting. And till date I have not seen a liking setting. Does anyone here knows of any place to re-set the diamond or webby that shows different settings of the ring for sample? *urgently* Thanks!

gesh.... THANKS! How much is their settings... and do they have webby to see see look look?

Btw, did you managed to get the stick-ons from your bridal shop? I think I only need a few will do, just the central of the straps. Let you once after tonite's fitting.

hi.

din managed to see the designer tat day as i was bz taking the photos and changing costumes.
however, if u need it, let me know the colour. i c what i can do. ...if the cystals are sparse, it may not look nice...if u dun mind, me can go shopping wif u to cc look look at the crystals.

i think fairy's inc charges may be above yr budget. i think it's above $600 for setting (not sure whether it's platinum or white gold). call them up and enquire...they are very friendly galz.
;-)

Girls...Just sharing... I found this place with much cheaper diamonds...To give an idea.. we are looking for a 1 caret diamond with a good cut, at least G colour and VS. At House of Hung at Far East shopping centre, there was a 1.12 carat, G, VS1,GIA cert with excellent symmetry and polish, table proportions within ideal under the scope, can see hearts and arrows at 13K. At Lee Hwa for a 1 caret G, VS1, table proportions almost within ideal, very good symmetry and polish GIA cert diamond, the price quoted is 20+K. There is quite a bit of difference.. Just sharing

Hi Bubblez

Any idea how we can tell if it's genuine or not..coz I've seen this shop..n like many others dat look like dis one, makes me worry if they are for real..

would flip if i were to discover dat i paid tonnes for a fake!

Let me confirm this, I think there is a laser inscription on the diamond that should match with the cert.
My BF knows some one who owns a factory that deals in diamonds. He checked out the wholesale price for importing these GIA diamonds of the specs that I mentioned. For a 1.10 carat,G,VS1.excellent symmetry and polish, the wholesale price is apparently 10K. That means House of Hung is making a profit of 30% and the more commercialised shops are making a 100% profit at least.
I am concerned about whether the diamond is what they make it out to be as well. There is something called a diamond tester..also you can use a loupe to check it out too.. but then again have to know what you are looking for. The "catch" so as to speak with House of Hung is that there is no instalment payment scheme whereas the bigger jewellary shops do..

Hi Bubblez,

Thanks for sharing. I also have inscript for the GIA # on the side gride of the diamond. Would that fade away as the time goes by or say after couples of times' servicing?

Wow! This thread is fascinating. There's so much information here.

MTMTMT, your discussion on Brilliant Rose and Gabrielle is interesting. I was in fact just considering getting a Gabrielle butI don't know if it is worth the mark up. It's about 40% and I was wondering if all Gabrielle diamonds are indeed cut by Gabrielle Tolkowsky himself. I mean, no point paying so much for a Gabrielle when it's cut by his apprentices for instance. Do you know anything about that? Are Gabrielle diamonds really more "flashy" and brilliant?

Sousa, the best way to know i guess would be to go look at the diamond... I viewed a Gabrielle at suntec city.. If you are willing to pay for a more premium diamond, why not go for a Lazare , tha mark up is about 30%? I have a brilliant rose diamond ring (F colour, VVS2) and honestly, it sure doesn't sparkle more than a GIA one of the same calibre

I just went with my FH to get my diamond. I got a 0.40 round diamond E colour VS1 clarity. This diamond has the stats of a HOF and with setting (plat-pt950)as i am allergic to sliver, gold and white gold, cost $2050. Is it a good deal?

Hi Jasmine

I think your diamond is value for $$.Usually for E colour, VS1 clarity, it will cost ard $3500 - $4000.

Where u bought them?

Hi Angeline

I normally get my diamonds from Larry.I must say they are good coz their cut is really brillant.Not very expensive.Normally their sales is in Nov/Dec.

Hi Cream,
I got it from delfi orchard ( Canary) the people there are really nice. They take their time to explain about diamond. Heard that the owner used to work for Larry.

Hi Jasmine

I think they really provide u a good service hor.I like to buy from Larry becoz they also take their time explaining the diamonds to me.

Hi Jasmine,
Is your diamond AGS or GIA certified? Seems like a real good buy! So did you see the 'hearts & arrows' in your diamond?

Hi icecream,
yes i did, he took the scope out for me to see. Compared with a 0.48 cut which is not ideal, mine looks much brighter and the hearts & arrows looks more well defined in mine. My diamond has a GIA cert with a ideal cut.
Dear Cream, yes they really have very good service.

My hubby & I had bought a pair of wedding bands in Feb. The rings come with a small diamond, though not very expensive. However, my hubby's diamond is chipped now!!!!

I am puzzled... I tot the diamond is the hardest element and cant be chipped unless by another diamond????

I want to demand an explanation from the boutique but want to get my facts rite first...

Pls help...

hi thanks,

diamonds can be chipped/scratched. That's why advice for care of diamonds incl not storing it in the same container as other metal jewellery.

my bf bought me a 1.01 carats diamond ring 2yrs ago from flower jewellary. its cost abt 13k +. g colour vvs1 brillant cut with cert. i find tat the price is more reasonable conpare to those comtempoary jewellary shop..as for buyin diamond smaller than 1 carat is advisable not to buy with cert cos it will be more expensive. is better to buy it from jewellary shop like je taime ..etc as their diamonds r better in quality.

Hi Angeline,
The unit is #01-12. Be sure to look for willam. You might want to call them up before you go to check if they have what you want.

My FH just bought me a Lee Hwa diamond ring. very happy. but i hv not much knowledge abt diamond, jus wondering care to share knowledge here?
Mine costs $2600+, 0.38 carats, G-Grade.

How is Lee Hwa diamond rings, good quality? thanks.

I'm also a regular of Canary. I go to them whenever I want to buy a stone. It's owned by a couple called William and Judy. William use to run Larry. Both or them are extremely knowledgable about diamonds and super-nice. They will sit down and explain everything to you and I find their prices quite reasonable.

Kite, it's hard to say whether yours is a good buy or not without knowing more details like the cut, certification etc. Is it ideal cut? Actually, I have a 0.38 stone, Brilliant Rose from Lee Hwa also. G color VVS1 which my hubby got for about $1700. It happened to be Valentine's Day offer so maybe that's why it's cheaper.

hi sousa,

hmm i hv not much knowledge abt diamonds, not sure whether is it ideal cut, how to see whether it's a gd cut or whatever? wat to look out for? thanks.

<font color="0000ff">Hi kite~</font>,
Wah~~~ er, i think ur diamond abit X lor...is that the Destinee 1?

Anyway, my FH bought the proposal ring during the Lee Hwa 50% &amp; my price much cheaper than yours.
Me got the Comospoltian setting, 0.38, E color, VVS2, think the price is abt $1900. I also got a GIA certificate.

Btw,there's a posting here tittled "POLL: HOW BIG IS YOUR ENGAGEMENT RING". There're some useful information on what to look out for in buying diamond rings lor.

Anyway, i'm still not sure how to look out for a good diamond lor....

i am diamond hunting now too.
I'm stuck between the GIA and AGS cert.
Is it worth paying more the AGS?

just my 2 cents worth on this. The diff between AGS cert and GIA cert lies in the amount of details. Most certification just tell you the colour, type of cut and clarity of the diamond. AGS cert goes into details on the exact dimensions. So for pple in the know, they can tell if the cut is good based on the dimensions.

My FH got me a Lee Hwa classic solitaire and the usual price is ard $3800, so after less is $2088. Its 0.41 carats, F colour, VVS1. However I find it very 'not worth' leh, cos I think with the price that he paid, we could get something better than it. In addition, it has a HRD cert. I heard that GIA is more recognise cert.

I went back to check out other diamond rings, and found that there are two rings. One a 0.40 carat one cost $1688 only!!!! It is only 0.01 carat difference and I'm paying $450 more. And furthermore, its only 0.01 carat different. And the other one is 0.42 carat but cost only $2058 and its $30 cheaper than mine too!!! The colour for both is either E or G colour. And furthermore, both have the clarity of VS1, which is much better than my VVS1.

So I dun understand why the difference with mine is so big with the other two....so till now.. I still have the 'lugi' feeling over my ring

actually the price can vary quite a bit depending on the colour and clarify grade. And VVS1 is of higher grade than VS1 - so don't feel lugi ok? Your deal doesn't sound that bad.

Hi kel,
Sorry, I got it wrong, mine is VVS2 not VVS1. So its only abit better than VS1. I'm trying to overcome the 'luginess'.
Thanks for your concern

sorry to interrupt.. anyone here interested in getting a diamond ring which is 0.91 carat , I colour, VS1. the cut is round brilliant. actual value is $10,000 from Aspial. willing to let go at $7500. anyone interested, plse email me... btw it is a with a champagn gold ring.

price is negotiable. plse email me at [email protected]

thanks for reading

regd
jo

i need some advice from u gals cos I am in a dilemma now

I bought a Brillant Rose just last week, it costed 0.30carat F VS1 for $3075.

Now I regretted for paying that amount for such a small diamond and went back to exchange for a normal 57 cut diamond . But they only left with three rings with the price near to the one I have. (cos i dun want to top up too much).

So if it was you, which will you exchange for?
a 0.50 carat G VS1 with GIA $3038
or
a 0.47 carat H VS2 with AGS $3382
or
a 0.42 carat F VS2 with AGS $3370
or
stick with the Brillant Rose?

The staffs told me to get the AGS diamonds cos they are triple 0 cut diamonds meaning the cuts are ideal and perfect compare to GIA diamonds. I was wondering if AGS cert is really worth paying more..Anyone knows?

just wondering, anyone of u here alter ur ring size for more than once? cos ppl do put on weight, when it does, the fingers oso put on weight. hehe
Does size alteration affect e workmanship and quality of e ring? thanks

Hi Melissa,

Dun be so sad, try to overcome it k, just like me hehe....

How come ur ring so expensive? Did u bought it during the promotion period? Or yours is the usual price?

If you wan to change ur ring, u have to decide on several things:
1) Are your hands slim or 'meaty' type?
(If your hands are slim, then your 0.30 brillant rose will suit you nicely, if your hand are those meaty type one you might consider to change into a bigger one)
2) You personally like big diamonds or small ones? (Dont just change it cos you think the price is too expensive, thus the price that you have paid deserves a bigger diamond).

But since, diamonds have no value, if I were u, I will change it to the 0.50 carat one.

I have no idea of the certs. I have went to surf info abt the diamonds and apparently, there are 3 internationally certified and recognised certs; GIA, HRD and AGS. They are just a lab for testing and certifying the diamonds. So I guess if the diamond has one of these certs, it shld be of good quality diamonds...

Just my two cents worth....

Cheerios

Hi kite~

Personally I dun like altered rings, I find that they are not perfect anymore. Even though the workmanship can be very good that you cant see that it has been altered before. But somehow, it has the not 'orginal' feeling.

Just my two cents worth..

Cheerios!

I called up Lee Hwa jewellery and asked whether 2nd time ring alteration will affect the workmanship anot, they assure me it's wont. But it's better to stop alteration after the 2nd time. They told me the most their customers alter is twice loh. wat do u think?

Does anyone know of a good jewellery workshop? Preferably it shd allow me to watch the diamond being 'fixed' onto the casing. I'm afraid of it being swopped if i just send it to their workshop without seeing with my own eyes that my diamond is being mounted onto the casing.

I'm thinking of resetting my engagement ring ... I'd prefer the Tiffany engagement ring band now. Change of taste. Hee.

Hi kite,

Actually i also wanted to alter my engagement ring...but my jeweller advised not to alter more than twice, becos the band will actually be thinner everytime u alter, even if they add more gold in...think there's some place in the ring, that it's not able to add additional gold...

Serene, i dun think got jewellery workshop that will allow u to see the diamond being encased...maybe becos of security reason....if u are worried, then u better go to some reputable jewellery shop...

h girlz,

oic. so u alter twice only? if i were to alter my diamond, it wil b twice loh. hmm i think it's ok rite.

hi rocher,

thx for your advice.
I bought the brillant rose at the usual price. It's more ex then normal diamond cos it is a 66 cut diamond.

I am going to see the three rings on wednesday. Wish me good luck!

what do u mean by 66 cut diamond? thanks.

btw any good and informative website which explains more abt diamonds?

can anyone advise if its possible to match the diamond to the certificate? i think larry's ones have some identification number engraved on the diamond. but how about others? how can we ensure that we are not sold an inferior diamond, with a certifcation for another (better) diamond?

i think mine is ok, my FH bought from canary. but just wondering out of curiosity.

hi "Diamonds lover", (hey, blunt queen, nice to see u here too..)

I've seen Destinee over LeeHwa Website and understand it starts from $3100+. Has anyone went to see it personally? If yes, care to share? I am also getting my wedding ring &amp; is comtemplating on a solitaire + normal plat for FH. Who can advise if I can get a good (4Cs) and decent stone for something ard $2,500 for instance?

Will pop in to see Destinee soon. Blunt queen, U seen it yet? How does it compare with brilliant rose? I really dunno the difference!!

Hi biba8169,

er..i've no idea what's the difference betwn Destinee &amp; brilliant rose lor..hehee
Destinee - fm Lee Hwa
Brilliant rose - Soo Kee

I personally prefer Lee Hwa to Soo Kee. :D

Your budget of $2.5K shd be able to get u a decent stone &amp; i think it'll be good if u can get some kinda of certification eg, GIA or AGS.

Think u shd go down to LeeHwa to see the differnce betwn Destinee stone &amp; other diamonds. Compare diamonds with the same size to have a better comparision. Heard the my colleague say that Destinee's diamonds look bigger than normal diamonds becoz of their cut.

Anyway, diamonds r considered luxury items coz basically after u bought it, it's difficult to sell or pawn :p

Both the Destinee and the Lazare are diamonds with 57-58 facets, these are called a round brilliant cut. Any cut that results in more than 58 facets in a circular diamond is called a fancy cut. There are a few famous fancy cut diamond brands in the market. The Gabrielle has over 100 facets and the Brilliant Rose has 66 facets.

The Destinee is a brand of diamond so as to speak where all the diamonds are of a certain standard with regards to their cut and polish. Because the cut and polish of a Destinee is really pretty good, it sparkles more. Certification is by AGS and all Destinees are cut by one cutter if I am not wrong, it has 57 facets cos of the cutlet= the sharp pointy tip.

In the same way, a Lazare is a brand of diamonds where all Lazares are of an ideal cut.

How much a diamond sparkles depends on the cut. If it has a good cut, all other things being equal, it will sparkle. The other way to make a diamond sparkle is to cut it so that it has more facets. That's why all these fancy cuts.

Thus, the Destinee, Lazare, Brilliant rose, Gabrielle should technically all sparkle more than a normal GIA certified diamond of the same grade.

To summarise, the Destinee has 57 facets, is an ideal cut, of a certain standard with regards to cut and polish and has an international cert by AGS. The Brilliant rose has 66 facets, is not an ideal cut, but a fancy cut, has no international cert, but an in house cert by Soo kee.

I have a brilliant rose diamond ring (F , VVS2) and if you read my earlier post, i don't think it sparkles more than my other diamonds which are GIA certified. Of course we compare diamonds of the same quality.

I have seen the Destinee and seen it in comparison to a GIA diamond. To my layman's eye, from a distance of 1 metre, the Destinee sparkles more and has more scintillations.

I would go for the Destinee because i can SEE a difference in the sparkle and it has an international cert which means better resale value if you wanna upgrade in future and it is not a fancy cut.

I would actually suggest deciding between a Destinee and a Lazare. The price of a destinee is slightly less than a Lazare and to my untutored eye, the Destinee and the Lazare I think are comparable with respect to how much they sparkle.. By the way, larry's is having a sale now..

If you are looking for a perfect diamond, there is something called a pink diamond, I have only found one shop in novena square that sells this diamond. It is cut and produced only on demand and is of a perfect cut. This diamond is even more expensive than a Lazare but of all the diamonds i have seen, this is the most gorgeous..

hope this helps.. Happy shopping!!

hi everyone, due to a change of plans, my friend has a soo kee cash voucher to let go at 5% discount. The vouchers are just like cash and has no restrictions on what items you use it for...

If you are keen, please let me know by emailing me at [email protected] thanks. Alternatively, you can post in this forum. either way. Cheers.

Hi biba8169,

I have a brilliant rose myself too, but regretted buying it cos in money and size wise(you will know what I am talking about if you have read my earlier posting), i think an AGS diamond will be better. You get bigger carat at a cheaper price compared with brillant rose.

But this doesn't mean Destinee is really that good. From what I know Destinee is just a brand name. I went to do some homework after I regretted buying my ring. I went Lee Hwa and they explained to me why Destinee is better than Brilliant Rose (of cos they say theirs is better lah) and they showed me the AGS cert stating Destinee is a triple 0 ideal cut diamond wherelse Brilliant Rose is a fancy cut diamond although it gives off more shine.

Then I went to another shops where they also sell AGS diamonds. They showed me their AGS certs, also stating that the diamonds are triple 0 ideal cut. I realised that All AGS cert diamonds are triple 0 ideal cut diamonds. I cant really tell much difference between the Destinee AGS cert and the 'no-brand' AGS cert. So i really don't know what is so special about Destinee except for the name.

And those shops I went to are selling cheaper than Destinee. So from my point of view, I think we are just paying more for the brand name 'Destinee'. If you don't mind paying a bit more for the brand, then maybe you should consider Destinee but I would rather you get Lazzare cos it is more popular.

If brand and cut are both not important to you, I suggest you to get a GIA cert diamond which cost cheaper. Cheaper dosen't mean not good, it is just that GIA doesn't grade so detail on the cut of the diamond. But if you are not on buget, then go for AGS lor.

Just my 2 cent worth...