Church wedding reception + banquet

long time no see.. hi rain.. hi gie..
i just read your message abt wanting to know the shortcomings of CHIJMES... sorry abt that... anyway.. rain was there..keke..
how's everyone?

hi averyl,

Saw your PS pics on another thread. You are a sweet young thing! Your hubby's suit is so white-horse prince charming. I didn't think light blue could go with a white suit so well. My bf wants a white suit and I thought it would look strange, now I don't think so at all.

carelinwen,
I've booked ttc for the moment, but the plan of getting married in church might not go so well. I might just give up the idea.

hi Rains
thanks for your compliments.. haha white-horse prince charming?? hmm..maybe we should consider letting him ride on a white horse into church..haha...
yupz..i love baby blue sooooo much...our theme colour is in fact baby blue..and all my bridesmaid will be wearing baby blue... woah... and blue signifies true love... keke...
why can't get married in church? see if i can help?

Thanks Averyl,

I'm sure you would help if you could, but I guess my problem is quite beyond anybody. My bf is not a Christian yet altho' he's promised me that he would be one in time to come. So no pastor is willing to give us a full church wedding. A pastor that I know since young did agree to solemnise us as in a ROM form tho', but still, it's still a far cry from the church wedding that I know of. It's caused much distress between my bf and me. I've struggled over this many times, but to be fair to my bf who's given so much, I agree to do without the church wedding if we can't find a pastor who'll do it for us.

I love baby blue too. I'm sure many gals do too. I was thinking of using light blue as one of my theme colours in the church wedding. Looks like it's not going to happen tho. I didn't know that blue signifies true love. That's a revelation to me.:-)

Just wish to join in cos I was in such a dilemma too for a long long time despite having booked both the church and dinner.

My programme is :
sat - fetch bride, tea ceremony, rest, church ceremony in the afternoon, dinner buffet reception in the church reception hall (mostly friends and close relatives) - about 650 to 700 pax. (only 30% of these will attend the dinner on the next day)

sun - banquet dinner (relatives and very close friends) - 45 to 50 tables. About 70% will not attend the church at all cos they are the elderly friends/relatives of the parents.

Was talking to FH for quite a few times about cancelling the dinner altogether since both of our main concerns are actually the church ceremony itself where friends and closed ones are there to witness our soleminisation before God.

But at the end of it, FH was saying it's a once-in-a-lifetime thing... so even if we need to spend the money, do it cos it only happens once......

Hi Rains

Maybe could you share a bit on why you would like to get married in church?
I will be having a church wedding and it is important to us because marriage is a spiritual union and we would like to seek God's blessings in His church. It is a testimony to the witnesses who come for our wedding that we desire to build up a Christian home, with God as the head of the household.

What about the rest of u ladies?

I'm new in this thread. I'm also a Christian bride to be. Will be holding HM in the morning at a Chapel in Trinity Theological College. Then dinner at night.

Actually if my fiance and I have a choice, we will rather choose to have church wedding only. Dinner is meaningless actually. Church wedding is very important. For every Christian couple, it is very important to have God in the centre of our relationship. Thus, to start right is very important. I will be signing my marriage cert on that day too.

Hi gals who've asked me for the churches for rental,

I've sent the list to you. Sorry for being so late cos I haven't been dropping by this thread. Hope the list helps.

Nalle,

You forgot to leave your email address. I can't send it to you.

My husband and i (we've did the legal bit at ROM earlier this year) will be holding our blessings service at the armenian church next year on a sunday and the chinese banquet on the following evening.
Like Sky, we wouldn't be having the banquet if we had our way but we're the first child of both families to get married, so our parents were rather insistent on it.
I would like to recommend the Armenian Church as a wedding venue because of its heritage and setting - imagine a sanctuary of God in the middle of the city, complete with a nice quiet garden. and even though it's a singapore heritage site, unlike Chijmes, Armenian Church is still a consecrated church, except that it doesn't have its own pastor. And it'll be undergoing renovations soon, meaning it'll be in a much better state from next year onwards.
Hope this helps in giving another option

God bless!

I'm a Christian btb and am trying to sort out how the programme for the day. Dinner banquet is a requisite as we want to respect our parent's wishes for one (they are not Christian).

Am wondering if should have tea ceremony first before church wedding or after.

Traditionally, without the church wedding, guy will pick girl up from her place (together with all the gate-crashing, etc... with jiemeis) then to his place for tea ceremony then back to her place for tea ceremony. then break till wedding banquet. but with the church wedding, am wondering how to fit it in.

Here are a few options, would be grateful for any comments/suggestions:

Option 1 - tea ceremony as usual (traditional style described above), followed by church ceremony in late afternoon before going to banquet venue.

Option 2 - guy picks girl up from her place to go church for ceremony in morning, e.g. around 10/11am, then tea ceremony is held after at a (yet to be decided) venue. Query: is it right or proper to have it at our new house? or must it be at the guy's place? will we be disrespectful by holding the tea ceremony at a place other than the guy's place (e.g. at the banquet venue or our new home?)

Am inclined to Option 2 but am also thinking that it would be nice for the first time the guy sees his bride would be in church, and lifts the veil on pronouncement of man and wife. but also like the idea of having the guy coming to pick the bride up and having to pass "obtacles" set by the jiemeis, as it will be fun. am conscious that i can't have both.

Any comments?

Hi e,

I also can't make up my mind as to which arrangement is the best, or better. Like you, I am contemplating all these options.

You left out something tho - tea ceremony at the bride's parents' place.

My photographer suggests that we have our church wedding in the morning so that we don't feel tired at dinner time, but my pastor prefers to have it in the afternoon. Actually, I prefer to have it sometime in the late morning so that I could do the tea ceremony at his parents' place first and then proceed to church, but I wouldn't have the time to change into my teadress for my parents' tea ceremony then.

The idea of tea ceremony for the bride's parents is the gal doesn't return to her parents' home in her bridal dress, since she's already worn that when she got married.

I'm also at a loss. Quite exasperated. Can someone help?!!

Hi ashly,

thanks for the tip! i shall confirm with pastor that we can have ceremony in morning first....

also wondering if we can cut it all short and do tea ceremony for both guy's and girl's family at one shot, at the same place, say at the church after the ceremony, or everyone congregates at our new home or at a function room at the hotel.

who's your photographer? can recommend?

thx!

Hi e,

It's possible to have tea ceremony for the guy and gal's parents at one shot. It all boils down to your own preference. My reason for not wanting to do it at one shot is bcos I find it abit disturbing that my parents will have their tea served after my bf's and I don't get to wear a different dress for my parents' tea ceremony.

My photographer has raised his price recently and doesn't include any journal album. I wouldn't recommend actually for price-wise. Have you checked out goober's photographer? He's very good. Just bear in mind that you might want to have a list of what you want the photographer to take on your actual day so that he doesn't miss out anything you put up for photography's sake. I intend to do that. This is so that my photographer wouldn't have any excuse not to take them.

Hi ashly,

which part do you find disturbing? as in you want to wear sth different for your own parent's tea ceremony? is it possible to change out of wedding gown to serve tea to both sides in tea dress? or is it a custom that we have to serve tea to guy's side in wedding gown? i'm quite clueless with these things.

sorry, dunno who's goober... do you hv her / her photographer's contact? Having a list is also a very good idea. Will keep that in mind. Thanks!

Hi ppl,

i need to book a venue for my church wedding on a sat. anyone can recommend some great churches for us to check out?
thanks a million!!

hi e & Ashley

Me also Christian BTB. I am planning to have a tea ceremony at my FH's hse then change cloth then my parent's. Afterwhich, I may have to change back to my WG for church ceremony which is in the late afternoon 4pm.....can help me think of a way to change my WG back or is it really necessary to change to another set of gown just to serve tea to my parent??

I am really troubled as I find it really troublesome. Why? Cos my mum is now still insiting I have to change another gown before going home to serve tea to them....dun understand leh....
HELP!!!

Hi Doris,
maybe you want to try Wesley Methodist. Old church which have been thru WW2.

i'm planning to have church at 9am.. FH comes to my house for gate crashing around 7.30am.. then 8.15am he leaves for the church.. then 8.30am i leave for the church.. service till 10am.. then proceed to FH's home for tea ceremony.. 12.30pm.. proceed back to my house for tea ceremony and lunch.. 3pm - 6pm.. rest.. proceed to restaurant at 6pm.. then dinner till 11pm...

its going to be a super hectic day for FH and myself..

do u think that this schedule is alright?

Hi Wong YY

I had my tea ceremonies, chuch service and banquets all on the same day. I went to my FH house for tea ceremony, changed there and went back to my parents' place for tea ceremony. After lunch, changed back again to my WG for the church service at 2pm. No problems at all, just that I needed my jiemeis' to help with the veil and change of hair accessories. Based on your timing of 4pm church service, it should be very comfy for you.

The change of gowns before returning home is to symbolise the historical practise that the bride only returns home on the 3rd day after her wedding day (remember that in ancient China, the bride may be married off to a distant place, hence cannot return home on the same day itself)

Hi Petrina
Your husband may have to come earlier, or you'll have to cut-short the gate crashing. Ideally, the groom needs to be at the church waiting for guests at least 30min before the start of the service. Right now, I'm assuming that your husband has to travel about 20 - 30 min to the church from your place.

For us, my husband arrived at the church 45min before the start of the service. You should also remember to set aside some time in case of traffic jams along the way. Your timing for the events after church looks okay. BTW, do you have to cater time for the night make-up before the banquet?

i am planning my church wedding in june2006, as my FH's church is too small & i may not be able to book my church, can anyone share with me the list of churches for rental? my email is [email protected].
thanks a million!

hi girls, i am having the same same dilemma of how to squeeze dinner and church and tea on same day as in which should come first, tea or church? sigh i wish i had more accomodating FIL who can take the idea of having tea at the bridal suite of my dinner venue which i feel is the best option cos can really save time. i considered a programme like that of Petrina's but then the prob is, my PG says he needs a time break to recharge his batt and rest a bit cos too long hrs continuous he cant accept...sigh, now i wish i hadnt signed him up...haha.

for those of u having church in afternoon,
1)are you inviting e same guests to both dinner and church? cos for me, i inviting fewer pple to dinner and so it might be awkward if we have church in afternoon cos then the guests whom i dint invite to dinner will know that there is a dinner straight after church and they are not invited.
2)also, the tea recep after church will be a bit close to the dinner and the guests might be too full for dinner.
3)and one additional thing is that the guest have very little time to prepare bet church and dinner, not much time to change.

am i right abt these? how do those of u going for church in afternoon overcome all these hurdles?

eh..

most SIngaporeans know about this church n dinner thingy. that only a closer group of relatives n friends are invited for the dinner. so no worries abt them not being invited to the dinner.

2) well.. if those going for the dinner decide to eat too much at the tea reception, too bad for them loh. they eat less at the dinner lah.

3) they just have to wear the same thing to the dinner loh. otherwise, people who think it's too rush may choose to just go for one event.

only way: move ya church wedding earlier.

Possible for anyone of you to send me the list as well. As I am now searching for a church venue.

hi terry,
if i am not mistaken, you can get the list of those churches and their certified pastors to do solemnisation from the ROM website. I ever saw this list there before which states the list of religious leaders who have licence to solemnise

can i ask what is the approximate amt of angbao which guests will usu give for church wedding? i am trying to figure out a budget for e church wedding

Hi Ericia

I not married yet. But read somewhere that for Church wedding is around SGD38.

As for myself and my bf. (AD in June '06) we are estimating maybe around $30.
But BIG NOTE : They may give you presents instead of cash.

Hi Ericia,

I think it depends on the venue. Guests can get pretty smart. They will give accordingly to the perceived value of the lunch. About $20... for a wedding held in church.

church for rentals?

from what i know.. if a couple is not of a christian faith.. the only church that one can rent would be chimes only.. and if i'm not wrong.. rental is about 8K.. but i'm not sure.. so better to go to the chimes thread to find out more..

church for rentals?

from what i know.. if a couple is not of a christian faith.. the only church that one can rent would be chimes only.. and if i'm not wrong.. rental is about 8K.. but i'm not sure.. so better to go to the chimes thread to find out more..

for those who are having church wedding and wedding dinner on 2 separate days, ie one after the other, after the church wedding on the first day, where should the couple go? back to their family homes or stay together as couple liao? i feel i prefer the former becos less disruptive on next day wedding dinner prep but my parents say it should be the latter cos its considered married already. any comments?