Chevrons @ Boon Lay Way

Meow,

I'm hokkien too but my equally bad cos eversince grandmother & uncle passed away, no one to talk to. I always mix abit chinese, english when I speak hokkien.

Well, I suggest that you start learning some basic ones, just in case she need help and you dun know what she want. That's bad.

Bonjon, some basic ones i know. But the way she speaks hokkien make it very cheam till i dunno. But if colleagues speaks, i understand 90% but when it comes to i speak, they dun understand

heehee
Will try and see

Yipee mum mum this weekend. When you going for your turn?

Bonjon,

My still a long way, nobody mention anything. Sian. I might need to make a trip down myself, need to finalise the decoration of the ballroom. Theirs with artifical flowers, hb dun like. Want real flowers, X liao. But I had something in mind.

Hey,

Did you read dan's latest posting? Groom sang to surprise t bride & bride worn a different gown to surprise t groom in return. I wanted to do this too (had this intention much earlier), I hope to find a nice, sexy gown to surprise him on that day (He wanted me to wear something "more revealing" but my bridal shop dun have).

Rental, very x. Allure charix buy and keep $500-600, design ok only. See how things go later, hope there's something I like.

Will you give your hb surprise??
twink.gif

Bonjon, I dun think i'll try anything that revealing. Wait all the guest faint. Dun wish to upset anyone also, evn want, jus do it at home will do. What do you have in mind? I also dun know want to changeor not. Not much $$ left. Must save for the worst under this circumstances now.

Meow,

Of cos, not too revealing. I'm thinking of something lacy, my all tube top (Sian). I like one in Irene Creations but yet to find it one.

True, should save lor, just in case.

Hi Meow,

I'll probably be going down to Chevron this weekends to take a look at their banquet room. Could you update your feedback on your food tasting here when you returns?

Bonjon, something lacy is okay lah, i thought really revealing type.

Sure tiny, i can update you. Who else have you shortlisted so far? Care to share?

Hi Meow

I have shortlisted Dragon Gate too. I'm looking between 10 - 20 tables, undecided yet, depend on the attractiveness of the package.

tiny,
my sis hold her wedding there last november. She took the smaller ballroom. Personally dun like their emcee.

Tiny and Bonjon,
Today jus went for food tasting. The food not bad. My dad likes the Pipa duck very much. The skin very crispy very good. Same goes for the groupa, fresh and taste nice. The prawn not bad too, sauce is sweet. These are the few i remember are nice. The salad prawn on the cold dish a bit hard, well the prawns too big liao. The sharkfin is nice too, but crab meat very chunky but a bit tasteless (frozen). The herbal chicken is soft but its too saltish. Told them not to put too much salt. The lotus rice is good, but by the time i take that its too full. So we changed it to fried noodles. The dessert too much coconut milk. Told them to put more yam and lesser milk.
That's my report. Overall good
Hopefully that day itself have such standards too. Tiny, my sis comment the food is very different from Dragon gate. Not too chinese, a little different.

Bonjon, have you decide on the montage yet? I'll be passing my music CD to nick tommorrow(sunday) afternoon. Did i told you i'm getting Nicholson for free videograpy?

Meow,

Thanks for your report. Long still a long way.
Yesterday, overheard MIL telling hb she had asked her karoke queen to be my MC. My heart sunk, sian liao, my wedding will be very boring liao.

Photo montage, booked with emtionpix (saw their demo not bad). Free videography from Nicholson (you didn't mention before), so nice. How's come FOC? Emtionpix charges $600 for it.

Hello Meow

Thanks for the update. I just went Chevron earlier. Viewed the balloom setup, (lotus, orchid and jasmine - combined) as they have a wedding 2nite. Very nice setup, my husband and I like it alot. Did a comparison, 10 tables vs 20 tables, the latter is more worth as the package are better deal compared to 10 tables where individual costings will come in. May end up paying about the same as 20 tables.

Will be considering this coming week and placed a deposit if my parents are fine with the menu.

Can any of you comment on dowry? ie. how much usually your parents ask for? Are the dinner tables usually part of the dowry? ie. 10 tables for bride's parents. My parents are not very sure of such things as I'm the 1st to get married in my family. Appreciate your advices.

Anyone has any good lobang for AD digital photograher?

hi meow and everyone...

wow... just a few weeks MIA from the forum, it seems like we have a few more members...

sorry, have been terribly busy with work and got to do preparation for the big day so i can't log so often..

Meow, so you have went for the food tasting also... I just went last week... The food not too bad... I've given my feedback to Pam, hopefully everything would go fine that day... Have your got everything prepared? When is ur Guo Da Li?

Bonjon, Its his interest so he does it for free. Jus buy the tapes and that's it. Jus saw his works, not bad, steady hands and not shaky.

tiny,
10 tables and 20 tables got different package meh? How many tables you think you'll get? Will you use the ballroom or restaurant?

Dowry...my parents asked for 6 tables from the guys side? So these tables are part of the dowry lor. You sure you wanna use digital for AD? Digital as compare to the normal ones, normal one has better photo quality when it comes to blow up. 2cents worth

Hi Meow

The wedding package only available for min. 20 tables, not 10 tables. For 10 tables, no free flow beverages, no free rental of ballroom, ie. nothing is inclusive, basically u paying for per table charge and everything else is ala carte. We like the ballroom and would likely be using it. Have booked the jasmine & orchid rooms, Winnie will check out today if the lotus room is available as well.

As for the Dowry - 6 tables, will your parents be keeping the ang pow of the 6 tables given to them? Just curious...

I like Digital b'cos I would prefer soft copy than keeping so many printed copies. I won't be blowing up any AD pixs, 4Rs are fine with me.

Sincere, now then you pops up. Pam told me you went for your food tasting a day before mine.
Heard from her that you haven't start tying the threads, should start soon liao hor.
I'm left with my gown, my seating arragement, my reno and wedding day schedule. My GDL is on 29th this month.

Tiny, OIC..hee
Yes, they will keep the 6 tables of ang bao. Those extra tables they want, the ang baos will be returned. Oh my photographer will take normal camera, but i do have a copy of digital ones too. He'll scan them into the CD and return back to me.
So if i want to reprint, jus take the CD will do.

hi meow

oic, 6 tables earning your parents keep eh. On top of that, do they expect more dowry? Can you also let me know what did you buy for your Guo Da Li?

can u let me know which photographer you're using? How much is he charging? Good workmanship?
I just wish to find out more options. Who is this Pam you all toking abt in this thread, may I know?

tiny, dowry and such will depends on individual. You see, if your parents hear from your aunts saying so little, you think will she take more? jus a comment only k. My mum didn't buy anything for me. Only my MIL bought a bracelet for me. GDL stuffs will depends on dialect. There's a shop in beauty world that sells most GDL stuffs, you can also tell them your dialect and they can tell you what you need.

Pam is also the banquet manager there, beside winnie or kenny. My photographer charge not very cheap. But i personally likes his artwork. So its all up to individual. You can see some of his works feature in the forum under Nick

Meow,

I actually want to engage another videographer but emtionpix advises me not to if I'm want to do express highlights (CD showing the morning event).

It's good to find someone whom is good and does for free. My photographer for AD is FOC too. But dun know how good is he, never work see him before (hb's pri school classmate).

MIL wants to invites someone who will say "chen you" during our first march-in. Sigh, a bit "tou". hb likes the idea, he said very auspicious.

bonjon, that's tough. Unless the emcee is a chinese teacher or he/she must really be prepare to write out and look at the script before talking. You HB really wanted it meh?

Oh emtionpix will do you MTV with the videography in lah? Ok, Nicholson dun really know how to edit anyway.

Meow,

MIL told hb she had invited or wants to invite Lin Ru Ping to do it.

Dun really get what you meant. But emtionpix will do express highlight (to be shown on AD) & wedding MTV (after wedding) using the images captured in video.
They have wedding poster. Not a bad idea but just wondering where can I hang it on AD?

anyone can gimme some comments? I deciding on the menu now, can't decide between,

1) Steamed Chicken with Chestnut in Lotus Leaf or Crispy Chicken with Sesame.

2) Crispy Duck with Chinese Herbs or Roasted Pi-Pa Duck

Hi Meow, how does the pi pa duck taste and presented? Got meat one or solely the crispy skin only?

Thanks for your advises.

Tiny, The pipa duck is with meat and skin on. Most of the bones are removed except the back(spine)? and drumstick if i didn't remember wrongly. Its a dry dish, no sauce on it but some on the plate which will "touch" those with bone(spine) ones. Those drumsticks won't be "stain" by the sauce.

Will the steam chicken in lotus rice make your guest full after eating many dishes thou the lotus rice taste not bad? For the menu, you can discuss anytime with your banquet manager. Even before food tasting, you can also change to desire dish then sample.

Bonjon,
Is Lin Ru Ping also known as Er gu? Me also have a friend who's relative is her.
Are you sure she's a good choice for emcee? I dunno leh. clipart{uhoh}

Oh its ok, i know what you mean already. Anyway, if you want to use poster, you must know where to hang also. Please use those 3M hangers that won't spoil the wall. Else Chevrons will need to look for the restaurant for compensation.

AH one more thing to share with all of you. Pam told me the ballroom will undergo another small renovation in March(Qingming). Think they may change the glass door to wooden one. Its jus a guess, no guarantee hor.

Meow,

Not her la. Hb said she look like "popeye's wife", she can normally see her in Jack Neo's variety show.

Poster, I'm still deciding cos I also dun know where to hang at home too.

Meow,

Ya liao, got pple sing hokkien karoke, got karoke queen MC. Hb wants to look for pple to play violin. Very rojak, got hokkien style got western style.

tiny,
oops sorry yeah lotus leaf rice. short and sweet mah.
you're welcome

Bonjon,
I really can't comment much. But its your wedding. All these things is jus to make yourself happy rather than making your guest happy.

Meow,

Ya agreed too. But hb & IL feel that must let their guests feel happy (hb - play volion or harp, IL - let her relatives & friends sing karoke).

I guess I will make myself happy by in-charge of the ballroom decor & finding a nice gown. The rest just close one eye la.

p/s: luckily my photos not bad, some are very beautiful so happy liao.

Bonjon,
Its true we wish that the guest can enjoy themselves througout the wedding. But pleasing the whole gang of people may not be that easy. Its easy to say jus like i also want to make my guest happy. But its real not easy and i dun have much time left too.

Meow,

Know that but as long as we had tried our best, that's enough. And mostly important, we are happy.

Still got time, how's about the decor? Using Chervons'?

i snapped some photos while at chevron viewing the setup ballroom, not sure if u have seen it before. I find it pretty nice and simple.

who want to see? I can email to u. Not so nice upload here, as it is somebody else wedding setup. wait I kenna sued!!

Hey Gals

You got mail!!

I took more than that but thought just sent a few, otherwise mailbox will be oversized.

I thought the flower arch stand outside the main door looks ugly, should be placed inside where the red carpet begins.

Waah bonjon, $1 - $2 K for decor is alot. You sure you wanna spend that?

For me, I think most important is the guest, I'm contented to have close relatives and friends to celebrate with us on this special occasion.

Tiny voice,

Thanks, got liao.

Sorry, I dun know the pricing so I thought $1 - 2K is ok but change my mind after looking the setting.

Not bad but the stage & aisle a bit plain. I think I will spend few hundreds on the decor - stage, aisle, recept area and maybe arch.

I agreed with you but I hope to have something different cos it's my once a lifetime event. Hope to look the best.

Hi Bon

Sure, every individual has different aspects where they will want to invest more. If you think you have the budget to spend more, by all means.

Thanks tiny, any idea how many tables there were on that day?

If have 50 tables and above, all those aisle deco are free. The deco on chair are not included hor.

Hi Meow

There were only 25 + 2R tables. Winnie told me that the decor were done up by them...apparently Brilliant garden has a supplier to do decor.

Tiny, yes i'm aware they have a supplier to do the deco. But from what i know, its only the backdrop that they sponors. Those stand at the aisle and the VIP chair deco shouldn't be given by them. So its either the couple pay the supplier to do it.

Bonjon, i think i'll call her up either tomorrow and update again. Cos i think they going to close soon and open again in the evening.

My MIL, she hasn't start her chemo yet. Next week will start and its going to be consequtive 5 weeks and five times a week. Moreover one of its session clashes with my wedding.

hi meow...
now half way through the tying of threads for the invitation card liao...

so have u finalised the no. of tables? btw, do they provide guest signature book?