Chatters

Fingers, your boss sounds very micro-managing leh. By the way, have you tried Shu Uemura's (lip serum) or Helena Rubinstein's (lip balm)? Very good products for lip care.

Pro, I DIY facial 2-3 times weekly at home as well as go to the salon monthly hehe. Some Chatters will tell you that Doll is duly concerned about aging haha

938LIVE: Singapore Airlines asks staff to take unpaid leave

Singapore Airlines, the world's biggest airline by market value, has asked staff to take unpaid leave for up to two years in a bid to reduce costs.

The scheme, which is voluntary, applies to the carrier's 14 thousand employees.

The airline announced plans last month to cut its capacity by 11 percent.

The carrier said last month that its quarterly profit fell 43 percent, as demand slowed for travel and cargo.

Green,

My mum used to tell me pt 6 and 7...haha...Not necessarily true that doll's eyesight will be spoilt when she stares at the mirror too often... in fact, her eyesight may improve cos she will be able to spot any minor imperfections in her face...in fact, she may become even more meticulous...haha...

Doll,

Just wondering what's gonna happen if no one in SIA wants to volunteerily take unpaid leave?

7) My Mother taught me to be HOUSE-PROUD... "Chalet? Stay what chalet? You got no house to stay is it?!"

She really said that ah? Hahaha. My mum also didn't allow me to stay overnight outside. She scared me that there were pervents wandering outside at night!

Dolly,

I agreed with Green, staring too much will spoil ur eyesight.. Dun stare liao.. Haha.. If nt nx time i muz wear a mask den can mit u.. Else u can see all my flaws.. Oops... Hehe... Tink its ok lah, as long as we age gracefully... LOL..

Rin, it's not about aging gracefully; that I can accept. It's about doing a hobby! We all need hobbies to keep us going, right? Haha

Green, you should take a look at my photo at your wedding.....so many zits on the chin! So ugly!!!

Green,
On'ed lah!! Hahaha.. So when and where are we gg for our nx outing?? LOL...

Dolly,
Chose other hobby lah.. Like joining us go drinking.. keke

this weekend outing not over yet and you planning for april already arh?

Groom gets cold feet; sets hotel ablaze
----------------------------------------------------

Japanese groom gets cold feet, sets wedding hotel on fire

TOKYO - A JAPANESE man who set fire to a hotel in a bid to buy himself time to chose whether to stay with his wife or marry his girlfriend was sentenced to five years jail on Thursday, a court official said.
Presiding Judge Yasushi Watanabe called 40-year-old defendant Tatsuhiko Kawata 'egoistic and short-sighted' and dismissed the defence argument that no-one was hurt in the fire, the Kyodo news agency reported.

Kawata, who had been married with his wife since 1994, had also been seeing another woman for about three years and promised to marry her last October at the Risonare hotel in the mountain resort of Hokuto, Yamanashi Prefecture.

However, on the eve of the ceremony, the still-married Kawata sought to delay the ceremony by spilling seven litres of petrol in the hotel and setting it on fire, causing minor damage and forcing the evacuations of several guests.

Prosecutors had sought six years' prison for Kawata, who pleaded guilty to the charges of arson and unauthorised entry to the hotel, a Kofu District Court official told AFP. -- AFP

*Picks up the phone and dial* - green, green, green, green, green, green.....(phone ringing)

Doll: Hello, Green? Please count me in for tomorrow's Brewerkz meet. I will bring a mystery guest!

Rin - Don't you think of getting me drunk man hehe

Cucl,
Hehe doll thought today is Friday.
Our outing is indeed on Sat.

Lolliepop,
It's gonna be crowded. Excited fans will be screaming coz there's a live soccer match going on.

You guys got to give me a break as I just finished work as I was typing this post
Totally unexpected man. Thought the past three days were bad enough finishing work 10pm. Totally spent man.....

By the way, I have decided to take a damn good rest at home over weekend. Join you guys some other time ok. Sorry!

ST Digital - Little Sleep may cause diabetes

==========================

CHICAGO - PEOPLE who get fewer than six hours of sleep at night are prone to abnormal blood sugar levels, possibly putting them at risk for diabetes, US researchers said on Wednesday.
They said people in a study who slept less than six hours were 4.5 times more likely to develop abnormal blood sugar readings in six years compared with those who slept longer.

'This study supports growing evidence of the association of inadequate sleep with adverse health issues,' said Lisa Rafalson of the University at Buffalo in New York, who presented her findings at the Conference on Cardiovascular Disease Epidemiology and Prevention in Palm Harbor, Florida.

Several studies have shown negative health consequences related to getting too little sleep. In children, studies showed it raises the risk of obesity, depression and high blood pressure. In older adults, it increases the risk of falls. And in the middle aged, it raises the risk of infections, heart disease, stroke and cancer.

Adults typically need between seven and nine hours of nightly sleep, according to the US Centres for Disease Control and Prevention.

Ms Rafalson and colleagues wanted to see if lack of sleep might be raising the risk for type 2 diabetes, the kind that is being driven by rising rates of obesity and sedentary lifestyles. It develops when the body makes too much insulin and does not efficiently use the insulin it makes, a condition known as insulin resistance.

Using data from a large, six-year study, they identified 91 people whose blood sugar rose during the study period and compared them to 273 people whose glucose levels remained in the normal range.

They found the short sleepers were far more likely to develop impaired fasting glucose - a condition that can lead to type 2 diabetes - during the study period than those who slept six to eight hours.

That difference held even after adjusting for age, obesity, heart rate, high blood pressure, family history of diabetes and symptoms of depression.

'Our findings will hopefully spur additional research into this very complex area of sleep and illness,' Ms Rafalson said in a statement. -- REUTERS

Who's (what company) next?

ST Digital - SPH cuts pay, bonuses

========================

SOME 3,000 staff of media group Singapore Press Holdings (SPH) will have their monthly pay cut by 2 to 10 per cent from April 1, as part of the company's cost-cutting drive to cope with the economic slowdown.
Senior management staff will bear the brunt of the pay cut, which will reduce their total annual salary by about 30 per cent. Those earning $2,000 and below a month will not be affected.

SPH said in a statement on Thursday that the pay cuts, together with a reduction in profit-related bonuses, would lower the wage bill for its core businesses by an about 20 per cent.

'The actual cut will depend on each staff's current pay package, with higher paid staff taking the brunt of the pay cuts. Staff who earn $2,000 or less will not have any cut in their monthly pay,' said SPH.

Subsidiaries in the group will implement their own pay cuts, depending on their respective situations.

'The move is the latest cost-cutting measure in response to the sharp deterioration in business conditions,' said SPH.

The wage revision was concluded following negotiations with the company's two unions - the Singapore Press Holdings Employees' Union and the Singapore National Union of Journalists.

In addition to the pay cuts, SPH has also taken a range of cost-cutting measures which include a hiring freeze and a reduction in operating expenses.

Said SPH Chief Executive Officer Alan Chan: 'We need to bring our costs down in the face of a weaker advertising market and uncertain business environment. It is imperative that we prepare for a longer than expected downturn so that we can emerge stronger when the economy recovers.'

but not for me leh... cos there were couple of occasions when i wore, and the results weren't that positive... sianz.

maybe i shld wear liverpool jersey to jinx them. kekeke..
then again, as if i will own one.. hiak hiak

vios, aiya dun say liao... yday no much time to play....i guess today oso...eh ask u ah....u noe abt camera anot? i wana get 1..went to IT show TWICE yday...still cant decide wat to get!

i think i PS almost everyday... esp. in the morning after my coffee.

but you so busy, no time to play ah... then i must tell ur boss to give you time to "lighten your load"...

see, i nice boh?

for digital cameras, i only fancy Sony CyberShot cos i go for its designs and clarity leh...
so naturally, i strike off other brands liao...

maybe, u shld start with ur No.1 Factor for a digital camera?

vios, both my sis using cybershot...i got tot of getting sony..but they have a prob of slow shutter...& image stabiliser is not as gd...basically the pics i took wif it at the IT show wif moving objects or shaky hand..the pic comes out blur...

but the 1 tat serene is using is not too bad...but its old model liao...i love the pics tat i took in phuket wif her camera lor..

For me, specs for T77 seems good liao.... got this from the Sony website:

- Number of Pixels 10.1 mega pixels (effective)
- Optical Zoom 4x
- Stamina Approx. 220 shots
- Many Shooting Modes
- $499

vios, tat was 1 of my shortlisted model initially....but realli...i take the pics...blur de....another thing is tat it is not wide angle...& its laggy...& no panorama mode...

Janie.. i got my new camera from the IT show ytd too! I am soooo happy! Basically i bought for zi-lian and diving purpose. So my camera MUST have underwater SCN and an underwater casing (external accessory).

I bought Canon Ixus 95 in PINK! wahaha. So girl girl for me.

The only 2 camera brands i like are Canon and Sony. But i always find Sony a bit more expensive due to its design. Like what vios mentioned, i too think T77 is a good buy.

Rin jie, i am on my way to msn~~~~

Cuclainne, i dun really like aaron's G9 cos it soooo big. Indeed G10 has a better design then G9. heehee..

Uncle Draggie, so are you bringing your gf tml??? =X

janie, so jialat? i've no probs with my sony dig. camera... but at times, received the spoils owing to the movements, that's all.....