Chatters

Mayi, treat those degree comparing sessions around you as an 'awakening' phase. It makes you become aware about what you currently have and what you could possibly do more for yourself. As long as you remain focused on what you want to do, you will be able to achieve it eventually. It may be in small incremental steps but you know that you will get there someday.

Don't be too bothered by the way they compare their degrees. After they are done with the comparing, they will move on to compare their parents, partners and wedding.

Time to bring back my pet.

755039.gif

Huat Ah!

Hi Mayi,

You do not have the means to take a degree? Well certainly there is alot of help (provided u are singaporean) go to uni sim or PSB the govt subsidized half of the course fee.

If you're into accounts or banking. GO for CPA @ icpas. or cfa. ofcoz this paper is cheaper than those foreign degree but much tougher. Then when time come. when ppl ask you got a degree or not say, DON have. but got a cpa or cfa. which is better ofcoz.

Or should i be blunt. SAVE UP and stop unncecssary shopping for lizard shoes or diving trips. well after reading your post. i cant help but to recall that someone who took diving and travel to rendang complain that education in SG is expensive and don have the means.

YEs they are, if you are flying to Queen Mary (london) for your LLB or take up distant learning @ university of buffalo. yes they are very expensive. but Uni Sim, psb and blah blah cheap. if not. TAKE private A and opt for local uni. or get a dip and opt for local uni.

Ranting and wallowing in self pity will not get you a degree.

btw your ranting do not show u are contended. hope my words give u a wake up call.
pls see my words in a positive light.

0_o

Morning chatters!

Thanks uncle dragon.

Weather, thanks for your post too.

Going for diving trips is a short trip for me with my friends and colleagues, i WILL NOT reject all invitations just because i need to save up for my education. I do not regret on the trips i went before and the money spent on it which i can put into good use for my future education, because i will not get the same beautiful memory as i did few yrs later. This was my priority. I din spent all my money in shopping and trips as well, as for the lizard u mentioned, i was going to recce the shop (and i haven yet) and see if it suits me as well as the price of it. Window shopping is also shopping. Don conclude that i spent all my money on shopping and diving when you duno me at all.

And yes, i have my common sense to tell me that ranting and wallowing in self pity doesnt earn me a degree. I felt upset when in one day, it seems like everybody is talking about degree. But after evaluating myself and reading at what the chatters had posted here, i come to understand what i should do and what i should take note of. The comparison i did also made me realised my weak points and how i should strengthen it. Like greenie said, i will take it as a motivation. If my rants doesnt seem contented to you, fine~ Cos i know what i am contented on now and what i should go fight for to achieve what i want in my life.

FYI, i got my approval from HR for my corp. sec. certification which my boss told me ytd that this is better then a degree (when i told him i think i will go for my degree first as govt is offering 40% subsidy for wking adults).

I do not sit around just to rant and do nothing. I will still continue to rant when i am unhappy, cos i am able to let out my steam and at the same time, helpful people here will guide me to see the light and tell me what i have ranted is stupid. =P

Morning Everyone!

Yeah Meng, you bet. Talk about the good old times as gay partners!...lol.

You interested in finding a new one? I would like to recommend Doll's optometrist to you.

go somewhere fun and special... hmm...
since i am a bit free now.. i shall do abit research and then propose to Mr. Dragon uncle.

Do u have to sign a bond if u wan to get company to sponser?? actually i would rather prefer to depend on myself rather than other people (company)... esp bonds, cos it's like tying me down, when things turn sour, i also cannot leave. Dun really like the "being bonded" feeling...

Please make sure ur motivation for upgrading is cos u wan to upgrade urself not to be on par with others. U dun have to prove a pt to other.
Just rem to stay relevant and not be left behind while the rest move ahead. Having a degree doesn't make u "in front"

Doll, no lah. Not writing essays...lol. Just summarising how far Chatters have come.

Mayi, look forward to your 'research findings'...lol. Any other suggestions on the venue for our Oct gathering?

sunboi, no bond with the company. only criterias like 75% attendance and passing the paper.

Even if i upgrade to prove a point, i am proving it to myself. Of cos, i understand that i am upgrading for myself and future; not to compete with others.

Again from my previous posts, i dun like it that people in the company are using degree as a benchmark to compare and talking about it like it is a big big thing. This is what i was ranting about.

Anyway, having a degree or not is not of my concern anymore as i have come to realise that different people contributes differently with different qualifications.

My boss gave me the opportunity to upgrade myself and learn more, i appreciate the chance and offer. I will do my best and keep myself 'upgraded' too. This is what i am contented about.

good, get a corp sec cert. how i wish i have this cert too. but ofcoz i cant be jack of all trade. master of none. legal firms are paying good money for chartered sec.

but prepare to stay up late though. maybe in the future i will need to ask you for your advice on corp sec matters.

ya, i know i need to work hard to achieve good results and not let my boss down.

Doing quite a bit of read ups now to prepare myself for the course, so i wun get a lot of ???? when i am in the class. keke..

Thanks again all for the wonderful opinions and advices. ;)

law firms are paying very good money. and not to mention those xiao suai ge (little handsome guy) who just complete their llb.

work hard...good to see you so positive., yes. try to read more books to improve englush. Doll English quite good so i guess u can ask her for pointers.

no bond is good, i rem i m stuck in my prev coy cos of the stupid 1 yr bond (after training) cos of the "training" they gave to us. (it was all internal, no cert, nothing, stupid).

Upgrading is good but not upgrade just for upgrade, u must make sure u upgraded urself to be useful to the coy else also no use. eg. a vehicle workshop dun need an PHD in Physics.

Don't be defensive against deg holders also (think they look down on u), cos as everyone stated, it's so commonplace nowadays. Most are very nice people...

Mayi, sometimes we feel we are being compared down when in actuality other people don't mean it that way. That was why I told you to work on your self-esteem and self-confidence, which if we have little or none, got PhD we will also feel small.

Dragon, your post of last night so long machiam like essay mah hehe

Just now in the office lift I saw a man with his fly unzipped halfway. Didn't have the heart to tell him to zip up as there were people around...What would you have done if you are in this situation?

yep. will work on my confidence! xD

Any moon cake lover here? any recommendation for durian mooncakes? need to buy on behalf of my boss for fellow colleagues.

Mayi,
Hmm I think GWP hotel only has snow skin for durian mooncakes. Outside seldom sell traditional skin for durian ones. Taka mooncake fair is on now, you can go there try out the samples and choose ;)

Green & Mayi, Goodwood Park's durian snow skin mooncake skin is thick. It is also big. I prefer Kah Hiang's which comes in smaller size.

I also don't need to go to Taka mooncake fair for tasting because in office we got an assortment from different hotels
I just munched a bit from Ritz Carlton, Marriot and Li Bai.

pardon me for interupting, i've tried the durian mooncake from Homez, Goodwood park and 4 Season. Frankly speaking the latter 2 nothing special, the fillings taste too much like durian cake (too sweet) for my liking. The Homez one is abit more bitter which i feel is nicer and more durian-like. THe "black gold" skin is also more special and healthy, i feel u'll can give it a try

Not speaking from moral high grounds, but I just feel that if she has a petting buddy, just enjoy it while the petting lasts lor. What's up with these I love you, long-term commitment and whatnots.

ic. thanks for the info. i think i will go to the Taka fair to see see look look eat eat taste taste.

i also like those mooncake with real durian inside.... keke...

I think the mooncake that sunboi80 is mentioning is Home Favourite. Can get it from a number of places. Can get it from Vivo, Taka, Bugis, Raffles exchange,Lot 1, west mall, novena square, etc(The rest I cant recall liao)
The durian mooncake is very nice and packaging also v nice but a bit x. four pcs cost abt $50. if u buy it before 6 sep, got 10% discount.

yes eeyore, we are refering to the same shop, i always conveniently called it "homez" haha...

Think next time i must call myself "uncle Sun", not sunboi anymore... been using this super long lived nick' since 12 years ago(the times of IRC,ICQ and 486 computers)... haha

hi doll, nothing much to intro. just an avg person in a rat race. and working closely with legals thus antz post did give me lots of revelation for me to reflect how to improve myself.

--antz--
pls pardon me. if my memory never fail me, you said company going to send u for llb dip. i will go for that rather than corp cert. ofcoz it wil be good if i can for both.

i talk to my friends who work in a well known corp sec firm and they informed me that there is no cert better than a LLB degree. thus i really hope you can work towards LLB route. and the future prospect will be good for you. my 2cents.

pls enligthen me if my understanding is wrong.
peace