Chatters

Someone in SB MOTH has said - "I cannot do all the good the world needs, but the world needs all the good I can do".

Even if what Siao said is a reality today, it doesn't mean we do nothing for a better tomorrow what. Goodness begins within ourselves.

fyi, i m not the typical uncaring one....last time when i taking mrt, i also offer my seats to preggie ladies, cos i dun wan them to fall n miscarriage...but wat i saying is some pple mentality....

cuc, i think those who stroller gotta manage their time better..avoid peak hrs if possible

Xiaoli, like you, I am thankful that my legs are still serving me well now, and it costs me nothing to give up a seat on public transport lor. Some more can bring a smile on others' face, why not.

just saying that it's kind of difficult to avoid peak hours esp. for working moms like me .. either we have to wake up super early to avoid the rush hour or we have to negotiate to start work later ..

ok so i do have private transport but for those who can't afford, taking a cab is an expensive option just so others are not inconvenienced ..

true, not everyone is rich enuff to have ppte tpt or can take cab...hence, u will be stuck in the middle n can hope for the best..

i ever remembered one evening aft work take train, got a couple w 2 kids, 2 strollers n few big bags of shopping goods (think sales time), they took up bloody so many space n pple cant even get into the train...u c tis, are they irresponsible??..cant they just go take a cab??

Cuc, i think that anybody has the right to take any public transport at any given time of the day. That's why i think it's so important for ppl to be more considerate towards others who are less fortunate. Bcos that's the least we can do.

Morning all!!!!!!!!!!

Meng! Felicia on I-Weekly cover leh.. got buy the mag & frame up bor? whahahha..

wats the topic today ah?

ah siao, not everyone is able to afford the high cab fare nowadays...... it will eat into their daily expense.

although the gov is 'painting' a very rosy picture of the economy, but not everyone 'benefit' from this. there are still ppl earning less than $1k per mth and need to feed 5-6 mouths....... and not everyone is getting 3-6mths bonus..... some dun even have bonus at all.....

i think the couple with the 2 kids has every right as everyone to take the mrt.

it doesn't mean they have the money to shop means they must also have the money to take cab. who knows, the family had been saving for a long time for this shopping spree...... this is based on assumption oni....... everyone, dun get too work up hor

heart....i agree w u...very true indeed..not everyone having good $$ despite our gd growth...

btw, i always wonder, how can a household of less than 1.5K/mth can have so many children??...i just cant understand...

skylar, ya lor..make everyone tulan nia

"i ever remembered one evening aft work take train, got a couple w 2 kids, 2 strollers n few big bags of shopping goods (think sales time), they took up bloody so many space n pple cant even get into the train...u c tis, are they irresponsible??..cant they just go take a cab??"

Maybe they want to save on transport or it's faster to reach home by mrt. Honestly, I see nothing wrong to board mrts with big bags or stroller etc. Don't you think they may have also waited for a few mrts to pass by to board one that has enough space?

Haha maybe in 5 years time, Siao will be occupying the whole lift space with his stroller, big grocery bags and pregnant wife. Then other people can't squeeze into the life as a result ;)

Siao, ya i also dont understand why they need so many kids. But someone told me b4 that those older generation of Malays tend to have many kids (despite of their financial limitations) bcos their religion doesnt allow them to use precautions. I shall not be critical here cos dun wana end up in subordinate court. Haha

actually i have the same query as siao...

i wonder how those couples with one income (less than 1.5K) able to manage having more than 1 kid when everything is so X include children educational fees, general household items etc??? Pei fu man!

folks, i'm referring to chinese...

when i asked my mum how they did it, then my mum will goes " aiyah, last time blah blah blah..." so end up i always have to say "yah...last time ma ta cheng teh kor mah..." hahahahahaha

gallie, those with oni one income but multiple mouths to feed, they live within their means...... no holiday, no shopping, no restaurant.... basically, no luxury..... i should say this depends individually lah, there's no rite or wrong.

Greenie, ya boy! If it gets too crammed, then we shd consider migrating somewhere else instead. haha... Just dont ask me to go back to my country :P

green, i would have took cab instead!!

malays not counted..but chinese pple lor..seriously, if i m a guy in low pay cat, i wont even dare to get married, let alone have kids...its really a big struggle for them

govt very worried abt chinese (s'porean born & breed) population decreasing...my colleagues (filipino) were laughing that s'pore govt has to encourage citizens to increase population by giving $$$ & in return the strategy doesn't really seems to work but whereas in phillipines, they have to be fine for over population from each household... hahahahaha

hmmm...
wat Xiaoli say also true la..kekek.. ok cannot say giam.. say giam ku can? lol...

well i know some pple just dun take cab one.. i hv seen before ah..

Siao..
u know those big plastic containers that Carrefour sell for storage? I saw before a woman sit on those 2 seaters on MRT then she put her containers on 1 of the seat leh!! nabz.. cannot put on floor meh? hng!

Gallie,
Now we women have to work to support our hdb/condo for 20-30 years. I will delay childbirth to as late as possible. It's too tough working and babysitting at same time!

Skylar, now that's what i call INCONSIDERATE. I really cannot tahan those ppl who put their stuff on the empty seats beside them on a crowded public transport leh! They purposely one lor!

Siao, even now you have OK pay, you also don't dare to get married. I can't imagine you getting a low pay, you probably can't live a day. Haha

sori hor, if i c anyone occupying 1 seat for their stuff, i will either take it up & return to him/her or simply tell her straight i 1 to sit!

there's once i told this lady occupying 1 seat for her shopping bags & she looked around & tell me there's another sit behind which i can take. i told her right to her face that she paid for the bus fare is meant for one seat & not two, so i have the right to choose any seats tat i 1 since i paid the same per person fare! very idiotic person...can't stand.

so hungry now but if i eat then i will spoil my appetite for lunch .. have to tahan!!!!

hahahah .. last time people earned even less but could afford to have lots of children. nowadays it's not just the malay families that have a number of children .. perhaps baby bonus plays a part? anyways nowadays people don't really adhere to the religious aspect of it - some couples plan when they want to have kids, if ever.

dolly, i agree w u..but then human being will adjust themselves under diff environment..b4 i jump to tis current job, i also dun spend much..now my pay higher but i also spend much more!!!....

so its really up to individual..just tat have such low income n still wanna have family, sigh, really tough

gallie: I face these idiots everyday. Some idiot uni students will put their bag on the chair, or worse yet, the seat next to them is empty and they still buay zi dong when the whole bus is full, never move aside to let someone else sit! Usually I will give that person my dirtiest look--almost always works.

Once I was waiting for 96 and when it came, the whole front was crowded but the back was empty! And people were refusing to move to the back, so I walked to the back door which was open and yelled into the bus, "Will you all move your fat arses and shift to the back so that others can get on? F---ing morons!" Then they slowly start moving in. IDIOTS.

But anyway, to tell a nice story, I was on the MRT one day, train was slightly crowded, and a pregnant lady got on. An old man gave up his seat for her, which she took. Then a young man gave up his seat for the old man. =) It's always nice to see that happen.

In many cases they do rely on the strong familial ties that exist in the community, this is especially so for Malay families because the support level at community levels is very high. They also tend to rely on government support in the form of education bursaries and aid. My mum was a teacher in a neighbourhood school and close to 90% of all financial aid cases were from big families.

No la, xiaoli, don't make me your idol; I'm a super bad-tempered type. Usually I'll just stick to dirty looks to get the job done, it's only when people really are beyond inconsiderate AND don't get the hint, then I'll let loose.

yeah sylphide...that's true! it simply boils me up when such incidents happened & me too, nvr failed to give my most 'pleasant' look to them!

true true... it's nice to see that thoughtful act but wouldn't it be nice if the young man were to give up his seat to the pregnant lady in the 1st place leh? heheehhehee...

once i was with my mummy on a bus & the bus is full of poly students. no one gave up the seats to her & the 'green' seats were taken up by two elderly couple, so no choice. then to my surprise, one young ah beng gave up the seat to my mummy & get his gf (i tink) ah lian to give up the seat to me so that me & my mummy could sit together. how thoughtful ah beng & ah lian can be comparing to those poly students inside the bus...=)

sylphide: the other day me and the family were at vivocity having lunch at the indian restaurant there - there was a birthday party going on at the same time. the parents were not keeping an eye on the children - they were running all over the place, knocking into the other patrons etc etc etc .. one group of diners even moved indoors cos it was too noisy .. the husband told me he was going to tell the parents off but i stopped him .. i don't like confrontations .. the same thing happened when the daughter was admitted to the hospital - the lady whose son was also admitted to the bed just opposite of daughter's was telling her life story on the phone so loudly that other patients and their families even know how much money she has in her bank account .. aiyoh, even after security told her not to make so much noise in the ward, she still continued to make a racket and all 5 of them - yes, FIVE - stayed overnight and went 'ssh ssh ssh' when the other patients (all small children) started crying in the night .. the husband wanted to tell her off too but i told him no cos he was going to go home and i was the one staying there .. hahahaha, scared cos she was bigger than me!

gallie: looks can be deceiving yah ..