Chatters

green, u noe those typical ppl 1 lah....& the prev ger went to 'complain' to tat somebody b4 tat tis job is boring..nutting to do ....etc tats y she quit oso...so...tat somebody tinks im very free...& still leave b4 my boss...but pls lor..i dun nid to tell u wat i have done rite? on my 1st week here i sort & file all my boss' stuffs n papers neatly & sort them clearly lor & i did tis myself without my boss asking mi to do...so its realli whether u wanna find things to do anot..altho i look veli eng always post here..but i realli get my job done de lor....i m not saying im a gd worker coz i m not obviously..hahaha but at least im efficient & i work smart...

Janie, I would have done the same too if I were in your situation cos as newbie, one has to be on the toes always. But I am quite sure over time as you get a hang on things and the standing of various individuals in the company, as well as build better rapport with your boss and colleagues, you would be able to relax. Times are bad now, it's not such a bad thing to play our cards safe?

doll, yes which is y im staying late lor...i m totally fine wif it coz i dun have to rush home juz tat i TOT i've already communicated with my boss n she is ok wif mi leaving...even the HR manager was ard during interview n noe tat my boss allows mi to leave b4 her..since most of the time she is oni waiting 4 her chauffer to pick her up...juz didnt expect tat it will b my colleagues who r eye sore abt tis...& im staying late not becoz of work to b done...not becoz of my boss...but becoz of colleague? hai...

Janie, you know how some people make others think that they are wielding a command sword when it is just a feather duster! You sound street-smart, and I am sure in no time you will have a better feel of the ground and probably start leaving the office before your boss! Haha

For me, I am not a fox to scheme habitually (by personal choice), but neither am I a dove that can be makan meat plus bones by others hehe

1st Round - 6.30pm on 14 Mar (Sat)

http://blog.omy.sg/alvinology/2008/12/24/saizeriya-%E3%82%B5%E3%82%A4%E3%82%BC%E3%83%AA%E3%83%A4-japanese-italian-budget-restaurant/

Some of us are meeting earlier for dinner at this resturant.
Attending: Rin, Mayi, Aaron (tentative), Green (tentative)

2nd Round - 7.30pm on 14 Mar (Sat)

Brewerkz Riverside Point
30 Merchant Road #01-05/06 Riverside Point
Singapore 058282
Tel: (65) 6438 7438

Map: http://www.brewerkz.com/contact/images/brewerkz_map.jpg

Attending: Green, Cuc and the husband, Vios, Rin, Mayi + Aaron (tentative yes)

Janie,

Her World Award Winners for Anti-wrinkle Essence/Serum
- ROC Retin-Ox Intensive Anti-wrinkle Serum(Editors' choice)
- SK-II Signs Wrinkle Serum (Readers' choice)

gd morning!

hahaha thanx green!! u realli go back n help mi check ah....kekeke

doll, i'll find a change to break tat feather duster...hehehehe

Morning Chatters!

Janie, Is this the usual practice (leaving after the boss) for PAs? here in my office, no PAs or admins pratice this lei. We leave on the dot or after we finish our work.

I dont understand this concept that PAs have to leave after the boss... 0_o
Obviously the boss will leave later cos the boss has got more things to do mah.. Thats why he/she is a boss?
I dont ask my bosses if they have anymore work for me de lei.. i just pick up my bag and say byebye.. haha..

janie, i think it's a pretty common thing in offices .. particularly in an all/mostly-female environment .. pretty obvious in my office amongst the secretaries as well .. each one of us is in charge of our own departments, so it shouldn't matter if someone comes late or goes off early, etc but some people do keep watch and complain la .. the admin manager dropped hints before to me about my working hours (i come in later since i have to drop the kids off first) but my boss is ok with it as long as work gets done, and plus i leave later - usually around 7 cos that's when the centre closes (yah, really getting my money's worth - hahahaha!). i've seen a whole load of crap in the many years i've been here and have also been on the receiving end a few times but overall, as long as you and your boss have an understanding, and that you do your job well .. should be fine

Gd morning all,

Want to kpo abit on this PA thingy...the PAs in my company usually will leave before their bosses unless they have work to rush or their bosses need them to stay back. But I realise that some PAs will wash their bosses' cup and make coffee for their bosses though there is a tealady in the company.

actually its a veli asian way of working i feel...i dun have tis prob when was working in my prev co..& my boss was angmor...i feel tat generally..angmor bosses r more flexible..they r fine as long as work is done..but asians r rather conservative still...they dun like u to b late..they wan to see u work hard till after office hours...whereas prev job i m late everyday...& i leave on the dote..sometimes even leave early...still my job has been done mah...tats juz my personal encounter lah..

but yeah..i juz gotta b careful lor..coz no 1 likes the PA/Secretary 1...hahaha i noe tat...i tabao lunch back to eat in my room everyday...sometimes better to keep low profile n keep to myself i guess...coz i dun make frens oso got ppl tok behind mi unhappy wif my KO time already...& do u noe tat my KO time is 6pm & the few times tat i leave b4 my boss is actualli 6+ sometimes 7..its not on the dot or early at all lor....politics...sian.....

luckily my boss is pretty nice to me...

pro, i've never done that - make coffee/tea, wash cups, etc .. i remembered asking my previous boss if he'd like me to do that (cos other secretaries were doing so). he said he wouldn't mind but i reminded him that the pantry was quite a walk away and i might get thirsty on the way back .. then he changed his mind. hahahaha ..

janie, ya la .. just need to learn the dynamics and play the politics (keep your nose clean) .. i supposed that's how i've lasted 10 years here .. colleagues come and go, bosses come and go, office dynamics/politics change but i'm still here ... hahahahah ..

my fren's pet juz poo rite infront of me after i use my brush on him!!! argH!!!!! actually wats the poo 4 har? i m not too sure if i wan to display the poo in my house leh...

cuc, i tink the kind of boss u have plays a big part as well...my every 1st PA job..i was serving a CEO..a taiwanese..n damn he realli sucks...perverted in the mind.....as in abusing everyone mentally & verbally ...the turn over rate there was so blardee high...i stayed for 5mths..n i was his longest serving PA then...all the previous ones left in a short time..all my colleagues during my time have left except for 2..& these 2 doesnt report to him directly..hehehe

the other day, i was on the phone with the husband when he just blurt out, "they are getting married." so i asked who .. he then mentioned victoria and daniel .. i don't know any victoria personally and the only other victorias i know are victoria beckham and victoria's secret (hahahaha!).

turned out he meant swedish crown princess victoria and her boyfriend, daniel .. chey! the way he told me it's like someone i know .. same like my sister the previous time when she told me that lewis hamilton was dating THAT nicole .. which nicole .. nicole applegate, nicole richie, etc etc etc .. which one? aiyoh .. like i know them all ..

anyways, the swedish crown princess and her boyfriend will be getting married next year and it's a big thing in sweden now cos it'll be the first royal wedding in about 30 years (the last one was when her parents got married). they've also had to sought permission from the government - so tough, right? cos she'll be Queen when her father steps down from the throne.

the husband said maybe we should plan to go back during the wedding festivities cos he knows i like to see these sort of stuff (hahahaha) .. maybe we should ..

Janie,

I tend to feel that usually it is the angmors and male bosses who are more flexible. My current female boss will show black face at times when her PA is late in coming back from lunch and she will comment about people not working late at times. The worst thing is that sometimes she will allocate work to those who dun stay late cos she thinks that they are able to do more work since they no need to work late... sickening rite? If that is the case, there is no incentive to be efficient, you end up being penalised for being efficient. I am on very gd terms with all the PAs whom I have met so far... in fact i can click better with PAs than with my fellow non PA colleagues. As long as your boss is happy with your work, dun have to bother about what other pple say. U can't stop pple from saying what they want.

Cuc,

You are very funny... actually when you asked your ex boss if he wants you to make coffee/wash cup, you dun really mean to want to do it for him izit? Cos though he says that he doesn't mind, you still went on to convince him that it may not be such a gd idea for you to help him make coffee/wash cup...haha...

proc, u r wrong man....i also tot tat female bosses r more difficult...but surprise! tat taiwanese boss i had was a male...he is more difficult than a female...& my boss now is a female and she is STILL nice...hahahaha

janie, so far i've been really lucky at this job - even though all of my bosses are singaporeans .. i think it also helps that they're male cos then they don't tend to micro-manage things .. they leave me alone to do my own stuff so i'm quite independent and so when others try to pull me into politics, they always kena cos my bosses don't like ..

pro, that was the whole idea .. hahahaha .. i like my ex-boss. he's a very nice man, he still works here but there's a new admin staff serving his department since i've transferred out. when i had my annual hari-raya open house, he would always come with his family - his wife buys the most fantastic presents (hahahahah). at one such event, his youngest son had made a remark - which i cannot remember exactly now - but my ex-boss' reply i will never forget .. he told his son to apologise and explained to him that i'm his secretary only in the office, outside of the office i'm his friend. wah, that really made my day .. hahahah

Janie,

It really depends on the character of the bosses. Of course there will be nice female bosses and nasty male bosses. But generally, I feel that out of the pool of "flexible bosses", angmors, male species will make up a bigger proportion than females.

Cuc,

Your ex boss is really sweet. Actually if I can choose my boss, I would like to work for male angmor bosses...keke..

Cuc,

No meaning to my keke... dun think too much...keke...I feel that usually male angmor bosses are more "gentlemenly". But in my previous co, there is a German male boss who sucks, he is an exception.

come to think of it, i don't think i've ever worked under a female boss .. just plenty of females who think they can boss me la .. hahahah ..

cuc, same here...tis is my 1st job under a female boss....hehehe & i guess im lucky to have met a not too bad 1..definitely better than my sucky taiwanese male boss..

cuc, hahahahahaha!! alrite alrite...im going out to buy 4D during lunch....hehehe today is the 1st time in my life tat i brought lunchbox (with food inside) to work..keke

Green, I don't understand how come got such weak male around who needs encouragement, motivation and help in his work. He is receiving a salary and can't even be independent tsk tsk tsk. I simply have no patience for such people especially if it's a man lor because he understands not basic survival.

doll, im not too sure abt tat...even if have..mayb muz have a certain amount?? dun tink they will entertain those small fish like mi...haha & also i tink u muz open account all tat 1st..mafan leh...hehehe

hahahaha doll .. the husband of mine doesn't like any kind of sports .. i'm the one talking soccer with my FIL and step-FIL .. hahahaha .. i supposed that it's a good thing because then i'm not a sports-widow ..

Actually what is the purpose of lip gloss? To make your lips glossy + give them a tinge of colour? If there are lipsticks that are in very light shades and are glossy, does it mean that lip gloss is redundant?

singapore pool do accept online betting but u need to open an account with them and you need to have a minimum credit in your account. If i am not wrong, the minimum is around $300 bah. Got 2 types of account some more, the other one is a more premium one.