Chatters

912386.gif

I'm reading a book given by my friends. I came across something interesting and would like to share it here hehe. It is also applicable to any relationship besides marriage.

Thou Shalt Make Conflict Thy Ally
-----------------------------------------------
Conflict can destroy a marriage. But it also can bring fresh breezes and new life into the relationship. The marriage can become become stronger through disagreements and adversity.

Sometimes marriage is like a duel. When we learn how to successfully handle conflict, guess what? It becomes a duet nand the harmony produced from it is almost divine. So decide whether your marriage is going to be a duel or duet.

E.Y

I had 2 reunion dinners + Macdonald supper last nite until indigestion. Already gained 1kg plus over 3 days of feasting on CNY goodies :P

I shall catch Red Cliff tonite!
Realise that all threatres are very packed these days, have to book tickets online in advance liao.

green, i went to ikea yesterday and i can't remember when i was last able to browse without knocking into someone there - yes, so quiet! and we went to vivo afterwards but most of the stores were close at 5pm (we didn't know that) .. no wonder so many parking spaces available .. cinema was empty too .. so what movie did you watch today?

Wow snow falls on a desert! ;)

913690.jpg

DUBAI: - A blanket of snow has covered a mountain in a part of the United Arab Emirates, a rare phenomenon for the desert Gulf country, local media reported yesterday.

Heart, i sort of can't rem your boy's adorable face liao..... last time, was abt 1 yr? He collected alot of red packets anot?

green, where did you go to watch the movie?

vios, yah .. so fast plus i felt that i hardly got any time to actually sit still for a moment.. yesterday cleared out the store-room and threw stuff out, packed some stuff into boxes also .. the husband was joking that it seems like we're moving home but i suppose it's all in anticipation of .. after all, we are going to move once this lease is up.

vios,
think almost 1yr since i saw you..... my boi din collect alot of hongbao, mostly from both sides auntie and uncle neh...... why u ask? are you going to meet up with me and give my boi hongbao? haha

how's ur 1st hongbao distribution? shiok? haha

Green, based on my experience.... Never try to argue with a woman in full force, because they:

1) rule by emotions, not logic (gotta handle her emotions first before attempting to convince the woman.)

2) have elephant memory - can rem Part a to z (guys typically rem the main parts, so surely lose out during big-time confrontations)

3) usually want agreement from bf/hubby whether right or wrong (this one needs abit of skills from the guys to Know When to agree at the right time.)

Typically, i think my fellow male species will get frustrated during the arguments with his gf/wife because of the likelihood of some irrational comments.... and the impt thing for the Guys is to keep those frustrations under control - in order not to brew a bigger storm in a teacup.

cuc,
how long is the lease, 1 or 2 yrs? is no fun and troublesome to shift so often...... ever consider buying ur own property if the prices continue to drop?

Green, how did you find "Red Cliff II"? Shucks, are we gonna start another round of its discussion? Heh heh... (can see Janie's sian 1/2 face)

Cuc, yea.... that's a rare moment for a quiet Ikea. Actually, i always get a headache whenever im there. Big time crowd.

heart, shiok??? It's my 2nd year liao lo....Not really shiok shiok but more like a bittersweet feeling. Hahaha... maybe, i'm just jealous of those kids! :P

You sure abt my red packet? Sorry... all coins. :P

heart, we extended the lease for another year which means that it'll end sometime in late oct. yah, i'm hoping that we would be able to buy something at the end of the year but the husband like, don't seem so keen now, cos he says so much responsibility comes with buying our own place .. (????)

vios, yah my eldest one was quite happy to be walking about on her own - if the place was crowded, we don't dare to let her run about. wait kena run over by a shopping cart .. hahahah ..

Cuc, good thing abt leasing is that you'll get to stay at different locations (hdbs/condos) and maybe decide on a Favourable purchase (based on location or other factors) at a later time..

perhaps, just perhaps.. your hubby is exploring this option?

vios,
coins also can..... its the thoughts that count

cuc,
would all of you be moving back to ur hb's country in the near future? hence he's not keen to buy a pty?

Really just the thoughts eh? Wah.. thanks leh. When i was a child, i would receive a red packet with 4 pcs of 50 cents from my next door neighbour every year.... and i went off to ask my parents,"Why coins?"

They explained,"Because you're still small."

I still cannot figure out why they said that.... HaHaHaha....

vios, we already know that we would like to live closer to the city - hahahaha - cos the last apartment we rented was at cavenagh, and i usually walked to work (about 15-20mins with my eldest in tow) and he took the mrt. now with the kids, we had to get a car and rent a bigger place elsewhere - then he asked me why our expenditures have increased (not obvious meh????) .. hahahah ..

well, the thing is he said that it'll cost more for us to maintain our own home - eg if we rent, then we only pay $150 for repairs/ etc and anything in excess will be borne by owners. if it was our own home, he said can claim from who? :S plus we don't pay the maintenance fee, etc ..

heart, it's in our 5-year plan but anything can happen - he likes it here too much la!
plus with the low taxes here, as compared to his home country, is a big advantage for us. well property prices there have also fallen so i thought if he doesn't want to buy here, then maybe we can buy there but that also he don't want to say yes or no .. quite frustrating lor, considering that soon it will be time for us to move again .. the reason why we extended our lease for the old apartment and also for the current one is because he couldn't decide if he wanted to leave or stay .. by the time he wanted us to look for new place to rent, it's already past the deadline and we had to just renew for convenience's sake.. argh!

cuc,
for new place, little repair are required. the maintenance fee is already inside the rental, hence you dun feel the pinch. but in the long run, i still prefer to have own pty then rental.... just my personal view.

Cuc, unless he's buying a 20-yr old unit, then can be expected to have major repairs (pipes, drainage, etc...) The minorities typically will be covered by renovations and wear-and-tear stuffs liao... Well, this is only one area (Renovations) though - as there are many costs ahead - and i think he might find it a hussle to handle those bills. Hence, maybe he likens 'a house purchase' to 'a responsibility with many sub-tasks'?

Rent is so much more convenient. Eg. Pay a $3k monthly near the city area , and no need to worry abt other stuffs liao.

vios, yes i think he was thinking along those lines .. he said he's speaking from his experience from owning property before - until today, his mother is still renting because she's 'terrified' of owning her own place ..

i forwarded a few property links to the husband today (i like to see and day dream mah!) and this conversation soon followed on email ..

cuclainne: no, the kitchen i want is something like this .. but wrong location and wrong budget!

husband: that's not a kitchen .. that's a football field!

cuclainne: what?!

husband: yes, i mean it's so big ...

cuclainne: i think it's the size of our current apartment

husband: yeah, wanna buy? :-)

cuclainne: want to sell your kidney? :D

husband: i don't have enough kidneys for that :-)

cuclainne: want to sell the children?

husband: if we do that, we wouldn't need the big house. :-)

so husband: 1, cuclainne: 0

oh btw i was just joking about selling the kids part ..

gd day every1!!

vios, i where got sian 1/2 face....bo lah...cny i veli nice 1...oni sian 1/4 face nia...

cuc, haha u n ur hub's conversation veli cute..

Vios,
The battle scenes are well-done
But the storyline is so-so niah. The director added the extra Lin Chiling's scene to make us audience more kancheong LOL. Xiao Qiao where got so smart in history? I find Diao Chang smarter.

Nevertheless I want to give 3 cheers to the director for making Red Cliff I a big box office's success across continents. It's doing Asian media industry proud.

Cucl,
Your conversation with hubby was very funny haha, esp "I do not have enough kidneys for that". Well he can consider selling the rest of his organs :P

I admire the way both of you communicate 'thrash' out the differences in thinkings
A potential emotional conflict (for many couples) becomes a lovey dovey debate match for both of you. I must really learn from you leh hehe.

Happy Lunar New Year to all!

I had the most uneventful Lunar New Year having developed a temperature on Saturday night. Went to the doctor and was prescribed drowsy medication. Understandably, have had sleep overdose the past few days. Just got back to the pink of health yesterday in time to start work on Wednesday.....

Ash, got win big in mahjong? lol