Chatters

OMG..
if she is "not stupid".. then most of us are genius.. you better go do some google/youtube on her interview..

just mind boggling shit.. thank god. ... obama was chosen.

if it was McCain and then McCain had a heart-attack.. US gonna have a joke for a president..

and Yeah, she is not bad looking for her age.. that I can say

Sm,
Haha yeah I know the complaints about Sarah. I read CNN and TIMES magazine etc. But I admire how she maintains her looks lor. It's impossible to please everyone in US anyway.

Doll,
Not yet... busy weeks.

sm, then i might be in the minority. admittedly, i didn't follow up with each and every of her news/interviews, but basically just watched her debate with Sen.Joseph.... it's enough for me as she came across as a strong-willed woman, who knew what the amercians want - healthcare, jobs -and her counter-arguments on Sen.Joseph's healthcare plans were quite clear-cut to me.

anyway, it's no easy means to be the governor - im quite sure she possesses certain attributes that make her suitable for that role.

she might just be inexperienced with that sudden limelight, hence i think the jokes make out her to look brainless than she (and her beauty) actually is.

Green,

I cnt match up to her 150K USD wardrobe leh.. My pay is still far.. far... far.... away from there... LOL.. I rather do some other meaningful things wif the sum of money den rather spend on that.. hehe

Morning chatters~

LOL greenie, neither can i match up neh..
her 150K USD wardrobe, mine is like at most 150SGD?? keke..

i will let you know if i strike ToTo tonight ya?

Green, maybe you are not affected? I read that those lecturers who ought to reduce their annual leave entitlement have 42 days per year.

Doll,
It's better that we dun discuss it here. Reporters are trying to dig the juicy gossips, so we are instructed to be careful with our words lol.

I msned u my reply instead ;)

vios,

then you should read her interviews.

She is very typical american - yes knowledgeable and passionate in certain areas (about US) but totally ignorant about things around the world - world affairs.

A US VP needs a more international outlook and I think lack of experience is ok, but she was trying to say that because she is the governor of alaska - and it being near/neighbour of russia, that qualifies her as having foreign policy experience..

When she first came on, people thought she was a fresh air because she is new and she spoke candidly.. I mean more real than most politicians.. but then afterwards, with the interview when they probed further.. she couldn't hold her water through lack of intellectual capacity and awareness. Not any fault of hers really. It is one thing to be a governor in US ( just need to understand local issues) and another to be a VP of US.

Americans also know about their shortcomings.. and they don't want a VP that will embarrass them too much in front of international leaders.

anyway, Obama has won so sarah palin dream of VP is gone. Thank goodness.. I guess what we are discussing is now academic.

More important is whether obama can deliver the goods. Most americans think he can. Look at his landslide victory. And go read/see his victory speech - this guy has charisma and can really talk well.. like in the mould of JF Kennedy

"She is very typical american - yes knowledgeable and passionate in certain areas (about US) but totally ignorant about things around the world - world affairs."

I think not only typical Americans are like that...so as typical Singaporeans and other nationalities...

I agree that Obama is very charismatic. I believe his "this is your victory" greatly adds to his appeal to the people, for example. He promises change but not overnight change. Not sure if he would deliver but a very charismatic person he is indeed.

sm, yup... will read her pre-election interviews when i'm free.

actually, what you've just written strike my tone about Sarah almost in the same manner.... that she might just be short of exposure to international affairs, and that she is inexperienced infront of a bigger stage. But, i don't doubt her intelligence and potential capabilities if she has abit more time from the sidelines.

By that aspect, yes... she might not be a quality VP for now but i don't equal that shortfall as an embarrassment. Say, given another 5 years or so, she might be more adept to handling questions internationally..

Yup, hope Obama will deliver his promises... it's a must.

Oh, remember the news about a man who flung his sister's three-year-old dog from her 22nd storey flat? He will be a jailbird for three months for the act of cruelty. I think he should get one year for that. Not only had an innocent pet died, but it must have been traumatising for its owner, the convict's sister.

yes but a waste la, when you think about the recession that's hitting the common man la .. and here they are spending money like nothing.

I used my bus journeys to crack my brain on chatters xmas gift. Haha bingo, I knew what unisex gift to get already

For our X'mas outing, are you guys keen to have dinner at the new Waraku Tempanyaki restaurant StarHub Centre?

Green, I shan't try to guess what gift you will be getting. Let the recipient of your gift enjoy the surprise feeling hehe

doll, is this the japanese restaurant on the street level? they renovated it? the food is nice! i liked living just across the starhub centre last time - if bored, orchard road is just one overhead bridge away .. hahahah ..

tomorrow is my eldest' 2nd birthday .. i bought pressies for her already but the husband would like to get her a bean bag. she likes the one at Taka but it costs $400 - gulp! anyone knows where they sell bean bags on the cheaper side?

Cuc, yes, it is on the street level at StarHub Centre. I haven't been there yet since it re-open for business after renovation. Maybe I will go there next week. I try not to eat at restaurants more than a certain number of times a week, as I tend to over eat the good food hehe

chatties... i found an awesome chi char in geylang.. muahaha..

my colleague introduced me this chi char and so i went with a few other colleagues to try it out.. its at Geylang Lor 23...
name: Xin Shan Ah Beng Zhu Chao

while i was ordering.. i wanted to eat fried sotong and salad yu tiao.. he replied saying that they don serve all those common things that others sell.. 0_o
indeed, their dishes are quite special and yummy yummy!!! The price is reasonable too~

san lao mee hoon: $4 for a small portion (enough for 2 people)
white pepper crab: $7 each

i forgot the rest already..keke..
worth trying la.. hee hee..

the husband went today but he said he cannot find. i called ikea but they say they don't carry. i called molecule but their bean bag is also about $200+. found a website that sells for $95 but they won't deliver so soon .. hmmm ..

a few days ago, she picked out a shirt to wear while we were getting ready in the morning and just because the shirt had dinosaurs and stars printed on them, she said she wanted to go and see dinosaurs and stars. i had to call science centre to find out if they have any dinosaur exhibit .. hahaha .. this girl arh, she really got me twisted around her little finger ..

that place is quite popular with japanese expats .. the husband said that if it's popular with them, that means the food is authentic and good .. hahahah ..

Actually, in Cuppage Plaza there are some authentic Jap eateries popular with Jap expats too. I quite like this charcoal grill eatery but it is very small. The Jap restaurant at Wheelock Place is called Sun With Moon.

Cucl,
What's the website link for bean bags?

It's possible to make bean bags, ring pillows etc. to sell on a blog site. Maybe I can try this out next year when I'm more free hehe.

In my upper primary school days, I sold hand-made artificial flowers, pen with names like friendship bands, beaded jewelleries, barbie dolls with knitted/fur costumes etc to my school mates for fun LOL. Sometimes, I gave some of them as presents to friends when I made too many at home.

yeh. i tried sun with moon once. its good.

greenie, i din know u are so good at handicrafts.
i always give up halfway. just like my cross stitch. i can take 1yr to finish a small little picture. =X