Chatters

Agree with Powderful that if her husband is indeed Tony, nobody will blame her for wanting divorce. He's violent, even beat up FIL or something.

I think she was trying to salvage the marriage or just continuing to live a married life, that would include having a baby.

Not ego. Coming from a Christian perspective, I believe she sincerely believes that divorce for any other reason than adultery and desertion is gravely wrong, and she wants to do what is right by God, even if it hurts her. Although I think that her way of viewing God is unnecessarily legalistic.

Oh, is it? He got beaten by FIL for what arh?

Green, it is not ego. I would consider thrice if I had to divorce twice but then again, I would consider more than thrice before I get married twice. For me, if I have to divorce twice I will still do it. I don't believe in staying in a marriage that's only an empty shell.

Two drivers have been found guilty of hitting the same motorcyclist and fleeing the accident scene without rendering assistance.

The dead motorcyclist was very, very unlucky to be hit twice. He died after being hit by the second car.

==================

The Straits Times Digital
9 Oct 2008
Jail for hit-and-run housewife
By Sujin Thomas

HOUSEWIFE Lim Ah Mui was driving towards the airport one day in 2006 when a man suddenly appeared on the road in front of her car.

The man, tossed from his motorcycle in another accident seconds earlier, was getting to his feet when Lim ran over him with her Mercedes-Benz.

But instead of stopping, the 58-year-old drove away from the fatally injured motorcyclist, picked up her husband at the terminal, and went home.

Yesterday, Lim wept silently in the dock as a judge sentenced her to five months' jail and banned her from driving for three years.

District Judge Jill Tan said that Lim deserved a jail sentence because she did not stop to help the motorcyclist, Mr Ghazali Mohamed Noor, 47.

The package officer with the Singapore Airport Terminal Services (Sats) was on his way to Changi Airport on Christmas Day morning in 2006 when he hit a car making an illegal U-turn.

Mr Ghazali was flung off, landing one lane away.

While he was trying to get up, Lim ran over him. She did not brake and went on to pick up her husband from Terminal 1, before heading home.

Mr Ghazali suffered multiple injuries and died on the spot.

Lim reported to the Traffic Police only eight days late, after being issued a letter ordering her to come in.

Pleading for leniency, defence lawyer Luke Lee urged the court not to jail Lim, saying it was not clear which car inflicted the fatal blow.

The driver who touched off the accident with an illegal U-turn, 64-year-old contractor Tew Hock Sew, also left the scene, only to return five minutes later after dropping off a passenger at the airport.

In May this year, he was sentenced to five months' jail and banned from driving for three years for failing to help.

Upon appealing two months later, his sentence was reduced to three months in jail.

Mr Lee said Lim, who is out on a bail of $20,000, plans to appeal against the sentence.

Cuc, at least the first driver did go back to the accident scene five minutes later (hoping to help the biker) but not the second driver.

yah but if he did not do the illegal u-turn, he would not have hit this person .. i wonder what is going through their minds when they know that they have hit someone but instead of stopping immediately, they go about their business first or in the worst case, go home ..

reminds me of the time when i was crossing the road - the light was green in my favour but still cars were turning .. ultimately one car's side mirror hit my wrist (yes, was that close) and the driver just drove off .. lucky i manage to take down the license plate number .. until now, i cannot write for long, my wrist gets very painful when i do ..

sometimes some drivers are quite impatient and even though the light is in the pedestrian's favour, they still want to turn .. but they forget that the pedestrians don't stay in one place - by the time they turn, the pedestrians are already a few steps ahead .. sometimes in their path .. many a time i thought i would come to my end when crossing from cavenagh road to kk hospital junction, so dangerous and i am pushing my daughter in the stroller so she would kena first ..

Cucl,
I know what u mean. Sometimes I will stare hard at the driver and give way to the car at the zebra crossing haha. Only when the driver stops for 2 mins, then i dare to walk.

Cucl,
What did LTA do to that driver who hit your wrist?

Last week, I saw a taxi horn fiercely at pedestrians near Cineleisure, then he cut my bf car's lane dangerously. It was a young chap driving the taxi.

Cuc, you got a point there too. If not for the first driver who did illegal U-turn and knocked down the biker, the second car would not have knocked him down later as he was picking himself up from the fall.

As pedestrians, we are totally exposed to the "elements", so I would rather be extra careful when crossing the road. Even if the traffic rules are in my favour, it is my raw flesh vs steel.

the worst zebra crossing in my opinion is when you're walking from tekka market to kk hospital .. always stand there like goondu for cars to stop, usually they don't and just whizz past - i don't dare to just cross like that, usually wait for cars to stop and then go .. but sometimes the car in the closest lane will stop but as you're about to cross into the second lane, the car in that lane might just zoom past .. scary!

i made a police report - the girl who claimed she was the driver came to my place a few days later. she came and basically started crying, saying she just passed her licence and didn't want her father to find out.

Talking about zebra crossing, just now one taxi overtook me from behind my car at a single-lane zebra crossing that happened to be quite wide. So stupid! These days many people like cannot wait to die faster. Very scary leh.

but yes, some pedestrians also like cannot wait to die faster .. esp. those who walk while talking on the phone .. it's like they're in a world of their own and just cross the road without looking ..

Luckily I had a nightmare today morning, else I would be late for work! I woke up from nightmare though my hp alarm didn't sound off.

I dreamed that I was on my dad's car at night. Our car crashed onto a yellowish, transparent, ghost car, then it dived into a nearby pond. I woke up when I opened the car door to escape LOL.

It must be due to too much work stress and my mind cannot shut down properly. I worked till 3am yest night.

Morning chatters.

Greenie, i heard having a cup of honey water before bed time can help you to get a better rest.. furthermore, the honey water hlps your body to burn more fats while slping... hee hee...

green, i think you've overworked and with what's been going on, i think you need a break leh ..

mayi, oh is that so? then i will start drinking honey water from now on .. heheheh

Serene,
How u been? Long time never see u around!

Cucl,
No choice. I've been doing OTs at home every night for 2 weeks. My bro is worse than me leh, he only comes home at 1am-3am and he needs to go back office on Sat and Sun. I'm glad that I can at least bring my work home.

green, poor you .. i know it must be hard. i see my husband is the same - in the mornings, he's barely awake since he always sleeps late working on office issues .. plus he still helps me with the kids during the night so i know he must be super duper tired.

Serene,
Gambatte! U will be fine soon after you get the hang of the procedures and people at new office.

Folks,
Talking about my nightmare involving accident, there were indeed 3 accidents along TPE along my way to work today morning.

cos they kpo loh.

even when walking.. someone fell down and people walking by also turn to look.. kept on looking while walking... but nobody stepped forward to help..

then.. that person who fell down was me loh.. -_-"

Green,
i had seen b4 alot of such KPOS on my way to wrk b4! Juz b'cos a car knocked into another car infront, den one by one slow down to see, hence causing jam and i was late for work...

greenie, i picked myself up fast anyway.. haha...

i am not upset that nobody helped, i am upset that someone who fell down feels embarrassed and painful (if hurt)already.. do they still have to stop by to kpo, look look see see as if someone is performing... -_-"

i fell down in the council chambers at belfast city hall, while on a tour with many others. i was so embarrassed that afterwards, i just lingered in the back instead of being in the group. at least i sought solace in the fact that these are probably people i would never see again and if i do, they probably won't remember me as the girl who fell flat on her face there.

Tomorrow, I may not be able to come for the outing. I need to rush markings over weekends at home and I started to feel dizzy and tired since yest.
I will try my best, see how.

Green,
think you over-tired urself.. i might nt be able to cm too, tmr after work got meeting and training, dun noe what time will ends.. hope it will end by 5.30pm.. haiz..