Chan Brothers-Europe Romance in late Dec 06

biba8169

anyone here booked for Europe Romance package from Chan Brothers this coming Dec departure?

We are part of the group and are excited about going to Switzerland,Italy,Paris n London.
I have heard fav reviews abt the tour but it was a June departure. Not too sure abt dec departure. Anyone care to share experiences with Chan Brothers?
It will be great if you can share with me your comment on dec europe trip. Very often ppl may say its winter and not advisable to go as shops closed early, withered trees, cold weather..etc. But can anyone comment on its plus points?

It would be better if those who have booked their Europe Romance to gather here, so that we can advise one another what to do n bring for our trip..knowing wat to prepare for!!!
Hope to see more ppl here...

Hi biba,

Sorry I'm not a gal.

My favourite season is winter so I often don't understand what the big deal is about the cold; you just layer up with nice woollen inside clothing, get a good waterproof and windproof jacket, and you're fine. It's very nice, warm, and cosy. Get a beanie to cover your head; lots of heat is lost through the top of your head. We hot-blooded locals always freeze because our body takes about 2 weeks to get used to the cold (our blood thickens). So of course we complain a lot because we are never properly acclimatized on those short holidays.

Withered trees? What's wrong with that? It's starkingly beautiful. I'm sure you've seen pictures of a beautiful winter scenary with bare trees. E.g:

http://images.google.com.sg/images?q=winter%20trees&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8&client=firefox-a&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official&sa=N&tab=wi

If you go during Christmas period or even just before Christmas, it is oh so romantic. The contrast between the cold weather and the warm fireplace, with the fresh smell of pine leaves and a hot cup of tea/coffee/hot chocolate is just so magical. Then you have the choral groups carolling in the streets. And if you are fortunate enough to have a white Christmas (hard to get in Western Europe), the gentle falling snow and the white carpet absorbs all the noise outside so it is so peaceful and quiet. You can never find that sort of atmosphere in Singapore no matter how hard you try.

Then there's the ice-skating on a frozen lake / canal if the weather is cold enough. A wonderful experience to be able to skate free of charge in a park among trees and birds. And it's not crowded.

Now personally I don't think going in a tour group is romantic at all, plus you won't get a chance to try out any / much of the above. So ...

Raymond,

Thanks for ya comments,yes i absolutely agreed with you abt the -ve side ppl talked abt gg to europe in dec. If it is really bad, why wld agency still do such tour and get gd respond..

Hey ashley,
I am gg for a 15days..
You booked during its Natas fair? wow..too bad we wont be able to meet...

Hi biba,

I feel sad that many Singaporeans are still quite "suaku" about living in temperate climates and give all sorts of excuses. The majority of the world consists of temperate climates. The nicest temperature is 18 deg; you don't perspire, yet not too cold to have to layer up.

Having said that, it *is* some sort of an adjustment to go in winter from a tropical climate; cold dark short and windy days. Perhaps it is because we do not know how to dress warmly enough that deters us and our "suakuness" causes us to freeze when we are there.

But it is only because of the cold outside that the warmth of the inside of a house with a burning fireplace is so nice and romantic. Try doing that in Singapore and see what you get.

So yes, don't be deterred, and just go for it.
Oh, the best place to buy winterwear is actually not in Singapore; limited range, sometimes lousy quality, and expensive. It is actually cheaper and better to buy your winter wear in Europe. The economic law of supply and demand function as usual.

Hello BiBa,

oh, london is your last stop right ? Yup, booked during the natas fair. Will by flying Qatar. First time taking this airline, hope its good.

You are going there during the christmas period right? I heard its quite an experience going to europe during that period. Too bad i have no more annual leave liaoz.

Update me when you are back k.

Cheers !

ashley,

sure! i will have u updated n post pics when i am back from the trip! Urs ended in paris for 13D?

I really love xmas and will be there to celebrate our anniversary..cool..yes, I am flying Qatar too since I get to rest on the first day b4 we embark on the various places..U too ya?

My HB wanted to do London again as he have not been to some places while he's there a few yrs back. We will have a whole free day in London..:P

Hi Ashley,

Qatar Airways is not bad; the Doha to Europe leg has better planes. Food is quite good. The only drawback is the tiny airport terminal in Doha; nothing to shop around and very small. Bring a good book.

Hi, Ashley,

We have booked for the 13D Europe tour with Chan Bros for 3rd Nov departure. Very exciting abt the trip as first time there. Since it is still early into winter, we do not have to bring lots of thick clothing. Was thinking how much to change to Euro for spending as the package covers 60-70% meals. Especially in Switzerland, whereby we will stop over for 2 days and currency is in Swiss Francs..

hi Wendy,

I am late for this, U are already on ur journey!wow..come back & feedback to us ur trip and encounters ya. Wanna see what the trip has offer...

Anyone here has booked for departure on 22nd dec? It has been quite a good respond for europe romance for this departure! Now left 2 seats I heard!!! See u gals here.

I just come back last week from the 15D Europe Romance Tour with Chan brother.

The weather now is very nice. At ard 16 to 22 degree. Even we go up to snow mountain also got sunlight so not very cold. Just nice. My tour start at London and end at Rome. This will be much better as Rome is the most beautiful one. If start at Rome and you will not be that interested in the rest lor.

Overall, I am very happy with the whole package, not very pack but have to wake up everyday at 6am and sleep at ard 10 to 11pm lor. But got enough time to sleep on coach.

Pls be prepare to drink less water as the toilet over there need $$$ except for Switzerland. Each toilet trip can cost from SGD50cent to $1.50( in London). Tips: Guys can go water the plant to save the $$$ for the lady. There will be a stop every 2 hrs during the long jouney.

Remember to bring tomatoes and chilli sauce as they charge for each packet of sauce even at Macdonald. So they ask if you wan better ask if need $$$. Each packet cost SGD60cents.

If need to buy anythings get it from Supermarket. The price can be very much diff lor, especially choclate, wine and beer. Beer is cheaper then juices and soft drink over there.

If your tour guide is good, he will hint you if U should buy what here and there. My tour guide is good. He will tell us in chinese that we just see and use the toilet in certain shop and dun buy cos the price is high.

Remember to bring more cash as the expenses over there is really high. A set of macdonald can cost up to SGD12. So bring more own food and buy a set and share. They got optional tour too, it is good to join and the tips is very high too.

Hope this detail can help you in some ways. Thanks

Hi sgsle,

Sounds like you all had a great time, except for perhaps the waking at 6am part.

How much did you spend all together, exclusive of shopping? What cities did you cover? I guess a lot of time is spent in the coach?

Eh you all eat at Macs there? Is their Macs the same standard as in SG? My wife complained that the Fillet-o-fish in Paris is not the same standard as that in SG. Anyway eating Macs in France is an unpardonable sin because French food is so nice.

Hi Raymond,

Yes indeed, we really had great fun. After the trip all of the tour mates still keep in touch. I would say that we are lucky to have this group of tour mates. Only 2 is not cooperative, the rest is helpful and playful. My group consist of 31pax, initially I am afraid that we might need to wait alot but outcome is very good, all is very punctual.

Total spending is abt SGD$8500 for 2 - for the tour, optional tour and the tips.

We cover quite a number of them, cannot really remember. We went to London, Paris, Brussels, Austria, Amsterdam, Holland, Switzerland, venice, florence and Rome (This is all I can remember). It true that we spend quite a lot of time travelling on coach but that is the only time we can gather more sleep. We also travel on Eurostar, at least can try it. From a place to another place normally take abt 2 to 3 hours. Only from switzerland to Florence take longer time. That why our tour guide make us wake up so early lor. Hee Hee........

As for food, The tour do have local food for us to try but only a few meals. Mostly we ate chinese food. The food over at Europe is really very expensive as compare to Singapore. In SG, we can already try many kinds of food. We ate a sandwich alone in Paris, cost us ard SGD$15. So we normally order 1 set and share cos the serving quite big. The Mac over there is the same as SG, only that no chillie sauce. The beef at europe is nicer than in SG. So If those who can take beef, order the beef.

Actually overall will be better if I bought more $$$ there. Cos I was told that there are nothing to buy and no need to bring that much there. So we have to save till our last day then we dare to spend much. Hahaha........

hi ss,

am glad that u have enjoyed the trip! Oh is there mostly chinese meals? I wanted to taste local food and i tot their romance package covers mostly local food..haiz,i dislike chinese food tho. I am looking forward to pork knuckles and tuscany dinner. How was it?

I am starting with rome and ending in London. I think its not a bad idea too start off in rome. I will be in venice on xmas day and paris on new year day.this excites me.

Oh, i heard there's too much to buy in europe! Hence I am preparing for my cash hahaha..but is it worth to use credit card? I heard the exchg rate is NOT in fav and wil cost alot more when converted to sgp$. So, many told us to bring cash than use credit.

How's eurostar experience? Do u need to drag ur luggage along? thru'out the trip, was there any issue on having to carry ur luggage or stuff?
oh ur tour guide is good, am happy to hear that!
Did u shop for bags?

Heard that Lindt choco is exp there but godiva worth buying cos its cheaper compare to sgp's. somemore Lindt is so common in sgp.

Btw, wat are the optional tour?and which one have u join? any photos to share?

Hi Biba,

Too bad there are too much chinese foods. I think there are only 3 to 4 meals included is local food. Pls be prepare to eat lotsa bread as the breakfast over there is only bread and bread..... The pork knuckles is good, remember to grap the bigger pieces one ok. As for the tuscany dinner at florence is a 5 course dinner with wine, nice atmosphere. I did check with the tour guide why are we eating chinese foods and the reply is most of the tour people is chinese and it also meant for older pple in the tour group. Moreover, we need 1 and half hour to finish the 5 course meal then we only need half and hour to finish the chinese foods. So tour guide say that we can see more things lor.

Overall the foods still quite ok, they will arrange shanghai, hongkong tim sum and others kind of chinese foods lor.

I think the trip of planning is not bad too. But just dun set ur target of rome building lor. Cos rome is really the best one.

I think if U are prepare to spend $$$ then bring more. The exchange rate is no good for credit card. But if U intend to buy diamond or Branded bags then use credit card as they can do tax rebate thru credit card and it is fast, but claims can only get it back in 3 months time. So advise is bring slightly more cash lor.

The whole journey we only need to load the bag up the coach and take it down to the hotels. Other than that we need not carry our bag one. Only at during the Eurostar, we need to drag a distance, so not much to carry lor. Our tour guide even help us to carry for the girls one. Hee Hee........

Dun buy Lindt, it is ex and common in SG. Godiva must buy, we bought at about euro$2.50 a bar and SG is selling at $8 a bar. There are some other brand that you can buy, recommended by our our guide and it is nice, I finish all my chocolate le. The brands are Ciotto, Hanuta, blutenzauber, Rittersport and Mozart ball. They are very cheap and nice. All chocolate is cheaper than SG a lot lor. I bring a whole trolley of chocolate back. Hahaha........ (Tips: Remember to buy at Supermarket ok or ask the tour guide where can buy cheaper one. The Mozart ball, we only bought at euro$3 and shopping center selling at euro$5.90 - That is a bag diff lor)

As for the optional tour, only one package to choose - I think Chan brother had already set a package of Euro$125 per person - It include: 2nd level of Eiffel tower, gondola trips, Louree musuem, seine river cruise and 1 more I can't remember what is it. So the whole tour group take up this. If any of those U not interested in, he can deduct from there.

Hi SS,
Thanks for taking time to reply moi

Now i knoe the reason y chinese food are the main meals,hmm..since it saves time for us,well, i guess its a trade off.glad that the chinese food also tasted good.

So u r advising me that if i wan to buy branded bags like prada.LV,gucci, since I can get a refund on taxes, i'd better use credit card as this way, the refund will be faster compare to using cash?But if the exchg rate is not in fav,then with the tax refund, it will come to square one,no savings at all rt?

U must be a chocoholic? I love chocos too. it sounds that the guide are very good that he can give pretty honest advise! So i must buy godiva then. Ur trip oso cover London rt? did u went to marks&spencer?is the stuff cheaper compared to sgp's? The brands are Ciotto, Hanuta, blutenzauber, Rittersport and Mozart ball are very NEW to me, i have not heard of here. Is it available at Candy Empire in sgp or anyway? Or any website for me to browse?Wow,its really cheaper to buy nice chocos there, this makes me drool..haha

For the optional tour u mentioned, package of Euro$125 per person - It include: 2nd level of Eiffel tower, gondola trips, Louree musuem, seine river cruise. Do we pay before we depart? Is this mentioned during our Briefing session with Chan Bros, otherwise, when will they ask us if we are keen? Or is it incl in the package already? & if we opt out, we pay less than our package now? We planned to go to TOP of eiffel tower then. Is it worth to cover this optional tour?

How abt the tips that we are required to pay per day basis? Do we pay a lump sum b4 departure to Chan Bros?

Its getting cold now i guess, by the time I depart, i think its winter time....

Btw, any pics to share?PM me.

Hi biba,

Ritter Sport is German chocolate; you can easily find it in supermarkets or The Cocoa Trees. I went once to Candy Empire at Vivo City (before the whole wheelchair incident). Did not have a good impression; their goods are overpriced, and service is lousy. I will personally boycott them after their whole wheelchair incident and bad PR.

Godiva chocolate is a definite must-buy in Europe.

For pics of France:
<a href="http://www.comp.nus.edu.sg/~rtan/France/" target="_blank">
http://www.comp.nus.edu.sg/~rtan/France/</a>

Hi Biba,

If you can use cash and then the Tax refund on credit card can also be done. But you have to be careful not to bring too much $$$ with you. As Italy is not a safe place lor. We are being follow at the leading tower shop. Lucky we got many people so the thief dare not lay his finger on us. Hee Hee......

I saw Ciotto is selling in SG, others I have not seen it. My recommend - Buy more Hanuta and Ciotto, really very nice lor. Mark and spencer, I only when in to their supermarket. It is still the same, chocolate items will be cheaper lor.

Optional your is not include in the package. They will only pass U a paper of the optional tour but it will be diff from the one of Euro$125. Maybe U can cheap and compare lor. The Euro$125 tour will bring U to the 3rd level. I heard that this is the best unblock view. All optional tour will be collected during the trip.
For the tips will be paid on the last 2nd day before we go back. If ur cash is not enough, U can pay the tour guide in Sing dollar or pay him on the last day with all the balance currency you have. My tour guide accept it.

Go for your briefing and check if Vincent is your tour guide. As he is very flexible and helpful.

Tell me more when U come back from your trip next month. Hee Hee....... I really miss there.

hi all who have sign up for this Chan Bro Europe package... is this like those traditional Spore tour package that brings us to those shopping trips that we usually hate ... or is it a real sight seeing guided tour ? anyone been on Contiki ? how does it compare to Contiki? tinking of booking but worried its like one of those lousy package

Hi ss,

I have also signed up with Chan Bro for their 15 days romance tour in Mar 07. Would like to check with you...do they have enuf time for you to go shopping and to purchase the branded stuffs? Becos from the intinerary, there is only one day in Paris and I heard that the queue to buy LV bags can takes up to 2 hrs.

Any idea are the branded goods cheaper in Italy or Paris?

hi happy,

not much time for shopping...mostly sightseeing. but u could try the LV store at Galeries Lafayette..not too crowded.

hi happy,

ya...will passby there coz the Opera hse in the itinerary is juz within walking distance..yes we went to italy too. but italy very rush, no shopping time..paris got half day free. LV is france brand so still cheapest to buy there

i came back from 13D trip with Chan Bros in mid-Nov, really miss it! For bags, can buy Ferragamo in Italy, especially Furla! Furla can be as low as 50% difference as compared to Spore. Even with Furla sales in Spore, the price is still lower in Italy. I first saw the Furla shop in Venice, a great place to shop in! Also, in Venice, you can look at Bruno Magli shoes. I bought a pair of boots at ard S$450, which design could not be found in Spore (cos the branch in TaKa does not bring in some range) and for such boots, I believe its pretty worth it. I believe you will pass by Germany for one day, try to get Aigner which is their local brand. Lastly, is LV in Paris :p

Hi girls...

Thanks so much for the info...

Wendy...so glad tat u enjoyed the trip...so do you find the trip v rushed too?

How abt Gucci? Shld I buy in Italy or Paris?

Do you all noe how is the weather like in March?

hi happy,

weather in march(early spring) shld b still very cold...it will be much colder to go in first week of march as compared to last week of march coz temp increases every week until summer time in june/july.

Hi Wendy,
I am also planning to go to Europe in mid Nov. can you pm me any of ur pics, pls? wanna see the scenery for that season.
How was the weather like?

In ur opinion, does chan bro offer good service and worthy to be signed up with?

hi there, i have signed up 14D central europe tour with chan brothers departing 30 nov... anyone in this tour group?

saw that there is a half day free at lucerne and half day free at paris.. any recommendation where i should go and eat during these free time? thanx!

hi gals/guys...i need some advice here...i'm planning to do some shopping in paris but my tour ends at rome....do you know how do i claim for the VAT refund? i heard that different europe country the service taxes are different....need some advice here....