CCK Crescent

Or do you wanna meet nearby for dinner 1st?What time do you normally reach home?

Tough to gain weight overseas especially on long working trips.A few months is fine..

hmmm....amelia....most of d dinners mi cook at home if can afford d time......

hw abt miting up for drinks / brkf on sat morning mayb say ard tenish...

As i jumped off the building

351698.jpg

Hannoh me also busy cooking at home..normally dinners i eat home unless lazy lah then tabao.You buy groceries from the yew tee wet market?Lotsa great stuff there but can be very pricey.The veggies marciam hydroponics siah.The best is still Seng Siong at ten mile junction.Cheap and fresh.Esp the fish...lagi best!

I am not a morning person leh even tho' i wake up early..i get cranky loh hehe.Have lunch loh...can meet blursotong also.Not picky about the place...good food can liao.

Blursotong,

Okies me confirm date and time with you.Shld be soon.

Hi Amelia,

the thread getting very slow ya... where is everyone!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Great let's meet up for lunch....

You and STnov very hardworking to cook all the time. I cook about once every two weeks only. everytime by the time i go home, i just gets too tired to start anything. Washing the clothings, ironing and cleaning the hosue is enough... :-)

Hihi!

I'm here! busy with the preparation of my vacation trip this may...

i mostly cook 2 of the weekday dinners... seldom cook in weekend though... wanting to learn more new dishes.. mine is "private limited company"... :p

true...notice tat all seems to be busi....

mi have got no choice cos my hubby prefers home cooked food.....din cook for close to a mth after CNY.....

ya Amelia....fish @ sheng siong fresh & cheap....sumtime if u go wet market on sun oso not bad....tat uncle always sell 4 slices of fish for 10 bucks (if ur lucky can find good fish)

wah...blursotong....dun tell mi u clean d hse everyday wor....*fainted*

dodo...same here...a lot of times based on trial & error...vocation so nice....whr will u b going?

hi stnov

hee.. just now 1st time try sambal sotong... i put some tomatoes in also.. not bad lah.. though still got "many rooms" for improvement... :p
we are planning to swiss & austria, free & easy... have bought the air tix but yet to book the hotel yet... accom at swiss is indeed exp oh...

Hi CCK Cres residents,

Anybody knows if I want to go to Orchard, takes MRT of bus would be faster? If takes bus faster then which bus should I take and from where?
I did a search take MRT north line would be approximately 45 mins.

hi dodo.. wah so good.. can go holiday.. hiah.. mi n my FW so busy now until no time to sleep oso.. Work busy plus renovation.. *stressed*

hey dodo....take it as experiment lor....i do tat too...sumetimes try to add tis & tat to hopefully improve d taste....kekeke

wah.....so nice lei....so wen u planning to go....gota chk their weather for proper clothings.....all accomm in Europe is super high priced one......njoy!!!

dodo,

Must remember to wear bomber jacket, yah?They're reasonably priced there...lotsa chio chio colours to choose from...I love white, light blue and other subdued colours.I wore a fleece jacket on one ski trip and froze my butt off even though i can tolerate cold weathers very well.

STnov,

Wahhhh why so cheap?Is the 3 slices of fish a good size??Must update this auntie here, ok?You know Sheng Siong has a new japanese section?Range is fairly complete and cheap of course..must buy!!The cheapest jap groceries however is at Daiso!!!Yipeeee!!

Collin,

Soon it will be all over so hang in there!You're under Cis**rn, right?Or is it blursotong's contractor?

Star,

45 mins is quick enough, no?

blursotong,

Yay lunch!Update you on the date and time...don't know why my face has been breaking out since i came back..think my skin is having a hard time with our humidity leh
I've seen a dermatologist..he said my skin will get worse for quite a while b4 it gets better...depressing hor...but i will persist with the meds he prescribed.

hi collin,
dun be stress... as long as work progress well as what the contractor promised, it will be okay... let me know if u need any help when sourcing for furnitures n electrical appliances k

hi stnov,
yup.. actually i love experiments! just now tried the seafood mian xian... hee... :p
i will be leaving on 25th apr night and back on 14th may... now researching, it will be spring over there, temp ard 5 to 18 degree celsius... thanks! very excited now.. really looking forwards to it!

hi amelia,
what is bomber jacket? paisei i mountain tortoise.. hee.. do u know where to get cheap n quality coldwear here? my fren had lend me her down feather jacket.. not sure whether to get more.. but worry will put on the weight of my luggage...

hi amelia,

ya...it is pretty cheap sumore more imptly it's fresh.....good news is 4 slices not 3 and yes they are of rather reasonable thickness as well!! d store is d second from ur right (facing them) opp d vegz stores.....can go take a look!!

No prob.....seems like we r d onli 2 'aunties' here liaoz....kekeke....
kao_cry.gif

*News buzz*....Juz bought a whole fish from sheng shiong yest and it is real cheap....$10 niah.....it's 'ngor' (hokkien) fish or 'wu2 yu2'...not sure u now wat it is but it's supposed to be expensive & good fish..

new jap section...no idea...whr isit located....

hi dodo......well mi sure tat ur improving day by day.....mian xian is not easi to handle cos gota take care tat it dun get too sticky.....

as mi fan of fish soup...tried home cooked as well wif evaporated milk...not too bad.....

a tip for u if ur into seafood.....for soup especially throw in a few dried scallops (5-8 small ones for 2 paxs) and leaved it to boil for abt 1 hr.....d taste would be mamamiya....
kao_drool.gif

dodo,

5 to 18C is not cold.You don't even need down jackets.Just normal sweaters or hoodies will suffice.Thick denim jackets will also do fine.I was thinking you're going to the mountains to ski.Bomber jackets are somewhat like ski jackets but not as thick and bulky.

Best is you borrow jackets from friends and buy your coldwear there..they will have clearance sales.

STnov,

OK i know which fish stall liao..sometimes evenings they lelong lelong..

Cheap right?I can't believe my eyes when i saw the price...mine was about 6 or 7 bucks..I used it to grill sambal fish.

Ngor He is what parents use to make porridge for kids..very gd fish..10 bucks is cheap ah!

Jap section is near the seafood there..you can ask around.

Dried scallop in porridge also mamamiya!! hehehe!

hi stnov & amelia!

guess what, i just back from Sheng Siong! haa... bought quite alot of stuff there... some fish, pork spare rib, veges, fruits.. blah blah blah... :p their selections are great!

great mind think alike ladies! i also used dried scallops when making soup... the taste is indeed mamamiya! hee.. i used tt for for seafood mian xian soup also.. also put in quite alot of ikan bilis... but abit troublesome, coz i usually sieve out those ikan bilis when i think the soup is tasty enuf...

oic... thanks for the advise amelia

hi amelia & dodo,

perhaps we can share our 'experimental' recipes and try to improve them ourselves....kekeke

since it seems tt we are interested in d same type of cuisine eg. seafood soup, dried scallops etc

so hws our lunch meet-up getting on....mayb we can start off wif setting a date & whom can make it!!!

wow dodo, u so good wor.. go holiday..
i veri sian wif work.. planning to go beach resort... my hub not enough leave..@#*#*$@$
so decide to go beach resort thruout e weekend.

ya i also used dried scallops to cook porridge and soup.. hey i can get recipe from u gals.. got any dishs tat can be prepared easily?
normally i cook fish (fry or stream), vege, onion wif egg, ham, crabmeat, deep fried prawns dip wif flour, fried prawns wif egg, steam egg wif minced meat..
i run out of idea wat to cook.. got any recipe to share share...

i got recipes and a foodblog..have to update it first.Leave ur email behind if u want to see it.

i like japanese home cooking..very similar to chinese food..not spicey.

You can try dipping ur prawns with panko breadcrumbs instead to make tempura.Steam egg can add chicken meat, crabstick, an egg, some jap cooking wine and shoyu.Add some water to the mixture..light break the egg but dun create bubbles.

Braised meat also easy...just dump everything in the claypot and leave it to cook.

Hi amelia.....u sound like a great cook....looks like there's alot to learn from u!!!

Recipes.....pls share wif mi..... [email protected]

Juz tried braised meat last week using ready pack five spice mix....from pork to duck wings to lean meat....kekeke...quite okie.....

hihi ladies,

im interested to learn new recipes too!
my email add: [email protected]

hmm... i love spicy foods, so usually cook sambal prawn/ sotong... also sesame oil chicken, steam tauhu, mince pork wi egg (same as serene.. hee).. steam chicken wi dangui... steam fish wi salted bean/canto style...

yes! i wan to learn how to cook braised meat, duck wings and sea cucumbers! can share wi me the recipe?

hi amelia.. my contractor is recommended by my cousin.. not the one u mentioned..

hi dodo.. will definitely email u when i look for furnitures n electrical appliances..

wah.. all of u starting to cook at home liao ah?? think both my FW and mi no time to cook.. confirm eat packed food everyday one..

tks Amelia for the advise.. making mi hungry now.. haven go for lunch yet..

my email addr: [email protected]

my hubby jus went for medicial checkup.. he got high cholestrol.. eat too much outside food liao.. sigh.. b4 married he dun hav high cholestrol.. he weight also gaining alot.. sigh.. i been going jogging wif him to keep our lifestyle healthly..

Sent the link.A lot of dishes i made didn't make it to the foodblog.Cooking, washing then taking food pics and updating quite tedious..

I am not very good cook lah...just love experimenting like you girls.

Deviate from the topic a bit...
You girls know of any good water-based oilfree moisturiser?drugstore or dept store doesn't matter.I only know laneige has one..

dodo,

i got a braised meat recipe..mine is hokkien style..you hokkien?

wow wow, now the thread like moving superfast...

All of you talking about food recipes.

Hi STNov, i try to pick my hair everyday around the house. You will see me using the masking tape going around the house in the evening. I will also wash/iron clothings at least thrice a week. I cannot stand the dust at our area. It is SO DUSTY....

Dodo pack me in your luggage. I need a holiday too. ahahhaha.... so shiok. I am only going to india but for work with my boss. hopefully can squeeze in a holiday soon. :-)

Hi Amelia, no idea on moisturiser. I use my facial shop ones which is Rachel Laboratories. Works pretty well for me thou. Not sure if it is oil or waterbased.

hi Serene, I am watching Save the last Dance for me now. it is a very nice show. You can try catching this Korean serial.

Wow wow wow! Amelia teaching cooking ah? Can i see ur foodblog? I totally cant cook leh. Can only bake cakes n cookies and I only noe how to cook pasta and make simple sushi :p Share wif me ok? [email protected]. BTW, I dunno u noe me anot. I staying beside Glenn n below Serene

Also, my sofa is coming in and i having some 'moving-in ceremony this weekend. Finally more like a home liao. U gals can FINALLY come my hse for gathering. Hehehe ...

And hor, anyone noe how to cook 'healtier' instant noodles anot? As in dun use the MSG soup base inside the packet, only use the noodles.

Thanks Amelia for sharing.....mentioned herbal chicken recipe? can share? izit complicated wif d various herbs......hw abt Hokkien style pork rib soup *yummy* & ngor hiang *yummy x2*...share share pls.....btw mi hokkien!!!

hey dodo.....give mi five *high five*...simply luv spicy food so like to cook assam fish as well.....

Hi blursotong...yeah agree tat recently realli dusty....duno why oso....guess all r veri much into food now......

hi chaiyo...perhaps u can try to cook soup wif ikan bilis & dried scallops boiled for ard 30 mins....taste will be sweet & nice...try it out!!!

thanks for sharing amelia
yes! im interested in ur braised meat recipe? can share wi me? thanks!

hi blursotong, u will definately have ur chance soon! not bad leh.. can travel to other country for work.. how i wish i will have the opportunity too..

hi chaiyo, same here! i love baking cookies & brownies! congrats for ur moving-in ceremony this weekend.. enjoy k!
hmm... im not sure abt the healthier instant noodles leh.. but i think better refrain from eatg much coz the noodle was deep fried in the process of making...maybe u can put some vege like xiao bai cai, tomato and prawns to make the soup tastier

hey chaiyo, dodo,

i LOVE pastry.. keke.. my friends bought an oven for my hse-warming.. i promise myself to learn to bake coookies, n cakes.. till now i haven try baking yet... too lazy.. keke.. been chasing after korean series most of the weekends..
since u gals mentioned baking, guess i shld start trying.. 2molo i m taking 1 day off.. can take tis opportunity to buy pastry recipe book.. keke.. u gals got any baking recipe?? next time i bake for u gals to eat..kekeke.. b my guinea pig..

hi blursotong, mi now on the mids of Love @ harvard. Last week finished "Paris lover".. if ur cousin finish watching "Full Hse", can lend mi?? tks :p u can b my 1st guinea pig to try on my cookie or cake.. keke...

blursotong,

i see..the range in spore is quite limited.

chaiyo,

okay..email you later.

stnov,

The ngoh hiang recipe is my family's iron clad ultra secret recipe mah haha..will tell u that recipe when i next see you.Making it is tedious but very worth it.The pork must mince ur own.

The herbal chicken soup recipe i will email it to you later.Not complicated but tasty.

Bak kut teh..i use the sachets..then add some garlic, pepper.

dodo,

the proportion of ingredients, i have to check it out..it's mainly

1kg pork
Black mushrooms
Tau kwah
Tau pok
Boiled eggs
Dark soy sauce
Light soy sauce
Oyster sauce
Ginger
1 cinnamon stick
1 star anise
3 cloves
1 big white onion( i don't use sugar to sweeten)
abit of pepper and salt
Cooking wine( i normally use japanese cooking wine)

Thicken with corn starch solution if u want
Add just enough water to cover ingredients.
Do not open lid unnecessarily and use a pot with a heavy lid to prevent water from escaping..you don't want your gravy to dry out.

Hi Amelia!
Thanks for the link. Keen to try out the Frappuccino recipe leh. But its a sinful drink

I have recipe for oreo cheesecake. U interested?

I jus went to Harris resort at Batam in Feb. I went wif a grp of pple lah. We got take cab to the town area so quite fun there but not enuff time becos we jus went there over a weekend. Their swimming is big n nice. I heard the holiday inn is nicer. These r at the 'waterfront' area. I heard turi beach is more popular area to go ... The resort more ex of cos!

Talking abt korean show. Me now watching 'My lovely Samsoon'. The gal ridiculous until very funny. I have the 'full house' disc if u dun mind watch the show from PCs ...

hey galz......we hav been toking abt meeting up for lunch, kopiz......

wait till neck long long liaoz......so wen??? tis sat can? mi dying to noe amelia's ngor hiang recipe......

okie Chaiyo, can i hav yhr oreo cheesecake recipe.. can lend mi ur "full hse"? i dun mind watching on pc. tks in advance : p when u coming to ur new hse??

thanks for the recipe amelia! do let me know if u get hold of the ingredient proportions k! so eager to try it out...

serene, i have chocolate walnut brownies recipe, u want? i can forward to u later

chaiyo, can i have ur oreo cheescake recipe too? thanks...

I have drop u all a mail on the recipe

dodo > Can share wif me the choco walnut brownies recipe?

Serene > I will be at my hse on Sat afternoon and Sun morning. U wan i go up n pass it to u or u come down or i drop in ur letterbox?? 3 choices for u. hehehehe ...