Carlton Hotel

Hi Yen,

I have signed up my BS package in JB. Took the fantasy theme. So far i am quite happy with their service.. My 1st appointment to select flat is this coming sunday... Jurong West.. Not sure any unit left for me to choose by then.... wish me good luck :P

wow.. SK, great that u get to select ur flat..me still trying to ballot for one... =)

oh ger> i think Carlton package includes free corkage for all duty paid wine.. should be in the contract.. at least it is for mine..

thks Milky.

it was written in the package the corkage for hard liqour waive. nvr mention wine leh. maybe will try to ask during their wedding show. the girl told me there's a wedding show in Aug. anybody bargain for day room?

Hi Ger,
To clear your doubt, previously (before april 08, i think) the package will waive all corkage for hard liquor and wine. But the new packages only waive corkage for hard liquor. Still best is to clarify with carlton.

Hi Yen,
Count urself lucky! me sian lor.. Balloted for 3 times for balloting exercise also didnt kena. Now have to seek resale route, pockets even bigger hole!! =(

hi thebsea,

ya, all gg to burn a big hole..hahah

oh tot wine is waived off?

heard they hv a wedding show during the 7th mth..
hhaa..who wanna go??
chinese are pan tang manz...kkee..

hi sk,,
ware yr flat???

Hi Yen,

Left only Jurong West... Not much choice..

If i cant get it this time round... donno when will get le........

7th month as the ang moh 7th month rite..=)
coz the actual lunar 7th month is august.
so if july not yet lunar seventh month yet.=)

Hello Girl Power,

Wandering whether you guys have any info about Carlton Hotel Spore? Heard there will be a Open House (similar like Bridal Fare but on a smaller scale)...
With Wah Lok their signature Cantonese Restaurant sure Wedding Banquet will be a memorable experience...
Open House mean no Registration Fees and 'discount' also being given. Wow, good bargain aka Great Spore Sales...hehehehe.
I will attend the Open House on Sat, 28 June 09 about abt 2pm.
They have Agnes the coordinator there to take care of the Wedding Banquet...gd coordinator as recommended by my fren.
A new guy too juz onboard @ Carlton...zack razak(saw posting previously). Got to know frm my fren he was a coordinator with another Hotel. Gd comments about him as he got lotsa Wedding event at the prevous place. So sad as he has left and my fren suppose to hv him as a coordinator there now so confused.
Btw gd news that he on board @ Carlton...So for those earger to grab GSS than shld attend the open hse.

Hi all, Im thinking of having my wedding banquet at Carlton too. I heard from Agnes the open house will be confirmed only next week MOnday or Tuesday and extra perks will be given.

Hi Aya, I heard from Agnes there will be new design for the cards coming on board at the end of June.

but now ppl who attend carlton hotel for wedding dinner..they say e food sucks
really double standard lo..
during wedding shows, u eat their food so nice..then we all sign up
but during the weddin banquet...e food taste so lousy..
so how to trust them to have wah lok as their signature restaurant..?

btw..for food tasting, wat is e purpose? if is taste badly, we can change food meh?

hi thebsea,

now the package is $888 for weekends. guess we save $60 per table and that is alot..
oh, tanglin halt...did u join the jan 08 ballot??
hi sk,

gd luck to u..

Yen,
Thanks for the update. you kio tio sia! i balloted for the jan 08 queenstown too. but queue no always above 2000+ one. hahaha... i realised you are a lucky bride, got new flat and 828 package when it's only available for a short while!

Hi thebsea,

oh, so same same le, we balloted for the same area..my q no was 40 so able to get a flat at tanglin halt. so now u gg for resale??
hmm...$828??? when did u book this package? urs also $828 right?? ours is free corkage for wine..
i booked this on the 15th may , hahhaha..cos that is the day i went to select my unit..

Yen,
My AD is 28/03/09 and we booked with carlton during jan wedding show. Our package is $928 for saturdays.. Now waiting for the resale market to cool down first. should be most prob buying resale le.. Wedding coming and $$ getting lesser, dunno how to afford resale also. hahaha...

Dear Grr

Basically its a Open House with no Registration Fees...so go value for money. There also be a discount entitle for Wedding 2009 (till June 2009).
There also about 4 New Wedding Theme to look upon. Hmmmm,Neko, wat ups as you mention Carlton Food sucks? But do you have your Wedding Banquet there? If yes than you should't say that as nobody 'force' you to sign on the doted line...so
think about it rather than juz throw a 'huge stone' to Carlton.
Ofcourse people have different opinion and expectation. So b4 you maike a decison than think again the package that you have signed. If you wanna to compare a Wedding Banquet with a price tag of S$1200.00++ than its a different ball game than......

hi sam,
during the wedding show, they cook so nice..of cos it will attract ppl to sign up
normally hotel wont have nice food..
so when we eat the food at carlton wedding show, it nice..tat y we sign up..
yes nobody force me to sign
but most ppl sign up during the wedding show could b due to the nice food presented to us.
we will oso feel cheated if the food come up with double standard

if during food tasting and e food presented to us during wedding show is nice and during dinner banquet, it sucks...then how?
wat can we do?
wat can carlton do?

Hi Sam,
Thanks for the update. Do you happen to know when is the open house? Would like to drop by to take a look at the new themes. U intending to sign up during the open house?

Hi Neko....
Likewise mention its just a perception. If you think the food is sucks than nobody is able to change your mindset. Just need to move on than ya....
I belief all Hotels will promote their Wedding Package during the Bridal Fare. Hmmm...sign up must be on going kind of event rather than during Bridal Fare only.
As for myself if the Hotel provide a lower service standard than I have to move on rather than keep talking the 'bad' moment of truth of the venue.
After all Wah Luk is a well known brand and has already established within years. So let the expert tune their phase and improve the quality of food.

I am a 2009 bride too. I am interested in Carlton Hotel's wedding banquet for weekend for 4Q 2009. Is it $888 or $828 per table? I am confused. Can someone kindly enlighten me?

hi thebsea,

oh how come urs so ex? ur food shld be more of the higher end..haha...
ya, wedding and flat..cost a big hole manz...gd luck to ur flat huntin...keep me posted.

hi blurgerm,
it shld b 888 nett now..

Yen,
Previously was 928 with abalone.. now 888 no abalone. Hopefully prices of resale will drop like siao at year end ;p

grace,
You may want to check with carlton if their ballroom is avail for 4Q 2009 as i understand they will be closed for renovation works and to connect to the new carlton wing.

Just to check what is the wedding package like for Carlton, can anyone share with me? I am very keen to hold my wedding dinner at Carlton. Thanks.

By the way, any one can recommend any good weding planner for this hotel?

Hi can anyone share your wedding package with me. I am keen to hold my wedding at Carlton...

By the way anyone can recommend a good wedding planner for this hotel?

Hi.. there's a bridal roadshow (just a small internal one) held by Carlton themselves on the 28th. if I understand correctly, 2009 pkg will be offered at this year's pricing e.g. 828 for weekends.. and if you signed up on the day - they deduct 28 off per table which means its 800 nett per table loh.. quite good.. perks is neg *wink*. I just went for the site survey recently and this was informed by one of the staffs

Hi Thesea

Thank you for your information. But anyone has any recommendation of the wedding planner for this hotel?

Actually browsing through the threads I got worried because there are quite a few negative feedbacks on the wedding coordinator and the food.

The reason why I would like to hold my wedding here is that I came to know my hubby here and so this is a place that have many sentimental values....

Hi Eric, are u sure the coordinator mention 2009 package at $828? I met the coordinator on fri but she only mentioned $28 discount per table. U sure u din hear wrongly?

hi the besea,

oic, no wonder so ex for urs...haha...anyway my frds was commentin that carlton do hv pillars that will block my guests...bt heck care...cant be pleasing everyone right???oh okie..gd luck to u...i just got my keys...gg to open my door next wed whch is a gd date..

Yen,
If last time got the 828/888 package, i sure will go for it one. We may pay more for better food, but not necessary the guests will be more understanding to give better angpao. haha.. Yup, the 4 pillars will block about 6-8 tables (for 29 tables banquet). Ya lor, cant please everyone mah..

I believe it is now $888 for weekend and if you sign up at the open house, you get $28 off per table. That makes it $860 for a weekend package.
I thought the $828 was the previous package? I am interested in holding in Carlton, I missed the boat in getting the $828 package
stupid inflation...

Can anyone tell me... how bad is the food? I thought Carlton is known for good food...

Anyone knows anything about M hotel/ Amara hotel wedding dinner? Food and Atmosphere good?

Is there a wedding show at Carlton? How does the ballroom look like and wat is the rate per table and min no of table needed for a weekend dinner?
My AD is in Oct 09 and currently looking for a suitable venue.

Hi everyone, I met up with the assistant sales manager some time ago to clear up the confusion of pricing for the weekend package. $828 nett applies to Year 2008 up to May 2009. Thereafter, $888 applies for June 2009 onwards.

Jus a note that we might have to co-ordinate btw the wedding co-ordinators...based on my experience with them, they cannot exactly co-ordinate amongst themselves... :P

Hope it helps! =)

Why we need to coordinate between the wedding coordinators?

Isn't the sales person that we liaise with will be the person that will be following throughout the whole process?

I'm abit confuse...how come last time the weekend pacakge is $900 plus but now drop to $888 only? thought all the hotels either increase or remain, never ever heard hotel got lower the price for the wedding wor...

Hi Fish Hu,

It is the same question i asked too...basically, they compromise on the food quality and other perks as well...just a matter of playing a different business strategy... =)