Carlton Hotel

I emailed carlton and got April as my coordinator.
problem leh, can't seem to contact her on her office line, she never reply my mail... sigh... anyone has her hp number?

I have a slight problem with my table #. I prolly can come up with about 23-25 tables. Understand that carlton need minimum of 28 tables for the empress ballroom. Anyway to negotiate out of the min table requirement?

Hey all...
I've met up with my coordinator, Eunice today and was pretty satisfied with her service. Pretty friendly lady.
More or less decided for Carlton for my AD. Just wondering what other perks u ladies request for? Coz i feel their package is very comprehensive already. Any idea when does Carlton usually hold their wedding shows? And so far what are the perks that were given ah?

Assirac,
I think you can negotiate with them a little lah... shouldn't be a problem.
Which day of the week are u looking at? If it's a weekday your min tables is fine actually.

Gelaine,

I'll be holding mine on a sunday, hence the min 28 tables thingy lor .... tried calling April the whole of yesterday ... but to no avail leh ....

Anyway, I think Carlton has given us a pretty good deal already. Prolly can negotiate for a room for your wedding coords?

Assirac...

Hmm... mine is also on a sunday and yeah they need a min 28 tables... I think you can try negotiating with them but i suspect they will ask you to top up a little per table.
Try to push your guest numbers to 26 tables at least? We initially planned 25 tables for ourselves too but in the end after rough calculations, we have 30 or slightly more too.

As for not able to contact April... maybe you can call up the hotel directly and get them to transfer call? If not maybe you should change a coordinator. Eunice had been very prompt in reply my emails, calls and smses... Even when i sms her, she'll make an effort to call me back herself... So i'm pleased with her service.

I'm thinking of asking Carlton for the extra night stay or the extra food tasting actually. Other than that... i think all are fine. Day room for wedding coords i think is quite a good suggestion too. But i doubt they will give in.

Just to share what I got last time when I negotiated for in addition to their comprehensive list.

1) Extra night stay in Bridal Suite
2) Extra food tasting, up to 10 pax for full course.
3) Day room for co-ordinators

But this is based on the fact that my minimum tables is 32.

Just to share what I got from Jason,I have only 14 tables holding in the esplanade room :

1. 1 more extra night in bridal suite
2. Delxue room for my parents to rest

Hi Rachael,

Do you mind sharing how you manage to ask for the extra night bridal suite stay and deluxe room for your parents ? We met him previously and he kept asking for us to increase our table number, when we ask for the extra night stay.

Another issue, ladies, can anyone advise me how do you all resolve the problem of the pillar in the grand ballroom ? I really feel bad that some of my guests' view will be blocked ! Any suggestions ?

Hi hovonwed,

Maybe you can spend some time reading thru this entire thread. Many brides had contribute their feedback.
So far, many has mentioned their food is great.
Service wise, i personally feel it's not too bad.
So when is your big day?

Hi Hovonwed,

Like what Gelaine said, you can refer to the older postings where ex-Carlton brides post their comments. In addition, the food served is from the Wah Lok Restaurant kitchen, so the standard is there

We have not set a date yet. However looking through the wedding package, I found that the perks are not bad. Will be meeting Eunice tp view the ballroom. Wonder what other perks I can request from her (my number of tables are only about 18 tables).

Hi hovonwed,

Maybe you have to check with them which room you can use. Coz i understand their smaller ballroom caters to Max 16 tables or so and the bigger ballroom caters to a min of 25 tables if i'm not wrong. Anyway extra perks u can ask, is probably things like extra bridal suite stay, or food tasting full course? Or maybe a coordinator room.

We also got Eunice as our coordinator... she's nice.
Quite satisfied with her service so far. But she can be quite busy.

I've met up with Jason today and view both ballrooms, not too bad though. I realised that there is a big difference between the max 16 tables and min 28 tables package.

During the meet up Jason did not offer more perks to us... might be because we did not give him a date/confirmation yet.

Do he really give extra perks? I did mention to him that one of the package does not inculde food tasting and he told us that there will be a 50% discount for that package.

hmmmmmmmm....wonder if he will offer me more perks...

I'm an Nov 2007 AD bride. know its a bit early, but since i got my date so we just wanna get things done.
Anybody heard of Agnes before? she's the one who emailed back to me...
heard that Carlton got undergo renovation. the pillars are still there?

Hi paperdebris,

When is your AD? I'm also Nov 2007... but not planning to book it so early. Will probably wait for the wedding show. Also doing some comparison with other hotels.

Yeah... the pillars are still there... How many tables are you looking at?

Hi Gelaine,
Mine is 11 Nov, the geomancer said best to be together with the customary on the same. We also agreed, one shot finish everything.
our tables are about 30-35... think Carlton fits quite well. so now gathering info first before we go and see see the ballroom.
you are on a sun as well??!! same date as us??
hm.....

Hey paperdebris,

Yeah we have the same date! We have actually 3 dates chosen by the medium for November but only one weekend, so we decided to take 11 Nov 2007. We've made a tentative booking with Carlton just a few days ago when we went to view the place. But will be viewing another 2 hotels (Amara & PPR). As the tentative booking is only for 7 days, we would have to decide real soon even though we initially didn't want to book early. But seems 11 Nov 2007 is quite a hot date for wedding as a few hotels had already been booked. So well, good luck in ur hotel sourcing too.

Hey Serene,
Yeah lor.. their wedding show so late leh... by then it will be booked up liaoz... Haiz... guess i'll make do without the extra perks if i really taking it up since Carlton very comprehensive package liao.

Hi Gelaine,

Yeah...if urs is a hot date, I rather u book early and lose some perks....moreover, Carlton's package is quite a good deal lah...just remember to ask for an extra night stay and full course tasting for 10 pax etc.....

from what I heard last time...if u sign during the show, they give 12 bottles of free red wine etc....or sign how many table, free 1 table....(if I didn't remember wrongly).

And of course the more tables that you can confirm, the more bargaining power u have

Hi Gelaine,
Whoa! we share the same date!! can share share the research.... how about your BS? settled?
hm, we are also looking at other venues too.
which other hotels you know has already been booked?

Hey Serene,
Yeah lor... i think the free perks at the show is around what u mentioned also... but i think it's ok lah...

I have 30 confirmed tables but suspect the number will increased by 1-2 tables as time goes by... wondering if Eunice will agree to the free night stay and full course.

Anyway, do you remember whether Carlton's waiter to table ratio is 1waiter:2tables or 2waiters:3tables?

Hi paperdebris,

We've enquired on GPPR, PanPac, Orchard hotel. Was told dunno which one got tentative booking and one has confirmed booking. That's why we're looking at Amara and PPR who has pretty comprehensive package too.
Suntec will also be another option for us. Hehe... you leh? Which other hotels u looking at?

BS is settled for us as we took a package including ROM package which i'll be using this saturday. Heh... You leh? Found ur BS? Have you ROM too?

So coincidental to have a BTB having dame date as us... and also so kiasu looking for venues. *LOL* For us we started early as initially our date was in March but in the end pushed to Nov coz March not a suitable month for me and my FH.

Hi Gelaine,
Congrats on your coming ROM!

We are just starting to collect banquet package info for the venues we want. so far have shortlisted a few, still waiting for replies to come in. We thought we were too ks but now find that its good to start early. still can find alternatives.
kao_babydust2.gif

Which BS you taking? we have not reached that step yet... ROM-ming in oct this year, so taking a bit easy on it... hehe.. the banquet more impt.

Hi Gelaine,
I think you can get those perks that I mentioned cos I confirmed with them at 32 tables and got those perks during my time. But my co-ordinator was not Eunice.

The waiter ration should be 1 to 2 tables or 1 to 3 tables. can't really remember

Hey Serene,

Thanks for the reply. So was the service level like replacing plates, refilling empty glasses maintain for the waiter ratio. I'm quite concern for service level and is hoping for a 2 waiter to 3 table ratio so my guests would be well taken care of.
Very concerned about this as i have experienced super bad service at other venues before.

Willbe meeting Eunice tomorrow again to discuss about the perks and will probably be placing my deposit if things goes well. So far, her service had been the best amongst hotels. Didn't have good follow-ups from other hotels which i initially considered. HEh... so i'll probably be a Carlton Bride.

Hi Gelaine,

I didn't had any complains from my guests about the slow service for the refilling etc. So I guess it's ok

Welcome to the Carlton's bride family!

Hey gals...

Finally everything settled. ROM over, banquet booked. Heh...

I've just booked my banquet with Carlton yesterday. Still the most satisfied with Carlton in terms of service, package and pricing. So decided to pay the deposit and all yesterday. Didnt even bargain for anything coz mainly all we wanted was included in the package. Should have asked for full course dinner tasting though but my hubby say dun need. Very comprehensive package to begin with so we got no complaints at all. Very satisfied. Heh...

As for the waiter serving ratio, have asked Eunice about it. She say it will be 2 waiter to 3 tables for the guests and one to one for the VIP tables. So that's great too.

So now can rest and relax till start of 2007 before i need to do anything. Heh... feel so relieved to get our date coz according to Eunice, quite a few couples called her up to request to tentative book the date too.

Hi, went down to meet up with eunice and view the ballroom today. overall the package sounds good. any views on eunice?

i only get to view the ballroom today... by the way, i need advice on whether should i go down and view if there is a actual dinner going on? and should i need to confirm now (my AD in Apr 07) or view somemore hotels?? cos i didnt really shop around and I think carlton has covered mostly what we need and hubby is happy with the menu. by the way, which floor is the bridal suite on and izzit nice? any photos for the suite and their orential setting anyone? can send to me? [email protected]

is thinking to confirm leh, anymore perks that I should ask from the hotel?

Hi frostyfiona,

Perks you should ask for your needs. Think through if you should need anythign more then try asking them lor. Basically Carlton's package is very comprehensive as compared to other hotels. So not to worry.

As to whether you should book the venue or not, it all depends on how comfortable you need lor.
Some couples would continue hunt around first and shortlist a few others. But if your date is the very popular one, then better book early the venue you like.

Eunice is quite nice i think. I have no problem oso far with her though it's only twice i met her. But she's been very prompt in her replies to my SMS and emails.

Hi, Cherinz & Claris!

I've emailed both of u the link to my ROM pics taken at Carlton Hotel. Only solemnisation... my AD will be next year but not at Carlton though.

Thanks for viewing

Hi Serene & Astrogal,

Thanks for your pics....both of u look radiant & lovely on ur big day...am considering carlton for my actual day...

Hi Claris,

Yeah, 1 year planning in advance and if the date you want is popular...I am afraid you have to book your banquet and AD photographers earlier