Carlton Hotel - ROM Solemnisation

• Thread starter Thread starter re
  • Start date Start date
hi lingandyang,

i think most solmniser are good lah. just that we never heard of them before as they are not popular. glad that u had found one that is good. yours will definitely be smooth also.

ya lor...we must pray hard that it will be a good day on our ROM day and it dun rain. if it rain, i will be very disappointed also.

ok, we share our photos after that =)

hi viv&bl,
thanks for ur compliments

yes, was really thankful for the good weather esp during the "risky" period of december.

actually wat time is ur solemnisation? mine was 1pm...by the time finish eating & seeing the guest off was already close to 4pm...it was only at this time 4plus then we went out to do some outdoor photoshoot....

went to Fort Canning & sentosa...2 places only but enuff already...totally exhausted & tired out...haha but hubby & I were saying , since we already have Beach photos now, we can leave it out during Photo Shoot already & choose some other places

Try to talk to ur photographer...see if time permits can at least go to 1 nearby place for some photos? Dun forget opp Carlton is CHIMJES, which has some nice background for photos too.

My coordinator was Eunice...mmm i think maybe can req for Louis to be ur ops manager for the day...I recommended him to another Singaporebride bride here, whom I think did manage to request for Louis to be their Ops manager.

hi pastillies,

my solemnisation is at 10.45am. follwed by lunch at 11.30am. wow...so good that u have time to have photoshoot in fort canning and sentosa. i like sentosa also. it's great that u had a warm up for outdoor photoshoot in your rom before your bs photoshoot for AD. we will be asking my htb's friend to help us take photos. due to the reason that we will check out on the day of our rom itself, i think might be troublesome to go elsewhere to take photos. see how lor. i also hope can have outdoor photoshoot other than in carlton. will try to take photos in CHIMJES if it is possible.

my coordinator that we first liase with was eunice. after she resigned, rose took over. shall also try to ask for louis to be our ops manager.

thanks for your kind help! will keep that in mind.

when's your AD? how's preparation for it?

My coordinator is Rose. I was actually thinking of requesting for other coordinator but dunno is it very bad? Coz I dun have any valid reason to change her also...

hi viv&bl,
Oh I didnt koe Eunice left already...when was tt??
i'll left u an email on Louis contact, u can give him a call & check w him in advance if u can req for him.
Better than waiting for last min for Carlton to assign someone. Actaully I didnt koe Carlton will assign someone - the ops manager to help us out on the day, i only received a call fm Louis 1 nite before hand informing me that he's our ops manager. though last min, but turn out very well...

icc maybe instead of sentosa or futher places, jut cross the road over to CHIMJES...I'm sure ur fren's hubby wont mind

My AD planning ah, just started on choosing gowns for PS.. my PS is in Apr, but now have to start choosin already,...i find it too early..but think BS likes to get things done early...which on the other hand is good also,,...so dun have to worry later too last min any screw ups...
didnt managed to take photos of my gowns.. will try to sneakily take the next time hehe

hi De_princess,
as i didnt work with other coordinators before, i really cant comment much. only think i can help is intro my ops/ banquet manager to be the one helping u out on the ROM day itself...however they only do the ROM day coordination, & not the pre ROM day planning.

hi pastillies,

she left in last dec. rose is a new coordinator in carlton. from what i read in s'pore bride, the coordinator might not be around on the rom day. u mean i will have to call earlier to ask louis to be our ops manager? do u think i should go through rose to ask for louis? will it be too late if i ask in early march when i meet up with rose?

i think the earlier u start choosing gowns the better. u will have more choices. hope u will be able to find the gowns u like soon.
i think is very difficult to take photos of your gowns. when we wanted to take photos of my rom gown, my bs don't allow also. so only manage to take photos of the gown i had chosen.

hi viv & silent,
ive added u liao..

pastillies..ur pixz r well taken
for mi, i din engage a photographer hence all were ameatur shots :p n ur sis realli did a good job in decorating the reception table...hehe..mine din even use it :P

i din haz louis as my op/banquet manageer on my ROM instead i had Dennis whom i found not bad...veri xixin n accomodating too :P

Hi viv,
both ways are do-able. u can also req thur ur coordinator Rose.
yup choose early at least one thing is done/settled. thanks

hi carowl,
thank you
though u din engage a photographer, but the photos are very well taken as well. Like the wedding flavours pics tat were captured!

I'm sure Dennis did a great job for u too! Can see u n ur hubby smiling so sweetly!!! so blissfully

Hi de_princess, yes on the actual ROM day, ur coordinator wont be ard...its the ops/banquet manager that will be ard to help & oversee...

hee..thanks pastillies

lingandyang, y dun u add mi as ur contacts?
as i think ur nt in my contact lists dats y u cant view them...u can oso view pastillies' pixz s i feel dat her rom r beautifully setup whereas mine is simple :P

Hey carowl!

Thanks! I can see your photos now. By the way, I realised we got the same name! My full name is totally the same as yours. Hehe, i clicked and looked at your signage and I was so suprise! and your hand bouquet very sweet! Where did you buy it ya?

Hey pastillies, thanks for answering my so many question! ok so must reach earlier so that have time to decorate the reception table.

haha..izzit lingandyang?? haha..so coincidental...i bought my bouquet frm bedok north :P ur living in which part of spore?

carowl and pastillies, wow...both of u had mr chan as your JP. me thought of inviting him initially but from what i read in forum, he don't solemnize on sun as he has church commitment. so i invite mr phang instead.

btw, may i know if i have to prepare songs for lunch in esplanade room as well or just for march in will do? will the march in be long enough to play a song? cos i am intending to use the song by david tao & jolin - jin tian ni yao jia gei wo.

hi pastillies,
i told rose yesterday that i will like to request for louis to be our ops manager and she said ok and she will take note. thanks.

hi carowl,
i saw ur rom photos already. very nicely taken even though u didn't engage any photographer.

hee..thanks viv :P
i prepared a song for march-in and another for the signing ceremony..the rest, the hotel provide...hehe..for my march-in, gt ppl commented we walked too fast hence even before the song has played half of it, we areadi reached cabanas..wahaha...

oic...hee..too faraway frm mine liao :P
wow..u ppl realli make an effort to make ur ROM grand grand..so good...mi juz saving all these for my AD :P

hi Carowl,
dun say tt! urs was also beautifully captured too!

so qiao we both had Mr Chan as our JP

hi Lingandyang, no prob
I was a nervous Carlton ROM bride too...so I also asked a lot of qns previously!
maybe u can ask sisters/brothers/ (siblings or cousins) or even 1 or 2 close frens to help u out on that day....u'll be busy doing makeup so wont have time to do the decoration urself..Also u'll need a close fren / sibling to help u stand guard at the ROM table & take care of the things ( i mean the one at the Carbanas / the waterfall where u going to solemnise...not at the reception. Reception also need ppl to help u to manage).

Allocte some "duties" so that u wont feel so "stress up". It's ur big day SMILE!

hi viv&bl,
no prob, ur welcome
Glad 1 more thing is being settled, so u can have 1 thing less to worry abt

yup like Carowl I also did a small march in & prepared the songs myself. which part of the song are u intending to use to march in? playing the whole song fm the start?

as an estimate, i start as marchin in like 10secs into the song...if u let it play & drag on for too long (like wait till the chorus part), then ur guests patience might wear off...moreover there's no "backstage" / "curtain" to hid behind to wait to walk out....u'll be standing at the beginning of the stairs...so if wait too long for the song, quite akward as ur guests may be thinking "aiyoo y song start le, still dun come up" esp when u're in perfect good view of them!

that's why abt 10-12secs into the song we started to walk in le. Just walk slowly la, if u want the song to play on longer

Hi Pastillies,

yah tot asking my fren to help out too. But as we wanted to save a bit also, we just keep it to the minimum number required which is 30 persons. So last time i made a simple planning and found that actually almost all my guests are helpers. Hehe and my BF still joke that the whole event will be no guests all helpers (haha).

hehe when we started our guest list we also had 30pax only then somehow the list grew n grew.. till we cap it at 40...tt's it!

haha but issit it also good, then at least ur guests are involved & make it a even more memorable event for them too!

Wow I didnt expect ROM to also have so much planning to do... its really like a mini AD already.

I agree abt the guest list too... there r so many ppl that I wanna invite but then relatives oso need... sigh. Do u all invite mainly relatives or close frens?

Hi pastillies, yah true wo. Hopefully my frens will think it is a memorable event too! (gee)

Hi De_princess, yah initially I also thot maybe ROM can be simple a bit. But on second thot, it too is a once is a lifetime event (though a smaller one as compared to AD), so i thot if possible I shall try my best to make it as special as I can. Cos I scare like after the ROM and when I think about it, and I realise that I din give my best, I may end up feeling a bit regretted. But of course the planning still dun need to be as detailed as AD bah.

For me I only invite frens. Cos I'm not too close to my relatives. I will invite all on AD. But depend on you, or can mix a bit good frens and relative also can!

haha..pastillies..yahloh so qiao dat we both gt mr chan n he's good rite?!

guest list can be the most 'troubling' part in the midst of ur preparations...at 1st, we wanted to stick to the minim @ 30 bt guess wat? in the end, ended up wif nearly 50 guests (close relatives n friends)...bt the bottomline is...at the end, all r happy n its ur special day so dun let dis small matter bother u n enjoy urself on dat day

Thanks... think I will stick to close relatives & frens too

Hehe ya must make it special so no regrets! Anyway I having prob finding photographer for my ROM. I tried abt 15-20 all booked already. Havent got my dress & make up artist too...

oh ladies, I just realised that Carlton ROM package for 2007 had increased to $1380++ already. Just go to their website. Seem like quite a big increase wo.

Oh De_princess, are you thinking of getting a ROM package? Or have you decide on your BS already? Perhaps your BS might be able to provide you a free ROM package..

yup ROM is already like a mini AD, that's exactly what my mum said! haha esp u know our parents time where got such things...all they do is just sign the paper that's it...so when we plan so much for our ROM (the venue, the dress, makeup, photographer, etc...) its really like the AD itself...only smaller scale version...

agree with carowl, bottom line, u're happy, ur guest are happy...., the guest list was pretty "touchy". ppl who knew u were getting ROM, may expect u to invite, but as we had to keep a "control' on the number , can only selectively invite....I invited few close relatives (mainly decided by my parents), & then few close frens ...& the number comes to 40 alerady!
carowl how was ur hubby's reaction when the guest list grew?? mine said we had to put a stop to it when we hit the no. 40 haha! that's y we stop at 40 pax.

hey de_princess, ur's 07/07/07 is a super hot date...if u want to get a BS to throw in ROM gown & makeup have to do it fast...esp hot dates, things get snap up v fast. the other day i just called my MUA to arrage appt for my AD this yr..& she's already fully booked during dinner...so my BS will help me change another one..luckily I havent taken my Photoshoot, so can try a new MUA

if u need PG, I do recommend mine
if u interested let me know

hi pastillies and carowl,
thanks for sharing your experiences.
i will also just prepare my own songs for the march in and during the solemnisation ceremony.

pastillies, the song "今天你è¦å«ç»™æˆ‘" is 4min 32 sec. long song, hor? i think if i use this song, i can't play it from the start. maybe will start playing from the 2nd part of the song. but will be around 2 min plus. do u think this will still be too long?

carowl,
i guess my fh and me will also walk fast fast cos i think we will be nervous. but i do hope if play from the 2nd part of the song, the song will be finished by the time we reach the cabanas.

pastillies,
im the 'stingy' one :P im the one who had to control him from inviting almost his relatives to our rom..dats y we stop at close to 50...or else i might as well hold my AD thingy together..wahaha...

vivi,
u can tel the PA system man to start playing frm the part dat u wan...
for us, the manager told us dat we wud start marching in when its the chorus part of 'Forever'...while marching in we werent aware of our speed till my sisz told mi..so on ur day, relax n march in slowly bt nt too slow...mayb follow the music rhythem...

Ya I am thinking of getting ROM package coz have not signed up for any BS yet. But I havent found one that I like and dun want to anyhow sign up. Can recommend yr BS and PG if any?

hi viv&bl,
mmm ya if u start fm the 2nd part then at least not too long...but do u like to start fm the 2nd part? or prefer the 1st? its ur wedding! go for what u like.
I started mine song rite fm the beginning, of cos, didnt finish the whole song....just halfway only...as soon as we get to the carbanas, the song tunes down ....

Hi carowl, mine AD is 27th OCt this year...haha so it's another stage of busy busy for me...still got the hse to reno.."faint"....
I just came back fm my gown choosing for PS..manage to "sneakily" take some pics on HP. show u when i load them
heee

Hi de_princess,
go with ur galfrens to the bridal shops...at least u dun go with ur HTB, no matter how they try to pursuade u to sign immediately, u can still push off by saying need ur HTB to come n see first...then when u shortlist 1-2, bring u HTB along to see n decide.

Mine BS is JWN. I really do recommned mine, love the gowns so so much...how i wish i can bring them home! haha. oh n if u need PG, I can recommend mine. PM me.

hi carowl,
ok, i will tell the PA system man to start playing from the part that i want.

think we will just walk at our own pace cos it will be difficult to follow the music rhythem cos we have no sense of music rhythem...hehehe

hi pastillies,
most probably, will play from the middle of the song. i prefer the 2nd part as there's a wedding march music at the end of this song and i will really hope to hear this ending music when reaching the cabanas lor.

ai yo...now i know that both carowl and pastillies didn't get to finish the whole march-in song. guess i will start the song from the middle so that the song played will be shorter. if not, i will miss the wedding march music which is in the song ending.

hee ya, excitied at the same time also alot of things to do...alot of nitty gritty stuff also cannot afford to be overlook...

like though my AD is only in Oct this yr, but when i tried to arrange the timing with my MUA, she's already taken up for my AD dinner timing....so my BS have to re-arrange another MUA for me...Luckily i also havent taken my PS, so can get to test out her skills during the PS makeup...but i think & hope shd be alrght la...i guess MUA shd be all the same rite?? mmm...

oh I've posted it online le..

only manage to take photos of 2 types of WG...which i have shortlisted..didnt manage to take the rest...

my AD is at Shangri La RASA SENTOSA.

Have u decided on when's ur AD? u mention 2008 rite? if u decided on ur date already, can also start to look out for hotels & books alreaady...in case if the date u choosen is a super hot one,hotels will run out v v fast!

hi viv&bl ,
guess what i went KTV last nite, & some frens choose that song which u mention...I always hear the song but nv hear it till the end before so didnt koe there was such a specail Wedding march in the song ending...haha then when my frens finish singing, i had to ask them to wait , & not stop the song yet cos I want to see & hear the ending!

really very special to have the wedding march,, esp in nowdays, we wont play the wedding march as a song itself. So a song withiin a song is indeed a special selection!

Hi pastillies,

Thanks for your PG contact!He's available on that day but I managed to get another recommendation so will prob meet up both b4 deciding

I like ur outdoor shots at Sentosa... nice! Ur AD at sentosa also? Did you book one yr in advance?

hi de_princess, that's great
glad that u have 2 which are still ava on ur day! jia you!

those outdoor photoshoots also taken by my PG. the places were all recommended by him. didnt koe tat sentosa can take such nice greenery till we see that photos too

Yup coincidentally my AD dinner is also at sentosa, but since have already taken post ROM photos at sentosa, then I can go for other places during my BS PS. So that way I'll have different places in our albums
hee

We booked more than 1 yr in advance....to be exact we booked in feb last yr, when my AD is only this yr oct07. hee ya maybe a bit KS, but me n hubby likes to get things plan n arrange in advance to avoid last min cant get venues.. moreover think our date is also one of the auspicious dates on a sat...
anyway we both like the place alot so decided to go for sentosa after viewing many other hotels.

i oso like ur hotel as its at SENTOSA, pastillies bt transport for guests wiill b a problem for my guests if i hold it there...

yup we tot abt tat...transport wise I mean...but then the hotel does provide bus transport to any place in singapore to pick up ur guest up..

hi pastillies,

thanks for your positive comment. i played the song for my fh to hear today. he nodded his head and said this song suitable for our rom march.

wow...so good. u went to ktv and saw the song mtv. finally u get to see & hear the ending.
i have never seen the mtv before. i also find this song very special as it has wedding march in the song ending. other than this song, i can only think of an oldies wedding song 刘瑞çª's Be My Frend Be My Love which also has wedding march. too bad, i can't find this song.

hi pastillies,

it's really nice to hold your wedding in Shangri-La Rasa Sentosa Resort. i remembered I went to my cousin's outdoor wedding lunch buffet many years back. it's a very romantic and beautiful place. Are you having it in outdoor?

Hi pastillies,

Wow u really booked way in advance! Hmm i havent decide on my date yet for 2008 so havent even look for venues yet.

Btw juz to check wif u gals when u all signed wif Carlton the contract b4 paying deposit, did u negotiate or make any changes or just normal no changes?

Hi De_princess,

for me I din make any special request at that moment because i also not sure what to negotiate for. mh... I did not make any changes just that I request for the food to be no pork and lard as I may have some non-Chinese friends.

hi viv&bl,
go & take a look at the MTV
great that ur FH likes it as well
oh i didnt koe there's another song that had the wedding march incorporated as well....I used Lullaby by BOND...a remix version for Canon for mine though...

oh I'm not having mine outdoor la..AD dinner i mean..having in the a ballroom..if not how to wear long long gown with long long train! haha
yup but its very resort...so the next mornign after we wake up, we can wake up to the sea...ahhh!

hi de_princess...yup yup a bit KS bah..but me n hubby likes to get things all settled rather than wait till last min;p;p also as our date may be one of the popular ones, its also good to book early... which time of the yr are u lookin at for 2008..? beginnig? end? somewhere in feb / mar there's normally a lot of wedding shows by hotels..which will have extras thrown in too
look out for it!

when we paid the deposit..not much neg/changes leh..cos quite statisfied with their package..quite a lot thrown in already...we did ask verbally for more parkin coupons, & i did say i will want to change a bit of the menu... I indiicate the change of menu on the contract that we have to sign & return back..

oh n parkin coupons wise, actually they are very flexible & easy abt it..though contact states...20% issit or 30% of coupons of the no. of ppl...when we ask for 50% they also gave us..

hee..pastillies...so good dat they provide transport....must b berry good to wake up n c the sea

they r quite flexible wif the parking coupons n we din ask much as its areadi a beri comprehensive deal

hi pastillies,

ai yo...i long time didn't go ktv liao. ever since i knew my fh last year. as my fh don't sing and i meet him almost everyday. really miss going to ktv. will find a chance to go ktc to sing songs and see this song mtv.

do u have this song "Lullaby by BOND" in mp3 format? can email to me? my email addr is [email protected]. thanks a lot.

ya hor...your dinner should be in a ballroom will will be very grand. sound so romantic and nice to have it in sentosa.