California Fitness

blackeyepea

A friend transfer her membership to me last Nov 04. Her membership ends in Mar 07. When we did the transfer, the expiry date for my membership is Jun 06. I question her why, she said since my friend's membership starts in Jun 04, she renewed mine by adding 2 years. But when my fren signed up that time, california fitness gave her an extra 9 mths,which is why her membership ends in Mar 07. I pointed out the mistake to the staff, and she said she is only in charge of doing transfer, I spoke to the GM who is in charge of signing up the membership for my friend. He said is a small problem, and he asked me to go ahead with using the Card, while he will upgrade my membership up to Mar 07 within 2 weeks. Ok, I happily obliged...But this 2 weeks turn into another 2 weeks, another 1 month, and another ...until now, the matter is not solved at all.

I question that GM and he always gave me a lot of excuses. Frankly speaking, I have been very obliging and keep my temper towards him, but I am getting very disappointed with the services of this centre...I called him up the last time, and he actually turn very rude towards me, and said he will call me back and just hanged up on me. He never called me at all till now...That was 3 months ago...I have long given up on this...I dont wanna wish to pursue this incident...but I felt really cheated. I called up the boss above him, no use at all. Say will call me, but never...I dont know what ti do. I dont know who to look for now to help me...

put it down in black and white to him. and tell him if not resolved within a week, you'll take it to CASE, SMALL CLAIMS or write to the press.
similar thing happened to me years ago, i faxed that to them and they called up, all worried.

Hi, Would like to transfer my California Fitness membership. I have just change job, and is very far for me to travel to town now. Anyone willing to take up?

i would like to know if you need to give a reason for transferring ur california membership. I tried asking before they say unless its for medical reasons. Pls provide information if possible. Im trying to get my gf to transfer to me but it cnt be done. So need to knw how to go about doing it. Thanks alot

Have asked california fitness before too, they say the transfer can be done only if it is for medical, working or studying overseas and must be supported by valid documents.

Hi Gail Li

I'm a cali member too...do you go classes? I usu go bugis too.

Hi Starris

I've never actually attended any of their classes but I want to. At the moment I'm working on strengthening my back coz I've been suffering from back pain.

When do you go? We can go together, got more motivation. Its kind of boring to go alone.

hi Gail Li and starris

i'm a bugis cali member too ^^ but kinda lazy to attend class .. haha ... but i like body combat though ^^

Yap... California Fitness service is really like SHIT!!! So pushy & rude to their customers...

Here's some unhappy experiences from me & my friend:-

(1)The sales had been grab my friend's credit card from her hand by saying that her current month's transaction was failed, this happened at the counter when she enter the fitness ctr.

(2) I signed up my membership @ Raffles, but I assigned Orchard as the fitness ctr in my membership (Mine is a gold membership, which only allow to go one fitness ctr), and the staff told me that he need to do the upgrading of my membership (7 days access & free towel), he asked me to inform Orchard branch & exchange my membership card to u[graded type when my 1st visit to Orchard (My time is no instant membership card, I got to wait about 2 weeks for them sending me the membership card). Who knows... I yet to receive my new membership card after waiting for 3-4 months after my 1st visit with my old membership card. Meanwhile, I keep on remind them of not receiving my new membership card, the staffs there always use the nonsense excuse and told me they will send me a new card asap. I verified until I angry, the last time I started to press them, by asking them how long you wanted me to wait, 3 months or a year?? They finally found my old card @ their counter, but the staff have no idea why my card had been there and what is the action need to be taken... May be the staff there see that I started to raise my voice, then they quickly send me a new card within days.

(3)When I brought my friend for a trial membership, the sales scolded me that I couldn't bring my friend straight to a workout w/o having a tour with them. But I told the staff that last time I was able to go for workout 1st, then listen to the sales explaination after my workout... Then the sales have no choice & saying (in a rude way)," This time I will let u to go, next time I will charge your friend $25 for a day membership, if w/o listening to the sales explaination."

(4) My SIL's membership will be expired after 10 months, and when she entered the club, the salesman (the 1 who grabbed my friend's credit card in my 1st case) asked my SIL whether interested to renew her membership, wah lau, her membership still have 10 months to go, need to asked so early?? When the salesman sense that she was not interested to talk abt this topic, then his face turn to black immediately...

Sabby.. i'm interested in both class and workout.. sunday quite packed, unless go in the morning.. i normally go on weekdays around 4 or 5pm

Hi Sabby and Gali,

I usu go for combat classes on Sunday morning...not that crowded so it's good for beginners. I'll be going this sun too

Gali, are u schooling or working? I usu skip weekdays too as I'm working

starris.. its 'gail' not 'gali'.. heh heh... i'm actually teaching, that's why i'm able to go in the late afternoon.. but if sunday is not so crowded i don't mind going.. you always go alone?

Opps Gail paiseh. yap i usu go alone. hey paiseh leh i forgot it's my friend's ROM this sun...so I skipping class too. Next sun? Where do you stay btw?

I'm staying at Lavender .. 5 mins away only :P
how bout next next Sunday .. lol .. cos i'll b in bkk .. 12.50pm body combat ?

sabby.. wah, we stay so near each other... so good.. you'll be going bkk.... next sunday sounds fine with me... its the 1st of april right?

haha .. yup yup .. i can only it on 9th of april .. cos i'll be flying back on 2nd april .. election date .. hope nothing goes wrong .. lol

I am looking for people to go to Step Moves class at California Fitness. Prefer to go to James Wong or Jeremy Step Moves Class. Not sure about Jonathan class.

I always go to BodyCombat class too at any CF branch but usually go on weekdays during daytime as it is not so crowded. Currently I am unemployed so can go during daytime until I find a job.

Jennifer:whose bodycombat class do you attend on weekend morning? Last time I went on weekend morning classes at Raffles or Orchard, it was always so crowded.

Hi Xena,
I usually attended the bodycombat Sunday's 10:10am or Sat's 10am kickboxing @ Orchard... But for last 2 weeks, I didn't attend, becos busy for something else... I will resume my schedule fr the 2nd weeks of May onwards. Cos need to slim down, to get prepare for ny bridal PS :-)

Hi all, my cali fitness member is expiring soon, and looking for a good deal for extension, hopefully if I could buy over a membership. Any one who knows someone who wants to let their membership go?? Feeling really broke from the wedding preparation and yet need to get rid of those love handles!! :-)