California Fitness

Hi Yong Shing,

Can you PM me? I would like to let go my membership. I signed up for a 1 1/2 yrs membership @ $69 per month. Have used up about 8 months.

Hi girls, THANKS for the brisk response!! It's nice to know this board is still alive!! :-) Thing is I suppose I was being a bit KIASU, cos my membership expires in Sept ( or there about, I think)and I would like buy a longer term membership for the trouble of transferring. I actually got my current membership from transfer about 1.5years ago.

The infinity membership costs slightly above $3K inclusive of GST. They did not take into consideration my past three years with them. New members who join also paid the same price as me.

Anyone know California Fitness what type of brand they are using for shampoo,conditioner and shower gel?Smell very nice.click my username.Thanks

just a question though. if there're so many complaints abt the staff and service, why stick to california fitness? i've got a one month vip membership with california fitness thinking of activating it but i heard orchard branch is terrible. any reviews?

Hi grace,
In what way is orchard branch terrible? The reason I choose california fitness is because of the long opening hours and convenient location. But it can be very crowded during peak hours especially the body combat class.

Orchard branch has the most number of classes, so if you're a class-kinda girl(no pun intended :-), orchard's the best. Otherwise, if u're a machine user, the other branches are better. Can check out the new Novena Branch.

xena: heard the staff has very bad attitude and read in another forum one member's card got lost but the counter girl still claimed it was not her fault. took ages to get it replaced and everything.

yong shing: thx for the advice. i think i'd go for orchard too just for their classes. hope it doesnt give me too much trouble..

im thinking of signing up for FF in the long run, not sure if its really worth the price. any advice?

Hi Grace, the people at CF will most definately try to HARD SELL you, you just have to be STRONG and say NO :-) Go with a friend or something. Other than the bodycombat classes, most of the classes are not too crowded. I personally like the step and pump classes.

Hi Grace, CF is not bad. I've been a member since 2003. Agree that orchard and raffles very crowded esp weekdays after work, cos they are at very convenient location and cater more to working pple. Nowadays I only go Bugis branch. But classes very limited. Frankly, the good combat instructors are at Orchard branch.

I've misplaced my card once too. The counter staff very nice. When I called up to report for the card loss and ask how much it is to replace, she told me to go to the branch counter to look for her and she will replace for me immediately for free.

Hey Yong shing, is the Novena branch open already? Is it big. The class schedule for Novena branch not out yet leh.

As for my opinion, Orchard is the most convinent location over all the branches... Anyway, recently Orchard branch had brought in many new machines

But for the sales consltant service, I will prefer Raffles rather than Orchard, Orchard's staffs are more pushy and not flexible...

starris and sabby, u gals still going for classes on weekends? i'm thinking of doing intro step on saturday, anyone wants to join me?

personally i prefer the Bugis Branch, think the people are friendlier.. had a bad experience with the Orchard staff some years back... quite aggressive.

i'd b going down to CF orchard to register on tues. any friendly sales consultant and personal trainer to recommend?

Grace, CF is having a roadshow at Novena Square, you might be able to get a good deal there. I signed up through the General Manager.. Anthony (don't remember his surname)

thanks gail for your info
i just registered for the one mth vip trial at orchard. not planning to continue cos i already haf pf membership

Hi Grace,

May I know how much it charge for one mth membership? Is it only valid for 1st time customer?

yeps. the one mth trial is only for 1st time customers. u can easily buy trial passes on yahoo auctions.

everyone who frequents orchard CF: what are the classes/instructors u'd recommend?

Hi Grace,

As for the classes, I always attend bodycombat, boxercise & bodybalance. So far the instuctors are quite ok & nice, esp. boxercise, the instructor is quite strict...

But I dun like the Yoga instructor, who names Ma**e, she is very rude. I encountered one time had been scolded by her, "You shd go to the beginner class" in front of the whole class when I 1st time attended Yoga lesson @ CF Orchard. Since the timetable indicated is a multi-level cls, I think it shd be ok for me, as a 1st timer to attend, right? If like that, CF shd indicate the Yoga cls as a advance of expert level...

Hi Grace,

As for Sat, the cls is quite pack (but I think shd be better than weekday night ba), Sunday, only morning pack, but afternoon till the night should be alright.

hey chibi thanks for the info. i attended her yoga therapy ystday and i didnt feel comfortable with her method either.

was thinking of going on sun morning cos i thought pple will not get up tt early to go gym on a sunday. haha~ guess i was wrong.. shall stick to wkday morning classes i guess. thanks for the info

Hi Grace,

If you want to go Yoga cls (easy pose), you can attend Depak's cls. Or you can attend Bodybalance.

Enjoy yr workout

i went to bugis this morning, it was very empty, managed to get a good workout because no need to wait to use equipment.. crowd started coming in, in the afternoon

today i discovered that one of my friends is working in bugis, doing sales, so if anyone is interested in joining can talk to him.. very nice guy.. not pushy at all.. he said that CF now giving 10 day free pass

I wish to lose some weight. Is attaching with personal trainer will attain more desirable result after few months?

TingTing,

If u can afford it, engauging a personal trainer will be pretty useful for the first 2 mths of ur weight loss regime.. I tink most gals dun reli noe how the machines function, and wat to do exactly to get the desired figure. One session is ard $70 - $90 (depends on the package u r taking). U will probably need at least 2-3 sessions a week with the personal trainer to get u kickstarted, and followed by extra sessions on ur own! My previous trainer made me keep a food log as well... basically, i tink having a trainer to guide u thru 2 sessions a week for 3 mths will be good.. it's the cost that's disastrous..

Anyone goes to Orchard CF alone, can join me okie...I usually go after work and whole weekends YES! Whole weekends coz err I love yoga...I just broke up with BF so am bored and want to attain a kick ass figure! Just pm me okie...

Standard of service:
May I know the costs of the infinite membership?

Anyways, I find the service at Orchard okay...the towel lady lost my card and replaced it in a matter of minutes. However I have an issue with the towel, some are broken. The staff there also generally very dao, I feel scared everytime I walk in. One of the traniners was eyeing my face than body, mentally crossing out "plain face, fat butt, thick waist, thick arms"....stressed.

Yoga classes:
Some one mentioned the M***e yoga teacher...ya I find her quite a lousy teacher. She just dun really care, she is not even talking in English! Got one class another gal (me also lah) could not manage a pose, but lucky she did not scold ...hehe.

There is this thin guy who sort of follows her, he more interested in teaching lor, but sometimes a bit sacarstic. Deepaks' class makes me sweat! Good!

i have membership to let go at TRUE YOGA. Located at pacific plaza.

letting go due to work and my work place is very far from town.

- silver membership Unlimited pass to classes at pacific plaza for another 11 mths (starting Oct)

I'm looking at around $140/mth to cover the amount I have already paid up front.

interested pls get back to me ASAP at [email protected]

Hi girls, just want to do check the price of cali fitness. Heard the price of membership can change from sale guy to sale guy. I've just been offered $1788 for 54months or $2488 for lifetime. Is it reasonable?? Also, feeling torned over which membership to take up, the 54months or lifetime.... HELP :-)

Yong Shing, i think that the lifetime membership is really cheap... currently i'm paying $79 a month for 24 months with 12 months free... the lifetime membership is the infinity package right? you get locker rental free too.

hey Yong Shing,
i used to be a member at cali for a year and a half..but now i'm working for them (i'm not a sales consultant just in case).. i feel that the life time is more value for money even though it seems like a huge sum to pay at one short.. if you want me to recommend you someone let me know...

In the states there was a famous case of gym getting members to get lifetime memberships and pay up front huge $. In the end they toppled and clients lost all money! A little like the Wheelock Ladies Gym that closed down with members not even realising they were in trouble! When gyms start offering life time memeberships - its a little fishy!

hey babe..
ya i totally heard abt the wheelock ladies gym.. that was a really sad one.. i guess there is more security in caloifornia gym cos it's so famous and the reputation is there already.. i mean look at the number of clubs they have in Asia and the mother club in USA which is 24hrs Fitness.. plus Jacky Chan (we gotta admit he's a somebody) has a share in it.. i'm pretty sure California won't go bust.. hahaha.. or 'll be jobless.. heehee

Hi pagebreak

He did mention that he will be going back to India end Nov and whole of Dec(for yoga course ).
He will only be back in Jan and hopefully has a new type of yoga to teach

Which branch do u normally attend?
I usually try to go his classes too

I'd like to join cali but am not sure how much is the mnthly fees. Anyone able to recommend any sales fr there whom I can talk with and is able to quote me a good price? I dun feel like walking in to any branch to avoid being "pushed" to sign up for stuff which I might regret later on.

Hi wend88,
Mine is about $60++/month for 1 yr membership for 1 club only.U can try Collin frm Cali at Novena branch...can email me when u r going down... then i can inform him..so he can quote u good price..:P

Hi wend88, my plan is $70+ for 2 years with one year free.. if you average that out, I'm actually paying about $40 plus a month. Mine is a platinum membership which means that I can go to any club I want. I signed up with Anthony (I think he's the GM) from Orchard branch. I also have a friend doing sales, his name is Taufik and he's located at Bugis branch.

Hi kitty88, thanks. The price seems cheaper than wat I read fr other forum but Novena a bit far fr my place. Will consider though n will e-mail u again if I'm going down to Novena branch. Thanks very much

Hi Gail, the plan sounds good but 3 yrs seem a bit long for beginner like me :P Do u have either Anthony's or Taufik's contact so that I can call them up and ask? Or I can just walk in and look for them? I'm planning to take up one yr plan first and see how thing goes....

Hi wend88, can't send you PM. Could you give me your email address, I'll email Taufik's no. to you. I don't have Anthony's no. anymore but he's really famous at California. Maybe you can call the Orchard Branch and ask to speak to him.