Budget for wedding?

sansilver

Just wondering how much is enough for the whole wedding process? Is $30K more than enough? We thought of having it in a hotel.. min 25 tables.

hi silver,

1. bridal package (mid range with top up of some photos)$3000 - $5000
2. hotel deposit - $3000 or so
3. dinner lost - $1000 - $5000 (really really depends on whether its a weekday or weekend, and hotel)
4. ang baos to be given out - $1500 - $2000 (depending on how generous you are)
5. card printing cost - $100 or so
6. catering cost (for home or whatsoever) - min $10/head
7. AD photography package
8. AD videography package
9. Groom's extra attire
10. Wedding bands
11. Beauty stuff

$30k is more than enough.. just make sure you have about $10k as savings first to pay off for some deposits (hotel, bridal studio)..

Hi minssy

From ur budget, i tik $20k is just enough rite? i wont want to spend so much.. still got to reno my new hse.. tat is another expenses again.. sigh..

btw, is there any 0% instalment plan for bridal package and banquet?

hi silver27,

yes abt that..

yes some BS has 0% installment.. dun be impulsive to sign up the BS which offers this.. WL & EB have bad reputation so be careful..

banquet? nah...

My current budget is 20K - 22K
1. Wedding Bands $2.8K
2. Wedding Gown + Suit+ teadress package $3.5K
3. Church Decor with tentage $3.3K
4. Caterer $3K
5. Wedding dinner for 40 pax $3K
6. Photographer + Album $3K
7. Videographer 1K
8. Misc stuff - parents clothing, etc 1K
Estimated about $21-22K.

But I am not having a banquet, so I spend more on some items that is impt to us, and awe are having a small dinner thingy with friends

This is what I have worked out so far:-
1. Wedding dinner (22 - 23 tables) - Est S$15K
2. BS/VG/PG/MUA - S$5.4K
3. Misc & Ang Bao - Est S$5K

Total: S$25K approximately

This is my personal view, the min to prepare

1. bridal package - $3500 (simple 1 page album)
2. hotel deposit - $3000
3. dinner lost - $5000 (weekend hotel)
4 card printing cost - $200
5 AD photography/videography/montage - $2000
6 ang baos to be given out - $1500 to $2000
7 Others(include wedg day buffet, guo da li etc) - $1200 to $1500

arnd 14k(not includg 3k deposit)

Mine, we spent 20K including photos, ang baos, gift, buffet etc.

Wedding dinner break even, however everything MTM including my hubby three suits.

mine is
BS package - $3500
Hotel dinner - $20k
Cards - $250
AD PG - $600 (2 PG)
Ang bao - $1000
GDL - $1500
SDJ - not known

1. BS package ($3.5k hopefully, not buying any additional photos)
2. Renting of car $200 - (s not included in the BS package)
3. hotel deposit - $3000
4. dinner lost - $3k onwards (really really depends on whether ur ang paos)
4. ang baos to be given out - $1k onwards
5. card printing cost - $100 onwards
6. catering cost (for home) - $300 onwards
7. AD photography package - $600 onwards
8. 1/2 day AD videography & express edit package - $600 onwards
9. Animation montage - $600
10. Groom's extra attire - $150 onwards
11. Wedding bands - 1K onwards
12. GDL - if u r forking out on ur own... $4k onwards

well, i think about 20k whld b enulf for the whole process.... s sme offers 0% installment like BS, Hotel Dinner & even photographers, videographers...etc

Hi.. Need some advice..

If we budget 30K for our weddin. (Everything in)

Does that mean.. it is better to have the 30k on hand? Or maybe we have half of that will do?

Based on experience.. What's yr advise?

We are planning our weeding in 2008. But we are starting our saving only now...

Hi Janice, the answer depends on when you are required to make the various payments.

Personally, I feel it's best to just have $30k on hand. You never know when you may need it. Although some couples rely on the AP $ to cover the expenses, it gets a bit worrying and you may be spending your wedding night counting the APs instead of truly enjoying your wedding...

It's never too late to start saving. I think it's possible to save up $30k if you have more than 1 year. Try to save $1k every month... then you are there already (including company bonus)!

hi janice,

in my own opinion, its not necessary to have the full 30k.

you only need to have some $$ for deposits at the start of the wedding:

1) hotel $3000 - $5000 depending on hotel
2) Bridal studio - payments are normally about 30% each time so its about $1200 - $1500 (assuming your package is about $4000)
3) Photographer/Videographer deposit, if necessary

the rest are all small expenses that you will need to pay along the way but so long as you are contributing $$ into this savings account, its ok.

some more 'major' expenses that will be incurred nearer to date will be for:

1) printing of invitation of cards
2) ordering of wine/ liquor
3) ang bao $$
4) PG & VG expenses
5) wedding bands?
6) shoes/clothes for PS

the above is just a guideline..

oh! for actual wedding expenses, if you have a CC, you can use that first but of cos to prevent deficit, you need to have the $20k buffer for your wedding dinner....

if there is no CC, guess the one and only way is to have the cash ready. if 1 table cost you $700 - $1000, have that kinda cash ready so that you can pay off the actual dinner expenses.

To add to minssy, if you have a CC, you must take note of the "payment due" date. Do ensure that you are able to pay or you risk attracting high interest.

yah lor..

typically, pple will count the ang baos the next day or a few days after the AD so that you can deposit the $$ in the bank for the deduction or something.. so its up to how u manage your funds.. but seriously, getting married is NOT ex, unless u choose a high priced BS, add alot of photos, choose 'high class' PG/VG or opt for expensive dinner places..

True true... actually, if you don't mind, you may choose not to have any wedding album. Just go for photoshoot.. keep the photos in soft copy. Then don't go have VG. AD PG good enough already.

If you like an expensive place, then consider weekday dinner, or weekend lunch. It'll be cheaper than a weekend dinner/public holiday or eve of public holiday dinner

Cactus 79,

I think weekday dinner are terrible, late waste time and some ppl got to go back to pick up their kids b4 attending.

My frd actual day is Sunday dinner on Mon cos she said it is cheaper and if lucky can make $$.

Hi Anne... I think depends on who the guests are. My friend's wedding at a Tuesday dinner... she started only half hour late and she ended at 1030pm. She chose a venue very near MRT station and within CBD area. Her colleagues and husband's colleagues all around CBD area. Think they had very few schooling relatives. Small families.

But most weekday dinners start late and even very very late!!!

The smaller the group, if the guest profile is young adults working around the hotel, and if the hotel is very accessible, the more determined the couple is to start on time, chances are, it will start not too late.

in my opinion, its safe to hav 30k on hand, but not necessary mus hav the full amount , or rather its not tt easy to save 30k/yr. i think it really depends on the income. jus gta wrk within own budget as wat minssy ment. dun over stress ourslf bah

HI... Thanks for the advise.

For BS - We are thinking of having it in JB. Save half the cost.

As for AD.. Still thinking of having it in Merchant court.. Most likely weeday.. But have to depend on package available.

The new os 7% GST really kills.. which means cost will increase.. Sigh..

Like that how to save?

Pillarless Grand Venus Ballroom at Furama Riverfront Hotel at lower than market price. Min 30 tables to max. 55 tables. Weekday rate at $488+++ (current market price is $558+++) going at a discount. Booked for March 2007 but date can be postphoned subject to availability and to be consumed in year 2007.

Due to personal reason, I am looking for a transfer. If interested, please leave your email address URGENTLY!!!

I am very happy at the occasion of my marriage.
As i m an American ...But i am tensed as far as
the reception is concerned. I Choose one place
for my reception (http://www.loswillows.com) for
my reception but i m thinking that my wife will
be agree to this that the marriage is going to be
held in such a place.

so please tell me what should i do now ?
you people please reply me and i will see you
reply and i show this to my wife and may be after
seeing your reply she may agree for this..

Thanks,
White

hi white,

i think its a very lovely place! its abit of the country and balinese style... however, if your wife prefers indoor or very romantic styles, this may not be too right for her.. what style does she like?

ztcheong : i think it depends on what you want for your budget.

For mine, wedding will be hold next year

Wedding Ring : $1796 (Goldheart)

BS : $2.5k to 2.6k (No outdoor as both my HB n I don't want outdoor)

Restaurant : $1k deposit (Think will be around $10k plus plus)

AD Photography : $380

AD Videography : KIV (will be optional)

Guo Da Li : Haven't buy yet. Will be ard $200++

New Bed for the couple : $1.2k to $2k++

All these is the most i can think of. But for mine is on budget that's why I try to save on most of the stuffs. ^^

Hope it helps

Dear all, my wedding is coming..

I need advice on Costing for the whole wedding..

1)Hotel Dinner costing- $1100 x 45 tables
2)wedding grown package- $5000
3)Camera/Video man- $2000
4)pin jin- (have no decide)
5)ang bao for helpers- $2000
6)Items need/ gifts- $1000
7)buffet- $500
8)Liquor/wine- $1000

Wat else did i miss out??

Tks a lot..

Anxious Bride & Groom

Add Your Message Here
This is a private posting area. Only registered users and moderators may post messages here.
Password:
Options: Enable HTML code in message
Automatically activate URLs in message

Action:

Dear all, my wedding is coming..

I need advice on Costing for the whole wedding..

1)Hotel Dinner costing- $1100 x 45 tables
2)wedding grown package- $5000
3)Camera/Video man- $2000
4)pin jin- (have no decide)
5)ang bao for helpers- $2000
6)Items need/ gifts- $1000
7)buffet- $500
8)Liquor/wine- $1000

Wat else did i miss out??

Tks a lot..

Anxious Bride & Groom

Hi BTB, I'm trying to figure out the price of each items i listed down (Below), trying to do my Budgeting for AD that will be next year end.
I did my Pre-Wedding Photoshoot in Oversea this May, i'm still wondering how much i need for AD gown rent. My ROM will be this Sept 09.

Soon Soon> Hope my list help. I'm making a note book where i will write down anything i can think.
1115795.jpg
1115796.jpg

1115797.jpg
1115798.jpg

My wedding is on Nov next year. Hopefully everything will be within my budget. My budget is SGD20K - 25K. I will be having my BS in Taiwan at BlueBay. So for this BS portion is already eaten up a big sum of my budget. But since is a once in a lifetime thing, so don't want to miss it out. I extimate the Taiwan BS plus pre-honeymoon cost me about SGD6K (inclusive of everything from BS to accommodation to flight to shopping and food)...Any of you having overseas shooting as well?

My budget now is above 30K... Already exceeded my initial estimation...
But this budget didn't include any ang pao proceeds from banquet, just hoping not to lose too much... haha

Yuen Ying I am taking overseas PS too. now looking for AD package~

Hi Chan Yuen Ying,
i had my PS in Taiwan too last year, my Customary will be on Nov this year too. I spend like total of S$10k (incld flight, hotel, PS package, additional photos cost $1.2k, eating for 9D/8N there). We didnt buy much things there, but standby extral for additional photos. I budget $26k for my Banquet (not incld PS). Break down:
-$8k standby for banquet if Ang Bao cannot cover (incld $3k deposite to hotel)
-$2k AD Bridal package
-$3k PG
-$3k VG
-$1k Ang Paos
-$1k buffet after gate clashing
-$1k mother's tailor dress (x2)
-$2k New bedroom
-$1k Xi-bing(cake), customary items
-$1k Jie Mei n Xiong Di's outfit
-$3k Standby for emergency
Apart from this, my hubby has to come out the sum for Ping Jing n 4-gold set.

hi! my htb and i are sharing the wedding expenses. just heard from my mother that the groom should be paying for the cost of the whole banquet, and give us a certain no of tables. is that still applicable now? can share your experience? thanks!

blissed (foreverlove0510) > If your husband (and/or his parent) is rich/affordable, you can ask them to pay. If not, it is better to share. Sometimes, to use others' money cannot plan too much/spend as you wish, must see ppl's face also.

Most importantly, marriage is between you n your htb.

I am budget bride, my budget breakdown as follows:-

(1)Banquet - $2k deposit
(2)BS (JB) - $1.3k
(3)AD MUA/PG/AP - $1k
(4)Wedding card inserts/AP box - below $50

Dont know if I hav miss out any

Hi Blissed,

In traditional terms, the groom's side should pay for the banquet and give bride's side a certain no of tables, which means, all ang baos go to groom's side, except for those tables which he gives bride, den bride's side will keep the ang baos. But if both of u r paying for the banquet yourselves, den all ang baos u keep, which means profit or loss both of u gotta absorb...

But groom's side wil not give so many tables de, like example if total got 30 tables, he might only give u 8 to 10 tables, but if it's not enough for u, den u gotta fork out the money for the extra tables tat u need... this is wat it means... but of course, those tables tat bride's side fork out themselves, all ang baos they will keep...

I'm still quite confused about the budgets and tables.
For budgets, do you include the possible ang bao's you are going to receive? I've done a rough workout on the costs (w/o including the ang baos), and it works out to $15K for PG/AP/VG/Buffet/Tea Ceremony/etc.. and it costs us about $46k for the hotel banquet for 35 tables. Wahhhh.. that's a lot to spend. How do you manage? =S

For tables, since its so expansive, I'm wondering whether I can still afford to "give" my mother about 5 tables. Does it mean that my HTB and me have to pay for the 5 tables ourselves and the 5 tables ang bao goes to my Mom? If she wants more tables, do we get to keep the rest of the ang baos out of these extras?
In that case of giving "Tables", how much then are the pin jing you are actually giving (considering that you will be getting back a part of it)? Very xiong ah...

Worried Bride

It’s better not to include the angpaos first when you do the budget, just in case, u make a loss. If not able to do so, at least set aside the possible losses in banquet. For banquet, you should at least set aside $10k for losses. I do have friends that paid as much as you and make losses in banquet. (One even lost $18k in the banquet) You will be surprised that there are people who give you $20 to $30 angpao where your banquet actually cost $1k+. Some might even go MIA on AD without any angpao. I have at least 1 table of pple who give average $0 to $30.

As me and hubby saved for many yrs, we actually set aside our full cost of $62k. At the end of the banquet, we received angpao of about $28k. Hence our nett expenditure was $34k. Probably, you might wish to set aside a budget of $35k for everything.

For the giving of tables, it’s up to individual. No hard and fast rule. My hubby gave my mother 10 tables and pin jin of $2888. My mother took the 10 tables angpao and pinjin of $888 (Refunded $2000 back to hubby). But bear in mind, my table probably is only half the price of yours cos it’s a lunch. Hence, your hubby can consider giving her 5 tables. If your budget is too tight, probably you might wish to discuss with your mother to see whether she can forgo the tables so that you can use all your angpao to pay for the banquet.

Thanks vm avatar! We are now deciding to do a lunch instead.. but I'm still very insistant to spend on a good photographer at least! Have set aside $5K for PG/VG and instant prints. Maybe doing away VG if PG too expansive.. =(

BTBs,
What are the things you will sacrifise or save on? For me, other than not having VG, I'm just thinking of getting a normal tea ceremony qipao that's not more than $200... any suggestions on where I can get that?

For me, i sacrifice on the below few items

1) Banquet:Change dinner to lunch; minimise no of tables

2) Bridal studio: take bridal package in JB instead of singapore at half the cost

3)PG/VG: Took up a PG + VG 10 hr package at $1180 instead of going for expensive stuff

4)Wedding items(GDL/invitation cards etc): bought in johor instead of Spore because it's cheaper.

some other items you can save on:

1) find banquet package that offer free flow of wine and beer. Don't offer hard liquor in your banquet

2) For me, i have a church wedding. By right, after church wedding, there will be a church catering reception. I cut cost by sending everyone straight to hotel for wedding lunch. I pay for bus charter, but save on catering
cost.

3) Do ROM and customary all in 1 day.. can cut cost on makeup, outfit, catering etc.

Hi, anyone has VG to recommend? Pls email me at [email protected] . Budget is <$500 and date is 11 Mar 2012. Requirements: half day (ra-ra fetch bride, tea ceremony and solemnisation at HTB home). Thanks much~