Bali

zenn
ok...hmm.. I think most prob we'll be sticking to jetstar... cos cheaper lah... :p hubby also dun really mind cos we'l be coming back late also...dun plan to spend too much for this trip...hee wanna save up for our BIG trip next year..

ok..shortlisted 3 resorts...but more keen on Puri Benoa Suite bungalows ... below $100 per nite for a big room...
seems not too bad..;p

I will be going by jetstar cos i have this voucher, but airtix nt too cheap cos we are going during the public hols. Will be staying at Ramayana resort hotel, cheap n its in kuta, dun wanna spend too much for this trip as well.

Can anyone advise rough how much $ to change in terms of rupiah n us$?

suelynn
must we change US$? cos I tot we change rupiah can liao...

queenie
hi..when will u be going? sorry can't help ya on your question... the last time I went to bali was like in sec sch...donkey years ago... maybe hotel/resort itself got good food?

Hi starstar,
i'll be gg 5-8May.
My fren told me shopping & food in rupiah & if u wanna do activites eg bungee jump then in US$.

Zenn,
Yes you were right there are many hotel & resorts in Bali. The reason why I like Contiki because
1. You will not get to see Any children in this resort(is only meant for 18-35 old)
2. The Swimming Pool. ( there is 2 pool you can get from here - 1 Swimming & man made beach)
3. If you are bored to dead and very lazy to go out, U can watch Movie - in threate environment (eventhough 2 person watching the movie!)
4. Some activities Eg. Yoga, learning to become DJ and other activities.
4. It includes B/fast & Dinner. Different menu for dinner but B/fast will be much the same menu everyday (American b/f-buffet style)
5. Beach is a walking distance from the hotel

Well, I dunno about the rest but I really recommend this place if anyone looking for a place to stay. Of course is up to you to decide.
Anyway enclosed the website for Contiki. http://www.contiki.com/en-PH/Resorts/Bali/Why.Come.htm

zenn
oh i see...in maldives thread...keke..me regular in the thread...went there in march last year..but planning to go back there in may/Jul next year if the resort we r eyeing got good opening specials...
if we go, we'll most prob be meeting the rest of the maldives 'kaki' to go together... cheaper lah if got more people...

if dun have good deals, we intend to go South Africa.

queenie
wah..bungee jump...aiyo... I too old liao...
like that har...think I'll change more rupiah..maybe just a samll amt of USD then...

zenn
yup... it's a beautiful place..haven been there but saw pics too..:p hee..wanna go see wild animals...keke.. have a feel of been in the wild...
think for two pax..it's abt $7-8k for 10/11 days...thinking of going there free n easy...rather than tour group...haven decide yet... BUT I still wanna go back maldives leh...my hubby lah... refuse to go back unless I show him a good deal cos going maldives is abt same price as SA...so if it's the same price, he's in for SA... oh..guess for me both places also can lah...

u booked your air tics for bali?

Starstar,
Thanks for sending the email to Zenn.

Starstar and dreamdoll,
Hi, I forgotten to mention to you about this. Remember after a nice dinner at Dirty Duck Diner you may want to watch their cultural show (is not too far from Dirty Duck). Eg. Lenggong, kecek and etc. I watched kecek. It cost RP50K. Well, at least you know what their cultural looks like

Zenn,
The attachment is only refering to food not the resort. If you need the resort pls let me know.

Starstar,
No, no. If u wan to watch Lenggong, u need to go to diffrent place. Eg. Barong dance normally in the morning (this is what I heard). But U can olso watch it at night. I remembered the driver told me that lenggong can be watch near to Ubud market (At night). Maybe u can check it out with the driver.

Barong Dance more like using the Mask thingy whereas Lenggong is more like traditional dance (mostly ladies).
Someone pls correct me if this is wrong.

Cherio

zenn
u booked your trip? We have more or less confirmed goin in early aug...hee..plan to spend national day in bali.. :p jus waiting for hubby' leave to be approved bef booking...
u?

Hi star,

Think we will drop the idea of bali for this mth. Cant take leave...

Hey, side track abit. Any suggestion of nice place for makan? Considering Humble House....

Yo zenn
oh...so will u still be going to bali anytime in the year?

place for makan? as in restaurant isit? hee..not very sure on restaurants... but I know food centres like pasir panjang food centre n changi village food centre got nice food...
oh ya...the satay at glutton's bay also very nice...
that's my fave satay store...loves the potent chili padi sauce...

If for good chinese restaurant... hmmm... ding tai feng for xiao long bao? btw where's humble house? serve chinese food one isit?

Hi starstar,

Since you'd been to bali. Any recommendation for nice accommodation yet price is reasonable? Considering, to go bali for a short weekend escape and relaxation for couples.

adel
yo...I haven go yet lah... me went bef last time that's like decade ago...
anyway planning to go during early aug..
bali got alot of accom..what's your price range? go to this website to browse..
me going to stay at www.asiarooms.com

the coming trip going to stay at Taman Harum cottage in ubud.
when are u going?

plan for next weekend. Killing me. My friend want it in June, if not Aug national day will be better. Less than a thousand for 2 night! Possible? The place you went to, is it nice?

adel
less than a thousand sure... me going there for 3 nites.. flying by budget airline... cost is less than one thousand. U nean last time when I went isit? the place I stayed last time is in Kuta... dun plan to stya there now cos of the terrorist stuffs.. as kuta has more ang mohs lah... aug national day is on wed.. so u plan to stay 2 nites isit?

The coming trip in aug..staying in Taman Harum...haven been there but u can go to the website I posted n browse thru..alot fo hotels to choose from... also got reviews..

K. I'm clearing my krisflyer pts, hence only looking for accomodation. A'port Tax very high right! Ok, will avoid Kuta area.

adel
wah...like that your hotel can go fro those super duper good ones liao...
sincce u got a bigger budget..:p those one night $300 kind...wif cool view etc...
haha... u look thru lah..alot to choose from..
If I got the budget I'll go for the Hanging Gardens..

adel
haha..u plan to have a thousand for 2 nites right? ;p well.. it's not too ex now to go bali... hee..
hey..u should have seen some even more ex rooms n resorts..one nite at least $500 kind one...

hi, me gg in oct 6D5N. anyone can share notes/advice with me?? lookin for accomdation n the places to visit. cos i got airtickets aldy. ya, airport tax really high. nd to book the hotels online...fast.

hiya simlemon
u can try the asiarooms?
www.asiarooms.com

I've booked thru them bef..but not for this bali trip.. cos the hotel I'm staying got a better deal so I booked direct wif the hotel...
compared the asiaroom prices wif other websites for hotels.. still the cheapest among all that I've compared wif... if the hotel I'm staying dun have the promotion deal..I would have booked thru them..
I've booked thru them when I went for my aussie trip in march this year..
good..
no complaints..

u can look thru the website for hotels...shortlist those u want n then go tho the hotel's main website n ask if they have any promo..if not, think it's more worth it to book thru asiarooms..

u flying by budget or main airliner? I'm going wif budget..haven try bef budget airline..
yupp,,taxes n surcharges ex...

hey starstar, thx for ur info! din koe can book direct thru the hotel website... mayb i shld do a search on tat....but wat currency will u b payin? looks like asiarms v popular among ppl. sometimes e website mention can get beta prices durin low season, nt sure izt call them directly or wat..

takin SQ ther cos my hubby got krisflyer pts. heard tat budget valuair is ok. jus tat nd to pay for water etc.. but still gd value.

simlemon
no prob...can try checkin gout form the hotel's website...see if they got better deals than asiarooms.. if not, I can tell u asiarooms is the best out of all the websites for hotels...

it'll be in USD or rupiah for me, to be paid upon checking out... cos I book direct wif hotel..not thu asiarooms..if thru asiarooms..it's by credit card n in USD. yup..should do a research first on the shortlisted hotels..then decide to book thru which channel..

there is a place call tunyang, they don't buried the body but left it under the tree. the docompos body got no smell, u can ask the hotel stuff to teach u how to go

T&P
I'll be staying at Taman Harum Cottages.. in Ubud. Cos they got a family villa there.. can accomodate 5 pax..will be going wif my sis n her fiance n my hubby's younger bro..five of us..
n it's rather reasonable the price..n best of all got free airport/hotel transfer...
taking up a package deal direct from hotel.

u? when u looking at?

starstar,

the hanging garden looks very good!
i'll be keeping it for consideration.
i am very keen on alila..
but not so soon lah..jus doing some research 1st.

t&P
haha... yup...sucker for beach..
me will be heading to Jakarta after Bali trip..
going there wif hubby..
he on official trip me hanging ard..hee..

yup..it's nice but ex...think we'll not be spending so much for accom in bali..rather spend in Maldives..:p

next year we hope to go South africa or hawaii..if there's no good deals for Maldives...

I'm planning a short trip to Bali too. Not sure if I should consider accomodations at Nusa Dua. Travel agent recommended Bali Pavilion at Sanur. Pls advise. Thanks in advance.

Manuka,

Nusa Dua is a nice place. Accomodations there are simply amazing. But its all very expensive. If you have the budget or don't mind paying, then its a great place.