Asking for alimony

confusedchild82

Been together with my wife for 5 yrs and due to character differences we are now under separations.
During 1st 2 years of our marriage, due to my job nature, I bought her along to US with me. My job entitles me to additional spouse allowance of $900/mthly since she is not allowed to work there. Paid everything food, stuffs all daily expenses for her....now she claims that she wants to get back the $900 for the 2yrs she spent with me there. Saying the money is hers and that by right I should return her.

Ive been spending so much money on her and nvr asking anything in return. Now she wants to claim back the amount from me. Do I have a case here? Can I fight back? She claims she wants to go MP and ask for help on domestic dispute if I don't give her the money...

Btw, she is still young, 27 this yr and not long after we separate she found herself a bf and even post it all over FB. can I use this as evidence? (with photos and date that she declared in a r/s with another guy during our separation?) We have no kids but she is earning lesser than me.

How much alimony can she request from me and how to fight back for my case?
I have recently renovated the hse and thou its under both our names, but all the cash and CPF all comes from me since she was not working at that time. If we were to divorce after 5yrs MOP, do I still need to split the proceed of the house with her under 50/50?

Am I really on the losing end? She didn't pay a single cent for anything but when it comes to divorce she can have everything......will the court protect my interest?

Yes. i am afraid You are on the losing end. We have aware here in singapore. just for your reference, all she needs is to ask for a 1$ alimony and you are liable for the rest of your life. Some call it a life time meal ticket tho I thought it's quite crude a judgement.

confusedchild82, I don't believed you are at the losing end. With the correct lawyer, I believed you can still fight for your right.
How long have you been separated before she found herself a bf?
Every details you have is an evidence for your marriage breakdown........

Though Singapore has a rule of protecting women, I believe we can still do something about it.
Why do you need to seek a divorce only when the MOP is reached.
Do it now or it will be too late......

Though my mum's case is not similar to yours. But i feel there is always a loophole in law. Just to share our experience, my father has been using mild depression to fight his case.FYI, he is a heavy drinker and he had a stroke.. Afterwhich he had depression n he make use of this point to fight for divorce. The verdict is not yet out but so far he is on the upper hand. :(

Ashburns77, thanks for your reply....our separation was in Jul 14 and in Sep 14, she already declared and updated her FB status that she is in a r/s with another guy. I have screenshot the date tgt with their photo as proof just in case.
As for the house, im waiting for us to officially divorce and request her to transfer her share of the house to my mum or future wife (if any), of coz i dun mind paying her a lumpsum for the name transfer. But what im in dillema is that she is asking for the money which is the total amount of the spouse allowance during the 2yrs in US. Im not willing to pay her that since ive been the one paying for all her meals, clothes, hp etc during the 2yrs. Not as if ive not been supporting her and bringing her for all the holidays while she was with me. Just thinking if she hv any rights to ask back for those money spent on her.

As for her alimony, i dun mind giving a reasonable lumpsum, but she is asking for way too much.

Things may not be as simple as you think. In singapore, guys are at the losing end in a divorce. Court would not protect guys interest.

As for your flat, you may not be able to have it due to restrictions in owning hdb flats.

Ashburns77, thanks for your reply....our separation was in Jul 14 and in Sep 14, she already declared and updated her FB status that she is in a r/s with another guy. I have screenshot the date tgt with their photo as proof just in case.
As for the house, im waiting for us to officially divorce and request her to transfer her share of the house to my mum or future wife (if any), of coz i dun mind paying her a lumpsum for the name transfer. But what im in dillema is that she is asking for the money which is the total amount of the spouse allowance during the 2yrs in US. Im not willing to pay her that since ive been the one paying for all her meals, clothes, hp etc during the 2yrs. Not as if ive not been supporting her and bringing her for all the holidays while she was with me. Just thinking if she hv any rights to ask back for those money spent on her.

As for her alimony, i dun mind giving a reasonable lumpsum, but she is asking for way too much.

There is no law to protect men from any abuse in a marriage. Have been told by divorce lawyers to "wait for them to die if I want to see my child" and "to take responsibility for poor choice of spouse". Be thankful there is no child yet, she could use it against you. Mine did during the entire marriage, and is still using him as a weapon for all sorts of atrocities. Not even sure if I can sue them for child abuse, and no chance to fight for care and control of my child. Just have to watch as he gets brainwashed every time, and falling sick all the time under their poor standards of care. Can only pray for God to punish that family so they will be ill, crippled and unable to do more evil.

Unfortunately, this is very true. For guys who want to get married, please think at least 1000 times. Don't be like all of us here suffering from our wrong choices...:(