Anyone planning their weddings from overseas?

HI maddcow,

They are so cute!

Madcow, that's really cute!!

Elizabth, I dun have MSN, maybe shd go and download.

Dewberry - tks for the photos. Any one else got a wedding planner? Are most of the ladies here married already?

Hi pink & roses,

Thanks. Hanging there. I've skype too but used it more fo FH to call when I'm out. Just to check will they charge my mobile for it if he calls? Would u know? Is yr FH local or ang moh?

Hi maniac,

A lot of us are chatting over MSN. Very fun! Hope to see u there.

heloo ... heee.e.e.he..ee.. missing for awhile, reading ur post but didnt reply as nothing abt me to update as mine till far from u BTB ladies.

maddcow, ur rubber duck very cute, hope u are fine with your preparation.

dew, mon is holiday for US? hmm... maybe we can arrange to catch up w e you, never got chance to chat w u hhee..e.e. from your post, u must be a joker .

karen, count down to ur AD? 8 more days to go

ribbit, are u still in korea, i enjoy shopping at seoul but bargain but problem hee.ehee.... just like chicken n duck, was there during summer few yrs back. when u free maybe can go cheju, nice place

hello hello....

so many posts to catch up with!... hope i dun miss out on replying to anyone...

snippy
oh yah, I heard about Bridal Veil – some frens said she quite catty. heh. my best fren says I shouldn’t go there cos she’s almost sure we have a personality clash. *lol*…. Ted Wu is supposed to be v reliable. but yah, I’m not really into embroidery. plus, he’s just raised his prices by 30%!!!! yikes!!!

roses
haha… yeah, I can’t imagine standing in a field and “gazing into the distance” together… heh… but I agree that some nice portraits would be nice to display on my desk at work.
where’s your FH working? Is he going to be overseas permanently and will you be moving away?
as for dresses – i also prefer bustier dresses over spag straps. and I was surprised too that I didn’t look too short/fat/odd with a ballgown skirt. heh… haven’t tried anymore gowns at harrods. next stop is The Wedding Shop at Chelsea – Vera Wang!!!
can’t wait… ooh.. Harvey Nics… that’s a good idea. btw, erm… we are all not in our early 20s I think… heh…

maddcow
glad to hear that marriage prep went well!

eeling
irene + me will be in Turin next weekend! maybe we can meet up for drinks or sth?

Karen
getting excited for you!
must tell us how it all went, yah?

maniac, liz, lilo, dewy, ribbit
*waves*

lilo - ha, me a joker? no lah, where got?
... snippy is more of a joker than i am, LOL.

monday is not a holiday for my office, but some states do celebrate Columbus Day as a public holiday. just not me (aiyah, i work for a hospital company, these people are 24/7, 365!)

still trying to sneak some time in and come online in the mornings to catch you guys on MSN chat... maybe sometime next week i'll try to work from home.

e - the gown shopping sounds like GREAT fun! when i was shopping for gowns i did the same thing, must have tried over 40 gowns before settling on mine... it's great to see how you look in different styles, sometimes it'll surprise you because we modern girls don't get to wear traditional ballgown styles much anymore... it "hides" a lot sometimes, like my chubby hips, haha! say hi to irene for me!!!

happy friday girls!

hi gals! dewy me joker??? where got??? *shoves dewy* haha anyway you're not alone. i don't get monday off either. bleh maddcow..cute duckies! u can also stick flyers with 10 things you didn't know about yourself and FH in the bathroom stalls.

oooh guess what i stumbled upon on tv yesterday. the apprentice: martha stewart! and guess what their task was ...to bake and sell a wedding cake. haha i was so entertained.maddcow and dewy I'm sure u gals would have been equally amused haha.

ok gotta run will check in again later. tgif!

Hi e,

Who is Irene? I thought Ashley is coming over or is her real name Irene? :-) How long do you gals plan to be in Turin and where will you be staying? I'll try to be around next weekend so we can meet up. Give me your email addy so I can let you know my hp number. By the way, there is another Singaporean gal living here too (nearly 6 years already) so we can have ourselves a little Singaporean 'convention' :-)

Wow Dewberry, you tried over 40 gowns before finding the one ah?? So many! I tried only one in Turin and only about 10 in 3 different boutiques in Singapore. Luckily I managed to find the 'one' after only one day. Now, it's just sitting in a vacume bag in my parents' cupboard:-P

ee-ling, hee hee yes in america you can do crazy things like trying on many gowns... most of the bigger bridal boutiques encourage you to try at least 4-5 gowns in one visit, and i went to some bridal "warehouse" type places where i tried many, many gowns (over several different visits of course!). it was fun, and with me being chubby, really helped me find the perfect dress that fit me well.

good thing we have the range and variety in the US... gives fickle brides lots of wiggle room, haha!

Hi hi, its me, back after being in 'silence mode' for a while. I've been reading all your interesting and fun updates but I didnt have time to reply as it was madness in office recently. This week will be much better. phew! finally!

Madcow, the ducks are really funny! I was laughing out loud too! haha...

Dewberry, do you mind to send me your pixs too? [email protected]

E, seems like you are really having great fun trying out gowns! Wow, Vera Wang, I am sure they are simply perfect! Every gal's dream gown! Tell us more about it!

I myself have been doing a bit of gown shopping here in Paris. Their new collection are all arriving only in end Oct/Nov. So now they don't have much. But I have been looking at their catalogues, they do have some nice stuff but very ex! Not sure if this brand Demetrios is known in your respective countries, but their catologues and website have very nice gowns, but prices are very steep! So back to the same conclusion like all you ladies, do a similar one in the bridal shops in Spore instead!

Furthermore,I don't find the sales person in the bridal shops here friendly. They are rather aloof and I don't feel comfortable with them.

By the way, are any of you ladies going back to Spore for CNY 06? Maybe we should do a tiny 'meet-up' if we could all be back in Spore at the same time!

Have a good weekend and talk to you all soon. Btw, I am on the MSN chat too, my email is [email protected]. Hope to chat soon!

Hello eeling - long time no "see"...you and i had similar experience re the gown search - except that i dragged my feet when it came to shopping for the gown

hello denise - yes, demetrios is pretty popular here, i think the designer is a genius, he churned out designs in a very quick turnaround time and is extremely innovative with fabrics.

I need fashion advice: my dress is done - the material is really lovely (it has a golden cast - honey-maizy undertones) and despite 2 layers of lining material (oh for those making a dress, get silk lining - it feels darn good, i used silk twill, you can buy material online at wholesale prices, let me know if you are interested) and one layer of duchesse satin, my hip bones are still showing through !!!! (urghk) The final detail is the placement of the lace. I have around 12 inches of lace trim at the hem. Lace at the bodice is problematic -
(a) shall i place the lace above the waist (in an effort to create more bust (yes, I'm less-endowed there!!) and to elongate the silhouette) or
(b)should I place the entire 18 inches of lace trim from top of bustier to my hip (in an effort to cover my hip bones, but i'm afraid it will highlight the derriere! and shorten me)

my dressmaker thought option b looked really sexy - 'alluring, hint of what's to come' (...) - I'm partial to (b) but have reservations. help, please.... the back looks like this picture sans the chiffon gathers, ...hmm, pic not too clear
318481.jpg

Hi maddcow,

Saw this one on the website also. So lovely! I like it. I didn't try many gowns at all. Planned to but set my eyes immediately on the one I saw.
Your gown must be so gorgeous must share pics ya!

Hi hi ladies to all of u!
Been bsuy and it's till crazy! Getting so tired of everything! Esp the preparation with my work as well. FH felt so helpless without being able to be here to help. I realise there're a thousands of things to do. I only found out yesterday after attending mass there that the church after renovation, there're some differences and need to work out the things again. SIGH!!! Was so exhausted! Don't want to think anymore until FH is here. We settle the little details for our engagement and tea ceremony. Long distance is so tiring and tough with the time difference. I must say I salute those who can be apart for so long. It's driving me crazy! Ha ha ha... I guess it doesn't help when the application for visa is not being processed yet. SIGH!!! Praying real hard! Getting a bit anxious and edgy! My poor FH also has to suffer my moodiness and tantrums. But glad that he is so patient with me for tolerating me, this spoilt child! Ha ha ha... ok everything is back to normal again after talking things out and prayers.

GTG ladies! Have to get back to work!

Maddcow,that gown in the pic looks really gorgeous and sexy.I think you have to try out both options and see how it actually looks on your bod cos it really depends on your bod structure. I knew someone who had lace on her gown like option B and it somehow didn't look too good on her cos of her body shape. So, I would recommend you try other gowns with lacing like Option A n B and judge for yourself. You can then post pics of A n B and we can 'see' better and give you our views. That being said, if I remember from the pic on your website, you seem to be petit so I think full bodice lace should not enhance derriere but sometimes enhancing it a bit can be alluring :-) unless you have a big flat one like mine :-P As for Option B 'shortening' you, you always have the option of heels! To further enhance your bustline, you can add padding to it.

eeling and liz
thanks for comments, they are helpful...i'm still mulling over it...yeah the sutera dress is gorgeous

liz - engagement/wedding planning stress is so real, but try not to let it affect the relationship? a lot of stuff is just that - stuff and really, you can't really do anything wrong on your wedding/engagement (i think i stole this line from barbra streisand)... on my blah days, i tried to snap out of my cranky state by reminding myself that i'm planning a joyous occasion and hence anything that is not causing "joy" should be struck off the plan ( like whether to serve lunch at church or at home - church too stressful, so serve at home and pray that people love me enough not to complain too much). Still the planning process offers a lot of knowledge, FH and I have learnt so much about how each of us deals with our tasks at hand - he's one-task-at-a-time guy whereas I'm a multi-tasker. A french friend, whom i had not contacted for so long, recently sent me his wedding pictures - I saw the simple set up, their beautiful smiles and I was so happy for them. At the same time, I realized that if our guests truly love us, a lot of stuff that we fret over just doesn't matter. A relaxed bride offers the most radiant smile! (just my 0.02)

ladies - fall is here!!!! wisconsin is soo cold now and the colors, so lovely! i love fall! which probably explains my wedding colors ...

Hi Maddcow,

Thanks for the comforting words and sharing. What u wrote is very true and came very timing as I needed to hear too.
Yes men in general can only do a task and women, multi-taking. It's a true fact. I agree if people love us enough, they won't complain too much. I feel very sad for this reason. Friends who are so willing to offer their help but when it comes to relatives, it's not the case. It's more of having to go through the tea ceremony as a formality sake rather than truly rejoice in the joyous occasion. Some friends mentioned that they may not be there coz they're going off for holiday. I was very disappointed coz they're my close friends. I've to miss a very good friend's wedding too but I make sure I meet up with them before I leave. Whereas some friends who truly want to be there and went all the way out and make sure they'll come for the engagement. Partly, I hold the engagement not only for my family but for my friends, knowing a lot of them won't be able to fly in for my wedding. I should have just invited those that I truly want to invite rather than obligated to invite for instance like colleagues. Whatever it is, it's done, it cannot be erased. I'm glad to have FH to be there all the time for me. Yes, I agree, a simple wedding is the best. I'm glad my wedding is going to be a small affair, very private, celebrating with family, friends who truly joyous in our marriage. I simply cannot understand why am I so stressed up over the ang bao to give to the helpers, what they will think if it's too little and on top of that budget constrains. A true friend won't mind if I decide to give them a gift instead. Something meaningful to show our heartfelt thanks for their help.

I guess it didn't help when I work with a group of Christian people and they are so unChristian coz of stress. It made me sad though. But again, have to take it easy.

Whatever it is, the most important thing is for my FH n I to remember to focus on God and not to strain my relationship with FH. He is such a sweet angel and often melts my heart for his kindness, gentleness and love. He radiates God's unconditional love. I'm always touched by his love. I thank God for FH, for such a precious gift He has bestowed upon me. Thank you also for your friendships and all the ladies here for being so supportive, encouraging even I've not met all of u!

Liz (ok, i promise i'm going to shut up after this post, given that others are not checking in, i'm bordering on being an old nag
i think i faced the same stuff before, here's what i did:

angbao - the issue snagged me during the initial stage, until my mom stepped in one fine day and said that this is the duty of the mother-of-the-bride, my duty is just being a bride, so my mom is only giving what she can afford and she doesn't earn big bucks. i love my mom! i'm giving personalized gifts to my closer friends, sisters and moms. i recall that i was the emcee for a lot of my friends' weddings and i never really cared about their 'ab's i just took whatever they gave me and re-stuffed them back into the 'ab' that i was giving them, making a quick calculation to make sure the numerology is okay...so, ask your mom to do this and believe me, real friends don't gripe about ab's

stress - well, it's a scary thing and can do nutty things to normal and sane people. but our weddings are just one day in other's lives and they have their own priorities too, so... what i say to myself is, this is a union of two souls, come what may, i'm just going to get married and have a good time - i had health scares on more than one occasion - they gave me a perspective on time (a minute of receiving good news can change the way i view life): a day of truly rejoicing finding the man of my dreams is just that - rejoicing in God's union - for others, it may just be another day, they don't necessarily share our perspectives. So...try to see how God will view these stuff and hopefully, you will feel much better

p.s. ladies, i know this is not the forum for religious thoughts, let me know if it offends you, www.blurryburger.aol.com

Liz,

Hi! Are you feeling better? I agree with maddcow. A true friend wouldn't care about ang pows. A true friend will also not mind about seating arrangements, colour scheme or all those nitty gritty that tends to weigh people down in the preparations. It's your wedding. Enjoy yourself!
You're already trying your best to organise (almost singlehandedly too!) a wedding that is meaningful and enjoyable to you and guests. No one could ask for more. And if anyone is not reciprocating the love you deserve on this joyous occasion, it's them that's the problem, not you!

Maddcow,
Have you decided on the placement on the lace yet? And pics to show us?

E,

Have not heard from you since your last posting, not sure if you and Irene are still coming to Turin this weekend or if you have changed your minds about coming here or about meeting up.

Anyway if you are still coming here and staying or meeting up with Ribbit (not sure if she is back cos I have not heard anything from her since she left nearly a month ago), have a great time!I am sure Ribbit or your other friends here will bring you two to see the sights and enjoy yummy Italian food and chocolate :-P If you are interested to visit some bridal boutiques, you can check out the Atelier Aimee and Carlo Pignatelli boutiques which are in the town centre. I'll be out of town this weekend.

eeling
Hi, sorry, have been kinda tied up so haven't been visiting the forum. we are still coming to Turin this weekend. but not staying with Ribbit cos she's still away. would have loved to meet up with you. if by any chance you are around, let me know, k? we will be arriving late Fri night and leaving late Sun night. PM me your mobile no. or sth?

Hi Roses,

Thanks for yr concern. I'm feeling better emotionally but physically not, down with a sore throat and hoepfully not flu. Recently just spoke to my Godma, she is going to help me with the rest and gave me very good tips and advices. Should have met her earlier but was too tied up. I'm thankful to have friends who are so willing to help. My Godma also suggested gifts instead og angbao to show appreciation and personalised it. My friends happens to be most of them related to her and mentioned that they would appreciate gifts better. Solved the headaches! Ya! I just have to realise it. Too perfectionist! No good! Hahaha... Have u attended EE yet? When is yr big day again? me getting old, can't remember so many things! Ha ha ha!

So cool E, ee ling and ribbit that you ladies are meeting up! Great! Enjoy yourself!

Hi hi to the rest of the ladies!

Liz,
Glad to hear you've resolved some difficulties. Do you know what gift items you're getting? The heat has been terrible. Do keep well. Yes, I've attended EE
Our wedding will be in July 2006.

For those of you that are already married... could you please tell me, did you actually get a chance to eat much on the actual wedding day? We're having a buffet lunch and we're thinking of having a more elaborate dessert table... adding in a chocolate fountain and loads of cakes, and I'm drooling as I plan. But the banquet manager says that from experience, I won't get a chance to eat much. That's so sad! Do you think the bride and groom will be that busy?

liz - glad you're feeling better, take care of the physical too! lots of H2O and seek TLC from friends and family, hee hee.... let us know if you want help brainstorming gifts for your friends... i think it's a great idea and much more personal than just an angpow. or, if you don't want to splurge on one single present, sometimes a "care package" of multiple inexpensive items will go even further to let your friends know you thought of them individually when making up the package.

roses - actually, they are right, you prolly won't get to eat much. i had a delicious food tasting before-hand, but on the day itself, i managed to only eat a few bites here and there. i made them save the cake for me though, so we had a midnight cake party in the hotel suite, with all the "stragglers" after the dinner... too tired to go out and party anymore. think of the logistics of the evening, you will be busy flitting around talking to people, changing clothes or making adjustments to the programme as necessary, making decisions about food and alcohol if anything comes up... so all that adds up to very little actual time sitting at the table. and it's much nicer to be hanging out with your guests rather than eating primly at the table and afraid to mess up the makeup!

i guess it depends on how much help you will have from wedding planner or friends coordinating for you... but the bride and groom will still be called upon to act the host/hostes... so it's likely you'll not want to sit down and eat much.

TGIF again, girls! hope everyone has a great weekend ahead of them... happy wedding planning!

hi roses,

Cool! I'm attending EE in Nov when FH is here. No idea yet. Will shop around when FH is here. Ya! Feel better but need lots of rest and vit c, water and herbs for sore throat. Body just feeling tired. But have to start teaching again tomor. Today is off day.

Hi Dewberry,

Thanks for your concern.
What's TLC? Will be great if you are able to give me some ideas for the gift. What do u mean by care package? At first, I wanted to buy something that will fit what they need, my Godma was like wah u've the time to do it. I'm also not sure. But will decide again when FH is here. Adding to the gift for the helpers itself, I will attach a pair of porcelin Dutch shoes which FH bought when he was here. Every guests will be getting a bookmark made by FH of us. I also plan to wrap up some candies from Netherlands for the kids of my friends whether they attend or not. Will pass it to their parents if they are not there.

I realise I've still a lot of things to do. Going to take one step at a time. With the help of my Godma, I think should be fine. At least, not doing it alone this time. FH told me to put it aside until he's here, so that he can help me with it. Knowing me, cannot lor. Don't like to do last minute stuff. Hahaha... always plan way ahead! Everyone was so surprised that I notify them so early. Ha ha ha...

hi gals! been quite swamped lately so no time to post much. liz, some gift ideas from me hehe ... i gave my jiemeis pashminas, pj's, and mini wallets i got from the states. a friend of mine gave hers clutches (handbags) that would go with their bridesmaid dresses and flip flops embellished with a brooch that she made. basically i just thought along the lines of anything i'd like to receive hehe. it doesn't have to be expensive! tho I know we all feel kinda inadequate when packing the ang pows! I certainly did...fretting over the amount etc. i didn't want to appear cheap (u don't really think straight when it's your own wedding haha) even though I knew that I'd prefer gifts over money since none of us are really strapped for cash and how much difference is that $50 or $80 gonna make??

btw what dewy means by a care package is an assortment of small gifts. like candy, food, sample sized lotions, candles, anything!

k gotta run!

hi liz, sorry i wrote that last post out too fast (did it secretly at work, kekeke)... TLC was "Tender Loving Care", and snippy got the care package explanation right. i was suggesting that you can buy several small inexpensive items together and wrap in one nice little package. this way you can still "customize" some items according to your friend's likes and dislikes, but won't take a lot of time. (think of snacks and candy for the "gourmet" friend, candles and lotion for the "feminine", funny gag gifts for the "joker" like lottery tickets or toys, interesting books or coffeetable pictorials for the "bookworm", wow the list can go on forever...) the ideal gift for him/her can be easy to come up with if you think simple, and any gift can look nice if packaged with a pretty bow and a personal note. don't worry, we can all help you generate ideas!!! are all your friends girls? what kinds of likes and dislikes do they have?

snippy! *waves madly*

Hi Dew berry & Snippy,

No worries!
My helpers are a mixture of guys n gals and some are couples in fact. Thanks for the suggestions. I think I wait for FH to be here first and go shopping together. At the moment, don't think I've time to shop as work is pretty tight! Thanks a million! Greatly appreciate your ideas! *HUGS!*

Hi E, was away for the weekend and just saw your message. Hope you had a great time in Turin. Did you manage to savour some pizzas and Italian food and chocolate? The weather was great during the weekend so I'm sure you were able to see heaps places.

eeling
hiya, hope you had a good weekend?

Turin was lovely. The good was really good and the chocolate is just awesome... *drool*
didn't get to go into Stupinigi tho, cos the actual closing times were different from what hte guidebook told us! sigh...
Superga was pretty tho and the Turin Shroud was intriguing.

hellos girls....
*waves to everyone else*

Dewberry

Thanks for sharing. I definitely want to mingle with my guests too. But it was just depressing to know I won't get to eat much of the desserts we're planning to have
Oh, I'm having a buffet lunch.

I was looking through your pics and wanted to ask you... I think you had a glass bowl and guests wrote little notes instead of signing a guest book. Am I right? How did that work? Where did you leave the bowl, at the reception table? and did that cause a congestion as the guests signed in?

I want to do something similar. Not sure whether I should have a bowl on every table of not. And I was thinking of taking polaroid shots of guests as they arrive which I can complie, along with their little notes later into a book. What do you think?

Hi Red & Roses,

Share with u what I plan to do for the buffet. I'm thinking of getting the caterer to serve all the food that day to put on the plates of the VIP table for my family n us. Hee hee! I get hungry one lor! At least if not eaten can put in the box and bring home.

Ya! Dewberry, share also! I also want to know.

**<font color="ff0000">Waves to all the ladies!</font>**

hihi all you lovelies! *wave, wave*

roses and liz - haha, liz great idea, get them to save the food for you... make sure you ask also, sometimes they can even put the plates in a warming trolley for you (like those room service kind), and you will be able to enjoy after the whole thing. not sure if you mentioned the location in a hotel or outdoors, but the Ritz basically put the plates for us in the warmer and served it in our suite, replete with table setting and all, haha... we had a nice midnight feast with the wedding cake leftovers to top it off. i remember digging with my fork into the big chunk of cake right off the serving tray. *greedy dewy*

hmm, yes the glass "wish" bowl was a Martha Stewart idea, which snippy and maddcow had also brought up in this forum aeons ago... i didn't have it on the same table as the reception sign-in.... basically, it was almost a "workflow" where: the guest arrives at the reception, puts angpow in box, receives their table #, then the receptionist suggests for them to write a "wish" for the couple, and directs them to a separate table on the side decorated with candles + glass bowl with paper, writing implements, etc. this way, they can mingle during the cocktail hour and write the notes anytime, so there was no congestion. just make sure you've lots of pens and nice cardstock paper for them to use.

another tip, we used really good quality "scrap paper" cardstock from Lil-Art cards, negotiated for FREE! (coz she created our menu cards, ceremony programmes, and invitation cards)... i highly recommend Lilian, she has wonderful taste.

other ideas for decorating the reception area - if you're having a real cake, have it displayed in the reception area and decorate the cake table it sits on.... (we rolled it into the dining room when it was time for cutting). i also went a bit narcissistic - had several easels of large 16"x20" blown up photos of us, displayed throughout the area, as well as a "photo table" decorated with shiny pebbles and fake pearls. we displayed pics of us in the States and travels to Europe. the photo table didn't turn out as nice as i wanted, because i actually designed everything to be tightly arranged together like a collage or a table in someone's house... but the hotel staff kinda just put it loosely arranged. i was disappointed, but didn't let it spoil the day!

whew! okay that was a long post, sorry if i bored everyone. hope these help spur your ideas as well! dewy will shut up now...

Thanks dewberry! Will need to check with FH what he thinks about it. I don't have a wedding dinner. It's more of the church for my engagement. FH is doing a guest book half for engagement, the other half for wedding later. Hee hee I hoep the guests will come early as I told the to be seated by 130pm. Ha ha ha...

Hi Dewberry,

Thanks thanks! You've given me lots of ideas
I better go and check out the ballroom and foyer again. See how it's best to organise the card-signing. I probably will have seating cards and plan the actual seating arrangement at each table, and I'll ask the hotel staff place the cards when they set up the room. I also don't want too many friends to have to man the reception table. As far as possible, I want my helpers to have little to do and just enjoy the day

I do want to have a real wedding cake! Can you give me an idea of how much it'll cost to feed 230 guests?

liz - glad i could help, good luck, do let me know what FH thinks... haha, don't worry the guests will come, but make sure you work in at least 30 mins flexibility in your day's schedule... weddings almost never start exactly on time!

roses - psst, tell you a secret, i wanted my friends to enjoy as well, so i ended up hiring the 2 girls who manned my reception table from my wedding planner, was very cheap, only $25 per hour or something... they were good, welldressed and professional, and no one knew the difference, all my guests thought they were my friends, haha.

as for the wedding cake, here's a gauge: i went with The Patissier (coz hubby loves their cakes), they are the MOST expensive but yummy - they charge about $60 per kg, which comes to $600 for my little 10kg fondant cake (100 guests). Fondant is heavy, that's why so expensive. But I would suggest for 230 guests you only need about 18kg for 3 tiers, maybe even less if you choose buttercream instead. Always <u>underestimate</u> the cake weight, because most people will only eat a small slice by the time it is cut (ours had lots leftover, and uneaten slices on their plates).... most singaporeans and older people don't eat cake very much, too rich.

you can probably get a nice and pretty cake from cheryl shuen (remove the "Z" from http://www.cherylshuenZ.com/cakes/index.html) or other hotel bakeries for about $45 per kg, try shopping around. sometimes they charge by # of servings, in which case, around $3 per serving seems to be standard for most places. some good hotel bakeries for wedding cake = shangrila, hilton, the regent, marriott. of all of them, most people think shangrila has the closest quality to The Patissier's top-notch cakes.

hope that helps! if anyone disagrees, speak up - i LOVE talking about wedding cakes, they're so pretty, haha! we haven't even started talking about designs and flavors yet!!!

liz - glad i could help, good luck, do let me know what FH thinks... haha, don't worry the guests will come, but make sure you work in at least 30 mins flexibility in your day's schedule... weddings almost never start exactly on time!

roses - psst, tell you a secret, i wanted my friends to enjoy as well, so i ended up hiring the 2 girls who manned my reception table from my wedding planner, was very cheap, only $25 per hour or something... they were good, welldressed and professional, and no one knew the difference, all my guests thought they were my friends, haha.

as for the wedding cake, here's a gauge: i went with The Patissier (coz hubby loves their cakes), they are the MOST expensive but yummy - they charge about $60 per kg, which comes to $600 for my little 10kg fondant cake (100 guests). Fondant is heavy, that's why so expensive. But I would suggest for 230 guests you only need about 18kg for 3 tiers, maybe even less if you choose buttercream instead. Always <u>underestimate</u> the cake weight, because most people will only eat a small slice by the time it is cut (ours had lots leftover, and uneaten slices on their plates).... most singaporeans and older people don't eat cake very much, too rich.

you can probably get a nice and pretty cake from cheryl shuen (remove the "Z" from http://www.cherylshuenZ.com/cakes/index.html) or other hotel bakeries for about $45 per kg, try shopping around. sometimes they charge by # of servings, in which case, around $3 per serving seems to be standard for most places. some good hotel bakeries for wedding cake = shangrila, hilton, the regent, marriott. of all of them, most people think shangrila has the closest quality to The Patissier's top-notch cakes.

hope that helps! if anyone disagrees, speak up - i LOVE talking about wedding cakes, they're so pretty, haha! we haven't even started talking about designs and flavors yet!!!

Hi hi dewberry!
Thanks! Psst... tell you a secret! I started collecting photos of wedding cakes and made it into a powerpoint slide. It cheers me up just looking at them. I love looking at wedding cakes. Haha!

Great info. I will wait till my fiance comes back to Singapore and we'll go cake-tasting. Do bakeries charge for cake tasting.

You know, my latest idea is to make my own wedding favors. Any suggestions? Was surfing the michaels.com website but nothing caught my eye.

Once upon a time, I wanted to make my own wedding cake, or wedding cupcakes too [Martha Stewart website teaches how!]. But I think it might be too stressful.

Hi Roses,

Hee hee! I plan to nake my own cake for my wedding next yr! Going to try it out first. I'm pratty hopeless with cake, never seem to raise! Ha ha ha.. but that's so many yrs ago. Better with cookies though. But will try it out again.

roses - hehe, you've hit on my fav subject... check out the cake gallery pics on
http://weddings.theknot.com/gallery/gallery_results.aspx?gallery=18 and
the photo gallery on http://www.weddingchannel.com as well (sorry, the link is too long to post) the latest issue of modern brides, and martha stewart weddings also has Divine cake content....

make sure you find the perfect photo and bring to your cake hunting excursion... that's what i did and was able to quickly get exact price quotes. hmm, singaporean bakeries are not so customer-savvy, you sort of have to know which bakery is yummy before even approaching them for wedding cake because they don't offer free tasting. even The Patissier wouldn't give me a free tasting till I made my order and deposit, but I insisted on waiting to choose the flavor until i got a free tasting (ha, negotiation skills!) reasons they give is that most wedding cakes are specially designed and flavored according to what's suitable for the frosting that you want, etc... so they need some time to prepare for the tasting. so unless you are choosing a flavor that they sell for everyday use, it's better to choose the design and pick a reputable bakery, so you're sure of the quality. we had no regrets about The Patissier, everyone was ooh-ing and aah-ing the cake display, it was almost too nice to cut up!

i agree that making your own cake might be a bit stressful, and it's hard to control the quality not to mention it's 3 days to your wedding and you've got 1000 other things on your mind... better to DIY the other elements, like how you're going to present the slices of cake, i've seen really pretty cake plate designs with whipped cream, chocolate sauce or raspberry compote.

liz - you are SO brave! hee hee....

hmm, as for wedding favors, those 2 sites above have great ideas and photo galleries to trawl for ideas too.... i actually didn't make mine but brought home tea favors from the States that needed no "making" - www.teaforte.com, snippy used them too (hehe, co-conspirators are we!) other interesting ideas that i considered: lottery tickets slipped into handmade paper envelopes... square metal tins of cookies with nice handmade labels, or chocolate bars with our own designed labels made from japanese origami paper, or custom colored m&amp;m's with our initials on them. the whole thing about favors in my philosophy is not so much what's IN them, as how it's packaged, and whether it fits in nicely with your table or wedding theme. sounds self-centered, but if guests can enjoy the entire "experience" and not just 1 or 2 elements that are nice, then you will have made their day all the more enjoyable. that's why expensive favors don't always convey that special thanks that would be much more heartfelt if they could see you put thought in the choice.

Hi Dewberry

hahaha.. me brave? I have 3 months to practise baking my cake! Ha ha ha... shall see whether it works or not! FH will be my guinea pig! Ha ha ha...

Dewberry,

Thanks! I'll let you know how my cake-hunting adventure develops.

BTW, what is the difference between fondant and buttercream?

TGIF everyone

woohoo, it's Friday again! hope everyone is doing well, it's been quiet on this forum apart from my own rantings.

roses - this post is all for you, hee hee. i'll wait to stay tuned on your progress! so exciting... hmm, okay here goes. as you know there's many types of cake frostings/topping, but just to compare the 2...

fondant is the "hardiest" of the lot, it's a sugarpaste mixture and is well-loved for wedding cakes because of its tendency to seal in all the moisture in cake. my cake stayed wonderfully moist and fresh even though it was sitting under the aircon vents in the middle of the reception room for 4-5 hours. i feel it is the most formal and versatile in terms of design (you can do intricate flowers or shapes and textures with it) those fanciful cakes you see on theknot.com or weddingchannel.com are mostly fondant. in singapore, most of the normal bakeries don't do fondant - the hotel bakeries and specialty bakers will do it... like cheryl shuen and in my case, the patissier. the main thing though is that it doesn't taste as nice as buttercream does, and most people will just eat the cake inside and leave the frosting "skin" on the plate...

buttercream is a softer frosting and the designs you see for buttercream cakes tend towards more simple and classic (not that fondant can't do classic as well!), like smooth surface with piping (lines, curly-cues, scallopped, etc). it's all a matter of taste, as buttercream of course tastes yummier! the main thing to remember about buttercream is that because of the oil content, it will not hold up in our singapore heat for very long, so plan on displaying for limited time before cutting, preferably indoors, and you will not be able to use it as part of your decorations like you saw in my wedding photos. it also cannot be frozen and kept for your first anniversary, if you are intending on observing the western tradition.

as you can tell, i am more partial to fondant, kekeke... but it's so PRETTY! and the thing is, (imho) weddings are a special occasion, and i can buy a buttercream cake anytime to eat from prima deli so why not go all out and do something special, how many times in our lives do we get to pull out all stops and have the cake of your dreams and eat it too?!

hi everyone!!

been busy and haven't had time to post - but have been reading all your posts. all this wedding cake talk is making me hungry! yumz...

dewy
thanks for the informative writeup on fondant vs buttercream! i'm thinking of having freshflowers on my cake. but dunno if the flowers will start wilting in SG heat...

went to try Vera Wang and Elie Saab gowns last Thursday with Ashlee. Quite fun!
the VW gowns were not bad, but not that unique/special (IMO). and all so expensive!!! i think ML gowns are prettier. VW gowns this season seem to be very much like ML's gowns from last year... so suspicious... hmm.. anyways, Ashlee was being cheeky and managed to snap a few photos. heh... the woman couldn't stop her. haha...

ashlee
quick figure out how to d/l e pics from your phone and send to me k? btw, FH says he doesn't like the gown! sheeesh....

hi e! fresh flowers are a great idea, don't worry they won't wilt, lots of brides do it, and if you choose the hardier blooms, it'll last longer than you think... actually fresh flowers may even end up being a cheaper alternative, as you can choose a simpler "background" design for the cake.

eh ashlee and e, share your gown pics leh, i wanna see too!!!

hey e
gown search sounds so fun for you - ooo, elie saab - gossamer elegance, here an elie saab gown sets you back $6000-$8000! go for fresh flowers - much economical than sugar paste and way au naturel (IMHO)- can't wait to see your cake, what flavors/filling are you thinking?

karen
Congratulations girl! wish you lots of love in your marriage! - *crap* I know I'm late in posting this and perhaps you won't check in anymore

Hi dewberry!

Thanks for the information! I'll keep you posted. At the moment, I'm inclined to buttercream cos you said it tastes more yummy than fondant. Taste is very important to me. I'll do some more research on cake designes before seeing the bakers.

Hi e!
I want to use fresh flowers too! I love for the cake to be natural and 'lively'. In fact I want to wear freash flowers in my hair too.

I also don't think that Vera Wang gowns are that unique. I'd love to see the pictures too.

About Dancing...

Hi! Has anyone danced, or planning to dance at your wedding? Is it usually done after the thank you speech that couples give? Do the newly weds just dance one dance and everyone looks on, or do guests join in after a while?

Haven't attended a wedding with dancing so can't really visualise the sequence of events during the reception. Some help please gals

roses
I've never been to a wedding in Singapore/America where guests or couples danced - but here's what i know about typical American weddings (from what I read in MS)

It's called a first dance here and couples either do it immediately after they are announced into the reception venue as Mr and Mrs. or they do it after the main course(s)are served and the DJ plays up the dance tunes. Usually guests would watch the couples' first dance (no one with common sense would want to steal the thunder) before they join in, then the bride may dance with her dad and the groom with his mom, the best man would dance with the maid of honor etc.

hi maddcow,e,dewy, *waves*

liz, roses> oooh how about petit fours instead of cup cakes!! place a couple in a plain box and tie with ribbon (also doubles as a wedding favor muahaha). I was dreaming about making them myself awhile back. not that I can even bake

roses> as for dancing, make sure you have people lined up to dance! hehe. you know how most singaporeans aren't much into dancing and it's always a little odd when you have to drag ppl up. you can also have the first dance after cake cutting. it's really up to you.