Anyone planning their weddings from overseas?

hi piyo your pics are lovely!!
I really like your gown!!! Must say the embroidery and beading is gorgeous
and it shows up especially well in the pictures. unlike alot of gowns where u can't really see the detail clearly. *sigh* the train is beautiful too *swoons*. Bet you must be excited to wear it again. Did you have to do any alterations? Should try to hand carry the gown(ask hubby to do it lah hehe), otherwise might be damaged leh. Trans atlantic flights the cabins are bigger so they should have room for you to hang it somewhere. *crosses fingers*

missy make sure you pack it properly
hehe ..no didn't take any pics leh. unfortunately. The link I included in my earlier posts is how the WG will look. The EG is a modified CS (halter and low back) with full lace overlay. I love it!! hehe

harlow snipsnap! haha..thank you. Its actually from Davids Bridal. Yeah i did alterations here so that i can take the photoshoot. My my, its SOOOO expensive. If i can, i would rather do it in Singapore.
Hmm...I will try to see if I can carry on hand. Think I better call the airline to check before i do that. If not, probably have a suitcase just for the gown so that it doesn't get crushed too badly. Oh yeah, i tried to access the link that you sent earlier on, can't seem to see the gown that you mention. Do we have to sign up or something?

Katgrrl, i sent you the link! enjoy....

Piyo, you can definitely hand carry your gown on the plane. I brought my gown from canada to france that way. have a proper gown laundry bag (i believe David's Bridal should have provided that) and hand carry it. once you're on the plane, ask the stewardess to hang it up for you.

no matter if you hand carry or put it in your luggage, you should send the dress to a dry cleaner to steam it before wearing.... it will look much nicer. hope this helps. :-)

Thanks for the tip on steaming, Sannie! I'll be bringing my gown to Spore from Helsinki.

btw, does anyone know of any good dry clearner who can clean a wedding gown? I wonder if there's a special process/way of cleaning the gown.

Hi KatGrrl, thanks for your advice, i will go & buy a waterproof bag for my gown. are you going to have a reception instead of a wedding dinner? i see you have book Raffles hotel for your wedding. hmm... i don't know if there's a special way of cleaning gown. i did bring my ROM gown to the laundry
218580.gif
before, not sure how they do it
218581.gif

<font color="0000ff">Snippy,</font> yah yah
218584.gif
totally agree with you, Piyo's WG train is soooo beautiful. i also intend to find a WG that has a long train, its just so lovely.

forgot to tell you all something. we have confirm our WD, its 19 Nov 05 (which happens to be our ROM date) but right now, i'm having a BIG headache. i'm in the midst of booking my banquet with Hotel New Otani but the F&amp;B management told me there's already a tentative booking for that day. they will ask the guest to confirm their booking. I hope they cancel their booking, then i can go ahead &amp; reserve that day. coz i really like my WD &amp; i don't want to go through the hassle of finding a date again.

snippy and missy: thank you for your compliments on my gown. looks like missy and myself luv long trains. Missy, you must start to source for back up choices now that hotel new otani is tentatively booked. Its usually almost 85% chance that the other couple will take it. That way, higher chance of having your WD on Nov 19, 2005. =)

sannie: i will consider your advice. Think I will hog the whole closet on the plane with the dress.

Thanks Piyo for the link. I agree with the girls, u really look very nice!

Missy, yup, no Chinese dinner for us

Have a good week ahead everyone!

Congrats!!!
know what u mean because the venue is such an important aspect of the wedding. Good that u got the place and day u wanted.

missy: Alrite! Tats great! With Otani? Happy for you. So now you can start the real planning. The day will come really fast.

Thanks gals!
220724.gif

yup, my wedding dinner will be held at Otani. the details of the banquet will have to wait till i return to spore to discuss with the F&amp;B manager. at least for now, its one big load off my mind. can take my time to plan for the rest of the wedding.

<font color="ff0000">Piyo,</font> your
220725.gif
is coming huh, bet you must be looking forward to your big day. btw what's the actual date of your wedding? i only know its in Dec.

<font color="0000ff">Katgrrl,</font> how's your wedding prep? must be '7788' right? btw have you had your photoshoot yet?

Name / Based in / WeddingDay / Venue / B.Shop
KatGrrl, Helsinki, Jun05, RH, nil
Suzxie, UK, Feb 05, Raffles Hotel/SVDP Church, nil
Missy, US, Nov 05, Hotel New Otani, Universal Bridal studio

Arlow Missy, mine is:
PIYO, US, 12/12/04, M Hotel, Camellia Haute Couture

Yeap,really looking forward to going home. Have not been more for more than a yr. I miss the food and of cos my family. hahaha...

Missy, no lah... I won't really say it's '7788' yet. But at least I'm not freaking out here
We'll only have the photoshoot 2 weeks before (how to take pix when we haven't even got the gown/suit yet?) Right now, I'm just sitting back and hoping I dun put on too much weight for Christmas!

Piyo, wow, your big day is only about a month away! Dun get stressed out ok? Remember to delegate

hmm...somehow this thread has become silent for a while. +) Time flies, my wedding is in 2 wks time and I am beginning to pack for my trip back to Singapore. Very excited. How are all of you gals doing?

<font color="119911">Hi Piyo!</font> <font size="+2"><font color="aa00aa">Congrats on your big day!!</font></font> <font color="ff6000">Wishing u &amp; your hubby a blissful &amp; everlasting marriage</font>
226983.gif

Hihi Piyo ..wanted to drop in to say congrats!!! Dunno whether you are on the plane back already. Are you going back for good? Must be exciting. I'm sure you will look gorgeous on your wedding day
anyway must share pics once the wedding is over .. u know us lah ... my hobby is looking at other peeps wedding pics and drooling lol

missy ..have a good trip back too! keep us up to date on your plannings!

<font color="ff0000"><font size="+1">Piyo, Congrats!!!</font></font> Have a wonderful trip home and eat all the yummy food....after the wedding!

hi all! thank you for all your well wishes! I have been busy packing as well as working. Flying back on Friday night. 2 more days and counting down!

missy: oh you too? what are your plans when you go back to Singapore?

snipsnap: heehee..i will. Will send you the link of my AD when it is ready. haha..me too, also like to see look at other people's wedding photos. I am only going back for the wedding and also to spend christmas in Singapore. Will be back on Dec 26.

katgrrl: aiyoh, actually i have a long TO EAT list already. Not sure if i can last that long.

hey ladies,

been introduced to check out this forum from a friend. like everyone of you here, I am planning (attempting to) for my wedding from overseas. I will be having my wedding in july 2005 and in a frantic mode, what with an avalanche of deciding wedding reception, wedding outfits, invitation cards, catering, hair, flowers, the list goes on!

Personally, I find it so much more difficult coz I am planning for a malay wedding where resources are limited online. Every bride I know seems to start their planning a year in advance so with xmas looming, technically, I will just have about 6-7 months.

Any suggestions on what I can do to possibly do a kick start will be much appreciated. I am sure I will have a million and one questions ready to be asked but in the mean time, thought I will just introduce myself and hope this forum will still be going on as it sure sounds like I could use alot of help. Perhaps, anyone might know any other malay brides on this spore bride forum planning for a wedding?

Well ladies, have a good weekend and hope to hear from you soon!

:-)

Piyo .. you are just like me
muahahha .. FH and I came up with a list of things we wanted to eat when we went back in Sept so we won't miss out! I must say the Laksa was quite heavenly hee. Wow so you'll only be back for 3 weeks? Sounds hectic. But I'll be facing the same situation next year! Planning on going back for abt 3 weeks for the wedding too ..depending on how long I can take off from work :p Must get some tips from you. Anyway bet you must really excited!!

Hi Sya! Are you planning on making a trip back before the wedding? I went back in Sept to choose a reception location and also to get my gowns made. I won't be going back till my wedding so I'll have to do the rest of the planning from here *gulp*

Let us know what you your wedding preferences .. hotel or outdoor location etc. Maybe we'll have recs. Also I remember seeing a thread on www.femalebridesonline.com regarding planning Malay weddings from overseas (similar situation to yours). If it is not you who posted that question ... you could check it out

Hello Snippy,

because of the short period of time I will not be able to make a trip back to s'pore. it is a shame as it will be really handy if that is possible...due to work commitments and the limited number of holidays, i'll have to scrap the idea of going back before the wedding.

my mom and my two aunts will be coming to visit me sometime in march and get my measurements, so i will be able to pick out designs for the traditional outfits from magazines. abit tricky for the 'sunday' traditional outfits as we usually rent those out so I'll figure that one out later. the good news is, i have my wedding gown and all it needs now is some minor alterations. so yay to that! :-)

my main problem will be the reception as three hotels i've emailed have yet to reply back. i don't know if it is because they are busy or just not bothering but with the time constraint, i really cannot afford to be fussy. for the hotel reception, we won't be having alot of guests say max 160 and have listed three hotels we would love to have our reception at. Traders, M Hotel and Royal Plaza (on scotts rd)... i think it's called royal plaza, heh i could be wrong about that one. we wanted to try grand hyatt but alot of people have said how unaccommodating they can be and from the sounds of it all, their minimum number of tables will be 20 and above.

any recommendations about hotels? i would love to hear it from you. so when are you having your wedding? are you all set and geared up for it? :-D is anyone of you having a themed/colour themed wedding?

Hi Sya,

Welcome to the forum &amp; thread!
Dun worry, 6-7 mths is possible to plan a wedding. Most gals start a year ahead because well, u know we're typically quite kan-cheong (excitable) on this matter. If u'd like to seek the opinion of other malay brides, why not start a thread on it?

If u could ask a friend/mum to send u the latest Brides magazine from Spore, u could get some ideas on reception venues &amp; stuff. U could also enlist the help of your mum and aunts to do any of the legwork for u if emails don't work. Mine has been wonderful e.g. in calling up the MUA (make up artists), prices of this &amp; that etc I'm sure they'd be very willing to help if u let them know what u want

I'm also going for a small reception in June next year. I think if u wanna try Hyatt, do contact them still. If your event isn't going to be on a weekend evening, their minimum number may not be 20 tables. In any case, that may only be applic to chinese banquets. Have u considered Grand Copthorne Waterfront or even the zoo? I heard that the decor at the zoo was done up really beautifully http://www.zoo.com.sg/wedding/main.htm

Piyo &amp; Snippy,
just like me!!! We made a long list of food that we MUST makan when we went back. Actually...I'm not sure if I'd be able to hold myself back when I go back a mth before the wedding next year. ...my biggest fear is, what IF I can't get into my dress??? Argh!

hi ladies! sya with a smaller party you can actually have a wedding at the less traditional venues! lucky gal
Have you taken a look at places like burkhill hall or the art museum? (I haven't actually seen these IRL but the concept seems cool!!) The only problem I could see with these places is that unlike a hotel you'll have to arrange for food and decor seperately. Not sure how it'll work especially since you aren't in town. Guess the preparations will have to be taken care of by family and friends
For hotels, I also like Raffles Hotel. Mhotel is nice too..love the modern decor. btw I had the same issue with the wedding coordinators...slow to respond. I had to be really pushy just to get to view the place while I was home for 2 weeks :p perhaps you can try calling them instead.

wow do you have a pic of your wedding gown?
Us kaypoh girls would love to see ..erh actually I'm just speaking for myself here. hehe. I'm sure its really lovely! Is your fiance with you in london too?

As for themes and colors ..I think I might go with deep brown and baby blue or lilac
what about you girls? and no I am not even close to being done with planning. in fact I am not far from where I left off 2 months ago. katgrrl ... hey thought you'd know the answer to this
what weight cake would you need per 100 guests? Trying to figure out how heavy a cake I need and the cost. Or do they usually cater by number of people? Most of the quotes seem to be by weight though.

Hello girls,

funny that you've mentioned about the art musuem coz i was just looking at their website last night. I am playing with that idea at the moment. only thing is, i've noticed that we need to vacate the place by 11pm. there i was thinking maybe we could have some dancing and what not. ;-)

the catering side shouldn't be a problem (i say it now but could change as the plan progresses). I've managed to go through the other threads and many have recommended a few good catering company which also includes great presentation. to me, i think presentation is a factor for me.

my fiance is a classical musician so we are going with that as a theme..so colors will be black and white or just pure white with a tint of red (coz i'd love baccarrat roses for my bouquet). so far, i've decided on chocolate cake but still looking around for a good baker. so many decisions to make!

how lucky yo get to go home! i'll take a picture of the gown as soon as I can. it is at my mother-in-law's at the moment. will have the picture after new year and will post it up.

ps:we are based on the south west coast of england in dorset, town is called Poole. yea, pretty close to London but minus the hectic life. :-)

Sya, cool! Classical musician! Does he play the cello? It's my fav instrument.. I'm a fan of classical music
and I think the black&amp;white theme or that of white &amp; red sounds really nice. U know, 1 way to incorporate your theme into your wedding is to have a real wedding cake. U could have a cake with music notes running through! I've got some research done on wedding cakes (as Snipy can testify hehe), so if u need it, just let me know
My wedding cake will be chocolate filled with white choc &amp; strawberries

Oh, how about Chijmes as well? i'm with Raffles hotel.. and my theme's pink &amp; white. Yah, so uncreative huh?

Snippy, the weight of your cake will depend on the flavour &amp; type of icing u choose. For example, if u want a fruit cake, that's normally the heaviest i.e. the dearest (reason being, it's a lot richer &amp; has a lot more stuff in there). But if u go with an ordinary cake such as butter or carrot, prices will be somewhat lower.

Secondly, on the question of icing. U can either choose to ice it with butter cream or fondant. The former will be much cheaper as it's generally easier &amp; cheaper to do. The former is more modern but again, it adds to the weight &amp; cost because fondant is basically made of sugar and is more expensive. So it all depends on what you want.

If u want to get an idea, I've got a couple of quotations from The Patissiere. Pls let me know... Not sure if I'm repeating this but the size of a wedding cake slice is usually about 1-1.5" because it's usually quite high and rich (unless u're going with a sponge cake iced with cream arranged on columns). That's quite small, luckily for us
For yours, I think a cake for 100 may cost at least $650-750.

sya perhaps you can negotiate with them about the closing time ... or take the party else where
as I've seen at most weddings, many of the older guests would be gone by 11 anyway. classical musician? *wheels turning in head* does he have friends who can perform? it'll be so fancy to have a quartet or something play during the wedding or cocktail hour! or if he plays a song for you!! lol.. Love your theme though ..as for me ..still working on mine *sigh*! BTW how long have you been in England? Were you studying there before? Was there to visit friends last year ... the british accent is so cute

$650-750?? OUCH ..and i have more than a hundred guests too
good thing I don't like fruit cake. Choos or wedding cake HRMMMM. Heheh anyway I'm looking for a really simple design. Round shaped with white frosting, fresh flowers on the top and maybe a ribbon trim going round each layer.

BTW Do fondant and butter cream look the same when applied to the cake? I want a more matte shiny finish (not sure if that makes sense) like the cakes on martha stewart weddings *blush*.

How's it going girls?

yeah, my fiance (Ben) is a cellist and I have to admit that it did take me some time to appreciate classical music. whilst he is still 'educating' me with the many wonderful classical pieces, i am still trying to convince him that sometimes it is just nice listening to mainstream music. our debates on commercialised music can go on forever, but hey that's a different story altogether. ;-)

we met when we were both in Uni. he was doing his degree in classical music and i was doing a degree in business studies. that makes me being in england for a total of 4 years and a half. our relationship developed after my return from america where i was doing a summer placement (and travelling) in the States. ours wasn't one of those love at first sight moments but group dates and loads of hanging out together kinda progressed into a more serious relationship. what about you ladies? how did your love story come about? what brings you to the other part of the world? ....i know katgrrl is in Helsinki, whereabouts in the US are you at Snippy?

i've got half a day off work tomorrow so i've decided after my x'mas shopping (if i do get round to it, that is), i am going to email the people at the singapore art museum. my mom keeps telling me not to panic but the bridezilla in me cannot help but. :-) bear in mind, she still has got to get booking for the traditional sunday malay wedding reception.

what i've only realised recently, not many weddings have real cakes at their wedding. i spoke to a friend back home (golly gosh, she's been to more weddings than anyone i've ever known) and she said that having a real wedding cake is uncommon. but i do think due to general consensus in the other threads as well as this one, there are many s'pore brides who would like a real wedding cake. to be honest, i've always thught the cake they have at hotel weddings are real! :-) which brings down to my question, how difficult was it for you KatGrrl, to find someone to make your dream wedding cake? I would love for you to list the recommendations. have you done any cake tasting yet?

i've always thought of having a wedding cake..nothing too fancy or extravagant. just a yummylicious chocolate filling with white cream/fondant on the outside. i am torn trying to choose which design as there are so many designs i truly love! that's right, Snippy think Martha Stewart. ;-)

we did think of getting our friends to play at our wedding but we don't know or don't dare to ask, if they would bring their instruments with them. we want them to play but don't want to cause inconvenience. also, alternatively we do like the idea of having a jazz band....or just use our Ipod and play the list of songs the whole entire night. if things do go on budget (and as planned!), after the small reception, we'd like to rent out another small club/lounge and have a private after party.

all these plans but no action.....don't be surprise if after the new year, i end up changing them all over again. hahahhaha oh dear! i am just getting on abit here.. i am just so happy to have found you girls! yeehaw!!

Sya, it's a very warm story how u &amp; Ben got together. opposites attract! Cool

Yeah, real wedding cakes aren't the norm in Spore but I find it farcical to be putting a knife through a fake cake only to pose for the camera. What's the significance of that anyhow? Anyhow, I want my cake and eat it too

oh yes, Martha Stewart the doyenne of style..sigh... Snippy, if u want a "matte" finish (hmmph, isn't "matte" &amp; "shiny" opposite from each other?), u probably want fondant as it's smooth &amp; satiny.

Here's a cake
your_image.gif
that is pretty close to what you want. Incidentally, it's from The Patissiere. Fyi, the sizes are:
1st Tier – 4”(w)x2”(h)
2nd Tier – 7”(w)x 2”(h)
3rd Tier – 10”(w)x2”(h)
(find 2" a little too low

Costs $300 for a 5kg Orange Citrus Butter Cake &amp; $525 for a 7.5kg Brownie. U probably have to up the above sizes to feed 100 guests.

The 2nd cake below is also by The Patissiere
your_image.gif
. Costs $480 for a 5kg Orange Citrus Butter Cake &amp; $705 for a 7.5kg Brownie.

Finally, here's 1 more cake to whet your appetite.
your_image.gif
Thought it's pretty close to what u want. It's from the Wedding Channel
<u>All cakes above are iced in fondant</u>

And the difference between buttercream &amp; fondant is:

<ul>[*]Buttercream can be flavoured almost any way you please (vanilla, mocha, lemon, mango, passion fruit..) and can be easily dyed. Buttercream can be refrigerated, but it is not recommended in very hot weather because of its high content in butter, which may melt. <LI>Fondant is made from glucose or corn syrup and shortening, and it holds up well on a warm day. A cake covered in fondant has a smooth, satiny look that drapes and clings beautifully. It will seal in the freshness of a cake for several days, and lends itself to ornate decoration. A cake covered in rolled fondant cannot be refrigerated and will therefore limit the fillings you choose.[/list]
And here's a list of bakers who are able to do your dream cake in Spore.

Pine Garden
9622 0449/ 64576159 Wei Chan
529 Ang Mo Kio Ave 10 #01-2369/ #01-2329 S(560529)

Cake Avenue
http://www.cakeavenue.com/
6877-9008 Natalie Koh
426 Upper Bukit Timah Road, The Rail Mall. Singapore 678053.

Cake 0asis
http://www.cakexxx.com/ (replace xxx with Oasis)
94865398 Joanna
24 Linden Drive
Singapore 288696
$10 delivery

The Patissier
http://www.thepatissier.com/webtop/Browse/weddingcakes.phtml
Siang Oon
6220 5565

Cheryl -Shuen
Google for website (remove -)

I went with Cheryl because I found her designs to be beautiful &amp; I was able to meet her to create the design I wanted
Joanna of Cake 0asis was also good but I found her a little pricy. I also tried Cake Avenue's butter &amp; choc cakes... Hmmm...yummmm... but they weren't so big on cake design though. Gosh, this has been an awfully long reply. Till the next time!

It's really comforting to find this thread cos I feel lost and need lots of advise for my wedding in Sep/Oct'05. To all the gals out there with your pilot h2b, how do u pass your time? I was so bored and lonely when I first came to London, until I found a job!!!

Suzxie, just 2 mths to your wedding!!! R u getting all anxious now? Congrats...

As to my worries, hope someone can answer my list of qns.

WG
Did all of u buy your gown? I was thinking of renting in SG cos buying in UK is very ex and a waste since i won't wear it again

If u made yours in SG, is there enough time for fitting? I will be back for CNY (2 weeks) and maybe 1-2 weeks b4 the wedding day

How do u decide where to get your gown? I only have 2 weeks in SG to settle every wedding arrangement, so don't have too much time to look look see see

Photos
Suzxie, did u take your photos in UK? I wanted a day of photo taking in diff scenic places, which is the common thing in SG. But the photographers in UK seem to only take AD and venue and will charge base on the number of locations that I go!

Banquet
Am looking at Fullerton, but very ex. So not decided yet. When's the tong shu coming out. I am not fussy about dates, but don't want to compete for availability with those who r looking at tong shu

MTan,UK, Sep/Oct'05,Deciding on Hotel/STC Church, nil

Katgrrl,

am so loviiin' your work! :-) wow, you must have done loads of research on just cakes alone. thank you for the list of recommendations. it is really useful coz i've just emailed my sister and told her to go and check them out as soon as possible. she can have the priviledge of tasting the cakes and since we both have the same taste especially on food, i think i can trust her on that one.

i've seen alot of cake designs but this one catches my heart as it describes me in every essence! :-) http://www.weddingcakes.com/shoe.html i know it looks go0rgeous yet unpractical but if anything else, i think it will be quite funny if i do. on a more practical note, like i've said before, i'd probably go with something simple. i am curious to see which cake design will be appropriate for my dream yummylicious chocolate cake.

Mag (hope you don't mind me calling you that), hello! i've only just joined this thread myself and have managed to get excellent constructive ideas. Luckily for me, my partner's mum paid for my dress. it is a very simple dress but still in need of alterations on the top half. skinny girl with small boobies needs alot of work on her dress! :-)

i know what you mean by photos. it is more common for the photographers here in england to do actual day as they feel that it captures everybody emotions better. for that kind of service alone is rather expensive let alone for a specific location shoot. what we intend to do is to get my partner's brother to take just a few pictures for us digitally around where we live and get a friend of mine to do touch ups and then have it developed. we figured we will not be needing alot of pictures as we will be having our proffessional pictures taken back home in SG.

lucky for you, you have the two weeks in singapore to plan everything (well as much as you can). you will most likely be able to achieve alot more when you come home to visit. how long have you been in london for?

hi again ladies! sya I'm in Boston..where were you when you were in the US? I met my fiance while in Singapore on vacation while we were both going to school here (though in different states). Nothing too exciting ;-)kat thanks for the pics! Wasn't thinking when I was writing the post hehe
... the first and last cakes are sort of like what I want. Like the shape of the last cake better, the first cake seems kinda smooshed! hehe. Sya was browsing for cakes and found this one that seems to fit the theme for your wedding! (as you can see I also have a thing for polka dots hehe)anyhow did you get to your x'mas shopping?

229699.jpg

Mag, i'm quite skinny and petite by US standards (tho I am a small/medium at home hehe go figure) and always have problems finding dresses that fit me on top. So I'm having my WG and EG made in Singapore by Dang Bridal. I also made the decision in 2 weeks, like u will have to
I narrowed down a list of designers I wanted to go see while in singapore. Bear in mind though that you should make an appt before going to sg. Some Bridal salons are pretty booked up (even tho I have no idea why they cant' squeeze in an appt :p). Bridal Veil and silhouette and Dang were on my list. Sil told me straight out there was no way they could produce a gown in such a short time but at least they were nice about it. BV made me wait a week for my appt with them and then told me to extend my stay by a week so i could get my gown made ...rite....anyway i was pleased with Dang's service and she even did a first fitting for me before i left. I got to see the skeletons of both my gowns and she turned it around very fast. For me having the gown made was much cheaper than buying it here since all the gowns I liked were at least US2k

as for photography, many sg photographers organize overseas packages in Europe so u might want to check them out. u'll save on the travelling costs
I believe they will be much cheaper than hiring a good photographer in the UK. Learnt that good photographers here charge an arm and a leg and you would get almost comparable quality for less going with a singaporean photographer.

alrite i've babbled on for too long
will write again later

I'm back!!! (after having fell off the face of the planet for a while.. trying to stay ontop of job, family, wedding and Xmas demands).

Hi mag, yes I was super anxious - had 2 quarrels already with my volunteers- mum and sis in Singapore- (I was told not to be a bridezilla, not to micromanage and let them get on with it). So after venting, had a chill pill, made up and all ok now. (I sent a peace offering of flowers and a cake via www.noel.com.sg - I am also using it to send Xmas presents back home.)

So I am now adopting (or trying to!) a Zen approach to the wedding. So what if everything goes wrong on my wedding day and someone forgot to appoint the caterers? Burger King will still be open! I am prepared to roll with it and see the funny side. Of course, a glass or 2 of champagne on the actual morning (and throughout the day) will not go amiss!

For WGs, I am huge by Singapore standards (UK size 18, I blame my Peranakan heritage
) and knew that I could not find anything in Singapore in my size. So I have got mine in UK in the summer sales (Monsoon.. light fabrics perfect for hot weather. Mine was reduced from £250 to £75, what a bargain!!) You might want to try the post Christmas sales in January which are very good.

For Photos, I did not want posed pictures so sorry mag, can't help you there either. SnipSnap's suggestion of getting a Singapore photographer to do your posed shots is an excellent one.

Banquet: Dont know when the tongshu comes out but my parents told me not to bother - which was a surprise as they are usually supersitious. I think they were just happy I was getting married in the first place.

I have now DIY'ed my wedding invites and have Fedex'ed back to Singapore. Feeling pleased as people do seem to like them. Also excited to receive my first online RSVP .. yipeee! It works! If anyone wants to have a look at our website, it is:

http://www.theknot.com/ourwedding/sueong&amp;laurencebarrett

I am now finalising:
- mass booklets (readings, hymns and liasing with the choir at home and sister-in-law who will be soloist);
- Singapore accomodation - for UK and Malaysia contingent.
- hair and makeup person
- entertainment/jazz band and music
- alcohol quantities and suppliers.

Phew! That is my progress update so far.

Hope you girls are keeping well and things aren't too mad in the run up to Christmas and wedding prepartions! Take care and speak to you girls later!

Hi gals, TGIF!

Suzxie, excellent website! Boy, u must be getting excited
Yeah, I know what u mean by micromanaging and Bridezilla, I've all the makings of 1. But u're right, it's absolutely essential to adopt a cavalier attitude on the AD if we want to enjoy it... Let's face it, if the flowers turned out the wrong colour or the caterer got the wrong order, it'd be too late to fret, wouldn't it?

Snippy &amp; Sya, hahaha! I love the picture of your 'shoe boxes', Sya! Manolo Blahnik! how about Jimmy Choo as well?
Incidentally, my cake design's one of stacked gifts.. with the top tier made to look like a Tiffany box. It will be such a laugh! But seriously, a wedding cake design is as individual as u(&amp; your FH), so I'm sure u'll be able to find 1 that 'speaks' to u.

Mag, don't worry.. with a little planning and help from us, u'd be able to plan your wedding successfully even if u're away most of the time... like us!

<u>WG</u>, it IS possible to MTM your gown even with your tight schedule. As Snippy mentioned, there are bridal shops that can do it. The trick perhaps is to arrange for an appointment even before u arrive in SG; perhaps your mum/friends can help? An alternative is to find a tailor. When I was back in Sept, I was on the verge of signing up with a lady who could make a shell for me in a week and have the finished product ready (including 2 fittings) 2 weeks before the wedding. The only thing is, u may have to have a good idea of what u want. The plus side is that she's charging less than $900. If u're keen, let me know

<u>Photography</u> The notion of hiring a photographer in Helsinki didn't even cross our minds..it's just too darn expensive! But we're having our studio &amp;outdoor shots done in SG 2 weeks before the wedding.

<u>Tongshu</u> not sure about this, but my mum did find some dates for me since Sept.

<u>Hair &amp; make up</u> u may also want to trawl this forum for recommendations, find out their rates, shortlist a couple &amp; ask your mum to make the appointment for u. That's what I did and managed to find a MUA in 2 weeks after 2 trials...1 of whom made me look like a 7th month artiste.

I'll also be DIYg our invites..courtesy of the laser printer in his office :P

Harlow Gals
Thanks a bunch for your tips. The wedding cakes that u gals are having have really inspired me to think about mine.

I will do without photography in UK for now. Saves the trouble of looking for MUA here and also in SG. Planning for everything in SG itself is enough work.

Suzxie - U have done your best in preparing, so just lie back, relax and look forward to that big day. I will be very excited to get an online RSVP, when my time comes too.

KatGrrl - Yes, can u give me the contacts of your WG tailor. ([email protected])

Yeah... it's the weekend. Will be spending my time surfing the web for more wedding stuff.

Enjoy

KatGrrl: Thanks.. yes words of wisdom re chilling out. I am trying!! I may have to go to Helsinki next week for work. Cool
Any tips on where to go?

Mag: thanks for your words of wisdom as well. I'm sure you'll have many online RSVPs!!

Also excited that I've also just book our accomodation in Singapore for 2 weeks.. we are a party of 8 or so from UK, (us, H2B's parents, immediate family), so I've found a nice and relatively cheap serviced apartment for the duration (S$260+5%GST per day, sleeps 8): http://www.lotus-sanctuary.com.sg/LotusSanctuary/Jervois/Photos.aspx

If anyone is thinking of doing a similar thing, .. book your accomodation etc this year as rates for most things go up on 1 Jan 05.

Catch everyone later!

Cool!
Hmmm..Finnish design is quite nice e.g. Marimekko (fashion), iittala (crockery &amp; cutlery) and Aarikka. Foodwise, u can get Fazer chocs, mustard or sausages. For sausages, make sure they are either Grade A or ">70% liha" (liha =meat). (Sausages are all time fav for my family/friends in Spore)

To eat out, try Lappi (http://www.lappires.com/) in downtown Helsinki for traditional Lappish/Finnish food. A little pricy but u've to try the reindeer stew for instance. Another restaurant alternative is Via (http://www.viaravintola.com/), also downtown. They serve fusion (east meets west), very stylish yet 1 of the more affordable ones. König (http://www.ravintolaopas.net/konig/) is also another nice restaurant where u can sample Finnish fare.

Traditional food includes herring, Chanterelle (mushroom) soup or pasta, Reindeer stew on a bed of mash and lingonberries, Karelian stew (beef &amp; pork), Cabbage rolls with lingonberries, Gravilohi (or Gravad Lax in Swedish aka salted salmon), chunky Salmon soup and for dessert, Juustoleipä (baked Lappish cheese eaten with Arctic cloudberries). I believe u should be able to get some of them at König or Lappi.

Berries &amp; mushroom feature a lot in Finnish cuisine because they are abundant during summer &amp; fall...and every family stocks up freezer loads of blueberries, black&amp;red currants or cloudberries which are found only in the Arctic region. And 1 of the most prized mushrooms is the chanterelle which has a slight buttery taste. There's also another one..which I can't remember the name..it's black, looks like a brain and is 'poisonous' until u boil it 3 times

ps. weather for Helsinki is at www.fmi.fi/weather/local.html?neito=lumi&amp;kunta=Helsinki It's a pity that all snow has melted away because winter hasn't really stuck on. Bring a scarf nonetheless. Have fun!

Hi Katgrrl

Thanks for the tips.. Finnish food sounds extremely yummy and exotic! Reindeer stew?? How could they do that to Rudolph?!

On reading your posts above on wedding cake (very good research.. cakes look delicious), I remember a conversation I had with Jenn Chen of Raffles who told me that Raffles does not allow us to serve external food at the wedding. If "real" wedding cake is to be served, it has to be made by Raffles' chefs and based on my guest numbers (200 people), she estimated that a real wedding cake would cost about S$1000 (although this would vary according to design and size).

She said Raffles did not allow external food to be served on the basis that if there is a food poisoning incident, it would not be clear which food would have caused the incident and they did not want to be implicated. (I did point out to her that this was inconsistent with our ability to bring in external liquor subject to corkage charges as a food poisioning outbreak might just as well be caused by poisoned/off wine. I don't think my comment went down very well - no pun intended!
). Maybe you want to check this out (if you haven't done already)?

Hello to all other gals on this thread!! How are your wedding preps coming along?!!

Hi Suzxie,

Exellent point u made about off wine there. I can see why u're in Legal.
I did check with them regarding the cake, a policy which I thought was unflexible and unreasonable considering that Raffles wasn't exactly able to meet my needs on this matter (ta-da! Bridezilla in me speaking). I was able to ascentain this point after a discussion I had with Raffles' pastry chef (cute French).. they didn't have the expertise to make flowers from sugar paste. So basically, I'd to sign an indemnity form waiving RH of liability from food poisoning.

But Jenn's right, a real wedding cake for 200 guests or so will cost about $1000. However, if u really want your cake and eat it, there's a way to manage this cost. Have a smaller 3 tier cake (which will cost <$500) and several smaller cakes iced in a similar fashion on the side. This way, when the cake's served to guests as dessert, they won't know whether it came from the 'main' cake u'd cut or one that was 'behind the scene'.

Ooooh...but reindeer's delicious!
besides the stew, u could also bring back reindeer salami (poro = reindeer) for your sandwiches /pasta back home. Reindeer meat is very lean &amp; has a game flavour....if u aren't skirmish about poor ol' Rudolph

Hi ladies! Suzxie love your theknot wedding site
very cute! I'm thinking of setting up a wedding website and blog too ..hah but the keyword here is 'thinking'. Anyway thanks also for the link to the service apartments...very useful!! Have several relatives who will be extending their stay in singapore for a month as a wedding/vacation kinda thing so that will come in very handy!!

katgrrl..aren't you having your wedding at Raffles Hotel too? Suzxie good point about the wine
hah well obviously they'll allow anything that brings them revenue. the concept of $30 for opening a bottle of wine is ridiculous to me. but I guess its me vs all hotels and restaurants in singapore!

seriously wow Finnish food sounds amazing ..... *droools*

Hiya Snipsnap.. thanks! On serviced apartments, we also checked out Riverside View (older development 7 years)/Century Square, both managed by Far East Organisation (3bed for S$1700 a week).. see http://www.fareastsvcapts.com.sg/ There are other more central apartments but more expensive of course.. a list is at http://www.moveandstay.com/singapore/servicedapartments.asp - Better to find the apartments you want from the website and contact the development directly, as it is cheaper than booking through that website.

Hi Katgrrl, my first trip to Finland!! Excited!! Unfortunately it is mostly a fly-in and fly out visit.. but if you are free this Thurs afternoon (not working!), want to meet up for a coffee? Let me know! My email is [email protected]

On wedding prep matters, just spoke to my catholic priest who said that H2B has to write back to the church where he was baptised to get a new extract of his baptism cert to prove that he has not been married before in the catholic church. Eeeks!! H2B baptised in a church in Africa (Lilongwe in Malawi). Don't know whether the paperwork will come through for Feb. *Worry....*

Hello girls!

So, I’ve told my parents the idea about having our wedding reception in Singapore Art Musuem. I don’t think they are keen on that idea. Still trying to convince them that it will be slightly be more cost effective as catering can be much cheaper than the ones in a hotel. We’ve scraped the idea of having a marquee as two quotes we’ve got so far are in the $8000 range.

My parents will be going round the singapore art musuem to have a look and once they’ve given the ‘ok, why not’ sign, I will give them an email to confirm our place. * fingers crossed * On a different note, much to my delight I have done most of my christmas shopping. Woohoo! Only three people left on the gift list, two of them for ben’s parents and the other is for the next part of Ben’s. I got Little Britain tickets which we are both a fan of so am really thrilled about those! What about the rest of you ladies? Sorted out your christmas shopping yet?

Loving the wedding website idea too! Ben and I have been working on ours and goodness how many times we’ve changed our colours and font of the site. Hahha why is that not a surprise ;-) We wanted to sent out save-the-date cards but decided to incorporate the save-the-date, rsvp and details and information for out of town guests in regards to the wedding, all on the site. It is not going to be the best looking site but hopefully will be ‘informative’. I’ve been on a search for rented accommodations so that link came in pretty handy. Thanks for that!

Any of you ladies using real flowers for your reception? Or will you be using silk flowers? Which florists will you be using? I think I am going to buy the floewers and will be arranging them ourselves.

On to another question, I am assuming majority of you have got your phtographers. What kind of questions did you ask when speaking to your photographer? What are the things I should ask or look into more detail? Anyone of you brides know anybody who had to pay loads for a copy of their negatives? Will you be wanting to keep your negatives? What I am also worried about is because I will not be ablet o meet the photographer in advance and build a ‘relationship’ with him/her, I wonder if I should be worried about how the photos will turn out…. Or how the photographer is going to work on that day? Hope I’m making some sense here…

Hi Suzxie,

Thanks for sharing your research on serviced apartments! I'm pretty sure I/We will be needing it some time in the future.
Unfortunately, I won't be available this Thurs. I've got a course in the afternoon, and on Friday, an exam and the arrival of my kid brother in Helsinki! And in the meantime, there are Christmas presents to contend with &amp; getting the house in order for my family (parents will arrive a couple days later)...argh, I'm positively stressed out.

Snippy, agree totally with you on the corkage charges...except that with RH, it's $42 after all the taxes. We wanted to serve dessert wine instead of red, but thought otherwise now.

Sya, I'll be using real flowers at the reception..primarily because the hotel is providing for it. If u are DIYg the flowers, firstly, try to get them from the wholesaler as they'd be cheaper. Secondly, u gotta know that it'd be a Lot of work and since they can only be done the day before, make sure it's not u but someone else doing it
(U'll also need what the professionals use - 'Cut Flowers preservative' that makes the flowers last longer...I read up on flower arrangments when I was toying with the idea of making my bouquets...but ditched the idea soon enough)

As for the Photographer, I shortlisted a couple through their websites and had them ranked independently by my FH and me. Coincidentally, our #1 &amp; 2 choices were the same. Went to talk with photographer #1, hit off immediately and decided to engage him
It's the Pond btw.

What to look out for: total cost of package of course (inc prints, proofs, negatives etc) &amp; his/her style. We didn't exactly build a 'relationship' either because everyone was so busy.. what will be important is the pre-shoot discussion where the itinerary &amp; stuff will be discussed. Negatives wise, the great thing about Ngiap Heng (Pond) is that all of them are returned. wonderful. And btw, what most couples don't realize is that copyright actually belongs to them [s30(c) below] and that being the copyright owner of the works would mean that they have ownership of the negatives, digital files and proofs unless otherwise stated in the agreements between the parties involved. I wonder how many folks have actually brought this up

<u>Section 30 of the Copyright Act of Singapore</u> provides that the owner of the copyright is :
a) the creator of the work;
b) the employer, if the work was created in the course of employment unless there is an agreement to the contrary;
c) the person who commissions a non-portrait photograph, portrait, engraving or print for valuable consideration (which has been paid) unless there is an agreement to the contrary.
d) the person depicted in the portrait for commissioned portrait photographs. The photographer can only use the commissioned
portrait photograph within the terms of the agreement between him and the person in the portrait. In the absence of an agreement, he cannot use the photograph without prior permission of the person in the portrait; or
e) some other party, if the original owner has transferred his or her rights.