Anyone planning their weddings from overseas?

hi ladies..wow there are actually quite a few of us eh?
suzxie ..wow that sounds like one cool wedding! It's funny that your mom is still insisting on the dinner and stuff after 4 years hehe. But after the stress of planning is over, I'm sure it'll be another great experience! So what venues are you looking at?

tootsie...grand copthorne sounds nice!! (haha 'sounds' coz i havne't seen it) keep us posted if you ladies have picked out anything already hehe. I'll do the same.

piyo..where are you in the US? close to me perhaps ;) wow the date is coming up soon!? congrats!!! can you let us know more details about the wedding? has your wedding planner been helpful/effective? where did you get your dress?

Hi Girls!

How exciting to find other overseas brides to be! I am not in the exact same boat though, am actually from Sydney but living in SG.
But I feel the same way about the hassles of organising a wedding so far away.

Hey Jen, how are you enjoying life in Syd? heard its pretty freezing down there at the moment. Will you be buying your wedding gown in Syd or come back to SG? I have ordered my wedding gown here but am organising everything else over the internet
And also, with help from family and friends.

Snippy Snappy, that Vera Wang backless dress is beautiful!

Anyway, my fiance's firm has booked the Grand Copthorne for their end of year dinner and dance. He said its quite nice and pretty big. Just in case you want an objective view tootsie

Hi again everyone!

snippy.. yes, my mom is determined to make an honest woman of me!
. Sorry, don't know about copthorne .. are there any other venues you have in mind? We're having our church blessing/tea ceremony on Sat 12 Feb and after some hard bargaining with the hotel (I love freebies!), I'm just about to sign up with Raffles Hotel for dinner on Sun 13 Feb (Valentines eve)! We were looking at the Zoo/Bird park, Conrad, Fullerton, Singapore Art Museum, Alkaff mansion, Sentosa beach, Les Amis in Botanic gardens.. (any of these appeals?) Finally went for Raffles as it is iconic and has a great blend of Singapore & English influences (my HB is English so it kinda makes sense!) It also has that wow factor for both Singaporeans and foreigners alike
I got my mom and sis to go down and give their thumbs up too... I'm just imagining the trees, lights and magic of Raffles at night and I'm so excited!!

tootsie.. where are you in UK? Anywhere near me (Hampshire)? I'm getting my gown in UK.. different fashion and one less thing to worry about when I get back! The Vera Wang gowns are lovely *drool* but I found my wedding gown yesterday in Monsoon in the summer sales... Monsoon does really light gowns which is great for the Singapore heat, and my dress was 70% off. yippeeee! saved a packet!

Giggles.. the internet is a godsend.. don't know what I'll do without it!

janey.. no where near 100% yet!

Still sourcing for invitation cards/photographers/make up or hair people (or DIY?)/church cateror (Kriston?)/jazz singers/disposable cameras/sorting out the schedule of the day/presents for parents.. the list goes on.

girls, any suggestions please?

Hi snipsnap! I am residing in San Francisco together with my hubby. Although we have a wedding planner, there are still alot of things that you've to do on your own i.e. guest list etc. When the time is nearer, I'll let you know how it all turns out. So far, no complains. She actually helped us in the ballroom decor, the day schedule, get a jazz band for us and a professional emcee.
I bought my wedding gown here. Its from the Oleg's collection. You may want to check it out. I like the gown designs here better than in Singapore mainly cos its not MTM. Designs tend to be more intricate and more details to embroidery rather than the MTM gowns in Singapore which tend to be quite plain. Maybe its individual preference but I LUV embroideries and such stuff are expensive if we MTM in Singapore.

Suzxie,
I'm in Merseyside - fiance lives over the irish sea, so my weekends are taken up....will have to make a point to go down and look at some gowns here sometime. So you didn't have a MTM one in UK? One of my mates says to go to Liberty's in London and try their stuff out, then go to Debenhams to get something similar! You'll have to teach me how to do hard bargaining!
We were thinking of Raffles as well, but my cousin's having it there already, so can't really copy him.

Giggles:
The GCW coordinator has been really quick in her reponses, I'm quite impressed....might send the family down to take a look at their facilities soon.

Hi again,

Yeh, cant imagine where to begin planning a wedding if we didnt have the internet. Next best thing to walking into a shop

Tootsieroll, good idea sending the family there for a look..
My fiance said its nice but your family will know whether you'll like it or not. Glad to hear their service is quite good though.

My parents have helped me book my reception place too. Easy for me to choose since its my favourite chinese restaurant.. I let my parents handle the negotiations etc so at least its one less thing to worry about.

I am going to let them handle alot of the stuff and will have to trust them to choose for me.. I hope my photographers turn out ok!! *fingers crossed* am letting my sister help me choose a non-cheesy one. hahaha :P

I am also thinking of flying to Thailand to get things like my fiance's suit made, wedding favours etc. Any of you girls have experience with that? Figure its a holiday packaged as wedding planning. hahaa

hey giggles... your thailand holiday/buying trip sounds lovely! just be careful about getting suits made.. my friend had a tailor make some suits there and was not happy about the design/material. however if you can get a good tailor recommended to you, i don't see any reason why not!

hey tootsie! Lucky you to spend your weekends in ireland... i spent a happy summer there once and love the country! are you relocating to ireland eventually? as for bargain dresses... you could try the january sales in debenhams and monsoons. i've also found confetti.co.uk is pretty good for ideas

Hi suzxie, thanks for the warning! I think one of my fiance's colleagues gets his suits made in Thailand so I'll tell him to take note of the name and location before we go.
Am looking forward to wandering around the markets though i know it will be extra crowded. I am also thinking of getting an evening gown made but I might ask for recommendations for tailors too

Suzxie,

Thanks for the tips! I'll be off to Chester in 2 weeks to do some dress shopping. Can't wait!
FH is trying to look for work in the UK, but I'll move anywhere he moves, although my preferred location is the northwest. We'll see how that goes. I do like ireland, safe, green, laid back and really good education.

Hi Giggles,

Enjoyed my 2 years so far though I really miss the convenience back home. We are getting everthing done here before going back, so that saves a bit of work as well.

The weather is a bit strange lately, was really warm 2 weeks ago and then now it is like on the other extreme. It actually hailed most of Sydney last Sunday. Do you still keep yourself updated with news back home ?

Going on a trip to shop for wedding stuff sounds really cool, have a good time ! I am still trying to find out if I can get something unique here in Sydney, but I doubt it.

Yeh my Mum called me on Sunday to tell me about the hail. hehee she said our neighbour's kids were throwing them around like snowballs.. sounds rather painful to me

Glad you are getting everything handled before you come back. Will you be going back to Syd after your wedding or settling back in SG?

I dont think there is much in terms of wedding favours unless you are willing to pay more for them. Most of the weddings I have been to, I just get either chocolates, bubble blowers or candles but they werent nice enough to keep. (except the chocolates hehe) I think you might have better luck getting it in Asia since there is more variety, its cheaper and most of them look nicer. Just my opinion. But I have some friends in Sydney who are also getting married next year so I will pass along any tips if they come across good deals

Other things such as invites etc shouldnt be much of a problem in Sydney, I think they're alot of printers around. Alot of my friends have printed their own though, maybe due to cost?

Just to add my 2 cents worth...

I used to stay in Sydney and love the place. Remember seeing a few very nice shops in Double Bay offering wedding gowns and evening dresses. I wonder if they are still there? :p

Are you having your photography taken in Sydney too?

Been quite busy, my mum is in town at the moment, so been going around town like a tourist, heaps of fun.

Yeah you are right sorbet, there are some nice things in Double Bay. Not sure which ones you are referring to though. It is a great place to shop
Haven't decided o photography yet.

I am not sure where I would be settling eventually but for the next 2 years I would say Sydney. Would love to go back to Singapore at some point in time

How's your preparation going ? I haven't done much lately, will probably start looking at invites mid next month :p

Have fun gals !

i'm so glad to haf found tis thread. acutally i'm not really planning my wedding from overseas, juz doin some researching on the internet. i'm now in U.S wif hubby but we will be returning to spore tis Dec. so can start the actual planning when we go back. so far, i've settled the songs to be played on my weding day & haf managed to buy 1 evening gown here. hope to chat wif u gals & get some tips from u all.

Sorry for disappearing from this thread but I've been back in Spore for the last 6 weeks to put together everything for next June. Gosh, how time flies! Here's what we've booked

<ul>[*]booked hotel -Raffles <LI>shortlisted florists <LI>bought the fabric for gown <LI>bought the lace for veil <LI>booked photographer -The Pond <LI>booked wedding cake -Cheryl Shuen <LI>bought papers for DIY invites <LI>bought the wax seal from US <LI>bought necklace for gown -Christal[/list]

phew...quite frankly, I'm exhausted so perhaps it's just as well that I'm going back on Sunday

An alternative to buying a gown from a bridal shop here is to go to a reliable seamstress with a design in mind. Costs are definitely lower. I was in a dilemma whether to make the dress in Spore or Helsinki but decided on the latter because I don't wish to stress over it in the 1 mth before the wedding next year. (And besides, it's THE DRESS!) But if anyone's keen, I was seriously considering "d Element" at International Plaza #02-11 (look for Christine).

Apparently, Christine would make a 'shell' for u based on the design, and have the gown ready in 2 weeks including 2 fittings. She quoted me $980 inc materials (room for negotiation there

hi Suzxie &amp; Tootsieroll, nice to see u here too!
and I see that there are a number of brides planning from overseas... we can all comfort/gripe with each other
So I'm starting a list here..feel free to add on!

Name / Based in / WeddingDay / Venue / B.Shop
KatGrrl, Helsinki, Jun05, RH, nil

KatGrrl: Congratulations! You've done loads!! I'm being driven to distraction between work, wedding and just living in general. This wedding seems to have taken over my life!!

I've booked Raffles Hotel and the Pond too! (Saw you over at RH thread). I need to ask your and everyone's advice about invites.

Raffles Hotel's cards did not inspire me. I am thinking about sourcing it from elsewhere. I would like to DIY it but thought that postage costs (since most of the guests are Singaporeans/Malaysians) would be prohibitive. Has anyone faced this and if so, how are you dealing with it?

Ooo.. and before I forget:

Suzxie, UK, Feb 05, Raffles Hotel/SVDP Church, nil

Missy, US, not confirm yet, kiv Hotel New Otani, Universal Bridal studio

Hi Suzxie,

Back... leaves are all golden yellow and it's 5.6 outside now. What a change from Singapore.

Yeah, postage could be prohibitive when u're sending from overseas. But if u can find someone (or yourself!) to bring them back and post, it won't be so bad then, will it? I'm intending to deliver them in the 1 month before the wedding when I'm back in Singapore.
of course... everyone would already be informed verbally about the date heheh..

Btw, check out my post on Wedding Acts Advice where I asked about the invite's wording.

http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/404/158544.html?1098160658

Whoa, Feb!! I can understand how hectic it must feel. Take care of yourself! And if you wish, drop me an email at [email protected] and we could talk further about invites and other stuff.

Hi gals, wow looks like everyone was back in singapore for a while. Greenleaf and I were back in Sept too for 2 weeks. KatGrrl ..wow 6 weeks! heheh seriously I almost forgot how hot it gets back home since its been 2 years since I've been home... hrmm while we were there all we did was wedding stuff (oh yes and not forgetting stuffing my face)... i swear I was turning into bridezilla!

suzxie, have you thought of mailing all the cards in bulk back to Singapore.. and have your parents resend them locally? I think this would be cheaper, and also more convenient to rsvp. I'm probably going to do the same for mine.

In my short 2 weeks, I managed to book a reception location (I admit we were lazy, only looked at 2 places hah). Got a bridal salon (Dang) to make my Wedding and Evening gowns. Already did my first fitting, second will be when I go back. Must say her lace modified cheongsams are really gorgeous. Already picked out the material for mine and I'm in love
..as for the wedding gown I'm not too thrilled..but we'll see, perhaps I can find something here though Id on't know what I'd do with the other gown. arcks.

Checked out several actual day photographers. So far we liked The Pond best and will probably go with them (what a coincidance that you gals picked the same lol).

Still have a ton of stuff to do!
- Florists and flowers
- JP for Solemnization
- Invitations (tho i'm prolly going to go with the hotel cards..cheaper hah)
- Wedding Cake
- videographer

Remember, advice or recs please if you have info for any of the above

Hi Missy, where are you in the US?

Missy, US, not confirm yet, kiv Hotel New Otani, Universal Bridal studio
SnipSnap, US, July 05, Ritz, Dang,

Hi missy, when do you plan to have your wedding? Must book the hotel fast. We were so slow, ended up no choice but to have a lunch banquet instead so that we can stick with our date. Wedding in Dec 04. We are so looking forward to going home soon.

Hi Snippy, hahah.. I know what u mean by "stuffing" and "bridezilla"
Ditto!!! But u managed to accomplish a lot in only 2 weeks!

Oh, if u've decided on your photographer, I'd really suggest booking them <u>asap</u> esp if it's AD photography u want. U know how 'kiasu' everyone is. For me, I'm only engaging The Pond for my studio &amp; outdoor; my dad's friend, a freelancer, will be do the AD.

It's quite a waste to let the wedding gown go.
Can u not negotiate on the design still? Oh, I remember we were discussing about Vera Wang's gowns a while back. Actually, I found a design that I really love and i'm going to have it tailored for me. Keeping my fingers crossed that it'll turn out well.

I've got several contacts for the wedding cake. Pls give me your email and I'll send them to you
I'm also finally on Yahoo &amp; MSN messanger.

Everyone, what time does the sun set in UK/US now? In Helsinki, the sun rises &amp; sets at about 0830 &amp; 1730 now.. That plus the overcast autumn skies makes the whole day dark and it's making me feel a little down (Btw, the real medical term for this is SAD =Seasonal Affective Disorder. Isn't the acronym apt?

HI everyone..

This forum sure has been very informational to me.. and I enjoyed reading all ur messages..

I am also planning my wedding from overseas.. and right now.. i am not far away from Missy... I am also in Arizona.. but in Tucson though.. Hmmm so missy, ur hubby must b in the F16 base huh? =)
I intend to haf my wedding sometime in October next yr... so lots to do.. but dunno where to start!!=(
Hope u gals can gif me some gd advice!! Thanks

Hi Cristalle, the first thing you perhaps want to consider is to book a venue FAST FAST!! Are you getting a wedding planner? It helps alot.

Hi <font color="ff0000">Piyo,</font> i haven't confirm my wedding day yet, still waiting for the 'tong shu' to come out. but tentatively, thinking of holding it in Sept or Oct.

Hi <font color="0000ff">Cristalle,</font> you r rite! my hubby is with F16, your hubby also rite? guess we r not that far away from each other. so when r u guys returning to spore? we r goin back this Dec
216481.gif
we also intend to have our
216482.gif
in Sept or Oct. but scared the hotel will be fully booked by the time we return to spore. i think the first thing u have to do is to confirm your wedding date, then straight away book a venue for your dinner.

Hi <font color="ff6000">Katgrrl,</font> over here, the sun rise at abt 0630hr i think, coz usually at this time i'm still
216483.gif
&amp; the sun set at 1800hr. weather is starting to turn cold
216484.gif
today, looks like winter is coming soon.

katgrrl ...u have to show me the design of your gown!! do you have a pic?
I don't really like the duchess satin shade of white that mine is made of, unfortunately that I can't change since the skeleton is already made. I can still make changes to the detail etc. so hopefully that will enhance it. We'll see. The design is a combination of a rivini gown with ribbons and vera wang. See the third gown on the page.

See the third gown

missy I am on the east coast ..... far away
Piyo good luck with the upcoming wedding!! Bet you are excited to be going back
where did you end up choosing for your reception?

Kat ..my e-mail is [email protected]. Add me to your MSN and send me that list! sunset time here is 6ish ... but I guess we are further south than u are

Snippy, I think the Rivini gown is really nice!
U know, if u don't really like the colour of the duchess satin, u could ask your mum or someone to go to Arab St, get all the satin samples and send them to u, u choose, and have Dang use that satin. It doesn't cost much...less than $80 for synthetic and $200 for silk.

Btw, I just sent the list to your hotmail a/c

HI Missy...
I am actually returning in June next yr for good but then due to the fact that I wan to haf it in October, we are actualy making a trip back to singapore this coming Jan to book the venue etc..
Chat again.. cheers

looks like we have alot of pilot spouses in US. =).
missy &amp; christalle - yeah must get venue as quickly as possible, if you are not pang dang about 'tong shu' dates. Cos i think many people are waiting for tong shu to be out too. When it is out, 'competition' becomes stiff.

Just like us, by the time we waited, it was too late. We ended up having to hold a lunch banquet instead. Luckily, found M hotel to be available thro wedding planner.

snipsnap: yeah, we are really looking forward to going home in Dec. Have not been back for more than a yr. I miss all the hawker food back home. We just had our photo shoot in San Francisco last week. It was fun! Are you having your photo shoot in US too? since you are buying your gown there.

<font color="0000ff">piyo,</font> thanks for your advice. i think i will go ahead &amp; book my banquet instead of waiting for the 'tong shu' to come out. how do u gals choose your wedding date? is is based on the 'tong shu' or any date that u like?
216592.gif
think i will just pick a date then ask my MIL to check it out for us. wah.... Piyo, so envy u, can have your photo shoot here, San Francs is a very beautiful place. bet your photos sure turn out very nice
216593.gif
. i've thot of having my outdoor shoot here but couldn't find a suitable gown. so far, only managed to buy 1 gown which i intend to wear for my tea ceremony. how many tables r u having for your lunch banquet? i personally think lunch banquet is equally as exciting as dinner. r u using any bridal shop?

<font color="ff0000">cristalle,</font> have u decide on your wedding venue since u r goin back in Jan to book? r u going to use any bridal shop?

<font color="ff6000">snipsnap,</font> i can't register with 'the knot' to view your gown
think i will try again later.

<font color="ff0000">snipsnap,</font> the rinivi gown is really nice!!
216596.gif
this website is great! got a lot of beautiful gowns. i can steal some from designs from there

missy: We waited for tong shu to come out too. But cos I was overseas, it was really difficult for us to get a good venue by then. Will be having approx 30 tables. You bought your gown? Great! Where did you buy them from? I really like the gowns here. Yeap, I am using Camellia Haute Couture back in Singapore. I MTM my evening gown with CHC (via email), but bought my gown in US. Hahaha...i heard its ready but i will not have a chance to see it until we are back in Singapore in Dec.

hi gals ..thanks for the compliments
I hope the gown turns out nice.

katgrrl... thanks for the e-mail !!! will have to look through the list of bakeries that you provided :D ... I've been bad and haven't touched wedding planning since I got back hehe. BTW the gown you sent is lovely! I remember seeing it on a website before....very simple yet elegant !!! Love the way the train falls in the back. I'm also very partial to bows and ribbons as you can tell ;) come on msn sometime, we can chat...

Piyo, missy>Me blur..what is in the tong shu? we didn't have to wait leh. Got a fengshui guy or whatever you call them to pick the dates for us based on our birthdates etc. We just provided the month we wanted the wedding. He also gave us 'auspicious times' etc. Maybe u can try the same?

piyo> You have to share your photoshoot pics!!!
Though the prices here seem quite costly. Similar to SG prices but in USD hehe.

missy> theknot.com has lots of links to local resources also. though most of the gowns in the US are OTR not MTM. So depending on what you want. I was afraid I coudlnt' find a gown in the correct size and style (I'm quite small) that's why I got it made back home. For expensive, top of the line gowns you can try saks bridal salon. For affordable ones David's bridal has a wide range. There are also consignment stores for designer discount gowns..search the phone book or websites to find. Oooh yeah show us the tea ceremony gown you got

hi <font color="ff0000">snipsnap &amp; piyo,</font> hmm... me also not too sure what's in the 'tong shu', i think it states the good &amp; bad dates for the whole year. i don't intend to wait for the tong shu liao. i've asked my parents to ask guan yin niang niang to pick a good date for us. hopefully can know by this week so that i can go ahead &amp; book the banquet venue before its fully booked.
i'm also quite small size, i wear size 2 gown. the gown that i bought is in size 3, not very fitting in the chest area but because its halter neck, i can tie it tighter at the top to make it fit. i bought my gown from 1 of the departmental store at a clearance sale, quite a steal, costs me less than 50 bucks
will try to upload the pix &amp; let u have a look. i saw the gowns on theknot.com, most of them are from size 4 onwards, too big for me.

by the way <font color="0000ff">snipsnap,</font> have u decide on the designs for your gown? how many gowns will u be making?

Hello! I think that would be me soon. I'm still in Singapore but will be going to join my husband-to-be soon overseas. Wow you all know about tongshu and all. I don't leh. I think my mum also doesn't. Help?

missy: oh my god! your dress is a steal! have you thought of alteration from size 4? I think its possible. Some size 4 have also small cutting that may suit you. Give it a try by making appointments at bridal boutiques. You never know. =)

snipsnap: haha...we didn't engage a photographer as i have a fren who is one. He took our wedding photos for us. You got plans to do it here?

missy yah ... I am a 0 for regular clothes. But am a 2 for wedding gowns too hehe..sama sama eh? Alterations here can also run pretty steep leh (one of my friends is taking her gown to get altered, waiting for her quote hehe), but I think its at least a $200 if not more depending on the style of the gown as well. So if you are thinking of altering definitely consider doing it back home
much cheaper and I don't think the workmanship is worst.

missy ..yes yes do take some pix!! hee ..yep I decided on the designs already when i was home for 2 weeks. very fast hor hehe. Making the WG and EG but buying the teadress here. Am eyeing some bridemaids gowns that I think can double up as my tea ceremony gown. Though I am also thinking of wearing a kua..hrmm torn lah.

piyo lucky that u have a friend hehe. must share your pics hor
I prolly won't do it here. its too much $$ !!! For the price they charge I can get get excellent photographers and videographers back home!

<font size="+2"><font color="0000ff">piyo,</font></font> i probably won't be buying anymore gown unless i can get 1 as cheap as the gown that i bought. did i mention, the 50 bucks is in Sing $$? really gd deal rite. i mean where can get a nice EG in spore at this price? i remember paying $150 for my ROM gown. come to think of it, really feel $$ wasted. also, i'll be returing to spore for good in 1 mth time. so don't think there's ample time for me to buy a gown &amp; get it alter here. so lucky of u, have a friend to take your wedding pix for u. mind sharing your pix wif us?

<font size="+2"><font color="aa00aa">snippy,</font></font>
we are about the same dress size though i wear size 1 for normal clothings. i don't think i need to alter my gown, my gown is quite fitting when i tied the straps tighter, won't give way. i know worksmanship here costs a lot. i will bring my gown back to spore &amp; get a tailor to sew on the paddings coz it doesn't come with any. u know lah, ang moh ladies got bigger boobs, they don't need any padding. its a good idea to be looking at the bridesmaid gowns to double up as tea dress. in fact, my gown is actually a prom dress but i'm using it as tea dress. me at first also like u, thinking of wearing kua for tea ceremony. until i saw my gown, can't resist buying it when i saw the price tag &amp; the size coz i had a hard time finding size 2 &amp; 3 gowns in the stores. so <font color="0000ff">snippy,</font> if u really come across any gown that fits u &amp; reasonable price, must quickly grab it
217784.gif
i agree with u, engaging a photographer here really costs a bomb. somemore, i don't trust their skills.

Wow Missy, 50 bucks is a real steal!! I'll grab too even if I don't wear it for the wedding... I'm about a size 2. Didn't know that they go to size 0
Man...u girls are skinny <envious>

Woohooooo! I just went down to the bridal shop today for my measurement to be taken
I'll get to try on the 'shell' in mid Dec and at least 3-4 fittings after that with the real thang. I can't wait! hopefully I don't get too carried away with the Christmas goodies though...

<font color="ff0000">KatGrrl,</font> its gd that u get to try on the 'shell' first, at least there's ample time to alter before your WD. how many gowns r u making? how's the design of your gown?

missy do you mean by the design... pics or description? Heheh I didn't take any pictures when I went for the first fitting. Haven't talked to the bridal salon since either ..erhm so not sure what is going on with the dresses also.

kat how was the shell?? Meets your requirements?
Satisfied? ...oh yah maybe u are the same size as us hee...european sizes are smaller mah ;)

snipsnap: Hi, sure! I am happy to share with you our photoshoot. You've got mail.

missy: I do not have your email. Let me know where i can send the link to.

<font color="0000ff">Piyo,</font> thanks for sharing your pix. u look so pretty! both u &amp; your hubby look so blissful. San Francs scenery is so beautiful, how i wish i can do my photoshoot there too. did u DIY your hair &amp; makeup
218171.gif
? where did u get your WG? is this the gown u gonna wear on your WD
218172.gif
?

hi missy, thanks for your nice compliment.
Why dun you do your photoshoot here before you go back since you are already living here.

heehee, i got an asian stylist to do my hair and makeup before the shoot. Didn't really like it though. Very cheena. I still prefer our modern singapore style. Got my wedding gown at David's Bridal. They have a website and many stores in US. You should check it out too. Yeap, I am going to wear this gown on my actual day. Now headache, thinking of the best way to bring this gown back home without 'crushing' it. Its too heavy to carry on hand.

hi piyo, i didn't think of doing my photoshoot here initially. but after looking at your pix, a bit regret didn't do it here. but then its a bit rushing for us if we gonna take our pix here, coz now busy packing our stuff &amp; preparing to go back Spore. somemore, i can't find a suitable WG yet. i'm also having the same problem as u, don't know how to pack my gown without damaging it. i think i'm gonna ship my gown back with my other stuff, will probably just stuff it inside the box.

Hi missy &amp; snippy, I'm only making 1 gown as I'm not going to have the Chinese banquet. Oh, I haven't tried on the shell yet because she just took my measurement.

Missy, hmmmm...I really won't advise shipping the WG with the rest of the stuff. U really won't know how they'll handle the boxes and if they will get wet and all. But if you really want to do it, then ensure that you waterproof the bag of your gown and ask your shipping company if they can provide a 'standing wardrobe'. Our movers constructed 1 for us when we were shipping our suits &amp; dresses.

Alternatively, see if your airline allows you to hand-carry your WG. Afterall, there are places in the cabin where passengers hang up their coats. If they aren't 'ngeow' about it, they should allow you to do so.

piyo, me too, can I see it too? Thanks!!