Anyone Done Pebble Flooring?

magpie2

Blanche,

If I am not wrong, your house appears in one of the home decor mag. Saw it before.

Your house is really very nice. Did you get designer to do it for you? I like it very much. Esp the use of orange tone in your house. I am going for orange too...Find it retro and cosy.

A K,
My homo tiles is 60 by 60.

Magdalene

a_k

Hi Magdalene,

Thanks for the reply. btw does your 16k reno include many carpentery?

U choose the tile design yourself? any idea of the tile code?? btw do u hv any problem with homo tiles e.g. warping??

Thanks again.

lorddraco

My id recommend pebble for washing area. Kitchen. Lol ... my reno quote at $36. Homo titles 60cmx60cm, retitles of bathroom, carpentry for Master bedroom, study and living.

blanche

Okean,

Yep, mine is a 5-room flat. As we got the flat about 1.5 years ago, cannot really rememeber the cost of the strips already
Should be between $500 to $1000 for all 10 strips, I think

Chijmes,

Nope, no problems with the laminate so far, even with a doggie at home
. The brand is pergo. Minimal care as well. Just use magic clean and later just simply mop the floor. so far no scratches even with doggie running around. veyr pleased with it.

Magdalene,

Yes, you're right. Thanks for the compliments It was featured in Square Room eons back
. We told an ID firm to coordinate for us. Actually, my hubby likes resort and I like retro, so in the end, it was a combination of both. The laminate gives it a more resort feel, so are my toilets. but the furnishings would be retro. As for the orange theme, cos I prefer something vibrant...

magpie2

Everyone got my email liaoz?

AK,
The homo tile is from China.The patterns of my tiles are beige in white stripes instead of cloud. I find it neater than those in clouds. It was also chosen by my fh and the designer jointly. No problem with my tiles so far. No warping. Except I find it harder to maintain than ceramic tiles. Cos' it's porous. This point, you have to keep in mind. ;p

Chjimes,
My bedrooms are also laminates. I also don't have problem with it. In fact I find it easier to maintain than homo tiles. ;p

a_k

Hi Magdalene,

Thanks for the info. We are looking at this kind of tiles also. lines instead of cloudy so was wondering u know of the code #. our designer brought us to the tile shop to choose but we dun seem to see this design when we are looking at the 50x50 tiles. But happen to see similar ones (both 50x50 & 60x60) in those neighbourhood tile shop. maybe i go chk on the 60x60 to see if they hv tat design. the only thing i kind of concern is the 60x60 warping situation. heard many bad comment on it so could not really make up our mind which to choose from. our designer recommended 50x50 but dun seem to hv those line design in tat tile shop.

raindew

Hi Magdalene,

Does your reno includes any wardrobe carpentry? Cos' with the flooring, kitchen cabinet, it seems really value-for money.

I bought this sofa :
110624.jpg

magpie2

Raindew,

We have the same sofa but different pattern. ;p

Tarea,

your foyer is sooooo nice!!!!
My house cannot be compared to yours. My place is a budgeted one. ;p

tarea

Hi raindew,

my foyer pebble wash cost $450 and the beams on top cost $250.

magdelene,
mayb the grass is greener on the other side, i also find that urs is nice.

cheers,
tarea

blutrunk

hi tarea, your foyer look very nice. but u have to install a false ceiling to accomodate the beam issit? i like the look overall. classy and cool.

wat kind of pebble flooring do u use? issit those rough or smooth kind? I was thinking about doing something like that too. but dunno whether when i walk on it, the feeling is nice or not.

tarea

hi Blutrunk,

yup, we did false ceiling.
eh... not sure the pebble is those smooth or rough kind, but it's those 5mm kind. our walk-in's is 3mm and it's kind of picking to the foot.
so we guess it would be smoother if it's of a bigger size.

cheers,
tarea

blutrunk

okipoki, your living room look rather classy too. Hope mine will turn out well too. I am using timber strip flooring. wat flooring are u using for your house?

balicraze

tarea,
your foyer looks similar with mine, the pebblewash and chengai wood is exactly the same, but mine false ceiling is differently done up w/o those beams, even your shoe rack is also same, but mine is a "L" shape.

tarea

hi Blackforest,

can leave ur email? think it's better for me to email u. =)

hi joe,
really ah! mmm.. ur shoe rack is done like the one at the showflat? how's ur ceiling done up?

cheers,
tarea

okipoki

Blutrunk,
As u can see, my foyer is pebbles to kitchen & living area is homo. My dinning area which is not shown is parquet & all my bedrooms too.

Timber strips are nice & I love it but is rather ex for me lah (hehe budget tight). The only part for my living is the wood colour is rather dark... *sigh* due to wrong colour selection.

balicraze

tarea,
Ya, quite similar to showflat, but the other side is actually a wine/liquor area with pigeon holes.

ceiling is a long stretch of lights till window, i called it "the pilot runway".

balicraze

Chijmes,milo66
Sorry that I do not hv pics at the moment, juz finished reno not long ago. Now still quite empty, alot of items still not in yet, when evrything is up, i will show some pics.

excalibur

Hi Sharon,
Are you looking for these types of stepping stones?
162007.jpg

If you are, you should be able to find them in nurseries like Far East Flora and the likes of them.

sharon__joseph

Alan, i m actually looking for this type of stepping stone... do u think far east flora has it as well? and btw is far east flora located near caldecott?

162107.jpg

odae

Sharon,

R u referring to those big pebbles? If so u can get them at the nurseries near Bedok South/East Coast Rd leh..

excalibur

Sharon, oh... Dun think Far East have such fanciful ones....
Think I saw some websites selling something similar...
But being stones, the shipping would probably cost more then the items, since most of the sites are either American or European.