Anyone been to Macau???

precious_02

Hi, recently saw the channel U program "Wkend getaway" to Macau.. seems like a interesting place for a short getaway..

Anyone been there b4? Heard it is not safe to travel ard Macau cos of a lot of pickpockets ard..

Wondering is it safe to go there F&E or join a tour.. any places which is interesting to visit and is the season the same as HK?

Thanks a lot..

hl_nutri

Been to Macau... nothing much to do there except casinos & casinos. Quite safe to walk alone in the morning but not at night.

Only one small shopping area, same season as Hong Kong. But you can take the jet ferry to HK, just 1 hr away.

ribenaberry

Agreed with JA. My frds & i went f&e to HK, Macau and Shenzhen in 2002 for 9 days. Stayed in Macau for 2D1N. Nutin much ... Went to their casino.. no big deal .. Can take ferry to Macau from HK, but the people are impatient & 'ks' to get off the ferry when reached. For those who get sea sick, not suitable to take the ferry - its like 'yao lan'.

Halo,
During my trip in HK during 12 - 15 May, i had been to Macau.I like there...cos the pace is much slower there compared to HK. In macus, u can see the old old church and buy the famous Almond Cookie, eat the local "Zhu Bai Bao" and hv their dessert. Roughly can spend 1/2 day shopping there.

As for casino, no comment cos i didnt went in.

For the ferry to Macau, need to take from China Ferry Terminal, cost RM304 for 2 ways.

tigger

I like Macau, but you probably just need 1 day there.

I went to St Paul's, and from there, I just follow the crowd and theres a whole street of shops. You can get their Portuguese egg tart there.

The artitecture has some resemblance of Europe cause it used to be under Portugal.

http://www.macautourism.gov.mo/index_en.phtml

angtan

Agree with Jenn!
I love Zhu pa bao too!, Try it in HK, it doesnt taste the same at all.
Transport is easy. Some places you can just walk to reach. You can visit the biggest Casino in Macau (or isit the biggest in the world?) - The Sands. Anyone go Macau should not miss the Penha Church.. Great scenery!

The dim sum in Macau is as nice as Hk too. They are so mani attractions in Macau I dont see why it is not interesting

lovelydove

I guess Macau has got more historical sites and architecture to look at... hk is so similar to singapore but you can shop.

But since going macau, might as well drop by hk for a few days also.

tp06

I went to Macau during Chinese New Year "Chu 1", took ferry from Hong Kong.. There got a lot of events during CNY (dragon/lion dance). Also can play firecrackers, very fun. Went to Macau tower and tried the "SkyJump".. visited temples and historical sites... I like there.

anise

Just to check, is the ferry big kind?? intend to fly there and travel to hk.. izzit weird to carry luggage on board???

alleb

anyone been to macau casino like Wynn and Lisboa?
How is it like compare to Genting casino? Is it better and bigger than Genting casino?

winny

Hi Jasmine,
I've been to Wynn but not visiting the casino but for shopping.

I think Macau nothing much too and it's extremely dusty.

Initially when my bf bought the return ferry tickets, i reprimanded him for buying only 3hrs trip but who knows, i wanted to go back to HK after 2hrs.

Precious2: i think if you are someone who doesn't mind walking alot and loves taking photo, you might like Macau

cheekybee

I think for a place like Macau you either LIKE it or find it BORING lor...depends on individual oso..

Personally I think macau is not bad after spending 3 days there...F&E is the way to go...

The pace is slower than HK...you can take your own sweet time to walk around and see the sights...public transport by bus is really easy...only about $0.50 each trip within the city...oso can travel to Coloane and Taipa outskirt by public bus...

food wise...its really affordable...dun miss the dun4 nai3 (steamed milk) dessert...its nicer than tau hway i think...:p

casino wise...definitely better than genting!! sands/wynn/grand lisboa is more high class...enjoyed playing jackpot...hahaa..at night if you visit the casino area...it is lit up really brightly just like mini las veg*s...end of this year...the venetian casino will also be opened i think...

i dint do much shopping there....HK would be better for crazy shopping...heehee..

overall i think i will go again!!

angtan

Dont miss the 'Zhu(1) Pa (2)bao(1)'.. I think i mentioned b4 here :p and find those stall that is not famous to try the 'zhu pa bao' cos i find those hard selling ones taste not as great as those in a normal coffe shop.
Macau dim sum oso nicer i feel. if you can find this stall ' xin zhong hua' near Royal Hotel. very delicious!

Yup, macau is easier to travel around, and for shopping, oni Yaohan is the place where u can shop. quite exp for some of the stuffs there. Other then tat, food outside the departmental store is cheap.

Mrs Ang

kca28

Hi Ang Kok Leong (angtan)

I saw your posting and understand that you went to Penha Church while you are in Macau. Can I know how you get there? By bus or by taxi? Izzit a very remote area? Did you pass by Ritz/Riviera Hotel? Izzit a nice place to stay during a trip there? How far izzit from town centre by bus or taxi or walking?? Hope you can give some advice! TQ!

buri_e

Hi Angtan

I am planning a tF&E rip to Macau in May. Did you go to Zhuhai as well? Heard from the agent that there's lots of factories there. If you have been there, can share with me if it's worth to go over to Zhuhai for 1/2 day?

where can we take the ferry from macau to zhuhai? How long is the journey & how much?

thanks so much =)

buri_e

Hi Angtan

I am planning a tF&E rip to Macau in May. Did you go to Zhuhai as well? Heard from the agent that there's lots of factories there. If you have been there, can share with me if it's worth to go over to Zhuhai for 1/2 day?

where can we take the ferry from macau to zhuhai? How long is the journey & how much?

thanks so much =)

blackforest

if u like shopping, massage and seafood, zhuhai should be nice. i took a taxi (Macau$31 from Casa Real Hotel) from Macau to Gong Bei Border Gate. The shopping area is very near the custom. The massage is very cheap 20 RMB for an hour. Went to "Xin Hai Li" for seafood - yummy.

Transportation at Macau,
Taxi is very cheap but public bus is even cheaper (Macau$2.50 per trip). There is free shuttle bus services from ferry terminal to most hotels. Venetian Hotel provides free shuttle bus to Gong Bei Border Gate, Macau Airport, Macau Ferry Terminal and Sands Macao Hotel.

jojy

I really love Venetian, rooms big & nice, bathroom super big. Wow... love it! Somemore provide free shuttle service, make our F&E trip very nice & convenience.

gracelourdes

anyone knows where n how to book Venetian Macau?? can't seem to check out their rates, even? did they have a viewing period as in...only frm tis period then u can start to book for tis mth n tat mth??

turtletravel

Venetian Hotel makes you feel like an emperor or emperess

Will go back to venetian for another short holiday...

It is nice after a long day walk and going back to Big and cosy suite. Btw, more boutiques opened since last 2 months.

Would avoid zhuhai unless planning on having cheap cheap food, besides this nothing much.. Bad experience when i last went 2 mths back.

lsling

I will be on a F&E trip, staying in Hong Kong.
Would lke some advise on "self-tour" in Macau (eg, getting around Macau, food, ferries)

waxie24

taxi - relatively cheap in macau.. if u can speak canto, ask the drivers for food recommendation... remember the names of the places in chinese.. like venetian hotel, they know it as wei ni si jiu dian.

public transport - they do not have mtr lines, only public buses.. never tried.. we normally walk our way..

tips: make use of the free shuttle buses provided by the big hotels.. eg. venetian (taipa) to st. paul ruins(city), take shuttle bus to macau ferry terminal (city). take cab to st paul or take free shuttle bus to hotels like "wynn", "lisboa" etc.. walk ur way to st paul.

bomohpang

i just back frm my trip. i stayed in shenzhen for 2 nites/ hkg 1 nite and macao 1 nite. it's easy to go frm hkg to macao.

take train to SHANG HUAN and goes up to 3rd or 4th floor, u may check with the information counter at the train station. The ferry terminal just opposite only.

there is a travel agency outside the boarding gate, u can book the package with them, package include the hotel and ferry ticket . i booked my packages at hkd790 abt sgd 152. it;s reasonable.

there are free shuttle bus frm terminal to various hotel/ casino. eventhough u not staying in that hotel, u still can take their free shuttle bus. it's very convenient and save cost.

wynn/ lisboa / new lisboa/ mgm / sands etc...actually are just walking distance..if u are willing to walk... fm hotel to the DA SAN BA PAI FANG is abt 15-20 mins only. u can shop there and buy the almond biscuit , there price is 50 % cheaper than singapore.

overall i like macao..the hotel/casino is so grand! the historical buildings are v nice~

kale

anyone knows how much does it cost to stay in Macau hotel for 1 night? My flight will only reach Macau around 2am in the morning. Plan was to go to Zhuhai,but customs close at 12 midnight.which means can only stay in Macau for the night. Anyone knows of any budget places(ok even if its not hotel) to stay? As only sleeping for few hrs,leaving for zhuhai in morning.

verang12

yes! we stayed at the Mandarin Oriental, we had mother-in-law with us at the time and our 20-month old....they were doing great deals on 2-bed suites on their website. It was nice becuase we could watch TV/eat in the evening in the lounge part of the suite and not disturb LO sleeping as it had doors separating.

It's a little dated, but they have a kids playroom and pool (and spa for you!). Is right in town.

maylitte

Macau seems like the place that people go to for a couple of days only. Im just there for 2,5 days also and don't really have an agenda for my trip. Think I will do some sightseeing, visit the Venetian Casino and maybe buy some electronics if I find what I want and if its much cheaper than back home...

candycandy001

I stayed in Holiday Inn last time, 4D3N... reason: jetstar cancel the Fri flight, so I got to fly back on Sat. Only 1 shopping center I found. Nothing much to buy, visit museum, temple, casino...

ybur

I have a bit of a dilemma, I have to fly from Macau to get to Bangkok (flight all booked). So I need to get the ferry from Hong Kong. The thing is I'm not sure whether I should get the ferry to Macau the day before my flight to see the sights and spend a night there (getting my flight in the morning) or spend an extra day and night in Hong Kong.

Is it worth having a day in Macau, is there plenty to do and see apart from the casinos?

Any advice would be great.

breet

hi.................The famous places to visit macau are House of the Dancing Water ,Casino at Venetian Macao ,Historic Centre of Macau,Monte Forte (Fortaleza do Monte),macao museum & science center,Domingos Road.macau is a good place to visit.