Any good lightings shops to recommend?

gnm

hmm... we also bought our lights from various shops cos we simply cannot find all in one shop

Dreams Lights delivery was prompt, and the delivery guy was friendly and polite. Very helpful and patient waiting for us to check thru all the lights before he made his leave. Even when we reject one of the light covers, he did not make a fuss. In fact, the sales person Joevin made a personal delivery to our home with the new cover. We really like the service we got from them.

Edison Lighting was also very prompt. Was surprise that the sales man (Tony) who spoke to us was the one who did the delivery. Some damages to the catch of the lights, and he is more than happy to send the replacement parts tomolo. Also very happy with their service.

Extreme Lighting was also very prompt. The sale person we spoke to was Alex, and he was the one who delivered the lights. He was also very polite... checked the crystals for us to ensure there are no defects before wrapping them up for us. Really good and friendly service.

Lightology... the sales man (Alvin) who sold the lights to us was also very friendly and chatty. Learnt lots from him regarding the different lightings in his shop. Was very obliging when arranging the delivery for us. The delivery man was also very friendly. Didn't get his name, but was really happy with his service. The lights we bought from them came in a pair, and they did not match, so he willingly took it back and promised to replace them for us this weekend. Good service as well.

Chelsea Lights was also prompt in their delivery. The delivery man was also patient with us and waited for us to check thru the lights. Sad to say though, had to return three of the five lights glass pieces to him cos the edges were all chipped. He promptly replaced it the following week end, and was very patient when we were checking the new set of covers. Other than the quality of the glass panels, we were happy with the service of this company.

gnm

nope... not at all
got some specific requirements for my lights, and some of the decorative lights my FW like is found in different shops.
On top of that, doing a survey, we found that buying the way we did DID save a few dollars overall, so bought from the various shops ;)

albert_sy2

hello, do u know which of those lighting shops you mentioned have 0% interest plan? which bank/card?

I'm OUT OF CASH!!! hahaha...

gnm

not aware leh... so far all my stuff i paid cash, no credit or loan, so can't help you there

albert_sy2

Went to Balestier Rd today.

Chan Huat = lots of designs to choose from, but you have to pay extra for the light bulb and you also need to pay GST.

Lights Arcade = limited designs, but light bulbs are included as well as GST.

gnm

you can try Dream lights, Joevin who served us was very friendly and patient

He was especially helpful when we requested for help and advise on the specification for some of the lights and fan regulators. His service went beyond our expectations, and we are very impressed.

Lightology is also another one you can look at. The delivery man also went beyond his duty to ensure that our lights are symetrical so that it will not look odd when we install it. Also got our thumbs up. ;)

regina2006

HI there,

I agreed that Joevin's service is gd. He is patient and we have learnt alot from him too. The experience was terrific.

albert_sy2

Lights Arcade is just across Shaw Plaza at Balestier. There's a hawker center nearby; you can't miss it. They open at 11am.

jonan

One salesperson told me that the different prices you see in different shops, and apparently for the same light, are due to quality of the parts and the materials of the light, i.e. some are imitations.
But how to tell which are the imitations?
Another salesperson try to insult my gf and I saying that there are two types of people when buying lighting: one type go for quality and don't mind paying a bit more and the other want cheap cheap. My gf immediately shot back and said there are actually a third type, want quality and want cheap cheap. I was impressed by my gf.

colt77

I would like to recommend a shop in Jurong West - PANTECH Light.. Tel: 65608601. Service is very good.. I hve bought my lights from him last sat, but i called to change 1 light yesterday, and he readily agreed to change the design and refund back the difference. Today i called him up again to request to change my PLCs light, but too bad the order is on the way liao, but He offered to help me source for a 26W bulb (initally was 18W), so now still pending for his advice..
Thumbs up for his aftersales services!!! A honest boss..

hippo2002

I got my dining light from DK Light at Geylang (next to petrol station)

very reasonable price, the same dining light was quoted at least $80 to $200 higher at other places, even after the so call discount.

Unfortunately we discovered DK too late as we already bought lightings for whole house from another shop before we discovered DK.

So we only bought dining light from DK.

I saw the same passage way light and balcony light at DK. DK quoted us $75 and $98 versus what we paid for at another shop $98 and $150. Aiya, felt very cheated by the other shop even though we negotiate for discount, still much more expensive !

sunny~gal

halo, i just went to pantech to buy lights, the person who served me is not bad,quite honest, as in he wont anyhw boast.
will update u guys when the delivery is made to my house ;) overall a pleasant experience

chocolatier

Hi hippo
Is that DK shop also sharing the same boss as Lumiere?
Went Lumiere yester..the boss sounded sincere. Also checked out their sis stores along Balestier...The boss said he got another shop (under another name) in Geylang, said it's a combination of few shops into one...
If yes, how do I get there?

hippo2002

yes, DK is along the main geyland rd
across the other side of the road is the famous duck rice.

the owner only has 1 shop, didn't employ any salesmen. personally, I feel that big stores means we helped paid for their rent and workers.
anyway, all shops get their lighting from same supplier

some shops told me their lighting from Taiwan, from Hong Kong (& thus higher price) not China. but all looked exactly the same. aiya, only 1 supplier I believe

but in any case, better check price 1st. u must know what u want 1st then check whether DK carry those stock

go jalan besar & balestier to check out 1st

Bought big bulk of my lightings from another shop at Jalan Besar. Some of their stock cannot find at DK so no choice also have to buy from them even though more expensive

DK lighting selection quite limited. Happened that we found 3 of the lightings we want (2 already bought at a shop at Jalan Besar)

hippo2002

actually the shop I bought big bulk of my lightings service also quite good. It's called E-Lite at Jalan Besar, same stretch as MacDonald so can't missed them

after delivery, I saw some minor scratches. I called to ask for exchange. No questions asked & they delivered the exchanged items the next day

l'm very satisfied with all the items I bought from them but of course more expensive lah if I compared to DK

tat is really gd hippo. most places not so gd. usu make lotsa noise too .. will KIV yr recommendation

kimifin

EuroLux at Geylang. Behind "free parking" too. Good prices for downlights, alhtough less choices for dining lights.(for this, try opp VLux)

yapmuifung

i want to buy lights fro my new house too. but i seldom go jurong, i will rather go jalan besar to buy maybe when i get the new hse key. but wat i heard from my friend he is working in the lighting shop saying lots of light actuali is come from china leh.

pinkhippo2002

even if lighting shops claimed that it's from Taiwan, Hong Kong, where ever
just assume is from China so you don't over pay

some from Europe got certificate. those are the really expensive ones $1000+ range designer lights

sunny~gal

halo all,

my lights are all in my house oreadi.i bought from chelsea and pantech. both service are veri gd.however if u go chelsea,be sure to get a uncle who wear specs and oways say no prob no prob ,to quote u hehe he quote is veri cheap.1st time i go for quote then 2nd time an aunty come n serve me quote me higher than the uncle then i say uncle quote me this price leh,then she tell uncle serve me haha.delivery wise is the same uncle deliver to me.pantech is run by a couple.the delivery is done by the lady owner ,she brought along her daughter as well,veri cute hehe. my lights not up yet,not sure ok or not,bt service wise,thumbs up for both.btw i bought dining lights,kitchen lights fr chelsea,and downlights ,toilet,storeroom,living,bedroom lights fr pantech.pantech boss gd,give me free 2 PLL tube lights and 2 light tube for downlights hehe

sinkor

Agreed with JLmum and sunny-gal, I highly recommend PANTECH at Jurong West.... for those who live in west, best to go this shop! The boss is very honest guy! oh ya, sunny-gal, delivery is done by lady owner but that small girl is not their daughter. haha.... think is their niece...

Yes, for the chelsea i think the price also not bad BUT i was served by the lady lor....haiz... i can see the uncle very popular as people all looking for him! :p

But still, i prefer the PANTECH's boss' service :p

yukidog

I have also recently buy light from chelsea and find their light is cheaper a lot as compare to Balestier area after i have compared and the service there is also quite gd esp the uncle there. All the lights is also personally send to our hse by him n he will help us recify tat all lights we order is correct before collecting $$ from us..
Chelsea n Pantech is located near the chinese garden mrt, there is a stretch of shophouses beside the jr east stadium.

sunny~gal

halo sinkor,

yah i agreed pantech is really gd the boss is veri sincere.
halo annabella,
both shops are actualy opposite chinese garden mrt.turn right aft u come out fr the mrt,cross a overhead bridge, its on ur left actually.

annabella

Hi Sunny,

If I rem correctly, opposite the MRT track is condo? Is it somewhere there?

Sorrie, I'm not familiar with west... staying in northeast area.

criz

Hi Annabelle, here the address for Pan Tech Light Trading Enterprise:

Blk 353 Jurong East St 31
#01-107 (S) 600353
Tel: 65608601

Recently order all lightings from them, so been carrying the bill around. The person who served us is Pamela Toh (the lady boss??)

sunny~gal

halo annabella,

opp is condo i believe is lakeside mrt hee,bt pantech there,u nd to alight at chinese garden mrt station

hey criz,
im served by the boss,ken hee

colt77

Pantech service is very good!! it operated by Ken and his wife... After what i posted above, i went back a few days later to exchange again... even a flurosence tube, Ken glady exchanged for us.. and as we find the dinning bulbs voltage too bright for our hse, he also changed for us desprite us telling him that we have on the bulb for less than 3hr... Good services n reasonable price...

sinkor

ya.... PANTECH really good service and me served by Ken too! btw, you will be served by either Ken or his wife that all! haha......

little_bi

HiHi,

Anyone bought lights from Singapore Lighting Mart?

Both hubby & I went to visit the shop last week and the salesperson who serviced us was really helpful.. Prices seem to be ok and got quite a wide range of modern looking lights (esp crystal ones)...

Anyone able to comment on their delivery & after sales service? Thanks!

annabella

Hi Toby,

Me just place order with them for the crystal lights last last weekend.. was served by a lady, Je**, quite nice service...

not sure abt their after sales service and delivery.. but i noticed one of the sales guy seems not very helpful type(price he quotes to me also high)...

hope my delivery is smooth, will update again..

I went to balestier last sat again, intending to buy kitchen and bedrooms ceiling lights.. heard that chuan huat has a good range of basic lights, so I pop over to take a look. I was served by xiaoyan and I like her sincere service and explaination on the lights that I have seen. I placed my order with her without even looking ard... since i was really tired popping ard balestier and jalan besar at at least 5 time over the past 2 months.

sumobear

Hi people...

Has anyone bought track lights for their home and have any comments? What is a good price for the tracks and basic light attachment?

little_bi

Hi Annabella,

We were also served by the same lady and she's really very nice...

Ya, their crystal lights are very nice...so did you get the Swarovski crystals one or just the plain Egytian crystals?

Both hubby & i quite like the Swarovski crystal one but the price very expensive....still considering to see if we want the crystal ones for our dining room lights.

Roughly when will your delivery take place?

annabella

Hi Toby,

I brought the swarovski crystals.. ya.. I really like their crystal lights design and I also find the price a bit steep.....

Me and hubby have been looking ard the stretch of balestier and jalan besar for similiar design ...still can't findso we decided to order from them...

delivery prob in 2-3 weeks time...
waiting for carpentry works to complete...

angelbride

Just fyi,

DK is located next to Esso Petrol Kiosk. Agreed that the Price compared to Balestier is a lot cheaper.... saw 1 hanging light @ Baliestier was quoted $169, his quote is only $100 including bulbs.

lsk005

Hi Toby,
look for the boss Albert directly....he give better pricing than his assistant.i bought all my lightings from him.i got my Swarovski crystals lightings for my dining and foyer.trust me,the effect is much better than those plain crystals.no doubt it's expensive but ask yourself,hw often u change ur lightings?its kinda long term thingy.

kj2126

Hi Hippo2002,

Wanna thank you for your recommendation. My husband and I went for lights hunting from varies place however either too ex or not to our taste.

Its only after I saw your recommendation of DK Lightings that we decided to give it a try last night. Manage to get the lightings for our bedrooms @ very reasonable price. Best of all, we got very good service and it makes us feel very satisfied. As like what mentioned, it is really much cheaper than any other lighting shop outside.

Most recommneded lighting shop!!!

afsding

hi all.. thanx for the recommendations to pantech at jurong east st 31.. i was served by ken today and he gave me discounts on all lights..! when i was abt to pay the deposit, his wife, pamela came to the shop, both were really frenly and sincere and honest..!

also, they gave me few extra tubes FOC and also a wireless doorbell too..! two thumbs up for them..!

sydend

Any anybody can advise me the difference between Swarovski and Egytian crystals and roughly the cost.

Thanks for the help.

Lynn

dew76

Can try Ch*n Hu*t (replace * with a) at 441 Balestier Road, very near the 933 duck rice store (about 2 shops away). I find their service very good and prices are reasonable. Hubby and me have tight financial constraints so we intend only to put energy-saving light bulbs in our toilets and household shelter, figuring that no one will look in the toilets ;) Service staff - Andy, agrees that's a good cost-saving measure and did not try to dissuade us nor get us to buy more expensive lightings. Recommended lights were all within our budget and also easy to change and maintain. I like Andy for his practicality and humbleness. Doesn't make us feel like we are stingy for saving on our lights like some other stores. Hoping now that all will go well during delivery as well. So far very satisfied

rachely

i just got my recessed lights & T5 lights from DK Lighting today! Very good service & i felt the price is alright....didn't went to other places as DK Lightings is recommended by one of my friend who is a contractor & also by Hippo in this forum.
I got my lights for 930+, still need to hunt for bathroom lights & 1 chandelier & 1 decor light for kitchen.

Total bought 27 double tube warm light for 24bucks each (square casing; medium size) & 3spots light in 1 casing for 95 bucks & 7nos of T5 28bucks each.

junelbk

I'm one happy customer of Pan Tech. Went down yesterday to buy all my lights and ceiling fan.

The thing that strikes me is that you feel very comfortable telling him your needs and what you can afford for the lightings. He doesn't push the higher range to you.

He gave good advise on the lighting for different rooms and even go to the extend to open up boxes of new arrival to show us (even light it up). His service indeed as good as what was said about the shop.

When you mentioned you are from the forum, you don't even have to bargain and good discount be given.