Any comments on OM furniture?

jimmyl

I bought the legend sofa. Didn't have to top up but have to give up the armchair. Actually not a good deal as the legend sofa costs only $980 but their policy is that if you get a L-shape sofa, you have to give up the armchair. No choice cos my GF likes it.

I think better not rush into getting the package if you haven't decide on your reno yet as you may not need many of the items. For example, I don't need the bedside, side tables and the TV console as they are part of my reno.

Don't think from italy or else won't be affordable.

godzillaoh

Aloha interrace/ LKM!

Thanks for your reply!

OH! the legend sofa is realli nice! i also aiming at that one! hahahha... I also tot so too. mabbe i shld realli wait for the next promo....

LKM can share who is ur ID? cos now i m still waiting for quotes from some ids... wld appreciate if u cld share xperiences.

jimmyl

Interrace - see pic at http://www.om-home.com/Products_SeatingSofas_legend.htm Selling at $980, i think worth it even if you are not getting the package. Hard to find a designer L-shaped sofa at this price. Didn't know that they sell carpets, what's the price range?

godzilla - i liked something with stainless steel trimming. But legend quite nice too, very comfortable. Actually don't need promotion before shopping at OM cos' anytime can get at least 15% discount.

My id is zoey from artrend. A very patient person and pays attention to details. You can try getting quotes from them. A bit on the pricey side but can bargain.

godzillaoh

aloha LKM!

thanks for the reply! wonder how come some pcs resembles some frm SP*CE furnishing... cos went dwn to see SP*CE today. saw a few pcs of furnitures that look exactly the same... saw this big huge marble based lamp.. heheheh. there selling $1800... OM selling $800 onli.. hahaha... wat a diff... anyone hard core SP*CE fans here?

thanks for the id recommendation.. i am now waiting for quotes to come in.. so i guess gotta wait and see bfore looking elsewhere... thanks again!

hey ur hse concept is quite an italian feel isit... hehheheh...

jimmyl

Kiki - don't think it is of pocketed spring. I didn't ask but I assume pocketed spring type is a bit hard right? Legend is firm but not hard. Yes fully covered with fabric.

godzilla - I went to space once, and was out after I saw the price tag for a side table.

I think OM copy some designs here and there. Thank goodness they are able to do that to bring us affordable designer furniture.

Want to share which ID firms you approached? I went to more than 15 and had some bad experience, maybe can share with you.

My home is modern concept, but with the bedrooms and masterbedroom toilet having a resort feel. What about yours?

interrace

Tks LKM for the link.
Me also signed package with OM.
package consist of :
two bed side table
one dining table with 6 chairs.
tv console
L-shape sofa(prado, i think)
one side table
one coffee table.

i dun have extra sofa covers..was thinking of asking for one ..

godzillaoh

ALoha LKM!

yah lor, my FH nearly fall dwn when he saw the price tags too. for me, its more of looking at the designs there lar... its a forbidden area for us anyway... hahhahaa...

Thank goodness that OM came in to replicate designer furniture that makes our homes alittle more unique than the usual.. def thumbs up!

realli tempted to get the set but haii... better wait till my id is confirmed. We kinda of know what we want for our house. Basically, the house colors will be realli neutral and hopefully using greyish towards the lighter side(modern) prob will try painting in a dragging method to make it more interesting than the usual painting.. see how lar... and den gettin bright color furniture, and yes, abit of retro chic!hahaha. tink some id gonna find it hard to work with me! so i guess the id mus feel comfortable workin on this kind of style for us...we not going for any resortty style lar.. my FH sis haf that style and tot we wanted something else... mabbe scandavian or whatever lar.. hahahha.. bohemian will be cool!

ahhaha... hahaha.. but so far onli 2 ids got back to us... still waiting.. hahahah! recently, i found out that i have alot of cultlery that i bot in melbourne that is those retro looking ones, den i came upon to me that i realli love retro colors/patterns, so dcd that my kitchen will be a retro chic look.(my FH is not gonna touch the kitchen anway mabbe once a while)... i dcd to design some retro patterns and mabbe if possible abit of retro gates for our main entrance... feel that retro got a timeless feel to it as bothe of us stayed in kampong bfore and we find that seeing images that we use to see possess such a nostalgia....love our corner unit... got alot of space ard it...

I posted a thread on retro kitchen, hopefully there are pple out there who could advise lorrr... not too xtreme retro, but jus a tinge of it...still wan that clean chic look.. i still contemplatin whether to do suspended kitchen or raised ones... anybody do lighting beneath the suspended kitchen cabinets? nice lar but duno waste electricity leh... ahhahaha

i still tot we went to so many ids but seems like u got the "kiasu" award! ahhahaha we got abt 15ids.... which company actualli gave u "sucky" service? cis**** is one of them for us. still waiting.. now onli 2 quotes cames in onli...

now i m busy with ROM prep... ehhehehe

Aloha Interrace!

envy ur purchase! can share which dining table u got? did u seeeee their platform bed? looks good leh.. not exactly platform lar but i tink got legs leh...

wat kind of style ur house is going for? care to share?

jimmyl

I quickly got out of space cos' I don't want to be rude. Sometimes when I see things been sold at ridiculous prices, feel like asking the staff "your stuff made of diamond and gold izzit?" hehe.

goodrich has some wallpapers that have the chic look. have you been there? If you want wallpaper, better go direct to the supplier cos' i.d. will mark up their price.

The look you and your FH want not common leh.
Maybe you can read magazines and when you see the one you like, contact the company/i.d.. Cos' i feel that most i.d.s only know how to design comtemporary style.

On hindsight i should have gone to just a few reputable i.d.s. But the good thing was that I was able to compare prices and also use the quotes of other companies as a bargaining chip.

Cis**n was alright to me but I didn't use them cos' they were expensive. The most terrible experience was with collective designs. I made an appointment with them at 6pm and I rushed to serangoon gardens, after taking some time-off from work. Took me an hour to get there by public transport, but I couldn't find their office. The i.d. provided me with directions over the phone but i still couldn't find them as I was not familar with the area.

I walked all over serangoon gardens for close to an hour and I SMS the i.d. saying that I really couldn't find them, but she didn't even offer to meet me somewhere at serangoon gardens to bring me to their office. I had no choice but to give up.

Don't stress yourself up with the renovation as you are also preparing for ROM, okay?

godzillaoh

ALOOOOhhaaaa LKM!

SP*CE > ahhahahaha!!! designer furniture so x lar.. i cant imagine how much SP*CE earns man... wonder how much they mark up.. claim sale now but still a forbidden price.. ahahhhah...wah lao i tink they cost more x than diamond and gold... diamond is timeless lar.. some of their furniture still wear and tear...

GOODRI** > tink we will go dwn and see when we cfm our id lorr... i tink not cheap arh but i guess we mite use a small area... so c how larrrr... haf u seen bfore? is there alot of diff designs there?

IDs > yup i feel that ids nowadays are doing the easy way out.. at least for the ones i haf seen.. they are sitting in that comfort zone... not tryin something new, always propose those usual ones, and contemporary. and they tink we stub in design, duno anything so alway "pomp" us with modern modern modern style.. mabbe bcos i study design dats y i feel abit bored with the way the tok to the customers... all the same design... i mus agree that finding experimental customers is hard lar..

well i tink going ard to get quotes frm diff ids is a great idea, cos u can realli see the market price and how much they mark up....

we actualli stil compiling an excel sheet(my FH's idea)hahahah... of all the companies and the diff items in the quotation. Found an interestin fact... there is this contractor cmpy and one id. i tot id shld be more x then the contractor but to our surprise, the id is cheaper and more innovative than the latter! saw their worksmanship on the photos, looks good. guess mabbe goin dwn and see the real ting wld be be more real! ahhaha..so its not true that contractor is cheaper than id... mus open eyes big big!

Cis**** is x lar(thou i haven gotton their quote)! recently they sponsor that suntec exhibition called showcase leh... tink they quotes so x cos we are payin for this kind of advertising cost! i dun believe in payin for a popular company that jus gotton a superbrand award or is a sponsor of this and that. def all the cost is hidden in that quotation.. heheh jus my 2cents lorr... i believe there are good ids out there that provide good service.

Coll***** Des*** > OMG!!!!!!! i cant believe that was their attitude towards the customer! esp when they know that u are workin and come dwn after work! obviously that girl is super low EQ rite! cant even have the decency to offer to mit u or ask where u r... disgusting... well, there are other companies out there man.... its their losss. cant imagine if u sign up with them den their aftersale services sux all the way...

MY ROM > now i kinda of cfm my venue... ehheheheh... now i stress over JP! aiyer sian all the popular JPs all taken liao lar.. ahahha.. mabbe find my district GL lorrr..u got any recommendations?

heheh, my msgs are getting longer.. ahhaha

yurii

Collective Designs is the first ID which I had faxed over the floorplan in mid-May. They had yet to call back. I'd shortlisted them from the years of reading Home and Deco mags. During their requirements gathering, I told them of my 20K budget and was informed that my budget was not enough for a 5-rm standard unit. However, almost 90% of the IDs which I visited with the same requirements and more, quoted about 20K in return.

Thus Collective Designs was "FIRED" in the end.

jimmyl

Hi Xiang,

I guess Collective Designs have a big ego or maybe they only want to do the business of the rich. When I told them I took a bus to serangoon gardens, maybe they decided I wasn't worth the effort.

Hi Godzilla,

Was so busy these few days, checking on the renovation work of my new home and getting sanitary wares.

Goodrich has a lot of designs and they calculate based on area even for small areas. Price depends on which material you want. I.d.s most likely will charge a lump sum for small areas. As wallpaper is done only when everything else is completed, don't have to let your i.d. earn commission. Go direct is the best. My i.d. quoted me $1.2k for 2 bedroom wall panels, goodrich quoted me $600 - same material.

Yes, have to go down and see the workmanship. And also ask the homeowner if they encounter any problems during the renovation. Sometimes good workmanship can be let down by other things.

I also had that excel sheet idea but gave up halfway cos' too many quotes liao

You are right about that! You are very smart!

A lot of people think that it is good to have the Hbay accredition and audit stuff, but doesn't realise that it will only add up to their reno cost. My colleague's id told him that a homeowner has to pay up to $1k more if they went thru' hbay and gotten the "free" audit. Cos' the i.d. has to pay hbay commission. Seriously if something happened to your reno, do you think the accredition bodies will stand on our side against the i.d. and break their own rice bowl?

Sorry, what's JP? I have gotten to the ROM stage yet

godzillaoh

aloha LKM!

actualli collecti** des**** was in my list as one of the ids to visit.. but duno y i left it out the other day... but after readin ur and Xiang's post.. i also "throw them in the hot oil" liao lar...

Ur reno >> wah sey! i din hear u mention dat u got urself an id alreadi! or mabbe i miss out sm info earlier on? mind sharing who ur id/contractor eh? hows the reno so far? tokin abt sanitary wares, i heard one id told me tat sim sia*** ch*** doesnt have the cheapest pricing ard.. duno true anot.. i haven gone into that stage yet...

goodri** >> eh can ask u smthing arh? u design ur own place or gettin id? Den if u not usin ur id's help on the wallppr, den u get it urself, u know wich design u guys want? that is realli fun! hahahaha... so excited when its my turn! hehehe... so i guess wallppr is the sort of last thing to do lar...ic ic... aiyer, no nid id earn $$ liao.. afterall its all our hardearned money leh... hahahah.. we will get most things to do direct if possible but items like carpentary, we are thinkin whether we shld get another contact to do it cos i see other thread mentioning leaving a empty space for the carpentary to come in and do...heard can save $$? mind telling abt ur reno process anot ah? heheheh

Yeah like wat u said i dun realli believe "what u see is what u get" cos showflat mah, of course gotta make it look perfect... so yeah, we gotta make frends with the owners.

hahaha, that excel sheeet, the beginning is realli hard man...BUT my FH is alreadi puttin in action liao.. so far goin smooth cos if 1 person is doing everything, sure sian one lar.. so many items... now its a matter of inserting numbers lorrr.. ahahahha...i read, he type... hahaha....see how long we can tahan..
kao_scared.gif

yeah i totally agree with u.... most of time i guess the ids wont screw up lar.. as wat u said i think they will cover their backsides lar... so cfm they wont screw up the proj one lar.. hahaah ur colleuge's case is so .... hahahaha.. HIDDEN COST bigtime! i believe that there are many ids out there tat cost as much but they do not go for roadshows and doesn't advertise and still provide highstandards.

JP aka Justice of Peace...

jimmyl

Hi Godzilla,

Paiseh took so long to reply your post. Cos' somehow it didn't show up when I click new messages, and also because I have been busy with the renovation. Have to really keep an eye on my i.d. firm. Check on them at least once every two days.

I signed up with my i.d. on 19 Mar, and the reno started on 24 May. I have given them till 15 Jul to finish but I doubt they can complete it on time, so I am giving them a few more days. You can see my comments on my i.d. at the thread "Anyone has experience with Artrend Design". Basically a real headache but I will survive

I bought quite a few items from Sim siang choon. Their in house brand "Sims" is quite reasonably priced, and you can get at least a 5% discount (that's what I got)

What are the items you need to buy? Want my recommendations?

I gave some ideas on what I want but mostly designed by my I.d. . Wallpaper is easy, just choose what you like
Or ask your i.d. to recommend a design but after that say you want to get direct if he/she quote a higher price.

I let my i.d. handle all the reno except wallpaper, water feature and aircon. If your reno haven't start yet, I can tell you the sequence of reno.

Update everyone of us here on your reno okie?

jesmineang

i just got some furniture from OM last week.
i got a Marcel Queen Bed, boxer 3 seaters, Moro Dining table and 4 Nicola dining chairs.

All for 2.6k. Issit too ex?

Actually we wanted a L-shaped sofa but then it seemed that it is too big for a 4 room flat. Is that so?

flipfreak

i'm using the marcel bed as well. i think u got them at a good price. i paid more than 3k for a zeta dining table, a carl 2 seater and a marcel bed.

acer27

Any one can give comment on the Carlton L shaped sofa? It is quite big but i found that it is quite comfotable

flipfreak

almost bought it but didn't. bought the zeta instead. not ideal to get this table cos the top will get scratched easily.

flipfreak

the black glass way too ex for me. can't afford it! wanted to get the black glass dining table but its 1.6k! and fingerprints show up too easily.

flipfreak

i like tat table as well. but i think if i get that, it will be overkill for my place. now thinking of getting a coffeetable from air.

flipfreak

they are located at the first floor of park mall. turn rite after u enter the main entrance. they have a flagship store at changi. near to sim siang choon. up to 40% discount on their items.

bohluiliao

Did anyone manage to go to the new showroom from OM at Liang Court? Was there last night and was the last day they offer 20% discount. Manage to get a leather sofa at a very good deal.. Got another Ottoman and a stainless steel flourescent table light.. Wah.. i must say its so much cheaper than all the places that i have gone so far.. All thanks to the 20% discount.. manage to save about close to S$500.. Last night was like a shopping spree... My wife and i fall in love with the sofa at 1st sight. :D

I am more towards Leather sofa as my wife keeps a dog and leather is easier to maintain than fabric..

Do visit the new showroom at Liang Court.. much easier to visit rather than Joo Seng road..
was lost on previous week when trying to visit their Joo Seng site.

yuenyuen

Hi lui lui
Was there on Saturday. As my new place will be ready only next April, I was only looking around for idea. Must say, the price are reasonable esp with the 20% discount.

bohluiliao

Hi Yuen,

Yes the prices are quite affordable after the 20% discount which is why i am sharing with you guys but the discount was only for 2 days (17-18th Sep) for the opening special. Not sure when they have it again..

The leather range is considered better than Luxur Home and designs are much better.

Some Fabric sofas are quite nice though but pricy

sgblingff

When to OM Liang Court yesterday, and fell in love their only round glass 1-legged table. But price is too high. Table + 6 chairs = $1800

Are there any other places that sell similar products like OM but at a cheaper price.

flipfreak

think for that design and price, the cheapest place will be OM. I almost bought that table as well but not so practical in terms of space.

flipfreak

the stuff that u can get at OM are knockoffs of designer pieces. price wise, its hard to find similar quality and design elsewhere.

glennlee79

Hi just went to OM liang court today, they dont have the $4288 package, But if u get the same number of furniture of the package, they will give a 25% discount. Anyone can verified that? does OM joo seng road still have the $4288 package? Btw OM liang court still having the 20% discount.

scobido

can anyone tell me whether OM has a see through (glass?) dining table that is rectangle in shape? i saw this table in an ad but cant find e ad now...

any website and is it updated?tnx

scobido

i went to their website and saw one zeta dining table, similar to the one that i had seen on an ad but e one on e ad seems to be bigger and is like a l-shape rather than what is advertised on the net. anyone has any ideas whether om has that?

tnx again

glennlee79

Hi moo, the $4288 package includes a tv console, coffee table,side table,3 seater sofa, arm chair, dining set, queen size bed and 2 side table.

scobido

Hi glenne

thanks for enlightening me

did u buy from om? which brand or design did u purchase, if any? om is considered pretty ex? are its design commonly found in other shops eg those normal furniture shops etc? bed - u meant the bedhead or with the mattress?

glennlee79

Hi moo, the design are nice, u will feel like high class when u go in. I didn't buy anything from them yet, yesterday just go survey the package, but liang court no more the $4288. they give 25% discount instead. I think should come together with matress lah.