Any comments on Cis**rn?*=e?

Hi slowwalker,
Wah, like that very scary leh. BTW, May I know who is your ID? I have been to one of the flats that they done. Looks okay. Didn't really inspect thoroughly.

Hi Fiona,

My ID is Allan.
But from wat i know,Eric Chong also have e same ID as me. He's happy with his services.May be u can check with him.

My complains more on his worker and allan's responsibility. They worker tends to go for easy way out.

i'm not happy with Allan is he didnt keep his promise,"Ensure everything is done".
As he's my ID, he have to ensure everything in good condition be4 hand over to me.

Not only workmanship let us down.
Also create unnecessary problem for us.

Think we engage he at the wrong time to do up our hse. (Christmas & CNY,every1 hurry home) Jus count ourself unlucky.

Hi slowwalker,

Oh I see. True, IDs/contractors all very scared during this period. Some of them whom we approached asked us, "you all don't need to move in so fast hor?". They scared we want to move in before CNY.

BUt for us is not a big problem, cos we haven't even get the keys yet. Hee.

BTW, my ID is not Allan.

Hi Fiona,
I did told Allan the same thing.

We are not in e hurry to move in be4 Christmas or CNY. So even he delay e date of hand-over to us,we didnt make things difficult for him. We told him take his times to do,what we want is quality not fast fast.

Guess we choose e wrong ID at the wrong time.

Actually, if you are really unhappy with his service, you can talk to his manager? That's what our ID's manager told us. If there is anything that we are unhappy with him, we should tell him (ie, the ID). If we are still unhappy, we could go to his manager.

So are you still keeping their final payment until they finish rectifying? I think you should. Renovation is not a small sum of money and you should be satisfied since you are the one paying.

We giving him another chance to rectify e defect be4 see his mgr.
And ofcos after all tis,e last payment will hold up til he have patch up every single thing in my hse.
Am also prepare go to CASE to report if they failed to meet our expectation.

Thanks Fiona...

We giving him another chance to rectify e defect be4 see his mgr.
And ofcos after all tis,e last payment will hold up til he have patch up every single thing in my hse.
Am also prepare go to CASE to report if they failed to meet our expectation.

Thanks Fiona...

hi slowwalker what are the defects...my house just started reno what r the things to look out for...is the carpentry well done??

HI everyone i went to check on reno progress tdy...so frustated so many things are done wrong...painting colour wrong false ceiling wrong...gypsum board also make wrong;;;whats the point of hiring an id if i have to oversee everything myself...in order to correct the mistakes

Hi Jennie, my defects are,

1) 2x Build-in wardrobe,1 with 2 scratch n 1 got big "bubble". Shope carbin scratches found at drawer n surface or side.
2) 7 x Flooring tiles (Done by HDB) found circle scratches with 1 tile is abt 50cents coin big. (He insist is stain n not done by his workers)
3) Kitchen top, Still got chip at join after asked to redo.(repeated 2x) Sink was out of alignment (now ok alth still out,better) Top joining edge not even,1 in 1 out. (now ok) Top Skirting edge joining not even,finishing worst then ever seem.(now ok).
4) Praquet flooring got scratches.(now ok)
5) Damage my fuse box cover for nothing.

The contract stated that he shld oversee and supervise e whole project. But we dun seem he's doing cos each time we were asked to inspect e hse,we will find something not done or we are not satisfact his workmanship.
And Each time if we need to see him,we need to "seduce" him by paying some payments or meet him in his office.

One thing we dun like is, he NEVER listen to us!
Even all this defects has been there for weeks since be4 CNY, he keep repeat e some mistake or nvr do to standard we want.
Even e top has been "redo", still got chip! And skirting is not even.

Guess we are going to see his mgr soon as he's busy with his "new projects" now.

Well, at least u dun have holes on ur flooring, my laminate flooring now has holes in it due to the wrongly constructed false wall! N its definitely not the workers' faults. They r not instructed properly n it all boils down to the id. What my id is good at is making empty promises, lots of things that she said will check out for me all did not come at all. There's one good posting that i had put in here earlier; i take that back.

Holes on yr flooring? Get her to replace it.

For mine,dunno he willing to replace or not cos my tiles is not cheap (heard).
And confirm is not done by HDB workers who's there to polish my parquet earlier on as we inspect every corner be4 HDB handover to us.

Now also,i'm not sure whether to ask him to redo e top or not. Tis will be my 4x to ask.... Chip in joining... u can accept? abt 2mm x 2mm big...

Cos i'm really tired to talk to him.. again n again, repeat n repeat..

hi slowwalker,I empathised ya case...n those that faced hiccups with the ID.

I had mine done a year ago tho I am only officially moved in Jun 05. I wonder if it is common nowadays for ID's workmenship to fault? I remember in my parents time,the reno was so good & seldom have problems.
Mine getting more prob. Initially they oso spoilt my homo tiles,I demanded to changed those damaged but he oni changed 4! There are dark marks on it,it is due to the improper handling of the workers. I used to see them placing fixture eg. toilet bowl in my leaving room homo tiles,its directly on top w/o protecting sheet. My parquet done by HDB got a big hole,larger than a 50cent coins!The workers did not even protect my parquet flooring when doing the fixing part. & when confronted,he said its ok coz he need to do polishing & stuff. Do u know the terrible scratches that they caused b4 they matt the flooring? I think they damaged more stuff than reno on my original HDB workmenship. There's some other complaint oso.
Now,my parquet's strips gap are getting bigger(raise platform done by them) & it cut my toes in accident. & the designer switches spoilt last oct. When asked to changed,he dragged til now & still no sight of the changes!!! All my halogen lights can't work at all except for normal florescence.
There is a major mistake made for electrical stuff that we did not pursue!

Well,wat I can say is "keep ya finger crossed" for reno these days! I will look out for a gd ones for my next reno if I sell my flat in 5years time.A poor workmenship is a chore as you need to find time for their rectification,always wasting ya leave for their incompetent services.

I will not give them further patience,wil write in if I still do not hear from them. If this is how they drag time for their warranty period, well even if I am given a 2 years is of no use!

For those who are not satisfied,I feel you should pursue the case. For me, we are too lenient & thot it will last a gd rapport but I think it has been taken advantage of. I am not gg to tolerate anymore.

HI Biba,
Actually im kind of very "sian" now cos not only the reno giving me problems but HDB also.

HDB jus going to patch up my hse(leakage) next mth after long "break" at HDB (reported since 16Jan06). So guess they are since in holiday mood.

2yrs warranty is as good as nothing once they start to play "delay" tactics with us.

Guess tis is my 1st and also e last reno with cis****.

hi slowwalker mine flooring was patch up with silicone gel!!!no choice they not going to tear out the whole affected floor!!sigh!!

hi biba if IT happens to me i would have gone to CASE or take legal actions (for them NOT ABIDDING BY THE CONTRACT)

The problem with my id is though its obviuosly her fault, she does not stand up n take up the responsibilty. What she did instead was to push all the blame to workers! My htb had tried to contact her, but as usual, no reply to smses, so he called up the ass manager n hopefully, she will give us a satisfactory answer. We had went to a few ids, n this com is one of the most ex, yet it is giving us so many probs.

Hi Jennie,

maybe u can try talk to the management... they will sure help to rectify ur problem asap. This happen to me...

ask for senior manager & above...

Yes Jennie,
Like wat Shers mentioned, speak to her senior manager.Or else go to expo there to "feedback", they sure will take action.

But sometimes what if you didnt like the senior management as well? :P For me, I didnt like their senior manager, Colin. Cos super hard-seller.
kao_angry.gif

Hi slowwalker,

absolutely rite!2years warranty is not true since we failed to get them here to rectify the problems. Seriously i feel their aftersale is not efficient esp. when alot of times,there are different gp of workers & I have to cater different timing in a day for them!Worst,they can come & go without solving the prob,leaving us to make another appt with them again!

Jennie,
I oso had mine with silicon gel & to make it worst,the worker attempt to sand it off the tiles!!!Oh it damaged further so I demanded them to change it off tho it was done by them very unwillingly i guess.
U can ask them.

Sheryl,
My ID is not urs, hope she does a gd job for u.

Fiona,
I heard of colin but i have not spoken to him yet.
Well,i am waiting for them to reply on the appt. If he continue to procastinate,I won't hesitate to call the mgmt & then write in to straits times forum to seek reply. I think this is the most appropriate way to deal with resistant ID firm.
Although it will definitely strain the relationship, I showed no pity as he is the one that destroy it.
After the warranty,I will get others to do repair & stuff.

Hi Biba,
We got one big scratch on one of the tile, abt 3cm x 2cm plus some circle scratches on other tiles. Tot of just demand for compensation / discount for e tiles cos we dun wan them to further damage to my tiles again, like u say,unwilling.

Jus for info,my granite top has been redo for 4x... The workmanship is really horrible.(tis narrow down to the worker or e sub-con workmanship)

hi slowwalker my lights went up yesterday..aiyah the electrician made a mistake he cut out 4 holes on my cove lighting ceiling now got to patch it up.....my cove lighting ceiling had to redo and redo again sigh!!

Hi Jennie,
Look at good side, they are redoing the whole not leave it there.
Look at my tiles and fuse box,my ID throw back to me by saying "i cannot find any replacement".
So we have to look high and low for the solution or, leave it.

i went with them because their quote seemed reasonable (not cheap!) and i like dealing with a big company thinking they would be more professional.

their prices are ok although my ID charges me for everything including an extra for a "special" wallpaper i selected (quote didn't say i can only choose a certain kind of wallpaper!) and workmanship is ok if you ignore the many mistakes made by the workers.

but i couldn't be more wrong about the professional part. my ID is totally difficult to work with and there were numerous delays along the way - their workers are away for a month during CNY!. i wouldn't recommend them but for whatever reasos if you were to go with them, make sure you have EVERYTHING in writing. To me, they offer no value-add to hiring a contractor.

hi slowwalker the more they redo the more i scare the defects gets worse at this rate in our hot humid weather sure will crack my ceiling

hi slowwalker,
just our luck! I wonder if this particular firm does it this way all along or are customer are demanding???I thot I am very lenient & tolerance towards the mistakes that they made...the prob lies with their workmenship,really.
Tho we are not here to bad mouth them,but sharing the same prob let us know how to handle them better.
Well,my ID has not get back to me,wonder if sms failed?sigh...

Jennie,
ur worries i do understand! My hubby share the same as urs,even they have made a major mistake to the electrical joining part & now that it has been concealed,my hubby have to 'let it be' without doing any justification as the redo will mean digging more damages! Well,he have no choice & ID still says the fault lies in the svc provider who tested the point! I am speechless..

Who?Me?,
yes,CNY period worst! I asked for their svc to change some stuff b4 CNY,he told me the workers will be off (its more than 1 week ahead of CNY,do they close shop so early??) & open 10days afer cny. Such a gd co. fringe, can rest for close to 3weeks during cny,beats me?
Nowadays,no value to hire contractor but will add value to boil your blood.

Halo to all...

is this thread talking abt Ciseeern Furnishing Design? Haizzz... me really really not an statifying customer of them. Till now.. my hse haizzz... What abt u all??

Hi Jennie,
We have e same feeling as u, after much consideration, we decided to let go of some defects which not "noticeable". Cos we really scare wat if they do it "unwilling", become more and more defects. So what we going to do is to ask to compensate us the lost or damage to our tiles and fusebox.

Fren of mine actually said, "They know this is how we felt,that y they ignore us as they know we will "give in" due to, we scare they will create more "problems" for us.

HI Who?me? & Biba,
For my case,we understand during CNY is rather busy period for them as we were told they going to close one week be4 CNY and start work on the 9th day of CNY. So we actually asked them to take their time to do,no hurry as we're not move in yet.
Its ok for us to delay as long as keep us posted. My handover shld be end of Dec05,ended up we always receive last min update like "cannot make it" or "worker not free to come" etc etc..So handover was delaied til mid of Jan. In btw we "surfer alot of pain" on rectify e defects.

One thing for sure,We are not over react or demanding too much from them.What we want is a decent workmanship from them.

Hi Jennie,
We have e same feeling as u, after much consideration, we decided to let go of some defects which not "noticeable". Cos we really scare wat if they do it "unwilling", become more and more defects. So what we going to do is to ask to compensate us the lost or damage to our tiles and fusebox.

Fren of mine actually said, "They know this is how we felt,that y they ignore us as they know we will "give in" due to, we scare they will create more "problems" for us.

HI Who?me? & Biba,
For my case,we understand during CNY is rather busy period for them as we were told they going to close one week be4 CNY and start work on the 9th day of CNY. So we actually asked them to take their time to do,no hurry as we're not move in yet.
Its ok for us to delay as long as keep us posted. My handover shld be end of Dec05,ended up we always receive last min update like "cannot make it" or "worker not free to come" etc etc..So handover was delaied til mid of Jan. In btw we "surfer alot of pain" on rectify e defects.

One thing for sure,We are not over react or demanding too much from them.What we want is a decent workmanship from them.

Hi Ple,

After i read through this post, realised we shared the same prob.

my rm parquet also haizz..biang ooi.. got hole!! wats worst is that whenever we mop our rm parquet, will always kena white white spots appearing. Does u folka having same prob?

I really regretted in hiring them. Seriously man. Haizz.. my rm the 'fake wall', donnoe what kind of materials they used for that man. Can see small little creature crawling on that. GOASH! I nearly fainted when my ah lau told me and showed me. YUCKS! Coz it was so small that u wont get to notice unless u stand close to it. then my living rm wall.. paints dropping off and cracks were so obvious! Moved in for nearly 2 yrs liao. The cracks are getting bigger man. Keep painting also no use. Shouldnt had listen to my ID and believed him that it will look nice and natural to have cement or clay to fill up the space at the first place. The 'space' i referring is the one in between the walls. Who to blame!?! but myself to believe in my ID.

Overall i can only commented that their workmanship sucks! Its already 2 yrs since the completion of my hse reno, donnoe if my ID still around, and can my warranty still be able to use anot ah? Haizzzz....

hi siao cha boh...small creature on yr wall u mean from inside crawl out??chiamlah i also got false wall in my room....sigh we practically have to go there every day to check reno so tiring..whats the point of hiring an id if everything i have to oversee myself!!

Hi Jennie,

I supposed yes that it crawled out from inside. Coz i don see the 'creatures' crawling around my other walls or other place of my hse. Haizz..

Further to add.. my kitchen silding door. Scared the hell of me first time when it kena stuck, cant slide! Coz my location very windy and we do not have window for kitchen. Hence the first time we encountered my kitchen sliding door cant slide open, i was so worry. Coz i afraid that the whole door will collaspe. I quickly sms my ID and tell him what happen. How can a strong solid wood kitchen door happens such thing! Then he sent his contractor to come up and do the necessary. I was not around when he came up. Asked my bro to stand in for me. Even though, it has resloved. But whenever windy or rains, my hubby and i still worried that the kitchen door's prob will occurre again.

Yalor Jennie, i totally agreed with u. Whats the point in hiring an ID where we have to supervise everything! I remembered me purposly make a trip to my hse (my lunch time) when doing reno. Just to make sure things are in gd hands. But everytime i go down for 'spotcheck', i can really vomit blood!! haizzz...

Ur reno work still in progress? Where u stay ah? hehehe..

hi siao cha boh,

Mine parquet too had prob! Initially i thot HBD's workmenship is getting from bad to worse,with the reno,can touch up or make better on other areas! Who knows the reno caused so many damage to the originally gd area! My parquet initially was gloss surface,after listening to my ID,it become a matt one. Now, there are so many gaps b/w the strips,sometimes cut your toes. I dun mop,I wipe the flr with cloth coz i heard too much water may warp the parquet. I oso have whitish patch appeared,no idea wats dat. Worst,some tiny wood came off as I wiped the floor recently & spotted more holes. Think gloss surface will minimised the gap issue,aiya i shd have retain that. I so heartache when i saw them damage my parquet during the fixing of lightings,credential etc. My bro who came asked why I allowed them to do the work without laying the protective cover,I said coz ID says he will smooth the parquet strips & lacquard them. aiyo bull shit,I realised the damaged appear more apparent once the matt surface fade now.
Think I do need a Parquet DR soon to check my flooring & polish. b4 cny next yr lar..hahha..quite broke after reno & wedding.

Fake wall got insects arh??so scary,mayb there is something they conceal there..hahaha...juz jokin...

Jennie,
I too supervised them most of the time & i realised that my ID did not showed up most of the time til handover etc.
I have longed vomited tons of blood. Dunno y we paid them to suffer.haiz..

Slowwalker,
Oh so its true that their fringe so gd!!rest so many days arh..well, but i dun have the patient as I longed asked them to come & rectified the prob,ever since b4 my wedding (can u imagine,on my wedding they still did not turn up,its so disappointing,eh..wedding!!!wat can be more impt?)then come to cny (still did not turn up)..I guess its gonna be christmas when they show up!

Can u feel how i feel???Puke blood as long as I am their client.

Hi BiBa,

Haizz. i donnoe lor. Just felt cheated and disgusted with the works that we had for trusting my ID to do the whole damn thing. Till now, i will NOT, definatly NO to recommend friends, relatives to go to them for reno works. YUCKS! hehehe... oppss.. (cannot say till like that hor. Who knows this company's ID also come here.. then don wan to warranty me liao. Hahaha..)

Haizz.. really don know y our parquet becomes like that. seriously don understand...

Hi Jennie,

Oic.. okok.. hopefully things will be smoother for u and be sure to check everything b4 u foot the final payments yah. ;)

Biba,
My parquet was gloss surface. During the reno,we informed ID abt the parquet condition. He give us his word,any thing wrong with e parquet,he will redo for us. And we saw them using those protective cover to protect my parquet(state in e contract also).
Lucky only 1 room found small scratches, after polish, all gone.

If u need a parquet doc,let me know. I will email u his contacts.

If u happen to spoke to one of them,their worker mostly from Malaysia (local also have,but not much) and normally they work weekend also.So during CNY,they will take tis opportunity to rest.
Since its over CNY,you can pester yr ID to fix yr defects.

slowwalker,
yes,pls PM me the parquet doc contact. Btw,izit wood Dr that u r referring to? I reckon mine will need to ask for maintenance nearer to year end since now i do need to fill the gap with wood filler i guess. To do it myself,very tedious.
Better to ask pro to svc then as ID to do. They will say it wear & tear lar,not covered under warranty blah blah blah..sianz

Jennie,
I hope u not like us..everything goes smooth for ya oki.
Press for the justice if required b4 paying them..

Hi Biba,
PM u liao. Pls check.

Hi Jennie,
Remember to hold back last payment til they rectify yr defects if u really not happy with their service n workmanship. They will give all kinds of excuses to ask for e last payment.

and to add... the ID person never offered me any design idea! when i asked him, he will offer ideas that are easy and/or cheap to do, kinda make you wonder. and he would change things (without first informing us!!) when they suit him (for instance, installing glass ledges instead of white laminated ledges as discussed because they can be better mounted) but if i want to change, it will be done with lots of complains and additional costs.

one thing i noticed, they like to think they are professional and everything is black and white. so dont be paiseh if you do go with them. make sure you get everything minute little detail in writing. you have been warned.

HI all,
After compared all the incidents here,we felt like we are lukcy. As my ID overall still doing his job althought we are not happy with the workmanship, those days where we argue over how to rectify defects,

But am worried after few mths down e road,any thing happen (touch wood), will they still "entertain" us?? Or worst ... "playing" with us using delay tactics... then "opps,sorry. Yr warranty over liao".

spoke to gina at the expo fair. Wondering how is she like as I may be signin contract with her soon. Greatly appreciate all you advice. Thanks very much.

Hi Angel, Eric and Slowwalker,

Really hope you could share your pixs and quotation with me as I'm a newbie. Thanks so much.

My email add is [email protected]