Any Brides whose HTB is 'Ang Mo'?

Glympse it only takes a few hours to change your passport/ic at ICA. I went down early in the morning before the crowds came and got it done within two hours. They updated my marital status because I didn't ROM in Sg. But since you are ROMing in Sg I don't think they need to do so.

cuclainne you have to wait for a bit though. At the mo, we're completely exhausted looking after Dominic to do anything else.

deluxe will have to ask my dad to find out.
Royal Mail isn't too reliable either. Just ask Liz. Tried to sent her a piece of cloth and it got lost twice!!

My bunny is active n eats a lot! Glad that she is well n healthy! Had cost me a bomb for her medicine! More ex than human being! WAH! At least she recovers! Or else dun know how. Think she caught parasite infection.

Hi Deluxe, if u take out yr dialect name, then u need to take a deed poll. For my case I retain my dialect, Chinese n Hang yu pin yin. Add my Christian name (baptism cert to prove) and Husband's surname (marriage cert to prove). It is pretty fast one if u go in the morning to avoid the crowd. Less thatn an hr, the IC will be ready. But due to the mistake she made, have to wait for another one, but worth it. At least I got what I wanted. The guy who came out asked and I told him that I chose Mrs Elizabeth Rutten-Ng when I got married at the city hall in Netherlands. At first, my name will be placed at the back instead of the front like normal IC coz too many names and the gal said I cannot out - in between Rutten and Ng. I was like ok lah, what to do. In my mind I was if it is computerised why cannot, so weird. When I collected it, it was in front and with a dash. Ai yo, the gal is super blur lor, I still give her excellent for her service but good for her knowledge. Never mind lah! She is new I think, first ecounter with such difficult request. Hahahaha.... They put a chop on my passport and wrote my new official name. Over here it is still my old name coz I got some thing doen before I got married. One thing at a time. First, school, then the rest. Did u request to remove some names? If not, as long as u have prove to add yr names, it is not a problem at all.

Glypmse, U can also change it when u come back in the next trip. I didn't manage to when I went back in Nov, too tight. U need IC photos too. Ai yo, my IC photo is terrible, the photo shop lady is so unprofessional n rude. Jeroen said wat like that take photo, he also know. Hahahahaha.... SO easy!

O ja, Mrs N sent me cloth twice n got lost. I was like o gezzzz... cloth also want to take. Faint! So dishonest! Dun know what they do with it since it is only a small piece of cloth. So weird! But how could insider so dishonest, Wah, I dun dare to send anything precious mah!

hi ladies..

there's no class today, tchr called in sick. So i get to catch up here.. Im so annoyed about this tchr of mine really! She is so unreasonable..you know as foreigners im entitled to 300hrs of lessons and 50hrs of social studies to learn norwegian and she's taking her own sweet time to teach..start class late..go home early and shortchange us of our time and lessons..sigh *shake head* we're supposed to finish the book after 300hrs apparently, but she asked me to ask for more hours (so she can get paid& have her contract renewed)..I dunno why she make it so difficult to teach 2 persons??! I feel like im dragging my feet to norsk kurs every morning!!!

k enough of my rantings hehehe..

Deluxe hey congrats for being in the 3rd trimester! Have you found out the gender of the bb yet?

And oh, as for ic, Glympse, it took about 1 week in the post, i sent by post (cheaper), then went down and within a few hours finished..yeah (Liz & Mrs N are right) go early in the morning, just when they open (not much crowd). I did a deedpoll, Deluxe, and that makes the job easier..as ppl there will not ask too many Qs..just that they had a problem as my hb's surname is long and so they have to print it on the reverse side of the ic. They have to ask me if that was ok..

E.g: 1st side of ic
xxxxxxxxx xxxx(christian name)
xxxx xxxx xxxx (han yu pin yin name)

reverse side of ic
Mrs xxxxxxxxx xxxx xxxxxxxx (Married name)
x x x (chinese name)

If you want to do a deedpoll, there are different rates from diff lawyers, it ranges between ($80-$120).

Gina gaute said that AZ and new zealand are two of the countries he would want to visit. We're thinking maybe the next trip to sg to make a small trip down under heheh..how's blue mountains? is it really blue?

Glympse Hey continue to trust in the Lord, i supposed without faith there's nothing you can hang on upon. If i can go thru 3 years, I bet you can too with 6 mths hehe..dun worry the gals here in the forum are very very supportive!!
right gals?? i understand about the planning part..i remembered i used to go to the venue with my girlfriend and then took photos, even to the nitty gritty details like invites and such, took lots of photos and discussed it over the net with my then bf. My difficulty then was yes! the time difference!! Cos i was sharing a room with my sis and she had to sleep (well me too) and needed to off the lights..so you could imagine that in the dark room, we've tried to chat very very softly..and had difficulty to see each other in the dark..we used to joked that we have a 'blind date' with each other hahaa

It's auto updating of marital status if you ROM in sg, they have the records..As for the ic or passport, they don't state your marital status one lah..so if you're thinking abt having different name or add married name in ic/PP then you have to change it before you fly. And oh make sure the documents you submit to the swedish embassy in Sg has the same name cos might have some problem if otherwise.

I supposed you were talking about submitting the application for visa to stay in sweden? (that got rejected twice?) I think it's better to go there 1st and then apply. Cos might take longer if you do it here in sg than in sweden..same as for the norwegian visa for me..apparently it could take longer if i did it in the norwegian embassy in sg..

You just have to take one step at a time so as not to stress out and be a 'Bridezilla'

Mrs N Liz the postal service here is also strange but in fact it's better than fedex or DHL here cos they only have a collection point a distance frm this ulu town im living in, so the truck goes every week or so..when the truck is full of items to transport..so it's not as what they promised they 'live to deliver' .. more to they 'wait to deliver'. And Dhl's they're 'on it'..yeah they're literally sitting ON it..haha

So it depend where you're living lah i suppose. My mooncakes to me from my parents this year got to me in only a couple of days..less than a week thru normal post!

Liz ah yeah, didn't know you're taking ic photo cos i have a very good photographer to recommend. it cost $28-32 (for~think 10pcs IC photos which includes simple make up and hairstyling) it's one of the bridal shops along chinatown. I was so pleased with my photo! I recommended to my bro as well (he was known to be picky) he was well received too!

cuclainne I think most guys love their gadgets. hehe..gaute likes to fix things..well it's good when im the clueless one..i start to have panic attack whenever gadgets don't go my way! haha he on the other hand takes really good care of things and im the 'chor lor' one (the ungentle one) hahah keeps spoiling things around me

k gals have to go have breakfast! me hungry

Mrs N / Liz / Chrisl, thanks for the tips, very helpful! I prob will do it when I'm next back in Singapore then. Initially was thinking of waking up earlier on Mon to get all this sorted (i.e. the day after the weddng banquet), but such a spoiler not to be able to sleep in in the hotel suite :P hehe ... Another quick qn - must the i/c and passport names sync? and I can change both the passport and i/c at ICA on the same day? Always had the impression that the passport would take more of a hassle ... tho the last time i changed my passport was 8 years ago, so guess i shldn't trust my impression :P

Chrisl, actually, i was referring to job applications that got rejected
but still early la, still praying thru
as for the visa application, the sweden embassy in Singapore actually specifically told us that I cannot be in Sweden when applying for the visa. I have to apply it in Singapore and then wait for it to be approved before i go over, cannot even fly to Sweden in btwn, or else it may jeopardise the visa application. So I'm going to go to the embassy in Jan (right after i get back from sweden) to sort it out, hopefully the lady keeps her word and expedites the application in time for our flight to Sweden in April

But yes, i shall not be a bridezilla... don't wanna drive Emil up the wall while planning for our wedding ;)

Have a good breakfast!

Glypmse, yup, it has to sync. U can do both on the same day. Just bring yr old IC n passport with u and tell them U want it change in yr passport too. SG is more efficient and fast. Wait till u go to Europe country, then U will understand how fast we work. Kekekeke... I don't even complain now when I have to wait. Just bring a book to read or chat with my hubby.
Probably the lifestyle n study in Netherlands has changed me and I have learnt to slow down and take things easy and one step at a time. Oops! I realise I forgot to give u n someone else the add of the rings. Peiseh! Peiseh! Hopefully u got yr wedding bands liao. I don't have the add, it is with my mum in SG I guess.

Chrisl, I should have asked u earlier. Never mind lah. only my hair is a mess. Hahahaha... My mum was like laughing at my IC photo. But I couldn't care less. Just pissed off by the attitude of the shop. Jeroen was like geeezzz waht an attitude and super rude! She acutally said this, " DOn't u know that they r v strict?" She kept asking me to put my hair probably, ai yo, how can I c. No mirror. Then I told her this, "I don't stay here, I just came back for hols." Then she shut her mouth up and passed me a mirror. Next time, I won't reccommend anyone to go there. I told my mum. She said ai ja should have waited until u r done before we go off, then this thing won't happen. Well.... As long as I get my photo for my IC, who cares!

Liz, not to worry at all
think i'll stick with my Mum's jeweller. We're gg back in Jan per his advice, as he said that gold prices shld have fallen by then, so it shld be a bit cheaper to make the rings
Thanks for the guidance re i/c and passport too. Yea i can imagine the difference in pace ... hehe. Guess my only concern is whether changing the i/c and passport would affect my flight tickets, which wld hv been booked beforehand. But if i remember correctly, we do retain our old passport right? So I shld be able to use that? Also, is ur visa in the Netherlands tied to ur passport after the name change or before? Just figuring out how to time things so that I won't be deported or sth haha.

I didn't change my passport. It is still the old one. They just put a chop to say that my other official name is Mrs Elizabeth Rutten-Ng. My air ticket was still the old name. I have both old n new ones in the current passport. I am also asking Krisflyer to change to the new ones as the old one is wrong with Mrs Ng. I have to scan and send then the passport as proof. Hope this helps.

Glympse whatever name you have on your i/c passposrt still stays can't change that unless you do a deedpoll. ICA adds your married name below your original one. They will add in your married name to your passport if you want to. It's optional. But might as well do it as it won't cost you any more than just adding the name to your i/c. When I first did mine my married name was on a seperate page in my passport like Liz. But when I renewed my passport online last year, I was given the option of choosing to put in my married name or just use my original name. I opted to add in the married name as it makes life a lot easier if you are booking tickets online. But whatever format you choose to put into your i/c will be identical to the one in your passport.

Chrisl looks like your teacher is taking advantage of you. Do you have to take a test before you are allowed PR? Can't imagine about this time last year I was fretting about with the Life in the UK test.

Liz yah man nowadays if want to send important stuff better to use registered mail. I'm still wary about the post office here. Complain to them also no use!

What I mean about 'easier' is that should you wish to travel in your married name. It's not a problem is you are using your maiden name. Anyway having both names gives you a choice. Airlines don't really mind which name you use so long as one of them appears in your passport.

Chrisl, I have the same encounter of terrible teachers here. Dutch I mean. Good grief! Though I dun have to pay for it, still the quality of teaching is bad. They took a long time to teach one chapter. I agree with Mrs N, she is taking advantage. Can't u lodge a complain? If she is good, naturally she will have more students, she doesn't have to resort to this sort of manner at the expense of the students. Now, I want to find a school where I can advance my Dutch. Headache! Have to pay my own and dun know which one is gd n super ex too.

glympse I haven’t tot of any Chinese names yet, no particular pref on meaning.. as long as it sounds nice I’m happy I think! Delegated the thinking job to my mom.. haha..

it’s not a must to change ur name, what they do at ica is just add in ur married name below ur maiden name unless u do a deed poll and change ur name completely.. as long as ur visa documents and flight tickets correspond w ur passport, it doesn’t matter.. if u didn’t do a deed poll, it’s more like adding in ur married name rather than changing ur name, so u get the best of both worlds – u can use either names whenever it suits u.

take care n dun overwork!

mrs n dinno royal mail is not so royal after all!!

liz no I din want to take out my dialect name, just wanted to jumble up the arrangement but ICA said I need a deed poll
n I din want to go through the hassle.. silly me forgot to bring my passport along when I did my ic so now decided to wait till my passport expires in 2010 then change.

chrisl gd to hear from u after so long!
why not tell ur teacher that u can’t get extra hours?? Maybe she just doesn’t have another job after u finish with her?

We’re having a boy

BTW, when u did the deed poll, what did u do abt the name that’s already printed in all ur certs and documents? Did u have to inform all the organizations, govt agencies, banks, etc.. abt ur name change? I tot i would have to, it was this hassle that put me off..

It started snowing here yesterday and my cat is out jumping now and feeling a little surprised at the snow! hehe..k another post before going to work.

Glympse,
oh i see i suppose swedish immigration is very different from norwegian one..for me here, i can travel here and stay for latest 3mths on visiting visa (can be extended) so what i did was to travel here 1st then submit papers when i was here, they approved the permit a few months later. That's what i did for my ic and PP, i renewed both at the same time..took no longer than a day
if you have all necessary docs with you

Mrs N~
No thankfully!! I dun have to sit for the test to get permit
but i have a duty and need to finish the allocated 300hrs and 50hrs

Mrs N/Liz~
Know what she did on some days? She scheduled meeting with another tchr 15mins before class ends (she will give us some work to do on our workbook then go out and have meeting..and chit chatting..i duno) until i got fedup and confronted her..asking why she has to do this all the time?! She backed off and now she has meetings only after our classes

then that day (well sometimes my classmate and i would bring toast sandwich maker to class/pantry~well this is the practice every school) this dum tchr insisted that the smell was overpowering and wanted us to make the sandwiches in the corridor!!! Can't believe it man! Corridor!!?? We shoot back at her..telling her it's ridiculous! We have human rights lor! So we continued to make the sandwishes still..can't be bothered with her!

Oh yes!! i think on an average 1 chapter a mth! I met a thai friend here the other day who had the same tchr too when she came in 2002, she said she used about 700+ hrs which is like 3 years to finish the basic course!! Can't believe that!!

Well there's another norsk class here in the evenings, but have to pay 5000kr...about 1000SGD but hb and i thought it over..no point mah..not fair for me to pay for another one. Know what? most of the pupils in that class have her as their tchr before and also can't make it beyond the basic norsk..even had to pay to take another basic class all over again! They are mostly refugees and back then, when they were new in the country, can't complain and dunno where to get help.

Well i also told my family here..bad for her, my PILs are good friends with her boss.. + her boss is also my boss

We had already thinking of writing a letter to send to the authorities here, (well my MIL suggested this) we're going to write it tonight in fact..this in fact is good for future ppl attending the class esp refugees as they are helpless here in a foreign country..

sigh..duno why some pple like to take advantage of others. Why create so much trouble?! sigh..

k lah..have to go running late

Deluxe~
can't really do that cos all are sure to get approved one (there's a big loophole in this) my other friends here (who were under her got extra hours too by submitting a letter thru her)

when i did the deedpoll, i didn't really changed all my names, just added in christian name and married name, so not much changes at all..for my case no need to inform organizations, govt agencies, banks, etc abt it. I tried once to inform my bank but a hassle so i forgo it..As 4 names are in my PP and IC so right till now no trouble at all

Liz / Mrs N / deluxe, ah, now I understand
thanks for clearing up my confusion! hehe.. I wanna keep my maiden name for sure, so yea, will prob go with just adding on the married name. Btw, Mrs N, how was e renewal of passport online? Was it convenient, and were u in Singapore at that time? My passport expires in 2 years, so also looking at how to have it renewed with the least amount of hassle

Chrisl, wow, i would very much prefer the Norweigian way of getting the visa, makes more sense (similar process to Singapore actually). Now really praying that the visa will come in time before I leave for Sweden! Emil's going to call the embassy next week to set a date for the interview with the embassy (where they determine that we are serious about getting married :P). Btw, ur teacher sounds terrible! Gosh ... hope it works out and she gets her act together.

Glympse I filled in the online application 2 days before I left the UK. When I arrived in Sg there was a letter from ICA telling me to go and pick it up 2 days later. It was cheaper to do it this way rather than applying it thru the high comm in London (that is if you're going to be in Sg). At that time my passport had 6 months validity left.

Eliz~
yeah..but on the other hand she might deny also .. anyway winter is finally here, so cold! -6! How about your side? Feels like making some curry hehehe

glympse~
btw, my hb just told me the norwegian side chnaged their policy recently too..he said it seems to be the same as sweden's..

hello hello .. wow, so many posts in the last few days.. hope i can catch up!

de_luxe, $27 is a very good deal .. hahahah .. plus i'm kinda comfortable with her doing my hair. she's the only stylist, the other two girls only wash and blow dry/ curl, that's why sometimes can spend ages there but i don't mind

glympse, have you heard anything from the danish bank yet? elias' friend who works in svenska handelsbanken will be arriving in sg in a few more days - maybe i can ask him how the situation is like for the banking industry in Scandinavia, if you'd like. he's been trying to get a job in sg since he visited us the first time last year but no success yet. maybe elias is one of the few who actually got a break and actually enjoy the job.

well, he does keep up to date with the techie news - he is a geek, after all (hahahah) but we only get the stuff if it's beneficial to us like apple lappies, that kind of stuff. definitely not good for the wallet, that's for sure

there's no sg embassy in sweden - i think the nearest one is in berlin ..

Mrs N, i'm in no particular hurry to add to my brood as well .. hahhah .. so are you on leave from your job now? who'll be watching over dominic when you go back to work?

chrisl, oh goodness me, your language teacher sure is a piece of work. and you're very gutsy too, to talk to her like that. if it was me, i'll be sure to grumble but not do anything - too scared but good for you that you're making a stand for all those who might have to suffer through her lessons in the future.

oh yah, elias really takes good care of his things .. i try to but it's kind of hard to keep my laptop in almost pristine condition when someone like to smear her tiny, grubby fingers all over the screen and keys :S

elias did ask me if i wanted to change my name by deed poll but i'd like to keep my maiden name so we didn't. i'll probably insert my married name into my IC/ passport next year since i have to change my IC when i turn 30 anyways - yah yah i'm still forever 16 on my IC now (hahahaha).

i really hope that when the time comes for me to apply for a permit, i wouldn't have such a tough time. they'll really have something coming if they dare imply that the relationship is a sham, even though already have two kids in the equation.

Hi Culcuainne, when i was younger, I always wanted to have a doll but somehow, never get to have one. I grew out of it. My MIL n SIL collects dolls too. I think my SIL collection is from Germany(cannot remember what brand is it). She has a lot. Very antique ones too. Big n small. They even have doll houses. One of these days, I should take photos. It is like a museum. My sister and friends who came to visit, saw the doll houses, they were so fanasicated by them. Some doll houses are made by FIL. He is constructing a new one for MIL. That one is huge and very country like style.

Chrisl, good to try and make the teacher realises that not everyone is being manipulated by her. If more will to write in the better. Over here, they are good at that. Hahahaha... A neighbour came to collect names n signature to complain abt the noise level the new trams are making.
Norway is cold! -6! Wah! Here even it didn't hit below 0 degree, I'm like ai yo so cold! Most of the time,dun feel like going out. Beside, sometimes it's rainy n gloomy! Like today it is v gloomy outside.

Elizabeth, that's so lovely - yes, yes take some pics and show us. i would love to have a dollhouse for my dolls but with the space constraint and since we'll be moving next year when the lease is up, it's just not feasible to get one.

my MIL collects antique doll furniture so perhaps that's why elias does not protest much with my doll fascination now .. hahaha ..

i soooooo would like to go to the kylie minogue concert but i found out that one of elias' favourite bands is also performing a few days after her .. wah, if i go to both concerts, i'd be seriously broke .. so decided to forego kylie and sit through 120mins of synth music .. hmm ..

Lunchtime break!

Mrs N, ah, gotcha, that's a very good approach actually, saves waiting time

Chrisl, that's a pity
the previous Norweigian policy sounded a lot more practical. Well, Emil has helped schedule an interview with the Swedish embassy here for me in early Jan, am supposed to bring along not more than 10 photos and emails (with a timeline!) as proof of our relationship :P was teasing Emil that maybe he should have proposed to me online haha. But yea, wonder what kind of emails would be appropriate.... :P

cuclainne, yeah, I would love to understand the situation in Scandinavia from your friend, if it's not inconvenient for him. Perhaps we can 4 of us meet up? As for the Nordea bank job, application got rejected
but like Emil pointed out, perhaps they needed someone early, and for someone like me starting in May, may not have been suitable. So yea, now looking at other options as well. As for Singapore embassy, I think there's one in Copenhagen actually, so quite near where I'll be. Strange tho that there won't be one in Stockholm :S

Anyway, I think if u applied for e permit, u would have more proof than me of ur relationship (living proof, at that!). So don't worry girl - am sure u'll be fine when the time comes

Liz, how has the weather been? Do the locals expect it to snow early this year? I heard from Emil that it turned pretty cold in south of Sweden, earlier than expected.

glympse, i have no proof if they asked for emails because my hotmail account got deleted since i didn't use it as often since elias moved here, and they couldn't retrieve any of the mails
which is a pity because elias wrote a lot of emails, lovely ones at that and now i cannot re-read and reminisce .. hahahah ..

yeah i'll let you know when he gets here. he usually spends some days at some dive site in thailand with his girlfriend first, and then they'll be heading here - probably next week around 12th.

Cul, I try to take photos when I can. Hubby is better at it.

Glympse, this autumn is colder than previous years. I heard some places are snowing but not in my area. It is very foggy today! Air is dense n gloomy!

elias said wintertime is when most of the suicide attempts will take place in sweden .. he said it just gets too bleak and depressing that it just drives them to do this to escape.

hi ladies !!

nisa, yes, oz is actually a very child friendly place,just that some hotels or fine dining rests dont welcome children ..

chrisl, blue mountain is a world heritage site, about 1 1/2 hour drive from sydney..it would be nice is nisa and you coming to oz for holiday, oz $$ drops so much recently...

no lah, cannot make another bb now, 1 luke already makes me spinning around :-P

de_luxe, Luke's full name is Luke Enrique Diez Thang. His chinese name is Tang Zhen , dont know how to type in chinese..

cuclainne that’s nice of u to forgo kylie to accompany elias

think suicide rates go up in winter everywhere, not just sweden.. it’s something to do with the lack of sun and that’s somehow can push some into depression. I do find myself becoming rather gloomy during winter too!

Dun think Tetsuya is child-friendly since it’s fine dining… maybe the hotel can help baby sit while u go makan? Some places have such services…

georgina did u register luke’s Chinese name into his BC as well?

de_luxe, i meant it to be a surprise but remembered that he was supposed to go away for work around that period, so i had to tell him. he immediately blocked the date so that they cannot send him .. hahahah ..

i can't say for myself since i've not been to sweden during winter but i've heard enough from elias to say no whenever he says let's go in december/january ..

yah, i thought so but don't really like the idea of leaving the children with the babysitting service at the hotel .. elias is ok with it, but i'm not!

Cuclainne I tend to work from home for the time being as Fr B is away. I only go in if I need to. Dominic comes with me. Fr B is ok with it in fact he helps me keep Dominic occupied while I'm there. Most of the 'aunties' in church have also offered to look after him.

I think spanish speaking people have the custom of taking both parents surnames. I used to have a mexican housemate and her full name included both parents surnames. However when she marries, she'll have to drop her mother's surname for her husband's. But unlike girls, boys still get to keep their mothers.

Hey talking about how depressing winter is, we had a power failure on Monday afternoon only got electricity back late Tuesday morning by then the house was getting a bit on the chilly side. It was only 18 hours without electricity and the weather wasn't drastically cold but cannot imagine what'll it be like if it was longer and the weather colder. As it is, the village is on emergency generator at the moment as engineers are still fixing the problem. They certainly seem to be taking their time.

Gina how many layers of clothes do you dress Luke in during winter? Not sure if I'm under dressing Dominic. At home I usually give him a sweater but when we go out, sometimes I see kids with 3/4 layers on and Dominic only has about 2. It's not that cold at the moment so he doesn't seem to mind but just wondering how many would be appropriate when it does get colder. The thing with more layers is that he won't be able to fit into the car seat nor the baby carrier!

cuclainne I can only imagine Sweden to be gloomier than France or Australia since there's so much lesser sunshine!!

Guess you'll have to forgo Tetsuya then.. unless u leave the kids with ur mom or u have a friend in Sydney willing to baby sit.

mrs n that's very nice to be able to bring Dominic w you.. talk abt family friendly workplace
certainly won't be feasible in a corporate setting..

That's a really bad time not to have electricity - hope it comes back soon! Was there a storm or something that's why supply got cut?

Oh.. how do u figure out if babies are over/under dressed? Will they cry? Maybe if Dominic's cold, get thicker clothes rather than put on more layers - then he can fit into the car seat and carrier? But i suppose that'll be rather expensive, their normal clothes are already not cheap.. Hmm... might bring baby to Germany to see grandparents in May / June, prob need to get him more clothes then.. oh well... we'll see when the time comes.

Mrs N, that's rather nice that your workplace is flexible. After the announcement this year, the office is now giving us 6 days child care leave (no documentary proof required) and 1 day family care leave (need MC) which is kind of nice - taking one this Friday to bring Sofi out.

Oh gosh - that must be awful .. thank goodness you're not in the midst of winter, that's for sure. do you have your own generator, in case of power failure?

re: the layering of clothes for kids, elias reckons that having more layers is better than having less but thicker clothing because in case the temperature warms up, at least you can shed layers but if you already have thick clothes on, it's kind of hard to do so and will get too warm. sofi wore three layers in spring (t-shirt, thin cardigan and jacket/hoodie) and two layers in summer (t-shirt, sweater). he also says that it's best to keep neck, head and ears covered during winter .. otherwise you will lose the heat.

de_luxe, we were out for supper once and it was like 12am in sweden, completely dark and elias just happened to mention that in winter, it gets like this by 3pm .. the only sunshine is between 10am-3pm .. when he mentioned that, i felt so depressed just thinking about it!!! i don't know how i'd feel if i was really living through that for several months! no wonder my ILs always escape the season by coming here instead .. hahah ..

yah, i think we'll either have to go on our own or bring someone like my mom along with us.

mrs.n...yes, spanish has both their parents surnames ..julio's surname is Diez Gomez (gomez's his mom) and Luke's is Diez Thang (thang is my surname)..

i only let luke wore 2 layers, bb has higher temp than us so they wont feel too cold..but must have a thicker jacket if not might need 3 layers..i let him wear all-in-1 jumpsuit at nite..

de_luxe, yes, luke has in chinese name registered in BC..

nisa, looks like you cant go fine dining and romance with elias with the kids around...maybe bring your mom along :-P

Mrs NOh dear! You were late for Dominic´s baptism? That must have been quite funny! My blog´s no longer private.... so you can read it now. Ohhh, I think my hubby and I have to improve on reaching church on time...already without a kid, we´re usually on the dot! haha.

I´m going to try to tao suan today. Does anybody have a good recipe?

gina, hard to be romantic if my mom comes along yah .. hahahah .. i can see it being a repeat of cebu, if we don't bring the kids though .. i was calling home 6-7 times a day until my sister eventually said, don't call! hmmm..

priscilla, how did your tao suan turn out?

hello all,

anyone bride here prepare the wedding by herself and as clueless as me?do u feel what i feel? need some advise from you guys.

im getting hitch with my angmo bf in jan 09. he will only be here 1 week before the wedding. so it will be me myself and I to plan everything. Most of the decision will be made by me. We set a budget when he visited in oct. its a small budget, so i got to source for very affordable florist, PG and MUA etc. so far I got my WD and ED (in the progress of making), PG, MUA, venue, confirmed, deposit paid. I would say most 90% of the purchase had been made.
Here comes my fear, I’m afraid that the everything will turn out to be different from what I want. Bad photos, bad makeup, bad wedding dress. Every woman wants to be in the best for their wedding.

In the budget, he didn’t cater $$ for xia pin, the angbao for gatecrash, and misc stuff. so we fall short of $$ for that very important. How can we remedy that? Im totally clueless on that. How do u explain that important part to ur significant half?

im very excited to start a new life with him, but as the saying goes, what can go wrong will go wrong. afraid that money foe will cause us to get into fight or when things doesn’t turn out the way it should be. Or what if he decide to call of the wedding. im in kinda of mixed mood now. Things are so difficult when I have to go through all this by myself, alone. Mailed to my HTB, but he is currently traveling at the moment, so its going to take quite a while. Talked to some of my friends, none of them have been through what I’m feeling now. Am I weird? Or am I not ready for it?

Thanks Gina for explaining ..saw your photos, they were nice!

heheh yeahy Glympse, some email sounds very mushy right?? LOL maybe take those not so mushy ones for the evidences lah..hahah

Mrs N/cuclainne ~ I think it's not the layers that matters..think it's the material too..over here, if it's cold say 10 and below, i put on termal 1st then wool. Wool is the answer i think cos that'll keep very warm..oh plus wool socks and an outer layer of windbreaker kinda jacket..cos when the wind comes eh..no joke! yeah right, must keep neck, ears and hands warm..
I miss Sg sometimes cos no need to layer and layer..till look so like a 'bao'! LOL

hi welcome Val! Congrats! I was also like that b4, planning for wedding mostly by myself and hb came a few days before wedding. I just took lots of photos and discuss with my bf then cos it's important to include him in the planning i feel. As for the downy, my parents didn't insist on that so we forgo it .. but as for ang pows for gatcrashing etc..we did the day before AD and he took it on the AD as he has pockets to keep and then give out
For us, we just talked about everything so each other will not have a culture shock..but thankfully my hb and family are very accomodating and adapting.

yeah i understand sometimes Murphy's law still applies..but i suppose with communication and good preps makes it better to bear should it arise
and think you're having the pre wedding jitters lah..not uncommon among brides to be heheh..i got that too
hey do come by often as gals here are very supportive!

Welcome Val, yr case sounded like mine. It's normal that u've this feelings. Long distance is usu not easy esp to prepare the wedding. Keep on communicating to avoid misunderstanding.

I can understand how u feel abt make-up and when I had to look one in Netherlands. It was really a chore and on the day it turned out a nightmare but I told myself I was not going to let it spoil my day. Feel free to write here. The ladies are went thru it n can share with u n we r here to listen, right ladies?

Gina, u can put yr hubby n yr surname for Luke? I tot usu follow hubby's only?

Chrisl is right, Mrs N, if wear the right clothing u dun need so many layers. Took me a while to find out. Used to wear so mnay layers. End up summer clothing is worn as inner layer to keep warm as well as used them. Hardly get to wear them here.

wow so many pple hubby of diff race!

me too! i getting marry.. preparing one in singapore one in australia! =)

hello everyone! hehe

Hi Val,

I'm also planning the wedding on my own.. well most of it because my husband doesn't know much about the customs. I had to explain what goes on during the AD and he's really excited about having a big roast pig at the wedding!!

Sometimes I also worry about things going wrong on the actual day like.. none of my friends are going to turn up, the gown doesn't fit, bad makeup etc. It makes me want to just cancel this wedding because I've already got married so don't need another one and the groom is still the same man hahaha.. but I have to do it because I don't really want to let my mum down...

Oh and thanks to everyone for the warm welcome. SOrry I have been so quiet... i've been busy..

regarding about custom..

my boy parents want to have the tea ceremony one in singapore and one in perth.

they think its fun! hahaa..

Val, if it helps, I'm also going thru something somewhat similar. I'm getting married in April 2009, and my HTB, Emil, is in Sweden, so we're also doing a long-dist. I'm handling matters in Singapore, while I'm leaving him to take care of the Sweden celebration as well as our website and honeymoon
Guess it helps to delegate. But hey, you are not alone in your feelings. I guess sometimes it can feel lonely not having your HTB by your side planning stuff with u, reassuring u that things are going to be ok (which I'm sure they will be
). But like my pastor told me before, a wedding is just one day, but a marriage is a lifetime. It's no point giving up on a wonderful marriage becos of wedding preparation ... kinda like missing the woods cos of a tree. If money is an issue, perhaps u can discuss it with ur HTB again? I know it initially was a big issue for Emil and I, becos in Sweden it's so much cheaper to get married, so he didn't understand why it had to cost so much for a wedding in Singapore. So what we did was we set aside some time, went thru the cost of each item, and made compromises. I cut down on some things, and we agreed on some items that needed to be spent on. Perhaps u can try that over webcam with ur HTB? Am sure that he recognises that it's tough on u to plan things alone, and he'd wanna help lah. As a wise couple told me, the 2 main things that can make or break a marriage are finances and communication. So wedding preparation is a good time to start learning how to communicate and agree on the use of finances. Don't be afraid to share ur feelings with ur HTB ya? I'm sure he'd wanna know, cos he loves u and would want u to be happy. Don't shy away from conflict, cos conflict is sometimes necessary, what's most impt is that both of u remember that u love each other, and that's what will help u 2 work things out
hope that helps. And yes, if u ever need a listening ear, do drop by this forum. I went thru a rough patch recently, and found tremendous support here

Clara, congrats! When are u getting married? and are u moving over to Aussie to live with ur HTB, or vice versa?

Blue Rinser, hey how's wedding prep coming along for u?

cuclainne, aiyo, what a waste! Nvm, ask Elias to start writing you more mushy emails ... it should get mushier with each year of marriage after all, right? ;)

Chrisl, dunno leh, those emails that aren't so mushy would look like normal emails between friends rather than a couple in love ... haha... dunno how man. When I'm in Sweden this Dec we're going to sift thru our emails and choose and censor haha.

Big hello to everyone!!!

hi, girls.
I'm new here and trying to find a couples where WTB is ang mo.
I know it's a wrong topic to look.

but very hard to find... Am I the only one in the whole Singapore getting married to Malay Singaporean??? Cannot be, right?

Please let me know if you know any couple where WTB is ang mo and HTB is local.

Thank a lot!

i am getting marry nx MAY 09 =)i will be moving over there.. hope i can adapt well!

BTW anyone here marry to australia?
having 2 reception one in SG one in Au!

val, mine came down two weeks before wedding .. i did everything on my own, with my mother's help la. yah, i also had to spend time explaining about the dowry custom for malay weddings though in the end, we managed to compromise. don't worry yah, you're just feeling the jitters because your wedding is fast approaching .. relax and enjoy your wedding yah, i'm sure everything will turn out just fine.

chrisl, i know what you mean about the layering .. once elias even thought it was so funny (me wearing so much clothes), he called me a meatball on legs .. hmm, not very funny to me though ..

clara, glad to see you're finally joining us here .. how's the wedding preps coming along?

blue_rinser, welcome back!

glympse, no time to be mushy now .. even when we exchanged emails, it's straight-to-the-point and rather direct .. hahahah ..

so counting down the days till you're in sweden for christmas? i'm starting to plan my menu for dinner already .. and we still haven't decided when to put the tree up. the christmas lights at orchard road have been turned on and elias thinks it's waaaay too early to start celebrating or being in the festive mood - joy killer! hahahaha ..

julia, my husband's colleague is an angmoh lady with a malay bf - umm, are you her?
anyways, just join us here la .. it's been almost 3 years since my wedding, so i'm not really sure how much is needed for a malay-styled wedding these days.

cuclainne, yes i am!! about 30 days more to go ... seems like eternity! But am sure they'll pass soon hehe. Btw, do u want me to get anything from Sweden for u? Or does Elias want anything? Or are u both going to Sweden to visit soon too?

Julia, welcome! Yea u can join us here lah, it's more a thread for inter-racial couples, am sure the issues we all face are somewhat similar
Where do u hail from? U sound so Singaporean from the way u write!

Clara, I'm having a celebration in both Singapore and Sweden too
The ceremony will be in Singapore tho. Am sure u'll adapt fine in Australia. Guess the only thing to be prepared for is that shops there close super early! Just like Sweden too heh ... we gals gotta find our own entertainment after work ;)

cuclainne, heheh... Dunno. don't think it's me.
Trying to recall all my colleague's wives.... - One of my ang mo colleagues got married to local lady, but it was just a few month ago.
So, can't be you.

We are going to have Malay wedding.
The hard part in my case is that most of preparations for wedding are on me (coz my BF naturally doesn't really care what's the color of the suit and so on... )

And because I'm not local here, and no relatives here, so it's a bit tough to plan everything, or decide on something especially since many things (for example catering packages) are often in Malay.
))
anyway, i will start preparations early, and hopefully it's gonna be all right and no rush.

Hi, glympse.
It must be all the influence of my BF - that makes me sound Singaporean... hahaha....
I'm from Ukraine (country close to Russia), but been living in Singapore for over 2 years....
anyway, thanks for the welcome. I will stick to this thread, to see if some ang mo lady will step by.