Any Brides whose HTB is 'Ang Mo'?

i got my 2nd doll - yippee!!! hahahahah .. now feel like having a doll house to decorate and put them in .. hahahah .. yup yup i know i've gone bonkers already .. you should see elias' face when he sees me rubbing oxy10 every night and morning on my 1st doll's legs (she has stains from the tights i bought for her) .. hahahah ..

OK have made a booking for 7 (1 extra just in case :P) at MOF Suntec at 8pm tomorrow, under my name "Sarah". See u ladies there!

Emi / Nisa - will PM u my hp number

So fun that you all are meeting up! Can someone give me a lowdown on the locations of each person? Who´s in Singapore, who´s overseas etc. Anybody else in Germany?

Cuclainne Thanks for replying so soon! How´s life with 2 young kids? I check your photo webpage every now and then, but you haven´t uploaded any more photos since your last trip to Norway am I right? Did you have a great Hari Raya? Ever since I moved overseas, I´ve lost track of all the festive holidays in Singapore, except for Christmas and New year...since its the same here of course. Oh I do remember National Day too! So that´s good...hahah...Well, I´ve got to know quite a couple of Singaporean-german couples living in Stuttgart and its quite a big group, about 15 couples I think...we meet occasionally and indulge in SIngaporean food of course....there´s nothing like eating Otah Otah at BBQ during summer....

glympseSo you´re working in corporate tax too? I was in PwC when I was working in SIngapore. Which company are you in? Are you working in one of the big 4s? From the looks of it, you sound busy enough to be working for one of them..... so which country is your fiance from?

priscila, I'm in Singapore, HTB is a Swede, going back to Sweden first, I'm following him to Sweden after the wedding in April
and yes, I'm in Deloitte! Filing deadline is 30 Nov this year, so it's crazy crazy crazy
Are you doing tax now too in Germany?

pris, as per your request

Australia: margiel, emilia jo, georgina

Singapore: cuclainne, de_luxe, felicia and glympse (for now)

Norway: chrisl

The Netherlands: Elizabeth

Hong Kong: maplehue

UK: Mrs N and tootsieroll

i think that's about everyone .. i hope i didn't miss anyone out ..

life with 2 young kids - very chaotic but lively la .. hahahah .. are you going to start trying after your husband finishes his exams? i haven't updated my photo page in a long, long time .. i think since my sweden trip in 2007. hari raya this year was a bit more busy for me cos i was baking a storm in the kitchen - had no time to visit the bazaar in Geylang or even to get new baju kurung. argh!

so how is life in germany? i think you should have gotten pretty much used to it yah .. seeing how you've been there for 2 years and have not felt like coming back just yet

wow, that's quite a number .. glad to hear that at least there are a few singaporeans living near you .. most of the malay people i've seen or come in contact with in stockholm are malaysians - but recently i got to know a singaporean lady who's been living there for 6 years .. she is also married to a swede .. i met her once when she visited singapore but i didn't get a chance to met her and the children when i went up this year cos our itinerary was packed and we would have to drive out from the city as she lives out in the suburbs.

Thanks Cuclainne for the summary, Good to have a list of Who and Where

Hi Pris, a short intro abt myself, me married to a German turned Aussie and we are living in Melbourne. Very often we meet up with Emi n her hubby Chris as well as some other Sg gals here. Yeap, food is wat brought us together always too... Are u living close to Nikki? My in laws live in Hamburg, we might make a trip up there next summer, see if i can catch up with u gals if our trip is confirmed ya?! ;)

It's Spring now, me have been looking hard at my plants and trees everyday, trying to spot for new discovery like new buds, flowers etc... every few other days i see new buds hehhee.. and me always wanted to grow sunflower, had dropped many of its seeds into a really tiny pot thinking maybe only 2 or 3 may grow, but i was wrong, counted today there are 12 tiny green sprouts coming out!! So excited ;] hubby said have to plant them into the ground soon cos they can grow real BIG and Tall! Still, it is amzing to see how the seeds cracked with green sprout pushed out.. Hopefully I can have pretty sunflowers in summer

Oh just realised today is 10th Oct and you gals are meeting up at Suntec!! have fun and enjoy!!

oops .. nikki, don't be angry hor .. i accidentally left you out from the list .. paiseh ..

margiel, wow - sunflowers are really nice. we tried growing our own chillies and dill .. the dill is coming along nicely (cannot wait to use them with potatoes) but still no sight of the chillies .. maybe we did something wrong.

yah, meeting up with emi and glympse in a few hours .. but forgot to bring my camera, as usual .. argh!

Hello Everyone!
Seems like a busy thread here!
I've been married to my husband for about a year and 3 months and we will be having the chinese wedding in Singapore next year.
Do you all know any good apartments to rent in Singapore? His father and brother and maybe a few friends might come and stay for a week or two so I think maybe renting an apartment might be better than staying in a hotel??

Anyway, I'm in the UK at the moment...

hi stevie and blue rinser, welcome to this thread.

when my inlaws came to sg, they stayed at a b&b. they said they loved it. this is the site http://www.1bnbsingapore.com the owner's name is jennifer, think she still is the owner - very nice lady and you can look-see the place first before you book. she will give you a tour of the place. it's a penthouse b&b at spottiswoode park.

usually for short-term rentals, i think it's between 1-3 months' stay so not sure if you'll be able to find something shorter than one month.

yes, renting an apartment or seeking alternative accommodations is definitely cheaper than staying at a hotel especially when you have a group of people who can share the costs.

hope you'll find what you're looking for

hi blue rinser, yup culcuainne is right. it is a wonderful place. my hubby stayed there and we even held our tea ceremony there. do check it up.

hihi to everyone! a week more n i will b off to holland. my voice is gone n had a bad sore throat n was sick. hahahaha ate too much! kekekeke....

Hello gals! Did u all have fun on fri?

cuclainne is it only 15 more weeks??!! Yikes! I din realize that… still feels like far away.. alamak!

Haha… u so funny wanting a Barbie doll too! Is sofi happy with it or does she prefer urs? Hehehe..

maplehue too bad abt the pineapple tarts… that tends to happen with food like that, very difficult to survive the travel unless they’re hand carried.

Black rain?? What’s that?

Nope, dun have sore nor swollen feet yet… hope I’ll never get them! I’m at the stage where I can neither stand nor sit for too long… I’ll start aching somewhere…

The perm was just totally weird and refused to settle no matter what I did. And my fringe had a life of its own and din blend into the rest of my hair… awful trying to tame my hair in the mornings! Went to the salon yesterday to get them to fix it: straighten the upper part so the curls are mainly at the bottom now, added more layers, changed my parting and made my fringe thinner… looks better now. I only hope I can replicate the look at home by myself… I’m just hopeless at styling my hair!

liz how r u? hope you’re feeling better… maybe stomach can’t tahan the overload of local food… the spices, oil and MSG can be rather taxing on the digestive system..

pris haha… you’re pretty up to date with our lives
come in here more often lah!

Good to know that you’ve got a bunch of s’poreans to hang out with… there are some things pple from the same countries just share… there’s otah in germany??? That’s some comfort if I ever move over…haha

hi ladies!

emi and liz, it was so nice to spend sometime with you both and hubbies. I wished we had more time together. the crowd was horrible wasn't it? So hard to even find a place to sit and drink!

Liz, how are you now dear? go easy with fried food if you can but i know it is hard not to indulge when you know you are leaving in a week. hee.
did you get to buy anything at Causeway Bay? And how was that fabric place? I;ll wait for your feedback before ordering things from them.

and Emi..thanks again for the gifts and the phonecard. After we went to bed, I told Jeff I didn't feel good about going to sleep when you guys were still up so I planned to get out of bed to chat with you guys but the next thing I know, it was morning already! Thanks for the phonecard too. The house was so quiet when I came back from work. With you and chris gone and jeff away for 3 days, I felt a little 'lonely' la.

Cuclainne, did you shop a lot at Spotlight? I love the fabrics they have there..The 'country' ones! I went to bed earlier than the guys. I think they watched the cable instead but yeah, the music itself was a little scary. Listening to emi screaming is enough to tell me that the ghost/vampire was coming out... kekeke.

how is your doll now? Hows the rash? have you bought one for sofi? when are you and elias taking the girls to hk disneyland?

marge, how are you now? so your plants are growing well? i love gardening and miss it a lot. I was just telling jeff, maybe we should consider oz or canada instead of busy and crowded place like hong kong. something with more land would be good! but for some reason, he is not keen on oz or even his homecountry canada. he loves being in asia(eventhough not the food so much). i've tried planting some chilli padi before and it felt good plucking them.

sarah, you sound so busy these days. must be busy with everything else too other than work yeah. take care girl.

hi deluxe, black rain is just 'heavy heavy rain' with very strong wind and almost zero visibility. i thought we had black rain when emi was here but luckily it was only 'amber rain' so not too bad.
my mom send me more pineapple tarts but this time its the chinese kind with the pineapple inside. no drama this time and speaking of my mom, she is now here. came in yesterday and guess what, she brought 2 more containers of pineapple tarts! now we have too many! hehe. no place to store. plus 6 different cake(cake lapis, fruit cake, chco cake, marble cake, etc).
i think i should bring some to work tomorrow cos i dont think me or jeff can finish them.

im glad you dont have swollen feet. thats good! and good to know you feel better about your hair now. do you have to pay alot the second time? what did bertil say about your new hair do? i get frustrated a lot too with my natural curly hair. they can be quite unruly at times.

Hi Pris.. i'm a singaporean and my hubby is a canadian. we are currently living in hong kong. been married for 2 years and a few months now.
yes, i'm on multiply. my username is jhmartins.multiply.com. Add me yeah..so we can keep in touch more.
Will you be visiting Sg anytime soon?

Hi Stevie and Blue rinser, Welcome to the forum. The more the merrier

ok gals, have a good week ahead and talk again soon.

PS: Nisa, did you name your dolls?? and did you buy a special comb to comb their hair?

hai~ you gals seem to have such green fingers... so far all the herbs that i've tried to plant just wither and die...

maplehue ah... so that's what black rain is.. lol... i was wondering why rainwater would be black!!

How long is ur mom visiting for? All those goodies sound yummy! Slowly eat lah.. you'll somehow finish them.. but dun stand on the weighing scale for a while after that!!

I din have to pay the 2nd time for my hair - i called to tell them that i'm not happy with it, blah blah blah... so this "fix" is FOC... which is the way it shld be.. i paid ard $300 the 1st time - that's way too much for a bad hairstyle. Bertil din quite dare to comment on my hair i think.. he just asked what i did to make it so curly.. but i said enuff for him to know that i hate it tho din manage to squeeze out much sympathy from him - his response was "so why did u do it?" - i mean, hello, i didn't expect it to turn out this way!!?!

Yah natural curls are hard to deal with - have you ever tried making it straight? My hair is naturally wavy / frizzy and much of my younger days were spend trying to tame it. Somehow seems to have gotten better after i rebonded it once many years ago, but i din like the rebond look cuz the hair became so super flat.

Liz, just one more week? time sure flies when you're having fun. better make the best of it then - you must have a packed schedule ..

de_luxe, emi and chris couldn't make it so it was just glympse and me with our SOs. it was nice to meet up with them - we've been meaning to meet up but always have other plans .. hahaha ..

from now on, time will fly by my dear before you have to go to the hospital - by the way, which hospital are you going to?

sofi does play with her doll, occasionally, but she still loves her teddy bear more .. not surprising since she's had teddy since she was born. well, to her, it seems like only one teddy but we all know she has three of the same one .. as soon as one gets too smelly, we chuck that one in the washing machine and she gets a new, fresher smelling one .. she doesn't know the difference, or so that's what we think .. hahaha ..

maplehue, yes i buy all my scrapbooking and cross-stitch items from there. also get fabrics from there when i see something nice like i managed to find a few that are nice for baju kurung so i can't wait to get these tailored

my doll is doing ok - she still has the rashes but not as red as before. btw, i have two dollies now .. picked the second one up from the post office on wednesday. she is a really lovely doll but i'm going to send her in for customisation. managed to find a lady in sg that does it for not-too-bad a fee so why not?
hahahah .. yes i did name my dolls, the blue-haired one is Sabine. i haven't figured out a name for the blonde one .. maybe either Karin or Malin. i used the brush that came with Sofi's barbie doll but i really should be using a wire brush specifically meant for dolls ..

sofi has a barbie doll now but she doesn't seem as interested. she does pick it up once in a while but most of the time, she still prefers her stuffed teddy.

we are looking to going to disneyland next year but it's not confirmed yet .. will let you know ;)

liz, enjoy yr stay in sg but be careful, dont overeat !! haha! i overate when i came back last oct and within 3 days i put on 2 kg :-P coz i went for prenatal checkup and foud out then !!

de_luxe...my hair is frizzy too so everytime i permed my hair , got to pray hard hoped all would turn out well..so far so good, i used ceramic perm so the curls are more natural

about swollen feet..normally will have that around week 35 above..try not to drink too much water before sleep..

hi stevie/blue rinser, welcome here :-)

nisa, which disneyland u have on mind? we are thinking when luke is at least 3 YO then go disneyland, coz too young he doesnt know how to enjoy it..

i bet you girls had a nice gathering at suntec..so nice to have such gathering !

hi gina, how are you and your family?

i have been to tokyo disneyland but that was years ago. elias suggested euro-disney but it's a bit too far to go away on a weekend .. so it's either HK or Tokyo for us. yah, agree that the reason why we haven't gone yet was also because the girls wouldn't be able to enjoy if they are too young to understand what it's about ..

Hey girls, this thread moves VERY fast! I wish there was a easier system to track who wrote what...like click a button and can see what each of you wrote, instead of all together...anyways, I´m not a computer expert, so have to make do with this for now.

CuclainneThanks for the update! Wow, you are really one systematic lady! What type of dolls are you having? Its amazing that you can even customise your dolls!How old is your Elin now anyways?

I don´t think we will be trying yet, cos we still want to travel around Europe for the most of next year. I would say maybe within half a yr to a yr more. I really want to be able to travel without the hassle of bringing kids. I think it helped that I married young, so we´re aiming at maybe having our first kid or at least being pregnant by our 4th yr anniversary (Feb 2010?) haha...sounds so long to go. Can update yr pto page? I love photos, always very kapo and look at pples´photos....

I´m pretty settled in my life in Germany. Really enjoy my work, though it can get tiring at times (like all jobs), but mostly, I enjoy my job WAY more now than I did before.... I get the joy of teaching and ppl interaction without the MOE stress that I would have had, had I taught in Singapore.

Do you intend on ever moving to Sweden?

Call me systematic, perhaps its the German influence. But I finally copied-and-pasted the messages related to me on a word.doc and answered them on the word.doc before cutting and pasting them here! It beats scrolling up and down to see who wrote what. Oh, for those who like reading blogs, I do have a blog too...www.prissteph.blogspot.com Its easier for me to post photos there and all....

glimpse Hey, found you on multiply…added you already….Were you from NTU accountancy or SMU? I was in PwC for 1.5 years only (in corporate tax consultancy) before I got married, spent 6 months in a discipleship training school with Youth With a Mission and moved to Germany in Aug 2006. No, not doing tax anymore…. it was super mega boring for me. Dreaded going to work everyday. I´m teaching English in Wallstreet Institute in Stuttgart now. Really enjoy my job and have been teaching for almost 8 months now….. Do you speak Swedish?

margiel I read your blog! Its really cool that you have such green fingers. Or at least you´re interested in trying out gardening! Ppl in Germany are super keen on gardening…. they even rent plots of land to plant their flowers and exercise their green fingers. Unfortunately I don´t live close to Nikki. I live in Stuttgart, that makes Hamburg like 7 hrs away from me (by car)….

DeluxeSorry to hear about your perm. I permed my hair once too and was pretty satisfied with it. It lasted 1 whole year and the perms were still obvious and good for my wedding, so saved money on the hairdresser too. Perms cost around 300€...can´t really be helped. But at least your touch-up at the hairdressers was much better right?
Erhhh, they don´t have otah here lah....not that cosmopolitan. A Singaporean guy who´s been living here for the longest time made it himself....and brought it for the BBQ.... But apparently its quite doable...Have u thought of a name for yr baby yet? So exciting hor....

maplehueOh nice that you´re living in Hong Kong. I happen to know a HK chinese lady-married to a german living in HK too....but chances are that you wouldn´t know them right...She´s called Connie and he´s hauke...(just trying my luck here). Anyways, when did you get married? I´ve been married for 2 years and a couple of months too.... actually almost 2 yrs 8mths. How long have u been living in HK? Do you like it? Its much more fastpaced than Sg right? Oh, I studied in Canada before....Kingston-Queen´s Uni to be exact. Which part of Canada is yr hubby from? As a matter of fact, my hubby and I got to know each other in Canada....so it always holds a precious spot in our hearts....

Hi ladies, thks for yr concern. Never been so sick for a long time, cough was super bad. Now feeling better. I abstain from spicy and eating outside. Glad mum cooked. Mum's cooking the best. Today flying off to Thailand and then will be to holland. Time flies! Geezzzz.. I hope my cough will be cured before I fly home. O man! I can't take tom yum n spicy thai food! What a waste! Kekekeke....

Pris, I was overflowed with yr multiply blog news in my email. Repeated and received about 400 of them. I think something is wrong with the multiply.

Till then ladies! Adious!

nisa, we are doing well in canberra, kinda boring but still ok...going sydney and blue mountain for a few days next week...a good time to travel as its spring now.. going disneyland is not cheap so no point bringing a baby there and also, many rides u cant take with a baby in tow.. we are aiming tokyo disneyland, heard HK disneyland very small and not that nice..

pris, yes, should travel 1st then have kids...i tried to book a nice, spa hotel at blue mountain but all of them dont welcome children :-( got to go for a family friendly hotel , cant have the spa bath in the room :-(

priscilla, i'm collecting blythe dolls - they're big head dolls actually, my sister calls them 'brides of chucky' .. hahaha .. yes, you can send them for customisation if you don't have the tools to do it yourself .. i've just sent one of my dolls for her 'operation' on wednesday .. the girl sent me some preview pictures to show the progress and so far, i'm loving the new transformation .. hahaha .. and it was quite reasonable considering she's doing quite a number of changes for me, only S$52. i can't wait till she comes home ..

Elin is going to be 9 months old next week and Sofi will be two years old in early Nov ... time sure flies past very quickly when it comes to these two .. hahaha ..

Yes, i agree with you - better to travel now when it's just the two of you cos it's a hassle to go anywhere with the kids. i'm not complaining of spending time with them but rather the stuff i have to bring for them .. it's no longer the simple case of grabbing my bag and just leaving the house, got to make sure all their things are packed, etc. and no quiet time on the plane - we learnt that when we went to sweden last year, when it was just sofi. this year, we took a night flight so at most they were only awake for about 4 hours out of the entire journey.

well, we do intend on moving back to sweden but when and for how long, we don't know yet because elias says he doesn't miss it yet ..

Liz, enjoy your trip to Thailand but do take care of yourself yah ..

Gina, i've been to the one in Tokyo .. so nice and quite big, we only managed to cover one part of the park in one day. i was there with my sister.

so sayang, gina but yah, sometimes it's like that. we were looking at some nice resorts the other day but some places don't accept kids under 12 so we have to pass la .. argh!

Hey girls...
LizSo sorry abt that! My sister-in-law told me abt the same problem. I simply imported my blog from blogger to multiply and I think if one of your settings checked "email alerts" whenever one of your contacts update their profile, then you would get the emails. Could you go to one of those emails and change the settings? There´s a link where you can click and you can go there and change your settings so that you no longer receive any emails when your contacts update the blog....my million apologies though...I didn´t do anything to send the emails, think its automated.

GeorgiaThanks for agreeing! Talking abt spa, we´re eyeing to go to this spa place near the Boden See (Lake). Its the lake that´s in the middle of France, Germany and Switzerland. Do you upload pix of Luke anywhere?

Cuclainnedid a google search on Blythe dolls...they such look pretty! I´ve never been into dolls though, so don´t think I will catch this trench. Do you daughters get to play with teh Blythe dolls or are they for collection purposes only? Yah, I that´s what I was thinking about...the fuss about having to pack, book hotels...babysit the kid, so no couple-night out (even on holidays) unless you travel without the kid. There was a kidnapping case, if you´ve heard...the parents were eating in a restaurant in the hotel and someone kidnapped their daughter straight from the hotel room....that was so scary! The age gap between Elin and Sofi is so little! That´s like 15 months? Wah.... You´re amazing! That means you got pregnant when Sofi was 6mths old right? My sis and I are like 15 mths difference too...funny!

Wow, I'm having a hard time keeping up here!

cuclainne and i met up with our HB/HTB in tow last Fri, it was fun, ate Jap food and talked abt the economic crisis hahaha :D Nisa and I also found out that both our Swedes are passionate about computer programming ;)

Emil flew back to Sweden on Wed night. Missing him quite a bit ... but well, we'll have a lifetime together in no time at all, so am telling myself to make use of all my remaining time in Singapore properly and fruitfully (rather than spending too much of it pining for Emil). Emotions can be tricky tho
but these times always make us stronger i guess

Also, signed up with The Wedding Present on Wed and had the design session for my WG. Looking forward to the outcome
As for EG, we had something in mind (fusion of cheongsam and greek dress), designer sketched it out for us, so now just letting it sit in our minds for a while to see if we wanna go with it. Could either go very nice or very off :P

cuclainne, thanks again for coming out for dinner that evening. It was nice to finally be able to meet! I guess Elias has finally gotten his GPS? ;)

deluxe, hope u managed to tame the perm successfully! guess the perm shld 'settle down' after a week or so so that it'll look more natural

maple, thanks thanks. Been spending all my free time with Emil before he left, and plus work, been hard keeping up with the thread
how come Jeff likes Asia so much? Is he ok with the crowds? The first comment Emil had when he arrived in Sweden was that the air was so fresh and sweet ... guess the open spaces and nature has got sth to do with it. What do u feel tho? Are you ok with Asia, or wld u prefer to be in Oz / Canada? Or anything is alright?

georgina, have fun on ur trip to Sydney and Blue Mountain. Now shld be nice, not too cold and not too hot ;)

prisc, got ur invite, added u too
I was from SMU, what abt u? and wow, 6 months with YWAM sounds great. I'm kinda like in transition now, preparing for the wedding and the move to southern Sweden to join my HTB, but a bit concerned given the economic climate. HTB Emil and I are praying and committing the future to God. So uncertain, but we're safe in His hands eh
anyway can't think too much now, peak period, filing deadline impending! :P So cool re ur job tho ... how did u get it? And as for Swedish, I speak just the very bare basics ... enough to say "i love you", "hello", "thank you" and "I understand very little" hahahaha...

hi ladies... so sorry its been awhile. I am in recouperating MODE.

Nissa and Sarah.. my apologies for the no-show. It was a bad saturday for both Chris and me. The overwhelming of the crowd, our family obligations, eating too much and my trip to the reflexology were bad combination. I ended up over- exhausted, sick and stress...The reflexology sorta push the wrong area on my foot that caused me to feel as if my stomache has air-conditioning 24-7, and i kept going to the toilet non-stop. It did not get better when we board the plane the next day for OZ that I was unusually sick and bloated like a pregnant woman and finally vomitted throughout the 7 hours home. I was not happy.

I am still kinda sick, and starting to get a flu again.. stuffed nose and bad throat. I have no idea whats going on with my system but i sure do know part of it was stress to be in Singapore.

This trip, unfortunately showed me time and again that probably I dont belong to my homeland anymore. too hard.

Hernie,, no worries, it was all wonderful in HK and also I did not leave you any phonecard, it must be Jeff's?

Hi to Stevie and Bluerinser!

I am in Melbourne for now and married to a Polish-German. We are already married for about 1.5 years!

emi, am so sorry to hear that
I sure hope u'll start feeling better now that u're back in good old Oz. Yea, when Emil touched down in Sweden he said that the air was so much cleaner and fresher ... and when he was in Singapore he fell sick a lot, so maybe it's the air. Do take lots of care, and not to worry, am sure there'll be opptys sometime to catch up again. The world is too small!

Hey girls! How was your weekend? I had this Women´s day in church - pretty cool an annual womens-only gathering with over a 1,000 women I think...just seminars, lunch, tea and cake and more seminars and of course worship too!

glympseHey, I saw yr profile on multiply...we´re both born in the same year, almost the same time too. I´m a December baby. Anyways, I was from NTU. Do you know Yirong or Yuqi? They were from SMU accountancy too, yr year so you might know them. Well, re. my job, I took 1 year of german first and took some time to adapt. Made a trip to Singapore for 1 mth before deciding what I wanted to do. Basically sent out about 15 resumes to English schools and various business jobs, in the meantime just praying that God would close all the doors that only He can close and open the door that only He can open. True enough all doors closed (even simple ones like working at an Italian restaurant /supermarket). The only one that opened was the English teaching job at Wallstreet Institute. It was the only interview I had and the only one that I got a job in. So I´m trusting that God´s guiding me. Been there for 8 mths now and I don´t have much to complain...really enjoy my jobscope, lots of people contact and I get to know more about the German culture everyday. Regarding the economic crisis, yup! Its a common topic of conversation in English class too. We just ahd a sermon abt it last Sunday...my takeaway was to trust God to be our tower of refuge (like a lighthouse) in a time of storm.....

EmilSorry to hear about you about being sick! Yah, my first trip back to Singapore after 1 yr in Germany I fell sick within my first week. The second time back, I had to keep drinking liang cha whenever I could, cos I could always feel my throat starting to hurt everytime I ate something spicy.... so had to really take care.... once you´ve been overseas a long enough time, its easy to fall sick again in Singapore, cos the weather´s not very easy to deal with....

hi ladies, I'm back in holland. now have to rush the orders. getting busy again. Glad to be back to the quiet environment to have space n time for myself.

Hernie, sorry didn't reply yr question. There is a whole range of shops selling cloth. u can pick the samples from the shops. min order is 3 yards. as for thread n needles, i didn't see any shops selling that or maybe i didn't walk into every shops. There r too many liao. But it is cheap lor. If u have time, do take a look there.

Emil, I also fell sick and still recovering from cough. Hope u get well soon.

Ok ladies gtg n continue with my orders. take care!

priscilla, well i got sofi a barbie doll but she's not as interested in that doll as she is with mine! i sent one of my dolls for a make-over and this morning, sofi came in and said, doll face .. i think she knows something is different with the face (changed the make-up and added freckles) but just couldn't tell me due to her limited vocabulary

yah, very scary about disappearing kids.. elias said that the next time we bring the kids out on holiday, we can employ their babysitting service so we can go out to dinner by ourselves .. thanks but NO! if anything happens to my babies, i would never be able to forgive myself. i really feel sad reading about children that has gone missing .. sometimes they are really young, and when they cry for their mommies and daddies, i wonder what goes on in the minds of their takers. so heartless!

yah yah sofi was only 6 months when i conceived again .. by accident la. that's what being on vacation does to you .. holiday mood la! hahahah ..

glympse, elias started programming since he was about 11 .. he's taught his younger brother as well and i know he's secretly hoping to build the interest in the girls as well. hahah ..

nope, we haven't gotten the GPS yet .. i think for now he's ok as long as i'm in the passenger seat .. wait until he has to drive somewhere 'unknown' without me and he'll soon be saying yet again that he wants GPS.

emi, no worries .. hope that you're feeling better now. and you too, Liz.

hi ladies..
dropping by and saying a quick hello..been busy with life here, work and school. Reno on my house is almost finish..pending some things..but almost there.. Ok got to run..

pris wow! Perms are so ex in germany!!??!! I’ve done perms before… this is one of the more disastrous results.. it’s still not perfect but better than what it was in the 1st week. I hate stylists who try and convince me that I can make it look as nice as they do in the salon, given that I’m not professionally trained!

Homemade otah! Yumm! I guess it’s not difficult to mince the fish, just need to be able to get all the ingredients. I think Germany is still sorely lacking Asian shops?

Yeap, we’ve got a name with German origins, so far the only one we both agree on. Have to start thinking abt Chinese names soon…

georgina how was Sydney & blue mountains?

glimpse how are u doing? Not taking Emil’s absence too hard I hope? You sound like you’re making very good progress with the wedding
My sis’ wedding was on Sunday… tiring day! Spent the whole of Monday stoning in the office..

Liz hope you are feeling better now..

emi u too… are u back at work? Dun take it too hard… prob your busy schedule, lack of rest, the food and heat (esp since it’s still cold in Oz) takes a toll on your system – that’s why you got sick.. it takes some time to adapt and if you ever move back here, you’ll find that you’ll be “at home” soon too.. sometimes we get sick cuz not used to going in and out of air-con and heat – the body can’t regulate the change in temperature. Most of us who move back from overseas find that we’ll get the flu within a month or so of moving back.

pris, yeah, dunno what I'll do without Him leading, guiding, sustaining
Esp in the current economic climate, logically speaking it seems tough for Emil and I to secure jobs in Sweden (Emil just moved back, so he's hoping to go back to his old company, waiting for HR to get back to him). So really praying thru and committing it to Him to guide our every step

cuclainne, haha maybe u could get him the GPS for christmas ;) or he prob shld be able to install something in his handphone?

deluxe, thanks for asking
doing surprisingly well actually, guess it's cos i've been too busy with work and wedding prep and church commitments that i haven't really had time to dwell too much haha. actually a bit stressed abt wedding prep, less than 6 months left! plus prep for the move to sweden ... haha .. guess one step at a time la

Hope u manage to find a nice Chinese name
what abt surname tho? Will u be translating ur hubby's surname into Chinese and coming up with an original Chinese surname? I'm thinking of doing that actually ... want my kids to retain their Chinese roots, and abit strange to me if they take my Chinese surname since i'm the woman... :P

Liz, do get well soon!

Chrisl, u sound so busy, do take care! Btw went to Sattine the other day to try out their gowns, their range is really nice I must say. Got the inspiration for my current MTM WG from one of their gowns ;)

glympse gd to hear you're coping well.. yap, keeping occupied does help to take the mind of such issues.. usually too tired to go and think so much
just dun tire yourself out tho.. do get enough rest

Wouldn't be translating hb's surname, dun think it will sound nice, besides, it'll be too long: schmidt = "shi mi" or "shi mi de" yuckky right?! I dun mind using my Chinese surname (Cai) if i can find something nice to go with it - maybe a one-word name, like the PRCs do it, e.g. Li Na. Dun think it matters that it's from the gal's side, cuz i'm gonna to place it as a middle name. Anyway it'll make my parents happy to have the family name "passed down", since there are no sons in the family.. :p

deluxe, ur idea sounds gd, i.e. making the chinese name as a middle name. So if u choose "Cai Ling" as the chinese name (for e.g. only :P), and Cai is ur own surname, and Jane is her first name, would it then be "Jane Cai Ling Schmidt"?

Guess my HTB's surname is also easier to translate - "Li De" for Lide ;)

deluxeHahah, my perm was in Singapore lah....it wasn´t in Germany. Have not had the guts to perm my hair in Germany yet cos I have no idea if their chemicals would work well on Asian hair...even my own hairdresser advised me to perm in Singapore.... Well, there´s enough asian stores here....you´d just got to learn to be resourceful and figure out how to get various ingredients or to substitute those that can´t be found. But so far I´ve found whatever I needed here....don´t have a lot of time to cook while working, but still try to every now and then.... How did u decide to have the chinese name as the middle name? Is it common practice?

CuclainneYou are so funny! Hahah... went on holiday and conceived.... well, so far my hubby and I aren´t taking any chances about that...he keeps telling me that its quite likely for a woman to get pregnant even only after one try...so yahlah, just wait loh...until we both feel that we´re ready to get children....
Care to post some photos of your dolls? Would be nice to see them!You´re like having a second childhood now eh?

glympseYah! I totally agree to that of just praying and entrusting it to God.... He´ll make a way for you two through the waters.....i.e. like crossing of the river jordan and red sea....

hi ladies, back from blue mountains..a nice place to relax..

de_luxe, we went darling harbour and sydney opera house only, just see see look look coz only stopover 1 nite, stayed 3 nites at blue mountains,enjoyed the fresh air and relax atmosphere..good place to 'make babies`;-p

Luke has chinese name in chinese character, my surname and 1 character name..english name has both our surnames...

nisa, julio also into computer programming, sama sama with yr hubby

Hello ladies! It's been while since I posted anything on here. Been faithfully reading though.
My parents left two weeks ago and life just got busier!!!

Pris hey dear welcome back! So nice to see you around and hear your updates. You've made your blog private so haven't been able to read and for some strange reason I still can't get multiply to load on my PC! Yeah do all the travelling you want now before you settle down and have a kid. Gone are our days of just picking up our bags and going whenever and wherever we want. It seems to take us forever nowadays to get ready whenever we want to go out. I have to say since we had Dominic we've arrived in church for mass on sundays either on the dot or slightly beyond. Ha! Ha! We were even late for his Baptism!!! And Fr was wondering whether we'll ever get there as the whole congregation had to wait for us.

deluxe my cousin's daughter still has blue eyes. She's certainly one pretty six year old. Have you got a pregnancy diary? My MW gave me one at our first appointment. And it gave a weekly description on general development of the baby. I used to read it and feel happy everytime I got to turn the page because it meant I was getting closer to the 'finishing line'.
Wrists still hurts. But guess it's something I have to live with unless I want to stop bf.

Otak-otak isn't that difficult to make. Tried doing it once but got carried away with the chilli so Paul couldn't eat it.

maple thanks for asking. Wish pain could be shooed away too. Hope you are enjoying all you kueh. My dad tried to send me some packets of sauces and pastes, I usually make my own rempah but now don't have the time to do so, so he thought it would make life easier if he sent me some. But it got rejected by the post office. The reasons they gave was that firstly it was a liquid and it might explode in the plane! Secondly it would probably be rejected by customs due to the fear of anthrax! Looks like I have to wait until I go back to Sg to get my fix of blachan.

Cuclainne yah kids grow so fast. Feel so sad to put away Dominic's little newborn clothes knowing that he won't use it again. My tiny baby isn't so tiny anymore.

Glympse time will pass more quickly when you are busy doing stuff. Before you know it you'll be walking down the aisle and wondering where these past few months have flown to. Try to pray together if you can, it really helps. When Paul and I are apart we usually try and pray together over the phone.

Gina looks like you had a nice time in the blue mountains. So have you been busy 'making babies'???

Liz hope you get better soon. Did you manage to get the diapers? I have started to clothe diaper Dominic since two weeks ago as he's now a lot bigger and there's less potential of having 'leaks'. Hee! Hee! Am asking myself why I create more work for myself as there's more laundry to do. But feeling a little better that I'm trying to be more environmental friendly.

Chrisl glad to know you and hubby are ok.

emi and margie hope you are enjoying spring in Melbourne. The cold days have finally arrived.

welcome stevie and blue rinser

ok I gotta go back and sleep
yawn.gif
was typing and pumping at the same time! Great practise for multi-tasking.

mrs n sounds totally silly that the post office rejected the food stuff.. maybe try DHL next time, they usually dun ask so much, dun declare everything n put in some innocent stuff like documents and clothes.. that's wat my mom used to do when i was in france.. i got 25kg DHL boxes from her once a year stuffed with all kinds of food including pork floss n kaya! The guys were always happy to help me carry the box back to my dorm room.

Nope, dun have a pregnancy diary, was considering getting one at first but didn't, now's rather late to start i suppose.. already starting 3rd trimester this week.. i get a weekly update from a website tho so that kinda helps with the countdown.

I got a dozen diapers.. mom was saying that it's better for baby's skin, so i guess we'll use those during the day and the dispoable ones at night. Have you seen the cool designs on www.bumwear.com.sg? Oh btw, do u use baby laundry detergent or normal detergent for baby clothes and diapers? Does it make a difference??

liz why do u need diapers??

georgina no 2 on the way? *wink wink nudge nudge* :p

Mind sharing Luke's full name?

pris dunno if it's common practice, but for me it felt like the most sensible way of incorporating a chinese name..

well.. ur hb is not wrong.. it's all abt timing.. we didn't even try!!!

glympse Yap that's right, might even use the taiwanese spelling for Cai - Tsai instead.. i suppose ang mos can't pronouce it either way tho!! So far all the Chinese words that i like are more for girls, e.g. En (something), Rui (something)... dunno many boys names except the common ones like Wei Qiang, Zhi Liang, Zhi Xiong.. haiyah.. wat to do, my Chinese is so bad..

chrisl, hey girl .. hope everything is alright .. write here when things are not so busy yah ..

de_luxe, do you have a regular stylist that you go to? yeah, i know what you mean by that .. i've had some disastrous hairstyles before and some really charge through the nose for their service but thankfully i managed to find a good one near my mom's place .. i go to her all the time now.

glympse, actually we do have a small GPS that syncs with the mobile phone but it doesn't really work well .. right now, there's no more talk of getting it so i'm going to leave it be .. he's been talking about getting a certain kind of camera lens (apparently you can't get it anymore in sg) so i'm going to try and see if i can get it for him ..

priscilla, yes it's true .. for some couples, it really just takes one try to strike ..

i haven't had much opportunity to take photos of my own dolls, since the weather has not been so great lately but as soon as i do, i'll post it up yah .. hahahah .. i told elias about the second childhood thing and he said what second childhood, he's never left his and doubt i did too .. hahahaha ..

gina, pity that our husbands didn't really get to speak much .. otherwise i'm sure that they'll soon be chatting away about programming like emil and elias did..

i would like to go to sydney - was it easy to get around with a child in tow?

mrs n, how old is dominic now? yes, they grow up so quickly - today i've just had to buy new clothes and bottles for elin .. she's outgrown some, you see. i've kept some of sofi's clothes for elin but now that she's outgrown them, i've started to give them away. how are you coping, now that your parents have gone home?

de_luxe, are you in the home stretch yet? baby detergent is not as 'harsh' as the ones we use for our clothes - until now, the kids are still using separate detergent from ours.

cuclainne i dun really have a reg stylist, went back to the salon cuz the last time i changed my hairstyle w them turned out well but the guy who did it has left, so they assigned a new stylist. Quite obvious to me that we dun see eye-to-eye abt what looks gd on me.. n i think there's some communication breakdown too, he's PRC n my chinese is not so fantastic, i can understand him but can't exactly express myself. Dun think i will go back there, too far (marina sq) for me now.. for next haircut, will ask pple for recommendations ard Jurong West. Prob will be cheaper too!!

M starting 3rd trimester today.. still dun feel prepared, n even worse after watching the labour video during ante-natal class on fri..

Wat brand of detergent do u use for the kids?

yes, if you can find a good stylist in the neighbourhood, why not? mine only charges $27 for wash, cut and blow straight.

i use pureen brand .. plus i get staff discount if i buy from the store at kk ..

don't worry, i remembered feeling the same way too .. especially when it's the final few days ..

Hi Mrs N, I am better, just on n off cough. I didn't manage to see the diapers. Was sick and time too tight. Most of the time, I tried to rest n recuperate and finished up the errands that were most urgent. I finally changed my IC putting my Christian name and Jeroen's surname in it. Ai yo! The counter gal is v blur. She made a mistake and had to redo a new one. Lucky dun have to pay again, just have to wait a little longer. Good lah! At least I can put Mrs Elizabeth Rutten-Ng, rather than Mrs Rutten Jeroen or Mrs Rutten Elizabeth. So weird! hahahaha....

Deluxe, I want to have a look at the diapers coz if I do get preggie, then I know what type to ask my sis to get. Too bad, no time to do that.

Talking abt perm. I had 2 bad encounters. No more perms anymore! I went back cut my hair twice. Just pop into the $10 10 min hair cut!
Cannot complain coz hair cut here is ex and so-so only! At least it is short and manageable to beat the strong wind here. hahahaha....

Weather is turning crazily cold! But glad to be home again to recuperate and have time n space for myself. I realise I don't take v well to Asian countries. Too crowded, noisy and pollution. ;P

I was talking to Jeroen about Chinese name. He was like er!!! Actually I never thought of it as I hardly use my own Chinese name ever since I got baptised. Never really like my Chinese name. Hahaha... coz of the sound. To me it doesn't matter whether my kid has a Chinese name or not as my mum doesn't have one, only Christian name. I am hopeless in Chinese myself. Kekekeke.... we decide then if we do have a kid of my own in future... I guess he/she will end up with a few Saint names like Jeroen. He has 4 middle names named after the saints.

Wah! How to make otah! Teach me! Teach me! Kekekeke... Now we can cook in the kitchen. FIL has installed the stove, oven and sink. The rest like flooring and tiles and fume cap has yet to be done. But glad that at least I can cook at home.
It is v spacious! V happy!

My bunny is home! She is well! Phew!

deluxe i see. But isn't courier service more ex? Do they go by weight or per box? Dominic is using bumwear.
I got them at the Motherhood fair when we were down earlier this year. Yes there are some cool patterns but at that time we didn't know whether we were having a boy or girl so went for the neutral ones. One of our choices was this bright in your face luminous green. Hee! Hee! If he gets 'lost' he'll definitely be spotted!
I don't use seperate detergent for his stuff. I just make sure its non-bio and doesn't contain softener. So far so good. At the moment we're using bumwear in the day and disposables for night and when going out.

Liz wah so much drama just to update your IC. Did you add it into your passport as well? Hee! Hee! Jeroen must be a very saintly person with four Saints names.
I can send you the recipe for otak if you want. Yah please to know that Sweetie is better.

Cuclainne Dom is now 11 weeks will be 12 weeks on Thursday. First few days without my parents were manic and to make matters worse Paul went off to France for a work trip. So I went from a house full of people to an empty one within days! However I'm slowly getting into a routine. Brought Dominic to a babies group on Monday. He seem to have enjoyed it. Got real excited with the hanging toys on the playgym. Anyway the good thing was that he slept for a couple of hours after that. At least some free time for me to catch up on housework. Our house is beginning to turn into a laundrette! Can't believe how a tiny person can use so many clothes in a day!
You not keeping clothes for no. 3??

Mrs N, i can understand .. Sofi alone can change clothes twice in the morning before we leave the house .. add two more during the day and another two more in the evening .. i constantly have laundry to do .. hahahah ..

no la, i let you and paul catch up first .. then i'll consider having a third

mrs n i'm not sure wat the cost diff is in sg, but when i was sending some stuff from oz to sg, fedex was actually cheaper, faster n more reliable than auspost! Courier will charge by weight if it's a small parcel, they also have package for 10kg, 15kg and 25kg - in which case, they will charge a flat fee for the box (they will provide one, just need to call them in advance) as long as it doesn't exceed the weight u r paying for.

liz did u have to do a deed poll? ICA din let me change my name the way i wanted it w/out a deed poll

good to hear that Sweetie is well again!

Well u can look at the bumwear diapers online.. i think other than them, the other diapers available r the normal cotton ones that we used when we're young. I got a dozen of those from a HDB shop.

cuclainne $27 is a gd deal

Taking a short breather from work, been so busy couldn't even go toilet till few minutes ago haha. I've been browsing the posts, looks like lots of action huh

prisc, yea, it's been really tough recently tho, with the current economic situation around the world. Ppl are just trying to cling on to the current jobs, let alone quitting to find a new one. Seems so illogical to be moving to Sweden and finding a job there in this environment ... but it's really a testing of faith to trust God when jumping into uncertainty and the unknown. Have so far been rejected on 2 applications I've sent out, but like Emil says, it's prob still quite early to apply, esp since i can only start half a year later :P continuing to pray!

Gina, welcome back from Blue Mts. Sounds like a great place to take a break ... and go for honeymoon even hehe. My HTB is also like Elias and Julio, computer programmer.

Mrs N, yea u're absolutely right, praying together really helps. It's tough tho, even being able to meet each other online to videocam, cos of the time difference (7 hrs diff). But yea, trying not to dwell on what i don't have, and treasure the times we do get to meet and talk
really want these 6 months to pass fast, so that no more long dist!
Btw, do keep posting pics of Dominic! He's a good looking one ... still fascinated by his blue eyes!

deluxe, haha well, u got us here to bounce off chinese baby name ideas ;) are u going for any particular feel / meaning behind the name? I'm likely to call my first daughter Liv Ling Lide ... nice ring to it ;) Still clueless about a good boy name tho ... considering Luke (like Gina's boy
).

cuclainne, boys and their toys huh
is Elias very into techie gadgets? I'm very much like that, and interestingly, Emil isn't really a tech freak like me, so I guess that's better for our wallets ;)

Liz, good to hear about ur bunny! Glad she's ok
wah sounds like changing ur i/c was so much of a hassle! is it always like that? Also, wanted to ask - do we have to change marital status or something in our passport / ic? I'm flying off to Sweden like 2 days after the wedding ceremony, so not sure if got time to change passport / ic :P

Quick update on my end too - have just settled the EG design with TWP. Now looking into all the details like invitation cards, guest lists, etc etc. Seems like so much to think about! But telling myself to enjoy the process. Sometimes really wished that Emil could be here to plan the wedding together, but well, there's a time and season for everything. Believing that our relationship will grow stronger thru this time apart.

Okie, back to work!!! Take care everyone