Any Brides whose HTB is 'Ang Mo'?

baby luke's recent pic ..nisa, pose elin's pic here too, she must be a very pretty and sweet girl :-)
717222.jpg

gina: he's got so much hair, compared to elin (or even sofi back then) .. so jealous! i wonder when i'll be able to tie their hair leh .. hahahah ..

717237.jpg

elin when she was about 2 months old.

alamak - didn't realise the picture ended up being quite big leh .. hahahah ..

don't you think she looks like sofi (when she was younger)?

717244.jpg

Ahh all the cute babies! My biological clock is going into overdrive :P

cuclainne Sofi and Elin are beautiful
Love their smiles and sparkling eyes hehe .. I understand that Swedes love dark hair and eyes, so I'm quite sure that those 2 girls are going to be quite sought after when they are older

I've actually tried moose kebab when I was in Sweden, during one of the summer markets. Tastes like beef :P It's Emil's father's church that sells those, and moose kebab is apparently quite popular. Emil was telling me that there's this couple from outside of Sweden that would fly to Skane every summer and hunt down the moose kebab for their yearly fix :P No elk or reindeer yet though ... have you?

Chrisl, luxury tax? Seriously? Is that why a BK meal in Norway costs like 20 SGD?? :P I liked Norway when I was there though ... it has a slightly different vibe from Sweden. But survived mostly on bread and yoghurt when I was there .... haha

maplehue, wah, Jeff is so blessed to have a wife that cooks a dish especially for his tastebuds :P does he miss food from home? or is he ok with asian-style western food? Emil can sometimes be picky about the quality of western food here, but he's found a new love in Carl's Jr :P Emil is like Jeff, doesn't really like spicy food or durian. I'm trying to wean him into them though :P

Georgina, a durian competition actually sounds like a great idea! All the angmoh hubbies and HTB may put aside their likes/dislike for the sake of the thrill of winning and satisfying their ego ... haha .... I like the agreement u have with Julio re speaking English and Mandarin and Spanish with the baby. I might try that in future
Though I'm just a bit concerned that the kids may learn to conspire with Emil in Swedish, and I won't understand a word they are saying :P are u planning to learn Spanish? it's a pretty useful language to have actually
And Luke looks like one cool dude already! His 'stare' is quite a killer ... :P

Cuclainne,I will be working at an international school in hong kong. Oh my gosh! your darling is sooo cute and sweet! Hey, i didn't know that our feet expand after delivery. My sis wore size 4 before and after her second girl, she is now wearing size 6. I thought that was a little weird. I guess I have to be "ready" to let go of my nice shoes and sandals when I am infected by baby dust la!

Hi Glympse, luckily Jeff likes Italian cuisine cos I am fairly okay at it. Learned quite a bit from an Italian "mama" when I was living in Italy. Jeff is more of a steak and potato person so it is not too hard to please him. I am still trying to master his Mom's beef stew that he craves once in a while. I think Jeff and Emil are a little similar when it comes to being picky about the quality of western food here but he doesn't complain as much now.. I've also given up trying to make him use to spicy food or durian. Don't have the heart to see him sick la but good luck to you girl!
Do you cook a lot for Emil? And what and where is Carl's Jr?

Chris, how's the painting going?

Ok gotta run. Talk soon everyone!

de_luxe: yes, drink coconut juice for smoother skin. i also chilled drank bird's nest - supposedly good for the kid, yummy for me so why not .. hahahah .. i don't know if this helps but i drank a lot of milk, ate cheese when i was preggers with sofi and she had good skin when she was born leh .. so for elin, i become even super kancheong and drank soyabean whenever i could .. hahahah .. she was also born with smooth skin.

maplehue: yes, as it is, i'm still trying to claim my old body back .. hahahah ..

glympse: yes, i've tried both .. reindeer i had as a steak with mashed potatoes and lingonberries. the elk meat i had was on a hotplate - shared with his two friends, while on a weekend skiing trip with them. actually one did all the skiing, me and elias just explored the town and the other one .. i don't know what he did because he was never around until dinner time .. hahahah ..

Cuclainne,
Forgot to ask you about you guys moving..sorry.
Where are you and Elias planning to move after your lease expires? Jeff and I really like the apts at East Coast area. We are currently living at Signature Park(on Jalan Jurong Kechil) which is quite nice but it is a bit far. Each trip to Orchard costs SG$10-12(not during peak period) and a trip to visit my Mom at Bedok costs almost $20. Can pengsan!
Ha..my sis is also trying to claim her old body back but i told her being a mother itself is enough to make her look more beautiful and radiant! No need to stress la girl

ps: I've also tried reindeer meat on hotplate. It was good but I felt so guilty! Have also tried kangaroo and crocodile meat. Never again! It didn't go down quite well.

heheh you know what Maple? When i painted the 1st coat yesterday, the ceiling seems so white! haha i shall put on another layer of it later and see..but seems like it could not be too dark beige, just a slight creamy tone of white
thanks for your suggestions gal! appreciate it
! ok will post pictures soon

Gosh Gina! Luke is so handsome leh! I think somewhat he looks like you from this angle
and learning spanish might be a good idea after all cos you know what's going on..esp when pple talk hehehe..you know what that day MIL commented something to my hb about the way i made the salad..i was kinda annoyed..she thought i duno..

Haha Cuclainne yup, elin resembles much like sofi! Esp when she smiles
Don't worry on the hair, when i was born i had no hair at all till up to about 4 years!!! My poor mum had to buy lots of caps and hats for me hahaa..i remembered i had a collection of those at home ;P now i had so much hair which i dread! Most stylist charge me extra for colouring and treatments you know? Talking about hair, im thinking of visiting the salon here but not sure how they would do my hair..cos it is thicker as it's asian unlike the Caucasians..limp & fine

Indeed, price aside, Norway's a nice country to visit
hahhah maybe then can visit us when you and family swing by

glympse~ biological clock? you can't be older than me right? hehee me 29 this year..hitting 30 next. Yes, it's all those 'extras' you'll get in norway hehe..i've eaten the most expensive fast food meal here..bk and mac..but i would recommmend ppl travelling here not to eat at fast food joints cos more ex but instead they should eat at this 'Statoil' petrol station's mini store (seven-eleven kinda..it's in most bigger stations). They sell this burger (much bigger, yummier&cheaper ~ about SGD$10. (if you want drinks plus a few more $ but all in all definitely cheaper then macs..)

haha yeah..so as to say, bread is still the most economical way to settle your stomach
cos locals have it for breakfast lunch and sometimes dinner hahaha

Btw, elk is another name for moose here in europe. Reindeer has a stronger taste then moose, personally i don't fancy it

hi hi.... in order to participate in the forum, one must spent at least 30 minutes reading!

hello girls... nice to have all the MIAs back in here again...

Hernie, sorry that i have not be incommunicado too well. Have been keeping myself busy with work and "partying". I have been living life like before I was married and GOSH, CANT I handle it. Its too hard.. out every night and just doing what I do. I go home to an empty home flat out and rush to work again the next day.

But its been great to be surrounded by mates who are there to hold my hand so that I dont feel lonely. Even managed to getaway to SYdney for a couple of days and it was excellent. I am happy.And lack of sleep.

I cant wait for Chris to go home coz he is SURPRISE SURPRISE for the first time MISSING MELBOURNE! hehehahah. I have no idea if that is a good sign. All I know he said that Innsbruck might be crossed out in "PLACE WE MIGHT LIVE IN FUTURE" list....

Anyways, I will reply your email tomorrow and hope to hear more interesting news from your side. Why are u staying at Signature park? do they have like a couple o days type accommodation there? I thought its like a full on condo? no?

Corrine.... you have been pregnant since in Melbourne and no one knew? wahhhhh good secret man.... Is that why you didnt drink any wine? But yeah.. better listen to Hernie... wear flat shoes if you are prone to falling on stairs....

Oh yes... alamak... our feet will expand forever?? Hmmmm... then i better stop buying shoes next year! coz we are thinking of getting pregnant in a couple of years time.. Hehehhahaha

The only deer i like is venison.... so sweet, great with rendang or sweet soya sauce.....

oklah talk to you girls later...

Hee! Hee! Emi you sure you'll get preggers in a couple of years time! Could be less than that.
There must be something in the Ozzie water. Besides Gina and Deluxe, I know of someone else who went to Oz on holiday twice and came back with babies each time. I think the moral of the story is if you want to get pregnant go to Oz!

maple welcome back to Sg. When are you leaving for HK? I think that steamer must be a one off sale because Fiona tried looking for cuddlefish before she left for Munich and couldn't find it too. Oh well! You now have an excuse to go shopping for cooking utensils in HK.
Yeah I'm 37 weeks today. At my last appointment with the MW she said the baby's head has gone a little lower but no need to panic as won't go into labour just yet! Phew! Fingers crossed my mum will be here in less than a week.

Glympse yah in Sg have to close down account and open a new joint account. Hee! Hee! We call our Sg one our 'holiday' account as we only use it while we are in Sg. But it's more of a three person account really as I've given my mum access to it as well for her use in emergencies. Hee! Hee! If Emil thinks durian smells like rotten food ... wonder what he'll think if you ever tried to bakar blanchan in your kitchen???
Nowadays I dare not bakar blanchan to make my rempah when the hubby is around because he'll start opening the windows and doors even if it's freezing outside! But when I cook dishes with the rempah he will say it's nice so I tell him 'no pain no gain'!

Cuclainne The girls look very much alike. Both have such huge eyes. Serious your feet get bigger. I didn't notice cos can wear my sandals and shoes although a bit tight so have to loosen laces. But I don't think I really swelled that much even MW commented that I 'very good huh' still can wear my wedding ring! But I'm having pain in the joints of my fingers and they are really painful at night. Have to keep waving them around above my head. Paul woked up one night and thought I had gone crazy!
Anyways I've stopped working now b'cos too painful to drive.

Gina so fast Luke is already 8 weeks. He's getting to be a big boy very quickly. He sure looks like a rock star with that hair style!

deluxe stairways can be a killer towards the end. These last few weeks I find it hard to keep going up and down stairs, espcially if I have to carry the laptop (for work). Really have to huff and puff. Hee! Hee! Paul was asking if he needs to install a chair lift for me!

Chrisl have fun painting your house!

Anyway here's hoping everyone will have a lovely weekend!

Oh btw Gina thanks for the link. Will probably look into it when we know the gender of the child.
For the time being we'll just go for the bare basics. Going to Sheffield tomorrow so will take a look at the market they usually have quite cheap stuff.

My pleasure Chris! Can't wait to see the pics! Slight creamy tone of beige sounds good. If you want the walls and ceiling to be the same color, I guess you'll have to do the same amount of coats yeah.
The last time I painted was some 10 years ago...for my Mom's room. She wanted very light color so I chose light yellow. I added white to make it a little pastel and to create an accent "wall", I refinished her wooden wardrobe in dark green. It was fun and I made lots of little newpaper hats for the cats too cos they were all very curious sniffing here and there in the room. How's your little kitty coping with the paint smell and the "mess"? Enjoy and have fun!

Emi,,,good to hear from you. MIssed our chats! Yeah la girl, both of us have been busy lately till no time to update each other. You with your "single" life partying and me moving and 'summering' here and there. HOw was Sydney?! I haven't really had time to read all the blogs on Multiply la. Maybe I should.
WHen is Chris coming back? I am amazed that he can survived without his teh tarik and prata with condensed milk this long! heheh.

You are right, SIgnature Park is a full on condo but one of our couple friends live here. They are new zealanders. It was good timing. The day we arrived in Sg was they day they left for AUckland, so rather than spending on a hotel, we paid them for our 3 weeks stay(eventhough we stayed for less than 2 weeks). It was so convenient, we left the rest of our barang barang here while we were in canada.

HI Mrs.N, thank you for the warm wish. We were supposed to leave yesterday(friday) morning but I changed our flight to tomorrow(sunday). So one more sleep and off we go..
We were doing a makeover for my Mom's room and needed extra time. Good for me too cos I can eat more food. Wah...37 weeks already!
So excited for you.and baby's head is a little lower now? That is a sign isn't it? Do you have a bag all ready by the door for the hospital trip??
I am still bummed about the wok and steamer. What a bummer. I'm sure Cuddlefish was disappointed too.Nice of fiona to look for her.

Good to know that your Mom will get there soon. I've already told my Mom about coming to stay with me for a while if or when we are infected by baby dust. I'm sure our hubbies will be awesome but still, not the same as our Mommies yeah.

Take care and can't wait to hear the happy news!

Cuclainne and Glympse, I made Jeff tried a tiny bit of durian puff yesterday. MIssion failed! I finished a puff, it was good but couldn't eat it anymore cos the taste was so rich. We went to simply bread this morning and jeff said he could still taste the 'rotten' taste somewhere in his mouth. AIyaiyai...

Deluxe, hope work was good this week. Take care and have fun making a home in your new apt.

Have a good weekend everyone!

Maple you're trip home is so short! That's what I'd call a flying visit.
Well the MW says the baby's not quite ready yet but is positioning itself. Hospital bag is kind of half packed. Baby's stuff is more or less packed but mine is still halfway.
We might have to take a drive to hospital to find out where the maternity ward is as we haven't a clue! Hee! Hee! Just imagine what we'll be like running around like a pair of headless chickens on that day!

haha mrs n gd luck w the hospital recee... anyway if u dun do it i think the nurses there will be able to see that you're in labour and direct u appropriately.

We're going to do hospital tours at Thomson Medical and Mt. Alvernia early Aug before deciding on either one. Wanted to do it earlier but they're booked out 2 wks ahead!!

cuclainne i tot the swelling goes away after delivery!!! Oh dear me!

Wow... 4 strollers! That's quite a few... i think i'll definitely get a sling. Not sure if it's practical to use all the time, as it may depend on where i'm going, eg not so practical if going to get groceries...

Sofi n elin certainly have the same face shape. Do they still look alike?

gina / cuclainne looks like luke and elin have dark bluish eyes? i can't really tell from sofi's pic...

maple hope the HK apts won't be too tiny!

Carl Jr is an American burger chain w huge burgers and fairly innovative flavours. Think they might be available in HK. In sg, there are a few outlets, can't remember all, but some are at Marina Sq, Vivocity and Raffles Place..

Actually i dun really like flats... but there was an article in TODAY during the week abt footwear for preggie women. It says that completely flat pumps, sandals and slippers aren't recommended cuz there isn't enuff support. Recommended slightly heeled shoes up to 1.5" with good arch support
good excuse for shopping cuz none of my shoes match this description!

I liked kangeroo quite a bit, rather like beef but leaner. I tried crocodile once at an event organised by the South African embassy in sg... but ended up with very bad food poisoning.. so dun think i'll ever try it again.

We'll move to the new apt in 3-4 wks when the reno is completed. Bertil is in love with the large balcony and already talking abt having his frens over for BBQ... *groan*

emi yup
hehe... we din want to say cuz it was still early then. You're right abt why i wasn't having any alcohol then... i actually wanted the crab pasta that sam ordered that night but my mum barred me from eating crabs - dun ask me why...

Was also off coffee for a while - the smell made me nauseous. But towards the last wk, i started missing my lattes so in the past wk, i indulge in 1 or 2 on wkends

Hehe... u never know... a few yrs might just end up being a year
we didn't expect this so soon either, not with all the moving that we have to do. Start taking ur supplements at least a month before TTC-ing, yah!

glympse a french-singaporean couple we know have the language "issue" with their kids... the mom doesn't speak french very well and the kids now converse w their dad in french when they dun want their mom to know what they are talking abt.

chrisl i tot the bb from 12 wks can hear my voice but can't hear external noise till 24 wks or something like that? I supposed to be talking, singing and reading stories but it really feels weird.. as if i'm talking to myself.. so not doing it often..

Ur MIL so direct? Actually ask for grandchild? Wow!

maplehue: we haven't decided yet - as usual, i'm the one who has to do the shortlistings (trawl the classifieds and net la) and then go through the list with elias. he would much prefer to get a house than an apartment but houses are usually quite more ex than an apartment and the ones that are somewhat affordable usually requires some work.

yes, it's quite far off ain't it - i used to work at my uncle's shop there. but quite a number of expats in that area.

today we went to tambuah mas at paragon and had kangkong belachan, udang petai belado and tahu goreng .. each time i order the tahu, for sure the server will tell me that it's spicy (eh, where got?) .. i think it's because of elias lah .. hahahah ..

chrisl: so are you working on giving your MIL a new year's present?

yes, that would be lovely .. but it'll have to be when the kids are slightly older if we're making that car trip .. already unhappy taking that 3.5 hour drive to smedjebacken.

how did she think you wouldn't know what she was saying? my ILs assume that i know what they're talking about - so far i've not heard them say anything about me .. but that's probably because Elias always keep repeating to them that i know more than i let them to believe .. heheh ..

yah - elias keeps saying that they get their lack of hair from him cos he was also almost botak when he was a baby .. but sofi's hair is quite a lot now but still fine - even finer than elias' hair .. my MIL mentioned that the girls don't look anything like me (brown hair and eyes) and that she felt sorry for me leh ..
i used to feel quite upset when strangers tell me that the girls look more like elias - like i got no share la but now i just 'in one ear, out the other' lor.

Mrs N: there were a few times when i've had to buy new sandals while out cos the ones i was wearing became too tight .. oh, i cannot take off my wedding ring already .. for both pregnancies, i always wait till last minute to take off my ring and as soon as the swelling goes down, i'd put the wedding ring on but i think i must have gained weight because i cannot take off my ring and the guy at the store said i must take it off NOW or it'll cut off the blood supply .. he also suggested that i buy a new ring but i like my band leh .. boo hoo ..

for sofi, i knew i was supposed to head to the delivery suite cos i was scheduled to be induced since she was late but with elin, we weren't sure where to go so we walked into 24-hour women's clinic and told them that perhaps the water bag has burst - even then i was paiseh that i might have been mistaken but apparently i wasn't .. hahah.

de_luxe: i got myself the Moms In Mind sling (http://www.momsinmind.com.sg) but somehow i could never figure out how to make them sit comfortably in it so i paid extra for a Moby Wrap (http://www.mobywrap.com) instead .. both Sofi and Elin love this - they would fall asleep in it. I use it when i have to go to the grocery store by myself cos it leaves me with two free hands to carry the groceries

they don't really look alike now - the only similarity is their face shape which takes after mine .. heheheh .. plus elin is more chubbier than sofi is .. sofi has brown eyes, elin would probably have the same as hers - we can't really tell yet.

sofi is now terribly confused by the languages, i think .. cos i speak english and malay to her, they teach in english and mandarin in school and her dad speaks swedish to her .. but having her in school has been good for her, i think because she's able to say things in proper sentences now - things like 'i want my mommy' or 'i want more' .. hahahah .. elias has been teaching her the word söt which means cute and a few days ago, out of the blue, she just said, daddy söt .. hahahah .. followed by baby (she means elin) söt, mommy söt, nenek (my mom) söt, and so on .. seems like everyone was 'söt' in her books .. hahahah ..

it might seem weird but i like talking to my kids when they were in my tummies - i'd tell them things like don't be so naughty, let mommy sleep, etc .. hahaha .. elias likes to talk and occasionally sing to them ..

Hello hello from Hong Kong!!
Mrs.N...yalah, it was such a short visit this time and I didn't really get to "relax". The days went by so fast everyday. At the airport, i felt so sad to say goodbye to my Mom. We went there earlier so that I could have my last Singapore food, nasi lemak, kaya toast with teh. Scrum. So have you and Ralf visited the hospital? Don't do too last minute ok incase the little one decides to pop out earlier! Ha..and get tat bag ready soon too. I think if it was me, I would be more "kanchiong" la.
AND you must be looking forward to your Mom's visit right? It would be nice to have Mom's cooking too!

Deluxe, it is just our first official day here and it's been hectic already. In the morning, we decided to swing by our work place and of course that took us a couple of hours cos we were taken around to meet with the office staff and also the building. I got to see my office/Visual Arts studio and I'm very happy that it is a big space with lots of storage and sinks! )

Then after that, we met with one of the 3 real estate agents and she took us to 7 apartments to view. I was very excited but in the end got very very tired. The hot weather didn't help either. As expected, they are all tiny and small and expensive. Tomorrow we have 6 more to view. So far, from today's viewing, both of us like this one place which is right by the ocean and it is on 31st storey. It is a new condo with swimming pool, gym, clubhouse, bbq etc. The view is to die for! 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms with 2 bathtubs but it is not near anything(like Nanyang View). The other one is an older apartment but it is 2 minutes away from everything. I am torn! Jeff likes the ocean view of course. It will be very peaceful come evening time but I am thinking more of groceries shopping and retail therapy(but noisy of of course). Anyway, we have a lot more to see tomorrow and the day after before deciding.

Thanks for info re: Carls Jr. We were at Vivocity and could have tried it cos Jeff loves Western food. Maybe we could find it here.

Hey i didn't know that 1.5" is recommended to support our feet. I thought wearing flats is the way to go. When my sis' feet were swollen, she didn't wear any heels at all. I told her to try Hush Puppies or Scholl but she refused.
..and yes..same here, never again I'll eat crocodile meat!

Cuclainne, good luck in your apt hunting. So far Jeff has been the pro active one here when it comes to liaising with the real estate agents and asking them for details.
I did the searching and looking via internet while we were still in Korea and have now passed the baton to him la. hee

A house would be good for the kids but of course dearer. There is an older apartment near Jalan Jurong Kechil on Toh Tuck Road. Its called "Garden.... " Sorry can't remember the name la. The ground floor units have nice huge balcony. They are currently repainting the exterior and the inside is pretty big. One setback is the split levels. Our friends live there and we went to visit them cos it was near from Signature Park.

Can elias eat petai? You are so lucky that you can eat Tahu Goreng. I can't cos of my nut allergy. I tried petai when i was younger and tat was it. Can't tahan the smell and taste. SO 'payau'!

And deluxe, maybe you can place a headset on your tummy and play some classical song to your little one?..

Maple looks like you're all set about settling into life in HK. Sounds like the next few days will be exciting ones for you and Jeff.
31st storey wow that's high and I'm sure it will have a view to die for but won't it be a bit too windy during typhoon weather? Hee! Hee! I think you got mixed up with me and Margie lah! Ralf is Margie's hubby isn't it.
Well I'll try to be organise this week. I've stop working so have some time to sort things out.

Deluxe yah we went to hospital but when we got to the entrace of of the carpark we couldn't find the sign for the maternity unit. So Paul just park in the short term spaces outside the A&E and left me in the car since it was raining. He managed to find some signs inside which led to the antenatal ward. He didn't really go in though.
Anyway just in case I have to go by myself I have a fair idea now as it is on the same side as the stroke unit which my FIL was in 2 years ago. But hopefully it won't come to that! About strollers, my SIL gave us a 3 in 1 system, the kind which can be used as a pram/travelcot, stroller and attached carseat. It's a nice one even though it's probably about 12 years old and quite bulky! I'm not even sure if the frame is going to fit into the boot of my car! So we got a baby carrier as well. But the slings look attractive too. I remember my younger cousins were all carried in batik slings when they were babies and I was always amazed at how it didn't manage to fall off as they didn't have hooks like the modern ones do.

Cuclainne wah my mouth watering already after hearing your description of the makan. I haven't had petai in a long long time. We used to cooked it at home and I always had the job of peeling them and removing any ulat.
Next time when I'm back will have to go to an Indonesian restaurant. Don't think Paul has really tried Indonesian cooking yet. But have no idea where to go now. All the ones I used to frequent seemed to have disappeared!

Hee! Hee! For the time being you can wear your ring round your neck. I can't take my wedding ring off now either but I can still twiddle it round my finger. Before my finger were so skinny that I was always afraid of losing my ring if I waved my hand too vigorously.
Though I have to take my hat off to Paul's SIL as she has never taken her wedding ring off since the day she married his brother which was almost 14 years ago! She dented it a few months back while gardening and has no idea how to shaped it back without having to take it off.

maplehue: wow - 31st floor?! the view must be breath-taking ..
take it, take it .. hahah .. elias' friend lived on one of the islands when he was posted there and it's supposed to be eco-friendly (no cars allowed) so he took a ferry to Hong Kong Island every morning for work. can't remember the name of the estate or the island for that matter, but he did send us some pictures and it was sooo lovely!!

yes, elias eats petai though i don't know if he likes it .. hahahah ..

Mrs N: oops, didn't mean to make you drool over the food .. so far, we prefer the food at Tambuah Mas .. restaurants like Sanur, Desa Kartika are not so fantastic in my opinion ..

well, elias mentioned that he's having some problems with the ring too so maybe we might just get new rings than risking losing our finger .. hahaha ..

maplehue, haha has Jeff gotten over the durian puff yet? hehe ... where did you get the durian puff from? Emil promised me that he'll try durian at least once every 6 months to try and acquire a taste for it, but up till now he still hasn't eaten durian yet (he has been in Singapore for close to 3 months now). But yea, trying to find the right oppty just in case he gets nauseous over durian, don't want his work to be affected cos of durian haha. Guess you know what Carl's Jr is now
I've seen their burgers advertised but haven't tried one myself. Emil's been eating MacDonalds and BK too, at least 3 times a week now (for convenience mostly), but he keeps getting comments that he's losing weight. I'm somewhat worried and envious at the same time. It should be the bride that's losing weight for the wedding! haha.. and crocodile meat, really? how did that taste like?

cuclainne, coconut juice and soyabean for smoother skin for the baby? shall take note for future reference
yea I love lingonberries sauce with elk (moose) meat too. In Singapore we bought the sauce from Ikea and ate it with Ikea meatballs too. Heard from my FIL-to-be that summer in Sweden is still pretty cold now (less than 20 C), but a lot of markets everywhere. I miss those
btw are you fluent in Swedish? or are you able to understand Swedish when you hear it, but not yet able to speak it? My IL-to-be have been hinting and hinting that i need to pick up more Swedish :P

Chrisl, haha yes I'm turning 26 years old this year, but am getting 'psycho-ed' by Emil. His father had 4 kids when he was Emil's age (i.e. 28 years old), so Emil already feels he's over the hill and way behind in terms of child-rearing haha. I did put my foot down on the '1st year of marriage no children' decision though - wanna have extended honeymoon first lah haha. Yea I remember Statoil
and bread for breakfast lunch and dinner is MY kinda thing! my friends suspect I'm more angmoh than Emil sometimes ... hahaha .... thanks for the tip re elk. Really didn't know that
Emil told me that moose is kinda the national animal for Sweden, but I always thought that was Canada ... guess he's right

Mrs N, Singapore should send all its couples to Oz for a year - should help increase the birth rate :P Wow 37 weeks already! So close
have you decided on a name for the baby yet? haha I told Emil that he cannot take off his wedding ring once it's on, not even to shower :P His Dad apparently purposely bought his ring a size too small so that he won't be able to take it off ever :P sounds dangerous trying to shape the ring w/o taking it off though haha.

de_luxe, yea I saw the same article on how slippers aren't good for pregnant women. Thought they would be most practical though, since they'd be able to handle feet swelling. Now seems like gotta buy shoes for each stage of the pregnancy to accommodate the swelling.. good news for us gals tho hehe. Thanks for sharing about the French-SG couple. Makes me more determined to learn conversational Swedish proper :P Emil's been telling me too that Mandarin is now quite in demand in Sweden as compared to English, so if we were to move there, I could seriously consider being a Mandarin teacher or translator or something. Still doesn't help me much tho, cos my Mandarin is super rusty heh heh.

glympse: i was there this summer and my youngest BIL was laughing when he said swedish summers are pretty pathetic - he's trying to do his exchange here because he loves the weather, just like elias.

generally i do know what people are talking about, but it's just that i'm usually quite paiseh to respond in swedish - partly it's because of my FIL (he's a language professor at the stockholm uni) so he's quite particular about pronounciation, etc even with his kids .. so elias is also quite particular about how words are pronounced - he once made me repeat my 'r' for two days before he's satisfied so yes, i'm quite terrified to speak swedish in this family .. hahahah ..

how is yours? can you converse well in it?

cuclainne, haha nice. I'm guessing that your BIL will probably hit the beaches everyday if he comes here for exchange. Emil says that when we move to our exec condo in Simei after we're married, he's going straight to the pool every evening after work :P

Wah, language professor ... I can imagine the stress of being his DIL haha ... though if you ever need solid tutoring in Swedish, you have a good source ;)

My Swedish is not even passable I'm afraid haha ... I can understand bits and pieces here and there, but can't carry on a full conversation. Most commonly used sentence is "jag forstor inte" ... hehe ... I definitely want to reach at least conversational level though. Emil and I have this dream, that our family would know English, Mandarin and Swedish fluently (at least conversationally), so that when we want to keep our discussions confidential and w/in the family, we can speak Mandarin in Sweden, and Swedish in Singapore :P

Amazing that your girls are picking up Malay too! So they'll be quadlingual ... very cool, can move around easily in Malaysia and Indonesia too :D

glympse: i don't know about hitting the beaches everyday cos the last time he was here, they were at sentosa for only one hour and he got quite bad sunburn - well, they all did .. hahahah .. thank goodness none of my girls got this 'condition'..

yes, he's a very good tutor but i feel very stressed leh, like i've got to do well - but luckily most times he gets his kids to speak english so that they could get some practice instead .. hahahah ..

you could sign emil up for mandarin lessons - elias is picking up some malay words here and there .. and when i speak malay to the girls, he'll ask what the words mean and use it himself later on ..

yes, elias reckons that they'll be very good swedish-malay translators .. hahahah ..

Oh oh Mrs.N..sorry for the mix up! Paiseh! Must be too tired I guess la. Heee.
It was another tiring day today. We went to see 7 more apartments. A couple of them were bigger but we didn't like them cos they were older apartments. So to make the story short, Jeff and I chose the one on the 31st floor! It is called Sham Wan Towers and facing the ocean. It is not big but I guess enough for us considering how small and ex the apartments are here. Now our next move is to measure the place properly so we could get what we need to find suitable furniture. Heheh..I mentioned the typhoon thing to Jeff and the agent but they said nothing to worry about.I guess I have to console myself by saying that 31st floor is better than the highest 52 floor.

Good to know that both you and Paul now know where to go and where to park at the hospital when the time comes.
What about the bag? All ready?

Cuclainne, yalah it was irresistable so we took that apartment.
I hope we could find the suitable furniture soon. Our boxes from Korea are already here at the port and will be delivered there on friday. More unpacking to do. Haiz.. There are so many islands here and it is quite easy to commute. I heard Kowloon is also a great place to live but we rather stay on hong kong island considering the job is here for us. I heard the under tunnel can be pretty nasty in the morning.

Wah no bad eh..Elias can eat petai! My late granny used to cook petai sambal udang and I thought the smell was so strong!

Mrs N...your peeling and getting rid of the ulat story gave me the goosebumps la! Heheh.

Glympse, Jeff has finally stopped complaining about the rotten taste in his throat. He said next time if I ask him to try, he'd rather poke his eyes with a pencil. Haha! So funny when he said it to me.

I don't remember where the durian puffs were from. My sis was the one who bought them for me. She said must try cos they are so good. It came in a box. She said something like they use XO durians for the puff. Dont know whether it is true or not!
When is Emil going to try some? Maybe he can start with a puff first? Hee.
How come he's been eating Mc and BK alot? I thought Singapore has lots of variety? Jeff likes BKK too!

Don't worry too much about losing weight girl. You'll be fine and beautiful! Just drink lots of water instead of sweet or fizzy drinks and reduce oily food and you'll be fine. Me speaking like an expert eh?

Do you have Multiply? Most of us have one and we can see each other's pictures there!

Crocodile meat? It was so long ago. All I can remember is it was quite tough and after eating it, my body felt sooo hot! Not a good after taste. Bleahh.

Cuclainne, not bad to see that Elias can speak Malay, Jeff can only remember 2 words. "Sakit" and "Sayang". I give up la.

Deluxe~yup..well she did asked in a jokingly way heheh..but i took her hint
haha..yeah in a way it seems wierd to be talking to yourself

Cuclainne~yup maybe as christmas gift haha cos the last times i gave earrings which are tad boring..but as she collects them..so maybe somehing different this year ;P

that day i think she was rather stressed lah..she's always like this when it's dinnertime as she wants everything to be good and nice for all..so i reckon she might have blurted out..but i'll try to put it aside and think positive..sigh..but there are times like these when i miss my mum the most
nothing beats our own mother hor?

Maple~hey you're in HK now? Good for you! Good luck on the apartment! The ocean view seems really fantastic! But 31st floor..for me i might think twice about that cos im kinda afraid of heights..i can't take heights more then 12th story heheheh ;P

Finished with some painting here and there and today we got some another colour samples from the paint shop, so later we shall go round discussing again on which colour to match which place..

It's a hard chore to paint the ceiling, my right shoulder and neck is starting to feel 'strange' like they're not connected hahaa

Mrs N~didn't know you can cook indonesian dishes..you seemed to know much of spices and such..have you any indonesian background?

Glympse~yeah i second culcainne, here in the nordic countries, summer is really pathetic. Just today summer is really here..temperature is up to 25deg! Just june till last week, temperature is up and down plus rain..wah can be freezing in the morning and cold at night..wah..strange..and the weather can affect my moods too! Raining days here can be really sad

Glympse/Culcianne~ About the language thingy, does Swedish embassy in SG conduct language lessons FOC for spouses stationed in SG? Might be good to check

ok got to go get some food! im very hungry!!

maplehue: yah the jam in the tunnel can be quite bad - i was staying in kowloon a few year ago, while on vacation and got stuck in traffic coming back from hong kong island .. next time i went, i took the train and the star ferry which unfortunately don't exist anymore right .. view was magnificent on that ride .. oh well ..

oh i heart petai! hahahah .. even though the after smell is something i can do without .. hahahah .. there used to be a malaysian restaurant in stockholm that serves petai, sambal and ikan bilis as appetiser - we love going there .. they even have durian and kueh dadar as desserts .. but unfortunately they've closed down since 2006 and i think it's because they're so authentic that the normal swede probably find it spicy so they don't get much business. so sad .. now cannot get fix when i need it cos the other malaysian restaurant is like fusion and really toned down the spices .. argh ..

hahaha - well, the most important word to learn is 'makan' and 'minum' and since elias is vegetarian, he learnt the word 'ayam' so that he can tell them no chicken please - he used this when he was in bintan for company retreat.. hahahah .. he also knows the word 'sedap' and 'terima kasih' .. hahahah .. today sofi was sitting in the lobby, putting on her shoes and pointing to the light above her and he said, 'lampu atas' .. hahahah .. it takes time but he's slowly learning .. for hari raya two years ago, he told my grandaunt 'terima kasih for the good food' cos he didn't know how to say all of it in malay .. hahaha .. well, at least he tried .. hahahah ..

the last time my ILs were here, elias was trying to teach them how to order coffee/tea at the coffeeshop/ food court - what teh-O, teh-C, teh-susu means .. it was so funny because my ILs were like so super confused by him that they just ended up going to starbucks .. ooi, and his singlish .. aiyoh, one cab driver thought he's lived here for so long because his singlish can pass one .. hahaha ..

have fun unpacking - i'm slowly getting rid of my stuff ie books (elias always complaining i have way too much of everything) since it's only about 3-4 more months till our lease expires .. have to start planning .. argh!

chrisl: but if you give that to her as pressie this year, you know that you won't be able to top that up for the following years right? hhehehe ..

oh, then don't take it so seriously .. i get that way too sometimes when i'm preparing dinner and i want things to be perfect .. i am amazed at my MIL because she can plan a three-course lunch for 10 people with no problems .. you see her being so relaxed, i wish i was like that ..

you better take it easy with the house decorating, esp. with your bad back .. but it's best to get it out of the way, especially if you're thinking of TTC-ing later this year yah ..

wah - i jealous that you got 25 degrees leh .. the hottest we got when we were there was about 22-23. and yes, it was raining, raining, raining .. argh!

nope, i've checked with the embassy but they don't have anything like that for spouses. the lady said she'd checked if there was someone who was willing to teach me but like that, i might as well get elias to do it you see .. it's more easier to speak/learn a language when you're in an environment where it's spoken all the time and i felt that i would be able to absorb more in a classroom-like environment. they do have a swedish kindergarten for the kids but it's like a normal school and me and elias are not keen on letting the girls attend a school like that all the time, thinking only on weekends so that they can keep up with the language .. we don't want them to mix around only with the expats or snotty kids .. we both think that a neighbourhood school would suffice.

Oh WOWWwwwwwwwww......... Took me realy long to finish reading this thread and still, i cant exactly remember every details!

Hellooo all, im back in Melb now after our sg wedding dinner, all went well and we had fun tho.

Hey Deluxe, Big Congratulations! It's good to hear the good news! Is that also part of the reason for moving back to Sg?
Ya, like Emi said, you kept the news really well when we met up a couple of times here n there
Take care and enjoy ur pregnancy!

Hi Msr N, when are you due? Drinking lots of coconut juice/ soya bean/ milk? hehee I do believe in those sayings too, have seen many babies with beautiful complexion after those. Are you taking leave off from work to get ready for your new arrival?

Chrisl, How are you? I still have not send u the pic we took when in Sg ;] sounds like u are having a big reno at home huh? How's the painting gg? Did u made any paper 'painter's hat' to protect ur beautiful locks?

Hey Maplehue, so u are now in HK! Nice food and shopping? 31st floor sounds fantastic! Gorgeous view I supposed?? How do u travel to work from your house? car/ buses/ trains? Anyway living in Hk is quite 'english friendly', people still speak English unlike in Korea right? I have been to Kowloon 3 times, hmmm... maybe when comes to living there for good, HK island should be a better choice heheee... Take pics of ur new house and post them up ok?!

Gina, baby luke is sooo handsome with lots of hair too..8 weeks oredi! Gosh, time passes real fast. Lots of cooing n babblings?

Culcainne, is the 1st pic Elin n 2nd one Sofi? Heee im confused, both look the same, gorgeous babies!!

Hi glympse, cant remember have i said Hi to you before
Hellooo....!! So where are u living now? heee.. sorry ah, abit lost after reading so much. Ya talking abt licorice, gosh my hubby looove it sooo much!!! I couldnt even take the taste of it in my mouth. He could happily finish the whole pack by himself, and the 'saltier' the better.. Eeeeeeeehs LoL

Alright gals, hope i have not left out anyone in my helloss.... Have a great day!

hello..so many funny posts.

hey Hernie....wahhhh.. i loike the 31st ocean view thing. Like a dream. So you are buying the place or renting it? Now make me excited to come visit you.
So have you both started working already or still having a bit more rest? hope your school will be great to you both!

Nissa...hehehahha. so cutelah si Elias... can speak malay and singlish..A couple of my friends said that Chris have a tinge of Singlish as well, since when we first met he doenst speak a word of market english at all. It was all scientific, which was weird. The stuffs that cracks people up when he talks in Malay is when he points to me and say "'Emi GILA( crazy)' but I sayannnnnnng her a lot". Others like makan of course and sakit( in pain) and taknak/ nak tak ( want/ dont want/no) Oh and he reminded me ... his most favourite phrase- 'MAKAN JALAN'( cut into my lane, while driving) hehehahhahahheheheh

well, margie... i saw your fotos.. wah .. i like your baju and ur curly hair.. so sweet!
am happy that all is well now... Hmmm. now thinking when shall we meet up, hor???? everyone's busy lah....

oklah talk later girls.

cuclainne, haha yea, sunburn - the curse of the angmoh skin :P Emil's like that, he wants to get tanned, but gets sunburnt easily, so he has to smother on a lot of sunblock (and he doesn't like having gooey stuff on his skin somemore), so it's tough for him to get a tan heh. Us Asians have it good :D

Btw, I don't think I've asked you this, but are you Singaporean Malay or Chinese or Peranakan? Your mother tongue is Malay right? haha sorry la, still relatively new to the thread :P

But yea, I think Emil's more conscientous about his Mandarin than I am about my Swedish haha

Emil got mistaken for having lived in Singapore super long cos of his Singlish as well! Just like Elias
During our long-dist relationship I was the only one he really spoke English with (he spoke Swedish 90% of the time in Sweden), so I guess that's where he got his accent. My friends say he talks exactly like me ... dunno whether good or bad thing haha.

Maplehue, sounds like you and Jeff are settling down well in HK
How do you like it there so far? Are you used to the crowds and all? I was working there for a period of time, I loved the food and nightlife, din fancy so much the lack of personal space :P

Haha yea, Emil does eat other asian food like char kway teow, mee hoon kueh ... but he needs his western food fix
AND we're trying to collect these limited edition coke glass Olympic cups that come with every MacDonalds upsized meal, and the design of the cups change every week. Because I don't eat fast food, Emil has to eat 2 meals a week so that each of us get a cup haha. Not that he minds :P

Thanks for the encouragement re weight management. Haha I've been eating more chocs than usual these days tho. But jogging more too la
wanna look healthy and radiant on AD, not slim and sickly
and yea, looks like I should get on Multiply soon
I'll let u gals know when I'm in!

Chrisl, haha yea, summer isn't really summer in Scandinavia :P guess we who live in tropical countries sometimes take the sun too much for granted huh
Yea the weather does affect moods a lot. I read somewhere that in Sweden the most suicides happen during wintertime ... and some have to go thru sunlight therapy to get thru the winter ... :S

Margiel, hello! Think it's our first time 'meeting' each other on this thread
Haha no worries la, I'm also feeling my way around, trying to remember where everyone is from and is staying in now and who they are married to and which country their HTB/HBs come from haha .... i love this thread, so colourful
I'm in Singapore now, my Swedish HTB, Emil, relocated here in April, and we got engaged in June. Planning for our wedding in July 2009, and Emil and I don't like licorice haha. Where is your hubby from, and where are u 2 based in now?

margie: have you uploaded the pictures from your sg wedding? must remember to go home and have a look then ..

the first one is elin and the second is sofi .. elin was at my mom's place for the last two nights and sofi kept waking up, asking for baby .. i think these two are like inseparable already .. hahaha .. today she asked for bunny so that she can give to elin ..

emi: hahahah .. so funny la chris .. but it's cute when they attempt to say things in malay right ..

glympse: i'm malay ..
elias doesn't have the singlish tinge in his everyday-speech yet but i always break up in laughter when he says things like, whatever LAAAAAAAA .. cos when swedes speak, it sounds like they're singing (because of the different tones in speech) so he applies the same when he speaks singlish .. quite funny actually ..

cuclainne, haha yeah I can totally relate. Emil now uses 'ah' after all his sentences till it became a bit excessive ... he's trying to 'master' the art of Singlish .. and asks me if he uses 'lah' and 'lor' etc in the right place at the right time in the right context haha .. I love it when he speaks a whole string of Swedish while on the phone with his parents tho ... sounds exotic kinda haha...

and hey, i'm now on multiply too! just joined so the page's totally blank haha. But do start adding me! I wanna see all the pics
and i'll start uploading some too ;) http://glympseee.multiply.com/

I really cannot catch up with the forum! Been super busy! Now squeeze in some time to write.

Maplehue, indeed we must meet up in HK. Haven't planned when to go yet. Probably when we r in sg to see any promo. Will keep u posted!

Margiel, I like the way you did your video. Nice music and heartwarming!

Chrisl, saw your multiply on yr reno. We are also doing up the kitchen. At the stage of removing the tiles. Jeroen does all the work! I am too busy with my orders to help him. Hardly even time to do other stuff.

I had a real dump day where I did such a stupid mistake for the order. Coming back from a short vacation, I have to rush the orders. One customer ordered another round of haaraccessories. I didn't know why instead of blond I used the brown pins to make it. Realising it only in the middle of the night and she was getting married on Wednesday. Imagine one day before her wedding! The haarpins actualy should arrive just in time on Tuesday for her weddings. O man, Jeroen was on holidays and we have to drive al the way to the east and took us 3 hours back n fro. What a day! She wasn't there but we left a note for her. If Jeroen was working, I wonder what were I do then? SIGH!!! Np choice, instead of profit, make a lose for time n petrol. Better to save the reputation of biz. Next time, I make sure I check n check! ;P

There is so much things to do. O man! Didn't have time to read and finish my report and prepare for workshop!

Ok! I better get to the observation for a dance therapist's research as I promise to help her.

Hi hi to all ladies! Will catch up again!

hey good to see you back Margie! Yup heheh im still waiting for the pics ;P but hey no worries, take your time cos i know you might be a little 'honeymoony feeling' right?? LOL You looked awesome in your wedding dress leh btw! I think you've made a good investment in that dress!

No..didn't fold any sort of hats Margie / Maple LOL But i did had a showercap/mask on while the polishing is in way cos dust are everywhere! LOL can imagine how aunty i looked with my hair tied up unfashionably! LOL heheh my locks now are so messy..thinking of rebonding again...cos rebonded hair is so easy, just wash and go..as for curls still have to put on special lotion and curl it with fingers..'leh chay' lah. But thing is that im not sure of the skills of the stylists here + their products they're using as in Sg im used to japanese products

Sorry missed out your question to me maple
kitty was curious, sniffing and walking around everywhere! The paint we're using is not that too strong smell of 'paint' so it's not too bad..she loves all the actions going around here. When i was painting she'll come and sit near me, by the window, bird watching and then tempt us to go catch her
) Loves to venture out now, she'll go to the door and 'meow' me to open the door for her to go out. LOL loves to climb the apple tree in front of my house, runs full speed following me when i go out to hang my washings and oh! She loves catching flies and munching on them! Extra vitamins hahaha LOL! A difference with pets since my family are far in SG..i need some pet therapy!

glympse added you liao!

Hiya girls! You've been busy in the last few days. So have I! Been busy cleaning and cooking! Perhaps the nesting instinct is kicking in. Ha! Ha! My parents are arriving today. Hurray! Baby has been 'obedient' so far. Will have to give him/her a pat on the back.

Cuclainne never tried any of those restaurants before. We used to go to Jawa Timur. I love their sambal fish. So sedap! There used to be one in Middle Road (I think) not sure if they are there now.

Paul's always tickled at the way we singaporeans pronounce certain words and our sentence construction. He has to correct my pronounciation sometimes. But who knows he might be forced to convert to speaking Singlish now that my parents are here!

Maple the hospital bag is almost ready. Just a few more items to pack plus the sandwiches and juice which I will probably do on the day itself. Over here going to hospital is like going for a picnic outing.

Wow that was a quick decision. But it's nice to settle in as soon as possible and have a place that you can call your own. When are you moving in?

Hee! Hee! The one thing I like about petai is that it seems to clean my system out everytime I eat them. Great laxative!

Margie haven't had the chance to look at your wedding photos yet. But will do so. I'm sure you'll look gorgeous.

We drink only either rice milk or soya milk in our house as Paul doesn't take cow's milk. I've gotten so used to having soya milk with everything that I find cow's milk taste rather funny now. I've stopped going in to work since the beginning of this week as I find difficulty gripping things now since the joints on my fingers are quite painful so can't really drive. The MW said it was carpel tunnel syndrome which was due to water retention. She said it will eventually go away once the baby is born. I think we are more or less prepared for the baby's arrival. Can't think of anything else I need to do except wait.

Chrisl no indonesian background in my family tree. However my family used to have an indonesian maid many years ago and as I usually helped her with the cooking I learnt some of the dishes and picked up the lingo.
Besides the spices/ingredients used in Malay/Indonesian cooking are quite similar to the ones my dad uses when he cooks his Eurasian dishes.

Don't overwork yourself with all that painting. Take some time out to enjoy the nice weather. It's been nice over here since the beginning of the week. Sunshine and temperatures in their twenties! Great for doing laundry. Hope this warm spell stays for a few weeks.

glympse yah! Maybe they should start a campaign for couples to go to Oz.
We have more or less decided on a girl's name but we still haven't got a definite one we like for a boy! Well we've got about 3/4 weeks before we need to register the baby after it's birth. Many people have been telling us that you will know what to call the child once you see him/her so I'm sure we'll think of something then if it does turn out to be a boy (inspite of my mum insisting that it's probably a girl!).

Has Emil tried 'Botak Jones' for his western food fix? I think there are several stalls dotted around Sg. My parents took us to the one in Toa Payoh when we were down in April. It was quite nice. Huge portions at reasonable prices.

Ok will add you to multiply.

Hey Liz calm down! Don't worry I'm sure everything will iron itself out. Take time out to breath a little. Hope you had a nice break!

Eliz! Wow..seems like a very stressing time. But hey good that your biz is moving up the ladder
You're doing your kitchen too? Im using the Ikea planner. It's a 3D thingy to enable one to plan their kitchen..just input the measurements and you're set to go
i fell in love with many of the designs Ikea has!

oh? Is it your 2nd wedding anniversary Maple? Wah time flies don't they!? <font color="119911">HAPPY ANNIVERSARY</font> my dear!

Thks Sharon. Jeroen has received the DVD. He wanted to thank Paul via facebook but hasn't got time to do so. Busy with kitchen.

We had a good vacation last weekend. Pretty lucky with weather esp the rain.
Usu take a break in the evening and cooked at in law's place. No kitchen! Kekekeke...

O ja Chrisl, Jeroen used the Ikea planner too to design. He likes to do it.
Stress I guess when customers orders at the last minute. Seems to be doing fine. Trying to save as much as I can for makan in Sg n to buy stuff n travel.
Kekekeke....

Wow..news posts here after i've posted not long ago kekeke

Mrs N! Sure to give bb an extra kiss when he/she arrives for being so guai!! haha i see no wonder
I supposed you're in for a good treat when your dad is here later right?
Have a great time!

Yes weather is so nice that gaute is complaining that it's almost too warm to drive! I told him that he can choose to get his shirt off before he gets into his car and drive &amp; get a tan at the same time
he shot me a dirty look! hahaha ..but he has been buying so much ice creams these days and cooling himself down with soft drinks and ice cubes in his gigantic glass! haha

yup i've in fact finished my 1st round of washing today and will be doing my 2nd round now..i've paused the painting for now as im still waiting for the newer colours of paint to arrive...till then, im lazing around a little watching my online shows
as the saying goes ''there's a time for play and a time for work''

Hahaha.... I understand Gaute's complaints. Jeroen's car is old and there is no air-con, Can literally die inside there. hahahaha..... Ja, it has been nice weather since yesterday and going to be the next few days. YiPEEE! N i dun feel like working but go out n cycle.... kekekeke....

Success with yr painting! as the dutch wd say!

One of these days must go norway n visit u!

Nrs N, Must tell us boy or gal ja! So exciting! I will be in Germany when u r delivering. Hopefuly i dun get lost kekekek all by myself.

sure sure liz! let me know when you drop by
haha yup gaute's car is also old with no air con..so too bad when summer is here. Winter not too bad as most of the time im freezing!

Have a safe blessed trip!

Thks Chrisl!

Looks like we r online at the same time.

Mrs N, I guess yr parents must be so excited! Always nice to have parents around esp during this time. Prepared for the day to come?
I think you are. U are so calm n collected. With all the tips from your midwives and if u do use some of the techniques in the book I showed u. Let me know how is the outcome.
Take care and hopefully yr pain from swelling will go after delivery

Heyhey! So nice to see Liz, Chrisl, Margiel, Mrs N on Multiply
Like Mrs N said, it's great to be able to put a face to a name (or nickname) ;)

Liz, wow, sounded like a very hectic and stressful day :\ agree with your philosophy tho, reputation is impt to upkeep, takes years to build, just one incident to ruin. You did the right thing
and def a solid reminder for the future hehe. Hope things worked out well!

Margie, nice wedding pictures! agree with Chrisl, nice wedding dress! Where did u get it from? I'm still sourcing for a gd bridal salon haha...

Mrs N, haha I know some mothers can tell the gender of the child from the shape of the tummy or sth... you and Paul wanted it to be a surprise at birth? That's strong of you both
My colleague's hubby couldn't stand the suspense, wanted to know the gender as soon as it was 'readily available' haha. But yea, it'll be such a nice surprise on the day
Like TV dramas ... "It's a BOY!" or "It's a GIRL!" *cue for husband to faint with delight/from all the blood* :P Yea I've read of Botak Jones, haven't patronised his stall yet though. Also read somewhere that his shop has closed down or something .. heard anything abt it?

Maple, Happy 2nd Anniversary :D :D :D

Elizabeth, such a close shave .. don't stress over it yah, i'm sure you've learn something from this ..

did you email them about what you're interested in doing at the hospital - did they reply back?

Chrisl, hey maybe next time you can bring back some Japanese hairstyling products and tell them to use those instead? maybe if it works, they might tell you to be distributor for it ..

Mrs N, your baby is very obedient to listen to your instructions not to pop until your parents have arrived
bet it must feel good to have them around ..

i have not heard of this restaurant you mentioned - must check it out, if it's still around.

A quick pop in to say hi before I have to tend to the kids again......wow, such a lot going on, I only managed to skim through the messages.

Nisa and Gina: uber cute babies!! Keep photos coming
Nisa, are you still breastfeeding Elin?

MrsN: Not long now.....*drumroll*

Deluxe: CONGRATS!

Maplehue: Happy 2nd anniversary

To everyone else....*wave*

OK, back to nappy changing, feeding, playing, screaming etc....

tootsieroll: been so long since we've seen you here - been busy with your children? did you send them to childcare in the end?

nope, i only EBM for 1 month and then it was on FM .. she was not so keen on BFing and i didn't want to stress myself like i did with Sofi ..

where's photos of your young one? i forget the address to the blog you had on joseph ..

Hello wonderful gals,

Heheh.. Thank you ladies for the anniversary wish!
So sweet of all of you..
kao_kiss.gif
So many things were happening these past days, it was a little hard to find time to ourselves BUT we managed to have a quiet lovey dovey lunch alone and shared a little chocolate cake.
Luckily I bought his presents when we were still in Sg or else no time to go shopping alone. Night time, we went to our boss' place to have dinner with some of the new colleagues.

Chris, how your neck now? I know....painting the ceiling is one of the hardest part. Not only it'll give me sore neck, I'll sure get paint on my face! A little annoying! I was a little apprehensive at first about the high ceiling.When I was young, i watched a movie called "Towering Inferno" about a tall building on fire, plus I am always afraid of a broken elevator.. Choi choi touch wood but after looking elsewhere and of course seeing how jeff loves the view, my heart melt la. kekeke. Things we do for love! But i told jeff that he cannot force me to look down at the ocean or boat or whatever cos i'll get dizzy when i do that. Anyway, if you ever come to hk, die die must still visit me ok regardless of the 31st storey.

Oh my god cuclainne, you really make me laugh when you wrote,'I heart petai'. So funny! Don't you feel that it is bitter. I realy cannot tahan the after smell. When we were younger, my sis used to purposely breathe in my face after she ate petai sambal! Can pengsan. That restaurant in sweden sounds like a good restaurant, i love ikan bilis sambal. scrum. Were the owners local people or indonesian?

Jeff can also say "terimakasih" and today he learned the word,"nasi goreng" cos we went to an indonesian restaurant at causewaybay. The ikan pepes was good but a little spicy. Yes, i like Tambuah Mas, Gurame, Sanur is so so and another one at Takashimaya(can't remember the name). Sedap. I'm still trying to teach Jeff some more Malay words but because it is easier to just speak English, i tend to slack a bit la.

Can Elias eat petai? AND can he tahan the smell??

Hi Marge, nice to have you back! Love your little videos. So romantic!
Yes yes, we are now in HK. This is our 5th day and we just got our keys to our apt. today. We were there the whole day today cos the 64 boxes came today too. SO tired cos we had to unpack almost everything, got rid of the boxes for all our furniture to come tomorrow. We are now back in the hotel room. Yes, the apt has gorgeous view and quite relaxing. I don't have a garden though like in melbourne. We haven't explored the food department yet but I know where to go for shopping. Kowloon will be my next target. Heheh. These past days were dedicated to purchase furniture and essentials.

Causeway Bay is another place to go for shopping. NOt only they have branded goods but they also have many little shops with unique and pretty things! And shoes and bags..oh my gosh. When we were there today, i tried not to see any of them!

We'll probably have a bus pick us up in the morning but going home time, we'll just take a taxi, it is not far so it is good. AND yes, they do speak english, it makes things so wonderfully easy compared to being korea.

Ok...will take pics and post on Multiply for you gals to see

Emi.. what is this iphone about? I've heard of it but don't know anything about it. Is it good?

At present, we are renting the place, because of the view and it is a new condo, we have gone slightly over our desired budget but it feels right so we happy. Yes yes, can come and visit. It is small but cozy

Work officially starts on Aug 6th but we have to come in to get things up and running before that. Hopefully, we can get the apt set up soon so i can rest a little bit before work starts. Been running around like crazy since we got here and my feet are now swollen. Even wearing my Birk didnt really help man. And hey, is Chris back?

Glympse, so far hk is good. We haven't had time yet to really experience it cos of the things we need to do but I'm sure once we've settled in and explored more, we'll enjoy it more.

So far, areas like Aberdeen and Pokfulam aren't too bad eventhough people do like to just walk and bum into you. BUT in causeway bay, oh my gosh, it is hard to walk! Way way crowded compared to orchard road. I must learn how to walk with my elbows sticking out la like jeff. kekeke.

How long were you here in HK? It is definitely vibrant AND FAST! Do you find Sg is cheaper than here?

Haha Jeff is the same, must have his western food fix or he'll get grumpy. Has emil tried petai??? There is no way jeff would try it. kekeke. Nisa and emi, Elias and Chris certainly deserve a plaque for being so daring!

Coke glass Olympic cups? Which one? We got 2 coca cola glasses yesterday after we purchased a plasma tv and I just checked, no Olympic logo nothing. I want one too!

So don't worry about dieting okay. Just eat helthily is good enough. Afterall, I'm sure Emil loves you the way you are.
kao_love.gif
Okay after this, i will add you on my Mutliply
Good to know that you've joined in.
The more the merrier!

..TO BE CONTINUED
triangle_down.gif

Hi Liz, nice to hear from you. Was wondering how you were. How are you now? Alamak, your story really made my heart race. Luckily Jereon was on leave, if not how...? Now must wind down and relax okay.

Must let me know when you are in HK okay..We must catch up! How is the dance therapy observation? Please please take time to rest, you are one busy lady la Liz!

Chris, i want to see your cat's picture now that she is bigger! Must be seoo cute! Aisey man girl, you also made me laugh with your shower cap you know. Everytime i imagine you wearing your shower cap and doing your polishing, i laugh so hard like want to pee in my pants. Did it scare your cat at all? Can she recognize you at all with the shower cap?? Bwaahhh wahh wahh. See la, now Im laughing like a mad woman and jeff is bugging me to tell him what is so funny. How to explain to him huh??!!
You are so cute la Chris!

Girl, i didnt know you have curly hair? Mine is also curly! Curly like crazy and I have given up hope to straighten it. So instead of spending money on rebonding, i spend some on proper shampoo, conditioner and cream after shower for my curls.
..In btw, what other color did you guys choose for the house?

Hi Tootsieroll, it's been awhile! Good to hear from you
Any new pictures of your darling? Would love to see their pictures

Sorry for the long post gals. We'll be checking out and moving to our apt. tomorrow. The internet should be hooked up tomorrow but you never know.

Once again, Liz, Nisa, Sharon, Glympse, Chris, Tootsieroll, Corrine, Marge and Emi, thank you for your heartwarming wishes and your support. I know we are far but it is somehow always easier to go through something, in this instance moving to a new place(HK)knowing that you gals are there for me to de-stress and share. You gals touched my heart. Thank you.
kao_kiss.gif

Mm Koi(Thank you in Cantonese) I just learned this today.

maplehue: glad to make you laugh today .. hahahah .. the owners were from malaysia, from sarawak actually and it was nice to be able to speak malay to them .. elias and his family made me do it!!

yes, elias does eat the petai and he can tahan the smell. he has to, esp. if i've eaten a whole bunch yah .. hahahah .. i don't think it's bitter but than again, since 'i heart petai' i won't think so yah .. hahahah ..

his fave is my mom's sambal belachan .. occasionally he would moan why my mom must cook good food because it's not helping him to curb his huge appetite but when i asked if he wanted me to tell her not to cook for us anymore, he would quickly said don't .. hahahah ..