Any Brides whose HTB is 'Ang Mo'?

cuclainne it's called Four Seasons Durians Cafe, at 212 Joo Chiat Place, off Still Road, opened from 10am to midnight daily. It's apparently very popular tho only opened for a few months. Same owner as the Four Seasons Durians pastry counters in Taka, AMK Hub and Tiong Bahru Plaza. Article said prices are comparable to roadside stalls in Geylang, tho this place is air-con n has clean toilets.

Had durian pengat once, liked it.. hard to find tho.

The last time I had Goodwood's durian puffs was abt 1 or 2 yrs ago. Tot it was still alright. I liked their new creation at that time, durian pandan cake.. similar to pandan kaya cake but with durian instead. Dunno if they still have it.

Have kids, can complain and ask them to lower the volume lah.. no kids, complain what?

glympse u dun have to tell him that u're going for durians.. just say Four Seasons Cafe for dessert, he wouldn't have a clue what they sell! Haha..

cuclainne, haha nice ... you should start taking down notes for these places, e.g. shops in Stockholm with the best durian, and then post them online - am quite sure you're gonna get a lot of hits from Singaporeans :P

Elizabeth, icic. Can imagine it's not easy to pick up a new language, esp as adults. I admire you for that
Emil's been trying to get me to learn more Swedish. So far mine is almost passable, but don't think I can carry on a proper conversation haha.

There's this site called www.byki.com that Emil and I use to learn new languages (him, Mandarin, and I, Swedish). It's quite a fun way of learning a language. For a period of time, Emil and I were quite hooked on using the software haha. But have put it aside for now to focus on the wedding

Mrs N, actually yes, I did study at SMU, and was in Lund from Aug 2004 to Jan 2005 for exchange. There's a high possibility that I may know your cousin actually
cuclainne, you mentioned you knew ppl who were there on exchange? Which uni were they from? Wonder if I should start some Lund exchange network ... really have fond memories of the place

de_luxe,yea, the Four Seasons Cafe is actually close to where I live! Definitely a possibility ... hahaha I shall ask him to bring me there for my birthday celebration dinner .... the name sounds so innocent too .... hehehehe

Oh man getting so hungry now..... :P

de_luxe: aiyah .. tell them the sound is giving you stress lor ..

glympse: i got to know them from YP so if you attend their gatherings, you're sure to run into one or two who have done an exchange in Lund.

btw, not sure if you have read this in the newspapers today but the headline of one article was "Taking a leaf from Sweden's book to boost birth rate" - swedish policy of free childcare and paternity leave may be the key to producing more Singaporeans, say MM Lee ..

cuclainne hee! hee! We did warn my parents of that possibility when they booked the tickets. Yeah we'll just have to wait and see if the baby is 'obedient'.
My EDD is 8 Aug. At my last appt, the MW said the baby's head was down but not engaged yet. We'll see what happens at my next appt next week.

glympse I think my cousin went just after you. If I remember correctly she was in Lund from Jan to June 2005. She graduated soon after coming back from Sweden. I think she enjoyed her stay there too. She went back for a short visit soon after my uk wedding in Oct 2005.

Liz I think Fr B meant it as a gift. He is usually giving things away.
I can ask him but I'm sure he meant you guys to have it. Oh it wasn't tiring at all. We haven't gone to York in a while so it was nice to go somewhere different. You're most welcome. And thanks for the CD, I'll enjoy listening to it and so will the baby.

Hi Glympse, Thks for the encouragement. I did have a hard time learning the language. Was very keen but when the enrolment for the course took so long that I lost interest. At least I have cleared the basic exam required. Now I am mor ready to go further. After the course, I was resisting, have enough of it. Hahaha... I guess there is always a timing n readiness to do more. Now is the time.

Mrs N, Jeroen will be relief to hear it. So he doesn't have to worry about it. When we saw the CD, I saw there is kumbaya. Hey isn't that a Christian song. Kekeke... Thks for sharing the tips from your midwives. I find it very interesting n learn a few things. I guess when I go back to sg wil source for the baby diapers. Hahahaha... kiasu! Won't know when I will go back. Better to buy first n keep. ;)

cuclainne it's ok lah... just tahan... i'm starting work next tues... wouldn't have to put up with the noise anymore then.

oh yah, free childcare and paternity leave will certainly help. Hmm.. he didn't mention longer paid maternity leave like up to 2 yrs???! Shucks! But govt dun seem to realise that women are discriminated by employers against once they're married... i had an interview just before getting married. In the end, a reliable source from the company told me i didn't get the job cuz of my change in martial status n the boss tot i would get preggers soon after! I was so pissed, even tho i wasn't exactly dying for the job!

glympse so good! it's too far for me cuz i'm in Boon Lay... tell us how it went yah! Hope Emil doesn't puke out his dinner...

Just found out that Goodwood is selling their durian stuff till end Jul... i was blur tot the dates for their mooncakes were for the durians... haha... can't wait to go get some. But can't buy too much either cuz dun have a fridge now.

cuclainne, yes I saw the article about MM Lee wanting to go the way of Sweden, and got really excited
I'm wondering if it's even possible though. It's going to take a lot of change, especially by employers in Singapore. I mean, from just 3 days of paternity leave, to having almost 2 years' worth of paid leave (shared btwn father and mother) as in the case of Sweden! Honestly, this is one big area that often makes me wonder if it's better to go to Sweden for the initial marriage and child years, just to hv more time to spend with the kids, and when they are older, then can make the move back to Singapore. Of course, the big barrier to entry to Sweden is the need to learn Swedish to do business ... but then again, maybe it's a reason to become a Singapore taitai in Sweden haha...

Mrs N, nice, what a small world! I was in touch with the SMU batch that came to Lund after me actually, so I might know her too

Elizabeth, good for you! It'll always be worth it when you look back and see yourself now speaking fluent Dutch just like the locals. As for me, spirit is willing but flesh is weak ... haha ...

de_luxe, haha I'll tell you all about Four Seasons Cafe. Btw, Emil does come to this thread once in a while, and unfortunately for me, he read the part about Four Seasons Cafe being more than just a normal cafe ... :S But he did promise me that we'll still go there ... so ... I'll keep u posted ;) Yeah I always heard great stuff about Goodwood's durian puffs. Are they really that good? I don't really like the kind that's all cream ... I like those where you can actually taste the durian pulp ... mmmmmmm.....

de_luxe: once a candidate didn't disclose that she was preggers when she applied for posting here (at my job), and they approved her posting .. when she came, she was about to pop and about two weeks later, she decided to take early leave so the dept was one staff short and was in a dilemma - do they request for coverage and pay two salaries (to her and to the temp), do they hire a new staff and tell her to leave, etc. in the end, she didn't come back after her maternity leave. i realised that a number of ladies from that dept left after getting preggers, leaving the dept understaffed .. they are medical staff, btw. and i remember reading an article in the newspapers that quite a number of ladies tend to place family life above that of their careers so companies tend not to hire those who they think might get preggers soon or have many kids.

oh well, discrimination has many 'faces' .. and exist almost every where despite what people say ..

glympse: i don't think i have the makings of a tai-tai leh .. at least not in sweden because then i would be a tai-tai with no money to shop leh, everything expensive compared to here! be a stay-at-home tai-tai ah .. heheheh ..

on the recent trip, my mom said that i have to learn to curb my spending habits if we have the thought of going back .. even elias said no more random spending on things, can i deal with that .. argh!

btw i read in the papers yesterday that they're having a malaysian fruit fiesta at singapore expo from 10-13 july and there's a durian-eating competition. sign emil up for this?

hey hey ladies,

wow..many posts to read

glympse~heard that sattine is encountering some internal problems from the sattine thread..you should prob find out more before signing package..

Mrs N~will keep you in prayers

cuclainne~heheh very difficult to curb that shopping 'feel good sensation' right?

deluxe~good luck on your new job!

chrisl: ya lor .. and the best part of it is that it's my money that i'm spending so elias can't say much .. heheheheh ..

esp. now that i found out that i can use my debit cards there - use like atm cards, just swipe and key in pin number .. wah, i lagi shop like mad since i don't have to think of paying bills when i get home
.. everytime we go out, sure will bring one or two bags full of stuff home ..

nisa, yes, i am staying with my parents now..julio only came here for 2 weeks as he only left 2 weeks leave so he left on june 8..oh yes !! i have bought baby luke out quite a few times, so sian to stay at home all the times, so bring him out when possible..

women are meant to shop , right?? thats how the stores survive !! haha !!now, i shop mostly baby stuff, 1st stop will be the baby dept..

now i am 1 size bigger :-( used to wear size 1/2, then 3/4 now 5/6...hope will lose more wt in 6 mths time...

so any gathering? confirmed leaving for canberra on july 30..gosh !! the airticket is $976 inclusive of baby's fare ( baby sitting with me), the fuel charge and tax charges mroe than $1000!! paying more taxes than airfare..:-s

cuclainne, haha too late for the durian eating competition. I think Emil will never forgive me if I signed him up for it ... :P Amazing that they can have a durian eating competition at the Expo ... Ang mohs will probably avoid the area for the months following till the smell goes away :P

Yeah, so hard not to go shopping in Sweden.. was at H&M almost everyday when I was there on exchange haha
Emil and I are now saving heavily for our wedding next year... and I'm not allowed to buy any new stuff before then...the horror! :P

Chrisl, hey thanks a lot for the headsup. Yea seems like a fair bit of drama happening at Sattine ... really feel for those couples that are going for their PS within these few months and with Sattine.. hopefully things work out for them. I'm now more keen on trying for The Wedding Present. Seem to be reading rather good reviews on the place, I like the package too. Emil and I are concentrating on finalising the contract with the hotel for the banquet for now though .. wanna make sure it's as airtightand 'loaded' with goodies as possible hehe

Georgina, yea, fuel charges are insane. In 2004 when I went to Sweden for exchange, I only had to pay $1,000 for a return ticket. Now, it's at least $2,200 :S

gina: yup yup .. after becoming a parent, everytime we mummies hit the shops with the intention of getting things for ourselves, instead it's the kids who gets tons and tons of new stuff .. hahahah ..

if you are solely breast-feeding then you will lose your weight in no time .. lucky you! i'm still carrying around the weight from elin's.

quick leh .. where do you want to meet? maybe somewhere more convenient for you since we're driving and it's no problem on weekends.

wah - so expensive! did you confirm a bassinet for luke? will be tiring if you just have him on your lap the whole time ..

glympse: the durian eating competition is probably held outside - if indoors, then they will have to leave doors open and a/c off to reduce the smell .. heheheh .. elias reckons that emil might change his mind about durians if you manage to get a sweet-tasting one for him .. there is a road-side stall in chinatown that has sweet durians .. we don't mind meeting you guys there, if he's up for eating some.

oh, soon it will be crayfish party time and i was considering having a small get-together at my place. if it's confirmed, would you and emil like to join us?

oh - taka had a food fair (i think it ended yesterday) and we tasted the most lovely basalmic vinegar (aged 16 years) at one of the stalls. she also mixed the hazelnut oil and raspberry vinegar together and the result was just delicious, just mop it up with crusty bread. i think it's quite expensive at about $45 per 100mls though ..

cuclainne, haha I just showed Emil your post
About the durians, he says he's game for it, but thinks he'd probably regret it later haha. But yes, we're good to meet up for sweet durian at Chinatown! The crayfish party sounds awesome too. Would it involve alcohol by any chance? I understand that crayfish and alcohol are the natural pairing in Sweden
It's just that Emil and I don't drink alcohol (I can't, actually, cos of a medical condition), so hope that won't be too much of a dampener on the party
Just let me know ok?

Wow the food fair sounds deeeelicious. Where on earth do you get all these info about food in Singapore? haha ... yea I love pairing bread with say olive oil. Even butter can't beat it
Sounds quite expensive alright. I used to take a lot of apple cider vinegar in Sweden (with salad). Somehow the vinegar here tastes different...

cool - let me tell elias and we'll try to work something out .. oh, don't worry about that .. i was sick from a crayfish party before from drinking copious amounts of schnapps and eating way too much crayfish .. and all the singing!!! hahahah .. anyways, it'll just be a low key party, if it takes place - nothing fancy .. even for christmas last year, we had non-alcoholic glogg instead of the usual alcoholic one, as we celebrated it with my family. afterwards we had a karaoke competition until after one in the morning .. hahaha ..

we just stumbled across the fair, cos my main intention was to shop for my perfume at taka .. hahaha .. even my mom thinks that the butter in sweden tastes better than in sg - yes, the store-bought variety .. hahaha ..

Glympse, I understand what u mean. If I understood correctly from a friend thata swedish have some similar words as in the dutch n swedish lang or is it swiss? hmmmm... poor memory. Some German n Dutch words are pretty similar. But I heard german is even more difficult to learn coz of the feminine n masculine gender in noun? Some dutch grammar has no explanation and being an English teacher, I have a hard time just to take and accept it without reasons. well.... Ever since I pick up Dutch, my English spelling became so atrocious as some words are pretty similar to English just that either have extra letter and it pronounces differently. Geezzzz....:P

Wah! Food food food! I can't wait when we get back to Singapore. Eat eat eat n grow fat! Hahahaha...

I also love olive with bread esp olive with herbs. There is this apple cider vingear brand that sells in Singapore that comes from Aus. It is an organic pdt but I forgot the name. Have to ask my mum again. I remember this fruity (again forgot which fruit) vingear from the farm of Tasmania. It is so delicious!

aiyah...soo long the thread. i skimmed thru..

nissa. thanks for the freebiie...

glympse... Oz is our neutral zone tooo

corrine...PENGAT IS POWER! hehehhahahahhehe

Mrs N....hope you get ur 24july target.

Linz...waahhh so lucky to visit² Mrs N

ps: am tired.. needd zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

glympse haha... too bad... can't "surprise" Emil at 4 Seasons Cafe then.. kekeke... I think the Goodwood puffs are pretty gd lah, not just cream. There are 2 other shops, one in Yio Chu Kang and another in Joo Chiat also well known for the puffs but the Joo Chiat one can only get it when my dad's driving cuz i dunno where it is. And Yio Chu Kang one, must have someone in the car w me cuz no waiting space and sayang to pay for 1 hr parking when going in and out of the shop only takes like 10 mins.

cuclainne it's not right not to disclose abt pregnancy if one's already pregnant when offered, not fair to the employer mah... dun think i can do that without batting an eyelid.. but if i'm not pregnant, i find it very offensive to be discriminated against just because age and marital status combined makes one to be likely mummy material.

yup... stay at home tai tai w no money to shop is not much fun! Already been through this in melb but of cuz everyone thinks i'm enjoying life. Not being financially independant is really a big wake-up call, tougher than i imagined it to be. Really irritating when pple think i can treat my hb like an ATM.

Woah those vinegars are really ex!! prob can get them cheaper elsewhere??

Yeap butter in their origin countries always taste better!! Maybe it's the milk used for the ones here?? Or perhaps not as fresh?

gina dun worry... it takes time to lose the fat. Do u still bf? My fren only got super skinny, thinner than pre preggers, when she stopped. I was quite surprised cuz I tot bf helps to lose some weight but she said it made her eat more too.

Do airlines charge for babies too? I tot they travel foc under a certain age?

liz german has masculine, feminine and neutral... it's horrible trying to figure out or memorize what gender a table or a pen is. French has only masculine and feminine but my big problem is that something that's masculine in french might be feminine or netural in german, so it completely screws up my brain!!

Dun worry abt your deterioting english.. it always happens. All of us in sch were mixing english and french without realising, like can u pass me the cendrier (ashtray) or writting toilette instead of toilet. My English writing skills have certainly gotten worse. Used to be able to write compositions and short stories w/out much problems. Now writing a few paragraphs, have to think so much! Brain slowing down perhaps??

emi i know! it's like eating the filling of a durian puff neat. But I haven't found pengat anywhere in sg since that very first and last time that i had it at a buffet... u know where to find?

yay - we bought the 16-year old basalmic vinegar yesterday .. $48 for 100mls. pocket empty liao!

Elizabeth: swedish is a germanic language so there's bound to be some similarities .. we were seated next to a lady on the flight back to sg, and she was chatting with the flight attendant in dutch - elias understood what she was saying though.

no problems, ej.

de_luxe: hahahah .. it reminded me of the time when i had some brazilian friends still living here and my english was quite atrocious when i was having a conversation with them .. had to speak the same way they do so that they would understand ..

no leh - infant no FOC on flight. infants pay 10% of adult fare and get a bassinet (must request cos limited nos. available). child pay 75%. i had no problems with elin on the last flight back but sofi .. klm won't give her a bassinet because she's over 1 year old but thankfully on both long-haul flights, they manage to give her a seat on her own otherwise she would have to spent 18 odd hours on our lap!!

the 'best' part about travelling with them was that they had tagged the infants to the adults (sofi to me, elin to elias) and on the way back, they cancelled elias' meal request because they thought he was the infant! so our friend had no vegetarian meal .. they offered him a seafood paella but we all know that paellas often have chicken in them as well and yes, there was a big piece of chicken hidden underneath the rice ..

you can find pengat at swissotel merchant court .. yum yum!

something amusing to help start the day ..

Resolved Question.

Did you know that all numbers from 1 to 999 doesn't have letter A until reaching 1000?

Best Answer - Chosen by Asker

no , but i do now .. did u know that single men are nearly always skinner than married men because when a single man goes to his kitchen he thinks ,, nothing interesting here so he goes to bed . and when the married man goes to his bedroom he thinks ,, nothing interesting here so he goes to the kitchen .,, just thought it to be more interesting than your fact

nisa/deluxe/emil, what about next sat afternoon? at nisa's place? I have to called qantas to get a seat with bassinet, if not 8 hours on my lap??? baby luke is getting heavier now!!

de_luxe, yes, as nisa mentioned under 2 year old, has to pay 10% of the fare (sit with adult) + taxes...

i have stopped bf after 2 weeks coz not much bm and also, very tiring so now baby is on fm..

Gina: I don't mind meeting at my place but I have moved home so my place not so central anymore leh .. but if it's ok with you to travel, then it's ok with me to open up my place to visitors.
If Sat, between noon to around 4pm can? cos i have to go two places in the morning and then me and elias have to go to flight experience again at singapore flyer at around 5pm.

i bought him a voucher at Flight Experience (flight simulator) for his birthday and we went last week but half way into his 'flight', the computers crashed and even though they turned the machines on and off a few times, only the control panels went on but not the visual screen or the engine panels so we had to come back again this weekend. thankfully they decided to give us a full hour so elias had 30mins 'practice' last week ..

nisa, this and next sat around 1230pm to 2pm i am free, what about the rest of the girls?? you now live at upper serangoon road right?? its pretty near my place, my place is near paya lebar road....

cuclainne, singing at crayfish parties? Haha ... sounds like we can have a crayfish-karaoke party then (Swedish-Singaporean fusion :P). But yea, low key sounds good

Haha your Mum's funny. I think everything associated with dairy and bread in Singapore tastes different after having eaten their Swedish counterparts. Our tastebuds have been spoilt :P

Elizabeth, wow... sounds super confusion. And I thought Mandarin was tough while growing up haha. First time I heard about the feminine/masculine thing actually. Thankfully there isn't such a thing for Dutch or Swedish, huh?

Actually, I've been discussing with Emil, am thinking that it may be a good idea for us to spend a year in Sweden together after we've gotten married. Reason being that we've been in a long-dist relationship up till now, and we haven't stayed in each other's "homeground" long enough to integrate sufficiently or understand the culture from a local, rather than tourist's, point of view. Emil's in Singapore now, so yea, for me to understand him even better, that may be the way to go. And of course, it forces me to learn conversational Swedish at the very least

de_luxe, wah you sound like quite the foodie
Yea i shld go explore all these places more haha. Been quite 'sheltered' within Parkway Parade and CBD food heh. Guess it def helps to drive. I don't drive, Emil does but he drives on the wrong side of the road haha.

Speaking about taitai, I sounded Emil out about it before (esp if we plan to spend a year in Sweden, very likely he'll get a job, but for me, not so sure cos I'm not that fluent in Swedish yet). He thinks that I'll prob go crazy if I don't have something purposeful to do haha. Am actually thinking I might do a Masters in Lund Uni (since tuition fees are NIL there :P), and rely on Emil for living allowance haha. But yea, agree with the bit about treating the other half as ATM. Tough living on one person's salary in this day and age anyway.

And I think the milk in the butter makes a whole lot of difference

Gina: yup, my place is at Sunshine Terrace so if any of you ladies want to come over - can, can!
oh, you quite close to me leh .. heheheh ..

glympse: the swedes have songs for almost every occasion .. don't worry, very soon you will come to know this .. hahaha ..

elias had some problems adjusting to driving on this side of the road when we got our car but now he's gotten used to it so he has no problems driving either in sweden or sg .. heheh .. though occasionally he might flick the wrong switch like recently in sweden, instead of turning the indicator light on, he set the windscreen wipers on instead .. sprayed the pedestrians nearby .. hahahah ..

so you guys have a place to live when you go back to Malmo? elias was only able to rent out his down-town apartment for a year and since we don't know when we're going back, if at all, we decided to sell the apartment last year so now we're homeless lor .. even the apartment we're staying at now is rented. but we made the decision to sell because we would have to anyways, we would need a bigger place with the kids.

not sure if there are any changes to the process nowadays but previously the embassy informed us that it would take 18 months for me to get my permit to live in sweden and within that period, i am not allowed to travel there even for hols. plus she mentioned that approval was easier to get after several years' marriage (at that time, we've been married a year and had one kid).

my mother even asked if there was any way she could bring back the butter without it melting on the way back to sg ..

Gina the taxes for flying is now so ex. Shocking prices! My mum's friends who are working in airlines also told her that all airlines are now very strict about passengers adhering to their allocated weight. So better make sure your luggage not over the limit.

You don't express? Talking about shopping. We might have to do a little bit more baby shopping in the future. Just realised that we've only got 6 pyjamas and 6 baby gros for the baby! And that's it. Might have to get some long sleeved jumpsuits in case the weather turns cold unexpectedly.

Liz yeah Kumbaya is on the CD but they use different words to the melody. Still nice though. Have started trying your oil. It's very nice smelling. Hee! Hee! At least Paul approves of it. He can't stand those medicated oil which my mum gets from the sinseh shop. Too strong for him.

We'll try the diapers and let you know how we get on. Actually some town councils in the UK give vouchers for buying re-usable nappies to encourage more people to go green.

Emi yes otherwise might have to buy a very big stopper!
How's your job coming along?

deluxe guess you are starting working today. Hope all goes well. Is it a permanent job?

glympse no it's no fun being a tai-tai with no income. Even a small income is better than nothing.

Cuclainne Elias is also into flying? This flying business must be a men's thing. Eh Liz?

Wah! Ladies! Makan en gathering! Have fun!

I miss that in Singapore. Used to do it very often with friends, godma...Here only with my in law's during birthday n festival days.

Glympse, it was tough not to have own income. Cannot buy presents for hubby on birthday. Only way is to cook him a nice dinner. Hmmmm...O yes, small income is better than nothing. So happy when I sold my first ringpillow, finally my own money and I can contribute at least. kekeke..

Mrs N, O. Not the same lyrics. We couldn't get to hear all the songs in the CD. They only put up 2 to 3 songs. What a let down! Glad that the song is still nice. I like her voice. very pleasant and soothing for baby. Hahaha... I can understand coz Jeroen also doesn't like the smell as long as it smells strange and also some chinese cooling stuff/herbs that I brewed. He is forced to drink it. Hahaha... I like stuff from natural ingredients. This brand is from Germany and all are natural and come from flowers. The only one I don't like is hand cream which is of lemon. Never like my hands to smell of citrus somehow even though it's natural. :P

O ja, I bet that when all the men gathered together, they will either talk about planes, cars, trains, football.... hahahaha... it is really the men's thing. Their eyes just sparkle when they talk about it. I don't mind airplanes but too much of it, I get bored. Kekekeke....Men get bored when we shopped or even asked them for opinions. I guess I can understand them. It's like when the same lingo n interests are shared, we can just talk non-stop about it. Isn't it, ladies? heeheeheehee....

Language hmmmm... i guess it is always easier to pick it up when if we r kids. O manadarin. I m hopeless in it. Always barely make it or just make it for exam. The Chinese teachers were super boring until I went to college, she was so good that I actually began to like Manadarin. But now hardly use it, it is getting worse. Hahahaha... so malu when people asked me whether I can speak. I can but sometimes just get stuck. And Jeroen wants to pick up Mandarin and I guess I would learn together with him. Hahahaha... Dun know how to pass on to my kid in future.
We see when it comes.

cuclainne, haha yea I kinda know what you mean about Swedes and their songs. Emil showed me once this song that they sing for Christmas ... apparently it involves people jumping around a tree like frogs :P

Haha yea, we're looking out for opptys for Emil to test drive the roads (maybe take my older bro's car out for a spin). Think he needs to take a theory test or sth to convert his licence or sth, would u know?

Well, if we do decide to go back to Malmo, we'll be like you and Elias - renting an apartment, since it won't be a super long term thing. Alternatively there's always his parents' place, but the rooms are meant for one kid to sleep in each, not 2 full grown adults :P But yea, think it's wise to plan for a bigger apartment with the kids. Are u two planning to have more? hehe

Thanks for the info re getting the permit to live in Sweden. Emil was quite shocked - seems like it was even more difficult that he had thought. Is Elias a Singapore PR? Emil's prob going to apply for PR after we're married so that we can ballot for a HDB and enjoy the subsidy :P

Haha ... when I came back from Sweden I brought back bags of Polly (this Swedish chocolate candy that is somewhat marshmallow-y on the inside, do you know it?) :P

Mrs N / Elizabeth, yea I guess. Emil and I were discussing about how to buy each other presents since we decided we're going to have a joint account rather than keep separate accounts. Haha .. no answer yet. But the cooking idea sounds fun, tho it may end up torturous for Emil :P Don't think tai tai life is for me tho ... as much fun as shopping is and all, just have the need to have something purposeful to occupy my time with lah :P

Yea, it seems like the whole world is picking up Mandarin now. Makes us 'native' Chinese people a bit paiseh :P

glympse, talking abt joint account. Whatever Jeroen spent I know hahahaha...he always has trouble buying me gifts coz I will find out. End up he will use his credit card instead. As for me, he doesn't look into my account (under the same internet banking). He can see mine but he hardly check. I am the accountant.
It is easier for me to surprise him. Anyway he did surprise me without me knowing. It is very funny when coming to buy gifts. He has to do it when I was in school or I have to tell him that I went to do grocery when he asked how was my day. We have our own secret place in the house to hide the presents. Very funny right!!!! Hahaahaha...

We'll prob be moving to another apt in 3-4 wks, depending on how fast the reno can be completed. Just viewed it this morning. It's big & gd layout but no lift!! I was out of breath by the time i climbed up the stairs... offically it's on the 2nd flr but to me it's really more like the 3rd flr cuz they din count the ground flr as 1st flr.

glympse my HB had to take the basic theory test to convert his german license to sg one. I think there's a certain time limit, like within the first 1 or 2 yrs of arriving in sg. Dunno if the rules have changed, u can check the traffic police website. BTW, the licence Emil gets will have an expiry date if he's on EP.

My HB is used to driving on this side of the road, but back in germany, he sometimes gets confused and turns on the wrong lane. So I have to help him keep a look out and scream if he does that..haha

Does the uni teach in English?

Finally got my durian puffs from Goodwood today... so shiok!

My parents used to bring us out to makan, they quite on abt checking out gd food and I also have a food-crazy uncle who will drive across sg to get gd food. But since my parents became vegetarians, we've been a lot less adventurous cuz of the limited options. My hb not the foodie sort either.

liz yeap it's very much easier for kids to learn languages but also must keep using, cuz learn fast also will forget fast if not using. That's how i "lost" my cantonese.

mrs n U din do much baby shopping in SG? Why not ask ur mom to bring some clothes over? Guess it's cheaper than UK. It wouldn't be long before autumn starts.

I'm starting work tmrw instead cuz we had to view an apt today at 1030. It's kinda family-related (my sis' BF's company) so a bit more flexi. I told my sis i could start in the afternoon but she said to come on wed instead, so 1 more off day for me.. hehe.. it's not a permanent job, i'm helping them out for abt 3 mths cuz a staff has resigned n they haven't found a replacement. After that, they will see if they still need me. Can't get permanent job now cuz i've been "infected" by baby dust

cuclainne i was at merchant court for hi-tea abt 2 wks ago, no durian pengat.. maybe they serve it only during lunch or dinner?? Is it available a la carte? I dun really fancy buffets.

I think my air fare info must be really outdated... probably from my childhood days
I know before 12yo, my parents only had to pay 50%, that's why they brought us on lots of trips but the only problem is that we can't remember very much abt them now!!

I can't make it this sat cuz starhub is coming to do installation, but u gals go ahead... serangoon is pretty far for me too.

Mrs N: yes, he's into this flight simulator thingy for a while now .. he's even got the appropriate gear to play online with his friends ..

Liz: it's at http://flightexperience.com.sg they have a variety of packages and you can get them online, like i did - i got elias the 60mins package with DVD recording of his flight time. it's about $200+. seems to be quite popular now .. when we were there last weekend, their slots were all taken up and the one hour package seems to be the most popular. it's located at the singapore flyer mall.

glympse: i think he's allowed to use his driver's license (provided it's an international one) for about a year before he has to convert it to a sg one. yup, just register for basic theory test and if he passes, that's about it.

we're thinking of having one more .. but to be considered only when the girls are older and capable of helping out. at the moment, these two are already a handful!

yes, she informed us that we have to go for an interview and if permit is granted, it only lasts for two years and then there's another interview, after which if we're still together, a permanent resident permit will be granted. so tedious, the procedure! i'm sure one can just do it 'under the table' but i'd rather do it the right way .. don't want to risk being deported .. hahaha ..

no, elias is not a pr yet .. he keeps saying that he wants to apply but he never got around to doing it .. in any case, we won't be able to enjoy any subsidy or grant from HDB because exceed income ceiling liao .. quite frustrating!

i think i've seen it in the supermarkets but i've personally never tried it before. is it delicious? when we go back, my mom would buy loads of marabou chocolates .. we could spend hundreds of crowns just on chocolates. i prefer to buy candies from the store but now i don't have to because there is a candy counter at robinsons centrepoint (level 6) that sells swedish candies. oh btw does emil likes salted licorice? each time we have guests from sweden, elias has them bring over some and i've ended up with a big stash in the fridge because elias would forget that it's there (even though it's in a very big bag which he can't miss when he opens the fridge).

de_luxe: did i just read that right? congratulations, girl *hugs* when did you find out?

alamak - how are you going to get along with no lift? i stayed at a walk-up throughout my pregnancy with sofi and then till i was about 6 months' with elin. after that, i called it quits because i cannot be carrying elin (in my tummy), sofi, a stroller, my bag and hers by myself so that's why we looked for an apartment with a lift ..

btw just found out today that prima has pretty good durian puffs too .. heheh ..

de_luxe hee! hee! Was beginning to wonder when you'll ever let the cat out of the bag. You must be in your second trimester now.
Well temping is good at least you earn something but also its more or less on your own time. All the baby clothes we've got at the moment are from Sg. But they are mainly short sleeves. So ideal for a summer baby. But UK weather is quite unpredictable and I guess we just have to be prepared. Actually some of the baby stuff in the local supermarkets are quite reasonably priced especially their in-house brands. Don't really want my mum to carry too much due to airline weight limit. I'm not exactly sure what she is bringing though apart from the reusable diapers and some Milo and her clothes.

glympse actually we don't really know how much each spends on gifts for the other even though we have joint accounts for everything including the one in Sg. We have a working account in one bank which was originally my husband's and a reserve account in another bank which was originally mine, we just added each other's names to the accounts when we married.
I usually put my wages into 'my old account' and if I get any gifts for the hubby this is the account I will usually use. He on the other hand uses 'his old account' for most things. I guess it is out of habit, he tends to check the statement from his bank and I tend to check mine. So that's how we keep our secrets even though it's not really a secret. Anyway it doesn't happen very often only for Christmas and birthday.

Liz yah I don't mind airplanes either but too much of it can be boring! Hee! Hee! Actually I'm the one who gets bored with shopping. Paul is the one who has to drag me round.

Cuclainne Paul's got some flight simulator game on our computers and also on his brother's computer so he can play with his nephews. I had a go once or twice but gave up because I kept crashing planes. Ha! Ha!
Have to tell Paul about this flight simulator thingy. Sounds interesting.

OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
jhehehehahah... wahhhhhh....so exciting!
Congratulations Corrine for being pregnant! hehehe. I think you so relax in Oz, you got pregnant!
heheheh

So happy for you. This is going to be the next step of your relationship. How does Bertil feel? Excited?

deluxe...congrats !! so nice to hear the good news !!:-) so who's next???;-) chrisl........

Have you found yourself a good gynea?? A good gynea need not be ex but must be supportive..

anyone gong to nisa's place too? this sat or next sat ?deluxe not going, what about glympse?

mrs. N, perhaps you can ask your mom to buy some more baby clothings in sg and bring there to you?? i am sure its much cheaper in sg...i brought most stuff from sg to oz except milk powder and diapers and some clothings..

gylmpse, now i remember julio has a good friend , a spanish, working in Malmo now..he found a job working for a computer games company..its near denmark , can take ferry there, very near, right??

hey how's everybody!? Just taking a short break from doing up the house. We've finished with scrapping paint and polishing..now proceeding to clean and wash before painting! *Phew* so much work! Can't believe we started since march!

hey CONGRATS!!! Deluxe! No wonder the food cravings hehehe...

hehe..if GOD willing maybe this year end lah Gina hehehe..actually wanted earlier say deliver next june (cos hb and my DOB in June + also our wedding anniversary) but cos thinking about my norsk classes (from what i've calculated, 1 chapter 1 month, she would finish the book next year!) and also my house now renovating so better to wait till all the dust and repairs finished (you know my mum's superstitious..no hammer and such etc..) and better to be safe than sorry lah..so we figured to wait till year end so in time for next aug or sept..hahaha also can go back Sg for shopping bb stuffs and satisfy food cravings in may or june! hehe..how's the c-section scars? you completely healed already?

hey cuclainne! seems gaute and elias has things in common ~licorice! I think that's an acquired taste! haha

ok going back to 'work' .. Have fun with your meet up!

Wow,,this thread is going so fast! I can't keep up!!!

Deluxe CONGRATS to you and Bertil!! I am happy for you.

Hows the apt. thingy going? I hope you'll get the one with a lift on each level. A walk-up can be a little "challenging" at times right esp. when you are bigger and carrying loads of things. But I guess good exercise

Cuclainne, too bad la we can't meet this time. I was actually looking forward to meeting you and the other gals together, Deluxe,Marge(she must be super busy with her wedding dinner), Glympse and even Georgina even though haven't really exchanged much with here.

Liz, looking forward to seeing you in HK..Must let me know when you are coming k. Jeff and I are practising Mandarin now for our move there and I am a little "worried" about not knowing any Cantonese! And yes Jeff and I also have our little secret place to hide things! I am the one who always like to poke around esp. when my birthday, anniversary or chrissy is coming.

Chris, how long more before you think you guys will finish the house? WHat color are you guys painting your wall? I was in interior design before I changed my career and I loveee DIY
Have fun and wear a hat!

Mrs.N...A few weeks more right??
I am excited for you. WIll your Mom be coming soon? Btw..I went to Taka to look for that wok and steamer but couldn't find any on Sale. You were lucky the other time! I guess I have to buy them in HK. Jeff just bought 2 speakers from Canada and that alone will add lots weight to our luggage.

Emi.. haven't chatted or exchanged much with you lately.. Hopefully we could get back to that soon.

SO Glympse, has the htb tried durian yet? MIne won't even go near cos the smell itself can make him sick. AT first I thought he was just exaggerating but he really got sick when I brought back some durian 'pengat" home!

A couple more days now before Hong Kong. I guess I have tried most of what I wanted to eat here...I can't think of anything else except for more satay!
kao_byebye.gif

Mrs N: it seems complicated because there are so many buttons but the 'pilot' will talk you through it .. the slot before us was taken by a couple so i think the wife took a 30mins package and he did the same. probably from bali because they both choose to 'take off' and 'land' from the balinese airport .. elias did his practice run at arlanda .. hehehe ..

he fast-forwarded with Elias because he already knows most of the controls - in fact, Elias had asked him several questions eg about rudder trim, etc and he told Elias that oh, those controls are here but we won't really use them in this flight. i think he was more used to people just listening to him and flicking switches here and there, instead of asking questions .. hahaha ..

Gina: can make it next week? then i can clean up the mess in the living room first .. hahahah .. cookbooks on the dining table, toys all over the place, etc etc etc ..

yes yes, anyone else want to join?

maplehue: girl, sorry that we couldn't meet la .. but never mind, HK ok .. hehehe .. btw, where in HK are you going to stay at?

yes yes, eat all you can while you're still here .. otherwise it might be difficult to satisfy your cravings later on ..

chrisl: have you tried licorice ice-cream before? i think it's the only licorice-type thing that i can actually swallow
as if licorice is not 'bad' enough, elias prefers the salted version ..

Thanks gals!
We found out abt a month before leaving melbourne, quite a surprise i must say. I'm in the 13th wk now, and just did the OSCAR test for down's syndrome on Monday. All clear, phew!

maplehue HB likes the apt, so whatever i say abt the stairs is being ignored... anyway i've already said there's no way i'm going to be able to carry a 7-8kg pram + 3kg newborn up those stairs. Later if he complain, I have every right to say i told u so.. hehehe

Guess what, the office is also stairs-only, 3rd floor of a shophouse. I dun think i'll lack any exercise... hee hee... M holding on to the handrails tightly cuz I'm kinda have a knack for falling on all kinds of stairs

chrisl yap, it's a gd idea to wait till the reno is over. Superstitious or not, all the paint and dust can't be too good! I was joking w HB that maybe i should learn German again while preggie, then baby will get to listen too and maybe be born knowing German... haha

gina i'm seeing a TMC gyne called Dr Kee Wei Heong. Chose him cuz he has evening clinic at Jurong Point, more convenient for me. He had gd feedback on the forum and the 1st time we saw him last wk, we felt comfy with him. He's quite old (50+ at least), very fatherly and patient. Quite unlike a prev one i saw (he's cheaper tho), whose style was the very quick, chop-chop out u go type.

emi Bertil's pretty excited, i think more than me. He's quite a big kid so u can imagine that what a small kid can do to a big kid.

cuclainne i've never tried prima's durian puffs, only polar. Certainly more accessible than goodwood park!

i can imagine myself huffing and puffing up the stairs. Is it hard to walk up in the last trimester and down during labour? I was also wondering whether living without a stroller will be practical.

Sorry ladies for the delay in response, been swamped at work!

Elizabeth, haha you and Jeroen are so cute lah. But I guess it's the effort to make it a surprise that makes the present even sweeter ;) I'm always asking Emil to surprise me more, but because I'm the one who likes to plan, he doesn't have much room/time to manoeuvre a surprise even if he wanted to ... heheh ... the most recent surprise was when he proposed, and that one was a surprise not just to me, but to him too .. haha ..

de_luxe, CONGRATS on the 'baby dust infection'!! hehe ... so exciting. A lot of my friends now are pregnant / have newborns. I feel slightly left behind haha. Thanks for the tips re the driving licence too. Emil was saying that he'd be allowed to drive in Singapore for 6 months or sth on his existing licence before he has to convert it to a Singapore one. I know he's dying to drive, just hard to find the time/car to do so!

Yea, Lund University does offer courses in English, cos it has a rather large population of international students. The courses I'm considering, e.g. European Business Law, seem to have a basic English requirement too, so I'm suspecting it's being taught in English. I hope. :P

Haha talking about food, my Swedish friends (Emil included) all can't seem to understand how it is that Singaporeans can talk nonstop about food ... before the meal, we talk about what we are going to have, during the meal, we talk about how good/not good it is, after the meal, we talk about what we are going to eat next! For them, they just eat lor, and don't wanna have to think about the next meal when they are still full from the one they had just eaten. Haha .. Singaporeans must seem like greedy pigs overseas :P Having said that, when I was in Sweden, I didn't miss Singaporean food as much as I thought I would ... was too satisfied on the yummy bread and dairy and 'cheese in a toothpaste tube" .. heheh...

cuclainne, yea, if it's just the requirement to do basic theory, that's ok I think. Emil's concerned if he'd have to actually do a practical driving test too ... he's not too sure he'll stick to the right side of the road :P but yea will go chk it out

Haha i can imagine that the 2 girls must be an active and bubbly lot
Emil comes from a family of 6 siblings (he's the oldest), and they were all born in pairs, e.g. Emil and his sis (younger by 1 year), then a 2-3 years break, then a pair of brothers (1 year age gap), then a few years' break, then a brother and sister (1 year age gap). Which turned out to be a pretty good strategy, cos the sibling pairs were very close, and there was no odd one out. Emil and I are hoping to do the same, though having 2 kids vs having 4 kids is a big difference in Singapore :P well, praying that the extended paternity leave thing will kick in in Singapore by then. Would be a great help, me thinks.

Wah the procedure is tedious alright. I guess given the general trend of relationships/marriages in Sweden, they wanna be doubly sure that the relationship would last before giving the PR permit. Haha .. wonder if there ARE people who get deported from Sweden. I have the impression that there are a lot of 'illegal' immigrants in Sweden, but Sweden is just 'too nice' to deport them :P

I guess exceeding the income ceiling is kinda a good problem haha ... my Mum said not to worry about the subsidy, it's just abt finding the right timing, i.e. in between jobs :P crafty one, she is :P

Oh thanks for the tip re the Swedish candies at Robinsons! I know Emil would be delighted to know that. We also came across a small shop in Suntec City (on the top floor, near the cinema, where the "MyPlayground" area is) that sold Swedish candy. I was so excited when I saw they sold Zoo candy (the red gummies in the shape of monkeys). Was hooked on them when in Sweden. So, Elias likes salty licorice? Poor u ... haha ... does he force u to take them? Emil doesn't really like those actually. But he does like this candy that's like salty on the outside, then turns sweet after a while, then finally sour in the inside. According to him, every Singaporean (including me) spat it out after a while (it was disgusting!), but he loves it. Swedes are weird creatures :P

Mrs N, haha i see. It prob won't work for Emil and I, cos we'll be having just 1 joint account and getting rid of our own ones (in Singapore, don't think we can add our names to the existing account. Gotta close down the account and then open up a new joint account I think. Or maybe it's the other way ard haha.) We already have a joint account for the wedding prep, but interestingly, I'm the one who holds a credit card. He cancelled his credit cards when he left Sweden, and hasn't signed up for one in Singapore yet. So will prob rely on that to spring any surprises. Emil just uses hard cold cash most of the time, he doesn't really like signing off bills cos he feels his signature looks different every time he signs it haha.

Georgina, can't make it for the gathering unfortunately
These 2 saturdays happen to be fully booked. U ladies have heaps of fun, and post photos! And yes, I know Malmo! Emil is from there actually! Yea, it's a 40-min train ride away from Copenhagen, super near Denmark. I would normally fly to Copenhagen from Singapore then take a train to Malmo when I visited Emil. Have you been there?

maplehue, hi!! It's been a while
nah HTB hasn't tried durian yet, but i'm ganging up with cuclainne to intro him to sweet durian from Chinatown sometime, hoping to get him converted!! he's like ur HTB, he thinks it smells like super rotten food :S

de_luxe: maybe you might have more stamina than me
but when i was preggers with elin and still living at cavenagh, i would be flat out by the time we reach home (usually push sofi in her stroller and hang the bags off it). sometimes i even had to resort to making two trips - either i drop the bags off first and then take her and the stroller up or the other way round. eventually she got too heavy to be carried up the stairs in the stroller so i had to take her out, fold the stroller and carry them up.

i think it's harder when you have an older child to think about cos i remember being preggers for the first time and i wasn't as tired as i was the second time because i was able to go home, lie down on the couch and just relax.. i was able to do cross-stitching, fix jigsaw puzzles to relax. i couldn't do that later on when i had sofi to care for at the same time ..

maybe you might want to consider just carrying your baby in a sling? it brings the baby closer to you but after a while, i think it gets a bit uncomfortable for the baby as well .. i prefer having a stroller - get a lightweight one. i went from having one stroller to having 4 leh (1 newborn stroller, 2 umbrella strollers and a twin stroller) .. hahahah .. wah, that one is very heavy!

glympse: the candies being sold at suntec are similar to the ones sold at robinsons centrepoint .. oh, is that the skull-shaped sour candies? i love those!!! haven't eaten those in a while because after eating a 'few' of those, everything else would taste sour too .. hahaha .. elias makes me try everything and i'm not one to turn it down unless i've tried it and it's really horrible .. i've spat out a sweet into my hand, in public before - elias gave me a candy and insisted it was the best thing ever. i doubted him, just by looking at the candy but i popped it into my mouth anyways - yucks! somemore he can start laughing at me leh .. so angry then, i wanted to smear the sweet all over his face leh .. hahaha ..

so have you tasted any of the 'indigenous' meats yet - like reindeer, elk ..??

yup Deluxe, actually my MIL went from hinting to really kinda asking for bb hehehe..that was before i told her have to wait a little while after all these hse thingy first. She seems very satisfied after she sees so much things are getting ready..hehee that means a bb is 'getting nearer' too hahaa

hey it's good idea to maybe listen to language cds and such..cos bb can hear you now i think you're in 2nd trimester? Would you be interested to try out the baby mozart music for your bb? It's got good reviews from my early childhood instructors

Maple Hey thanks! I can do with some of your suggestions! Im finished with washing all of yesterday and today im starting to paint.

Im looking at a light beige colour tone for all the ceiling and then walls would be a different colour in each place (dining/kitchen/living room/hallway) I've thought of using a slight blue/grey tone for the living room. As for the hallway(entrance to the hse) i'm thinking that it's a bit dark now so i want it to be brighter..so im thinking if beige would be a wise choice so as not to make the place darker?

Cuclainne glympse sweets/chocolates here are so expensive! Food and drinks which contain lots of sugar are also more expensive than others cos they have a so called 'Luxury tax' imposed to discourage people to eat less of it
so norwegians usually get their sweet fixes from Denmark or Sweden when they go for drive/cruise holidays

HI gals,
Cuclainne, moi will be in Hong Kong Island..Already have apartments lined up for us to view when we get there so we could move in before work officially starts.

And yeah la...Im trying to eat/taste as much food as possible before we leave. This morning, we are going to visit my Mom and she is going to cook for me some nut free mee siam with sambal egg. Jeff is sticking to his bread/pancake or cereal breakfast. Ha. Tonight my sis and family are taking us to 'downtown east' for makaning. Haven't been there yet so don't know what to expect. I hope there is sate! THats all I want to eat after my meesiam craving!

Deluxe, glad to know that you guys have got an apt. When will you guys move in and are you happy with it? My sis lives on 3rd floor and she said at times it was quite hard to take the stairs esp. after she has given birth to her second girl and has the older one with her plus bags and everything. So what she did was she always ended up calling her maid down to help her with the pram and things while she brought the kids up. As far as I've heard from my Mom, she only 'lost it' once cos of her swollened feet.

Cuclainne, did you get swollen feet after you delivered? Deluxe, make sure you hold that rail tightly ok and wear flats! And yes..give Bertil the 'I told you so dear' when the time comes. Hee.
Don't worry, I'm sure he'll be your superman la!

Glympse, good luck with the durian thingy! As far as I know, Cuclainne and Emi's hubbies are the most adventurous and "terror" angmoh hubbies here! They can eat Asian food better than some of us. My husband Jeff has sensitive tummy and a little bit of spice can make him sweat and have tummy ache. Sometimes when I crave for spicy food, I have to cook in 2 different pots(like curry).Sweet Japanese curry for him and the spicy Masala curry for myself! Ha. YOu are right about SIngaporeans talking about food. ALl his friends including him of course are not like that at all. WHen they are done eating, they are not interested about what else to eat later on or what cuisine to have the next day. As far as Jeff knows, his tummy is full and he can't think of food anymore. Ha! I can survive without Asian food but I do have cravings at times!

Chris...Your project sounds exciting la!
ANyway, this my 2 cent worth.
Ceilings should always be white but once again if you and hubbby really like it, then it is your choice and go ahead la.
It is good to have basic color, in this case would be the beige for everything and have another choice of color as an accent wall, which is the slight blue/grey paint.
And for accent wall, I would just do one wall Chris.
The idea of having beige for your hallway is a good one. It helps to take away the 'narrow-ness'.
Take pics k so we can see on MUltiply

xo

chrisl: yes, elias told me about that before .. that it is very expensive in Norway. still .. i would like to visit though
eheheh ..

maplehue: happy apartment viewing!!
we're going to be moving out as soon as the lease is up (another few months) - i think we're ready for a change. where are you going to be working at?

i had swollen feet during pregnancy and now it's not so bad but i have to say that my feet have 'grown' lor .. last time i can wear a size 36/37 and now it's 39/40. argh! cannot wear most of my lovely shoes anymore .. boo hoo!

nisa, no problem, make it next sat then !! ya, me too, now i wear size 38, used to wear size 37, lots of my fav shoes cant wear :-( i have swollen feet during last trimester but after giving birth, no more of it but feet has grown bigger :-( i still cant wear my wedding band :-(still have 8 more kgs to lose..

if happen all of us in sg, our hubbies that like durians can have a 'durian competiton' , see who is the ultimate drian eater !! JUlio likes spicy food too, especiallty beef rendang..

deluxe, i have one stroller, sometimes u need it coz the baby will become heavier each day..now baby luke is 8 weeks old and about 4.8 kg, just carry him for a while, my arm ache already..the baby will only put on most wt during last trimester so eat good food during that time ,and drink coconut juice twice a week from week 36 till birth, the baby's skin is smoother, wont have much small dots on the face..

chrisl, ok, we will wait till next jan to hear good news from you !!! buck up !!

we have this agreement, i will speak mandarin and english to baby luke and Julio will speak spanish to him..so at least luke will be able to speak spanish to julio's family members..well..i still cant speak spanish :-P