Any Brides whose HTB is 'Ang Mo'?

Gina: I'll pm you my mobile number and let's meet up before you leave for home .. when are you leaving Sg btw?

Let me tell you that for both my pregnancies, i never pantang .. my colleagues and my family were practically yelling each time i drink a big gulp or eat pineapples, etc .. elias is my accomplice, he said he'd rather have me eat something than nothing at all so if it's something that i want to eat then he's going to give it to me .. hahahah .. with sofi, i went through a seafood horfun phase when i ate the horfun like 2-3 times a week for dinner until the lady at the store recognised elias as he's coming and start preparing the food for takeaway .. hahahah .. he's had to explain that i was pregnant and craving for it ..

but i did drink a glass of milk before bed, and also 2 bottles of birds' nest a week in my last trimester - i heard that is a good time to drink coconut juice too as then the baby will be born with good complexion. sofi was born with clear complexion but she had milk rash on her face for about two-three weeks afterwards which went away after applying some cream and she's had the complexion she has since then.

chrisl: yah lor it's a women thing cos men only needs a pair of shoes for work, casual and sports. hahahah .. we need choices for our outfits! hahahah ..

that's what i heard too - being on the pill for too long might ruin your chances of conceiving but i'm sure that tests have been done to disproved this .. don't worry, take your time .. Gaute is just anxious to have a mini Gaute running around the house by next year .. heheheh ...

hi chrisl..prawn paste used in rojak is not very clean type and i have sensitive skin..well..i still eat them once a while but maybe not good for the foetus so try not to eat ...

nisa, i also eat pineapple (hawaii pizza), but not too much..now i dont eat raw meat or raw agg..missed salmon sashimi !!:-( i will have bird's nest from 2nd trimester too, hope baby got good complexion :-P i am going back to canberra after cny next year so we have plenty of time to meet up :-)

chrisl, i heard my friend said there is a type of birth control method which is insert something into your arm..if you are on pill and when you are off it, it will take about 6 mths for you to conceive, that what i heard, dont know true or not..

gina: i was more careful with my 1st pregnancy than with this one .. maybe it's because i've been through it before so i was not as cautious .. i've had oysters and sashimi a few times as soon as my first trimester was over .. a pregnant colleague of mine had the same cravings so she would always order extra for me.

Gina.. have i congratulate you yet for the bun in ur stomache?heheheh. hope it all goes well. Its really cool that u are gna be in Singapore till February, u dun miss canberra? heheheheheha how about ur hubby, is he in Spore with u too?

Nisa...u so amazing.. no pantang... maybe thats how it should be?

I am a bit stress right now.. My guests are giving me the craps man.... Close friends of mine from overseas that were informed a year ago of the wedding are pulling out last minute. I mean i did tell them from the start that its ok if they cant come, And they kept telling me that NO, will come whatever it takes. A few of them are like me travellers obsesed people. Now they just came back from a longgggggggggggg hols and realised they are broke.I am so pissd and dissapointed coz they promised! *sigh* I mean, I gave them 1 year to prepare , they should have thought about it more seriously!

Then there are some of my Malay friends whom I dont really know how to tell them. In my invite , i said u and your partner. Now they say they want to bring their mum and daughter and ...blah blah blah... How do i tell them that i have only 80 places for my friends and THAT u and ur partner means 2???? AIYAHHHHHHH!!!!!! this is not under the block free food for everyone!

My mum said that some of our relatives are not happy not being invited too...and gave her a face. SO s***. i am pissed as hell.

*SOB* i am so stress.......so so stress......

sheeeshhhh....chris is very stress too..

i see Gina that's why..try to be extra careful then!
Maybe can visit nisa together!

How's sofi's birthday Nisa? ;)

hey EJ don't be discourage lah..cos it's like that planning weddings..sure to have pple last minute pull out. I was also rather disappointed the last time when a close friend said she couldn't come
anyway hope all goes well for you!

Sayang sayang Emi, not easy tho to coordinate guest list as well as handling gossips gossips of not being invited, worst are those who is gg to bring herds of generations to your wedding! aiyoooo.... i feel for you too, nvm, as long as you dun let them bother u too much, im sure you and Chris will have a beautiful fairytale wedding ;) Enjoy your weeks till the fullest while still in Austria b4 heading back to Sg and Melb

Good Luck Girl!

EJ: Aiyah .. that's Malay relatives for you (sorry for the generalisation) but sometimes you just need to stand your ground cos it is YOUR wedding yah ...

Chrisl: It was chaos!!!! We invited guests from 1-5pm but only Elias' colleagues came on time - my relatives only started arriving from 3pm!!! Argh! Elias was quite upset la .. he said next time we need to tell them that it starts at 10am, in order for them to arrive by 1pm! We've had to call the catering people and tell them to come back later cos the guests haven't arrived! But once people started coming, there was no space to even stand!! The chocolate fountain was a hit, everyone loved that and i got my family to decorate the living room with balloons so when the kids leave, they just pull a balloon home with them. Less things to clean up. Sofi got so many toys - we haven't unwrapped most of them till now.

Im new here and I believe that most of the bride or Bride to be are mostly staying oversea.

Anyone staying in Australia? Will be good to know someone away from home.

My FH is a Swiss Italian and of cos Im singaporean...heehee
But both of us resident in Australia.

Hope to hear from any of you.

Wow my! Sounds like a little stress Nisa! But nevertheless, i guess when you both look at it after, the stress was all worthwhile for sweet little sofi! But the chocolate fountain sounds 'wahhh' (in our time 1970s/80s no such thing for our birthdays hor...How fortunate the younger generations are these days!) ;) I remember in my previous class of children, many of them requested their parents to have mac donalds' party in the school after seeing their friends got that..heheh it was sure fun for the children but as for us teachers, it's kinda stressful cos we got to make up time for the curriculum after as the party would normally 'eat' into their lesson time..those were the days...but on seeing them so delighted, it was ok afterall

Oh i got to volunteer as an assistant in the after school class here in the town. Coming wednesday will be my 1st time there..it's once a week an hour..nervous man!..all ang moh children!

oh hi there and welcome to the 'family' DecBride! There are lots of gals here in Australia or will be going there, example EmiliaJo (EJ) she's also having her wedding soon..and Margiel, Georgina and a few others..so how's your wedding preps? Excited right??! So are you having '2 weddings' too?

How's the rest of the ladies? I wonder..so long never hear from them..

Hi Ladies n welcome decbride,

Just dropping by to say that I'm going back to sg for 10 days. Leaving on 24 nov. I just booked it yesterday. There was a very cheap SQ promo and only saw it yesterday. 380 euro including tax for 1 person. Jeroen n I decided to book n go back even though it may be a short stay. Hard to get this kind of price! Really excited! Finally almost 2 yrs since I m away

Thanks Crisl, Nisa and Marge.
I seriously give up already. my mum went hmmph( i told u so) on the phone.It's funny how i changed emotionally everday as a psychotic bridezilla. Did u guys go thru that as well? kekekeke

Elizabeth... OMG!!! when is the promo until and where from? i need to inform one of my frens! this is amazing!!!!!

Decbride... welcome. yeah i am a resident in oz too and we live in melb. chris and me. Chris now officially works for Melb uni for a year,so we will be there for that time. where are you at? If you are in Melb, margie and a few others are there now to hook up with!
And some others in perth, brissy and canberra.

chrisl: yes, at the end of the day, it was all worth it plus it helps that we didn't have it at our place which mean no cleaning up to do! hahahah .. my poor mother but since we catered everything, she only had to rearrange the furniture a little. i'm trying to plan for pumpkin's one-month do .. can you believe that she will be born in about two months' time?

elizabeth: yay! you'll finally be able to come back and meet up with family and friends yah, not to mention having all the foods that you've missed so far .. hehehe .. that is super duper cheap for SQ - lucky you!

ej: yah, everyone has their two cents' worth of how the events should be planned but heck la .. i guess it helped that i have supportive parents who just listened to 'well-meaning' relatives but didn't act on their 'advice' .. hahahah .. i initially planned to have a small wedding dinner but after calculating all the costs, we decided to just have a really really small get-together at a middle eastern restaurant - only about 16 pax which included my immediate family, elias' immediate family and his friends who came for the wedding. my relatives knew about the dinner and asked for details but my mom told them that it's not a big-do and only for immediate family only ..

Thanks to Chrisl and Elizabeth...
Im happy and glad to be in the "family"

Presently Im just nervous not excited thot..hahaha...too many things to plan and worry will anythings go wrong on that day...just praying hard that it will be a great and unforgetable one.

Joe and myself decide to have only one wedding and it will be in Singapore...Thank God if not Im going to be CRAZY with all the stress....heehee

And I like to say hi to all the bride or BTB in Aussie like EmiliaJo (EJ),Margiel and Georgina.

Emilia Jo, we are not too far away from you...just a domestic flight...hahaha.....Sydney....what a waste if not can meet up and have a Spore Girls night out...heehee...that will be fun.
Hey congratulation to you...so the wedding going to be in Spore and Melb and when is the date?

Take care everyone and congratulation to those who is going to be MUM. : )

eli- cant seem to find your email...will wait to hear from you.

hey decbride... no worries. maybe we'll meet someday.
the only brides ive met from here are margie and also alys in melb. But i hope to meet the rest one day.
I've already had my melb wedding last april. Now its just melakan and singapore. My headache organising comes and goes. I can be cool, but if I have people kangcheong-ING around me i get the hibbies jibbies big time. hehheehheha. when exactly is your wedding?

I wrote an email to some of my friends whom i feel would want extra seats and apologise for not able to provide more, but majority of them are pretty cool about it. Pheww.. Thank God. now i am back to square one. sedated.

Hi Emilia Jo,

Our wedding day fall on the 19 Dec 2007. Its on Wednesday but is a public holiday eve. At least everyone can drink and party till they drop and dont have to worry about going to work...hahaha

And so when is yours in Singapore?

Ej - Hey good to hear that! Stay well!!

Nisa - hey maybe elias will get you an xmas 'special request' or surprise from his trip home ;)..wah 2 months! it's about 8 weeks then...time flies..have your company arranged any one to take over work this time..eariler? cos the other time when sofi was borned i remembered you had some headaches at work yes?

December bride - are you on multiply or facebook? cos most of as are on it and we can also add as contact

chrisl: so far no temp in sight for me .. they always like to wait till the last minute to do things like that .. i had some contractions last week but i saw a doctor who gave me some medication for it .. i just hope that i won't deliver early cos i'm sooooooo not prepared for that!!

i splurged on a sewing machine and an ice cream maker last week .. i figured that since sofi is growing far too quickly, i might as well sew some t-shirts and dresses for her .. nothing fancy like project runway types but just easy stuff .. wish me luck - i haven't touched a sewing machine since Home Ec in sec school! ahahaha .. i did my first sorbet using the ice cream maker yesterday and elias said it was brilliant .. we did chilli sorbet .. really easy to make and i'm looking forward to making more unusual sorbets and ice creams on it .. and it was quite cheap too .. the sewing machine was $269 and the maker was $101. a few weeks before that, i spent about $50 on a toaster and a waffle maker .. quite worried what elias would think especially since i know how he feels about having 'too much stuff' but he's ok cos he said i'm using these things to feed him with food .. hahahah ..

Hi Chrisl,

Sorry not so advance as most of you. I only have MSN.([email protected])..haha...will let you know if I sign up any of them.

Hey girls, yesterday, I try to look for a free website where I can download photos, videos and music so that we can share our photos after the wedding.Especially Joe's family and friends cos we wont have the chance to show them our wedding photos as they will be returning to Switzerland before the photos will be developed..but dunno which is a better one to choose....

Any advise from anyone...please help...

Thank you in advance.

Hi Dec'Bride, we store our wedding pics, video and related links at Multiply for our overseas families and friends. It's quite user friendly

nisa ~ that's not nice to hear..did you ask the doc if that's stress that's triggering contractions like that? or is that normal cos it's your 2nd pregancy..wah better be more careful these days!

decbride ~ multiply is a free website which you can blog and store photos/videos & music plus share with ppl you want/choose. And it is so easy to set up! they made available ready templates and themes for your front page and you just choose&click easily and voila! a webpage is withnin reach..i was introduced to it by nikki (she's also a forumner here..but not seen her lately..where are you nikki btw? *WAVE*
) anyway, that's good for me cos im not very good in webpage thingy and i also shared my photos with my overseas friends/family and update my family in Sg what im doing away from home
(hahah im not advertising for them har
)Hope this helps..

nisa~ wah cool! ice cream maker! that's rather unusual flavours..chilli! HB and i saw the wasabi ice cream at bugis junction that time and he was not keen to try that since he's not a fan of sushi..haha it's nice to also sew some clothes if your interest is there..hahah for me i don't like sewing..lucky my MIL loves sewing and she got a new sewing machine just last week cos her old one was not working and she's more than happy to sew. (the day before HB's sweater has a hole and it was sent to her immediately for 'rescue' hahha
..good lah i just love to cook & bake..

Hiya ladies ,

I'm new to this forum so sorry if i sound like i have a repeatign question or something >.<

I was just wondering if anyone knows about the upcoming policies for citizenship/permanent residence with the Canadian country?Toronto specifically . Plan to marry my childhood love (when i say childhood i really mean child, 4 years old LOL) So far I only heard that they no longer offer an immediate citizenship but only a permnent residence that might take a few months to approve? And i have no idea if i can get it because My F hb just started working (capable job though) and im still in uni with 2 years to go , no idea if this will hinder anything

Thanks in advance whether there is any info or not =)

Hi Christine,
lol ...i see that you are using pretty much the same line i used when i was recommending you multiply back then huh?? LOL...Doing a good job, i hv to say...kekeke ;-D ...yea, sorry to hv been MIA every now &amp; then ...u could catch me at multiply more often than am here though ...i guess when i hv to read too many words, my brain usually go Zzzzzz ... lol...u know how "airy" my head can be ;-D

Saw some really nice food which u cooked over at multiply...but hey, where's the recipe?? ;-p

hey Nisa,
wow, u sure are becoming a v high tech mum...all those equipment...u are making me drool, that's for sure ;-D ... i hope yr contractions aient anything major which we hv to worry ab! :-/ ... Do check with your doctor &amp; look after yrself well ya! Shall keep my fingers cross that everything's fine &amp; well for you =)

Hey Margie,
When's yr SG wedding again huh?? Did u manage to find the stuff that u are looking for? Did u call up the EverBliss bridal studio as yet?? If you need anything else, feel free to shout ya =)

Hi Dec bride,
welcome onboard =) ...if u are looking for a website to host all yr pics &amp; videos...as the girls hv already said it...multiply could be a good place to start =) ... www.multiply.com ...Give it a shot &amp; we hope you will like it.

to the rest of the gals,
stay well =)

Hi margiel,Chrisl and spiderbaby,

Thank you for the recommendation.
Ya...I had sign up with muiltiply....
Im still struggling to figure out how to use the website...but Im getting there...
My ID is : limkat

At the same time I setup a wedding website too. Feel free to visit my wedding website : joekatwedding.weddingpath.co.uk

Im so busy this 2 weeks cos Im preparing for my wedding in less than 20days.... lots of confirmation and little things here and there.
And Im looking forward to go back to Singapore soon...HERE I COME SINGAPORE...

Cos I will be very busy for my wedding and will be traveling in Dec, so I like to wish everyone have a Great Christmas and HAPPY NEW YEAR in advance

Nikki - Got lah my recipe is updated already. Cos the last time i had to make time to type in the recipe so takes some time lor ;) anyway hope to catch up with you soon! you're still in SG?

DecBride- Hope all goes well for you! Will add you in
Congrats again!

G- Sorry don't think im that sure with canadian policy..cos im in norway..and dun think there's any gals here in canada..maybe can try your luck from their website? So you're studying in Canada now?
Welcome here

Ooi Nikki, so long nvr hear from u leh, got any new updates at ur site anot??? Quiet quiet huh..... hehe
Aiyo me still no actions yet on any bits of the wedding, now Dec is so filled with festive mood, i think the 'Kangaroo' bugs have kicked in, im becoming soooooo slow in everything i do now, always taking own sweet time

Hmm Where is Mrs N, have not seen u lately here, busy with exams?

DecBride, have added u to my Multiply site, see u there

Chrisl, how is the weather at ur side now? will there be snow-cap mountains behind your house? Weather here is getting more like Sg, on some hot day, it can hit above 40 deg! but luckily it's usually during day time. Still not too bad for now, day time 26-28deg nite 21-23deg.

Wow cuclainne, can imagine more feast with additional kitchen gadgets, have fun!

Hey girls, i got good news (oh not the same as georgina hehe), my spouse visa has approved! will prob look for a job after all these festive festive seasons.. Well hopefully i can still find time to experiment cooking and watch my mobtv when i started working

Have a good weekend!!!

Margiel - It's colddddd here! It was down to -11DegC a few days ago. Actually it was just fine last monday with no snow then it suddenly came snowing on last wednesday night! and i was so excited and went out to take pictures in the night!hahah..will post some pictures on my webpage soon..

there are snow all around, on the roof, on the ground and on trees..it's a beautiful sight before rain came washing them away last night. Now some turned to ice on the ground making it slippery to walk..

Last saturday, the moon was shining so brightly in the dark sky and makes all the snow glitter in the night..seems like tiny diamonds or glitters..wah amazing..and the moon is specially bright and round ..it almost seems like god is flashing his torchlight down at us
So cute..

So good! and you're only there a month or so ago right? I was here for almost 5 mths and still no sound of anything yet! Im really disapponted in the work efficiency here

Margiel you really must have sixth sense.
I was busy slogging for my 'Life in the UK test' in the last few weeks. It's over now. The test was this morning and I passed! Yippee! Am now able to apply for indefinite leave to remain (PR) as spouse of a Brit. Just downloaded the forms and they want us to give them 20 items to prove that we are still together! Theses 'items' have to be in both our names and have to be spread out over a two year period i.e. from the time we were married till now! We are now scratching our heads! Apart from our joint bank accounts, not sure what else to give them as the proof has to come from at least 5 different sources! All utility bills are under hubby's name anyway and since he pays by direct debit, we don't have any paper evidence to give them. If really can't find any 'pieces of paper', I think we have to write the home office an essay to explain why!

Btw congrats to you and Gina on the good news! You for your visa and she for her potato.

Chrisl that's the joy of living out of efficient and well run Singapore! Takes a while to get used to it. Anyway just enjoy the relaxed pace of life.

Sherry &amp; EJ hope everything goes well for you guys on the day. Enjoy every minute of it and wedding life after that.

Welcome to the gang Decbride and G! G have you tried asking on the overseassingaporean portal. I'm sure someone on there, who lives in Canada, would be able to point you in the right direction.

Anyway, just to update you guys on what has happened since I last posted about being covered in dust! I was evicted from my office a few days after that. Was working everywhere on church floors, in other people's houses (when they let us), in my house ... I've been practically travelling round the countryside with the priest's laptop like a gypsy! Oh and in the midst of all the chaos, some burglars broke in one night and stole the workmen's tools! Over £500 worth of tools were taken and they had the cheek to write on the newly painted walls 'Tanks very much!' They must also have helped themselves to cups of tea before they left because we found 3 cups outside the window they climbed in. Because of that the workmen screwed down the windows so they were more secure and couldn't be lifted from the outside. The hilarious thing was that caused us problems last Tuesday morning when everybody found themselves locked out of church!
Anyway we all managed to get in after a few amusing incidents.

Thank goodness the renovations is almost done! Moved back the computer on Friday. But the place is in a mess and dust is still everywhere. I think we'll be spending a major part of our time cleaning up next week. Fantastic! Though I have to say that while the place was in a mess, I enjoyed coming home early for a change otherwise most of the time I'm back after six. So there is indeed a silver lining under every cloud.

Have a great weekend girls! Liz hope you're enjoying yourself back home.

Nikki, Cuclainne and everyone else whom I haven't had a chance to mention please take care wherever you are! Wonder how deluxe is progressing with her move to melboure?

hello hello ladies .. hope everyone is well ..

i was at somerset mrt last saturday, waiting for the train and who should i see walking down the stairs but Elizabeth and Jeroen .. hehehe .. i walked up to her and said hello la .. i not shy one .. hahahahah .. elizabeth, hope you're having a wonderful trip here!

Gina: how is your pregnancy coming along? i know i said i was going to send you an email but i haven't *sorry, sorry* .. will do so now!

HI ladies !!

MIA for quite a while...so lazy to log on:-P cant sit still in front of PC like before...

i am now in my 2nd trimester....potato is growing bigger each day ..dont know the sex yet but maybe during the next appt...

nisa..feeling much better now compared to the 1st 3 mths..so tired and have headache everyday..
where will u deliver your baby?

margie..congrats!! hope u find a good job soon !!

Thanks Mrs. N :-)

Chrisl....u can open a small cafe selling home cooked food..i am sure the biz will be good !!;-)

welcome, decbride !!! enjoy the excitement of preparing for the wedding!!

Mrs N and Georgina

Im getting very excited and stress too cos My wedding is less than 2 weeks time.

Just wish and hope that everything will go smooth on that day.

I like to make an early wish to everyone....Merry Christmas and have a great New Year.

Hi to everyone here
G, not sure if you're still here, but I'm marrying a Canadian and we've done some preliminary research. Basically, once you get married, you can apply for the spouse visa, which has the shortest processing time- probably abt 6 mths.

You don't have to be married to apply for PR as you can apply as a common law partner, but you need to produce evidence of your relationship, and of course, it takes much longer.

Good luck December Bride, I hope everything goes great! Especially as I'll be a Dec bride too in 08, ha ha.

Hi ladies!!

Wah...Mrs N long time no 'see'..sounds so happening over in UK leh! kekeke...but then it's so much to do in terms of having to provide proofs of relationship yeah?!

YESSSSS!!! margiel Happy for you! Me too! I finally got my permit! After 5 months wait..sigh! Now i have to go and submit another 2 forms for both the tax card and health card respectively...hopefully can get before christmas..

Nisa Eliz wah it's such a small world huh?
Nisa, you recognise her even she had cut her hair short huh? for me im so bad in recognising people ;P

Gina! How are you??! Hope you're taking care in SG! Wow..so fast now you're in 2nd trimester...heheh i've stopped my pills already..after much considerations that it's good to try for a bb so hb and i might try in april then i might have a 'mousey' bb...hopefully in jan or feb 09' before CNY

DecBride Hope all will be well for you!! You sure will be a beautiful bride! Drink lots of water and eat more fruits + vit C!

Hi and welcome EarthSea!

Hey christmas is around the corner and how's every one's pre preps so far? Brought presents?? heard that the metro in tampines is no longer there!
( and instead now there's seiyu...but i prefer metro cos more varieties &amp; cheaper..

I'm new in this thread and need some advice.

My AD is in Aug next year and we are now still looking for a venue. Hubby's here in Singapore. He is American and of spanish descent. Anyone has similar experience or has any suggestion(s) on how to make the wedding banquet more unique by combining the culture of East meets West? I am lost on how to make it more memorable for his side of the family and some of his relatives and friends will be coming here from US.

Gina: I'm delivering at KKH cos Sofi was born here - seeing the same gynae as before. What about you? Felt any kicks yet?

Chrisl: Yes, very small world indeed .. hehehehe .. Elias was very surprised that I could recognise people ..

welcome to the newbies!

Hi hi ocean blue and welcome!

I did a 'east meet west' wedding in Sg and in norway.

In SG it was at four season hotel in the 'windows east and windows west' their 2 function rooms on the 20th level (think it was 20th or 21st) anyway, we had it there bcos of the rooms' names east and west plus we really love the setting and services they rendered and most of all it's central in orchard..good for accessibility. We had one room for dinner and the other room for solemnisation and after dinner dance. We also had international buffet to suit everyone's taste buds..

As for places to put guests up, we could suggest bed and breakfast. We placed information of the wedding (including accomodation and wedding details on a wedding website 'the knot' and we also had 'muiltiply' website) so guest could also view photos online

I gave chocolates in pouches for favours but you can opt for more unique gifts like 'chinese paper fans' etc..to show your culture you know?

And you could also opt for some games during the dinner or photo montage of both of you etc..many ideas for you to play around! I actually wanted to engage a cartonist to draw pictures of guests and also a person who can use 'chinese brush' to write the chinese names of guests on coasters (for cups) and let them keep that as a momento...but last minute did not cos too many things else to do...sigh..

Anyway you could get more ideas at 'theknot' website and also try local wedding magazines.

Congrats!

Hi Chrisl,

thanks for the welcome and best wishes

Oh wow wow!! Those are fantastic ideas! So many of them. I need time to digest. hahaha... Thanks again for sharing!

I've 1 more query. How do you write the groom's name for the chinese part of the banquet invitation card? Or do you do away with the chinese version? thanks!

Hi Chrisl yah long time no see!
Been busy with work and also its just too cold to sit still at the computer. Talking about long waits! We ordered some 'white goods' i.e. fridge/freezer, washing machine etc online for the presbytery last week and the company sent an email that the goods will be delivered on Monday. It's now Friday and they still haven't arrived! I ordered some office furniture last Friday and the order is still pending. Alamak don't know how to work everything here is still topsy turvy!
But at least with a new boiler and radiators it is much warmer than last year. Don't have to sit like a polar bear with a thick jacket on. Can't say the same for the main church building though, its like being in the artic! Oh well, next spring when we get new roofs and more insulation it will be better but ... in the meantime all of us will just have to freeze.

Ocean blue
kao_welcome.gif

Can't help much on the banguet invitation card as I'm not chinese.

I think the fact that you are holding your wedding banquet in S'pore will already be a memorable affair for friends and family from the States. I remember when my cousin married her Canadian hubby, his family thought that the chinese dinner was kind of 'interesting'. She also incorporated some of the North American traditions like throwing her bouquet at the unmarried girls present and throwing the garter at the unmarried guys. We all thought it was really hilarious because the groom had to remove the garter with his teeth from just above her knee. As Chrisl says you can incorporate some of your culture into the favours. We gave sugee cake as favours as that's pretty much a Eurasian custom however we had our dinner at the legends and they also had little bells as favours which was kind of nice as everybody was ringing them when we walked in. Having a dance after the dinner is also fun, many of our guests enjoyed that as it allowed them to let their hair down after having to sit still throughout the dinner!

Anyway there's still time for you to play around with ideas. Have fun planning.

Ok I better stop yakking or I'll be late for work!

Hi Ocean blue,
for me i just had his and his parents' name in english for my chinese version of invites..that should be ok..guests should understand since you're marrying a foreign partner

Emi: you were such a lovely bride .. the husband was very impressed with your 'headgear' though i heard afterwards that you had some problems taking it off arh ..

btw i know your photographer la cos we hired him to take our photos too .. hehehehe .. what a small world .. he told us that you guys went to school together ..

anyways you must be busy settling in back in Oz so talk when you're free ..

hope everyone else had a good weekend! christmas is coming!!!! we've purchased a christmas tree and have decorated it - done a pretty good job, i must say despite having no particular theme to it. sofi has been very obedient and staying away from it, for now - i think it's because she tried once to hold the branches, not knowing that they couldn't hold her weight so she crashed face first into the branches .. thankfully there are no sharp pointed ends ..

hi everyone! hope everybody is good and had a great xmas. sorry for MIA-ing for a longgggg time. its been quite a crazy good time. And thanks to Nisa, Elias and Sophie for coming down on last minute to the wedding. It was oneof the greatest thing that happened in my life and I am sure you girls felt the same.( will share you guys the details later)

We are still very busy trying to get our act together as a couple and establishing ourselves in Melbourne. But everything seems to be in a positive light.

I will be online to write more hopefully in a few weeks time.

Have a great NYE and happy 2008 everyone!

Hellooooo Ladies

Greetings to everyone b4 2007 slips away

Have a Good and Happy New Year

May More Baby Dust falling on 'Mummy Wanna Be'
kao_babydust.gif

Happy Marriage Life for the Wedded 'Brides'
kao_wedding.gif

Smooth Wedding Preparation for the coming 2008 Brides-To-Be

And A Toast to A Blessed New Year!!

Hey Mrs N, I'm just catching up on the posts on this website and found your post about the application for indefinite leave. I'm not sure if you've already applied for it but just to share my experience with you.

When I applied for mine, I prepared very diligently all 20 different documents, etc and brought all the papers in a folder to the Home Office but they didn't even want to see it! All they wanted was a few sources and by a few I really mean 2/3. I was gutted! Spent hours preparing my folder, even sub-divided into periods, dates, etc and they didn't even take a look. Then had to spend hours afterwards replacing the documents back to where they belong! Was such an exhausting process but well, I just wanted to say to you, don't fret if you don't have 20! They can't expect us all to have 20 different documents. Do you have tax forms, the ones that you receive annually? If you have that, its a very useful doc to give them too! Hope this helps!

Happy New Year to everyone! I haven't been very active on this blog but read that a few of you are expecting or planning for babies and best of luck to everyone for 2008!

Hi all... greetings from Melbourne!

apologies for the long MIA, have spent the last 2 months first clearing work before i disappeared for good from the company, then it was packing and packing and more packing. We got here on 28th, spent NYE at Federation Square.. all good's so far. Will be house hunting, to rent of cuz... currently putting up at niece's place...

Congrats to all the newly married and pregnant gals here...

EJ... whereabouts in Melbourne are u? Have you already found an apt? we're now in North Melbourne. Who was the other person also living in Melbourne?

Hi everybody!

Happy New Year!

Emi~saw your photos, they are simply nice!

Mrs N~hope you're properly 'wrapped up' hehee..

Deluxe~Wow, good to hear that you are settling down well down under..

Nisa~Hope you had a good Christmas with sofi and her sis!