Any Brides whose HTB is 'Ang Mo'?

Cuclainne, Gina,
Cool, Tuesday pm it is then....ya, let us know a time that is convenient, Nisa, and we'll be there. Which is the nearest MRT stop to your place?

Tootsieroll, Georgina,

Say around 2.30pm onwards?

The nearest MRT stop is Somerset. You can walk through Centrepoint and exit at the door near Bengawan Solo. Walk towards Starhub Centre and you will see an overhead bridge which goes over the CTE. You will have to take this (perhaps this explains why I'm almost close to losing all my pregnancy weight gain). It's the second apartment building - usually the security guard uncle won't ask but if he does, just tell him you're visiting that Malay girl with the new baby. Hahahaha ..

hi tootsieroll, should we meet at somerset MRT station then walk there together? if get lost, both of us lost together !!! haha !!so what time should we meet? 3pm? or what time u prefer?

gina,
Gina, 3pm is good. Dunno if somerset MRT has a lift? Shall we meet at the control station?

My sense of direction is hopeless hahaha, so I'll be following you!

hi tootsieroll, sure, we can meet at control station , 3 pm next tues

hi nisa ,will email you, pls give me your address and phone number, in case we will get lost !!!!thanks

Oooooh! Sounds exciting this meeting up and seeing Cuclainne's new baby! Just wanna do a quick post during my lunch break which should be over by now but don't tell!

Good to hear that everyone is doing good. I wish I did bring some fu chok and gingo nuts! I have to get some when I pop back to Singapore and some yellow beans too to make soya bean milk. I saw some bean sprouts from a chinese shop and it's so expensive and such a big bag as well which we won't be able to finish before it all goes off.

Anyway, good luck girls with the meeting up! Hope to hear about it.

Gina,
OK cool, see you tomorrow, my number is 98990388 - I'm the big lady with the big baby with the black Maclaren Triumph stroller probably looking really stressed because baby is flexing his vocal cords

Freaky
Are you cantonese? Pai seh, if I have space in my bag, you want me to bring back some Fu chok or gingko nuts for you?

tootsieroll, georgina

thanks for taking time off from your schedule to come over to visit us - it's so nice to be able to finally meet you ..

those people don't know what they're talking about - joseph is not noisy, he's just being happy

Cuclainne,

It was lovely meeting you and Elias and of course little Sofi!
She is such a gem.

Gina,
Nice meeting you too - Joseph has a birthday buddy! Hope your ROM and dinner go well over the weekend and wish you every happiness in your marriage!

hi anyone here doing the dutch civic integration exam or knows anyone who is doing it? please let me know, as i am starting on it and it will be good to have some to talk to in dutch..

hi tootsieroll,
nah, I'm hokkien. Dunno why i call it fu chok, my mum always refer to it as that and I only just realised that it's cantonese. Oooh! Would it be too much trouble for you? I would love some if you're still in Singapore but don't bother yourself too much about it! Postage in England is so expensive

cuclainne,
hehe is the baby very happy with so many people coming to see her?

Jini,
Sorry, I can't help u there. I guess it makes it a lot easier to pick up another language when there's someone you could speak to.

Knock knock!
Bang bang!
Jump jump!

You've been very quiet recently ladies. Haha! Guess I'm just as guilty myself.

Freaky! How are you? Been busy?

Jini not too sure how to help you either. Maybe you can try the S'pore Expat Forum and ask if there are any Dutch speakers on there. Just a thought, you might find it more helpful to practise with a native or fluent speaker than someone who is just starting out like yourself. At least if you do go wrong they can correct you from the beginning and not be a case of the blind leading the blind if you know what I mean. Guess your hubby would be the best one for that!
But having said this, it's always nice to have a kaki who can understand your frustrations with learning a new language.

Hope everybody is ok. Keep well.

Hi Peeps
How's everyone? Apologies for the long silence. We have been busy moving house and settling down. *Phew* The dust has pretty much settled now and life is slowly going back to normal...

Cuclainne Congrats to u and your hubby on the birth of ur little princess! She sure does look cute!

Chrisl I think u were asking abt JPs in one of your posts some time ago. I was supposed to have Brother Emmuanel. Spoke and confirmed things with him some time before the wedding and we were supposed to have met up with him abt 1 month prior. He sounded like a nice guy on the phone. Unfortunately when I contacted him to arrange for an appt to meet up, he informed me that he was going away to France on some urgent matters and doesn't know when he will be back. So at the last minute I had to hunt for another JP and got Chandra Mohan instead. He's a lawyer and is also very nice. He's quite new to this (think maybe 1 year experience or so). But in the end everything turned out well even though he didn't follow parts of the script that i gave him.

What's everyone doing over the festive season? Wishing u all happy holidays!!

Hi dear girls. Sorry have been pretty quiet too. Been reading the posts quite regularly but it has been quite abit about ppl arranging to meet up in Singapore... so though can´t really comment to that....Yah, just had my 1st birthday in Germany... such a sad event. For detailed account, can go to my blog www.pristanny.blogspot.com Anyways, just popped by to say hi and I´m still alive and reading the posts!

HI ladies !!!

i am back !!! was so busy preparing last min thingy for my ROM and wedding dinner last week..everything went smoothly :-) just back from BKK yesterday nite, BKk still a very good place for shopping and my hubby was so shocked by the way i shopped !!! and i told him its BKK, so must shop and eat !!!

nisa, was nice meetin you , your hubby and your little girl..she is a real darling

emily, was nice meeting you too, and Joseph!! we share the same birth date !! He is really cute , a very happy baby :-)

Chrisl, its mid dec now, another 2 weeks to see your HTB !!! dont get too excited !!

i am going to join the freeze club soon, its minus 2 degree in Madrid last week..geez...

nikki, how was yr trip back to germany? any problem with yr laguages?

pris, hows life in germany?? now i am sort of thinking what i can do in Madrid if my hubby decided to work there instead of working in Singapore. He managed to find a job here but his mom complained alot so he is having a big headache now and i dont want to give him any pressure..

hi pris, happy belated birthday !!! i think life changes in every stage of our life...in the teens, 20s, 30s , 40s.....from single life to married life...i am trying to adjust to married life now..not used being called Mrs Diez Gomez..the receptionist at the hotel called me that when i was checking out the next day after the wedding dinner and i looked at him blankly..it just didnt register to my mind that i am a Mrs now !!

maybe your hubby is not that sort of romantic guy, just like my hubby..they belong to the 'insensitive unromantic' club..to them, birthday is just another day..

if i am going to live in Madrid, i think i will be a housewife too..i always wanted to work, i prefer to support myself but if worst come to the worst i cant find a job there, i will have to depend on him ..will see how things go one step at a time...

cheer up !!! you are only 24, still have at least half a century life to live with your hubby !!! Always think on the brighter side :-)Be happy , life is too short to be unhappy

tootsieroll, are you back in uk now? hope you've enjoyed your vacation in singapore ...

freaky, hahahaha .. i think she was a bit confused cos there were a few babies around that day but the husband and i were very happy .. the babies are sooo cute .. i have to upload the photos online and you ladies can have a look yah .. how are things with you?

de_luxe, you moved to your new apartment?? the building where we're staying at the moment has been put up for en-bloc sale so we don't know how much longer we can stay here .. the landlady suggested a 6-month renewal on the lease but the agent recommended a year .. hmm .. i will have to get in touch with one or the other since the current agreement ends this weekend .. yikes!

priscilla, focus on the positive yah .. i'm sure that given the same situation, i would probably feel the same way as you do .. leaving family and friends behind for the unfamiliar, etc takes a lot of courage and so you should pat yourself on the back and say hey, i can make it! like georgina says, cheer up girl .. we are always here for you if you need to 'off load'.

georgina, did you enjoy your break in BKK? when are you going on your proper honeymoon - just the two of you this time? two of the husbands' friends were here for about a week and we were busy bringing them out to sample some of the cuisine - they almost didn't want to go home. i think we've managed to convince them to try and ask for a transfer to work in offices here ... hahahaha..

i know the feeling .. sometimes i just don't know if i should sign as Ms or Mrs. hehehehe .. the husband leaves it to me but it takes some getting used to, i suppose.

is your husband very close to his family? my MIL was also quite sad when the husband told her that he was moving to singapore .. he aced the interview in end sept and moved to singapore in dec so she only had a few months to accept it. she couldn't bring herself to believe that he was really leaving sweden .. even though she helped him to pack his things. but she also knows that he was perfectly capable of making his decision - be it for the best or worse - and she has also began to like it here (she's been here twice).

Happy belated birthday Pris!! Read ur blog, n can understand why u feel so down n disappointed...my guess is that Stephan prob din know wat u expected so he did stuff that he tot u would like n he prob also dinno who u would want ard if he did organise a birthday party. Why not have a chat with him to clear up the misunderstanding n realign both ur expectations of each other? I supppose this being the festive season as well, homesickness always hit the hardest, i felt the same too during my 1st Christmas overseas and this even when Christmas typically is just another holiday. It was prob the 1st time in 4 months that I actually felt homesick. This stage is part and parcel of moving overseas. Believe me, it will pass n at the end u will be a stronger person for it. Chin up, girl!! We're always here for u!

cuclainne Yes, we moved on 11 nov. The actual moving was OK but the awful part was that when we got the keys the day b4, we found out that all the air-cons were not working and the apt was filthy. It's brand-new, n the agent claimed that it has been cleaned. But when she left, we found that almost every surface was covered in fine whitish powdery substance. i guess it was construction dust... I've never cleaned so much in my entire life. In the subsequent days, we found out that the wireless internet at public areas, built-in hair-dryer and the built-in microwave (both provided by the developer) were not working. As we discovered this one by one n they were all supplied by different contracters, my hubby was so pissed off as he always had to end work early so that the contractors could come n fix them.

All that coupled with the furniture buying and assembly and more cleaning equates to 2 extremely stressed and tired out pple living tog, who ended up getting on each other's nerves.

Have you decided on ur lease renewal yet? When we were looking for a place in Oct we found that rents have gone up in the past 6 months n most decent places were pretty x. We were advised to find a place soon as rents r expected to go up some more.

Georgina welcome to the mrs club.
I'm surprised it's so cold in Madrid. Must be the global warming... we had a visitor from Norway on Sat n he said they are having a warm winter. The temperature hasn't dropped to minus yet!! There is also no snow on the mountains so the ski resorts r still closed!! Highly unusual!

Will u be changing ur surname officially? My hubby wanted me to, but doing the deed poll n all seemed so much hassle plus i din know wat i shld do with my Chinese name. Although i hardly use it, i din want to give it up either. So in the end i just went to ICA to add in my married name. These days, i use both my maiden and married names for different occassions/purposes but it does get confusing!! I hope i wouldn't ever be like one of my former customers. She used 3 names to book tickets (maiden name, married name & husband's name). She would use a different name each time she called our hotline so obviously we didn't have a booking by the new name she used n each time she went ballastic, insisting that she had booked. We were none the wiser until the actual event when we realised that we had 3 couples on the list but they turned out to be the same pple.

nisa..yes, my hubby is very close to his family thats the problem...he has 3 job offers but he still cannot accept any of them , however he needs to confirm by tomorrow or thurs..i dont want to pressure him to decide now coz he seems troubled...i dont know when we will have a proper honeymoon..if he accepts the job here, maybe we can go for a short trip to Bali before starting work next year

de_luxe, i dont think i will change my surname officially coz too much hassle doing so (needs to change passport, IC, inform banks....) but maybe like what u did, just go to ICA and add in my married name will do. I still use my maiden name when filling forms , maybe a few months later i will use my married name..my name is already very long..Thang Peng Peng Georgina..imagine add in my hubby's surname , will be Peng Peng Georgina Thang-Diez Gomez ..too long!!!

yes, pris..if you need to talk, can always come here..hope this thread will be active for a long time, if not, can always talk on msn or email:-) smile smile

nikki, was surprised to rec your call from germany ..thanks for calling to congrad me :-) enjoy yr stay in germany

My looks like this thread has suddenly come alive once again!

Congratulations to Mrs Diez Gomez! Do share your wedding photos when they are ready. Haha! Yes its takes a bit of getting used to this married name business. But eventually you'll get used to it. I also added my married name to my IC & passport. In the UK, the banks just accept your marriage cert as prove to let you change your name so I tend to use my married name over here and I think my husband prefers that I do so. But you know all this talk about married names made me realise that I need to practise my maiden name signature which I still use on my passport and bank in S'pore. Last time when I was in S'pore I couldn't sign properly.
Needless to say the bank wasn't too impressed! Alamak! Now must go and scratch my head and think!

Just out of interest. Does anybody know how long it takes to make a new passport? Mine's due to expire next year but am hoping to get it done when I go home this coming Easter.

Pris hope you are feeling better these days. Been thinking about you.

Ahhhh...this is killing me!!...can u imagine that after typing so many replies...the website juz crashed & everthing i typed was GONE!!!... siber dulan liao!!!

oh well, i hv got to start all over again then! ..pardon me for making it short or missing anyone out this time round...but it's a bit annoying that i hv to re-type everything!...siber "chiam" ah!!

Mrs N,
I think it takes ab 2 weeks to a month's time...my mum got hers in 3 weeks...i could be wrong though...hope that helps

Pris,
Sorry to learn that yr birthday hasnt been too happy but hey chin up coz if it's any consolation, my birthday this year was without a cake too!!...oh well, that's how Germans celebrate their birthday mah...without the cake lor!
...lol ...

I hv been back in Köln for ab 2 weeks now & havent got much things to do myself!...Hence if you would like, pls feel free to buzz me at 01631760002 (Handy) or 02212717582(Hause)...could definitely do with a chat or two =)

Mrs Diez Gomez,
Sorry to learn ab the dilema you guys are in!
kao_sad2.gif
...it's good that you are understanding enough not to pressure yr hubby...am sure he appreciates it! *good job* =) ...am sure no matter where you guys may be, things will work out juz fine =) ...afterall what matter most is that both of you are together, isnt it??
... no sweat lah ...kekeke *hugz hugz*

De luxe,
Yea, tell me ab the stress of moving into a new house!!!...not that am trying to console everybody but darn,...seriously, if it's any consolation, we've been there & done that juz last summer!! ...fear not, we are still alive ...lol...hence, hv fun with the house cleaning & stuff
; )

Ok, ladies...i hv got to go off to dreamland now...it's 2.30am here!!...

Wishing everbody a very Merry Christmas & a wonderful New Year with lotsa fun & cheer, freezing chicks or not...lol

Mrs Diez Gomez,

Was giving my post a quick read-through...when it occurs to me that you might thought that i wasnt aware that you are Gina...rest assured...i do...LOL ...yea, i know you havent say a word...but you know me lor....simply strange...
....hope things work out the way you want them to be =)...

a quick hi to Christine...Christine, what's up??...Dont get too worked up & ended up with a very flushed face when you finally get to see Gaute ya...that's what happened to Danny when he fetched me fr the airport 2 weeks back ...i thought he was feeling that miserable to hv me back that he had to drink himself silly...lol ...
Send Gaute a hug & save a bigger one for yourself from me =) ...& Merry Christmas

Hi Nikki welcome back to the freezer!

Two weeks to a month eh? Oh dear I got only 2 and half weeks in SG. A bit on the tight side but it's a good excuse to stay longer. Ha!Ha! I think the hubby might have to leave me behind if it comes to that.

Anyway need to run now. Have a nice day.

Mrs N, you could apply for the passport online and time it such that you'll be able to pick it up in person when it's ready yah .. i think you can find this on the ICA website.

Nikki, you're in Germany now eh? would explain why you were 'awol' for a while
how are things there? i think there should be snow in Sweden by this weekend - the husband said he doesn't miss the cold one bit.. hahahaha.

Georgina, yes it would be best for him to come to a conclusion by himself without any due pressure yah .. i'll keep my fingers crossed that it would be a solution that suits both of you.

Whoa!!! So much to read leh gals! Happening sia!

Haha..sorry been MIA as been dreamy these days (You know lah har! FH's here soon! Yippieeeeee! another 10more days to go!)
All in all i'm so excited as i'll be going to have my trial makeup and bridal photoshoot soon in another 2 weeks' time

Keke i've been shopping for christmas and burning a hole in my pocket and i was spending sometime wrapping the presents as i LOVE wrapping them and do the girly stuffs..ribbons and such! hhaa. *Sigh* I just love Christmas! My favourite time of the year!!
kao_love.gif

But hey Pris! Happy belated birthday! I understand how you feel gal! Cheer up! Now we know when's your birthday, be sure to get some surprises next year!

Deluxe Gee thanks for the tip on JP. I was kinda upset with one of the JPs. When i asked if she's able to make it for my big day, she actually said bluntly "You know we JPs are so busy and furthermore i don't have my schedule book with me here so can you call back..say in end December??" (and hung the phone) Gosh! nevertheless to say i was stunned and i didn't even managed to say 'bye and thanks for your time'
kao_angry.gif
Well thanks for letting me know that i have other better options around. Hmm sometimes how i wish FH's here to share most of the wedding preps with me as some can be rather stressing!

Oh yes, about no snow in Norway yet..my Fh's complaining that he don't feel at all 'Chrismassy' I was lucky that i happened to get to see some snow when i was there last christmas...sigh! Now thinking about that made me feel so holiday mood again!

Hi Hi Georgina! You're offically a Mrs! Congrats! Wow! So lucky your husband! 3 job offers! Yes i understand about your situation, my FH's kinda worried about his folks too so he's kinda still pending his relocation and also well hheee..i wanted to try living overseas and taking a break from work that's why i also told him that i don't mind learning his language over there 1st then maybe in another a year or two come back then he'll get a job here. As till then i'll be homesick and will miss SG food! Im a foodie! Haha

Hey Hey Nikki! How's your christmas shopping? Have you shopped in SG or over there? Haha..yup so worked up! At work that is! With 20 hyper children around me trying to get my attention over the few days so today i had a bad throat so im at home to get my well deserved rest. Yes i'll definitely be super jumpy when i see Gaute at the airport! But not hyperventilating lah..Kekekee..that's what i always say to him that when i meet him i'll be sure to give him a big hug and kiss! But everytime i don't dare to do the kissing part! As im shy in nature lah
haha!
kao_shy.gif

TootsierollCuclainne Ohh! Your babies are so adorable!! Give them hugs on behalf of me!

Mrs N I was told by my brother a few months ago that they have changed the photo requirements as they're currently introducing the biometric passport thingy. And they're pretty strict with the photos now after 911 and such happenings..that reminds me, i've to do up another passport too as mine's expiring in another 1 or 2 yrs too

HEY MERRY CHRISTMAS and A HAPPY NEW YEAR gals!

Hey Chrisl, you must be busy now that Gaute is here yah ..

Elias suggested having a traditional Swedish christmas this year - just us three.. we've been checking up on recipes and somehow the menu has expanded so much that i think a lot of food will be wasted ..

how are you ladies planning on celebrating christmas?

Cuclainne, Gaute will only be here next Sat 30th so another week or so to go..hehe..
Wow a traditional Swedish Christmas dinner? Are swedish meatballs part of it? I ate 'lutefisk' last Christmas when Gaute's Mom made it as part of the meal. Have you tried? Is it also a part of Swedish tradition to have that? But i above all i love that roasted moose meat the most! I know moose are cute but they're yummy! ;p

Nah...Christmas will be lonely just watching DVDs and chatting with Gaute on SKYPE and the webcam. My family & i had an early lunch last saturday as we reckoned that it'll be really packed in most restaurants. But we're sure to go Church in the mornings on both days, Eve and AD.

Chrisl, i read about the lutefisk but Elias said that traditionally Swedes serve ham, meatballs, sausages for Christmas but since we don't eat pork, we'll be preparing other things.

So far we have decided on Jansson's Temptation, Swedish brown beans, pickled beetroot salad, various types of pickled herring (bought these from Ikea today - hahahaha), boiled new potatoes with dill for our main course. For dessert, I will attempt the Swedish rice pudding and saffron buns. I don't know if i will make the glogg - traditional mulled wine - but it goes well with the buns. I bought some Christmas schnapps from Ikea today too so we'll have some of that. Seems like we'll be feeding an army eh .. hahahaha..

I've had moose and elk before - they are yummy, just like you said. i went to skansen, an open-air museum in stockholm and i could swear that the elk in the enclosure was giving me the evil eye - probably know that i ate one of its northern cousins or something ..

yeah - it's terribly crowded in town nowadays too .. people doing their last minute shopping, i suppose.

oh, so gaute will be here over new year's eh? what are your plans for then?

Mrs. N, Chrisl, thanks !! Just sent hubby to airport, he leaves for home tonite and i will join him in Madrid on Monday

He was so trouble lookin the past few days, coz his dad said will stop talking to him if he comes to work here..he told his dad about his plan to work here before but his dad thought he was just joking. So when hubby told his parents he got a job he likes here, his dad was angry. Actually he emailed the 3 companies and told them he declined the offers and then his mom called yesterday afternoon saying its ok now if he wants to work here ...alamak, already emailed the companies rejected the offer but luckily the company he interested in agreed to wait till end of the year for his definite answer..so now its up to him to decide...so drama..

i will spend x'mas day on the plane , maybe there will be special x'mas meal !!!

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to all you gals !!!

Hi Gina you both look great in the photos. Have a nice & safe journey to Madrid.

Ok I'm off to bed now. Too tired will post again soon.
kao_yawn.gif

Finally managed to wrap the Christmas pressies this morning while Elias and the little one is asleep. Now I have to start on the saffron buns .. they will take about three hours to make .. hmm ..

Georgina, those are very lovely pictures - you look very radiant in the pics. Waiting to see more .. take care and have a good time in Madrid.

Merry Christmas to All ..

Merry & Blessed Christmas everyone where ever you are! Not having a white Christmas here unfortunately. Oh well! At least it is not freezing!

Hello girls!

Merry Christmas and a happy new year 2007 soon! How were yr christmas celebrations? Sorry have been MIA... just busy.. had 4 different christmas gatherings, of which I had to organise 2... but it was fun! Cool cool....

Georgina Nice lovely wedding photos! Yr hubby doesn´t look very spanish leh! Heehee.... Both of u look awesome! =) Congrats! So u will take the rest of the year to decide whether to stay in Spain or Singapore? Nice... if not need to learn a new language like me... but heard spanish much easier than german haha.

hi ladies !!!

i am now in Madrid, its cold here, colder than last year, luckily the heater quite strong so still ok afterall...

yes, pris, my hubby doesnt look very spanish coz he doesnt have dark hair and features...hmm....heard his grandfather was a french or swiss..

chrisl..surprising its not that cold in norway, norway should be cold compared to other european countries

got to go now, hubby nagging me, going out for dinner with his friends..

hi ladies !!

pris..you r right, many people said spanish is the easiest to learn among most european languages..heard german the most difficult..

chrisl..i also miss SG food !! bought thai chilli sauce, Ba Ku Tei ingredients, barley, gingko nuts, sweet and sour sauce, tempura flour and sauce, chicken rice sauce...i fogot my udon noodles !!:-( left them in the fridge, luckily got some egg noodles

huuby has till tomorrow to decide to work in SG or not...hmm..dont know what is in his mind..he looks troubled so didnt want to ask him..will know tomorrow....as what the chinese saying goes ´marry chicken follow chicken, marry dog follow dog´...

nikki...enjoying life with Danny now, huh???

Mrs. N, you can apply for new passport online , it only takes 3 to 5 days but you have to go down to ICA personally to collect it and geez...you can wait up to 2 hours to collect it !!! No kidding !!! my mom just renewed her passport last month and we waited for almost 2 hours to collect it

nisa, hows little sofia now?? talking about meatballs, i love the swedish meatballs at Ikea!! everytime i go there, i must have it !! i bought a packet of frozen meatballs home once but they dont taste as nice as those i ate there..maybe i dont know how to cook them !!

Hey darling gals. Sorry I didn´t read the previous posts properly. Ahhh.. didn´t even realize that u girls responded to my sad birthday entry... will personally reply to each of u tomorrow! Need to sleep now... ciao.

Georgina Hello, thanks for yr bday wishes.Hey, I think u r so right about a woman´s life having many changes. That´s exactly what this one lady told me too. Its true that my hubby thinks that bday is just a normal day. For him, he doesn´t even need to celebrate his b´day. Quite a cultural difference too,even in bday celebrations here, ppl don´t have bday cakes. Still learning to deal with the many differences here.

Deluxe Hey, I think what you said hit the nail on the head. I thought I was done with the homesick part of it, until yesterday when it hit again. Man. So difficult really. I wish that I can really understand the language faster than I am and its so mega tough! Yesterday was another bad episode when ppl jolly well know tat my german is still at the "cannot make it" level and instead of attempting to talk to me in proper german, they were talking WAY too fast and in the stupid swabish slang. Wah lao, how the heck am I ever going to understand? Its gotten to the point that I sense that ppl try to avoid talking to me, rather than attempt to speak proper german or slower german for that matter. I´m not even expecting them to speak english, but even proper german is too difficult for them?!?

Cuclainne Hey girl, thanks for yr words of encouragement. So something that I really need these days. Sometimes I wish I married a norwegian or a dutch. At least in those countries ppl speak way more english than the germans. I really can´t believe that standard of english of the people here. Really really bad. Haven´t met a single german (otherthan my hubby and those who lived abroad before) who speaks fluent english.

Nikki Hey how´s Köln for u? Do ppl speak more english there compared to stuttgart? Do u have a german slang that sounds so different from the normal german too? The part of germany that I stay, even the local germans who moved from other parts of german complain abt the Swabish slang. Its impossible to understand, honestly. Oh, my number is 49-711-8068710.... if u´re free to talk too. I´m normally at home at 2pm onwards on weekdays...after my german class. Took down yr number, can call u too!

<font color="ff6000">Happy New Year ... 2007</font>!

Let's make it our new year's resolution to do all we can to keep this thread as lively as possible!

Many Blessings and much happiness to each and everyone of you.

Hi, hope it's ok for me to join you ladies. I have posted in this forum before but not on this particular message board.

I just recently got married to my husband whose American and currently staying in the US. It seems from the previous posting that almost all the ladies here married Europeans. Hope it still ok for me to join in for chit-chatting.

Till then, have a good year ahead everyone!

Hi J Lo

Welcome to the thread!

Of course it's ok for you to join in. The more the merrier.
Lately it has been quiet around here. Guess everybody's been busy including myself. So maybe you can start the ball rolling by telling us more about yourself like how you met your hubby, are you based in S'pore etc etc?

Hi Mrs N,

Thank you for your welcome.

Hmm ... where should I start ... my husband and I met each other when I came to US for college. It has been around 10 years since and we got married last year. Currently staying in the States for the time being. Thinking of moving back to S'pore in a couple of years time, but right now States is home I guess.

Boring and nothing interesting right? hehe ... hope to hear from the others soon.

Nah! Everybody's got a story to tell. Wow you must really know your hubby very well then!
My story's pretty similar but I've only known my hubby for 3 years before we wed. Which part of the States are you living in? From my previous postings you probably would've guess that I'm in nthe UK. Oh that would be nice ... to move back to SG I mean. But don't think I'll be doing that anytime in the near future. My hubby likes SG but I doubt he could survive living in the city for a long time. He has lived in a rural area all his life so he would miss all his mountaineering, hillwalking and gliding activities. Unfortunately you don't find these kind of sports in SG and my hubby isn't into watersports or beaches but on the other hand he does find Sim Lim Square interesting with all its gadgets. Hmmm so maybe there is some hope after all!

HI ladies !!!

hubby decided to take up the job in Sg so we are going back to SG on feb 5...PIL not very happy but cant say much coz i dont really speak spanish , so not easy for me to find a job here. WE will live in Sg for the next 5 years or so..goodie !!! can have my fav food :-) really miss laksa, mee siam, fried carrot cake..

Hi J Lo, welcome to the thread !!! which part of state you reside? i have a SG gf lives in NY and has 2 lovely sons..

i have uploaded the pics at my website, can go and take a look when free :-)enjoy viewing !!

Spain is having big sales now after Christmas..yipee !!! will go shopping next week ..i like some brands that cant find in Sg like H&amp;M, Pimkie, breskha...resonable prices and nice designs..

That's great news Gina! You can now look forward to going home soon. Will you be in time for CNY?

Sorry lost touch with when all the public holidays are in SG!