Any Brides whose HTB is 'Ang Mo'?

Welcome new comers!

Just to pop by! Been super busy! This wed is ROM! I am doing my make own make-up and hair! Half hour and that's it!
We are going to have gourment in the afternoon. His dad is preparing it (we pay for it) and I am going to stir fried pakchoy the Chinese way on the grill plate! His dad is so sweet, decorated the garden with organza for the gourment to celebrate our ROM. So sweet! Very touched!

In less than 3 weeks will be our church wedding! Still quite a bit of things to do. Order our cake, song list, practise my readings in Dutch, memorise my vows in Dutch...
I put on weight and I have to alater my gown by 6cm. Eat too much liao! Ha ha ha... Will fit the gown again on next mon. Getting very excited lor that the day is drawing near. My pimples start to pop out also, period coming. At least hope can clear by 19 aug (church wedding) Phew!

GTG and cook liao! My FH is coming home! Take care ladies! Pray for me a fine weather this wed and 19 aug! Will try to write when I can.

Hi to all, so much activity since I last logged on! Hi to Chrisl and Think Thrice

Elizabeth, how was your ROM? Good luck for the AD in church!!

We're in the process of moving house - hefty mortgage - I think we'll be able to afford only baked beans for the next few months until I go back to work and supplement the family income. Ohwell, I suppose at least the new house has more space for the little one to play in when he's able to walk/run.

ROM went fine! Thank God the rain stopped when we went out for mass first before ROM. But super cold and windy! Spent some time together and took some photos ourselves at home, then gourment with his family for dinner. I ate until my stomach burst!
I received 3 bouquets excluding my own! First time so many flowers! Ha ha ha... I've put up some photos in the msn blog. more to come! No time to edit. a bit blur. My hubby is the one who took it with his hands in front. http://LiznJeroen.spaces.live.com/ So how was my own make-up and hair? A bit stress coz keep getting mascara onto my eye lid. Hair also a bit messy due to strong wind blowing. BUt all in all pretty pleased with myself and the help of his sisters for putting pins on flowers on my hair. Hee hee... Now I'm officially Mrs Rutten in the law!

Cuclainne, heee....yes! Im the one you're thinking of ;p finally right?! Wow..It's really happening here! Btw, how's little peanut?

Elizabeth, Hey! Congrats! I think you and your hubby has this 'fu qi xiang'! ;p

Hi Liz! Congrats on being called Mrs Rutten! Heehee, still trying to see yr photos, my computer v. slow today.... Will give u feedback soon...You muz be so excited for upcoming actual wedding!

Tootsieroll Hey, do u have photos of you, yr hubby and baby? So nice! Really love to see photos! R u staying in singapore or overseas? can't remember liao....

Congratulation, Mrs Rutten! hehe looks like you were having a good time
Your makeup looks very nice in the picture. Is that taken at the reception?

Mrs N, haha sounds like a good idea with the curtain wrap around my waist. I have to do that when I'm alone otherwise it might start to worry everyone! Hope you're having a good time with your parents there.

tootsieroll, How's the moving coming along? Are you moving to a new area or somewhere nearby then?

Priscilla,
I've got loads of the baby, but funny we haven't actually got much of us together with him! I'm in the UK....maternity leave is quite xian at the moment, I even contacted overseas singaporean club to enquire about their events

Freaky:
Still trying to sort out the legalities, e.g. mortgage. I reckon it's going to take us another 4-6 weeks yet, but we calculated that without my income, we'll be deep into debt before long, so I suppose I better get off my backside and work
It's going to be somewhere nearby, still in the Brentwood area.

Mrs Rutten: Nice! Both of you look really 'Vogue' for the camera!

Here's a photo of the little one - hope it posts OK on the forum - Joseph Benedict I-Feng. He's 3 1/2 months and weighed in at 7.75kg last week.

393572.jpg

Hey Tootsieroll yr baby looks really sweet! hee... u post yr photos anywhere? Of course its fine to post pix on the forum.... Photos are always welcome.... Why r u feeling xian abt yr maternity leave? How long is it? U intend to go back to work? I have a friend who stays in france - singaporean lady, french hubby....she's a fulltime mom...her baby is about 5 months now....and she says she's enjoying every min about it.

Priscilla,
Don't think I have photos anywhere on this forum....kinda annonymous huh? Shy lah
I'm thinking of setting up a blog, so when I do, I'll let you all know. Feeling xian because I think at times I need more mental stimulation. Going from a busy working life down to taking care of baby was a big shock to my system. Not to say that Joseph is difficult to take care of, quite the contrary, I have been blessed with a beautiful mild tempered baby. He's always so full of smiles and expressions. But you know sometimes there is the need for adult conversation rather than always entertaining baby. Saying that, I actually extended my leave until January, but definitely got to go back because I need to supplement the household income, now that we're intending to buy a new house

Are you all packed to go to Germany now? Or have you gone? Which part of Germany will you be in? Have you found accommodation there already?

Here's another photo -

393766.jpg

Hi Priscilla and gals,

Just to share that i saw Pris's photo and webpage! They are so well taken!
Im actually feeling a little down these days because of the long distance between me and my FH, as currently, we're preparing for our wedding next year but we're so far away from each other. So planning our wedding is kinda more work for me and not to mention plus work and such are adding to my stress.*Sigh* But looking at posts and photos here kinda gave me strength and keep me 'up and going' again..

Tootsieroll~ You have such an adorable baby!

Elizabeth, congratulations Mrs Rutten. You look so radiant that day - so clever to do the make-up on your own. When are we going to hear the pitter-patter of tiny feet eh? ;)

tootsieroll, your baby is sooooo cute! I can't wait for Peanut to arrive .. heheheh.

Cheer up, Chrisl. You'll be together with Gaute soon enough .. are you planning to go over next or will he be coming down?

By the way, me and the husband went to the Norwegian Seamen's Mission at Pasir Panjang on Saturday. He had a craving for some Norwegian brown cheese which is almost very difficult to come by, except that the Mission has a food store which stocks it. So off we went - nearly missing it cos it's high up a hill. Anyways, it's very nice - they have a church, a playschool for Norwegian/ Swedish children, library, etc. The lady who is currently heading the place was very nice - she and her husband offered us some waffles and hot tea, we sat out on the patio (very windy and peaceful) and chatted a bit with them. They do have a mailing list to inform people of weekly activities and she did tell us that there is a BBQ every Sunday after mass. Maybe you and Gaute would be interested in meeting more people??

Hi Chrisl,

All will be over and you and your FH will be united! It's tough I know coz I went through the agony of it, having to be separated coz of long distance and I have to do everything by myself for the engagament in Singapore. Look at the other side of the coin, the sweetness of being together again is a joy. Cheer up!
You can always write over here to pour out your feelings! We all did that, right ladies! Even we are together and officially married in the law, he still has to go home to his parent's place to sleep. we have to wait till the church wedding is over before we can be together. Agony! So far yet so far! Patience!

Ladies, thanks for the well wishes and comments!
2 more weeks! So excited! My hubby is on vacation now so we can fully concentrate on the church wedding! So much of stuff to yet to be done! Good news! The webcam works! Only 3 groups are able to watch it. At least my family and godma, probably Goddaughter too. Yesterday, we went to this place, so called Holland "Venice". beautiful, we found the very spot for outdoor shoots! Now awaiting for my friend to come next week. Time is so short!

Tootsieroll, lovely baby!

Hmmmmmmm.... kids! Probably after 2 years after my study! If it comes, it comes.

Peiseh! Freaky! Saw your photos. Beautiful! Thanks for the email and link!

Priscilla n Mrs N, catch u online sometimes.

And hi hi to all the rest, sorry have to run! Housework and wedding preparation! Pop by to just reply! Take care and till then!

Hi Girls, I'm back.
North Wales was lovely. Can't say the same for the weather last week but it could be worse. But we did have one nice day on Thursday. I'll put some pictures up when I have the time.

Congatulations to Mr & Mrs Rutten! Liz both of you look great. Can't wait to see you in your regal spleandour in two weeks time. So lovely of Jeroen to take leave and help you out.

Cuclainne, my parents came up for my graduation ceremony last month. This is their last week here, they are leaving next monday.
Btw, hope your scan went well and peanut is ok.

Freaky, my parents are just having a relaxing time over here. Thankfully the weather has been quite kind to them. Only trouble was they thought it would be cold but it was unexpectedly hot in the last few weeks so they came with a lot of inappropriate clothing. They've been borrowing mine! Luckily I'm more of a T-shirt person so doesn't really matter if my mum or dad uses them.
Alamak, me so busy running around lately, got no time to reply your email.
Have you got your visa sorted yet?

Chrisl don't feel so down. Most ladies on here have been through the same. 'Absence makes the heart grow fonder' and at least you have his homecoming to look forward to.

Tootsieroll, long time no see. Can understand why. Have you shelved the kitchen plans and taken on the bigger plunge with a new house? Mighty brave thing to do especially with a little baby in tow. Btw, he's cute.
I know what you mean being coup up in the house all day with no adult to talk to. So it was a nice to be able to chat with Liz and other girls on MSN. You can join us as we're on the same time zone. I've to admit I haven't logged on to MSN very often this past few weeks though.
(sorry Pris & Freaky, I've added you on but didn't get a chance to chat yet. Will do sometime in the near future.)

Ok. I better go and feed the rabbits now. My BIL's family has gone away on holiday and left those two bunnies in my care! Have a nice day.

Mrs N, I'm going for the growth scan tomorrow and hope all will be well - Peanut is still kicking, more strongly than ever so I don't think there's much to worry about.

We went to the Istana open house yesterday - halfway up the hill, the husband had to start pushing me from behind as I began to huff and puff. By the time we went home, my legs were hurting so much that I had to prop them up on cushions .. and soon fell asleep. Hahahaha.

Did your parents went with you to N. Wales then? I bet they enjoyed the trip away, just as you did. Be sure to share some photos with us yah.

Oh .. I just found a new hobby - baking. Not any good at it but I've turned my kitchen into a bakery of sorts. The husband has turned into a guinea pig - tested all the end results - and have not much to say .. yet! Hahahaha. I tried making some chocolate cupcakes last night but they ended up with a crunchy crust and a soft middle. We ended up eating those with vanilla ice cream in front of the telly. I'm not sure if he's keen for me to start making a batch of something else tonight .. hahahaha.

So enjoyable to read all of your posts!

Chrisl Hey gal, thanks for your compliments! We loved the photos too! Very value for money also, plus I didn't really bother to search high and low for the best photographer, so was really glad. Hey, as what Liz said, I think most of us on this thread would have a similar experience of long-distance relationship. Mine lasted about 2.5 hrs. Having said that, it still doesn't change the fact that time still seems long b4 u2 can be together. But yeah, be encouraged that long-distance DOES work, especially if both parties put in the effort. For myself, it helped a lot to have God in the picture also....we prayed quite often over the phone. Yup, feel free to unload on this thread...We're all ears.

Welcome back Mrs N! Good to hear u had a great trip to North Wales.CONGRATS on your graduation too! Yeah! So u are officially a PHD holder now? What are yr plans for work? How's stuff with u? Heard the heatwave is over? Germany is pretty cold now apparently.

Tootsieroll Hey young mum! Can imagine what its like....what were u working before u became full-time mom? Muz have been a pretty intense job. I haven't looked after newborns before, so have no idea what its like. Really wanna be a full-time mom...but don't think I'm ready yet. In a few yrs time I think. Maybe can get in touch with other full-time mothers? Can give each other moral support. My friend has mummys with their children over at her place pretty often.....

Your boy is mega cute! Muz treasure him to the max cos babies grow really fast....And before u know it, they are like teenagers already who want to have their own lives - hee sound like a old granny, but in reality I have no experience except 2 younger bros.

No, haven't gone to germany yet. Moving in 2 weeks time exactly. Scary! But exciting too! How long have u been in England already? Its a very expensive place to stay huh? My hubby's sis lives in London and she barely covers her rent and daily expenses even though she earns quite a bit - for our standards.

Liz Hey! Yeah, can understand what u mean. Cos the church wedding is the official one in God's eyes. Our church practises that also....My friend had 1 year in btw her ROM and actual church wedding, so even though she had a hse already, she did not stay together with hubby till 1 yr later....patience man. But its really worth it! I think its definitely worth the wait. Its so much more meaningful and special after the actual church wedding. I had my ROM on same day as church, which helped quite a bit.

Went for the growth scan this morning - fastest appointment time yet, we were impressed! Hahahaha. Anyways, am 27+ weeks now and Peanut weighs about 1kg. She is still relatively small but the sonographer said that everything is ok, give her the remaining weeks to grow. We saw her drinking the fluid (her mouth was moving so much) - she might grow up very talkative like her father. Hahahaha! She also waved to us which really made our day.

I'll just be honest and acknowledge that my baby is cute hahaha
Sometimes I think that I'm genetically programmed to think he's cute, but maybe he really is so

cuclainne,
It's all very exciting about peanut. I only had 3 scans in all for mine, that's considered a lot already, because at first they thought he was at risk of Down's or cardiac problems, so gave me an extra scan. 2 of my colleagues gave birth in the last 2 weeks, so it's babies all round!

Elizabeth,
Can't wait for the wedding eh! It's nerve wrecking and exciting all at the same time! It'll all be worth the wait in the end

Priscilla,
Where in Germany are you going to be based? Have you shipped everything over already? Will you buy or rent a place in Germany? I'm in regular contact with mums from my antenatal class. We meet up about once a month, and I'm trying to look for other mother-baby groups around to join. My job wasn't that 'intense' as such, but it's more the conversations I enjoy, and listening to my clients. I don't think I was ready to be a mother either, you should have seen the look on my face when I saw the positive sign on the pregnancy test kit!
My husband said he never saw such a furious look in me
It took me ages to accept it, but now when I look at Joseph, it's all worth it. He's already a playboy! He chats up baby girls and old grannies!

Mrs N,
Yes, after thinking about the work which needed to be done in the house (it's liveable, but needs updating), we decided to go purchase a bigger house instead. Currently no place to move in the house as it's really cluttered (and I haven't even shipped my stuff from Singapore yet!), and it'll be really dangerous for Joseph once he starts being more mobile - new house has an enclosed garden, so it'll be better for him.

Hi Hi!

Thanks for all your positive words gals! Im encouraged by all!

Tootsieroll~
My FH's currently in Norway..so far hor? Haha...your babe is a playboy already! So sweet!

Cuclainne~
We know about the Seaman's mission church here but unfortunately we did not get to visit while Gaute's here though. And even if we were to go, we might be a little shy to talk to people there! And if Gaute's not with me, I would be even more shy to go alone to chat up with people ;p But we might to that when Gaute's here again the next time (hopefully during Christmas season) ~ he also needs to be here for the fitting of the suit for our wedding :o)

And oh! I don't know about the 'minimart' there either! But no thanks for the brown goat's cheese though i'm craving for some leftsa ;p heee....

By the way, glad to hear that Peanut's growing so well! You might be interested in getting another hobby~ this time scrap booking of your photos! (i've tried that, it turned out really nice but very time consuming!) I managed to finish my 'Our 1st meeting album' but the rest i decided that when i have more free time when im married then i'll continue lah! But as for baking, hee..sama sama~ i can't bake well too :o)

Elizabeth~
Are you based in SG now? Is your church wedding here?

Priscilla~
I'm more to praying than my FH is in fact, i guess that's what their way of life is (they have Church mass on tv and radio) But when the time comes when im there, i hope to attend church often though it takes sometime to drive the distance.

Cuclainne, glad all's well for you. Continue with the bird's nest.
Hee! Hee! If I remember correctly, weren't you going to name Peanut after royalty? Looks like she's has begun practising her 'princess duties' already! (((Waves)))

Pris, like you we used to pray over the phone too. It was a nightly ritual.
even we were in the same country, we lived in different counties so only saw each other on weekends. Or sometimes just for few hours as I used to work part-time in the weekends too.

Haha! I guess I am official though I don't really use the 'Title'. I will start looking for jobs again after my parents leave. I did look around earlier on but they were all too far south. But we got a car just before my parents came, so I am a little more mobile now don't have to depend on the village bus.

Yup heatwave seems to be over now. A lot cooler but still nice enough not to freeze yet!

Chrisl, I think the distance makes you appreciate how easy it is to move around in S'pore. I used to be able to go for mass everyday in SG or when I was living in Sheffield but when I moved to my hubby's village. I was stuck at home all day. And without a car, it was very hard to get out as the village bus into Retford is once every two hours and even less frequent during weekends and school hols. I was telling my hubby the other day, it must be really hard if someone wanted to go to church as the buses on Sunday start around 11 am and by that time, mass or services in the other churches in the local town would have been over. Probably that's why its not an uncommon sight to have hitch hikers along the road in our area.

Tootsieroll, I'm sure Joseph will appreciate the space and the garden. When will you be moving?

Ahhh.. didn't realise today was National Day! Just another ordinary day here.

Hello Everyone!!!

I'm back!
A warm
kao_welcome.gif
to the newbies here! Congrats too to Liz and Freaky!

Sorry for the long silence... was absolutely busy tying up loose ends prior to the wedding plus moving house and we left for our honeymoon 2 days after the wedding. There were hiccups along the way but on the whole everything went well. Came back abt 2 weeks ago and have been busy unpacking plus going back to work
*no fun at all!* Now trying to settle into a married life routine... still takes getting used to...

Anyone has tips on how to deal with 12-hr working days, household chores and the like...?

tootsieroll, i've had 2 detailed scans so far and have had routine scans done during almost all of my doctor's appointments. which is quite nice really - so i can see how active she really is. at the growth scan, we also got to see her face - i think she has her father's nose!

the doctor also told me to be careful with the weight i've been putting on - 10kg since pre-pregnancy. i can't help it .. want to eat, eat, eat now!

Chrisl, thought of going into that but i have no patience and it's really quite an expensive hobby yah. kudos to you for being patient.

yes, maybe it's something you and gaute would consider doing when he's here next - maybe can even pick up some goodies while you're there.

Mrs N, hahahaha yes my little princess .. we went shopping for some items at the baby fair yesterday (the husband didn't want to see the final amount at the check-out counter) but it was not too bad. i made an inventory of what we have and what we'll need .. seems like we don't have much more to get for the baby's arrival. i have yet to count how much we've spent so far but i think the husband will probably faint if he sees the final figure. hahahaha!

Did I tell you her name yet?

de-luxe, the tip is to not stress!! i've been living with my family before getting married and so used to having mommy around - when the husband and i moved in together, i was so uptight because i felt like almost all the household chores became my responsibility (plus my mom said that's the trait of a good wife - sigh!) but it's not like that really .. eg, i make the bed once we get up but the husband doesn't because he thinks it's not practical since it's going to get all messed up again. I used to get so angry because it felt like he's shirking responsibility but i learnt not to stress about these things.

our normal routine is such - since i finish work early than he does, i'd go home and do the small stuff like clean dishes, make the bed (since he gets up after i leave for work) and dump laundry in the washing machine. Then i relax in front of the tv till he gets home. Sometimes i cook dinner, sometimes i don't - regardless, he cleans up afterwards and then hangs up the laundry.

We do a thorough cleaning of the apartment during the weekend about once a fortnight (though sometimes it's not possible because we get too lazy!) - I'd dust the shelves and he'd vacuum, mop the floors and clean the toilet.

The rest of the time, we just chill out - we'd go out for breakfast or sleep in for longer. We'd go for walks, stuff like that - we need 'us' time to enjoy too ..

Getting my husband to clean is like getting a cow to do exponential equations. I'll admit that I'm messy myself, but nowhere near what he's like. So the result of this is....the house is in a mess. If he doesn't mind the house in a mess, maybe it's better for me, then I don't have to make sure the house is sooooo neat and tidy. I do go into 'nag' mode weekly though, but I do appreciate he's trying his best, and it's not like I'm doing very much as I'm entertaining baby during the day, and both of us are tired in the evening. Weekends really should be 'us' time, as Cuclainne says, so we just tidy up the essentials, that's it. The basic routine for us is: I do the laundry, cooking, clean toilet bowl (most times). Husband does the washing up, clears up the house, takes the rubbish out. Vacuuming is about once every 2-3 weeks, dusting of shelves....never ;)

de_luxe Hi! Congrats on being a Mrs! Glad that everything went well for you. Guess you didn't need the lifeboat after all!
Hey do put up some pictures when they are ready. You know how kaypoh we all are.

About the household bit, well, there isn't a set rota between us. We just do whatever and whenever it needs to be done. My hubby likes a clean and neat house and it makes me feel guilty if I see him cleaning the place up. Haha, so in order not to feel guilty, I clean as much as possible. Sometimes I miss out or forget some places and then he will do it. Quite stress living with a tidy man, keep me on my toes.

Cuclainne I think you mentioned to us you were going to call 'Peanut' Sofia or Sofie or something like it? Is that right? Hee! Hee! Maybe you better start referring to her by her name otherwise when she is born you'll still be calling her peanut!
I bet she's much bigger than a peanut now.

Mrs N, her full name is going to be Sofi Rania MÃ¥rtenson (or MÃ¥rtensson, going by the husband's official records). I have started calling her by that name but Peanut seems to have stuck with the husband at the moment. He's taken to speaking to her in Swedish and she responds by kicking! Hahahaha!

She's a mighty big peanut at slightly less than a kg in weight. Hahahaha ..

Hello ladies,
Good to see that everyone is doing good. Is there someone here who's not married yet?

Mrs N, Must be good being able to drive around now
I remember when I was staying in England a while ago I felt so upset I couldn't go out anytime I wanted to and was stuck in the house all day. Oh, hows the weather like where you are now in late September? My husband's cousin is having a wedding in Yorkshire and I'm not sure if I'll freeze with a skirt.

Cuclainne, glad to hear that your baby is doing good. I don't remember hearing you mention but did your food craving change since you got pregnant? I heard some people start to crave for things they don't usually like.

de_luxe, I hope you enjoyed yourself during your honeymoon
Where abouts did you head to? We haven't plan for ours yet but prolly it'll be after we've moved to England. We did look into somewhere but it turned out to be more tiring than we would have liked.

I find it quite useful to dump all the clothes into the washing machine straight after showers so when it gets full, I just have to put in the powder and stuff.

I realised that for most couples, when it comes to allocating housework, it's most often the guy's job to take the rubbish out hehe. I get annoyed when the place gets messy and my husband isn't doing anything about it but when he does tidy things up, he does a much better job than I do which makes me feel quite messy haha

Hi Hi!

freaky~
Hey gal! Im not married but soon to be next june
If im not wrong, i think im the only one here not leh...Or is it??

cuclainne~
Wow such a beautiful name for your little princess..

But have anyone here been to a pre-marriage counselling session? Just to share that i have been to one and personally, i find it very good. In one of the topics, they actually let us discuss what housechores we like to do and what are those we could compromise with and share..basically talk about it and know what are one's expectations and work towards it..

Freaky,
Haha, ya, truly the guy's job to take the rubbish out. Our bin man comes every Thursday, and some Thursdays, my husband bumps into the next door neighbour who's also been delegated rubbish-taking-out duty by his wife

Chrisl,
I was obliged to do a marriage preparation course. I was rather skeptical initially, but it turned out to be one of the best weekends I've had to 'trash' things out with my then fiance. The beauty is, we still wanted to marry each other after it!

BTW, will probably be MIA until the 22nd now....going to the land of the in-laws. Might be able to steal their internet connection, who knows?

Cuclainne that's a real pretty name. I'm sure your little princess would be proud of it.

Freaky, the weather in September is quite variable, can be hot on some days but most of the time it's pretty cool. Also depends on where in Yorkshire (its the biggest county in England), the Yorkshire coast and probably the moors/dales would be much cooler. Obviously late sept will be cooler. Last year, it was pretty warm until mid Sept when the weather suddenly became much cooler after that. You could get away with a skirt (I've worn ordinary skirts that I've brought from S'pore in winter) but make sure you take along some stockings and a coat with you just in case, but also temps usually drop quite a bit in the night. The wedding I went to in July was hot in the day, but as the sun set it got cooler and my SIL and I were freezing by the time it got dark! We made the mistake of leaving our fleeces in the car. So in the end, we had to dance the ceilidh to warm ourselves up.

Besides, Chrisl, I think there's squeakers, comma and some others but haven't seen them around lately. Liz & Pink Candy still have their AD to look forward to.

Chrisl we also went on a pre-marital course or engaged encounter. It was so meaningful. Still have the journals, sometimes I take them out to read what we have written about each other.

Tootsieroll, my hubby usually does the bin too. But that's b'cos he usually remembers which week it is for blue bin and which is for green bin. I can never figure it out.
Hee! Hee! Its my duty to bring the bin back but I usually forget and when I finally do remember, its usually back in its place. One of the boys (husband's nephews) usually helps to put it back on their way home from school. Pretty handy when your BIL is your next door neighbour.
Are you going to your in-laws for a holiday?

Hi freaky

We went to Budapest & his parents' home in North Germany. Budapest is a beautiful city and inexpensive to boot... lots of old buildings dating from thousands of years ago. We went to one of their famous hot springs and two of their limestone caves which are a bit of the beaten track. Highly recommended esp b4 they join the EU, then everything will be much more expensive...

North Germany was so-so, bit boring cuz we are there almost every summer since 4 years... this time we borrowed a car and drove around a bit. We went to an island called Anrum which was fun and my favourite day was when we went to a theme park called Hansa Park near the North Sea. There were lots of rides for both kids and adults and most of them were pretty cool...

The HB is also the trash guy here... We have one of those common room at the corridor where the rubbish chute is. I absolutely hate going in there cuz it usually smells and the other people dun always dump their stuff properly... Still prefer the old days when the chute is usually in the cabinet under the kitchen sink...

The hubby drives me mad cuz he's messy & i'm quite neat. He refuses to fold his t-shirts and if he does fold them, it's usually more like a roll. He leaves used dishes in the sink, papers & receipts on the dining table, dirty clothes here there everywhere except the laundry basket... man.. my complaints can go on and on and on... it totally drives me nuts cuz i keep picking up after him...

He does clean up if i bug him but i would really appreciate if he just make an effort to keep the place neat on a daily basis, it doesn't really take very much.

I suppose I wouldn't really mind if I'm not working and have all the time & energy in the world but i work longer hours than him and it's really no fun working and doing chores over the weekend.... a girl's entitled to some fun!!

Hi Mrs N

We have only the studio & outdoor pics, the actual day's ones are not ready yet. His brother did a video but I dunno how to downsize and upload it onto the web for streaming... unless someone here can help...

We din need lifeboats, thank God! I miscounted the seats and ended up having too many seats. The stupid hotel obviously din have the brains to tell me earlier. By the time they told me, it was just before the solemnization and I was too nervous to think straight that I told them not to change anything. My teeth were chattering when i said my vows and my nervousness was so obvious in the video! I forgot my ring exchange verse midway through too... goodness!

Thanks Chrisl. It wasn't easy picking a name out and I was more 'on' with it then the husband but eventually we decided on this .. though the husband did mention that he wanted to add one more name - as if her name is not long enough already!!

Me and the husband went for a marriage preparation course a few weeks before ROM. We took the express course which lasted about 4 hours. It was about $400 and I found it quite educational - the counsellor spoke to us about a number of things and we were also able to voice out our opinions on things, etc.

tootsieroll, does your in-laws stay far away from you? We shall miss you if you're not able to post from there ...

Mrs N, the husband did mention that Peanut can always change her name if she hates it. I was like what?! She's not changing her name, period! He was a bit worried that people might misspell her name - was trying to get me to spell it either as Sofia or Sofie... nope, that's not for me, i said. Hahahhaha!

de_luxe, sounds like you had a great honeymoon. The places you've been to sounds lovely. I have yet to go on my honeymoon yet and if we did, we wouldn't be alone because Peanut will be with us. Hahahaha!

I understand your frustration - but I suppose that I kind of accepted the husband's habits cos I experienced it first-hand when I was in Stockholm. The day I arrived in Stockholm, I was quite impressed with the state of his apartment until he told me that his mother had helped him clean up for my arrival. I opened the fridge and there were seven cartons of milk and yoghurt, some way past their expiry date. It was disgusting! I had to clean out the fridge and buy new groceries so I can have a decent meal at home.

Your husband sounds like mine - if he gets a receipt for anything, he always passes them to me (like asking for reimbursement, is it?) and tosses his letters on the bed in the study, after reading them. I used to get quite annoyed but now I bought a box file that I can dump all his papers in. I can't do spring cleaning with his papers, as I do with mine, because they're in Swedish so I just tend to keep everything of his.

The husband is also the designated rubbish-thrower. We have a chute under the kitchen sink but we don't use that (don't want any creepy crawlies surprising us), so he throws the trash on his way to work every morning .. almost.
In Sweden, there is a common trash room where everyone throws their trash in and surprisingly, it didn't smell bad at all (maybe they know how to tie their knots?! Hahahaha!)

It's easier said than done to advise you not to stress too much over it - i've accepted my situation .. hahahaha .. resigned to my fate. So far it's worked well - I've been able to spend some time out with friends and family, and not have to think about whether my home will still be intact when I'm back from dinner, etc ... hahahah!

It's also given me the opportunity to find a new hobby - baking! Yesterday, after we've had our breakfast, I cleaned up the dishes, made the bed, managed to bake a loaf of fruit bread and a cinnamon chocolate cake before heading to my mom's place for dinner. The husband also had an enjoyable day by watching tv and playing computer games .. hahahahaha! To each their own, I suppose ...

Hi ladies!

Is there anyone here have any experience in arranging for accomodation for In-laws? Apart from chalets? Are there cheaper alternatives for maybe say 9 persons or less? I've also tried looking at some webpages of service apartments but think they're too expensive. Any idea har?

Hi ladies!
Opps..sorry i clicked on the archive thru feb 9th and found 2 links of accomodation there as suggested by Elizabeth (the spottiwodde apartment) and Priscilla on that (hostels in Sg website)..

But any idea they're good? Or any other suggestions? Thanks a million!

Chrisl, you should really try the B&B (as suggested by Elizabeth). When Elias' dad and family came in March, they stayed there and enjoyed it thoroughly. It's a lovely lady who's running the establishment - she bought both 'penthouse' apartments and refurbished it into a B&B. It's cheap (I think $60 for an ensuite), comes with breakfast (at additional $5), there is no lock-out time and guests are welcome to use the kitchen to cook. Me and Elias went there to have a look and make the booking for his dad - we must say that we were quite impressed. Impressed enough to actually recommend the place to his mom and some friends who are planning to visit. Maybe you can go and have a look around before you make up your mind.. that's what we did.

Otherwise, you might want to try this site .. http://www.hotelsonline.com.sg

Elias used this site to find hotels to stay at, during his trips here before we got married.

Hi dear gals!

Had such a fun time reading thru yr posts.
Thanks for your honesty...learning a lot too! Especially abt the distribution of household chores.

My hubby and I still living in 1-room which is quite good, so far since both of us are not working now, he does the ironing and folding of clothes, I do the cooking and he helps with the washing up. He usually does the washing and hanging of clothes too. Haa. Normally he makes the bed becos I'm too lazy to do so, but he wants the bed to look nice. So nice hor. But all this is gonna change once we move to germany - which will be 3 days time! Ahhh! help! Cos he'll start work in Sept.

Oh - he just read my post and said I shd add that he does the housework out of selfish reasons, cos he knows that when he does them, I will be happy.
heehee.

Tootsieroll Hey, I'll be going to Stuttgart, south-west germany. We will stay about 15 mins away from the city, so that's nice suburb or is that what u call it. Yeah, gonna stay quite near his pastor, cell group etc. We just shipped another 30 kg box today, which is good...one more small box to go, which we have to pack our luggage before shipping the smaller box. Most of my stuff done already, but still some miscellaneous small stuff to do before we really leave. Been quite tough, yesterday said goodbyes to my cell grp and it was a flood of tears! I'm excited for God has in store for me, but its still difficult sometimes.

Hee, anyways I wouldn't know if I'd be ready if I do get pregnant without expecting it. Haha. But got irregular period, so don't really care lah...used to get worried once my period misses, but it happens pretty often and I'm not pregnant, so that's good haha.

Chrisl Can imagine what u mean abt being more into prayer than your FH is. Do encourage him and pray for him - by yourself. Expect great things from a great God. Believe that God desires to see His children have a close, intimate relationship with Him too. I'm really glad that my hubby and I had 5-mths of discipleship training school. It has really helped both of us to know God deeper and have an encounter with God.

Yay, wanna affirm you going for the pre-marital course too! It's truly amazing right? We went for one also, 8-weeks course....long-distance. Did a teleconference call kinna thing with his pastor. I think it helps to get u spiritually and emotionally and mentally prepared for getting married.

{Cuclainne} Hey gal, can't wait to see how Sofie will look like too! I'm pretty sure u are talking to her too right? Babies can hear in the womb right, heard abt it. So can start conversing in english, malay and swedish too! heee.

Mrs N Hey! I'll be joining your time zone so soon! Can chat on msn! hee.... Found any jobs that interest u yet? I'll give myself some time to settle in before looking for a job. My sch leader advised me to give myself at least 3 months to settle in before job-hunting.

Am a newbie to this site...& would like to seek some advise from u lovely ladies out here... =)

My HTB is a German & it seems like our civil wedding would be on the 7th July next year in Germany. We intend to hold the wedding banquet back in SIN probably in the same month...the problem is that my mum says that i shouldnt be wearing my wedding gown twice...hence am not too sure how i should go about doing this...

Has anybody been there and done that??...would appreciate any advise...thanxs in advance =)

Hi Nikki

Which part of Germany is your HTB from? Tell us more! My hubby's German too, from a tiny village called Flintbek, nearest town is Kiel. And guess what my wedding was recently held on 8 Jul, just a day after ur planned big day next year!

We din have 2 weddings cuz of the hassle. Just did one here. I've never heard that the WG shouldn't be worn twice, is there a reason for it? I know frens who did whether they had 2 weddings in SIN and across the causeway or in other parts of the world. Have you already found a BS? Maybe you could explain your situation to them and if they are nice enough they might loan you an OTR WG FOC or at nominal charges for either of the days.

Hope this helps!!

Got the AD pics yesterday. Turned out really great! But haven't put them online yet... will give you gals the link when i've done so. I'm surprised at how much i was smiling cuz most of the time i felt fustrated/upset when things din go well (almost cried at 1 pt cuz i was so fustrated) or i felt impatient for things to move on... it was like "ok morning bit over, now when's the tea ceremony gonna start?, etc.." Looking at the pics also felt bittersweet cuz the person whom i dearly wanted to have at my wedding, i.e. my maternal grandmother, couldn't be there cuz she passed away last Jan... somehow can't get that tinge of sadness out of my system.

Hi cuclainne

Thanks for the advice! Yah, I must really learn not to stress! Aiyoh but difficult man!! I decided to give myself a break this evening and not iron the clothes. hahaha
I lived with my parents b4 the wedding too but since i've lived overseas b4, doing my own stuff is not exactly new too me and i also cooked and ironed for my ex-bf then too. Even tho b4 marriage, i used to stay over during wkends and so i know that he's a slob, the mess din bother me as much since i rarely do the cleaning and it's not my real home anyway. I am surprised at myself too, din know i'll be so pissed off when he puts on his don't care attitude.

I would really love to bake and cook more, took some classes b4 but just no time and energy to do so, tho i did manage to roast a chicken last Sun, was really yummy! Ummmm....

BTW, i'm quite sure the lack of rubbish room smell in Sweden (same as in Germany) is due to the climate that prevents food from rotting as fast and generally not too conducive for flies but here, the pple sometimes for some unfathomable reasons throw food on the floor!!! Really yuckky! When we were spring cleaning, we threw out some bulky stuff like bags that he got from conferences and similar stuff, we also noticed that some of them brought home some of the stuff that we threw out... gross!! And since this is staff housing, we know that they work here and can easily afford to buy whatever they picked up.

Chris1 You may want to check out Hangout Hotel at Mt Emily (http://www.hangouthotels.com/), it's a new budget backpacker place and seems pretty cool and cheap...

Pris All the best in Stuttgart! Will let you know if we are ever in that region... Hope you settle down soon and keep in touch.

Oh cuclainne forgot to mention, maybe u can still have a very belated honeymoon after Peanut's born... perhaps u could leave her in ur family's care and sneak off for a romantic long wkend in Koh Samui... i suppose that's easier said than done. But believe me, those who have done it usually say they appreciate the break from their kids cuz they get to recharge their batteries and be more patient with them...

Hi de luxe,

Thanxs for the prompt reply...i guess the reason why my mum didnt like the idea of wearing the gown twice is that she felt that that's not too aspicious a thing to do...

As for the BS, nope...am still searching for one...i juz got back SIN from Germany myself a couple of days ago hence there are still lotsa things to be sorted out! *sigh*

My HTB is from Hamburg but we are living in Koln (Cologne)... & what a pleasant coincidence with the wedding dates & with both of them being German..lol ... Wie gehts??.. Sprechen Sie Deutsch?? =)

Did you get yr WG over at Deutschland or here in SIN??...Care to share yr experiences with me a bit??...I would really appreciate it =)...

My email address's [email protected] should you like to drop me a mail there instead...

P.S: Glad yr pics turned out fine & well despite the little hip cups =)

Priscilla, cool to finally talk to you and hubby in person ... we seem to be meeting quite by accident a few times ah .. hehehehe .. have you finished packing yet?

Yes, the husband has been talking to Peanut in Swedish .. and she usually responds, which is good indeed. I think she's taking his absence quite hard - maybe because I am missing the bugger too - and have been keeping me awake the whole night. She never was this active before.

Welcome Nikki.
Are you in Germany at the moment?

de_luxe, hahahahaha i remembered how spring cleaning in stockholm was. the husband lived in a ground-floor studio apartment and he doesn't have a store room in the flat - everyone has a storage space in the basement (it looks like a dungeon to me!). anyways, one morning i woke up and looked outside the window to the courtyard - imagine seeing a bathtub in the middle of it. i asked the husband but he wasn't sure - he thought someone was re-decorating or something. then the pile of things grew and grew - skis, old computers, tables, chairs, etc. then the husband asked if i could help clear out his storage space in the basement - there were plenty of tenants clearing their stuff from there too - the husband had 4 boxes .. empty boxes to contribute to the pile. Hahahaha .. that was it. the husband certainly doesn't like to keep things. anyways, i told my sister about it and she was asking me to have a look and see what can be salvage .. i was embarrassed to do that there! the husband saw an old computer he wanted to 'mess' about with but even he was embarrassed to take it.

yes, the husband and i are considering bringing peanut on a short weekend trip to bintan in december - he did ask if i was ok with leaving peanut behind, if we need to and i am ok with it. after all, we do need some time on our own. some of his friends are coming in december and we have made plans to spend some nights out and my mom is ok with taking care of peanut.

Hi ladies!

Deluxe~
Thanks for the link! It sure looks nice and refreshing..yeah! I've more places added to my list
and wah! Can't wait to see your AD pictures!

Nikki~
Hey welcome gal!
kao_welcome.gif
Im new here too! Im planning for my wedding next June. Is your FH in SG at the moment? BTW, i'm going for my 1st MTM gown appointment in end September. Im having a gown and a cheongsam for both countries (in this case wearing it twice) but my mom's ok with that as she's rather liberal and as i did explained to her that it'll be cheaper this way too..

Cuclainne~
Yes, agree with Deluxe that it'll not be too late to go for honeymoon even after Peanut's born. So go ahead dear! Relax, spend some quality, romantic time together!

BTW, have you thought of whether you'll be opting for natural birth or others? I cringe at the thought of that ever since our lecturer showed us a childbirth video during our teacher training class! Gosh! That night, i swear i saw gross expressions on the faces of all the single girls in my class...heeehee..me included
While the rest of the other ladies who were married with kids grinned and said "Ah yah! You'll all come to that lah! After all that pain you still want to make more babies!" Which made the rest of us blush so much!

Hi Cuclainne,

Thanxs for the warm welcome =) ...

Am not in Germany right now...juz got back to Spore a couple of days ago...trying to sort out the BS and which hotel for the wedding banquet etc...a tad of a headache esp when am doing all these without HTB being around...he has to work, ya see...hence he stays behind while i flew back... *sigh* ...oh well...

Is yr kid's nickname "Peanut"??...lol ...that's hot =) ...have u been married for long??

Hi Chrisl,

My FH stays behind in Germany as he still has to work...he works for Bayer, if you have heard of them?!...We were debating to have our wedding either on 5th of June next year or 7th of July...& i guess tentatively the date's rather likely to be the latter =) ...

Is yr FH here with you while you search for all the stuff or you did it pretty much alone yrself too??..Which BS did you finally go for??..are they friendly & is the pricing very dear for MTM gowns??...sorry i hope u dont mind my many questions...*blush blush*

Hey Girls! How have you been doing? Haven't been on here for a bit. Just got back from the Netherlands this morning. It was certainly a busy week, my parents left last Monday (sob sob
kao_cry.gif
) and before we could really recover, we left for the netherlands on thursday. Went to Amsterdam for a short holiday and also to attend Liz's wedding ceremony. We had an absolutely fantastic time there and Liz was such a beautiful radiant bride. Not going to say any more as I'm sure Liz would want to tell you all about it.

Pris I sent you an MSN msg just now hope you got it, if not have a safe journey to Germany. And do let us know how you get on ok? God Bless & Take care.

Hi Nikki Welcome to you. I wore my wedding dress twice as I had my wedding in the UK and a blessing 2 months later in S'pore. I wouldn't have bothered with wearing it twice but it was my mother who insisted that I do it since my family in S'pore didn't get to see me in it. I had my dress made by a dressmaker in the UK. As I didn't have time to look around BS in Sg or UK for dresses, I just bought a dress pattern and the cloth off the internet and my MIL found a local dressmaker who charged me only £50 for sewing the whole dress. Now looking back, it was a bit of a haphazard way of doing things (very typical of me) but who cares as it turn out alright in the end.

de-luxe glad to hear you are pleased with your pictures. Looking forward to the day we can all see how pretty you looked on your wedding day soon.

Cuclainne how's our Mummy2b doing? Is your hubby away? At least Peanut's keeping you 'company' by kicking you. Maybe she's reminding you that you're not alone.

Hi Chrisl.