Any Brides whose HTB is 'Ang Mo'?

cuclainne : actually not really leh, i think if i were not so slack i should have been able to get things planned faster. But it helps to have friends who are willing to take on responsiblities too. Yeah, slightly excited but i think not as much as i would be on the AD. Somehow, the ROM feels alot less....pressurising. or maybe the reality of it all isn't really settled. hhmmm..

amoeba: you may want to ring ROM up. If i recall, the passport is enough.

Amoeba,
Yes, like cuclainne said, the ROM website is pretty informative about the documents you need to bring. My husband is British and not PR as well - I think he just turned up with his passport, and on the condition that he hasn't been in the country for more than 15 days.

tootsieroll

My husband was in the country for longer than 15 days before our ROM. Hehehehe .. but it was ok.

pinkcandy

Outdoor weddings are so nice. I'm sure you'll have a good time, whether ROM or AD. So fun!

Cuclainne,
I see....actually we didn't ROM. It was more like turning up to show our faces at the building and collect the marriage cert for the priest to sign (we got married in church). Maybe they don't really care about the 15 day rule anyway hahah, anything to marry people off ;)

Mrs N,
How far have you got with the NFP course? Is it being run by David Aldred? How do you find it so far?

Hmm, on the dual citizenship issue- my husband rang the singapore embassy 2 weeks ago and was told that for males, regardless of whether they decide to relinquish .sg citizenship or not, once we register him as a minor citizen, he'll be liable to do NS, whether or not he wants to be a formal citizen at 21. So it's either decide nearer the time (and not register with .sg), or register, and if he relinquishes his citizenship, not ever come back to .sg otherwise he will have to do NS! Basically if you have girls, they get an easier life as a dual citizen ;) I dunno if what we were told was accurate now, after reading the comments from others. Anyway, based on what the person from the embassy told us, our newborn son is going to have only a British passport, and he won't be walking in with me through the immigration point at Changi the next time we land in .sg

Ooooh what's happening today? Is it 'The Return of the prodigals' Day?
Nice to see so many people back again isn't it Cuclainne? Otherwise we might have to revert to our conversations on 'The best way to relief oneself when there is a lack of toilets'!!!!

Squeakers, your FH wants 10 boys!!!! Is he trying to raise his own baseball team? Best of luck to you.
Looks like everything's coming together. How exciting. Will you be having another celebration in the States?

Pink Candy, can start the count down to your ROM. I guess a lot of times the ROM is a much smaller scale affair. I have friends who tell me that they don't really feel 'married' until they have gone through the big white church wedding and all that jazz.
Anyway, good luck and all the best. Do come back and tell us all about it. Don't disappear, disappear huh!

Hi Amoeba, haven't seen you around in a while (catholic thread or here). Hope all your plans are going well.

Hi Tootsieroll

To answer Pink Candy's question, I think the story for the moment goes: July - Deluxe & Freaky, August - Eliz, and then November - Squeakers and December - Pink Candy. As for the rest not too sure. This thread seems to be hogged by the 'old marrieds' (Cuclainne and yours truly) for the time being. Hahahaha! Tootsieroll you want to join us?

Tootsieroll we have our final session in about 2 weeks time. Yes, it is run by David & Louise Aldred. Lovely couple. They do run these sessions with a few couples together but as we join in late, we've been getting personal sessions from David and Louise.
We started out with the home study course but didn't quite go about it in the right way, and spent the first few months going round the mulberry bush! So far the NFP course has been great. I knew more or less about the reproductive cycle from biology classes during school days but its been such a long time ago but my husband found it really useful because he never did bio before and everything was completely new to him.
The last session was on ecological breastfeeding which was pretty useful I think.

Btw, congratulations on the birth of your son.
Hmmm, maybe the S'pore population is declining so not enough boys for NS? But with squeakers intending to have 10 sons that might alleviate some of the problem!
Three cheers for squeakers!

Mrs N,
Thanks. I got the home study course and started charting months before getting married - although we decided we weren't in a situation where we had a good enough reason to avoid pregnancy. Don't think the home study course covers in as much depth for post partum though.

Hi Tootsieroll, God is great. It is indeed such a blessing that you have been blessed with the gift of a child so quickly.
I take it you got married last year? My husband and I aren't really avoiding pregnancy, and if we could, would love to have a kid soon, just that we have other hurdles to overcome first. Oh well, its God's will and our lives are in His hands.

No the home study doesn't really cover much on post partum. David and Louise spent one whole session on it and added in some of their own experiences too. In that sense, it gives a bit more depth than just reading it from the book alone.

Which part of uk are you in?

Squeakers,
haha!!! My husband is one of 8 - I have new found respect for my MIL as caring for this one baby is the hardest thing I've ever done!

Mrs N,
Well, a blessing at times, and others feels like a trial
The child is a milk guzzling, pee spewing and poo producing machine gone berserk! We married June 2005 and live in Brentwood.

hahaha! no i won't be dissapearing - anytime soon at least. i'm on leave for a week before, and a week plus after my ROM. More of a break from work with the ROM as an excuse :P

hey, how do i bold words like names on this forum? i don't see any user menu.

Hi Pink Candy, click 'Help' at the bottom of the page and then 'Formatting'. Instructions are all on there.

Hi Tootsieroll, is Brentwood near Essex? Oh well, that's part of life.
I'm sure if you had to live your life over again, you would still choose to have your son inspite of the milk guzzling, pee and poo business.
How old is he btw? Still at the stage where you have sleepless nights?

Squeakers
You are so funny!

Mrs N,
Good morning. Brentwood is in Essex. Some nights are better than others, last night was not nice - the 4 week old decided he'd play 'I'll feed but not quite enough so you have to get up all night long'
yawn.gif

I hope you and your husband get through whatever hurdles you were mentioning that were in the way of having a child. You may share if you like, via pm, if ever you need someone to listen

Hello ladies!
How is everyone doing? Seems like this thread is becoming a make babies thread haha. My FH's brother was telling his wife that he wants 12 kids! It's just crazy spending 108 months of your life being pregnant.

Hi Tootsieroll, thanks! We are trying to overcome vaginismus at the moment. And with God's grace we believe it can be done.

Freaky, how's our busy fairy doing?

Sorry, being really thick here but what is 'Cheaper by the dozen'? Is it a film?

Mrs N,
I'm sorry about that - are you seeking help for it or is it something you and your husband have decided to support each other through?

Cheaper by the Dozen is a film starring Steve Martin. It's a comedy about a couple with 12 kids.

Hi tootsieroll, no need to be sorry, such is life.
We are following a step by step program at the moment. Yup another home study course this time recommended by some ladies on this forum. There is also a special forum dedicated specially to lend support and advice for people doing the program and some of the ladies testimonies were really very beautiful and touching. Compared to some others, I am indeed blessed. At least I have a lovely and supportive husband something I should be thankful for.

Aha a comedy with Steve Martin. Sounds like a good laugh.

Hi tootsieroll,
haha I've only seen the poster of the film. My grandma had 11 kids. I can't remember what her age was when she had her last.

Mrs N, good to see you looking at life in a positive way

Work for me is slowing down a bit now and I've actually tendered last week hehe. Decided to take a long break first plus my mum's not doing too well so I'm going to look after her for now. Full time nurse hehe. Not sure if I should postpone the wedding or just go ahead at the moment.

Hi Freaky, sorry to hear about your mum but at least now you will get to spend time with her and with you around, I'm sure that will make her feel a whole lot better. Will remember her in our prayers. Take care of her and you take care of yourself too.
What illness does your mum have?

Hi Mrs N, my mum has been having cancer for nearly 4 years now. Her doctor didn't think she could manage this long actually so we're very fortunate
Some days she's doing well but others she's so exhausted. Anyway, everyone at home is keeping the mood light. Hopefully she can hang on for a while longer

She may surprise you yet. The human will to live is an amazing thing. And your wedding may give her the meaning and will she needs. Most cancer patients draw their strength from their family, well at least my aunt did.
So its important to keep up a positive feeling, though God alone knows how extremely difficult it can be sometimes.

Feel free to vent your thoughts and feelings on here. Pris went through this too if you read her earlier posts. And you can be sure to count on the ladies of this thread for support whenever you need it.

Thank you for your support
I had a quick peek at the earlier posts and read about Pris' mum. It was very touching reading about it. I had an aunt (my mum's sister) who had recently passed away of cancer as well. I'm just hoping that my mum doesn't have to suffer all the pain. Fortunately, she's not actually in pain at the moment although she has been complaining of bloaty and tight tummy. A couple of days ago, she looked so so tired and couldn't sit or lie still. Her nurse doubled her morphine intake and she seems better now. Last night, she was even doing some silly dance joined by me, my sis and FH! Hopefully she could stay like this for a while more.

Seven and a half more weeks to go!

Freaky,
Yes, pain is one of the biggest concerns for the cancer patient (and for carers, seeing them in that state). There is very good palliative care available in singapore though, and hopefully that will help her. Where is the site of the cancer?

Mrs N,
It's good that your husband is so supportive in this. Indeed there is more to a relationship than the physical aspect, and it sounds like you're up there in your spiritual life

Hi Freaky, there's bound to be up days and down days. Hopefully she will have more up than down.
Wow, seven and half weeks more before you become a 'married fairy'.

Ha! Ha! Tootsieroll, it can be hard keeping your spiritual life afloat in this country especially when church here is 'ahem' a bit more on the 'quiet' side than back home.
Hope you had more sleep last night than the one before.

Hi tootsieroll, it started off in the colon but has spreaded to the liver and lungs when it was found. Anyway, I'm leaving everything to faith

Mrs N, haha it's really weird thinking that I'll be married in less than 8 weeks! It's such a grown up thing to do but I don't feel grown up at all haha.

Hihi gals!

How r u all? Been away 4 so long don't know where to catch up... but yeah! It seems so God-sent that I had an urge to check out the thread today and read about Mrs N and Freaky mentioning something about my Mom.

Freaky: My Mom had cancer for about 3 years in total.... It was from stage 2 stomach to stage 4 bone cancer. Can understand that it's really tough for u at this point, especially when u are planning to get married.... R u considering postponing yr wedding? That was one of my concerns too, but I realized that its every Mother's dream to be present for their daughter's wedding, so that was one of the reasons why i kept my wedding date and also becos I felt that God was telling me to keep it then. Anyways, do feel free to share anything about yr Mom and all. Will definitely want to be informed abt yr situation, wld know how to pray with u too.

Mrs N: Hihi! You are one of the most consistent ppl on this thread! So many ppl have disappeared already! Heehee. Anyways, yeah, want to echo Tootsieroll, that I also think that u are doing a really fantastic job in keeping yr spiritual walk with God. Understand what u mean abt the state of the church in UK but yeah, can take it that u are sorta like a missionary in this country.... Also, u do have a strong church support network right? Even if its a small church, but if its really Christ-centered, God can work too. Learnt today that it's not about the numbers, but God can work through any 'small' number of ppl who are obedient to Him.

Thanks for sharing about yr struggles with yr husband. Somehow, I'm really comforted to know that I'm not the only person struggling in my 'physical' life too. 2 weeks ago, I had to stop my contraceptive pill, cos I was developing migraines and vommitting all the time. Plus, even after I stopped, I still had an 'infection' which the doctor thinks is probably attributed to the pill. Now, I'm still waiting for the 'infection' to clear and if it still doesn't, I'd have to go for a blood test. Talk about a 'small pill' ruining yr life.... but yeah, its been ´pretty frustrating for a while.... I saw like 4 doctors 2 weeks!

Yeah, anyways hee... still owe u an email... will write one soon. heehee

Priscilla,
The frustration must be immense. Had you been on the pill for long before all those side effects started? Which particular pill are you on? I have some friends who didn't take to the pills they were given as well. Dunno if you've heard of natural family planning? It takes some figuring out, but it's pill-free.

Freaky don't think I feel any more grown up after marriage.
Keep the faith alive.

Pris, great to see you back! You're always cheery like a breath of fresh air. Don't think the others have totally disappeared lah, they do pop up from time to time. Funny that you should mentioned being a sort of missionary because that was my exact sentiment when I first came here. Long story how I ended up in Sheffield. I did a testimony about 'my journey to sheffield' at a healing mass few years ago.
I used to have quite strong church support when I lived in Sheffield and my husband belongs to a community called the Maltfriscans. But I don't live in Sheffield now so my husband and I tend to support each other instead. You know as the saying goes 'where two or three are gathered in my name, there I will be'. And at least we still do have prayer support from S'pore. My mum says the prayer group in our parish church still remembers us in their prayers.

Must be hard on you having this reaction to the pill. Yeah, I second tootsieroll, why don't you try NFP? You can find out more about it on this website: http://www.catholic.org.sg/nfp/

Hi Freaky I'm sorry to hear abt ur mom. Hope things will go well. It's a bit of a short notice to postpone ur wedding isn't it?

We did our photoshoot with Edmund on Monday. It was fun but tiring! We've already seen the photos, not too bad but of cuz some were a laugh.

Hi Pris, good to see u ard. Perhaps you could ask your doc for other types of the Pill, it could be that the type/amt of hormones in the one u took that played havoc with you. Or maybe consider other forms of contraceptives.

Does anybody know where to find nice ang bow boxes at reasonable prices? Saw some today but they cost like $69 each!!

Hello ladies,

Thank you all for your support. I'm feeling much stronger now. My aunt was suggesting that we go through the chinese customary wedding first so at least mum is there. So the date has been set to this Sunday! I've been running around like mad during the weekend trying to find something to wear and something mum could give me during the tea ceremony. Not too sure what is involve in a chinese customary wedding. Some of my cousins are really helpful and volunteered to prepare some of the stuff for us and one even got me a set of teapot!

Priscilla, it must have been quite hard to go through the wedding day. I've been thinking the same thing as you too and I don't think my mum would like to see my wedding being postponed. My mum has cancer for nearly 4 years now. It has been stage 4 colon cancer when it was discovered and after the emergency operation, they found that it has been spread to the liver and a bit of the lungs. She has been doing very well for the past years and even took up drawing and flower arrangement. I've learnt to be strong seeing her face life in such possitive manner.

I can't offer much help on the pill side of things but I do hope both you and Mrs N get better soon. I do think that all the problem in life is a test. Life will be much better if you are able to see and live through it. I'm a free thinker but I believe someone up there will help you along.

de_luxe, I'm not sure about where to get nice ang bao boxes at a reasonable price but my florist was suggesting a big glass flower vase instead of a box and sprinkle some flower petals around it on the table. You could even put an empty ang bao in the vase first so people know what it's for.

Freaky,
Hope everything goes well for the chinese customary!

That's actually a good idea - using a glass vase for angpaos....can be quite pretty too

Hi Freaky i think bringing forward the chinese customary is a lovely idea. Glad to see that you're taking things in your stride and remember that your 'cyberfriends' are here for you any time. (((Hugs))).

Hi de_luxe how are you? Not too sure where to get ang pow boxes??? I was under the impression that most were homemade! We didn't have any as one of my aunties took charge of safe-keeping them in a very black opaque handbag. Ha! Ha! I've since come to the conclusion that bridal dresses should come with HUGE pockets. But what freaky suggested about the vase sounds good.

Tootsieroll, hello how did your weekend go? Was it nice weather down south? It was pretty crappy over here. Very rarely do we have lightning so it was kind of a treat ... at least for my husband. Told him that that's nothing compared to those 'clashing and flashing' thunderstorms which we have back home. Kept hoping he'll get to experience one of those moments whenever we're in S'pore but it never happens.
Somebody must be praying for good weather!

Hihi gals!

So nice to read yr responses! Yeah, I went for the blood test today and I´m normal! - aka no diabetics or high cholesterol. Previous doc scared me that my infection might be caused by diabetics... Ãnfection´still not cleared yet, but doc says no trace of bacteria.... had to do another test in which they will do a more thorough test of the ´whatever stuff that is down there´ Results only out on saturday... so yeah. My little pill story goes on... hahah n a bit of sobsob.

Mrs N. Thanks for your compliment - a breath of fresh air. Heehee. I love coming on this thread...its like a united online community. Yeah, can imagine its tough building a Christian community where u are living now. I believe that God has other Christians where u are staying... Pray that there will be divine opportunities that u and husband would be able to meet them too! I think you're like the moderator of this thread!

Freaky: Hey, hang in there with your Mom and your wedding preparations. It will take a lot of you and yr future husband to go through this period. However, really do enjoy the entire process, cos it won't come again... the wedding preparation process I mean.

De_luxe You can try making your own ang bao boxes? very easy one... just use empty box and wrap it up... heehee... I did that, cost me close to nothing....

Tootsieroll, Mrs N - Yeah, I´ve heard of natural family planning, however cos i have irregular period,

Hihi gals!

So nice to read yr responses! Yeah, I went for the blood test today and I´m normal! - aka no diabetics or high cholesterol. Previous doc scared me that my infection might be caused by diabetics... Ãnfection´still not cleared yet, but doc says no trace of bacteria.... had to do another test in which they will do a more thorough test of the ´whatever stuff that is down there´ Results only out on saturday... so yeah. My little pill story goes on... hahah n a bit of sobsob.

Mrs N. Thanks for your compliment - a breath of fresh air. Heehee. I love coming on this thread...its like a united online community. Yeah, can imagine its tough building a Christian community where u are living now. I believe that God has other Christians where u are staying... Pray that there will be divine opportunities that u and husband would be able to meet them too! I think you're like the moderator of this thread!

Freaky: Hey, hang in there with your Mom and your wedding preparations. It will take a lot of you and yr future husband to go through this period. However, really do enjoy the entire process, cos it won't come again... the wedding preparation process I mean.

De_luxe You can try making your own ang bao boxes? very easy one... just use empty box and wrap it up... heehee... I did that, cost me close to nothing....

Tootsieroll, Mrs N - Yeah, I´ve heard of natural family planning, however cos i have irregular period, think it might be abit unsafe.

Mrs N,
The weather is mad. I see it being sunny and bring the laundry out to dry. 5 minutes later, and it's pouring with rain, so I bring the clothes in, and it turns sunny again. Mad I tell you, barking!
Do you get to go back to .sg often?

Pris,
Doctors tend to confuse people too, each one says different things from the other. When I was pregnant, my GP ordered me to go into hospital because my blood pressure was high (she called the hospital to ask first). When I reached the hospital, the doctors there said they didn't know why I came in for because my blood pressure was OK to them. Sometimes all the exasperation and stress makes you feel worse eh?

hello i am back! hahahahaha the ceremony actually went well!!!! PHEW! I don't know what to say but it was good. everything went according to plan except for the food which arrived slightly late. but they managed to set up in time.

i didn't expect to see that many teary-eyed people around so that was rather heart warming. Especially my sister.

De_luxe i got my angpao box and favours from my photographer, you can try giving him a ring at 9843 9761. His name is Edmund. The box was about 30 to 40+, and the favours i got were 2 each. but he does have cheaper ones.

Pris I've the same problem as you do. I also recently stopped the pill, but my "signs" weren't like yours. I was physically ok, only mentally abit gone. very short tempered, abit paranoid. Also started to have a lower sex drive, which doesn't that defeat ther purpose of a the pill?

Alamak Pris where I got moderate this thread!
No lah, its everybody's contribution that makes it a very nice online community.

There is a part of NFP which covers irregular cycles, remember it being mentioned by our teaching couple. If one went through the course and work under the guidance of a teaching couple it should be ok. Admittedly it takes a while to get the feel for the method. And of course its not 100% fullproof but the same goes for all contraceptives anyway. I'm afraid I'm not much of a 'pill' popper even when I have a cold. Always try to avoid taking pills or medicine! Think I have a bad case of stubborness.

Have you considered that perhaps what's happening to you now could be God's way of telling you that rather than the pill, He would like to have some control in this aspect of your life? While it is true, that the probablity of pregnancy is higher when you have i/c during the 'fertile' time but it is not 100% guaranteed that it will happen. So at the end of the day, I guess it really depends on God's will and its up to him to determine the 'right' time for us. What contraceptive to use is a personal decision and like all decisions in life, it might be a good idea to pray about it and ask God what path he wants you to take? Will keep you in thought and prayers. Hope you get well soon too.

Tootsieroll, yes the weather is a bit crazy lately. I have to keep checking the weather forecast to decided when to do the washing! But unfortunately, the weather forecast isn't always right!

I go back at least once a year but not this year though as my parents are coming up instead this summer. What about you?

Pink Candy, congrats for surviving the ROM!
Glad to hear that the day went well and that you're now officially a 'MRS'. Never mind if the food was late, I'm sure it was worth the wait. Now you can 'goyang kaki' for a bit before going full swing into preps for your AD?

Ang pow box problem solved!
Thanks for the suggestions. FH got his parents to make it since they are so free and his dad is a pretty good craftsman. Mrs N U r right that most r home made, but i'm lousy at handicrafts so buying was my lazy way out until i found out how ex these stuff are.

Freaky hope ur customary goes well this Sunday. Dun really know what's involved other than the tea ceremony, unless u r also doing Guo Da Li at the same time which will then have the dowry, dragon & phoenix candles, etc..

I'm contemplating having a real wedding cake cuz the 2 choices offered by the hotel look way too grand n ballrm like for a poolside setting. BUT BUT BUT my dear FH says no, we have to make do. HMPH! I'm trying to figure out how to con him into saying ok. :p

Hi Priscilla, so glad you hear the tests went well so far. Do let us know how the results go!

I nearly went nuts as I kept getting unexpected comments on what we're planning to do and 'suggestions' which feels like emotional blackmailing to me. But I've decided to do it my way how I'm comfortable with and it means no gown! If the rest of the people wants me to wear one, they can go wear one themselves.

Mrs N, Tootsieroll, ah the good old English weather. I haven't been travelling that way for a long while now I almost forget what the weather is like over there hehe

de_luxe, that's very nice to have your FPIL to make the ang pow box! It'll make the wedding more memorable. My FMIL is baking some cookies as favours for us and she even sent some over for me to try first hehe.
I'm going to skip the Guo Da Li and my mum said there's no need for it. She did request for the dowry as a nice gesture to do and my cousin bought us the candles and double happiness stickers (eek).
So do you like the wedding cake offered by the hotel? Are they not able to make it look less grand and fit into the poolside setting more?

hi freaky

think the hotel's cakes look fine, just way too grand that's all. Both are 5-tier dummies n i'm told that the decor is fixed so can't change.

Hi Freaky, you're not missing much in terms of weather at the moment.
Just being kaypoh did you meet your FH in the uk?

de_luxe it's great that your FPILs have taken over the ang pow box project. Can be a nice family heirloom.

Wow a 5 -tier cake! That's huge. Hee! Hee! If it were me, I'll be feeling so 'katek' beside it.

Hi hi ladies ... sorry I haven't been in as often. Had severe stomach flu over the weekend and confined to bed rest but slowly feeling better now. Baby is fine (thank goodness!).

What have I been missing?

Hi de_luxe, wow a 5-tier cake does look grand by the pool. But I guess since it's a hotel poolside, it shouldn't look too bad with the hotel building as the backdrop

Mrs N, haha actually I 'met' my FH in an online designer forum where everyone was messing about with avators killing each other. He later came to SG for a holiday and we got on well so I went over to England for a 2 year working holiday.

cuclainne, Glad the baby is fine there. I hope you get better soon.

Yah, the cakes are grand. See pics below. If i really have to choose either, i think the white roses one is less grand. The "backdrop" for the poolside is the marina bay harbour and part of the city skyline. Hotel is on the side so can't be seen. The table decor is also not grand, we're using chillies wrapped ard candles and spices scattered on the table, etc.. quite a causal, tropical look.

I think i wouldn't go for a completely real 3-tier - too ex, the quotes i got all cost at least $600. M considering a combi of dummy & real, 2 bottom dummy tiers n a real top tier which will cost abt $240. Wonder if i'm being impractical n wasteful here....

de_luxe

The cakes are soooo grand. You are right about the prices though ... even a single layer cake is quite expensive. Just put the word 'wedding' in front of it and they'll charge exorbitant amounts for it.

Hi de_luxe,
I like the sound of the chilli and spice deco! Spicy! hehe My personal thought is that although the second cake is too grand compared to the white roses ones, it'll go well with what your table deco in terms of colour.

$600 is a lot for a real cake! How many people will be going for your wedding? I have trouble finding somewhere to make my cake. The nicer ones are too expensive and the more affordable ones are not very nice. In the end, we decided to get cupcakes and managed to find somewhere that does 100 cupcakes for less than $300.