Any Brides whose HTB is 'Ang Mo'?

Hi Cuclainne, actually I was quite reluctant to drive as I've not driven long distance for a long time. But surprised myself (& the hubby) that I had enough stamina to do 3 hours straight on the way up. Hee! Hee! That's probably why it took longer to get there than to come back because I tend to drive slower than everybody else! On the way back, I only did a short stint, slept in the car most of the time. Poor hubby.

This a panoramic view of Edinburgh taken from the top of Arthur's seat.
your_image.gif

oops! Sorry photo too big.
Anyway, they are on here. Most of them are taken from the top of Arthur's seat. Compared to some hills, it isn't that high but after a 5 hr journey it was kind of a crazy thing to do.

Hey Mrs N! I took a lot at yr wedding photos in Singapore and realized something!! Your wedding date is the same as my birthday... heehee.... Anyways, didnt have time to see all of them, but it sure looked very fun with the jazz band and all.... heehee.....

HI everyone!

I'm back from the wedding cake thread.. I've gotten replaced as the resident expert with a local expert. Which is good since I can't say how the ingredients work with Singapore weather since I've never baked in it! lol

I have a rather blur question.. when you change into your evening gown, do you go by yourself or does your hubby or jie mei come with you?

I don't need help to change into my evening gown so I can' think why I need anyone to go with me.. other than to have a few seconds alone with hubby during the dinner... Can anyone tell me? This is when I wish I've been to at least ONE Chinese wedding...

Mrs N

How far away is Edinburgh from your place? We drove 8 hours north of Stockholm before - on the way there, the hubby's friend drove all the way (it was his dad's car). He's such a safe driver that the hubby was getting impatient. On the way back, it took slightly longer because we stopped several times along the way for my 'sight-seeing' so he had no choice but to let the hubby drove the last two hours while he catch up on sleep. Of course the hubby burnt rubber but as soon as his friend woke up, the hubby started to slow down. Hahaha.

I must admit that though I don't have a driver's licence, I like the thrill of speed. During the drive to Gothenburg (this time we rented the car for a romantic getaway), I goaded the hubby into speeding on the expressway - both ways. On the way there, just 30mins outside of Stockholm - we were nearly pulled over by the traffic police. The hubby was so sure that he will lose his licence but the police was after another car. On the way back, we raced with another car but after 20 mins we gave up because our rented car would go kaput on the expressway if we had kept it up. Oh well.

Sandra

I'm not sure what is the norm for Chinese weddings but for my event, my MUA helped me with the change in costumes. For my dinner, my maid of honor came to my house and helped me into my dress (I wouldn't be able to zip it on my own, wasn't about to ask my brother-in-law to help in that).

Hi Cuclainne, its about 420km. Ha! Ha! Maybe its good that you don't have a driver's license, you sound like you'll be a 'scary' driver.
There were quite a few speed cameras along the way but they don't seem to deter people from speeding. My hubby gave me a bit of a fright at one time when he thought I was 'speeding' past a camera. I was at the correct speed but he thought it was supposed to be 10mph less and told me to slow down. Ha! Ha! Don't think the people behind me were too pleased when I did that.

Squeakers nice to see you back. Hope you had a good easter. To answer your question, both my bm and hubby came along with me. Not that my dress was that difficult to put on.
Bm just came to help me pack the dress and hubby came because he had to make an entrance with me. I was just glad for their company.

Priscilla, hi how is school? Hope you had a lovely easter. Hee! Hee! Actually my real wedding was in October but hey, what do you know, one more special occasion to associate with my wedding blessing in S'pore.

Mrs N

Well, the hubby did mentioned that if you didn't speed at certain points of the drive, people will curse and swear at you. Hahahaha!

Cuclainne,

I really like your pics! They capture everything so nicely.. and you and your hubby look so happy!

I hope my AD photographer does as good of a job. I really don't want stiff, posed pics!

Hi ladies. Finally back after the long weekend. My morning sickness seems to be a thing of the past (so glad!) and have been eating with a vengeance over the weekend.

Hope everyone had a good Labour Day weekend!

Hi cuclainne,

Nice picture you have there. Like what Mrs N said, you both looked like you were having a relaxing time
Glad to hear that the morning sickness is gone now.

One of my FH's friend just had a baby. The baby is supposed to be due on Easter but they induce the birth last monday I think but the baby didn't come out till 2 days later!

Hi Cuclainne glad to know that you've had a laborious weekend of 'makaning'. I'm sure the little one in you would have enjoyed all that delicious food too.

Freaky, you're back.
How are you? Hope you've not been burying yourself in piles of work.

freaky

I hope I won't have to be in labour for a long time. My mom was in labour for about 13 hours - she said i was a difficult child, didn't want to come out from her. Hahahaha!

I've been watching some documentaries on giving birth lately and it quite scares me a little but I'm prepared - can't wait to see the little one.

Mrs N

I think we really stuffed ourselves good over the weekend. The hubby has been eating take-away since I got pregnant (and lazy to cook!) - occasionally my mom takes pity on us and comes over to cook for us. So the weekend was a nice thing to do - we went out to eat, watch movies .. basically just take things easy.

Hi Girls, how's is everybody? Been a bit quiet lately haven't you?

Had quite a busy week last week, helping my SIL nurse a sick rabbit. And last Tuesday, I had a day out in London. Wandered round on my own while my hubby was at a meeting. Haven't been to London in ages so quite an exciting experience to be in a huge city after being couped up in a village all this while. Gosh, don't I sound like a country bumpkin? Ha! Ha!

Cuclainne, so lucky huh your mum come and cook for you. Guess there's nothing like mum's cooking. Anyway, its good that you'll take things easy.
I have to cook most days, but don't really mind. My hubby says I treat the kitchen like a chemistry lab as almost every meal is an experiment. We never know what its going to taste like as I'm not one to follow receipes.

Mrs N

How was the weather in London? I remember it being quite wet and gloomy when I was there - it didn't help that it was cold and I wasn't really dressed for walking by the river. Hahahah! It was 6 hours before I could find a toilet .. it was a very painful ordeal!

I used to cook almost every night but since the pregnancy, I've not had the mood to do much. It's only over last weekend that I finally cleaned the living room (after weeks of hubby's rantings-on) - yes we could finally see the table top. I suppose I should start on every room in turn before the baby arrives ..

Hi Cuclainne

The weather in London was surprisingly good. When we left home, we brought 2 jackets with us but when we arrived in London we left the second one (waterproof) in the car. Luckily the sun was shinning and smiling on us.

Which time of the year did you go? Sounds like during winter. Waiting 6 hours for the toilet is indeed a painful ordeal! It was already bad enough waiting more than 1 hour to go. We were on the last leg of the M1 before going onto the M25 round london when we passed a motorway service station and my hubby said we'll stop at the next one. Little did we realise that that was the last one before we went onto the M25. We didn't pass any more services after that. And there wasn't any on the smaller roads. To make matters worse, they had road works on the way to Moreton and we had to go round Moreton at least three times before we found a carpark. When we found a carpark, my hubby found that he didn't have any change so he had to rush off to Sainburys to get something leaving me hopping round the carpark like a mad thing.
We finally found a toilet in the townhall thanks to the security guard at Sainbury's. Gosh. After that, I didn't dare drink anything. Btw, I discovered that you can find nice toilets in art galleries and museums. So if you're ever in London again go and look for a museum or gallery.
The public ones on the road don't look too inviting.

Hey why are you doing all the housework? Shouldn't the hubby be the one lifting things around?
Yeah, I find it a challenge to cook here sometimes. The vegetables are not quite the same as back home and some we can't really get. So have to improvise and hope for the best. Ha! Ha!

Mrs N

Nope, I went in early May. We (the husband and I) were meeting a friend of mine, who had arrived on a train from Kent to show us around. We had an early lunch (around 11am-ish) at a Chinese restaurant and both guys went to the toilet before leaving (so clever!). When it was my turn, someone was using the toilet for ages so I decided that I could hold it - little knowing that after going to Big Ben, Westminster Abbey, Cleopatra's Needle and Buckingham Palace, etc that the next time I would come across a decent toilet was when we finally went for dinner at about 7pm. Argh! The last 30 mins was really bad - I was cold and I thought I was going to pee right there and then on the street. Hahahaha.

It didn't help that the husband didn't want to bring me into the restaurant I wanted to have dinner at (I also desperately needed the toilet by now). Apparently he and the ex had previously gone to London for a vacation and had dinner at the same restaurant - shortly upon their return, the relationship ended so he said that place was really jinxed. I just said that was silly and insisted he took me there - it's not fair that I don't get to go to places just because he's brought her there before, right? Anyways we settled down to dinner and eventually agreed that it was a good choice to have gone there. Afterwards we just wandered the streets and into some adult stores (hehehe!) but that's a story for another day.

Hahahahah - talking about town halls, I went on a guided tour of the town hall in Belfast (we flew there from London to spend a few days with my friends who live there) on the last day of our visit there. Just as the guide finished explaining to us about how the council works, everyone was getting up to pose for pictures and stuff - and I tripped, bags and all!! I was so embarrassed!!! I spent the rest of the tour lingering at the back of the pack - Hahahah! Anyways it was a lucky thing that it was my last day there and I find comfort in the fact that I won't see any of the people in the group again!!

It wasn't a lot of work - just tidying all the mails we got and putting away magazines, remote controls, etc. The husband still has to clean the tables, sweep and mop the floor. I have been walking (and shopping) a lot lately - I think I'm overdoing it a little.

hey sorry to barge in here like this but can anyone help me with this: i'm singaporean, and my husband is canadian. if we have a baby here, does it have to be a singaporean citizen? and if it happens to be a boy, must he definitely positively absolutely have to serve NS? cos we don't intend to make this our permanent home.

again, sorry for gatecrashing, and thanks in advance

Hey Pink Bunny, are you and Mr Pink Bunny trying for one already??

If child is born here, then he/she is a Singapore citizen. However they allow dual citizenship (in your case, can apply for Canadian citizenship for child) until child is 18 years and decide which citizenship to retain. If it's a boy and decide to remain Singaporean, then NS is compulsory. However if you are moving back to Montreal soon, I don't think that they can make your child attend NS lor.

Gatecrashing? You were here before what!

haha the prodigal bunny returns eh?

hmm. i heard something about the kid has 11 years to remain here and if he stays more than that, then he's got to come back for NS.

is your hubby applying for PR?

Pink Bunny

Yes, he will be... eventually! Hahahah! It took him this long to apply for a Singapore credit card. I think it'll take him a little bit more time to apply for PR. What about your husband?

Pink Bunny

Printed both types of application - 1. as spouse of singaporean citizen and 2. on work merit. Aiyoh .. same story here. I have left it on the dining table for him to complete but it's kinda obvious that it has not been touched so I ended up scooping it up with the other documents and it's lying in a file somewhere.

How's his work? Ah Boy is losing his hair - slowly and surely. Hahahahah! Yesterday he was in a meeting with Standard Chartered the whole day and afterwards there was a phone conference with the office in France .. aiyoh, finally managed to have my dinner at 9.30pm. Me and baby hungry by then liao!

i think the 'spouse of singaporean' one is only applicable for wives/kids. not husbands. sexist!!!

my husband's changing jobs! yay! no more finishing at 9pm 4 times a week! now he will have weekends off! and oh, on may 30 we go for hornymoon! :D one week in hanoi

things are looking rather good for us. i'm glad. finally.

Pink Bunny

Yeah that's true but I heard that they've changed it and it's now applicable for spouses of Singaporean women. You can check with them.

He is? That is good news. Now you can look forward to spending more time together yah.

You are heading to Hanoi for honeymoon - what happened to Prague?

prague is on hold for now. we'll conquer asia while we're here, and attack europe from canada. cheaper!

oh cool about the 'we'll think about it' sponsorship!

Hi Pink Bunny welcome back.
kao_welcome2.gif

Do we now hold a party for the prodigal bunny?

To answer your question. My cousin also married a canadian. She has two sons, one was born in canada and the other in S'pore. The younger one holds dual citizenship at the moment. She went back to Canada about 5 years ago. Before she left, she asked lawyers about her youngest S'pore citizenship and they said that he could keep it until he was 21 where he then had to make a decision whether to retain it or not. If he decides to keep his S'pore citizenship, he has to come back and serve NS even though he lives in Canada. Basically, the choice is up to him, to keep or relinquish.

Hey Cuclainne at least you didn't hurt yourself, still can enjoy your tour. Well done you for holding your bladder for so long. That was some experience. Bet you heaved a sigh of great relief after the 'ordeal'.

Mrs N

Hahahahaa .. never again. Even when we drove to Gothenburg, I make the husband stop at a gas station every 1.5/ 2 hours. Sometimes I tell myself that it's ok - I can last until the next gas station and then it seems like forever until we come to the next one.

Yah! Cuclainne at least being on the motorway is better than being in the middle of nowhere! Someone once suggested to me to take an empty bottle???? For men its easy but us girls how ah?

Pink Bunny, agree with you cross the bridge when you come to it. But don't see it as a big problem. Just register the kids for dual and it gives you/them the choice to live either here or in Canada. When the time comes, its ultimately up to them to decide which country to call home. I guess they'll most probably choose the one where they spent most of their growing years in. However, needless to say, my godson is pretty proud of his S'pore citizenship at the moment, even though he left S'pore when he was 4 and now lives in Canada. But I suspect when he reaches 21 (which is a long while yet) he'll probably choose to remain Canadian.

mrs n: plastic bag! hehe

i guess we want our kids to grow up in canada. not say SG is bad but when i compare the childhood that my husband had, and i see the kids today going for tuition, ballet, piano, enrichment class, i can't help but feel scared. i don't want my kids to end up like that.

Pink Bunny

You must remember to share with us the good news once that happens yah ..

Mrs N

Hahahhaha - in Sweden, they don't even bat an eyelid. I was a bit apprehensive about the lack of toilet issue when we went up the mountain on snow mobiles. The guys were going off behind trees but I didn't want to do it like that. I keep asking them when are we getting to the rest stop.

My MIL told me that I should join them on one of their nature walks when I go up there - told me it could last about 3 hours. So I asked how they deal with the toilet situation. She just shrugged and said, rather nonchalantly, that ladies on the left, guys on the right .. or something to that effect.

* wonders how Elizabeth, Priscilla and de_luxe are getting on

Hey Pink Bunny, plastic bag is a good idea, just have to make sure that it doesn't have a lobang. Nowadays, supermarket plastic bags all have hole one. Don't know why.

Yeah, a child's life in S'pore is a scary one. When I see how my BIL's children seem to enjoy life. No doubt they are in school from 8.30 am to 3.00 pm. But when they come home, they spent just an hour or so on homework and then its play time. Its quite nice to see them playing freely in the garden (they live next door to us). I asked my BIL's wife about exams and all that and she said the only exam they have is when they sit their GCSEs ('O' level equivalent) when they are 16 years old and 'A' levels at 18. While children in S'pore? Even kindergarten already got test! So stressed.

Cuclainne, I also have that experience. We went to the lake district and there was no toilet! Hubby went behind some bushes, I refuse to do the same. Small windy roads don't help. About an hour later, we past our campsite and I made him stop so I could go to the toilet there. Aiyoh, could barely tahan. I've since learnt that drinking too much coffee doesn't help.

Haven't seen these girls around for a while. They must be really beeeeeeesie.

hey you girls will be among the first to know!

ya lor you said it yourself, mrs n. they start school at 8.30. here we have to wake up at 6.30 to reach school at 7.30. it's really crazy la. i've seen parents send their pre-schoolers for tuition to prepare them. prepare them for what?!! they're 4 years old! too much la. i want them to enjoy camping trips like their father did.

Good luck trying. The hubby & I haven't put in much effort, not so on like Cuclainne and hubby.
Thought we wait until we completed the NFP course first.

Hee! Hee! Yah, the great outdoors. Not much of that in S'pore. But on the other hand, don't think I like the logic of disciplining children in Britain. I'm all for curbing child abuse but prosecuting parents for spanking naughty kids on their bottoms??? A bit too much really! By law children cannot be spank no matter how naughty they are so now there's a growing bunch of teenagers who think its alright to terrorized the older folk!!! What is the world coming to?

Thanks for asking abt our well-being. Yah, u r right, extremely busy & stressed out
I've been following ur posts tho, just no time & energy to write anything.

Wedding is like less than 2 months away & there's a ton of stuff to be done. FH is not much help either. *sigh* I just wish I can get over & done with everything ASAP. We're going to Budapest instead of London for our honeymoon now
Looking forward to the 3-wk break.

Photo shoot is on Monday. Just had a final fitting last wk. I didn't know my measurements yo-yo so much, I've never been able to achieve a proper fit of my WG. It's either too big or too small. And now, it's water retention this wk. I hope it will disappear by Mon. Else I wouldn't be able to fit into my gowns!

Work-wise, it's been maddness since March or Apr. Hardly any sleep and long long hours. Did a record 21 hrs wrk one Friday, we started as usual at 9am, left the office at 6.15am on sat & came back to work at 9am till 12mn that day. And I wonder why my eye bags n dark rings don't go away. *Sigh* wish I could change jobs. Anyone have lobang??

Well, i share that same tots re raising the kids here. It's just way too stressful. My FBIL kids are so diff, they have a REAL childhood & I think they r a lot happier. I really dun understand the way parents here think. Prob b4 my child gets stressed, I'll be breaking down if I have to compete on the same field as these pple. Plus FH is in the education field n he thinks there's a serious flaw in the edu system here. And I fully agree. Where else in the world does the govt churn out workers in accordance to economy demands? First everyone was doing engineering/law/medicine, then it was IT, followed by bio-informatics, now the latest hot spot is anything casino/hotel related. Goodness gracious me!

FH finally finally got his PR n he was so sneaky abt it. Told me only after he submitted the forms. But he had no choice cuz his contract won't be renewed if he doesn't take up PR. They r now cutting down on privileges. So with the new contract, the co wouldn't pay intl school fees for our kids anymore, plus some other benefits were cut. Life's getting tougher here man!

Pink Bunny and Mrs N

Hahahahah - so used to being able to grab as many plastic bags as we want here, that the concept of paying for one at the supermarkets in Sweden seems really really foreign. I once had eight bottles of beer and a wine bottle in the tiniest plastic bag ever and had to basically run home (two streets away) because I was so worried that the bag would break under the weight.

Still, to pee in a plastic bag, you have to stand on solid ground - can't do it in a moving car and get it all over the place. Hahahah!

Mrs N

What is the NFP course?

Oh - I read about that when I was there. Is it a really big problem in the UK? The husband has already made it clear to me that he'll be very upset with me if I ever lay a hand on the kid. I'm like what?! My dad was a strict disciplinarian and I turned out ok (I think - Hahahahah!). Although I don't condone child abuse or military-like discipline, I think that it's a parent's perogative to ensure that their kids are kept in line. I've seen parents who let their kids do anything they want - yelling in public places, cursing the parents, etc. I definitely don't want my kid to be like that. The husband is more of the 'let's sit down and talk about what you've done' person - I think that sets the balance at home (like good cop/bad cop???). He said he'll talk the kid to death with reasons - that'll really ensure the kid listens to us eh. Hahahah!

Pink Bunny

I suppose it's really up to the individual. Although Ah Boy doesn't really like the structure of the school curriculum here, he does want the child to adhere to a routine. Though it's nice to know that the state pays for education there (in Sweden), I was a little confused about the actual school timetable. No matter what time of day I'm out and about in town, there are always kids out with their friends and spending like entire days at the amusement parks, etc. Hmmm ..

de_luxe

Hey hey .. how have you been?

Don't stress yah .. just enjoy your day. 2 months will come and go, just like that.

Yup, the expat package is going the way of the dinosaurs ... extinction! It's not like the old days when everything .. EVERYTHING is taken care of by the company. But I shouldn't complain - with husband's paycheck, we are living comfortably with enough left over to go into savings.

Our kid will probably go into the public school here - international school is just way too expensive.

Hi Cuclainne, NFP is Natural Family Planning. Heard about it when we went on our premarrige course. Then the hubby suggested we do the home study course but it was a bit complicated and the book was so thick! So we decided to have 4 sessions with a teaching couple which means travelling down to Nottingham every other month. Its mainly talks and how to interpret fertility charts based on basal body temp and mucus observations. Quite interesting. Almost like doing an experiment on oneself.

Yeah. Its true. I think since the govt came up with this law, discipline is quite a problem. I think westerners prefer the 'negotiation technique' but I was watching a programme on BBC about children with discipline problems and the child psychologist said that negotiation don't work with younger kids (about 5 and below). They're too young to understand. Parents should just be firm and expect the kid to obey. Guess its kind of letting the child know that the parent is the boss and not he/she. I think some of the kids on the programme were really horrible. A real nightmare for their parents.

de-luxe, nice to see you around. Wah after reading your post, I also feel stressed for you.
Just keep thinking, 2 months more to go and then you'll be off on holiday.

I see, Mrs N. It does sound quite interesting - this NFP course.

Oh - do you watch Super Nanny? The kids on the show are such tyrants. Some of them even hit their younger siblings. On one show, two of them even gang up on the youngest. Absolutely horrible!

My turn to gate crash.

I feel like I'm the only single one now. Everyone is happily married and trying for babies already!
kao_embarrassed.gif

Anyway, the expat chat board had a HUGE discussion about the dual citizen issue and the answer is:
The child can hold dual citizenship until the age of 21. He must then decide which nationality he chooses to keep.
The child must leave Singapore before the age of 11 so that he does not gain 'economic benefit' from living in Singapore and thereby does not have to serve national service.
At the age of 18 he still must register with NS but can have a deferral by declaring his intent to relinquish his citizenship. (You can't officially relinquish citizenship until 21.)

Since my FH and I are going to stay in SG, we're letting our sons be Singapore citizens and US PR. (Second generation PR have to serve NS, so there's no point in making them SG PR's to try and avoid NS... never mind the hassle of having the baby abroad!) They can always go thru the 'naturalization process' to be US citizens and give up their SG passports when they are old enough to decide for themselves.

Or they can just *cough* "forget" *cough* *cough* to decide and hold both.. up to you!!!

Squeakers

In our case, it really doesn't matter which citizenship the child wants to retain because also have to serve NS in Sweden (though not mandatory, most males opt for it - my husband was in the airforce for 11 months).

Hello Squeakers, not long for you either, before you know it you'll be in S'pore, then you can start talking about babies.
How's the preps coming?

Ha! Ha! I've heard about 'the closing of one eye' as long as you don't 'ahem' 'ahem' officially declare. But ditto, its up to the individual.

I'll be visiting in June to meet up with my wedding planner, have makeup trials etc. Everything is almost done. Now its just a matter of waiting! The hardest part! lol.

That and trying to keep in shape for my dress... that is the worst part. I'm so anxious all I want to do is eat all the time!

As for babies.. they are already being talked about. Everyone wants a boy
and my DF wants 10.
kao_scared.gif
I told him I'll have two. He can have the rest..

wah this seems to most active thread in the forum. Sorry for not posting very often cos frankly, this forum's layout is very hard to use so i've more or less migrated to other forums, and only coming back here to find specific threads like this one.

I'm going to have my ROM in less than a week! hahaha but good to say most of the ends have been tied and now i'm pretty much swatting flies and waiting for the day.

Just to refresh everyone's mind, im holding my ROM at a friend's mansion with tentage,fan and sound systems thankfully sponsored by him too. catering for 130+- pax by lavishdine, my gown designed by a friend and my fh in a suit sort of thing.

photographer is edmund leong and no videographer. was actually thinking of having a 3 piece band but decided not to spend on that sort of thing but play a CD instead.

who's AD is next? deluxe issit? mine's way after in December :P

Squeakers

10? I used to say that I'd want a whole football team (with reserves) but right now I'll just settle for having the one I'm carrying now. Hahahaha.

pink candy

So you've been busy busy busy since you were last here ah .. wow, your ROM next week - must have butterflies in your tummy right now eh?

You must share with us your photos yah.

hi guys..
quick question on legal papers here. i'm singaporean, my fiancee is a foreigner - not PR. any idea what needs to be done? ROM site said birth certificate required. but he does not have any... any idea?