Any Brides whose HTB is 'Ang Mo'?

shantair

Congratulations!!

I got married to a Swedish guy in Jan 2006 and am now expecting (9.5 weeks). Still early days and cos of my morning sickness, not able to post as often as I usually do. But I will try to help if you have any questions yah .. don't be shy, we're all one big family here.

Squeakers

Thanks. I didn't say much about it cos it is still early days but the doctor just told me that the baby is healthy so I thought I should share the good news.

The fear of first time parents .. hahahaha.

Congratulations Cuclainne, so excited for you!

You and hubby certainly got down to business very quickly.

Shantair, couldn't agree more with Cuclainne & Squeakers, its like one big happy family on this thread, so feel free to voice your doubts, fears, joy, whether its wedding related or non-wedding related etc etc
. Are you going to live in London after your wedding?

Mrs N

Hahahahaha - he told me that his biological clock is ticking (he's 33) and he wants to have children while he can still keep up with them. I told him only one baby ah cos of severe morning sickness but he laughed it off and said I would change my mind later - he's willing to wait. Aiyoh!

Congratulations Cuclainne!!
I hope the morning sickness goes off soon. Haha my mum said the same thing when she had my sister but changed her mind when my sis was two!

Welcome shantair, I agree that it can be quite stressful planning the wedding on your own. Have you decided on the venue yet?

Squeakers, I never know they actually insert pillars inside the cakes! Sounds like there's lots of chance for mishaps to happen. Is it possible to cut the cake on our own though? I'm not sure if we're getting any serving staff from the caterer. Trying to cut the cost down hehe

Dear Cuclainne , congratulations. I am very happy for you. I hope to be pregnant as soon as I can after the wedding but with these things , one can never tell. They happen when they happen.
Hi freaky , I am getting Ritz Carlton for my wedding venue and have thought to have a summer theme. I love colours and thot of having the ballroom done up with lots of , orange,pink,yellow and red flowers. And I am getting my bridemaids to wear apple green . Do you think its a clash of too many colours?
Mrs N , yes I will be moving to London after the wedding. My FH has a house in Kensington and we will be living there.

freaky

The mishaps happen more with the construction/transportation of the cake than anything else. It really depends on the cake you are having (how big, tall, heavy, materials etc.) whether or not the baker will need to put dowels in them.

But seriously, no worries! Just ask whomever is making your cake if there is anything that you need to 'take out' before serving it. (They will tell you if there are dowels or seperators etc.) I can send you a diagram on how to cut the cake as well so you get the most slices out of it. Just let me know the cake shape.

freaky

Hahahaha .. we'll see. My mom had a difficult pregnancy with me (middle child) but she still had my brother ten years later.

shantair

It was completely unexpected. After all, it happened a few weeks after the ROM. The hubby kept joking that I could be pregnant but I kept brushing it off until my next period didn't come so I did two test kits AND a test at the GP before I finally believed that I am!

Oooh .. Ritz Carlton! That is so lovely! Will you be doing another function in London?

Dear Cuclainne , I wish I would be as lucky as you. My FH cant wait to be a " Papa" and I admit that I am looking forward to having kids as well. I want to have my first child before I hit 30 and thats only another 2 years away.

Yes , Ritz Carlton is lovely and I simply adore the event coordinator. She is so pleasing and accomodating. My wedding is going to be such a rush and she is so capable that I think she is an angel.

And No , I am not doing another function in London. We might have a party in Toronto for his family and friends and maybe another in London. But for now , nothing has been planned.

Cuclainne, don't you wish men could have some of that morning sickness! You could solve that if you had twins (all at one go, you know).
My MIL didn't know she had twins and was preparing for one baby and out came two - my hubby and his sister! At that time, they didn't have scans etc, so they were pleasantly 'shocked'.
We would like to have kids but haven't got round to it yet. Ha! Ha! We probably have to make a start soon as my BIL's wife has started saving clothes which her kids had outgrown for us!!!

Shantair Kensington sounds very posh.
Is it in central London? Btw, better sort your spouse visa while you're in S'pore. A party in Toronto and London ... sounds exciting.

Hey freaky, today is THE day. You must be so excited.

Kensington is quite posh and a very nice place to live. We are just on the next street to Kensington Palace and very near the park. I think its located centrally. I am not too familiar with London. I have never lived there and the 3 times I visited London , I went everywhere by taxi.

Mrs N , do you know how long they will take to approve my spouse visa? I thot of applying for it after the wedding in September. We will only be in S'pore 10 days after the wedding so I am not sure if there will be sufficient time.

Hi Shantair, not too sure about the time line as I didn't apply mine thru' the British High Comm. Did it while I was in Britain, took about a month for the home office to process it (but that was thru' the post). Apparently they can do it much quicker, if we apply in person but it was going to cost much much more.

If you look at the high comm website: www.britain.org.sg (under services, then visas) they'll probably give you an idea of how long it takes. Just give them all the documents listed on the website and you should be alright.

I think I will apply for my spouse visa after my AD.The reason cos I need to show them my marriage certificate and according to the website , it takes them only 2 days to process the application. I thot the charges would be quite high for the visa but its only $25.

hey girls!

wow, so many things happening!

Cuclainne - congrats! Wow, 9.5 weeks that´s slighty more than 2 months. That's really soon! Are you ready to be a mom? Suddenly quite a few ppl I know are pregnant!

Well Shantair! Yeah, feel free to ask any questions! I married on 25 feb 06, my hubby is german and we are in singapore to study a discipleship course for 5 months before moving to germany in sept 2006. Wedding preparations are not easy, but it is really great to have lots of friends to help. I applied for visa after AD too, it took like $50 just to get the stamps to say that the marriage certificate is authentic! So dumb. The visa itself is free...really dub. Yeah, but german visa takes about 2 to 3 months....British one may be pretty different. Ritz is one of the best places to have a wedding.... most expensive too....but I think the service and all is excellent.

Anyways, my discipleship school has been really awesome so far.... First time in my life that I am experiencing God in such a personal and real way. He really spoke to me regarding various issues of my life.... amazing.... for Christians, can share more with u girls.... my school is with YWAM - youth with a mission.

ok, got to go now... see ya

Hi Priscilla , congratulations to you on your wedding and how is married life treating you thus far? Is it everything you imagined it would be? I know marriage is going to be a big change in my life but I am looking forward to the change.

Priscilla, hello, glad you are enjoying discipleship school. What is it about? Are you learning about the bible, evangelising? Sounds interesting. Glad to hear the Holy Spirit is working wonders in your life. Will continue praying for you.

Shantair, you sure its only $25? Thought it was more than that. If its that little, then better do it in S'pore. Costs about £200 - 300 over here. Can't remember the exact figure but was something riduculous for a 2-year visa after which you can apply for PR and pay another large sum again.
Is your husband a PR in England or will you eventually return to Canada? Yeah, marriage is a big change to one's lifestyle but even more so for you I suppose as you've got to settled into a new country as well.

Anyway, do have a great weekend girls.

Mrs N , I thot I read that it was $25 for the visa application but I was wrong. Checked the website again and for settlement and marriage visa its SGD $780. Wow , it sure does cost a bomb.

Yes , my FH is a PR in England. I am not sure if we will move to Canada anytime soon . He was saying that maybe we should move to Paris cos he prefers to live there than in London.

I dont really mind , cos I have been to Paris and it is a lovely place. But wherever I move to , it will not be the same as " home sweet home ".

Shantair

Don't worry, I am sure that you and your FH will get your wish to have kids quite soon.

Wow! Isn't it expensive to be zipping around London in a cab all the time? I did it with the hubby the last time we were there and it cost us about S$60 for a ten minute ride to our hotel. All because they closed the train station (no explanation why). The hubby blabbed all the time about how expensive it is .. blah blah blah .. but he went through with it because I've never been to London before.

Mrs N

Oh .. the hubby's father is a twin and since it skips a generation, the hubby was hoping that I would be carrying twins though I'm not sure how I would be able to handle that. But so far it's only been one heartbeat so I doubt that'll be any surprises.

Priscilla

Hey girl! How are you and Stephan? I am so glad to hear that everything has been going smoothly for you. When will you be going to Germany?

The hubby is adamant that we'll make great parents .. I must admit that sometimes I do think, what the heck did we get ourselves into? but it's a great gift .. too great for us to refuse and this is a logical next step for us in the family unit.

Dear cuclainne , I suppose it is expensive but my FH says its not practical to own a car in london and he forbade me to ever take the tube. He himself never takes the tube and travels everywhere by taxi. But since we live in central London , its not very expensive to move around in a taxi. The only expensive trip I made on the taxi was to travel from Heathrow to Kensington.

By the way , my FH mother was a twin. Its skipped a generation as well and he is hoping that we will have twins. But I always thot that it depends on the mother not the father when it comes to twins.

Hello everyone, haven't been here for a while. Loads happening as usual

Welcome shantair

Congrats cuclainne, don't worry too much. I'm sure you guys will make great parents. Guess it's the typical nervousness of all new parents. My colleague's due in 2 months & she's a single mom! I think she's more worried abt finances than anything else.

FH wants kids ASAP too cuz he doesn't want to look like their grandpa (he's 35 this yr) but I told him I still wanna wait a year to settle down n it's his fault that he's marrying late!! After all we had an argument many moons ago when we were still talking abt settling down n he said it doesn't matter when cuz his friend who's like 50+ has 2 kids and the youngest is only about 9. Looks like he has changed his mind!!

Wow Squeakers that's a really nice cake - especially for a beginner. We figured we'll use the hotel's dummy's that comes with a real top tier. I know it's crappy. Would really like a real one but that costs a fair bit and I think a lot will be left over as we also have a dessert buffet.

Hi freaky I've decided on a band instead of DJ, tot it would be more fun. A DJ costs abt $350 & a 2-pc band costs ard $650 so it depends on your budget. We're using the 2 lead guys from the band called EIC that plays at Wala Wala. (www.eic.com.sg). They charge $500 per player for an all-night long performance. It's ex but I figured that they're so good, it's worth every cent. My bridesmaid is extremely kind and generous to insist on sponsoring 50% as our wedding gift

Our honeymoon plans are pretty much there. We're spending a couple of days in London and a week in some seaside town in North Germany, plus FH wants time to meet his friends, prob to show off his new married status, hahaha

Does anyone know what the protocol is for bridesmaids / jie mei dresses? I have 3 of them. Do they all have to dress the same and who pays for their dresses?

Hi de luxe, nice to 'see' you around. Sounds you have got pretty much everything sorted out.
I think for the bms, its entirely up to you and what you like, no definite protocol. They can dress all alike or differently. But according to my SIL, the bms colours usually matched the brides bouquet (colours of the flowers you're having) and the grooms' & bestman's craveat/tie. Whether they dress in all the same style or different is up to the bride and also probably depends on the 'size' of the bm. Some body shapes don't suit all styles. Anyway, why don't you have a chat with them and see if you can come up with something. I had only 1 adult bm and basically left it up to her to decided what she wanted as she knows what she's most comfortable with. We paid for her dress, thought it was only fair as she had to fly all the way up to the UK for the wedding. But I've heard of cases where bms have offered to pay for their own dresses too.

Shantair & Cuclainne, not too sure about skipping a generation though. My friend's husband is a twin and she was expecting twins for her first pregnancy. So its probably in the genes as well as God's will.

Yeah, no matter where you go it won't be the same as home but it does help to relief a little of the homesickness if you can mix with fellow S'poreans. There's a S'pore club in London but I'm not in it as I live too far North.

Ladies, I was told that Singaporeans are not allowed to hold dual citizenship. Did any of you gave up your Singaporean citizenship?

Its good to know that there is such a club. I will have to find out the details when I am in London.

Hi Shantair, FYI (its called suka): http://www.mfa.gov.sg/london/

I don't intend to give up my S'pore citizenship. Too attached to my 'bright red' passport.
Anyway, unless one intends to take out all their CPF savings, there's really no incentive to give up your citizenship. Don't think my family would be happy if I did that.

My FH wants me to apply for citizenship in UK as well as Canada. But Singapore does not allow dual citizenship. So I am still not sure what I am going to do abt it. I suppose there is still time and I will cross the bridge when I come to it.

Hi Shantair, it maybe better for you to live in these countries first and apply for PR before deciding on citizenship. It is a big step. Is the reason your FH is asking for you to do this is because he's worried about the kids (when you have them) citizenship? Did you know that kids can hold dual until they are 21 and then they get to decide whether they want to reliquish their S'pore citizenship. This was what my cousin was told, she's married to a canadian and her son holds dual at the moment.

Hi de_luxe, $500 per player for all-night is very reasonable! I'm still looking for a jazz band. I've sort of narrow down the choice to two but have yet to see them perform live and ask for a quotation. I think they charge about $600 for a set of 45 mins for a three man band.

I agree with what Mrs N said about the bridemaids'dresses. Personally, I find it nice to have the same colour for all but different cutting for each so everyone would feel comfortable with their dresses and not looking like wearing uniform. But it all depends on how comfortable you and your bridemaids are with the plan.

Squeakers, I'm just wondering if a fondant cake would required the cake itself to be quite heavy like a fruit cake instead of sponge? Still not sure whether to go for a fresh cream, fondant or skip the cake and go for cupcakes instead. Cupcakes would look very cheery and the kids would love it. But wedding cake is a once-in-a-lifetime chance...

Hi Shantair, I find giving up your nationality a very big step to take. It's good to give yourself some time to decide while living there like what Mrs N said.

Hi freaky,

You would actually not save any money if you went with the cupcakes. Even though they are less in terms of costs of materials, they are more labour intensive so it balances out.

Fondant vs Fresh Cream vs Buttercream... This is a matter of personal preference. I, personally, do NOT like the taste of fondant but I love to decorate with it. (I just the cake out of the 'shell') and the cake does not have to be very heavy. Fresh cream can melt and can't be decorated as elaborately. and finally there is buttercream. There are different types that vary in sweetness. (Italian Meringue Buttercream holds up best in the heat and is less sweet.)

Its up to you whether or not you want to spend the $$$ on a cake. To me, I wouldn't be married without one.. but its something I've been dreaming about for a long time.

You can join us on the "A real wedding cake" thread under Banquets if you want a bigger discussion. (I feel bad hijacking this thread with only cake talk!)

Dear Mrs N and freaky , I think I will take my time and live in these 2 countries and then decide what I want to do abt my citizenship. My FH has both Canadian and UK citizenship. He owns houses in several EU countries. He says that if I have UK citizenship , it makes it so much more easier for us to live anywhere in the EU. The same for Canadian citizenship so its easier for me to move around US and Canada.

shantair

Singapore does not allow dual citizenship for its citizens, unlike some other countries. I think children from 'mixed' marriages can hold dual citizenship until the age of 18. That's when they have to decide which passport they want to hold.

I don't think applying for citizenship in another country is easy, even if one is married to a citizen. The immigration office still have rules and protocols for you to abide, and even then they can still refuse your application.

For Sweden, you mst prove that your relationship is established and after two years, you may be granted a PR. However if you leave Sweden for more than six months during this time, they will revoke your PR. It would take many more years before they offer you citizenship.

Thanks for the advise. Guess I will ask for their prefs. One already said "anything" which is the problem. I suppose if they have to MTM and it's ex, then it's only appropriate for me to pay. My sis suggested just giving them a bigger ang pow & letting them buy their own.

Freaky, if u wanna see EIC perform, you can visit Wala Wala at Holland V on Fridays (when the whole band performs) and on Sundays (when it's just Jack & Rai), they start playing from 9-0pm onwards. Sometimes they also have performances at other locations, just check out their website for more info.

Shantair, my boss' kids both hold dual nationality (German & S'porean). The older one just turned 21 n chose to be S'porean n served NS cuz he's lived all his life here.

Actually I am not worried abt my childrens' citizenship. I know they will take after their father and have both UK and Canadian citizenship. As for myself , I guess I will cross the bridge when I come to it. I am in no hurry and will go along with whatever I feel best when the time arrives.

Hi Shantair, yeah its a good idea to go along with what you feel is best, there is no rush. You've got 2/3 years to decide. The UK policy is similar to the Swedish. The visa that you apply after your marriage is only valid for 2 years. After that, you need to apply for indefinite leave to remain (PR Status), however if you leave the UK for more than a period of 2 years after you get ILR it will be revoked. You can get citizenship after 3 years in UK as a spouse of a UK citizen. The dual restriction is a bummer but I think it will ultimately depend on which country you will be spending most of your life in. The thought of giving up your citizenship is so hard, like cutting your ties with your family. Ooch!
I was so sad when I had to give up my S'pore driving license in exchange for an EU one.
kao_cry.gif

Hey freaky you're back. Now that FH is down, you must be very very busy.

de-luxe, maybe choose a style of dress which they can still wear after the wedding (it'll be a nice memento). You know, not too 'bridesmaidy' but formal enough for a wedding but also can be worn later for offical functions.

Cuclainne, hope the morning sickness isn't too bad this week. Do take care.

M now in bali writing this.. Wedding finally over.. beautiful weather in Sentosa and it was a great party till 3am. No rain at all and food is great.

Freaky: Hi did you need any advice for your preparation? I took lavish dine caterer I have to said their service is EXCELLENT, the food was realy good (comment from guests) and the presentation is perfect. If you need to get someone to help you to co-ordinate I have someone whom I can recommend. She gave her 100% and charges is very very reasonable. you can email me at [email protected] should you need contact for champagne. We finished 60 bottles of champagne. I have 90 guests that evening. Some RSVP and yet didn't turn up was kinda disappointed with one of the girl. Anyway nevermind about that. Since you are having at burkill hill perhaps I can asked them where they put my luminaries. It was so beautiful.. perhaps you can use them for your wedding too. We placed the luminaries as a pathway to KM8. (inside the luminaries my planner put sand and lights up the tealight candle)it was so romantic.. I should be able to show you the pics by this sunday though. My photographer was KC from greymatters. Anyway should you need any help pls feel free to email me

Mrs N

I am able to eat this week so it must be letting up .. yahoo!

jessica

That's so lovely, dear! You must share your photos with us.

Hi jessica, Thanks for that! I've just dropped you an email. Hope you're enjoying yourself in Bali

Mrs N, I would love to be busy with wedding preparation but work just gets crazier than ever and I've been working late every day now. Haven't had much time to do anything yet. Seems like I might have to work over the Easter holiday too. Arrrgh! Well, at least my FH is here to share my pain haha

cuclainne, Glad to hear that you're feeling better now. I like the costume you have there

Dear Cuclainne , you look so ravishing in the picture. And your HB looks cute too in the taditional costume.

Mrs N , you reminded me that I need to get my driving license in the UK. I dont have a license now but I hope that it will not be too difficult to obtain one in the UK.

Freaky, I am so sorry that you have to work over Easter holidays but as you said , you are lucky to have your FH with you by your side. I have not seen my FH in 6 months and I miss him very much.

Jessica, congratulations. Glad your day went really well. Too bad about your guests but that's quite expected (same thing happened to me). Hope you're enjoying your honeymoon in bali with your new husband.

Cuclainne, both you & Mr 'Cuclainne' definitely look royal in your costumes.
Hey what happened to the black dress? Glad you're feeling much better.

Poor Freaky, don't overwork yourself. Now that your FH is down, you could delegate some of the wedding preps to him. You know share the load and lessen the pain.

Hi Shantair, don't think they are as strict as S'pore but apparently is slightly harder now than it used to be. Still good idea to learn though as some jobs require one to hold a driving license.

Thanks freaky and shantair.

I wore the black dress to the dinner, Mrs N. I'm still waiting for the official photographs but I have some which were taken by friends on my fotopages. Want the link?

Thank you Mrs N, and yea I kinda disappointed with my gf for not showing up even though she knew about the wedding. I just find her excuses were so lame. Anyway... I told her that I have no rights to be upset with her.

Cuclainne : You look very pretty. I would love to share with you my pics. You can log into www.yahoo.com under photos. Username is jessica.rene password is 160670 Not many pics yet but photographer will be loading more later. Those pics were done by my gf

Freaky: I sent you the email already
happy preparation and dun get too stress up ok

This is not really a honeymoon for us... well I don't feel like I am having a honeymoon here. With his best friend here, my step-son and his friend etc.. but he promised me a nice honeymoon later. Ah well.... going back to Singapore tonight and hope to chat with you guys again

Cuclainne, yes, yes, yes!
Always so exciting to see other people's wedding photographs.

Jessica, I also kaypoh and went to peek at yours. Never seen an outdoor wedding before, so COOL!Everybody so relax, looks like a lot of fun. Well done you for organising all that from abroad. Your dress is pretty unique but really suits the atmosphere.

Ok, my dears, I'm off to Edinburgh for the next few days, do have a really nice weekend.

love
Sx

Ladies, email has been sent to you re: my wedding photos link.

Jessica: you look so lovely, dear and the beach wedding is really spectacular.

Mrs N: enjoy your trip!

Dear Jessica,

I also went to look at your wedding pics. It was such a lovely wedding by the beach. It looked so relaxed and fun. I loved your outfit and you looked great.

Dear cuclainne,

I took a peek at your pics too and I really enjoyed your wedding pics. As I said , you looked ravishing.

Thanks Ladies.

Mrs N : enjoy your trip and yes it quite hardwork to have it organise from HK. I am bless to have many good friends around to help me but infact I got most help from the forum
Both hubby and me were very glad that every of our guests enjoyed the ambience.

Cuclainne: Thanks *shy* beach wedding really really spectacular.. highly recommend it to everybody.

Shantair : Thanks for the compliments. I always thought it was something unique and it fits my personality. I got it from La-Vie.

Have a nice weekend everybody and bye..

Thanks shantair. I'm very sure that you'll look ravishing yourself on your wedding day .. all brides do! Be sure to share with us on your preps and eventually the photos too yah.

jessica, hope you've had a good time in Bali.

Hi everybody, I'm back.
It was a nice trip but quite tiring. Thank goodness we split the driving between us as the journey was about 5 hours each way. But the pain was definitely worth it, lots of nice scenary on the way and Edinburgh is one of Britain's most beautiful cities.

Cuclainne, that black dress really suits you.
You look very, very pretty.

Hope everybody had a good weekend.

Mrs N

Ooh that's so lovely. We once drove 6 hours to Gothenburg (the hubby drove all the way cos I don't have a licence). He did grumble a little - about how nice it would be for me to be able to take over the driving for a bit but even so, I don't think I would have dared cos they drive on the other side of the road and it's so confusing. I'm glad to hear that you've enjoyed your trip.