Any Brides whose HTB is 'Ang Mo'?

Priscilla, yes can't wait to hold her in my hands instead of in my belly. Hahahaha .. we've got a lot of things for her but no where to put them yet - we've been putting off going to Ikea to get a shelving unit for all her things. So everything's still in the shopping bags they came in and on the floor in the study .. the husband always shakes his head when he sees the mess. He can't believe that such a tiny person would need so many things .. hahahaha..

Cuclainne,
Ikea, hmm, sounds like that's going to be our second home, now that we've moved

pris,
Congrats to your friend - what's the baby's name?

Hi to all gals out there !!

I am Gina and i am new there, just registered as an user 2 mins ago !!!

Its nice to read about cross-culture marriages here and it seems its getting common to have mixed marriages in Singapore nowadays !!! (At least when you are out with an 'Ang Moh', people dont regard you as 'SPG' !!)

I am marrying a Spanish in Singapore on Dec 9 2006 :-) it seems like a very popular date to get marry !!!

Just wonder, any of you out there is marrying a Spanish or already had a Spanish husband?? Most of the gals here married or are marrying German or Aussie..but not to a Spanish !!! Maybe its not a 'normal combination' here yet !!! haha!!

Anyway, its nice to exchange info on mixed marriages, i think i am going to experience some culture shock if i am moving to Madrid next year !!!

Hi dear girls!

Wow, first time the thread is moving slowly, haha. Easier to catch up on what people are saying....

Cuclainne - Can imagine the amount of excitement u must be having now. Its almost october already! wow wow. Muz show us ptos when yr baby is out!

Tootsieroll Hey, my fren´s baby is called Sophie. U can actually see her blog from my blog... its under "Ailing"... they posted some photos up on her blog... feel a bit sad that cannot be in singapore! ahhh....

Georgina Hey welcome to our thread! You´re right to say that most ppl are married here already, but no worries! Can still share experiences! Oh u going to move to Madrid! Wat a nice place! Ha, maybe can see david beckham, or is he not in real madrid already? Oh, and the spanish language is apparently easier to learn than german, french etc.... Oh yah! U are moving to Madrid! Wow... Spainish guys very good-looking leh! hahha...

Hmmm it is a bit slow. I've taken a break from here for a teeny bit, too busy designing posters for church at the moment.

Hi Pris don't know whether I have 'the gift'.
Just that the elderly folk seem to like talking to me for some reason. Haha! But I do enjoy working with the disabled especially the kids. My very first job after my A's was working with children with cerebral palsy and I still think that it was one of the most rewarding jobs I ever had. Sometimes I wonder if I had made a wrong career choice!!! Oh well! Yes it was great to meet up with freaky. You are most welcomed to visit us should you come to the UK one day.

Hi Georgina! Welcome to the thread. Guess not too many Spaniards in S'pore? Yah most around here are already married but there are still a few unmarrieds lurking around just that they haven't surfaced lately (Nikki & Chrisl where are you?).
See that your wedding isn't too far away. Is everything going according to plan? Madrid is quite a pretty city, visited a couple of years ago with some friends. But I have some bizarre memories of the accomodation we stayed in. The owner was so strange, wouldn't let us visit our friends in the other rooms at night! He actually stood in the corridor to make sure that we didn't leave our rooms when my friend opened our room door, he just shooed her back inside. We had great fun playing hide and seek with him in the end!

Cuclainne not long more!!! So exciting eh?
Hee! Hee! The little person would probably need even more stuff when she's well and truly in this world. You might need to get a bigger place.

Tootsieroll hope you and yours have settled in nicely into your new house.

Have a great weekend everybody. Not too sure that the weather over here would be anything but great, nevermind I'll find something else to do besides washing!

Gina,
Welcome to the thread. I think (from the 2 years that I've been on), that you might be the first one that's with a Spanish guapo
Have you sorted all your wedding details out? I've never been to Madrid, but I heard the shopping is good ;) Do you already speak Spanish?

Pris,
Ah, I think I've clicked on 'Ailing' before, but only briefly.....so her little bub is called Sophie too (like Cuclainne's peanut, unless Cuclainne's changed her mind?)....I love that name, when I was pregnant, it was on my list of girl names
How's your flat coming along? Have you unpacked all your boxes? My DH is taking a break from doing all the unpacking, but then 90% of the stuff is his hehehe
Oh, in answer to your question on my blog, we bought the house (well, it belongs to the bank until we pay the mortgage off!)

Hi Peeps!
Some action at last... been a rather quiet 2 wks here..

Welcome Gina!
U're right that most here are married. I just joined the married ranks 3 months ago, still a newbie... no worries, everyone's welcomed regardless of martial status. Do let us know if u need any help/advice...

Dun know anyone dating/married to a Spainard either... guess they r a minority here... r both of u residing in S'pore? Tell us more abt urself. I've been to Barcelona twice, and know some Spainish pple, really fun pple to hang out with and the language is pretty easy.

Hi Pris
I'm quite sure it's 3 yrs, ur hubby can check w his HR or other colleagues/frens who have kids. I know it's all paid leave, tho the payments get reduced a bit after some time (dunno how much) but u do get full pay for a couple of months. Part of the period is paid by your company and the rest by the govt. What I've heard is that most pple get a kid, go on leave for like 2 yrs then get another kid, so leave gets extended for 3 more yrs, altogether 6 yrs continuous paid leave... if u have 2 kids....

Oh Pris, I think the partial pay is still a reasonable amt. It sure beats the 3-mth maternity leave here and if u dun work after that, no $$$ at all. Plus the German insurance, if ur hubby is under public one, covers the cost of pregnancy too, i.e. ur check-ups and delivery. I'm not sure if it's any diff if the wife is not German that he has to find out from his insurance company but you're probably covered under some health insurance in order to get ur visa... so i guess it shouldn't matter...

Hi Ladies!

Wow! It has been one super busy month!
kao_dizzy.gif
Can't believe my eyes when i saw my last post here was 9th sept! There're really lots to do at sch and i had also been to my 1st MTM appointment with the bridal shop last saturday! So excited now! Can't wait to buy my shoes/accessories and get ready for the next fitting appointment in december!

Mrs N~
Heeee! I'm here I'm here!
Wow! You're a designer? Coolll...
Yeah so strange that the owner's like that...maybe he don't want any one of you to see something that's not to be seen...eerie stuffs like that???
kao_scared.gif

Georgina~
Hi! Welcome welcome! I suppose there are STILL people out there sterotyping each and every girls with 'Ang Moh' as SPG. I myself got stared at when i'm out with my FH, sometimes i could hear someone saying 'Ee yea..with Ang Moh er' i get so annoyed at that

Wow Madrid? So are you a football frantic? How's your preparations of your marriage coming along? Is your FH here in Singapore? My big day is the 9th of June 07 to a Norwegian. Wah, hope i don't scare you with my many questions! hee...

Freaky~
Hey good that you love mayang sari! FH and me thought of going there again for a good de-stress massage..but this time going for the nearby makan places you said. Have you tried that? Food nice?
Hope you're adjusting to England well!

Pompoms~
Have you decided on the venue of your wedding? I think for caterers, purple sage is pretty good but i think prices are a little on the high side though.

Nikki~
Hey gal! How are you?

Pris~
I like your apartment! It's really so bright and feels so clean and fresh! I supposed it's rather new?

hihi ladies,

Just to drop by to say hallo!

Hi Georgina,
welcome! Over here I am the only one with dutch husband, so u r not alone with your spainish HTB. I do know of a nun who is spanish in Singapore. My friends tell me Spain is a really nice place. I sure to visit one of these days.

Talk to u ladies again! Got to go for mass n busy mah! SIGH! wish i have 48 hrs to do everything! tata!
Have a great Sunday!

Chrisl no lah not a designer!
I'm just helping our new parish priest out. He's hoping to bring a bit more life into our parish so he's given everybody little jobs to do and I got arrowed with the task of being his 'secretary'.

Yeah that place in Madrid was really strange, don't know whether he didn't want us to see what's not to be seen. Three of us were sharing a room and another friend came over to chat with us and he kept banging our door every other minute to chase our friend back to his room. Another incident: My friend wanted to have a shower at night, found that there was no hot water. She went out to ask him about it only to get scolded and shooed back into the room. Aiyoh, really crazy man! Can't remember what the name of the place was, but certainly won't recommend anybody to stay there.
Apart from that, Madrid is a pretty 'cool' place. Ha! Ha! We all went in April expecting the weather to be hotter than England but it was not. It was cold and we were freezing as we didn't take our woolies.

Hi Liz haven't seen you online lately
you must be busy.

Hey de-luxe hope you're keeping well.

Hi Ladies !!!

Pris -- No, i didnt get to see david beckham coz my FH doesnt like football !!! Can you believe that !!!(thought all guys like football !!!) I am still learning spanish (self-study thru CDs bought from Borders !!) I guess it's easier to learn than German or French ..He is now still working in Madrid , been looking for job here, there is a phone interview next week so wish him good luck !!! Our 'deal' is to live here for the next few years and then back to Madrid but will see how, depends whether he can get a IT job here..Oh ya! Spanish guys can be quite 'hot' !!haha!! latino guys have nice dark hair and olive skin..yum yum !!;-)But my Fh doesnt look like a hot Latino guy (too bad)coz he is very studious (safer choice !!haha!!)

Mrs N -- yes, you are right, perhaps there are not many Spaniards in Singapore, think there are more Aussies and british. I am still planning for my wedding, will meet up with the hotel's wedding planner to discuss about the floral arrangements etc early Nov, will only get to see my MTM gowns and dresses end Nov too coz we booked the hotel venue and bought the bridal package only in June so i guess its the time issue (i used to wonder how couples plan their wedding a year in advance !!)
I have been to Madrid twice, nice place with historical buildings but i like Barcelona and Toledo more, real great place to visit..Haha !! I guess in everywhere, there are weird people so sometimes you will get to meet these people on holiday..(could be fun !!)

tootsieroll -- hola !!! still learning to speak Spanish (only knows some daily used words)Oh yes !! The shopping is great !! there are a few brand names that are not in here yet..and i like them coz the designs are very H&M, a Swedish brand i like very much too but too bad not in Singapore :-(
Most wedding details are sorted out except venue's floral arrangements and hotel accomodation for my future in-laws and his brother..

de_luxe -- i am in Sg, and he is still in Madrid coz he is still working there, will come here end Nov for the wedding on Dec 9 ..Ok, tell you abit about myself..I am chinese, 37 (old bride !!! but well...my mr. right appears late !!), not working at the moment used to be a shoes buyer ( I bought my wedding shoes online at www.zappo.com, i like the website but they only deliver in US and luckily , a US friend working here went on a business trip to NY in July and she used her Credit card to buy the shoes for me first, and i got the shoes i want !!!)I will look for a job after the wedding though..

Chrisl -- you are right, people still tend to stare at you if you are with an "Ang Moh' ..guess singaporeans' mindset is still very 'chinese' eventhough Singapore is getting more and more cosmos ..I do watch football but not my FH(he only likes swimming and scuba diving)..I have a friend who married to a Norwegian and she just gave birth to a baby boy in August..:-)Norway is a very expensive country to live in especially Oslo, read from newspaper, its the most expensive city in the world !!

Elizabeth -- Spain is a beautiful country , withlotsof old charms and cultures but the problem is most only speaks Spanish, very few of them speak English , only speak very little English...

Hope you gals have a great weekend !!

Hi Gals!

Mrs N Hi, I'm fine, thanks for asking. Just finished a major project at work so less busy now and leaving the office at 6 is no longer such a forlorn prospect. Hope this will continue for some time.
We went to view 2 appts today. The HB got a new job so we'll have to move out of the staff housing by end Dec. It's rather too early to start house hunting now as most places are only advertised 1 month ahead. Quite fustrating actually, cuz it's like u know u have something to do but can't do cuz it's not the right time. Really... ah!!! Plus rents went up recently so we'll prob have to up the budget.. sigh!!

Gina Wow! Shoes buyer! Must be a cool job! I love shoes, can never have enuff, unfortunately no space to keep so can't have too many at 1 go. Somehow I spoil my shoes really fast so have to avoid buying the really ex ones cuz my heart will ache when they spoil in a few months. Good luck to ur HTB's interview. IT jobs are plentiful, he shouldn't have any problems getting a job, unless he's super specialised. My HB is teaching IT in uni here.

Heard there are new to market Spainish brands at Vivocity. Perhaps u shld check them out when they open end Oct. H&M wouldn't work here. Somehow seems like S'poreans are too attas for budget European brands. There used to be one from France called Jennyfer, din last more than a yr.

BTW, count urself lucky that ur HTB doesn't watch football. I'm a football widow n u can't imagine the trauma of having the tv permanently tuned to channel 22, 23, 24 (ESPN n StarSports). Sometimes I think the only thing I hear are mad cheers and the commentator. Hmm... wonder if these will have a neg effect on our future kids... :p

Chris1 Leaping Lizard at Intl Plaza is a gd place for wedding shoes. They're closed on Sundays tho. Specialises in custom-made shoes, I got mine for abt $149, covered heels with a line of crystals. The open toe ones are much cheaper and u can choose the height too. Really useful for tall ladies. I saw someone getting a pair of really flat shoes but the front was nicely designed like those u find on heels, not the frumpy grandma types.

Am back =) ...sorry for the "disappearing" act, i was a tad busy at work..(got myself a temp job for the time am here so that i can earned myself some money for shopping lah
It's really nice to know that i hv been miseed
...sooo sweet of Pris, Christie & Mrs N esp to remember little me...kekeke =)

Pris,
am flying back to Germany around mid or end Nov...should u need anything from SIN, pls feel free to give me a shout ya =)

Christie,
am in the same process with u too...with the MTM gown, i mean ...i took it up with EverBliss @ Suntec & they hv been very nice trying their best to rush out the gown for me...so that i could return to Germany earlier...am suppose to collect my gown on the 15th of Nov...but i suppose i would hv to go for fitting before that, no??...they didnt seems to mention anything about that as yet leh??!...hmm, guess i better give them a call tomorrow! ..Christie, are u searching for shoes??...maybe we could go shoe shopping one of these days..as i would hv to do the same too!..let me know yr thoughts ya =)

Eliz,
was nice chatting with u the other day...that is if i didnt mix u gals up..lol
kao_embarrassed.gif
...as it can get rather confusing with the forum user id & the msn id & the real names etc...should they all be different, that is!...am i the only "sotong" here, by any chance??..lol

Hola Gina,
Como estas? Mi llamo Nikki. Mucho gusto & welcome on board
kao_welcome.gif
...Congrats on yr forthcoming wedding, it must be getting real exciting for u esp when the date is drawing this near ; )...my wedding date is set to be next year on the 7th of July...but for all you know, we might hv it earlier if possible ..

& hey dont worry about the only one being in the 30's coz so am I! Am 32 this year! oops... everybody would know am this old now!!
kao_cry.gif
ScheiBe! lol

it must be awesome to be a shoe buyer isnt it??..yr work sure sounds heaps of fun to me..*envy envy* ...so, Gina..care to share how you & yr HTB met?? I "kepo kepo" lah...hope u wont mind..kekeke

de_luxe,
you guys apartment searching at the moment??...not sure if this would help or not but i hv got a friend who's a property agent...if u are keen on that, juz let me know & i will introduce ...meanwhile, happy apartment searching =)

stay well ladies

Gina,
Wow, shoe buyer! I love shoes (and H&M) but unfortunately don't have the means to rival Imelda Marcos' collection
So, being kaypo (if I dont' ask, I'm sure someone else will!), how did you and your FH meet? I seen Beckham once, he's very immaculately groomed

Deluxe,
I'm a football widow too, only because I can't go to football matches while looking after the baby. Which team does your hubby support? Don't worry about the kids....I was so tuned in to football during my pregnancy, when baby was born, he actually kept quiet throughout the World Cup, no crying at all! We have already picked out his football teams for him hahahaha

Hey Nikki,
Ya, I logged on to SgBrides, and noticed you were the latest poster, so I HAD to come to this thread to see if you had posted

Btw, what's the MSN thing you're all on? Do I have to add you all as contacts or something?

hey tootsieroll,

lol ...you HAD to see if nikki is back or not right??...did u miss me??...i hope u did!
...my msn's [email protected] ...do add me up so that i can chat you sometime too lah

& yeap, seems like u are spot-on ab someone would "kepo" before you..& that's me lor! darn, i should hv been a tad more patient!! Now, everybody would know that nikki's not only old but kepo as well!
kao_angry.gif

Nikki,
Of course missed you lah! I didn't log on for one week cos moving house, and when I got back online, found out the thread was close to dying - so hopefully it's been resurrected

Age....is in the mind lah

tootsieroll, where did you move to? at the moment, the husband and i are still considering if we want to move - the apartment is just nice for the two of us and the baby at the moment and it's centrally located but once peanut grows up, we would definitely want more space for her .. aiyah, no more 'popping by' at orchard road if that were to happen.

hahahahah .. yes, but peanut's name is spelt differently - Sofi .. we even bought some iron-on decals to spell her name on her clothes .. hahahahah! so much free time on our hands ah ..

hi georgina!!!

kao_welcome2.gif

and congratulations on your pending nuptials. most of the ladies here are married to Germans but we do have the occasional Aussie, British, Canadian, Norwegian, etc. i have been married to a Swede since Jan 2006 and expecting to 'pop a sprog' - hahahahaha, deliver my baby girl soon. if you read the post and wondering what's the deal with peanut, that's her nick right now ..

are you planning to move to madrid after the wedding?

priscilla, yes very excited now. my next doctor's appointment is next week and we'll know then if she's coming in november or popping a surprise by arriving in mid-october instead. the husband and i went on a shopping spree yesterday - i've never spent so much money on her things in one day before .. i think it was close to $500. yikes - so expensive, babies are!

mrs n, as i have mentioned to tootsieroll, moving to a bigger place is something we will have to consider once peanut is wanting her own space .. aiyah, so many things to think about.

Cuclainne,
Where do you live now? We just moved about 5km from our old place, but it's a bigger house with more space to put all our barang in, and also the garden is enclosed, so I won't have to worry about Puppy running out to the road while I'm not watching. I highly recommend something bigger, cos you will definitely require more space - for one, where to put all the toys?!
In my antenatal class of 9 mothers, 4 of us have moved, or in the process of moving to a bigger place since the babies were born
Is your hubby permanently based in Sg? Btw, where did you buy all the baby products? I'm coming back to singapore in nov, plan to do baby shopping!

tootsieroll, we're currently renting a 2-bedroom/ 1-bathroom unit in a walk-up apartment just across the overhead bridge from Centrepoint. so near to Orchard yah! and the rent is cheap too - about $1.5K a month and the unit was renovated not too long ago.

ooh - we would definitely love to have an enclosed garden for peanut but to afford a place like that, we would really have to move out of the city limits and frankly the husband and i really love this apartment .. hahahaha, so tough .. obviously we want the best for peanut.

the husband holds a permanent job in singapore but we know that we will go back to sweden some day - just haven't decided when yet.

i bought bits and pieces here and there .. mothercare, guess and zara kids, kids mall, metro, robinsons, first few years, etc. takashimaya also holds the occasional baby fair at the B2 atrium which is worth visiting.

are you coming back for a holiday?

Hi ladies !!

de_luxe, Nikki & tootsieroll -- all my gfs used to envy me being a shoes buyer ( coz i buy using the company's $!!)but its actually not a glam job..lots of figures to look at, pressure and stress in getting the right designs..its a stressful job i must say ..but i love the job coz its very challenging and fun, lots of travelling to do ...

ok, now is story-telling time of how me and my HTB met... we met thru ICQ in 2004 !!! a pri school mate of mine asked me to join ICQ so we could talk online but we didnt get to talk at all, instead i got a message from a Spanish guy (i got a few messages from all over the world, like from aussies, swedish). We seldom talk coz i had a bf then and we only started to talk from march last year. He came to sg to visit me in sept and we clicked well. then i went madrid in nov to visit him and his family ( i Must ensure he comes from a nice family and indeed he has a nice family , his parents were friendly and so were his 3 brothers)I heard that Spanish, Italians and Greek are pretty family-oriented and its true his family has very strong family values ( i like that, which means he should be a good husband and father after marriage, hope i analyse correctly !!) you know, its hard to find nice guys nowadays !! and my single gfs kept asking if he has eligible friends and i said YES!! but all of you must learn to speak spanish !!! All my good friends met him and they like him :-) My family and relatives like him too, he came to sg again during CNY for 2 weeks and he bought me an engagement ring the last day he was here...I prepared our wedding all by myself coz he is still working in Madrid. he came in June again and we managed to get a BS and book The Oriental Hotel as our wedding venue. I filed our notice of marriage on sept 9 for Dec 9 soleminzation ( so Kiasu !! but no choice coz i heard it is a very popular date to get marry..i bought a suite package from lovethatbinds...just pay for the package and they do everything for you !!)

cualainne -- i like baby girl !! My FTB likes girl too so we hope we canhave a baby girl too !!:-) so nice coz you can dress her up !!

My msn id is [email protected], we can talk on msn when free !!

Wow suddenly this thread comes alive!

And heeee! I just learnt how to bold and colour the text! Yippie!!

toosieroll~
I like the way you said that this thread's "resurrected"
hahaha..

Georgina~
It's a very interesting job i must say! Oh which part of norway is your friend in? So far i managed to come across a SG lady who's married to a norwegian too but living near the north of norway. I've been kinda trying to 'search' for more Singapore girls married there or is about to be married there so as hoping to network! It's very important to have your own circle of singaporean friends when you're off to a completely different country i think! Yes dear, it's very expensive living there! I'm now watching my purse already..hahah..Hey, i met my FH also online in 2004!

Nikki~
Hey gal! hahah you're so cute leh!
Yeah! I'm looking for shoes now! Heee...shopping time! And hey maybe some makan huh?
Wait for an SMS from your 'bah bah' friend then!

Deluxe~
Gee thanks for the info i don't know there's a shoe shop there! Is the shoe comfy? Im rather particular when it comes to comfort, anyway, will try to go with Nikki when we go 'jalan jalan'! Thanks again har!

toosieroll,
Dont worry about no sales, my friend...if you havent noticed by now, Spore's always having sales every now & then...am sure there's bound to be some sort of sales going on once u are back ...happy shopping by then ; )

Gina,
wow...another lovely "creation" from the net =) ...The internet is truly amazing, isnt it? =)

Christie gal,
yes yes, shall wait for yr sms ...would be awesome to go shopping finally
...juz give me a buzz as & when lah =)

Jetzt, wo ist Pris??

Nikki Thanks for the offer. We've got a no. of agent contacts from other frens liao. Everyone claims their agent is good *scratch head* will check these out first. Thanks again anyhow.

tootsieroll I dun watch soccer both on the field n tv. He plays w a bunch of Norwegians at Pasir Panjang n the field is horrid, no seats, muddy, plenty of red ants n mozzies. They've recently formed some kind of mini league w some other teams. I sometimes follow him when he plays at other fields like the one near British Club which is far more decent. He doesn't support any team, usually goes for the underdog in watever match that's showing.
BTW, nov/dec will be the x'mas sales

The way u gals talk abt baby shopping... wow! Kids give a great excuse to shop! I've been shopping too (but for meself!) hehhehe... dunno why keep buying clothes just can't stop myself.. n i usually dun buy that much...

Gina I had my wedding at the oriental too. Used the harbour terrace. Who's ur co-ord?

U are right that the Spanish, Greeks & Italians r very family oriented. Usually mama calls the shots in the house. Southern European (including southern France) men are generally very "hot" blooded, charming and sweet talkers, compared to their northern counterparts... i had my fair share of them while living in France!!

chrisl yes the shoes r comfy, cuz u can choose to get padding n the shape of the front & heel. Bascially can choose every tiny detail, so u make it suit the shape of ur feet. How much better can u hope for? It's a small shop on the 1st flr, near to BK. The displays r not fantastic but dun get put off, their creativity is only limited to ur imagination. They also do custom from pics u show them but will cost slightly more. I think they r very reasonable, cost & time wise for custom made shoes. Takes abt 3wks to 1 mth if i remember correctly. Essex Walk charges abt $300 for custom made. And Paradox is the same price for off the shelf. If u choose white/cream satin as the material, they can dye it to other colours after the wedding for $15 so u can use again. I'm very happy w their service.

Sorry if i missed anyone's post... going to bed now. *yawn*

Pris,
Wo bist du? Bist du verschwunden?

Nikki,
I can't wait for sales...whenever come to Singapore, it is eating and shopping time hahaha

Gina,
Nice! It's funny the people you bump into on the net. I also 'found' my hubby on the net. I agree with you, must see the family to know what the guy is like. Mine comes from a big family, and I observed him being really good with his neices, so he's a family man, which is good. I need a man for my cousin, who's single and 37 too

Chrisl,
Wah, didn't know there are singaporeans as far north as the north of Norway! The poor lady must be freezing

Deluxe,
Wonder if there are many Scandinavians in Singapore?

tootsieroll, yup you should be in time for the christmas sales then .. but i thought there would be more choices back in the uk for baby things .. i knew i nearly went berserk buying things for my nephew when i was in london.

Lucky for me that the husband hates sports - so i don't have to put up with late night football matches, etc.

I think the largest community of Scandinavians in Singapore are the Norwegians, followed by the Swedes .. the Finnish community is quite small here.

I can't resist not to write even I am going to be late for class! Ha ha ha...

Gina, I am also in my 30s, 34 in fact in Sept. Hee hee! Marry late! Have to wait 2 yrs later to have a kid coz of study commitment. A tough decision to make! Biological clock is ticking!
Both of us want a baby so much but cannot lah....

O toost, my sis also in her 30s, younger than me, also looking for a man! Hee hee...

better go liao! Or else teacher will be mad!

Hardly see anyone online nowadays, guess wrong timing. Who else is in MSN BTW?

Hi to all the ladies! Tata!

HI
Elizabeth - my FH is also dutch and has the same name as well. We are goin to ROM in 3 weeks and I am looking for a photographer...care to share stuffs and lets chat?

tootsierool & gina yeah agree need to know the family first b4 committing. Same for me, i visited his family home just 6 mths after meeting him here. Think I was the only S'porean gf that went over... Was kind of early, i felt to go so soon, but i tot i would rather know sooner than later.

tootsie Quite a handful of Scandinavians here, they tend to come & go fairly quickly tho, avg abt 2-3 yrs. Some leave & return like prodigal sons. The Swedes n Norges play an annual football match every year at Clementi Stadium. Seems like quite a no of them ard whenever I go to this particular match when most turn up to support i guess. There are 2 distinct grps u see, the true blue expat cliche & the localized batch. Usually they dun really get along, if they r tog, it's mostly 1 grp or the other that's grinding its teeth & putting up w the situation. The true blues tend to be more attas n attend society dinners, charity functions & the like, whereas the localized ones dun really put on airs, mostly married locals, drink Tiger at coffee shops n hang out neighbourhood bars. Most of the football bunch belong to the latter grp. (No offence to anyone whose better half belong to either grp)

Jini welcome to the gang! Liz, u have company!! Just had my wedding in July, photographer is very good. His name is Edmund Leong and u can check out his webby at www.edmundleong.com. My wedding pics are posted on www.edmundleong.com/bertilcorinne . If u do go to him, say i recommended. He's young but really professional and nice, prompt w his replies and follow-ups. He's even too modest to upsell his own services!! That guy!! Rest assured that you'll be in good hands.

Chrisl -- my friend and her Norwagian husband live in singapore as they are both working here. Seems like there are a few of us who met our husbands or FB online!! I used to be skeptical about it but i guess its all fated (i used to date Singaporean chinese guys)Expect the unexpected...

Nikki -- hmmm...you know some Spanish huh?/;-) thats nice...i am still learning !!! got to know more words by end Dec...stress..

de_luxe -- we ae having our wedding dinner at the Garden Suite at level 5. Our co-or is Loh Yiwen, nice lady.. oh!! i saw your wedding pics on the website..its beautiful..very nice couple :-) i will post mine when i got them..we decided not to take indoor/outdoor photos , just AD photos will do so we will take more pics..

tootsieroll --- quite a number of my gfs are single..they are pretty, have a nice career but just cant find someone to share their life with..i guess lots of Singaporean gals are having this problems...and lots of them are turning to the net to search for their other half...i am sure we will have more 'newcomers' here soon !!!:-)

i am actually in perth now, holidaying , kinda cold now but nice weather so far....the kids stores here have really nice kids stuff especially for the girls !!! when i see all those cute, pink, girly stuff, how i wish i have a little girl now !!!!!!!! And best of all, they are having sales now !!!

Hi Georgina

Thanks for the compliments.
Edmund is the one who really deserves them, his photo editing skills are so good. He really enhances the background and lighting to make the pics look gd but not artifical. I compared the unedited ones with the edited ones and could really see the difference. The decor of the dinner venue was conceptualized by little old me.

Don't know Yiwen, but heard her name b4. She just joined in July. I had a hard time with Oriental cuz sway sway, the crunch time for my planning had to coincide with a major turnover in their dept. I had to deal with 3 diff co-ord n go through things again & again. It was hell. The 1st co-ord I had also wasn't very professional, made mistakes early on n quoted ridiculous prices for simple things. The only reason we booked the place was cuz they could do the menu we wanted n the Harbour Terrace was beautiful.

Plus the 3rd person who took over just 3 wks prior to the wedding was taking on someone else's work in addition to his own so he was super busy and never replied to my emails, left things out etc etc etc... the list goes on. I guess he tried his best but I was just so fustrated already at that point that it was of little help/comfort. Being someone from the industry (I used to do the very same job, but for corp clients) it was totally unacceptable. And I could also tell that the sales dept had communication problems with the banquet dept. I was really quite pissed off at times.

I saw the Garden Suite, it's nice & intimate. Are you doing a full-blown Chinese dinner? Was considering that but at the time of booking, it seemed dangerously too small for our potential guest list. In the end we used the foyer for the tea ceremony n the actual room was the bad weather back-up venue for the solemnization. This happened bcuz the 1st co-ord din plan the back-up properly and 1 month prior I was left stranded w/out a tea ceremony room and a back-up venue for the solemnization (even tho this was all in the contract) as all the rooms were booked for some conference except Garden Suite. Obviously I made a fuss and they had to find a solution at no cost to us.

Anyway, it's over. Hope your experience will be better than mine. It's a beautiful venue after the renovation. Pity about the sales service...

Enjoy your hols!! I'm envious... wanna go too!

tootsieroll,

I guess we girls are so used to eating, shopping...shopping, eating in SIN that the min we came home...it's eating & shopping time...at least, that was how it is for me

Liz,
Seems like we share the same passion for the little ones ; ) ...i love to have my own soon too but oh well, i guess there are certain things that juz cant be rushed!
kao_sad2.gif

Jini,
Welcome to the club
kao_welcome2.gif
& congrats on yr forthcoming ROM ...do show us yr ROM pics soon ya =)

de_luxe,
lovely pictures...makes me wanna get mine done tomorrow! kekeke ...let's pray hard that mine's gonna turn out juz as pretty as you gals had! *envy envy*

Gina,
My spanish's not good enough to brag lah ...juz a few words here & there
... i was in Chile for 3months back in Feb this year...their main language is Spanish as well hence i guess that's how i picked up a word or two lor ...lol

Best of luck with yr Spanish...am sure by end of Dec, yr Spanish would be better than a Spanish cow ...
...*not sure if u gals would get my joke but oh well, am weird as u gals probably know by now* ...kekeke

to all the rest of the ladies,
stay well

M down w a recurring migraine & throat infection (feels like a sore throat, only more itchy & dry). All the water in the world doesn't seem to help. M on MC but have to work from home cuz of a deadline.

Thanks for the compliments Nikki. Dun worry abt ur pics, u're photogenic so will sure look nice, if not shoot the photographer!! I'm surprised by how good they turned out cuz I was really more fustrated than happy that day but it obviously doesn't show.

Ladies, check out this link from IndigNation - mrbrownshow.com (TURN ON YOUR SPEAKERS!!) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZRpcrYuBnVA

Says who S'poreans are an oppressed lot? Here's a very good, under-the-belt jab at our "ga-men" (i.e. government) the ang mo's prob won't understand everything! :p Have a gd laugh... certainly cheered me up on my MC day tho i can't sing along to the catchy tune.

Hi gals !!! wow, its friday !! wish all of you a nice weekend ahead!

My FH always says i only know how to eat and shop and calls me piggy (i am only 45 kg !!! i ought to eat more right?/;-)) So i told him this is how Singaporeans live !!! eat and shop !! haha !!

Welcome to the club, jini !!

Hope you are better now, de_luxe...maybe you can drink more honey + lemon drinks, good for throat..

ai ya ya...you are scaring me, man !!! so far so good with my meeting with the co-or (touchwood !!)Hope everything will be OK then !! am meeting her in nov to finalise floral arrangement and menu

cool, Nikki !!! 3 mths in Chile !!! You were there for work?? I never been to South America but ever thought of visiting Mexico coz i used to have a mexcian flat mate while studying in England..

hi deLuxe,

yes, we are having a full-blown 9 course chinese dinner, the max no, of table is 15 for the garden suite and we have 140 guests so far, so still OK , 1 spare table left just in case my mom or dad inviting more friends..i saw the hotel's website and the wedding package has slighty changed, for eg, 1 nite stay instead of 2 nites stay at the hotel if you book the wedding dinner at garden suite.. oh!! i havent taken a look at the bridal suite, how is it? coz the last time we were there, it was occupied so couldnt go in..

Wow this has been a real 'happening' week with so many posts!

kao_welcome.gif
to Jini. Hope your ROM goes well.

Hey Gina me also in the 30 somethings. Give you a hint am a year older than Liz.
Haha we would like to have kids soon too but ... such things are all in God's time, so no use planning. It will come when it comes if it doesn't ... we'll adopt.
It is true that not all guys are crazy about football, me hubby is no football fan either. Oooh see you studied in England, whereabouts did you study?

de-luxe hope you are enjoying a rest at home and not working too hard.
Get better soon ya?

Nikki & Chrisl trust you had a fun time shoe shopping. Eh Nikki didn't know that cows 'mooed' in Spanish!
Just joking!

Hi Liz glad to have catch you online a few days ago. Been busy with so many things. Hee! Hee! If I remember correctly, besides Jini I think there used to be another girl on this forum with a Dutch fiance. She sort of stuck in my mind b'cos of her very biological username, 'Amoeba' I think it was. Hasn't come on here for a long while, she was also in the Catholic thread at one time. So there is quite a small Dutch community somewhere around here too.

Freaky how are you coping in Bournemouth? I'm guessing it's taking quite a while to get your internet set up. Look forward to your return.

Cuclainne everything ok with you? Its already well into the first week of October, is Peanut about to 'pop' anytime soon?

Hi to Pris & Tootsieroll hope you gals are not freezing! Weather's turn cold ... and rainy! Wonderful!!!

Have a nice weekend everyone.

Hi dear girls!

Aiyoh, sorry sorry - have been reading the posts but always no time to respond n the thread moves super duperly fast!

Well, I´ve started taking beginner guitar course at the community club here, only 5€ per session,45 mins... so that´s very reasonable. Plus my integration course (intensive german class) is starting in 1 week´s time... so its revision time for me before school starts... Plus my hubby and I have agreed to cell group leaders to a youth group... just met them on tues and boy! Am I scared or what, everybody speaks german and I´m like "GOD! PLS HELP ME!" But its been good, cos God has been confirming our decision to be cell leaders for this bunch and we´re just going to depend on God. ANd the scary part is that I probably have to cook dinner for them too... its like 10 to 15 youths (16 and 17yrs old), they meet every tues. I used to serve in the youth ministry in my church in singapore too but its kinna different, the youths here somehow look older than those I had in singapore....

Oh,talking about babies.... two ppl I know (one very close) gave birth to a boy and a girl 1 week apart from each other. One in singapore and one in US. Wow.. the US one is a eurasian.... so so so cool.... and guess how old the mother is? She´s 23yrs old and hubby is 24.... both parents already.....

Yah, so I´m a bit in a want-to-have-a-baby-for-the-fun-of-it mood.. but I know that my mood changes erratically... so I´m not going to do anything without thinking....

Anyways, I´m still settling into Germany... Sometimes I feel more settled already, but I think my body thinks otherwise. I haven´t had my period in like 2.5 months already! Ahhhh.... and NO I´m not pregnant checked already. But I think the stress of moving away from Singapore and settling into a new environment is taking its toil on my hormones! I normally have irregular period, but this is a first for me.... normally I miss 1 month of period max.... 2.5 is crazy....Anyways, enuff of my ramblings.....

Nikki Hihi, I´m back! Yup, u disappeared for a while too! Were u v. bz at yr work? Hee. How´s yr wedding preparations coming along? I can faint from the german overload here.... quite thankful that got some background before I came here, but it still gets frustrating sometimes....

Tootsieroll Hey hey! Ich bin noch hier. Ich habe nicht verschwinden! hey.. how´s yr settling in coming along? Enjoy reading yr blog!

Deluxe Hey girl, u´re working so hard! Good to see your posts more regularly now! But yah, do give yourself a well-deserved rest whenever u need it! Oh and i saw your photos as well! I think the photos are very nostalgic like those in the "olden-days" with all the chinese traditions and stuff! Really cool! And yup, the photos r v. well taken, really love the venue of the trees n all.

Mrs N Hey! Yup yup! I´m freezing my butts off! Its crazy man, I was revising my german yesterday and I kept shivering! Then I realized at the end of the day that it was 10 degrees outside! Wah ..... not used to have to wear jackets in the house....U love cold weather??? I thought u´re scared of cold??? hee

Georgina Hey! I miss shoppin n eating in singapore! Wah, I dream of singapore food almost every other day... I´m so used to it already.... that sometimes in my dream I have to remind myself that its only a dream, so that I don´t feel sad when I wake up and miss the yummy hawker food... my hubby and I are like going to eat sakae sushi the first thing we do at the airport! Hahah.

Liz What time r u usually on MSN? I don´t see u too! Maybe cos my timing on MSN is quite irregular these days....

Ok! Blessed weekend everybody!
God bless....
luv pris

hi girls !!

nice weather in perth now, i like the sky very much, so blue and no clouds at all...not going out today , staying at home ( my brother's place) and going out for dinner much later..so can surf the net !!

hmmm..mrs. N...you are only a year older than Liz, so still young ;-)Must always feel young at heart !!! I studied at Oxford brookes Uni , majoring in Retail Mgt many years back, in 1997..gosh !! almost 10 years ago !!People always say Uk has groomy weather, but i somehow liked it coz its like having air-con all year round !!

cuclainne -- how are you and peanut??? If we dont hear from you for these few days, can we presume peanut is out?/;-) Congrads in advance !!

pris -- when i was in madrid last nov for 3 weeks, i craved for chinese food too !! so i had it almost every other day till my FH complained !! Spanish food is nice too and the food is cooked using olive oil but i still perfer chinese food afterall !! I still prefer kalai , xiao baichay or chinese spinach then eating cold salad !! and steamed fish !! So got to learn how to cook from my mom..didnt cook for almost 10 years after graduation..

Georgina Dun worry lah, i guess the catering sales dept has settled down somewhat n turnover is lower. Prob i was just unlucky to kenna them during their period of upheaval. Dunno Yiwen personally so obviously I can't comment on her service. Lee Thiang is the florist n she is very gd. Do let them know if u have anything in mind. If u ever get the feeling that something is not quite right w Oriental, just let me know, i can help u to check through the event order.

The bridal suite is quite nice. We choose the harbourview over the city view, obviously for the view lah. City view is bigger but we din need the space. 1 nite is enuff. We stayed 2 n got quite bored.

Thanks for the compliments Pris. Good to know that u r settling down. Dun worry abt the language. Took me a yr in France to get the hang of French n ur command of German is already better than what i had for French. As long as u have sufficient contact w the language, u'll pick it up quite quickly. Typically when learning a new language, there will be times when u hit a plateau n can't absorb anymore for the time being. Just dun get fustrated when that happens. It's normal!!!

Yah wonder where's cuclainne and the rest? Hope all's well..

Geez... i really wish to have the weather that those of u outside S'pore are having. The haze here, particularly where we r living is super bad, very smoky n smells like burning. Visibility is like 2-3m at most. Have to keep windows closed else we can't breathe properly. The apt is stuffy n warm but wat else can we do when we dun have an aircon?

Hi ladies!

Yeah agree with deluxe. The haze is rather bad esp i live in the east (hey deluxe do you live near here too?), and my nose is starting to get sneezy and throat is kinda funny and as im typing this i just checked that the PSI index goes up to 143! Yikes! Feel that my insides are filled with carbon!
hope it'll turn clear soon..

Btw, saw your photos! Great work! Did you engaged those 2 male singers with guitars to add a bit of musical elements to the wedding? Or are they someone you know? Cos im thinking of engaging some groups to sing/perform, any recommendations?

georginaOh! That's nice! I don't know of any gal here whose HB's a norwegian - apart from the one i have contact with currently but she's there in norge. Actually i was trying to look for norwegian language classes sometime last year but unfortunately no language schools offered that and also coupled with not knowing anyone norwegian here so i had that off from my mind. Yes, i too had my fair share of local guys (sorry but no offence if any local guys reading this)- anyway I think i'm not fated with them lah. One was particularly physically and emotionally violent with me so i called it quits! Yup expect the unexpected! Found my FH who's really a nice-farm boy next door! Thank God for that!
But i have to also say that the net has all sorts of people! I once met another caucasian guy (before my FH) who wanted only physical fling! So bye to that as well! In a way we have to practice our caution! Oh! Enjoy your holidays!

tootsierollyup there is and well..i think she's pretty used to it already. There was once i remembered - last summer to be exact, when i touched down Oslo, i was freezing (temp was like 18DegC)even till later when i got to the bed and breakfast, the 1st thing i did after washing my face and a fast&really warm shower was to 'hide' under the wool blankets! But then 2 days later i ventured out only in my thin 'normal' 3/4 sleeves cardigan (for SG weather) and a tank top and jeans (temperature dipped to 10DegC)! And there i was at the bus stop eating my ice-cream and commenting to my FH that "it's not that cold" hahaa...i guess it's a matter of getting used to it all

Mrs N
Nope didn't managed to due to changes-We're planning our shopping next sat instead! So meanwhile hope the haze clears up else i think we might have to also postphone our shopping spree again..

Mrs N / Eliz Age's not a matter lah! It's God's grace to us i feel. I have a friend who's married in her mid 30s and started her family late now she's early 40s blessed with 2 small cutie preschool children! She's following God's direction in her life i feel..

Pris2.5mths is strange to me...mine's rather prompt always. Did you do a DIY test kit? But better go to the doc to be more sure leh i think..

Jini welcome gal!
kao_welcome.gif

PSI is down to 35!!! Yay yay yay! :D

I'm still coughing cuz the throat's dry & itchy as ever but at least with the haze better, there's hope of me recovering! Coughed myself awake this Sunday morning at 8.30am!! *groan* Can't even sleep in on a Sunday....

Chrisl We live in the far West, on NTU campus. Think it's as bad here as in the east cuz it's close to the coast. And this being close to the industrial areas like Jurong Island, doesn't help. We went to view some apts in Bukit Timah and the air quality there was much better. Now debating the pros & cons of the apts that we've seen and shortlisted...

Thanks for the compliments. We engaged them cuz I insisted on "live" entertainment. Totally hate piped-in music n the lull when nothing happens on stage. We could afford this two only bcuz one of my bridesmaid paid 50% as our wedding gift. She wanted to pay 100% but we felt it was too much.

The Indian guy (Rai) is the lead singer of EIC (www.eic.com.sg) n the other guy (Ngak) plays with them sometimes at Timbre at The Substation. We were supposed to get the 2 lead singers of EIC i.e. Rai and Jack but Jack had some school exchange thing that clashed w the date so Ngak was his replacement. They charge $500 per performer and pretty much played all night for us that evening (from abt 7 till abt 11), with some short breaks in btwn and everyone loved the music. We paid for their dinner which wasn't much and also gave them a nominal sum for ang bao. I think it was a great deal. Suppose you can find cheaper pple on the mkt but I dunno how flexible they are with the length of time they are willing to play. Usually they charge in blocks of 45-min. If you wanna listen to EIC, the whole band plays every Friday from 9.30pm (i think) at Wala Wala (Holland V) n Rai and Jack do acoustics on Sunday nites from 9pm. They also play at Balaclava at Suntec but I'm not sure when. Let me know if u r interested n i'll put u in touch with Jack (he's the more biz-minded of the two, Rai's totally into his music n is less prompt n detailed w his email replies).

I do know a number of Norwegians since my HB plays football w them. If your FH is coming by n likes soccer, they play every Sat at 5 in Pasir Panjang then will walk down to a zi-char place for beer n dinner. They're relatively open to new-comers esp fellow Norges. Guess even if he doesn't like soccer, it's a gd place to network. Think they all contribute a nominal amt (shld be $50) per month for the pitch rental.

Wow... ur x-bf was physically n emotionally abusive... good that u found the guts to leave the r/s. Many seem to be trapped in such r/s for 1 reason or another.

I've never dated anyone online b4. Have dated a variety of pple with different nationalities, religions n backgrds tho... strangely only 1 S'porean-Chinese who turned out to be a creep. I do think it's the upbringing n environment that makes a person the way he/she is, not the nationality. It really takes more than love to make a r/s work. Been there, done that. Never dreamed or planned or intended or imagined that i would end up with an ang mo and a German one at that! Plus when we started out, I wasn't even serious, thot he's just a typical expat who wanted a fling. I was ok w that at that time cuz I just came out from a bad breakup and wasn't looking for committment of any sort.

I do have frens who die die want to marry only ang mos... Dun understand why.. the local guys can't be THAT bad. They pretty much envy me now, tho I tell them that being w an ang mo is not a bed of roses. The culture differences create a lot of work!!

Ladies, I am still around ... just have been massive busy and tired (!!). Spent all of last week teaching the temp staff to have her quit on Friday morning .. darn! She said it's too much work for her to handle and she's not prepared .. hmmm... anyways, new temp will be coming today so have to rewind myself again. Sigh ..

On a brighter note, the baby things arrived at our home and the husband and I have set up the cot in our bedroom. Everything is almost complete - I just have to settle my hospital bag and we are ready to have her!! Hahahaha!

Will keep you ladies posted.

hi girls !!!

i am going home tonite !! hope the weather back home is better now, not that hazy anymore.

poor girl..hope u find another temp soon ...and at the meantime, relax !! :-)

yes, de_luxe, local guys arent THAT bad..just that we didnt get to know the BETTER ones !!! like what we always say, good ones are taken !! I agree with you that the culture differences require you to put in more efforts ...Thanks for the oriental hotel's info :-) hope i dont have to bother you abt the event order!!Ok, noted, we will get the suite with harbourview too, i like to look at sea ...

chrisl...my friend (she is my best friend's good friend, i am not very close to her but i have known her for at least 15 years)doesnt really know how to speak Norwagian either, she and her husband communicate via english..

hey, pris, i was from MGS too !! think i graduated in 1985 or 6...wah !!! 20 years ago !!

hey cuclainne,

yr temp blew u off??...gee, sorry to hear that...whereas am chessed off by my temp job over here...wonder why people can be this mean! *sigh* ...u wanna employ me instead??..lol ...Do take things easy ya since u are delivering real soon ...best wishes for a smooth delivery from nikki

Wow, so many posts.

Cuclainne,
When's baby due again? Hope baby comes on time and have a safe delivery. Where are you having Peanut delivered?

Deluxe,
Super Farnie sia, that YouTube link
I laughed until almost fall off chair. Hosan Leong was so camp, but Garmen say gay is OK anyway

Chrisl,
Glad you saw the back of that idiot who mistreated you. I've had my share of creeps, and I suppose it only makes you stronger, and then you realise what you're really looking for in a life's partner.

Pris,
How's guitar lessons?