Any 19 Sept 2009 brides?

grace --> hmm...still thinking whether I should have MTM or OTR coz if end up i choose OTR for my gowns... I can have 3 photos more...but I think i will choose OTR coz i can see the real piece.... juz do some editing if the gown is nice...

Ok....i think i will call them and ask when their new gowns come in sept / oct...then choose the gowns early before others brides reserve...rite?

But so early call them...will they think why this couple so kiasu...AD is 1yr apart... hahaha...

well, really depends on ur preference lah...not everyone likes MTM cos abit more leh cheh...but some prefer OTR for the same reasons as u...how much is ur top up price per pic? if almost $100 per pic and if u like the gowns OTR, then just take OTR gowns lah...anyway, MTM u also can't keep mah...

huh? u mean, the new gowns is only coming in sept/oct every yr?? how come only once nia?

like tat ar, if u take OTR, then take tis sept/oct for ur PS first...then ask them if u can re-select again for ur AD next yr...cos i'm sure there's more new gowns cos every yr wedding fashion change mah

Nono...i means i will call and ask them in sept to check when the new gowns come...

Feel more and more exciting...1yr more will be our AD le...haha...

hehehe...okok, understand now...

hahhaa...me too...tat day tok to my hb then he said he's also feeling super excited now although it's abt 1 yr n 2 mths away....

Haha...however, we have not complete our part time bachelor course...cant really 100% enjoy.... Really hope course can finish soonest and we can put our 100% attention on wedding preparation le...

wah...u retook some topics is it? aiyah, dun worry lah...ur wedding will be a motivator for u to finish and graduate

no leh...but i saw Celebrity Nails' salon before...looks so-so nia leh...

nowadays i go to this Grandeur Nails near my office...v nice the way they paint...quite pro...and cheaper than usual...

Yaya...I failed one module and need re-take...

Izzit...How much for tt? Coz last yr my ROM Medi and Pedi with nail arts was done in JB...becoz their skill is really powerful and half price in SG if do the same quality... but find it quite troublesome and I also dont really dare to anyhow find a shop to do my medi and pedi for PS and AD... tt why see who can give good suggestion...haha...

hahhaa...then u find rite person liao...i siao abt mani/pedi one lah...

btw, u went to where to do ur nails in JB? holiday plaza? tat time i went to city plaza...the gal paint liao so-so nia leh...dunno is it my std v high or wat...haiz...

but for me, i just feel tat i rather pay abit more for the quality n workmanship...the one i go to now is highly recommended...cheaper than the usual shops...and they dun keep telling u to top up money for the pedi soak lah blah blah crap...

if u want, i can give u the contact n u try for 1 normal mani/pedi first before ur PS or AD then decide lah...so far, i tried so many shops...tis is one of the few tat really impress me...only S$28 for usual pedicure...v cheap lah...other shops mostly S$35 n above

Yaya... $28 for pedi is cheap... I always sign up package at Jurong Point $100 for 5 sessions (medi) and $150 for 5 sessions (pedi)... but i dont reli like their skill coz they are like juz anyhow colour then done... but the shop in JB I think is holiday plaza...they open another new big shop beside their old shop... their are the biggest shop in holiday plaza... and their skill is really good... but juz too far for us... haha..

Yaya...u give me their contact... I will try one day,... izzit a shop?

the Jurong Point one is tat shop which is pink in colour rite? now can't remember the name...hahhaa...their painting quite jialat leh...my frd say tat they cut her cuticles until it bled...i was like...faintz...

hahhaa...holiday plaza got so many shops doing mani/pedi man...i go there see also luan...then decided not to do liao...wait suay suay go to some lau ya skilled gal then kns man...

sure, u can try Grandeur Nail at 6238 5756...it's at Raffles Place, The Arcade 2nd floor...go up the escalator from Bengawan Solo n once u reach 2nd floor, u can see the shop on your right..

Gals..

We are going back China in Oct...So will go for our 1st PS in China 1st... just want to check with u gals, which hair colour u all prefer for PS? our natual hair colour lei, or wana dye some other colour? I'm abit confuse, worry if I dye any of the colour for our PS in coming Oct, it will affect the results or it wont look natural anymore or even, after 10-20yrs, their hair colour will look old-fashin then faint..haha...

Yaya...I'm actually thinking of tt colour too... those red tt onli can see under the sun...but at normal place, it's look like black...

for me, i prefer reddishown tone with brown tone highlights so tat when PS PG take ur hair, there's varying tones...but try not to do too close to ur PS hor...

Hey All 19092009/ 20092009 BTB,

The Tong Shu 2009 is out. Im wondering how many of you have checked on this date?
I went to one geomancer, and he said 20092009 not an good day for wedding based on 2009 Tong Shu. I will be going to a 2nd geomancer for 2nd opinion before I make any slight changes.

He has also told me 19th Sept 2009 is also not a good day for wedding.

Please share if any of you have went to consult on 19th/ 20th Sept 2009.

glamourous, not sure abt that...cos we dun have to consult tong shu since we both christian...yeah, but heard abt 19/09/09 not good for rooster....dunno lah...

i mean, no point if u ask any of us if we did consult any shifu cos i tik the specific date for each couple shd be diff cos not everyone is born in same year and also, not everyone's hb born in same year rite??

i tik u shd consult the shifu again if u really want

yaya 19/09/09 is nt a gd date..as my bf is under rooster..this yr 27yrs old..but in chinese is 29yrs old..but the thing is my bf is born in the yr of monkey, if counting under chinese..
so at least nbr "chong"..but dono la..we still go ahead with this date lo

Stella,

dunno lah...at first we tot it was a nice date to remember...19092009 so he can't forget our anniversary n besides, my mum prefers our wedding to be on a sat...so we just shun her also loh...if not, we wanted 20092009...

wat i heard frm my frd is, even if the year is not good for wedding or date not good for wedding also v dependent on individual cos have to see wat yr u r born in n wat yr ur hb is born in loh...

not sure leh....for myself, i also same as ur bf -rooster...but my bf is yr of snake...so dunno lah...

anyway, we were tiking, alrd choose liao, dun care lah....tik more then wait got to pay compensation for changing date....aiyah, mai lah...

Hi All, i will be changing my wedding date to 15/11/09 tentatively. My mum do nt like the date as it is an auspicious date lo..
Having second thoughts, yah wedding is a life time thingy, musnt mess around. So well, will nt be able to stay on this thread le.

Hi Stella,

I agree with you.

But I found out something interesting to share with all too. Some geomancers use Tong Shu, and mix it with Ba Zhi. I will be using the Chinese Lunar Calendar (You know those that you tear the pages, page by page kind) to determine the date and time.

That will be good enough for me. I just need to know which will be a better day for Customary - 20th or 21st Sept thats all and considered as "JI" Day in the calendar can already. As long it doesnt clash with us, and both side parents, we are ok with it.

Check this out too.
http://verywed.com/lunar/doLunar.php?fromYear=2009&fromMonth=9&toYear=2009&toMonth=9&ifWeekend=0&event=%E5%AB%81%E5%A8%B6&startIdx=5&layout=popup_layout

Also this very useful website:
http://www.chinese-wedding-guide.com/index.html

The website above actually mention about auspicious dates and how to derive it. My Parents and PIL only want us base on Chinese Calendar, dont want us go into extend of fortune teller or Ba Zhi as they also say some are not accurate. As long its a "JI" DAY on calendar, we will go ahead.

http://www.chinese-wedding-guide.com/chinese-calendar.html

Also to my understanding,

19th Sept 2009 - Clash with Rooster
20th Sept 2009 - Clash with Dog
21st Sept 2009 - Clash with Pig

I didnt bother find out before 19th Sept 2009 as its the Lunar 7th Month.

For both cases of 20th and 21st, I dont have any Dog or Pig in both family. So still okay if we settle for either. Just that if its 1 day wedding quite rush. I actually prefer spilt days wedding though the charges may be slightly higher.

Need to find out the "YI" and "JI" day for both dates. Anyone has any idea when the Chinese Calendar will be release in the market?

19 Sept 09 fall on lunar 1st Aug ya...
but anyway, everything has already fixed and we dont really worry much for the date since it's already over lunar mth of July.

yeah, 19 sept 2009 is 1st day of 8th lunar mth...definitely not 7th lunar month lah..

likewise with Fish, most of our stuff alrd fixed...for us, we not really into the chinese calendar thingy as long as it doesn't fall on 7th mth can liao...

yaya... everything fixed le and it's impossible to change anything now le...and both our parent and ourselves are not born in yr of Rooster so it wont Clash.... haha...

But still.. Will buy one 'tong shu' for 2008...

yah stella. by nov 09, all of us here would have gone thru the big day so we can give u useful tips. hahaha!

Hmm...what we will be doing is...go do facial often and trying to slim down... prepare ourselves be more pretty....

Then will look for the latest wedding gowns design from website/magazine....then save it somewhere to show to the bridal shop when choosing gowns for PS and AD....

Another thing, try to record those information which I think is useful for us... then try to always update the guestlists..whoever we think we going to invite / not invite... AD schedules and etc...

Try to spread the workload evently so that we wont get too busy and tried with all the small small things....

hehehe...yeah, tat's a good point....

but then ar, i tik i super damn advanced leh...the wedding gown designs lah, flowers lah, wedding favours lah, AD schedule, guestlist, invitation card design, angbao list...mostly done liao leh...shit man...i tik i super damn KS man..:P

yeah, now must slim down more...managed to lose some liao...must kambatei more n more before dec!!!

hehhee...Anita, so which are ur final shortlisted venues?? Shang? Oriental?

hehehe...anyway for the rest u can still rest abit, impt thing is the banquet...better do it fast cos seems tat alot of ppl going to get married on 19, 20 n 21 sept...

hey grace, yeah we have shorlisted shang and hyatt. trying to get a good deal. now quite tired of doing the math already. just feel like making a decision. haha

totally understand...we also having lots of headaches with the budget calculation n decision making...

i guess the only prob is, ur final decision will impact lots of stuff...so just tik carefully...

went for a hyatt wedding abt 2 yrs ago...honestly, food ain't tat fantastic...nothing impressive too...not sure if they have changed anything as of now...anyway, just some opinions, tat's all

Are you ladies house-hunting at the moment?
I visited the recently talked about Park Central @ AMK which is the third project under the Housing Board's "Design, Build and Sell Scheme".

The media's right about it! Literally thousands thronged the showflats. I was on leave last Thursday & visited the showflat in the evening. There was hardly any space to walk about!

I kinda like the place because coincidentally, the block behind the soon-to-be-built flats is my grandparents place.. So growing up there, I was naturally was comfortable with the area...

The units are about S$400,000 for a four-room flat and up to S$550,000 for a five-room unit. I think it might peak to $600,000 over.

My HTB & I thought it's a little pricy... But I thought the location was good.. plus we'll have less of a headache getting the reno done since its all brand new. Drawbacks would be the key collection date, pricing & a slight design inconvenience.

Any thoughts on this?

WAH... it's SO EXPENSIVE...our house onli $250K for a new premium 5 room flat....but it's at Jurong west..but it's just beside the new build up MRT extension and Jurong west sport stadium....
$400K for 4room and $550K for 5room...it's really expensive wor....

*sobz* yeah... It IS expensive.

But we are really looking into the Bishan, Sin Ming, AMK area.. which translates to higher priced units because of the location. Reason being, the location is near our church, my parent's house, work place etc... That's why

Fish: Have you moved into your place? Actually, we did consider Jurong area as one of our choices, but we've yet to look into the flats there...

How do you find it there?

hi shiner, i think the most important thing is for u and yr htb to be comfortable with the area and yr purchase. my fiance and myself got the cityview at boon keng at 580k. but after half a year we still feel very pleased with our purchase. of course the downside to this is coming up with 5% cash upfrnt. but if u think abt it, u need not even come up with much for reno. actually u dun even need reno cos everything, up to the stove/aircon/wardrobe/toilet basin/mirror is all provided. all u need to do is move in! n our flat is on the 39th flr!

Shiner..

Ya...we moved in on 31 Jan this year... Renovation was done before tt.... we purchase the flat is because my parent house is only 5min walk distance...tt flat was bought before the HDB increase the price...now the flat there was $300K-500K for 5 room flat too le...

But if it's near ur church, ur parent's house and work place and most important is u and ur HB are comfortable with tt area, just try to get one because now the market is like demand higher than supply...lots of my frenzs who get married le but stay with HB's family because they cant buy a flat...

Hi Anita & Fish,

Thanks for sharing your experiences with me...

Glad that you girls have found your love nest

I do agree with you on the pointers raised, I will really consider.

We've applied for it, but right now we are waiting for the balloting. *cross fingers*
I hope we'll get a good number (then again, everyone's hoping the same too..)

If we do get a good queue number... then I guess we'll proceed to the next step.

A step at a time I guess! *grin*

hehehe....for a while, i tot the thread was so painfully quiet...

i guess like some of the reasons both Anita n Fish have alrd mentioned, u have to consider all aspects carefully...i'm sure u wouldn't want to buy ur flat on impulse...

anyhow, everyone have their reasons for wanting to get flats in any certain area or size of flat etc etc...just ensure tat u get a flat somewhere convenient...even if the location is not ideal like if ur flat is frm one end of west or east n to reach ur office which is raffles place, it's still ok...as long as ur place is within walking distance to mrt or sth...

also, u have to consider other aspects like the available amenities to ur area, distance to places u usually frequent like ur MIL's house, ur parent's house, ur church or watever, ur workplace, available foodplaces, market, etc etc

good luck, shiner!!! i hope to start my search soon also

Hee...

Thanks for all the inputs

All the best for house hunting Grace!

What's everyone doing at this point? I suppose some of us are hotel-hunting... house-hunting... haha... anything else on the to-do list?

(",)

haha...seems I do nothing except doing more exercise and visit London Weight Management often to reduce my weight..haha...because I'm preparing to take our 1st Bridal Shooting in Oct when we visit my grandparent in China...Will find a bridal shop in China and request them to take more outdoor for us...haha... As for the Bridal Shooting in Singapore, have already found and signed up with them last yr but will be done in Mar-Apr nx yr le...

So now my target is get rid my tummy as well as the my arm's 'butterfly'...haha...

shiner, hotel hunting?? going hol?? nah, going bkk end aug with comp for our annual D&D cum comp trip...other than tat, not much stuff...

oh yeah, u booked ur AD venue n BS liao rite?? wat abt ur AD PG n VG? if tat's done, i tik u r quite on the track...

for me, i also same as Fish...but not so rich like her go to London Weight Management...hehehhee....i go to gym v frequently so lose more fats n tone up body...my PS in Dec tis yr...so need to jiayou!!

wondering if Anita booked her venue yet??