Amara Singapore

Hos: Wah, at first felt that quite cheap leh, only $2880 aft reading wah lao, so x ah!!! Somemore no car included. Think have to find another package liao.

Louie: Yap, thought of trying my luck on the lucky draw at The Oriental bridal show, very attractive, $10,000 worth of banquet voucher if forfeit the $3,000 + $688 ang pao, still "wu hua" leh. Anybody going har? Are you sure we have to pay? I oso thought it was free. Somemore can taste their food.

May: I went into Graceful Image website to take a look at their gowns and photo shoots, doesn't really attracts me leh. I feel that J&C is better.

LEO: you register for the graceful image already? I sent fax yesterday but no news.

Anyone else interested to go for the show?

May : Not yet, only planning to go, still not confirm yet must check with hubby whether free to go or not.

hi all...... i think the show at oriental is free... just saw an email sent to me by femalebridesonline! i can't go cos would be at malacca for the weekend! so sad... i hope to take a look at the ballroom mah!!!

may2003: hmmm....been to flamingo... feel that their gowns are pretty simple and the quality are so-so only!!! apologies, have not heard of bridal creations before!!! not sure how much a wedding planner would cost... i think depends on how much work you need her to do for you.... guess it could range $1k to about $3k.... that's my guess though...

i'm not sure about graceful image, but i knew couple of them who have bad experience with them so i didn't really go visit them!!

hey, btw... are you all looking for actual day photographer too? i have met choon huat and saw his work... pretty sharp pict he took... and we are still sourcing around loh. so any good recommendations?

oh, if anyone interested with allure charix, they have a show at grand copthorne on 19th july. i would be there with a gf. acutally i have been to allure charix too... but i felt their gowns also on the simple classic side... and when i tried them on... they just don't flow on my body at all.... maybe the lady has chosen the gowns too big for me!! so verdict is: designs are nice but just don't 'stick' on the body well!!!

Hi gals...

This thread is really HOT during the daytime...hee hee... me only can log in during nites... miss out all the fun!

Leo, may: I sent u email regarding the bridal show, its free. My mistake! Thats for Graceful Image, not Margaret brides rite?? *confused* I agree its very far away... read the thread in the forum, quite a lot of different comments! Leo, if you need company to go if your hubby not free... i can go also! haa haa...

Hey gals... you all can try Seletar broadway (the one I booked with)! You go read the thread, the comments very good... cheap also!

Me booked my bridal pkg, so nothing much to comment on my search for bridal boutique! SB was the 1st and last shop I looked

Hihi, me back!! Last few days work late, come home so shag, never log in.

I hv booked my bridal package with Paris (abit regret, but nevermind too late for that).. $3288 with MTM WG, OTR EG, car, flowers, the whole works except for the actual day photographer. I happened to like some of their OTR WGs, so in the end i didnt MTM, saved $300.
got budget constraint lah, can save save lor! But their EG range not very nice.

Oso the first and last shop i looked.

Did you all see the wedding VIP table setting at Amara currently? Gold table cloth one... is this their grandeur theme huh? the gold not very nice leh!

May, u finally decided and set your wedding date? So happy for you! now your nick change.. hee hee.

Leo, Louie - so u all meet up liao huh! Shall we arrange the next round at Amara too? at the Element for coffee or something? u said their cakes are nice?

LT, wow u are really doing your research.. i shld have done that before putting depo with Paris.
When is your wedding? Mine's in Nov this year.

Louie: Ok, ok, I signed up first, if hubby not free will definetly ask you to go with me. Hubby say fixed liao then don't see other hotels liao, I told him I m going for the bridal show and aiming for the lucky draw, no first prize some other prize also good. Yap, it is Graceful Image bridal show not Margret Brides.

Jas03: Seems like you have settled most of your things. Good for you, now should concentrate to be the beautiful bride. I don't mind meeting up at Amara, I like their buffet. ^=^

Now that wedding venue has settled. I must start on the bridal. But headache leh..dont know where to start. Should i just go walk along Tanjong Pager for a start? Or i should call and make appointment?

My hubby's budget is less than 4K.

BTW, all those OTR WG and EG new or second hands?

Jas... welcome back!
Yep, we have met up. Canz, next outing can arrange at Amara! Jas, you tried ur gowns yet?? Better start soon... one of my fellow SB brides wedding in Jan 03 already picked her gowns liao... We got MTM, but since OTR got nice gowns, still choose lor! Save trouble!!

Leo: No prob, just let me know!

Mmmzz... was thinking of applying for the Amara card, $188.. (think its only for 1 yr?) The form is in the Amara folder given on the bridal show day!! Element buffet... for weekend is cheaper i think, so we can arrange weekend lor...

March: dun worry... sure can find one. You can go to SB to enquire lor. But dun sign at the shop... pop by at the wedding fair, can get good bargain, like me! I managed to get 30 15R photos... hee hee..

Other than graceful image. Any other bridal show coming me up? There is a designer bridal sale at Four Seasons hotel this 31 August. Admission fee is S$2.

hi Jas03, my wedding's next july.

may2003 - allure show at grand copthorne on 19th july. oh... i would love to go to FS BG sale!!!

wow.... guess i would be the last to hold my wedding at amara??!!!

May: Where you get the news abt the Bridal sale? I want to go also

LT: the last to hold wedding shd be Leo...hee hee..

May : Me too, Me interested too. Me hv't sign up any package yet so can go and take a look. Louie, let's go together. How to sign up har?

Yah lor, I was thinking what happened to everyone suddenly quite down. Probably now that we have settled the Amara thing, not much to talk liao. Yap, lets keep in touch.

May : I saw your name in the BluMesh forum, is it the same you? Have you been there yourself and what is your comment? How is their photography? I'm now looking around for my bridal package and would like to shortlist a few to visit.

i tot what happen to everyone in this thread. Summer vacation ah.

Leo: Yep, i was the one in BluMesh forum. I have been doing my homework. Gone to quite a few bridals for the past weeks. Seen Inspirations, X-zen, Milan, Jawn, BluMesh and many more for the next few weeks.

My comments below:

Milan: I tot that they price quite x. perhaps we are paying for the photos to be sent to Taiwan developing & touch ups. The fotos not too bad. But dont really fancy the gowns and their package price.

Inspiration: The price is reasonable i guess. Their mtm package is about $2950. Not including photography which is an additional of about $1400 depending on which photographer u choose.

Xzen: two package - one is the OTR which is abt $ 3600 (i think) and MTM abt $4500. They have their in house photographer. I like their gowns, very grand.

BluMesh: the designers are very nice. They like to experiment with diff. fabrics so it is quite refreshing. They do mostly mtm and for below $4K, you can take all your gowns back.

Jawn: the designers are also very nice. Very creative and they do like to experiment with different fabrics. Their gown design are unique and refreshing too. Their MTM package ranges from under 4K to above depending on which photographer u choose.

What about u? Where have u been? Share with my your comments too.

Louie: Lets all keep in touch and update each other with the progress of our preparations.

Have been to the amara ballroom and so impressed with the themes....esp the ones with the starlight ceiling...so romantic....but jus wanna chk wif u all, wat is the min tables requirement?? cos i am aiming for about 25....

another concern is the perception that some pple have of Amara...esp the older generation...thinking is low price hote...so really scared going to "kui" on angbao collections though i quite like to hav mine there...any real life experience??..I read one of the posting is quite true...issit???

Hi Kat! Welcome to the thread! If i am not wrong, Amara's min is 30 tables, but if you book for 35, then prob u are able to get a better deal? I hv not gone thru my wedding yet, so i duno if will 'kui' or not, hopefully not uh!

Hi gals, me back! Yah, the forum so quiet.. i hv been bz checking out photographers and videographers. Jus went to see Monica Eng, and i liked her actual day photography style. But will check out few others b4 deciding.

How have u all been?

I am now trying to get trim and fit b4 my photoshoot on AUg7, but like very difficult leh! My arms are so flabby, they wobble when i wave!

hi all..... yeh.... the thread's been so quiet... glad that Louie has started the ball rolling

Jas03 - i have been shopping around for photographers too. been to see fast soup and Linn Kong. both are pretty good and affordable charges. will be seeing more next week too!! yap, also arranged to meet Monica early next week! others on the list include: hendrix, ray ong, memphis wests, moonmedia, etc.... who will you be seeing next??

kat - i think if you are inviting close friends and relatives, you should not worry about being 'kui'. for me, i told my parents to invite only those we know and who knows me... anybody too distance can forget about it... any way, they may not necessarily be happy about rec'd our invitation too!!! glad that my parents are o.k and we are telling ourselves only to have 'quality' guests not 'quantity'!!!

May2003 - i liked x-zen gowns too... but i feel that in-house photography so-so only. wonder if i took out the photography part, how much cheaper would it be??!!!

anyway, we shall keep in touch. k.

LT: Tell me about Linn Kong's work. Jawn ties up with her and i am considering the package. Just not sure whether to choose the edge or Linn. But my hubby and i felt that The Edge always go to the same place for foto shoots. We were to a few bridal that ties up the edge and we realised all the scenery are the same...so we are a bit worried about it. But The Edge's work is good thou.

Jas: dont worry, u need not wave during photoshot lah. Try using sea salt scrub, it helps to get rid of fatty deposit. I have been using it and it seems to make my arms less flabby, i also put lots of moisturizer.

May : I am busy with my work, suddenly a whole load of it just pop out, no time to breath. Lucky I have you gals out there doing homework for me. ^=^ I depend greatly on your info to shortlist the bridal shops I'm going to visit. Thanks a million. I'm tempted to go and take a look at BluMesh, understand that there are no trying of gowns as they are new and all the gowns have owners liao. The photographer good har???

Jas : Do you know how to swim? If yes, you can try swimming, it might helps. That's another way I learn from my areobic class. Standing or sitting position, push both your hand upwards like doing a stretch, roll your hands clockwise 50 times and anti-clockwise 50 times maintaining your hand upwards, do 3 sets everyday, it can firm your flabby arms.

LEO: yes, u r right, cannot try gown in BluMesh. It is a very small place and on first visit, it does not look like a bridal shop. So dont have too high expectations. Why dont you go visit Jawn Happy Ever After? I am actually considering them and Xzen. Both Jawn and BluMesh tie up with quite wellknown photographers. Alternatively, u can just take the gown package lor.

U going for the graceful image show? I just got the invitation. dont mind meeting with you at this show.

hi may2003.... we like linn's work... she is very flexible and i guessed you just have to tell her wat kind of styles you like and where you would want your shots to be taken and she could do it. she showed us the various styles she had did for brides and we could see that she is real experienced. i suggest you go visit her! she is a open lady and very bubbly!!!

May : So you actually don't really recommend BluMesh huh? Where is this Jawn Happy Ever After? Do they have any website? Yap, I am going for the graceful image show, oso just received the invitation card a few days ago. Oh great, you want to meet, ok, shall arrange with you nearer to the date.

LT: hmm..maybe i will go down and and take a look at Linn's portfolio. Have u decide on your bridal already?

Leo: It is very subjective regarding BluMesh. For the price u pay it is great coz u get to keep all the gowns. But do we need to keep the gowns? U got to go see and decide yourself, i dont want to influence you. Jawn is located at Meridian Orchard Hotel, call and make an appt. the tel is 67361178. We should compare notes after your visit. Ok, next week then we confirm time to meet.

May: where do you find this sea salt scrub?? You want to meet Leo at the bridal fair, but last time... you dun want to meet us?

Hi LT, i went to check out Linn Kong's portfolio but i din really liked her style. Still prefer Monica Eng. I will be meeting Hilarion Goh tis evening, so i see how it goes. Are u looking for a videographer for actual day too?

May: ok i will try the sea salt scrub. Any particular brand u can recommend? Swimming good idea oso, actually i like swimming.. but will it make your arms muscular huh?

Do you all know if amara provided projector or VCD player.. or watever equipment if we want to screen some montage during the banquet?

Jas03: They do provide projector. If you want to play VCD, I think you need to get a laptop to connect to their system, if I'm not wrong, better check with Nat to reconfirm. We are not training for being a competition swimmer so not to worry, it won't make your arms muscular but it can broaden your shoulder.

Louie: ya lor..last time i shy...no i try not to be shy..

ok gals. u can try the Watson's Shimzu Slimming Salt....but you must use it for 3 months to feel the diff. I just started using and it does make a little diff for my arms. But it does not tone your arms ok. The salt is a little rough though.
You can try body shop's salt scrub too. It is more expensive...but the grain is not so rough and very nice smell.

Jas: why u dont like Linn Kong's style? I am looking for a photographer for photo shots.

hi May2003, i have not decide my bridal yet. but shortlisted Bridal Veil, Stilhouette and Ted Wu. BV has a show in Oct and TW has one in August. so i would be attending both and then decide!

hi Jas03 - oh i would be checking out Monica's work tomolo too. spoke to Hilarion over the phone, didn't really like his tone... abit ya-ya... but did heard many pple raving about his work though!! no, not thinking of engaging videographyer cos my brother would be doing for us as he studied filming, videography!

LT: the bridals you shortlist - not within my budget, i think. Can you briefly tell me how much their mtm package is without photography?

hi may2003 - for BV - $4980 (include photography - could choose among chris ling, the edge etc), and $3880 without photography. stilhouette - $3980 (exclu photography) and ted wu - $4200 (excl photography) & $3700 (exclude photography & men's suit). all the above are mtm WG and EG.

actually personally i love more elaborate and drama gowns and have shopped many places and found the gowns done are usually on the classic, simple types. i have not been to Jawn though, anyone kind to share what types of gowns do they usually do??? thanks!!!!

LT: perhaps you should go to Jawn. Basically, they can do whatever you want. They now have a very elaborate gown on their display done for one of their bride. A very ballroom style gown and the designer told me that the gown uses 2 1/2 can-can and it has a detachable long train.

You must be very skinny to want elaborate and drama gown. I cannot carry such design. Need simple and soft gown design so that it will look good on me.

Jawn located at Meridian Orchard Hotel and tel: 67361178. Their mtm package ranges from $3798 (i think) onwards including photos and suit.

hi May2003, thanks for the recommendation. probably would pop by Jawn next week. so many pple has been raving about the shop... got to be really sth!!!!

hi all.... i went to memphis west and monica today. MW is pretty good in BW.... as for monica, didn't manage to meet her in person, only her assistants are there to help. went thr' her work, pretty good. btw, is there anyone interested in fast soup - Choon Huat's photography? heard he is pretty good too. could someone share with me the prices of Ray Ong and Hendrix charges for actual day photography?
thanks!!

May : So how, how should we meet? What time and where? Anybody else attending this coming Sunday Graceful Image Bridal Show at The Oriental Hotel and want to meet? My e-mail address is attached.

Hi gals...

Never hear from me for a long time liao rite? Been reading the forum, but no much comments to give since I already booked my bridal...

Going for 1st fitting in Sept...me Kiasu mah!

See ya around

Louie : Don't forget you are my standby, if my hubby can't go for the bridal show you are suppose to go with me hor? Or you have something attached liao? Will let you know latest 2morow whether hubby going or not. Actually prefer to go with you than him, he so boring.

Leo: let me know soon lah... tot u didn't need me to go liao!! sms me lah... (Don't post in the forum during the day... my office cannot access internet!!!
) Cheers!

hi all... actually me also have the invitation, but realised cannot go cos will not be in s'pore this weekend.
share with me your experiences o.k??!!! i'm really interested to know how the ballroom looked like.... saw from pict like quite nice leh!!!

Hi all, I'v just attended The Oriental Graceful Image Bridel Show. I am really attracted to the hotel offer. I know I am an Amara bride, but really the offer is irresistible. If you sign up by this end July, Oriental is throwing in whatever Amara has given us plus a free flow of beer and additional 5% of carpark coupons. Their wedding cards are 70% on the confirm attendance. Their bridal suite is gorgoeus, is huge, like 3 rooms combine into 1. It consists of a bedroom, a living room and a dinning room with a mini kitchen. My god! I fall in love with the suite immediately, love at first sight man. It looks practially like an apartment, you really feel at home when you enter the room. Amara give us $688 ang pao, Oriental give 1 free table. They waive their wine cockage totally.

I really am tempted to forgo my $3k deposit and sign up with Oriental man, please someone stop me.

hi Leo.... wat's the ball room like? saw from pict that it's quite nice??? is it really huge?? heard it could accomodate up to 50+ tables?

LT : They have several ballrooms to accommodate different needs. The 1 that holds 50+ tables is the biggest 1. That ballroom is nice, very European style, no pillars blockage.

Hey Leo.... dun be tempted lah! Otherwise, you wun be Amara bride liao! :P

I've been to 2 weddings at Oriental (the oriental ballroom at Ground floor), both abt 30 tables, the ballroom was a fan shape (even the toilet is), so all guests are well-positioned and close to the stage!! Food was nice so far, but never been to the bridal suite. From wat Leo said, I am quite surprised tat its still of such high std!

I tot Amara's suite was lovely... its not big, but very cosy & romantic leh... hee hee..

Yah, acutally my hubby oso say book liao dun change lor. Dun understand why Amara so stingy, people 5 star hotel throwing in free flow of beer, we want to ask for discount for the beer oso difficult dun mentioned about asking for another barrel free. Probably they are trying to earn back their renov fees.

Well, what the hack, since cfm liao then just stick to it lor, unless I strike toto/big sweep/4D before end July then things will be different liao. ^=^

Hi Gals, i am back. On MC yesterday came down with a nasty ear infection. still suffering from it...sigh...now like one ear deaf...

Leo: Sorry again that i cldn't meet up with you. Leo i thot u suppose to check out graceful image gown designs..why u got sidetracked?

hee...hee....aiya..think positive..u paid lesser for Amara tables compared to Oriental, right?

May : Ya lor, cos Oriental offer is better than Graceful Image mah. Their wedding gowns - not bad, evening gowns - normal. I like their hairdos and makeup. Overall - ok. They show me 1 of their package which cost $2988 w/o car. Consist of 1 wedding and evening gowns each (Off-the-rack)on rental, guys jacket (on rental), mtm pants (to keep), hairdo, make-up, 15pcs photos (4get what size)etc, nothing special attracts me. Oh! 1 thing attracts me, their male model very handsome man!

Dun worry, this time we missed each other, we still have other chance to meet mah, hor??? You take good care of yourself ok.