Amara Singapore

LT: Welcome to the thread
Ahhh... so exciting, so many new pple in the thread!
Your wedding is on which day? Friday? I never asked Nat abt other functions being held at the same time. Maybe they can hold small functions at the joining function room... but dun there will be a wedding on the same day! If you have seent the foyer... shd be exclusive enuf! Have you told all ur requests to Nat yet? Coz' you'll need to pay the deposit at the wedding show... so you better bug her for all the details soon

Jas: Oh... so u did sign something? Mmmzz.. wats the contract abt? And I meant we can meet some other time... not aft the wedding show itself!
I haven't been up to the bridal suite yet... she says fully occupied, guess shd be nice since they refurbished soooo recently!!

Mar: Yep... Nat is really stingy re: the day room!!!!!
She says the rate is $130+++ (i.e $148.62) for yr 2002, next yr may change... I will def need rooms for relatives coming fr overseas. Mmmzz... maybe I shd not house them in Amara itself... no privacy!!!
March, thanks for offering to look at the contract! i won't get to see it until the show itself...

Leo: How we meeting... email me ok?! And LT if you want to meet us, let us know! March is too shy to meet us...

My girlfriend got a free day room at Regent Hotel, dun know about the other hotels. I have seen the bridal suite, quite small compare to the rest I have seen eg. Pan Pac, Marina Mandarin etc. I think that it is actually not a room meant to be bridal suite, just an executive suite with 2 rooms joining each other. Actually a bit disappointed with the room. Yap, I agreed that we have to drag ourselves the next day just to have breakfast. I oso ask for room service but gana rejected.

My hubby is the opposite, he will not wait for ERP, he say time is $$$.

Gals...

If you have read the draft contract, there are 2 paragraphs on pg 3 regarding "Hotel damage loss" and "client damage/ loss" I went to amend it!!!

Dunno whether acceptable or not?? The hotel's contact IMPLIES that we have to be responsible for EVERYTHING! Mmmzz... now wait for Nat to reply lor... see wat she says!!!

Leo: the room not nice ah?? Jia lat lah... I went to Mandarin Singapore's suite... looks so old, maybe its the colour scheme! Been to M Hotel & Four Seasons... both v nice! Actually prefer Four Seaons... more classy. M Hotel very modern... hee hee

Are we switching to emails? I have not seen the bridal suite. Most of the bridal suites are actually executive suites, i think amara should be ok. At least it is newly renovated and we got 2 days...

I finally settled my date - it i such a huge relief! My H and I, we are so tired that we eventually selected a date that we think it is the best. I managed to convince him to heck all this pang tang thingy. So now i have confirmed with Nat, we very happy. I told him after this episode, lesson learnt - we should just do our wedding the way we want and like. It is supposed to be a happy occassion for us so no need all this unnecessary fun nao. SO quite ok now.

Jas: Our other half alike.. men they are all the same one...expect women to wait and then if they wait sure complain, complain, complain...
And then when they hungry must immediately eat one..canoot shop first and eat later...

Louie: U mean it is possible to hold a wedding in the other function rooms? We will be using the ballroom, wont the other function room be very small? Actually, i never see clearly when i was there. How many function rooms are there?
I have not got my contract. I hope to get it today. I not sure about the damage clause.

LT: I also agree with Louie. If u r firm about Amara, start negotiating with Nat now. We all need to sign contract and pay deposit on Friday. Which package are u considering? Nat has been generous in certain things but i also negotiated very hard. U now have the bargaining power so u shld decide before Friday.

Leo: Think positive, at least we have 2 nights stay at the bridal suite. I also like M hotel suite, esp my H, he likes the jacuzzi and TV, but the package is too x. hmm...i told him not to expect too much, as long the room is nicely furnish and new..can already lah...

Louie: Compare to the other hotels' bridal suite, Amara "a ka su" lah! They don't even have a dressing table (If I'm not wrong) for our makeup and hairdo, think nd to do it in the toilet. Dun scare me leh, I oso have't got my contract yet, better enlarge the small print and read really carefully. Me also agreed that the dinner starts too early.

March: If I remember correctly, they have 3 function room in total. Glad that finally you have settled on a date, less one headache.^=^

Leo: No dressing table...hmmm...that is no good. Got full length mirror or not? Actually come to think about it. I went to the bridal suite at Ritz Carlton...they also no dressing table and worst only one toilet. But then that toilet very nice... Amara gottwo toilets right...got jacuzzi or not?

I saw at the weddingfair.com schedule, there is going to be tour after the show of the ballroom and the bridal suite. So it gives me the impression dinner is not going to be at the ballroom. Not only is dinner early, the whole things ends late too.

Hey gals...

Not scaring you all lah... maybe its a STANDARD clause, but dun think I am confortable with it still. If e.g. food poisioning... if you go strictly by the clause... the hotel will not be responsible for any one's injury etc etc. which means they wun even compensate for medical bills for the hotel's fault????

Leo: The bridal suite really so lousy??? Maybe becoz Amara is a Biz hotel after all... so the executive suite is their bridal suite... Aiyah, me dun care so much lah... or at least my FH doesn't care so much abt deco. Mandarin's suite was quite ugly... he also say ok, guess he wun complain abt amara's one!
But no full length mirror really jia lat leh!!! Nevermind lah... the whole thing within my budget can liao lah...

Actually Nat not generous... the hotel is generous... the discount on spa svcs, upgrade beer fr 20 to 30L is the hotel's promotion if you book b4 31 Dec 02! So... all in all... dun think she provided any freebies at all?!
Maybe becoz Amara within our budgets... tats why consider it lor! I personally like Hyatt... but weekend too ex for me lah, Actually Mandarin also one of my choices... if not for the price factor...maybe I wld have booked with them already!!

But if you girls interested in having a nice cake for ur close relatives & frens, can buy fr Element Cafe... v nice & reasonable... 1kg is $30 only! Worth considering since our wedding cake is fake!

Mar: the show quite long coz' got Children's performance etc etc.... anywae, wondering where got time to sign contract also?!?!?! We not switching emails... but since we are meeting, not easy to exchange confidential info in the forum mah... email better lor. But no worries... we will all still be posting fervently in ze forum!

hi all......

mar2003: have met up with nat and spoke about details, and they are more or less confirmed. cos we have meet several hotels and already knew wat we want in mind. this part was not a big prob. have not seen the contract, heard she sending to me tomolo!! anyway, will definitely scrutinize the contract once rec'd!!

oh.... rdg the function rooms.... possibliity a private function would be held there! not this is risk for us if we are holding it at amara cos there is no guarantee we will not share the foyer with someone!!

anyway, like all of you, i wanted to have my wedding at conrad. but hubby prefers amara decor better. personally i think amara has a very modern, classy ballroom.. but conrad would fit my bill better!! anyway... today i have decided we shall go ahead with amara. hope i have made the right choice!!

oh, my wedding would be on a sunday! anyone having a wedding on weekend??

must admit that nat is not easy person to negotiate... the hotel's freebies given to us are more generous!!

btw, any one has intention of bringing in wines??

i know i am side tracking abit here.... wonder anyone source for bridal boutique or booked them yet? any interesting bits to share with us?? personally am still looking around.

Hi LT, i signed up with Paris, but if you read the Paris thread here in this forum, it has got alot of BAD feedback. But i hv been to one appt with Paris to choose my gown.. quite happy with their svs.. so far lah.

We kena caught by them to sit and listen to their package at some expo, din even go reki, so now abit regret. Keke.

Louie, cakes from element good uh.. ok i muz try one of these days. Their buffet on wkends oso not bad hor?

Leo: I also agree that budget was a crucial factor in determining my decision to select Amara. if i have my way i would go for Regent Hotel. So at this moment, i quite happy for the price i paying i get all this.

U right, the hotel should bear responsibilty if their food has problem. Can you change the clause or include the clause on this point.

I thought all wedding cakes are fake. I do know some hotels the upper tier is real cake, but most of them are fruit cake.

I also dunno where we got the time to sign the contract. I still have not receive it..better call Nat now...

LT: I still searching for a bridal boutique. Settle hotel first..then move on to house then to bridal. I am glad that you have decided on Amara. Think positive it is not that bad..which package you take for Sunday?

Mine will be on a public holiday. So i guess the chances of a private function is low? Unless it is an overseas function...hmmm...

Louie: The room is not that bad lah, room smaller and no dressing table only, but the room is newly renovated so at least everything consider new. Yap, I agreed the hotel package itself is atrractive enough to make us sign up with them. I won't think I will get any cakes, think that the food will be enough liao, some even stop eating by course 8 so feels that they won't have xtra space to squeeze in the cake, unless you want the cake to act as the desert.

LT: Nope, I don't intend to bring in wines, too troublesome and x oso.

March: You mixed up Louie and me again, nevermind lah, I think we both know who you are referring to in yr reply. Me oso hv't receive my contract yet, dunno got time to look through it or not. Nope, Amara dun have jacuzzi, there's no space to include a jacuzzi in the toilet.

Hi Leo, Louie, Maro3 and LT,

Interesting thread here...have not been able to find any Amara thread in other forums that can provide so much details like here...

I'm intending to booked Amara Hotel too...will be going for the Charity Fair tomorrow, so hopefully get to see you gals there, though dunno how will i recognise you gals...

Anyway, I had just called Nat and she's going to email and fax over the contract to me soon...

My wedding date will be 10 May 03...basically, i think what Nat had given is all about the same...However, i had booked Colelctions 3&4 for my solemnization before the banquet dinner...she is charging me $200 for it...actually, quite like the pool style for solemnization but bf said that he is very afraid of hot... As for whether other function rooms are booked, we can't control cos will have to wait till then and see got anyone else that booked the rooms...

Personally, we quite like the Romance theme...it's unlike the red red obiang theme in restaurants...however, will want to discuss with Nat again on the flowers and centre-pieces cos we don't really like red gerberra and the petals for centre-pieces seem quite pathetic...was thinking of either having all baby breath or pot-pourri instead...you know something like their reception table pot pourri...Hmmm plus some scent...think it should be quite nice...

Wonder how many people are going...Nat just told me that she had prepared about 17 contracts and is busy sending to us..including some of you here... i think my serail no. for the voucher is 001/100...so dunno whether i'm actually their first signed-up customer ;o)

Wow...think i'm abit lor-so...actually, i'm on mc today...so now at home happily typing away...hope i don't bore you gals..

Anyway, think i got to go and see her fax now... see you gals tomorrow...

Luv, hosanna...

Hi Hosanan,

Welcome, Welcome!!! We are glad that you are going to be 1 of us too. Me too just received the contract, busily going through the fine prints. It's ok to be long winded, as you can see most of our messages are long too.

As to how to recognise us for tomorrow function, pop in tomorrow and we might be able to come up with an idea. eg. dress style.

Take care of yourself.

Chao!

Hello hello...

Another bride has joined us!
Hosanna, u cld be the 1st to sign up since ur serial no. is 1. Mine is 6... hee hee... You didn't tell Nat that we communicate thru the forum rite??? Otherwise, she may come here to check on us... not keen on tat at all. I'll jus mention, my frens blah blah blah... I didn't give details at all! Get well soon!

Hos: You've seen the Romance theme setup? Me haven't managed to see yet, tot it looked quite classy fr the web, but the other brides here dun like red!!

LT: when's ur wedding? Me booked with Seletar Broadway, the thread here is q active. Heard BV, Flamingo, Jawn, JLC, TWP all quite good... hee hee... jus read the forum, u'll get a pretty good idea!
I want to bring in wines also... but buying fr Amara really too ex. Nat quite insistent tat its $60nett for hse wines, correct?? I hope I'm not cheated!!! then got 20% discount only...

Leo: the cake only for close frens, not to serve for banquet... too ex liao! The bridal suite look pleasant enuf for me... hee hee... most impt is ur hubby mah!

Mar: In ur draft contract, was the date stated? Me wanted to add in the clause that "date subject ot final confirmation, if applicable" Nat called me to say.. dun need to put one lah, coz if need to change, she will change the date for us, if the date is available.

Ohh... I tried changing the "Hotel damange/ client damange" clause... Nat told me, aiyoh.. dun need one lah... She ask me not to worry, and she can't amend the clause to mine. Then, I said "I trust you...."

If anyone wants to meet at the bridal show, just email me ok! Me meeting Leo, Jas not going since she has booked already... March, dunno? We can meet at the sitting area at the lobby next to the Cafe Oriental (opp, Element cafe) at 6.45pm? interested... email me. Want to meet earlier, also tell me lah!

Leo: wat style are u suggesting?? Must put rose behind ur ear? He hee... tats why the Hyatt brides did I think...

Think I will be wearing grey top & black pants

Not distinctive... any other suggestions?

Hossana: welcome. This thread is getting so hot...good..i think u are the first one to register for the dinner. My serial number is 020/100. So if i win the lucky draw, u will all know me...ha... I was told the lucky draw is S$ 1000.

Leo: Sorry i very blur always mix the both of you up. I also agree with you, the room new and renovated can already lah.

Louie: I have got my contract and it looks standard. I not very particular about the hotel damage clause now that i see it - it is actually very standard, i also come across for events contract. Put it this way, if food poisoning occurs it is actually very damaging for the hotel reputation. At the moment, after they have spend so much on renovating, they sure dont want anything devastating to their image and name. So if they dont offer any compensation and wants to deny responsiblity, threaten to write to the media. Do bad publicity and then they sure will give in. This is term under ren qing clause, if the hotel smart - sure will offer some form of compensation to make us happy then we will help them promote their services.

Louie: The date was stated in my contract. Actually there is only cancellation clause in the contract and this only take effect less than 3 month. So anything more than 3 months, if we cancel we lose the deposit of 3K which is so..so.

No penalty for change of date - so it is quite alright. To be fair, of course subject to hotel availability...

I think it is ok.

For the $588 package, the food tasting must pay...i only managed to negotiate 15% off...did any of you get a better discount?

Actually i dunno if any from Amara does log on to sport check our postings...aiya never mind lah...it will be for their good, then they will know how to improve their service.

My contract never state the theme i want. Must it? I have not quite make up my mind.

Mar: If you win a prize on tat day... then we'll know who u are! Kekekkeke
I know the hotel clause is quite std, me just trying to be Kia su!

You taking the $588 pkg for weekday issit? For this pkg got NO THEME, did you know tat?? You better call Nat to ask abt the deco for the $588 pkg! Actually if you didn't mind getting married in 2002... Marriott's weekday pkg is also $588nett... me sooo tempted to bring my wedding forward! hee hee

Wahhh... the food tasting v ex leh!! Only 15% discount?? Mmzz... actually if you going for the bridal show, no pt having food tasting rite?

Call Nat!

Hosanna: If you have the solomnization at pool, is there a charge? If you have a proposal by Nat, pls share with me? email hor! thanks

I had received my contract liao...hiyah..the most important part where i am supposed to sign, my name is spelt wrongly...:o( forgot to call Nat and tell her...think she blur liao...

Louie, if you want to do your solemnization at the pool, it's additional $500...which we thought it's not that worth it for an hour or so, and what's more, may not be that convenient for guests too adjourned to the ballroom later on...

Anyway, who's meeting tomorrow..? I'm meeting my nf but guess he will be late as he knocks off at 6.30pm and his office is at Tampines..!!!

So how ah the damage clause, acceptable or not...basically, anything important that i should take note ah...basically, it's quite acceptable...

I think don't have to decide on the theme so soon, cos only nearer to the wedding date then we should start to discuss all these details...basically, the price must be right can liao..

Luv, hosanna ;o)

Louie: I have not decided which package to take actually. I was under the impression that the 588 package has the decor of natural..with less flowers...anyway...i not worry, i can switch to the 638 package if i change my mind. It was stated in my contract. I still have time, i probably go see the decor for 588 package before i decide. Nat says that it is not out till Sept.

Cannot rush for this year lah. i know about marriot package.

Food tasting is for parents and in-law lah, usual.

Hosanna: the clause are standard. So no need to worry. Nat got my dates wrong too. U better call n ask her to amend. The rental for use of the pool is so x. Not worth. Also agree no need to decide theme so fast. who knows, ours is next year...maybe they have new themes?
i will remain anonymous so wont be meeting anyone, but if i win the lucky draw u all will knwo me. so please come forward and say hi, ok. I will be late, my H finishes work at 6.30 pm too and he is all the way at Kaki Bukit. Anyone knows if they will provide comp. car park?

Louie: Me wearing rose red top and light brown skirt, carry red handbag today, should be easy to locate me, otherwise look for my size, tall and big. We don't have to choose the theme now as our wedding is still far away, Nat will ask you which theme you want nearer to the date. Me dun know my ticket no. cos it is with hubby. Dun know hubby going or not, he said only can let me know by late afternoon depends on his work.

Ai Yo! What put rose behind the ear, so obiang! Ppl will think me "hua chi" leh, (oops! hope I din offend the Hyatt Brides) already told you what I'm wearing so should be distinctive enuf liao hor? I'll sms you and let you know what time to meet at the place you mentioned.

March: Mine food tasting included. If I'm not wrong, yours either no theme or only can choose Natural theme, better check with Nat.

Hos: You know what I'm wearing liao so easier to locate me.

Okie gals... see you later! Wahhh... Leo, so sexy, red top sia! :P

Wun be at home... Leo, U have my mobile.. anything jus sms ok?!

March/ Hosanna: you decide to meet us, jus let meet at the designated spot!

Leo: We meeting at the sitting area outside Oriental & Element cafe rite!

Tata

Louie: No lah, though red top but all cover up leh ;P Yap, the one just next to the display. So eager to meet all of you. C ya ^=^

Louie: Nice meeting you. So how's your impression of the bridal suite?

March/Hosanna: So are you'll there? Did you'll recognise any of us?

It is a great show and the dinner are good. I have an enjoyable evening. How about you'll???

Hihi...

Leo: Nice meeting you too! I tot the suite was very nice... so cosy! I personally felt it was better than M Hotel. Its not that small, its quite an ok size... there are some full length mirrors in the room, so can still do make-up lah!

Jas: You want we can arrange for outing soon!

To the "mysterious couple" who reads the thread but not post anything there... join in the fun ok?! And it doesn't necc mean that only brides can post msgs here!!!

Hello everyone.

Leo: i think i saw you but not too sure. Your other half wearing white shirt?

If anyone of you spotted me, i was the only one with a red shawl. It was freezing in the room.

The food was alright a little too salty for me. But my hubby says it was ok.

I didnt win anything sob...

Did you enjoy the fashion show?

The bridal suite was nice. Too bad about the blackout though.

March: Yap, you are right. I'm sitting in front of the stage. Louie is sitting just next to me. I din managed to spot you cos too many people liao and I dun have a clue how you look like or what you are wearing. I love the food, especially the cod fish, too bad it is not in my menu. I quite like a few of their wedding gowns especially the first two pcs, simple and nice but I dun like their evening gowns. They have very nice accessories too. Did you signed up with Amara?

LEO: Yep, i signed up with Amara. Actually, i should change my nick, my dinner will be in May next year. the fortune teller said that Mar is a bad month to get married. So we got no choice but to move to May. Anyway, it is now settled so i quite happy with what i am getting.

I also only like the simple wedding gowns. Dont like the evening gowns too...

How come after the show already no one is at this forum to yak?

Hello...

I am back to yak!

Leo: I didn't like the dessert that day... anywae its not in my menu too!!!
I like the first 2 gowns too, and 1 from the grand finale, all bridal gowns... their evening gowns do look quite weird!!!

May: Not used to using your new nick yet... heehee... didn't spot you, nevermind lah. Yep, I totally agree that the bridal suite was very nice... can't wait for my wedding to come!

Jas: sorry, haven't replied your email yet

Gals... if you do want to arrange an outing, let me know ok! I think Jas wants to meet us rite?

Louie: I also dont like the dessert. very sweet. my husband complain that the portion too small...ha..

now that wedding venue is settle must source for bridal gowns...hmm...

wonder what happen to hossanna...

May: It's becos everybody is either going up to see the bridal room or waiting to sign the contract. Didn't spot you, too engross with the programme. Yap, you are right, my hubby in white shirt, very fat hor! ^;^

Louie: To me the desert is ok but did you find that some of their melon taste bitter?

Actually, I was quite attracted to Xristos wedding gowns and their packages, $3999 is quite reasonable for all MTM and they are throwing in the day and night photo shoot, but aft seeing the evening gowns, I give up the idea. Anyway, me still got long way to go can hunt slowly, there are always bridal shows, dun want to make the wrong choice.

Leo: I was also quite attracted all mtm under $4k but got the same thought the design not that fantastic. Plus his gowns most of them requires a flat tummy. Not sure i can carry them so well. I actually did sit down and take a look at the photo while waiting for Nat. The photo style was quite different and was not model photos but real couples.

He is actually quite a nice guy but i think got some hidden cost. Like dunno make-up artist will do hair or not. Also, we dont quite like digital photos coz no touch up.

Your hubby not fat lah..he is tall..which is good. Actually, i was sitting quite opposite you.

Your

Yap...i'm back too...

I actually went to the meeting place but Leo and Louie i guess must have left already...after that, i don't know how to recognise liao...

May2003: Is your wedding in May too..? Mine is on 10 May.. how about yours..?

Actually, i'm not too impressed with the whole bridal show...dunno is it my standard too high or not... find that it is not very organised...the dessert not very nice lei...my bf also said that it is quite sweet though...

So you gals looking for bridal shops now is it...? I had already booked mine about 3 weeks ago at J&M...quite comprehensive package about $2988 and their service is quite good..very friendly...however, if you are looking for very elaborate gowns, they should not be your taste cos their gowns are quite simple and elegant kind... but their EG is quite limited so mine is MTM...

If you gals need any info, just let me know...i had went to a few bridal shops at Delfi and Tanjong Pagar...

Ivory Aisle: Quie simple and classic gowns, the designer is very nice and show you what is appropriate for me etc..

Inspiration Collection: Feedback from people is not bad but when i went there, they let me try mostly old gowns which i do not like, hence, not very good impression of the gowns though...

X-Zen: Feedack from people not bad too, but theirs quite "pong pong" kind and hand painted kind too...not very beady kind...and i don't really click with the staff...you know those chemistry thingy...

Emmanuel B: Yes, the gowns are very nice, but slightly on the higher end taking into consideration that they engage external photographers which usually will not be as valued as those with internal photographers..

Jazreel Low: Quite a wide selection of gowns, but i didn't get to try and some of their gowns looks quite old too, some people say their photography a bit Taiwanese kind...

The Wedding Present: very nice but very expensive too...

Hmmm... think that's about all that i've been to liao...hope is useful to those still looking around for packages...and please those don't try those exhibitions at Suntec...very hard-selling kind...

Ok...talk to you gals again...

Luv, hosanna...

Hosanna: mine will be 5 days after yours. Can you share with me what your package with J&M includes? The price is within my budget. I quite interested.

I kinda like x-zen gowns..agree that they are quite pong pong but cinderalla like leh.

I also quite like Yvonne Creative but not their photography style.

I have not done much sourcing. Which of those that you have gone to allow you to try?

hi all..... wow..... now we are moving to dicuss bridal boutiques liao

i have signed up at amara too!! hmmm.... personally i don't like the gowns by Xristos.... there are some weird designs, and the quality of gowns don't seem really good leh!!!!

my husband love the cod... as for me, i find the food pretty salty!! but we still love the ballroom though. anyone thinking of decorating the foyer or ballroom??? i thot the foyer looks nice and it would go to waste if there is no decor to enhance it.

as for bridal.... i have looked to almost 20 boutiques.... unbelievable right!!! hahaha..... have shortlisted silhouette, bridal veil and ted wu!!! well, personally i like more elaborate gowns loh. no.... i don't go to those "pressure tactics" shops!!!

next time, we can exchange more tips!!

Hi LT

You really went to hunt for the best bridal gowns ya!

Rem you are having ur wedding on sun too, which pkg did you take?? When's ur wedding btw?

The cod is nice... but wonder how they wld serve on the actual day? everyone gets 1 big piece? Mmmzz... tat wld be nice!

It wld be a good idea to deco the foyer... see my budget later howz? ballroom deco can be done, but takes a lot of time to do.... You have any brillant ideas so far? Share ok!

Hos: We moved up and hang around at the foyer, din have your contact so can't contact you. I'm quite easy to locate mah, May managed to spot me, I'm the only 1 wearing red top and light brown skirt ^=^.

Did anyone of you have any tips on Margret Brides? I quite like her designs, simple and nice. Only disadv, too far away.

LT : Wah, you really go all out to get what you want man! I kind of shy, dun dare to step in any of the bridal shop, worried that I may be corn/force to sign up their package.

Louie: You wait ah, 1 big piece for each person, unless yours is S$1k per table type might be able to. Acutally, Nat told me that there will be 6 course dinner dun know how come reduce to 3 only???

Yah, I also like the idea of decorating the foyer but also depend on my budget, cos there are a lot of hidden expenses, you can't see them until end of whole function then you realise how much is the total cost.

LT: the shops you shortlisted r on the high side, right? their package are > $4k hor.

It will be nice to decorate the foyer and ballroom with ballooms. but not sure the cost and my budget...

LT: the shops you shortlisted r on the high side, right? their package are > $4k hor.

It will be nice to decorate the foyer and ballroom with balloons. but not sure the cost and my budget...

leo: i think i saw you!!! but didn't dare to approach you!!!

may2003 & Louie - oh ya.... thot this is once a life time kind of event.... must hunt the ideal one mah!!! hehe.... actually quite true that most i went to are about 4K! cos i'm quite particular over the design of the gown! love the more drama & elaborate types mah!! but if you like more simple ones, i thot emmanuel b, J&C are not bad.

as for decor of foyer - am thinking of asking a wedding planner to do it for me. balloons not a bad idea!!!
she is pretty experienced and creative, but haven't really decide if we want to have it done up in the first place!

oh ya... i took up the 9-course weekend menu! anyone doing a weekend wedding too? seems lik you gals are taking wkday wedding!!!

LT: Why don't dare to approach me, you mean I look so scary or fierce meh??? Louie and I click so well, we chat like we know each other for so long, it's so exciting meeting people you have been communicating but have not seen.

I go thru the gowns and photo shoots on J&C, not bad leh, you have any info on them to share? How's their package like?

LT: wedding planner must pay how much hah? And what they do?

What do you mean by drama gowns?

Louie: I did not see you. who did you go with?

Louie: J&M Design & Photography is one of the many bridal shops located at Tanjong Pagar. Their gowns are quite simple kind but i think their photography is very nice, comparable to those well known photographers that those bridal shops engage... most of the feedback that i have gotten about the shop is that gowns wise, quite simple but photography wise, quite impressive...

Leo: My good friend is took a package from Margaret Brides...she quite liked their service and i think the gowns are quite nice too... i didn;t really consider that shop cos is too too far for me liao...

You can actually visit the shops, they will let you try their gowns without any obligation, without even mentioning about deposit etc...i just went through their packages and then they suggested i try their gowns instead...

i think this is part of their good service...however, if you enter those not very nice shops, they will hard-sell you first and they will only allow you to thry if you sign up their package...these shops are no go...

May2003: My package is quite comprehensive with the following items:
OTR WG, MTM EG, OTR Gent's Suit (we will exhange this for something else as we intend to purchase from outside), Flowers, Car and car deco, photographs (22 12R, 1 16R, 12 3R i think)...basically, we quite like their magazine style photography... i think you should visit them to have a better idea...

LT: Wah....you really willing to splurge hor..but up to individual taste...cos basically, i go for more simple and classic kind...

Oh yah...i'm taking their WE package, mine is on a Saturday... as for decorating the foyer, think i will consider it nearer to the day...not in my mind yet...

Hos: Thanks! I also think it is too far for me, one end of the other, but will still try to make a trip there, if chemistry strike, bo bain lor, far far oso must go. Roughly how much did your good friend paid for the package? Can you please find out for me how her package like?

Hos: Thanks for the info!

Leo: If you want to try Graceful Image... they having bridal show at Oriental Singapore on 14 july! $15 per couple, worth going for it... as they will offer attractive pkgs. If you win Oriental's 1st px, $10,000 off ur banquet.. then maybe, you'll take Oriental then :P

Morning gals..

Leo: My friend's M's package is $2880 which consists of the following:
1 MTM WG, 1 MTM EG (Keep), 1 MTM Gent's Suit
4 make-up

If want to include photography is $1,200 for Robin and if want flowers, add another $400... so total she paid about $4480 for the above...

Quite expensive, but all MTM mah... i think if you are not that particular about WG, can take OTR which is cheaper...you will not be bringing back the gown anyway...

Graceful image gowns also very ballroom like and quite grand. I kinda like their gowns too but the photography so..so...

Buti dont like the designer...she does not look very friendly.

I may consider going for the show. I thought it was free...

Hos: Your package not bad...still got car ah? Maybe i will go take a look.

LT: Are you going for any bridal show? Did you check out Flamingo? My sis in-law, keep asking me to go take a look but i think they are just quite x. There is a show by Bridal Creations Photography in July. It is free but only for 30 couples, i got the invitation thru my-marraige.com
Have you heard of this shop?